Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 11, 19, 24-25, 27-29, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0055737 to Rochlin et al. in view of in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0298076 to Lim et al.
Claims 1, 24-25, and 29, Rochlin discloses a pillow, comprising a pillow case 202 having an interior; and a plurality of cut foam pieces 210 which at least partially fill said interior of said pillow case wherein the plurality of cut pieces have a non-thickness dimension ranging between 0.5 cm to 5 cm and a thickness dimension ranging between 0.5 cm to 5 cm [0070]. Rochlin is silent to the foam pieces comprising vertically lapped nonwoven material. Lim discloses substituting vertically lapped nonwoven material for foam in a cushion [0009]. Selecting from a plethora of known filler materials is considered an obvious modification and it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to select the vertically lapped nonwoven material in Lim with the plurality of pieces of filler in Rochlin with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have provided an equivalent and alternative filling material with better resilience, shape recovery, and breathability for the pillow of Rochlin [0022];[0032].
Claims 2 and 27, Rochlin, as modified, discloses the pillow wherein the vertically lapped nonwoven material of Lim is not treated with chemicals [0021]-[0031].
Claims 3 and 28, Rochlin discloses the pillow, wherein cut foam pieces are chemically treated with hypoallergenic materials, antibacterial, anti-mold, anti-allergen, or coating with a chemical, pesticide, or other compounds [0064]-[0066].
Claims 4, 11 and 31, Rochlin discloses the pillow, further comprising an inner lining 208 positioned in the interior volume of the outer casing (fig. 2).
Claims 5, Rochlin, as modified, discloses the pillow wherein a cushion layer 204 is foam [0058].
Claim 6, Rochlin, as modified, discloses the pillow wherein said cushion layer of Lim is vertically lapped nonwoven material [0009].
Claim 12, Rochlin discloses the pillow wherein the inner liner keeps the plurality of pieces of fill material from contacting a surface of said interior of said pillow case (fig. 2) Claim 19, Rochlin is silent to the plurality of pieces of having a weight ranging from 300 to 700 grams. Selecting from a range of dimensions or weights is considered an obvious modification and it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to select the dimensions and weight as stated above with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have provided an equivalent and alternative filling weight for the material of Rochlin.
Claims 7-10, 16-17, 20, 22-23, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0055737 to Rochlin et al. in view of in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0298076 to Lim et al., and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0135624 to Heidtmann et al.
Claim 7, Rochlin, as modified, discloses the pillow, but is silent to the cushion layer being sewn on all sides. Heidtmann discloses an inner lining (26a,26b) with a cushion layer being sewn closed on all sides maintaining a plurality of pieces of filler material within an interior volume [0018][0022]. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the inner lining disclosed in Heidtmann with the pillow of Rochlin with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have provided a measure of durability to the pillow of Rochlin.
Claim 8, Rochlin discloses the pillow, wherein the cut foam pieces are chemically treated with hypoallergenic materials, antibacterial, anti-mold, anti-allergen, or coating with a chemical, pesticide, or other compounds [0064]-[0066].
Claim 9, Rochlin, as modified, discloses the pillow, wherein the cushion layer holds the plurality of cut pieces of material within an interior volume defined by the cushion layer, and wherein the cushion layer of Heidtmann includes an opening 40 which can be selectively opened and closed [0021].
Claims 10, 22-23, and 30, Rochlin, as modified, discloses the pillow wherein the opening of Heidtmann is a selectively open and closeable fastener defined by a zipper 44.
Claim 16, Rochlin discloses the pillow wherein the pillow case of Heidtmann is constructed of quilted material which includes a top layer, a middle layer made of a cushioning material, and a bottom layer, wherein the bottom layer forms an inside of the pillow and the top layer forms an external surface of the pillow [Abstract][0006][0015]0018]-[0019](fig. 3-4).
Claim 17, Rochlin discloses the pillow, further comprising an inner lining 208 positioned in the interior.
Claim 20, Rochlin, as modified, discloses the pillow wherein Heidtmann further comprising one or more of foam pieces, and fiberfills [0051][0052]. .ocr_line,
Claim(s) 13-15 and 32-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0055737 to Rochlin et al. in view of in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0298076 to Lim et al., and further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 2017/0231410 to Chon et al.
Claims 13-15 and 32-35, Rochlin as modified, discloses the pillow, but is silent to the inner liner a selectively openable and closeable opening. Chon discloses an inner liner 120 having an opening 129 with a selectively openable and closeable fastener such as a zipper or hook and loop material [0041]. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the inner liner and fastener in Chon with the pillow of Rochlin with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have allowed filler material to be inserted and closed in order to maintain the filler material [0041].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. PRINCIPLES OF LAW "Section 103 forbids issuance of a patent when 'the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains.'" KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1734 (2007). "If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, § 103 likely bars its patentability." Id. at 1740. Rochlin discloses a pillow, comprising a filler defined by a plurality of cut foam pieces 210 wherein the plurality of cut pieces have a non-thickness dimension ranging between 0.5 cm to 5 cm and a thickness dimension ranging between 0.5 cm to 5 cm [0070]. Lim discloses substituting vertically lapped nonwoven material for foam in a cushion [0009]. As previously stated, merely selecting from a plethora of known filler materials is considered an obvious modification and one having ordinary skill in the art would not have found it novel or inventive to select the vertically lapped nonwoven material taught by Lim for the plurality of pieces of filler in Rochlin yielding predictable results that provided an equivalent and alternative filling material with better resilience, shape recovery, and breathability for the filling of Rochlin [0022];[0032].
The Applicant has not found a filling material that has particular advantages, and has done nothing more than select a filling material for a pillow which is not considered patentably distinct. Thus, Lim is reasonably pertinent to the Applicant’s invention, and is analogous art. Furthermore, the Applicant has provided no evidence that they were the first to discover vertically lapped nonwoven material, and therefore the vertically lapped nonwoven filler material of the present invention is neither novel nor inventive. Once again, the Examiner has set forth reasons for combining the references, and the reasons articulated by the Examiner have rational underpinnings.
With regards to the Applicant’s argument that one skilled in the art would not have thought to select a vertically lapped nonwoven material. "A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton." KSR, 550 U.S. at 421. The Applicant does not provide any evidence that selecting a vertically lapped nonwoven material for a filler in a pillow would have been beyond the technical grasp of a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pat. No. 10,660,461 to Chavez et al. discloses a support having support pieces.
U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0069086 to Little et al. discloses a pillow having a plurality of independent pieces.
U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0340131 to Schmidt discloses a support having foam filling elements.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Troutman can be reached on (571) 270-3654. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/FREDRICK C CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679