DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 10-12, 15-18, 20-22, 24, 28, 32-35, 39-42, 44-46, 48, 221 and 222 are pending.
Claims 1, 5, 24, 33 and 48 have been amended.
Claims 3-4, 7-9, 13-14, 19, 23, 25-27, 29-31, 36-38, 43, 47 and 49-220 were previously cancelled.
This paper is responsive to an RCE filed on May 18, 2026.
The present application claims priority to US Provisional App. 63/262,019 filed October 1, 2021.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 5, 24, 33 and 48 have been amended. The amendments have been accepted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 5, 24, 33 and 48 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable U.S. Pat. Pub. 20200221401 to Chenxi Zhu et al. (hereinafter Zhu) and in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. 20140036741 to Eldad Zeira et al. (hereinafter Zeira).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu teaches An apparatus of a distributed unit (DU) (Zhu para. [0037] teaches a base unit may comprise different types of network access points, units and nodes) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more interfaces configured to: Zhu para. [0039] teaches “a wireless communication link” shown in Fig. 1)
output a configuration that indicates:
a transmit power using an offset relative to a reference transmit power; (Zhu para. [0058]-[0059] teaches that TX power offset of a CSI-RS resource may be signaled by a base unit 104 to a remote unit 102, and that CSI-RS RSRP power is defined with respect to SS-block transmission power offsets.” Zhu para. [0067] teaches that the transmitting power offset information may correspond to power levels of the multiple synchronization signal blocks.)
and
Zhu does NOT teach output a set of time resources for the transmit power, wherein the set of time resources are explicitly indicated in the configuration at a slot granularity, wherein the transmit power is used for the set of time resources, and wherein the transmit power applies to communications associated with a multiplexing mode;
and output one or more transmissions in the set of time resources in accordance with the transmit power.
In the analogous art of CDMA/TDD wireless communications, Zeira teaches a set of time resources for the transmit power, wherein the set of time resources are explicitly indicated in the configuration at a slot granularity, (Zeira teaches a processor within a base station or an RNC (radio network controller) coupled to nodes shown in Fig. 2 that outputs a configuration with the downlink transmit power for each time slot as shown in Fig. 9:
wherein the transmit power is used for the set of time resources, and wherein the transmit power applies to communications associated with a multiplexing mode. (Zeira para. [0047] teaches that the transmit power is used for each downlink time slot as calculated by the RNC and output to the base station. Zeira teaches that the downlink power control applies to a TDD (time division duplex) or spread spectrum code division multiple access (CDMA) communication system as shown in Fig. 2, which is a multiplexing mode of wireless communication.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Zhu and Zeira. Each are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Zhu with Zeira’s downlink power control of time slots in order to provide flexibility to the calculation of transmission power when required information is not known as taught in Zeira para. [0053]
Regarding claim 2, Zhu teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more transmissions are transmissions of a synchronization signal block (SSB) burst set including a downlink reference signal. (Zhu teaches in para. [0005] a receiver receiving power information corresponding to the power levels of multiple synchronization signal blocks in RRC signaling. ).
Regarding claim 5, Zhu teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the transmit power is associated with the one or more transmissions based at least in part on at least one of:
a bitmap, the offset, a periodicity, a center frequency associated with the one or more transmissions. (Zhu para. [0054]- [0055] teaches the first transmit power based on a “normalized” “power offset” “different DL TX beams having different TX power, a remote unit 102 in a connected state may need to know the power value (or power offset) of different SS-blocks in order to compare their RSRPs.” )
Regarding claim 16 Zhu teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration indicates the reference transmit power. (Zhu teaches in para. [0054] to measure reference signal received power (RSRP) of SS-blocks based on new radio secondary synchronization signals.)
Claims 6, 10, 11 and 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu and Zeira as applied to claim 1, further in view of 3GPP TS 38.133 V15.9.0 (2020-03)(hereinafter TS 38.133) and TS 38.331 ver.15.15.0 (2021-09) (hereinafter TS 38.331).
Regarding claim 6, Zhu does NOT specifically teach The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration is included in a synchronization signal block (SSB) measurement timing configuration(Zhu teaches in para. [0005] a receiver receiving power information corresponding to the power levels of multiple synchronization signal blocks in RRC signaling.)
However, in the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, TS 38.133 teaches wherein the configuration is included in a synchronization signal block (SSB) measurement timing configuration (SMTC) for a cell or group of cells associated with the downlink reference signal. (TS 38.133 teaches that the SS-RSRP is measured using the SMTC in Section 4.2.2.2:
The SMTC is referred to as the SSB-MTC in 3GPP documents including TS 38.331 wherein the SSB-MTC may include periodicity and offsets for SSBs and optionally may include ServingCellConfigCommon information elements illustrated on page 365, such as ss-PBCH-BlockPower which is the downlink transmit powers on page 365 of TS 38.331:
SSB-MTC information elements are illustrated on page 384 of TS 38.331. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Zhu with TS 38.133 and TS 38.331 to teach an SMTC with a configuration as taught by the standards. Zhu teaches SSB communications in the same field of wireless communications. One would be motivated to combine Zhu with TS 38.133 and TS 38.331 to follow the 3GPP standards to configure cell specific parameters of a UE’s serving cell through dedicated signaling for synchronization as taught on page 365 of TS 38.331.
Regarding claim 10, Zhu does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more interfaces, to output the one or more transmissions, are configured to output the one or more transmissions based at least in part on at least one of:
a configured timeline for applying the configuration, or
a timeline, indicated by the configuration, for applying the configuration.
However, in the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, TS 38.331 teaches a configured timeline for applying the configuration, or
a timeline, indicated by the configuration, for applying the configuration.
(TS 38.331, page 384 teaches the SSB-MTC provides a timeline in the form of a periodicity and offset for performing measurements:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Zhu with TS 38.331 to teach an SMTC with a configuration as taught by the standards. Zhu teaches SSB communications in the same field of wireless communications. One would be motivated to combine Zhu with TS 38.331 to follow the 3GPP standards to configure cell specific parameters of a UE’s serving cell through dedicated signaling for synchronization as taught on page 365 of TS 38.331.
Regarding claim 11, Zhu does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) measurement timing configuration (SMTC) that indicates the transmit power.
However, the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, TS 38.331 , wherein the configuration includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) measurement timing configuration (SMTC) that indicates the transmit power. (TS 38.331 teaches that an SMTC combined with ServingCellConfigCommon information elements includes transmit powers in ss-PBCH-BlockPower.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Zhu with TS 38.331 to teach an SMTC with a configuration as taught by the standards. Zhu teaches SSB communications in the same field of wireless communications. One would be motivated to combine Zhu with TS 38.331 to follow the 3GPP standards to configure cell specific parameters of a UE’s serving cell through dedicated signaling for synchronization as taught on page 365 of TS 38.331.
Regarding claim 17, Zhu does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration indicates an offset between a transmit power of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) of a downlink reference signal and a transmit power of a synchronization signal of the downlink reference signal.
However, the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, TS 38.331 teaches wherein the configuration indicates an offset between a transmit power of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) of the downlink reference signal and a transmit power of a synchronization signal of the downlink reference signal. (TS 38.331 teaches on page 384 that an SSB-MTC may include periodicity and offsets for SSBs. Further, as shown above, SSB configuration information elements combined with ServingCellConfigCommon information elements illustrated in TS 38.331 page 365, such as ss-PBCH-BlockPower which is the downlink transmit powers teaches synchronization signal SSB-MTC includes an offset could also include, for a serving cell, ss-PBCH-Blockpower, with the downlink reference signal (SSB).)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Zhu with TS 38.331 to teach an SMTC with a configuration as taught by the standards. Zhu teaches SSB communications in the same field of wireless communications. One would be motivated to combine Zhu with TS 38.331 to follow the 3GPP standards to configure cell specific parameters of a UE’s serving cell through dedicated signaling for synchronization as taught on page 365 of TS 38.331.
Claims 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu and Zeira as applied to claim 1, further in view of TS 38.133 and TS 38.331 further in view of US Pat. Pub. 20180324678 to Hao Chen et al. (hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 18, Zhu does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration indicates an offset between a transmit power of a primary synchronization signal (PSS) of a downlink reference signal and a transmit power of a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) of the downlink reference signal.
However, in the analogous art of 5G 3GPP wireless communications, Chen teaches wherein the configuration indicates an offset between a transmit power of a primary synchronization signal (PSS) of a downlink reference signal and a transmit power of a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) of the downlink reference signal (Chen paras. [0126]-[0140], and Fig. 7 teaches PSS and SSS processing including RSRP processing using PSS and SSS processing. Thus, the SSB-MTC taught in TS 38.33 with ss-PBCH-Blockpower teaches a configuration with an offset between the PSS and SSS powers. Chen also teaches para. [0223] that an SS measurement set and an SMTC duration enabling a UE to monitor RSRPs belonging to the “SS measurement set” which could include the PSS and SSS as shown in Fig. 7.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Zhu with Chen to teach an SMTC with a configuration as taught by the standards. Zhu and Chen teach SSB communications and both are in the same field of wireless communications. One would be motivated to combine Zhu with Chen to reduce the burden of UEs for RSRP measurements as taught in Chen para. [0222].
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu and Zeira as applied to claim 1 in view of US Pat. Pub. 20230092424 to Thomas Novlan (hereinafter Novlan).
Regarding claim 12, Zhu does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration is included in a synchronization signal block (SSB) transmission configuration (STC).
However, in the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Novlan teaches wherein the configuration is included in a synchronization signal block (SSB) transmission configuration (STC) (Novlan teaches in para. [0038] that transmit power configurations for SSB transmission can be in e.g. STC/SMTC configurations.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Zhu with Novlan to teach an STC. Zhu and Novlan teach SSB communications and both are in the same field of wireless communications. One would be motivated to combine Zhu with Novlan to enhance QoS mechanisms for IAB to enable the non-NR based traffic sources to be aware of the multifrequency operation as taught by para. [0042]
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu and Zeira as applied to claim 1 in view of 3GPP TS 38.211 version 16.2.0 Release 16 (2020-07) (hereinafter TS 38.211).
Regarding claim 15, Zhu does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration indicates a scaling factor for measurements associated with a downlink reference signal.
However, in the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communication, TS 38.211 teaches wherein the configuration indicates a scaling factor for measurements associated with a downlink reference signal (TS 38.211 section 7.4.1.1.2 teaches that UEs assume that a sequence is scaled by a scaling factor of
to conform with the transmission power specified in TS 38.214:
)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Zhu and TS 38.211. Zhu and TS 38.211 are both are in the same field of wireless communications. One would be motivated to combine Zhu with TS 38.211 to enhance coverage areas including controlling the size and shape of coverage areas by changing the SS-block transmission power as suggested in para. [0051] of Zhu and to comply with 3GPP standards within TS 38.211.
Claims 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu and Zeira as applied to claim 1 in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. 20240284456 to Hussain Elkotby et al. (hereinafter Elkotby).
Regarding claim 20, Zhu does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the transmit power is associated with a multiplexing mode of the one or more transmissions.
However, in the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Elkotby teaches wherein the transmit power is associated with a multiplexing mode of the one or more transmissions (Elkotby para. [0051] teaches that a WTRU may include a full duplex radio and a half-duplex radio. Thus, a first transmit power could be over either full duplex or half duplex).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Zhu with Elkotby. Zhu and Elkotby teach SSB communications and both are in the same field of wireless communications. One would be motivated to combine Zhu and Elkotby to enhance coverage areas including controlling the size and shape of coverage areas by changing transmission power as suggested in para. [0051] of Zhu. One would be motivated to combine Elkotby with Zhu to enable low power and ultra-low power while supporting low-latency as taught in Elkotby para. [0117].
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu and Zeira as applied to claim 1 in view of in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. 20240056960 to Joakim Axon et al. (hereinafter Axon).
Regarding claim 21, Zhu does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the transmit power is associated with a resource type.
However, in the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Axmon teaches wherein the transmit power is associated with a resource type (Axmon teaches different methods of measuring RSRP values (transmit powers) for an SCell including associations with an SMTC in para. [0074], CSI-RS, and PDSCH in para. [0075]-[0080]. Additionally, Axmon Fig. 5 illustrates CSI-RS, PDSCH, and SSB resource type transmissions from Port B and Port A to a user equipment. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Zhu with Axmon. Zhu and Axmon teach SSB communications and both are in the same field of wireless communications. One would be motivated to combine Zhu with Axmon to enhance coverage areas including controlling the size and shape of coverage areas by changing transmission power as suggested in para. [0051] of Zhu. One would be motivated to combine Axmon with Zhu to enable direct activation of multiple SCells to save costs as taught in para. [0004] of Axmon.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu and Zeira in view of in view of Axmon further in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. 20230209465 to Hua Zhou et al. (hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding claim 22, Zhu does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the configuration indicates the transmit power as a power control offset parameter of a channel state information reference signal configuration, and wherein a remainder of the channel state information reference signal configuration is unmodified by the configuration.
However, in the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Axmon teaches wherein the configuration indicates the transmit power as a power control offset parameter of a channel state information reference signal configuration, and wherein a remainder of the channel state information reference signal configuration is unmodified by the configuration (Axmon para. [0074]-[0075] teaches determining RSRP measurements and reporting using the CSI-RS resource configuration using offsets.)
Zhu also does NOT teach wherein a remainder of the channel state information reference signal configuration is unmodified by the configuration.
However, in the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communication, Zhou teaches wherein a remainder of the channel state information reference signal configuration is unmodified by the configuration. (Zhou para. [0185] teaches RACH parameters via configuration messages including “a power offset between SSB and CSI-RS”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Zhu with Axmon because each teach SSB communications and both are in the same field of wireless communications. One would be motivated to combine Zhu with Axmon to enable direct activation of multiple SCells to save costs as taught in para. [0004] of Axmon.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Zhu and Zhou. Zhu and Zhou each teach SSB communications and are in the same field of wireless communications. One would be motivated to combine Zhu with Zhou to enhance coverage areas including controlling the size and shape of coverage areas by changing transmission power as suggested in para. [0051] of Zhu. One would be motivated to combine Zhu with Zhou to provide a flexible and configurable architecture as taught in Zhou para. [0045].
Claims 24, 28 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Korean Pat. Pub. KR1020180147945 to Ildo Jung, Namsu Park, and Jehoo Cho (hereinafter Jung) in view of Zeira and Zhou further in view of U.S. Pat. Pub. 20220132446 to Magnus Astrom et al. (hereinafter Astrom)
Regarding claim 24 Jug teaches An apparatus of a distributed unit (DU) (Jung Fig. 1 illustrates a base unit 102 coupled to UEs 200) for wireless communication, comprising:
one or more interfaces (Jung Fig. 2 illustrates communication system 100 with interfaces including offsetting unit 120 among other interfaces) configured to:
output a configuration that indicates a first transmit power associated with a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and a second transmit power associated with a second PDSCH,
[[and a set of time resources for the first transmit power, wherein the set of time resources are explicitly indicated in the configuration at a slot granularity, wherein the first transmit power is used for the set of time resources,]]
wherein the first transmit power is different than the second transmit power;
(Jung teaches in para. [0030]-[0033] that a usage of a PDSCH of a cell is compared with the usage of a PDSCH of an adjacent cell and determining an offset value to apart of the power available in the PDSCH when the PDSCH usage rate is equal or less than a preset value.)
Jung does NOT teach a set of time resources for the first transmit power wherein the set of time resources are explicitly indicated in the configuration at a slot granularity, wherein the first transmit power is used for the set of time resources, wherein the first transmit power applies to communications associated with a multiplexing mode,
However, in the analogous art of CDMA/TDD wireless communications, Zeira teaches a set of time resources for the first transmit power wherein the set of time resources are explicitly indicated in the configuration at a slot granularity, (Zeira teaches a processor within a base station or an RNC (radio network controller) coupled to nodes shown in Fig. 2 that outputs a configuration with the downlink transmit power for each time slot as shown in Fig. 9:
wherein the transmit power is used for the set of time resources, and wherein the transmit power applies to communications associated with a multiplexing mode. (Zeira para. [0047] teaches that the transmit power is used for each downlink time slot as calculated by the RNC and output to the base station. Zeira teaches that the downlink power control applies to a TDD (time division duplex) or spread spectrum code division multiple access (CDMA) communication system as shown in Fig. 2, which is a multiplexing mode of wireless communication.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Jung and Zeira. Each are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Jung with Zeira’s downlink power control of time slots in order to provide flexibility to the calculation of transmission power when required information is not known as taught in Zeira para. [0053]
Jung does NOT teach wherein the configuration indicates the first transmit power or the second transmit power based at least on a power control offset parameter of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration, and wherein the power control offset parameter is between a CSI-RS and a PDSCH;
However, in the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Zhou teaches wherein the configuration indicates the first transmit power or the second transmit power based at least on a power control offset parameter of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration, and wherein the power control offset parameter is between a CSI-RS and a PDSCH; (Zhou para. [0386] power saving mode wherein “The base station may transmit, to a wireless device, RRC messages comprising configuration parameters of the CSI-RS for the PS operation associated with the MBS DRX. The configuration parameters of the CSI-RS may comprise at least one of: periodicity and offset parameters; power offset value of PDSCH RE to CSI-RS RE; QCL-information for the CSI-RS; resource mapping indications; and/or scrambling ID indicating the MBS identification.” Emphasis added.)
Jung does NOT specifically teach output the first PDSCH in the set of time resources in accordance with the first transmit power.
However, in the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Astrom teaches output the first PDSCH in the set of time resources in accordance with the first transmit power; and (Jung para. [0038] teaches obtaining the first PDSCH as the original PDSCH of a cell but does NOT teach in the set of time resource. Astrom, as shown in Table 2 above teaches outputting a configuration using RSS and para. [0091] teaches the output is signaled to the UE for each cell to be measured, along with their respective sizes (in bits). As shown, Table 2 includes both a time offset and a power offset and time resources in the RSS. Astrom para. [0088] and Fig. 4 teaches that “Both the duration and the periodicity of RSS are configurable. In particular, RSS can be configured with durations of 8-40 ms and with periods (or periodicities) of 160-1280 ms.” As taught in Astrom para. [0097] the RSS transmission can be configured to be more efficient by including only a subset of the parameters associated with an RSS configuration, by including selected parameters of the respective RSS configurations and retaining their original values rather than being mapped and/or quantized. Astrom further teaches the PDSCH is how the UE receives basic information in para. [0013]. )
output the second PDSCH in accordance with the second transmit power. (Jung para [0032] teaches applying the offset to determine a transmit power for a synchronization block based on the obtained second PDSCH. Jung para [0032] teaches applying the offset to determine a transmit power for a synchronization block based on the obtained second PDSCH.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Jung and Astrom to teach a set of time resource for the first transmit power and output the first PDSCH in the set of time resources in accordance with the first transmit power wherein the set of time resources are explicitly indicated in the configuration, wherein the first transmit power is used for the set of time resources. Each of Jung and Astrom are in the field of wireless communications and transmit power offsets. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the references to provide solutions to drawbacks related to network signaling configurations of RSS to UEs, particularly to UEs in poor coverage areas as taught in Astrom para. [0080].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Jung and Zhou to teach claim 24 and specifically to teach configuration indicates the first transmit power or the second transmit power based at least on a power control offset parameter of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration, and wherein the power control offset parameter is between a CSI-RS and a PDSCH in that each of Jung and Zhou are in the field of wireless communications and each deal with configurations of transmit power control. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the references to provide enhanced power consumption for power saving signals a taught in Zhou para. [0384].
Regarding claim 28, Jung does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 24, wherein the first transmit power is associated with a first power control offset parameter of a CSI-RS configuration and the second transmit power is associated with a second power control offset parameter of the CSI-RS configuration.
However in the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Zhou teaches wherein the first transmit power is associated with a first power control offset parameter of a CSI-RS configuration and the second transmit power is associated with a second power control offset parameter of the CSI-RS configuration (Zhou para. [0386] teaches that that a power savings signal (PS signal) which Examiner interprets as a second transmit power is determined based on a CSI-RS configuration. “In an example embodiment, the wake-up indication may be a CSI-RS configured, for the PS operation associated with the MBS DRX, by the base station. The base station may transmit, to a wireless device, RRC messages comprising configuration parameters of the CSI-RS for the PS operation associated with the MBS DRX. The configuration parameters of the CSI-RS may comprise at least one of: periodicity and offset parameters; power offset value of PDSCH RE to CSI-RS RE; QCL-information for the CSI-RS; resource mapping indications; and/or scrambling ID indicating the MBS identification.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to combine Zhou and Jung to teach in that both Zhou and Jung are in the same field of wireless communications and address power concerns in wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the references to provide enhanced power consumption for power saving signals a taught in Zhou para. [0384].
Regarding claim 32, Jung does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 24, wherein the configuration is a downlink bandwidth part configuration.
However, in the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Zhou teaches wherein the configuration is a downlink bandwidth part configuration. (Zhou Fig. 25 teaches BWP PDSCH configuration parameters. Jung teaches in para. [0030]-[0033] that a usage of a PDSCH of a cell is compared with the usage of a PDSCH of an adjacent cell and determining an offset value to apart of the power available in the PDSCH when the PDSCH usage rate is equal or less than a preset value. Thus, downlink BWP configurations would include different transmit powers as further taught in Zhu [0062]-[0068]and Fig. 5.
It would have been obvious to combine Zhou and Jung to teach configuration is a downlink bandwidth part configuration in that Zhou, Jung and Zhu are in the same field of wireless communications and address power concerns in wireless communications One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the references to provide enhanced power consumption for power saving signals a taught in Zhou para. [0384].
Claims 33 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu in view of Zeira.
Regarding claim 33, Zhu teaches An apparatus of a wireless communication device comprising: one or more interfaces (Zhu para. [0039] teaches “a wireless communication link” shown in Fig. 1 including a wireless communication device)
configured to:
obtain a configuration that indicates a transmit power using an offset relative to a reference transmit power (Zhu para. [0058]-[0059]] teaches that TX power offset of a CSI-RS resource may be signaled by a base unit 104 to a remote unit 102, and that CSI-RS RSRP power is defined with respect to SS-block transmission power offsets.” Zhu para. [0067] teaches that the transmitting power offset information may correspond to power levels of the multiple synchronization signal blocks.
and
Zhu does NOT teach a set of time resources for the transmit power, wherein the set of time resources are explicitly indicated in the configuration at a slot granularity, wherein the transit power is to be used for the set of time resources, and wherein the transmit power applies to communications associated with a multiplexing mode; and obtain one or more transmissions in the set of time resources in accordance with the transmit power.
In the analogous art of CDMA/TDD wireless communications, Zeira teaches a set of time resources for the transmit power, wherein the set of time resources are explicitly indicated in the configuration at a slot granularity, (Zeira teaches a processor within a base station or an RNC (radio network controller) coupled to nodes shown in Fig. 2 that outputs a configuration with the downlink transmit power for each time slot as shown in Fig. 9:
wherein the transit power is to be used for the set of time resources, (See step 903/4) and wherein the transmit power applies to communications associated with a multiplexing mode; and obtain one or more transmissions in the set of time resources in accordance with the transmit power (Zeira para. [0047] teaches that the transmit power is used for each downlink time slot as calculated by the RNC and output to the base station. Zeira teaches that the downlink power control applies to a TDD (time division duplex) or spread spectrum code division multiple access (CDMA) communication system as shown in Fig. 2, which is a multiplexing mode of wireless communication.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Zhu and Zeira. Each are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Zhu with Zeira’s downlink power control of time slots in order to provide flexibility to the calculation of transmission power when required information is not known as taught in Zeira para. [0053].
Regarding claim 34 Zhu teaches The apparatus of claim 33, wherein the one or more transmissions are transmissions of a synchronization signal block (SSB) burst set including a downlink reference signal. (Zhu teaches in para. [0005] a receiver receiving power information corresponding to the power levels of multiple synchronization signal blocks (SSB) in RRC signaling.)
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu and Zeira as applied to claim 33 in view US Pat. Pub. 20190068348 to Young-Han Nam (hereinafter Nam) and TS 38.133 and TS 38.331.
Regarding claim 35 Zhu does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 33, wherein the one or more transmissions are associated with a periodic configuration, and
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Nam teaches wherein the one or more transmissions are associated with a periodic configuration (Nam, para. [0079] teaches that “The SystemInformationBlockType1 uses a fixed schedule with a periodicity of 80 ms and repetitions made within 80 ms. “ Zhu para. [0054]- [0055] teaches the first transmit power based on a “normalized” “power offset” “different DL TX beams having different TX power, a remote unit 102 in a connected state may need to know the power value (or power offset) of different SS-blocks in order to compare their RSRPs.”.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Zhu and Nam to teach transmitting a downlink reference signal as taught in Zhu and Nam. Each are in the field of wireless communications and address downlink reference signal transmission and each deal with configurations of synchronization symbols. One would be motivated to combine Nam with Zhu to provide flexibility to support 5G applications as taught in Nam para. [0003].
Zhu does NOT teach wherein the transmit power is for a subset of transmission occasions of the periodic configuration.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, TS 38.133 teaches wherein the first transmit power is for a first subset of transmission occasions of the periodic configuration and the second transmit power is for a second subset of transmission occasions of the periodic configuration. TS 38.133 teaches that the SS-RSRP is measured using the SMTC in Section 4.2.2.2:
The SMTC is referred to as the SSB-MTC in 3GPP documents including TS 38.331 wherein the SSB-MTC may include periodicity and offsets for SSBs and optionally may include ServingCellConfigCommon information elements illustrated on page 365, such as ss-PBCH-BlockPower which is the downlink transmit powers on page 365 TS 38.331 ver.15.15.0 (2021-09):
SSB-MTC information elements are illustrated on page 384 of TS 38.331.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Zhu with TS 38.133 and TS 38.331 to teach an SMTC with a configuration as taught by the standards. Zhu teaches SSB communications in the same field of wireless communications. One would be motivated to combine Zhu with TS 38.133 and TS 38.331 to follow the 3GPP standards to configure cell specific parameters of a UE’s serving cell through dedicated signaling for synchronization as taught on page 365 of TS 38.331.
Regarding claim 39, Zhu does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 33, wherein the one or more interfaces, to obtain the one or more transmissions, are configured to
obtain the one or more transmissions based at least in part on at least one of:
a configured timeline for applying the configuration, or a timeline, indicated by the configuration, for applying the configuration.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, TS 38.331 teaches wherein the one or more interfaces, to obtain the first transmission or obtain the second transmission, are configured to
obtain the first transmission or the second transmission based at least in part on at least one of:
a configured timeline for applying the configuration, or a timeline, indicated by the configuration, for applying the configuration
(As shown above, the SSB-MTC taught in TS 38.331 provides a timeline in the form of a periodicity and offset for performing measurements.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Zhu with TS 38.331 to teach an SMTC with a configuration as taught by the standards. Zhu teaches SSB communications in the same field of wireless communications. One would be motivated to combine Zhu with TS 38.331 to follow the 3GPP standards to configure cell specific parameters of a UE’s serving cell through dedicated signaling for synchronization as taught on page 365 of TS 38.331.
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nam, Zhu and Can in view of TS 38.133 and TS 38.331.
Regarding claim 40, Zhu does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 33, wherein the configuration includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) measurement timing configuration (SMTC) that indicates the transmit power.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, TS 38.331 and TS 38.133 teach wherein the configuration includes a first synchronization signal block (SSB) measurement timing configuration (SMTC) that indicates the first transmit power. (TS 38.133 and TS 38.331 teach that an SMTC optionally includes transmit powers in ss-PBCH-BlockPower when SSB-MTC (shown above) includes ServingCellConfigCommon information elements (shown above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Zhu with TS 38.331 to teach an SMTC with a configuration as taught by the standards. Zhu teaches SSB communications in the same field of wireless communications. One would be motivated to combine Zhu with TS 38.331 to follow the 3GPP standards to configure cell specific parameters of a UE’s serving cell through dedicated signaling for synchronization as taught on page 365 of TS 38.331.
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu and Zeira as applied to claim 33 in view of U.S. Pat. 11,343,812 to Kyngmin Park et al. (hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 41, Zhu does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 33, wherein the configuration is via system information, and wherein the apparatus further comprises
a processing system configured to perform a radio resource management (RRM) measurement on a downlink reference signal, wherein the one or more interfaces are configured to
output reporting information or
triggering information based at least in part on the RRM measurement in accordance with the configuration.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Park teaches the configuration is via system information, (Park Fig. 2B, Col. 8, lines 40-45) and wherein the apparatus further comprises a processing system configured to perform a radio resource management (RRM) measurement on the downlink reference signal, (Park Col. 29, lines 0-38) wherein the one or more interfaces are configured to
output reporting information or
triggering information based at least in part on the RRM measurement in accordance with the configuration.
(Park Col. 29, lines 5-37 teaches that a master base station or a secondary base station may maintain Radio Resource Management (RRM) measurement configurations. Park Col. 44 lines 14-39 teach that SMTC and/or CSI-RS configurations support RRM measurements. Col. 43 lines 60-67 further provide that system information acquisition including “SSB and/or CSI-RS based RRM measurements are supported for node discovery and/or measurement”. Therefore, the combination of Nam, Zhu and Can with Park teaches claim 41.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Zhu and Park to teach the use of RRM with a configuration. Each of Zhu, and Park teach SSB communications and both are in the same field of wireless communications. One would be motivated to combine Zhu with Park and enhance coverage areas including controlling the size and shape of coverage areas by changing the SS-block transmission power as suggested in para. [0051] of Zhu, and to reduce latency as taught in Park, col. 38, lines 13-36.
Claims 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu and Zeira in view of TS 38.211.
Regarding claim 42, Zhu does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 33, wherein the configuration indicates a scaling factor for measurements associated with a downlink reference signal, and wherein the apparatus further comprises a processing system configured to perform a measurement of the downlink reference signal using the scaling factor.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless standards, TS 38.211 teaches wherein the configuration indicates a scaling factor for measurements associated with a downlink reference signal, and wherein the apparatus further comprises a processing system configured to perform a measurement of the downlink reference signal using the scaling factor (TS 38.211 section 7.4.1.1.2 teaches that UEs assume that a sequence is scaled by a scaling factor of
to conform with the transmission power specified in TS 38.214:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Zhu with TS 38.211 to teach the scaling factor as taught by the standards since the standards govern SSB communications and each of Zhu are in the same field of wireless communications and SSB communications. One would be motivated to combine Zhu with TS 38.211 to follow the 3GPP standards and enhance coverage areas including controlling the size and shape of coverage areas by changing the SS-block transmission power as suggested in para. [0051] of Zhu within the 3GPP standards taught in TS 38.211.
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu and Zeira as applied to claim 33 in view of TS 38.133 and TS 38.331.
Regarding claim 44, Zhu does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 33, wherein the configuration indicates an offset between a transmit power of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) of a downlink reference signal and a transmit power of a synchronization signal of the downlink reference signal.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, TS 38.133 and TS 38.331 teach wherein the configuration indicates an offset between a transmit power of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) of a downlink reference signal and a transmit power of a synchronization signal of the downlink reference signal (TS 38.133 and TS 38.331 teach that an SMTC optionally includes transmit powers in ss-PBCH-BlockPower when SSB-MTC (shown above) includes ServingCellConfigCommon information elements (shown above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Zhu with TS 38.331 to teach an SMTC with a configuration as taught by the standards. Zhu teaches SSB communications in the same field of wireless communications. One would be motivated to combine Zhu with TS 38.331 to follow the 3GPP standards to configure cell specific parameters of a UE’s serving cell through dedicated signaling for synchronization as taught on page 365 of TS 38.331.
Claim 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu and Zeira as applied to claim 33 in view of TS 38.133 and TS 38.331 and Chen.
Regarding claim 45, Zhu does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 33, wherein the configuration indicates an offset between a transmit power of a primary synchronization signal (PSS) of a downlink reference signal and a transmit power of a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) of the downlink reference signal.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Chen teaches wherein the configuration indicates an offset between a transmit power of a primary synchronization signal (PSS) of a downlink reference signal and a transmit power of a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) of the downlink reference signal (Chen paras. [0126]-[0140], and Fig. 7 teaches PSS and SSS processing including RSRP processing using PSS and SSS processing. Thus, the SSB-MTC with ss-PBCH-Blockpower teaches a configuration with an offset between the PSS and SSS powers. Chen also teaches para. [0223] that an SS measurement set and an SMTC duration enabling a UE to monitor RSRPs belonging to the “SS measurement set” which could include the PSS and SSS as shown in Fig. 7.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Zhu and Chen to teach an SMTC with a configuration as taught by the standards. Zhu and Chen are both are in the same field of wireless communications. One would be motivated to combine Zhu and Chen to reduce the burden of UEs for RSRP measurements as taught in Chen para. [0222].
Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu and Zeira as applied to claim 33 in view of Zhou.
Regarding claim 46, Zhu does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 33, wherein the configuration indicates the transmit power as a power control offset parameter of a channel state information reference signal configuration, and wherein a remainder of the channel state information reference signal configuration is unmodified by the configuration.
However, in the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Axmon teaches wherein the configuration indicates the transmit power as a power control offset parameter of a channel state information reference signal configuration, and (Axmon para. [0074]-[0075] teaches determining RSRP measurements and reporting using the CSI-RS resource configuration using offsets.)
Zhu does NOT teach wherein a remainder of the channel state information reference signal configuration is unmodified by the configuration.
However, in the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communication, Zhou teaches wherein a remainder of the channel state information reference signal configuration is unmodified by the configuration. (Zhou para. [0185] teaches RACH parameters via configuration messages including “a power offset between SSB and CSI-RS”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Zhu with Axmon because each teach SSB communications and both are in the same field of wireless communications. One would be motivated to combine Zhu with Axmon to enable direct activation of multiple SCells to save costs as taught in para. [0004] of Axmon.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Zhu and Zhou. Zhu and Zhou each teach SSB communications and are in the same field of wireless communications. One would be motivated to combine Zhu with Zhou to enhance coverage areas including controlling the size and shape of coverage areas by changing transmission power as suggested in para. [0051] of Zhu. One would be motivated to combine Zhu with Zhou to provide a flexible and configurable architecture as taught in Zhou para. [0045].
Claim 48 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung in view of Zeira and Zhou.
Regarding claim 48 Jung teaches An apparatus of a wireless communication device, (Jung Fig. 1, wireless devices 200) comprising: one or more interfaces (Jung Fig.1 wireless devices receive from base unit 102)
configured to:
obtain a configuration that indicates a first transmit power associated with a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and a second transmit power associated with a second PDSCH, (Jung teaches in para. [0030]-[0033] that a usage of a PDSCH of a cell is compared with the usage of a PDSCH of an adjacent cell and determining an offset value to apart of the power available in the PDSCH when the PDSCH usage rate is equal or less than a preset value.)
Jung does NOT teach a set of time resources for the first transmit power, wherein the set of time resources are explicitly indicated in the configuration, wherein the first transmit power is to be used for the set of time resources at a slot granularity, wherein the first transmit power is different from the second transmit power, wherein the first transmit power applies to communications associated with a multiplexing mode.
In the analogous art of CDMA/TDD wireless communications, Zeira teaches a set of time resources for the first transmit power, wherein the set of time resources are explicitly indicated in the configuration, wherein the first transmit power is to be used for the set of time resources at a slot granularity, (Zeira teaches a processor within a base station or an RNC (radio network controller) coupled to nodes shown in Fig. 2 that outputs a configuration with the downlink transmit power for each time slot as shown in Fig. 9:
wherein the first transmit power is different from the second transmit power, (Zeira teaches wherein the first transmit power applies to communications associated with a multiplexing mode. (Zeira para. [0047] teaches that the transmit power is used for each downlink time slot as calculated by the RNC and output to the base station. Zeira teaches that the downlink power control applies to a TDD (time division duplex) or spread spectrum code division multiple access (CDMA) communication system as shown in Fig. 2, which is a multiplexing mode of wireless communication.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Zhu and Zeira. Each are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Zhu with Zeira’s downlink power control of time slots in order to provide flexibility to the calculation of transmission power when required information is not known as taught in Zeira para. [0053]
Jung does NOT teach wherein the configuration indicates the first transmit power or the second transmit power based at least on a power control offset parameter of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration, and wherein the power control offset parameter is between a CSI-RS and a PDSCH;
However, in the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Zhou teaches wherein the configuration indicates the first transmit power or the second transmit power based at least on a power control offset parameter of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration, and wherein the power control offset parameter is between a CSI-RS and a PDSCH; (Zhou para. [0386] power saving mode wherein “The base station may transmit, to a wireless device, RRC messages comprising configuration parameters of the CSI-RS for the PS operation associated with the MBS DRX. The configuration parameters of the CSI-RS may comprise at least one of: periodicity and offset parameters; power offset value of PDSCH RE to CSI-RS RE; QCL-information for the CSI-RS; resource mapping indications; and/or scrambling ID indicating the MBS identification.” Emphasis added.)
obtain the first PDSCH in the set of time resources in accordance with the first transmit power; and (Jung para. [0038] teaches obtaining the first PDSCH as the original PDSCH of a cell ).
obtain the second PDSCH in accordance with the second transmit power. (Jung para [0032] teaches applying the offset to determine a transmit power for a synchronization block based on the obtained second PDSCH.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Jung and Zhou to teach claim 24 and specifically to teach configuration indicates the first transmit power or the second transmit power based at least on a power control offset parameter of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration, and wherein the power control offset parameter is between a CSI-RS and a PDSCH in that each of Jung and Zhou are in the field of wireless communications and each deal with configurations of transmit power control. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the references to provide enhanced power consumption for power saving signals a taught in Zhou para. [0384].
Regarding claim 221, Jung does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 48, wherein the first transmit power is associated with a first power control offset parameter of a CSI-RS configuration and the second transmit power is associated with a second power control offset parameter of the CSI-RS configuration.
However, in the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Zhou teaches wherein the first transmit power is associated with a first power control offset parameter of a CSI-RS configuration and the second transmit power is associated with a second power control offset parameter of the CSI-RS configuration (Zhou para. [0386] ] teaches that a power savings signal (PS signal) which Examiner interprets as a second transmit power is determined based on a CSI-RS configuration power saving mode wherein “The base station may transmit, to a wireless device, RRC messages comprising configuration parameters of the CSI-RS for the PS operation associated with the MBS DRX. The configuration parameters of the CSI-RS may comprise at least one of: periodicity and offset parameters; power offset value of PDSCH RE to CSI-RS RE; QCL-information for the CSI-RS; resource mapping indications; and/or scrambling ID indicating the MBS identification.” Emphasis added.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective date of the invention to have combined Jung and Zhou to teach claim 221 and specifically to teach a first power control offset parameter of a CSI-RS configuration and the second transmit power is associated with a second power control offset parameter of the CSI-RS configuration in that each of Jung and Zhou are in the field of wireless communications and each deal with configurations of transmit power control. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the references to provide enhanced power consumption for power saving signals a taught in Zhou para. [0384].
Regarding claim 222 Jung does NOT teach The apparatus of claim 48, wherein the configuration is a downlink bandwidth part configuration.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Zhou teaches wherein the configuration is a downlink bandwidth part configuration. (Zhou Fig. 25 teaches BWP PDSCH configuration parameters. Jung teaches in para. [0030]-[0033] that a usage of a PDSCH of a cell is compared with the usage of a PDSCH of an adjacent cell and determining an offset value to apart of the power available in the PDSCH when the PDSCH usage rate is equal or less than a preset value. Thus, downlink BWP configurations would include different transmit powers as further taught in Zhu [0062]-[0068]and Fig. 5.
It would have been obvious to combine Zhou and Jung to teach configuration is a downlink bandwidth part configuration in that Zhou, Jung and Zhu are in the same field of wireless communications and address power concerns in wireless communications One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the references to provide enhanced power consumption for power saving signals a taught in Zhou para. [0384].
Conclusion
/MARGARET MARIE ANDERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412