DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant does not appear to have any arguments regarding the independent claims but instead argues features covered by claims 31-33. The current rejection has been remapped to address the applicant’s amendments and new claims 31-33.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10-12, 20-22, and 31-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Number 10,965,335 to Jadhav et al.
As to claim 1, Jadhav teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: a memory; and one or more processors, coupled to the memory, configured to: allocate, from an energy budget of the UE (col. 3, lines 49-55, SAR allocation budget), a first amount of energy to a first communication link of a set of communication links and a second amount of energy to a second communication link of the set of communication links (col. 3, lines 56-67, energy is allocated to radio transceivers and other RF components on the device), wherein: the energy budget comprises a transmission energy available to the UE for a transmission timeframe (col. 3, lines 49-55), and the energy budget is less than a total energy requirement for the set of communication links (col. 3, lines 28-55, the SAR allocation budget keeps the device below the SAR requirement, the applicant defines the term “requirement” as an MPE/SAR limit in paragraphs 55, 56, 58, and 74 of their specification); allocate, from a remainder of the energy budget after the first amount of energy and the second amount of energy are allocated, a third amount of energy to the first communication link and a fourth amount of energy to the second communication link (col. 4, lines 1-5), wherein: the third amount of energy is allocated according a first energy requirement for the first communication link, and the fourth amount of energy is allocated according to a second energy requirement for the second communication link (col. 9, lines 17-19, SAR can be managed per antenna in addition to per device); and transmit in accordance with the third amount of energy or the fourth amount of energy (col. 5, lines 1-5).
As to claims 11 and 21, they are rejected for the same reasoning as claim 1.
As to claims 2, 12, and 22, the different radio antennas are bearer types.
As to claims 10 and 20, Jadhav teaches the third amount of energy and the fourth amount of energy are based at least in part on a radio characteristic associated with the first communication link and the second communication link (col. 12, line 42-col. 13, line 35); the SAR budget in Jadhav is a radio frequency exposure design level, the current allocation is considered a load and channel metric.
As to claims 31-33, Jadhav teaches the third amount of energy is allocated according to a first energy allocation coefficient (col. 12, lines 42-62) that is based on the total energy requirement (col. 10, lines 18-30) and the first energy requirement for the first communication link (col. 9, lines 3-38), and wherein the fourth amount of energy is allocated according to a second energy allocation coefficient (col. 12, lines 42-62) that is based on the total energy requirement (col. 10, lines 18-30) and the second energy requirement for the second communication link (col. 9, lines 3-38).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 8, 9, 13-15, 18, 19, and 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Number 10,965,335 to Jadhav et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0359330 by Zacharias et al.
As to claims 3, 13, and 23, Jadhav teaches the subject matter of claims 1, 11, and 21 including an amount of energy based on a bear configuration of a first communication link; however, Jadhav does not explicitly teach that a first bearer configuration indicates a split bearer associated with the first and second communication links.
Zacharias teaches allocating an amount of energy based on a bearer configuration of a first communication link that indicates a split bearer associated with two communication links (paragraphs 75, 105, and 136).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the device transmission power management art at the time of the applicant’s filing to combine the teachings of Jadhav regarding managing the energy of communication links with the teachings of Zacharias regarding managing energy in a split bearer configuration because the interfaces of the device shown in Figure 2 described in Zacharias could be used to communicate in a split bearer configuration.
As to claims 4, 14, and 24, Jadhav teaches the subject matter of claims 1, 11, and 21; however, Jadhav does not explicitly teach allocating energy based on data volume associated with communication links.
Zacharias teaches allocating energy to links based at least in part on a first buffered data volume associated with the first communication link and a second buffered data volume associated with the second communication link (paragraph 130-136).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the device transmission power management art at the time of the applicant’s filing to combine the teachings of Jadhav regarding managing the energy of communication links with the teachings of Zacharias regarding considering buffer volume because considering the data buffers associated with links will improve performance while managing power usage.
As to claims 5, 15, and 25, see paragraph 126 of Zacharias.
As to claims 8, 9, 18 and 19, see paragraphs 130-136 of Zacharias.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Number 10,965,335 to Jadhav et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2020/0359330 by Zacharias et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2019/0138643 by Saini et al.
As to claims 6, 7, 16, and 17, the Jadhav-Zacharias combination shows claims 5 and 15 to be obvious however they do not suggest making a predication based on average throughput or periodic traffic.
Saini shows that predicting traffic based on past average throughput and periodic traffic (paragraph 18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the device transmission power management art at the time of the applicant’s filing to combine the teachings of Zacharias regarding predicting traffic with the teachings of Saini regarding using past average and periodic traffic to predict traffic because Saini provides alternatives to the estimates disclosed by Zacharias. The Examiner notes that in paragraphs 85-88, the applicant discloses that generic statistical models, machine learning, and AI can be used to carry out the invention without disclosing details about how these models are actually performed based on the lack of detail disclosed, it can be assumed the applicant thought these techniques to be so well known, they did not need to disclose any detail about them.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS B BLAIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454