DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, line 2, recites the limitation “the closed end being opposite the open end” which should be changed to “the closed end being opposite to the open end”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 10, 12, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Works et al. US 20120098236 A1.
Regarding independent claim 1, Works et al. discloses [a trailer coupler 1 comprising: a coupler body 13 including a hitch ball socket 15,] (Fig. 1 & 2; Paragraph 0054) [a lock section proximate to the hitch ball socket,] (Fig. 4 & 5; Paragraph 0061) [a lock channel 58 formed in the lock section,] (Fig. 4 & 5; Paragraph 0060) [the lock channel including an open end;] (Fig. 4 & 5; As shown in Fig. 4 & 5, Works et al. illustrates the lock channel 58 having an open end.) [a lock mechanism 59 movable from a locked position in the lock channel to an unlocked position, and, in the locked position, the lock channel containing the lock mechanism.] (Fig. 4 & 5; As shown in Fig. 4 & 5, Works et al. illustrates a lock mechanism 59 being movable from a locked position in the lock channel to an unlocked position, and, in the locked position, the lock channel containing the lock mechanism.)
Regarding claim 2, Works et al. discloses [the lock channel 58 further comprising a closed end with a pin aperture, the closed end being opposite to the open end,] (Fig. 4 & 5; As shown in Fig. 4 & 5, Works et al. illustrates the lock channel 58 having a closed end with a pin aperture and the closed end being opposite to the open end.) and the [trailer coupler further comprising a locking pin 71 extending from the lock mechanism, and in the locked position the locking pin extending through the pin aperture.] (Fig. 4 & Annotated Fig. 5 below; Paragraph 0061)
Annotated Fig. 5 of Works et al.
Regarding claim 10, Works et al. discloses [the coupler body being an integrally formed structure.] (Fig. 2 & 3; As shown in Fig. 2 & 3, Works et al. illustrates the coupler body being an integrally formed structure.)
Regarding claim 12, Works et al. discloses [in the unlocked position, the lock mechanism extending at least partially from the lock channel.] (Fig. 4; As shown in Fig. 4, Works et al. illustrates in the unlocked position, the lock mechanism extending at least partially from the lock channel.)
Regarding claim 16, Works et al. further discloses [the coupler body further comprising a locking panel 31,] (Fig. 5; Paragraph 0061) [the locking panel including a pin cavity 75,] (Fig. 5; Paragraph 0061) [the pin cavity being aligned with and spaced apart from the pin aperture;] (Annotated Fig. 5; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 5, the pin cavity 75 is aligned with and spaced apart from the pin aperture.) and [in the locked position the locking pin extending through the pin aperture, through the lock aperture in the locking portion of the latch handle and into the pin cavity.] (Fig. 5; Paragraph 0061)
Regarding independent claim 20, Works et al. discloses [a trailer coupler 1 comprising: a coupler body 13 including a hitch ball socket 15, a lock section, a lock channel 58 formed in the lock section,] (Fig. 4 & 5; Paragraph 0054 & 0060-0061) [the lock channel including an open end;] (Fig. 4 & 5; As shown in Fig. 4 & 5, Works et al. illustrates the lock channel 58 having an open end.) [a vending style lock movable from a locked position in the lock channel to an unlocked position, and, in the locked position, the lock channel containing the vending style lock, and the vending style lock being removable from the lock channel.] (Fig. 4 & 5 As shown in Fig. 4 & 5, Works et al. illustrates a vending style lock movable from a locked position in the lock channel to an unlocked position, and, in the locked position, the lock channel containing the vending style lock, and the vending style lock being removable from the lock channel.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 6-7, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Works et al. in view of Harms et al. US 11623485 B1.
Regarding claim 3 and 6, Works et al. further discloses that [in the locked position the locking pin 71 extending through the pin aperture.] (Fig. 5; Paragraph 0061; As shown in Fig. 5, Works et al. illustrates that in the locked position the locking pin extends through the pin aperture.)
Works et al. does not disclose a latch handle, a lock aperture in the latch handle, a pivot pin coupling the latch handle to the coupler body, the latch handle movable from a locked position to an unlocked position, and in in the locked position the locking pin extending at least partially through the lock aperture in the latch handle.
Harms et al. teaches [a latch handle 201, a lock aperture in the latch handle, a pivot pin 202 coupling the latch handle to the coupler body,] (Fig. 2B; Col. 4, lines 14-23) [the latch handle movable from a locked position to an unlocked position,] (Fig. 2C; Col. 4, lines 14-23) [and in in the locked position the locking pin extending at least partially through the lock aperture in the latch handle.] (Fig. 2A; Col. 4, lines 14-23; As shown in Fig. 2C, Harms et al. illustrates the latch handle 201 in the locked position and the locking pin 203 extending at least partially through the lock aperture in the latch handle.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the latch handle configuration of Harms et al. with the trailer coupler of Works et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the locking pin to engage both the coupler body and the latch handle, thus preventing unintended movement of the latch handle and improving the locking functionality of the coupler.
Regarding claim 4, Works et al. as modified, discloses of the claimed limitations above including [a connecting rod 206 coupling the latch handle to an underjaw 207, the underjaw being adjacent to the socket when the latch handle is in the locked position.] (Fig. 2E of Harms et al.; Col. 4, lines 48-55 of Harms et al.; As shown in Fig. 2E &, Harms et al. illustrates a connecting rod 206 coupling the latch handle to an underjaw 207, the underjaw being adjacent to the socket when the latch handle is in the locked position.)
Regarding claim 7, Works et al., as modified, discloses of the claimed limitations above, including [the coupler body further comprising a locking panel 31,] (Fig. 5 of Works et al.; Paragraph 0061 of Works et al.) [the locking panel including a pin cavity 75,] (Fig. 5 of Works et al.; Paragraph 0061 of Works et al.) [the pin cavity being aligned with and spaced apart from the pin aperture;] (Annotated Fig. 5 of Works et al.; As shown in the annotation of Fig. 5, the pin cavity 75 is aligned with and spaced apart from the pin aperture.) and [in the locked position the locking pin extending through the pin aperture, through the lock aperture in the locking portion of the latch handle and into the pin cavity.] (Fig. 5 of Works et al.; Paragraph 0061)
Regarding independent claim 13, Works et al. further 0discloses [a trailer coupler 1 comprising: a coupler body 13,] (Fig. 1 & 2; Paragraph 0054) [the coupler body being integrally formed] (Fig. 2 & 3; As shown in Fig. 2 & 3, Works et al. illustrates the coupler body being an integrally formed structure.) and including [a hitch ball socket 15 in which a hitch ball is received,] (Fig. 1 & 2; Paragraph 0054) [a lock section, a lock channel formed in the lock section,] (Fig. 4 & Fig. 5; Paragraph 0060 [the lock channel including an open end and a closed end with a pin aperture;] (Fig. 4 & Annotation of Fig. 5 above; Paragraph 0060; As shown in Fig. 4 & 5, Works et al. illustrates the lock channel 58 having an open end and a closed end with a pin aperture.) [a lock mechanism and a locking pin 71, the locking pin extending from the lock mechanism, the lock mechanism movable from a locked position in the lock channel to an unlocked position;] (Fig. 4 & 5; As shown in Fig. 4 & 5, Works et al. illustrates a lock mechanism 59 with a locking pin 71 being movable from a locked position in the lock channel to an unlocked position, and, in the locked position, the lock channel containing the lock mechanism.) [and in the locked position the locking pin extending through the pin aperture.] (Annotation of Fig. 5 above of Works et al.; Paragraph 0060 of Works et al.; As shown in annotated Fig. 5 above, Works et al. illustrates the lock pin 71 extending through the pin aperture when in the locked position.)
Works et al. does not disclose a latch handle, a lock aperture in the latch handle, a pivot pin coupling the latch handle to the coupler body, the latch handle movable from a locked position to an unlocked position, and in in the locked position the locking pin extending at least partially through the lock aperture in the latch handle; and a connecting rod coupling the latch handle to an underjaw, the underjaw abutting the hitch ball and preventing removal of the hitch ball from the hitch ball socket when the latch handle is in the locked position.
Harms et al. teaches [a latch handle 201, a lock aperture in the latch handle, a pivot pin 202 coupling the latch handle to the coupler body,] (Fig. 2B; Col. 4, lines 14-23) [the latch handle movable from a locked position to an unlocked position,] (Fig. 2C; Col. 4, lines 14-23) [and in in the locked position the locking pin extending at least partially through the lock aperture in the latch handle;] (Fig. 2A; Col. 4, lines 14-23; As shown in Fig. 2C, Harms et al. illustrates the latch handle 201 in the locked position and the locking pin 203 extending at least partially through the lock aperture in the latch handle.) and [a connecting rod 206 coupling the latch handle to an underjaw 207, the underjaw abutting the hitch ball and preventing removal of the hitch ball from the hitch ball socket when the latch handle is in the locked position.] (Fig. 2E of Harms et al.; Col. 4, lines 48-55 of Harms et al.; As shown in Fig. 2E &, Harms et al. illustrates a connecting rod 206 coupling the latch handle to an underjaw 207, with the underjaw abutting the hitch ball and preventing removal of the hitch ball from the hitch ball socket when the latch handle is in the locked position.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the latch handle configuration of Harms et al. with the trailer coupler of Works et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the locking pin to engage both the coupler body and the latch handle, thus preventing unintended movement of the latch handle and improving the locking functionality of the coupler.
Regarding clam 15, Works et al. further discloses [in the locked position the locking pin extending through the pin aperture] (Annotation of Fig. 5 above of Works et al.; Paragraph 0060 of Works et al.; As shown in annotated Fig. 5 above, Works et al. illustrates the lock pin 71 extending through the pin aperture when in the locked position.)
Works et al. does not disclose a latch handle, the latch handle including a locking portion and a lock aperture in the latching portion of the latch handle; a pivot pin coupling the latch handle to the coupler body, the latch handle movable from a locked position to an unlocked position, and in the locked position the locking pin extending at least partially through the lock aperture in the locking portion of the latch handle.
Harms et al. teaches [a latch handle 201, the latch handle including a locking portion and a lock aperture in the latching portion of the latch handle, a pivot pin 202 coupling the latch handle to the coupler body,] (Fig. 2B of Harms et al.; Col. 4, lines 14-23 of Harms et al.) [the latch handle movable from a locked position to an unlocked position,] (Fig. 2C of Harms et al.; Col. 4, lines 14-23 of Harms et al.) [and in in the locked position the locking pin extending at least partially through the lock aperture in the locking portion of the latch handle.] (Fig. 2A of Harms et al.; Col. 4, lines 14-23 of Harms et al.; As shown in Fig. 2C, Harms et al. illustrates the latch handle 201 in the locked position and the locking pin 203 extending at least partially through the lock aperture in the latch handle.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to alternatively use the latch handle configuration of Harms et al. with the trailer coupler of Works et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for the locking pin to engage both the coupler body and the latch handle’s locking portion, thus improving ease of use and enhancing the locking function of the coupler assembly.
Claims 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Works et al. in view of Van Laere US 20090102159 A1.
Regarding claim 11 and 19, Works et al. does not disclose a lock channel cover, the lock channel cover being movable from a covered position to an uncovered position, and in the covered position, the lock channel cover covering the open end of the lock channel.
Van Laere teaches [a lock channel cover, the lock channel cover being movable from a covered position to an uncovered position,] (Annotation of Fig. 1 & 2; As shown in Fig. 1 & 2, Van Laere illustrates a lock cover being movable from a covered position to an uncovered position.) and [in the covered position, the lock channel cover covering the open end of the lock channel.] (Annotation of Fig. 1 & 2; As shown in Fig. 1 & 2, Van Laere illustrates [in the covered position, the lock channel cover covering the open end of the lock channel.)
Annotation of Fig. 1 & 2 of Van Laere
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use the lock channel cover of Van Laere of with the trailer coupler of Works et al. with a reasonable expectation of success because it would allow for protection of the lock mechanism and the lock channel from debris and environmental exposure, thus improving durability and maintaining proper operation of the locking mechanism.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5, 8-9, 14, and 17-18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 5 and 14 contains the limitation an annular groove in the lock channel; and the lock mechanism including at least one lug, the lug extending radially from the locking mechanism into the annular groove when the lock mechanism is locked. The closest prior art, Works et al. US 20120098236 A1, discloses a lock channel formed in a lock section, but does not disclose an annular groove in the lock channel; and the lock mechanism including at least one lug, the lug extending radially from the locking mechanism into the annular groove when the lock mechanism is locked.
Claims 8-9 and 17-18 contains the limitation the locking portion of the latch handle being disposed in a gap between the locking panel and the locking channel when the latch handle is in a locked position. The closest prior art, Works et al. US 20120098236 A1, discloses a latch handle interacting with a locking panel and locking channel but does not disclose the locking portion of the latch handle being disposed in a gap between the locking panel and the locking channel when the latch handle is in a locked position.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kraai US 7690673 B1 – comprises a ball hitch coupler that permits self-latching with a ball hitch. The ball hitch coupler has a housing with a generally downwardly facing open socket for receiving a ball hitch. A ball clamp member within the open socket is attached to an adjustment lever by a clamp rod that extends through a top surface of the housing. A camming surface provided on the lever causes the clamp rod to pull the ball clamp member upwardly and outwardly from the socket as the lever is pivoted to an open position.
Gilbertson et al. US 20010023601 A1 – comprises a trailer hitch locking system is provided for securing a trailer while hitched to a vehicle or protecting the trailer from theft while unhitched. The locking system includes a hitch lock, a ball lock, and a receiver pin lock.
/Mohamed M Medani/Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/JACOB D KNUTSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611