DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 9/18/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on pages 8-9 with respect to claims 1, 9 and 16 have been considered but are moot upon a further consideration and a new ground of rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shuman (US PGPub 2023/0100298).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shuman (US PGPub 2023/0100298).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Shuman teaches a system for detection and indication of faulty roadside units (RSUs) (Shuman, see abstract, A radio frequency signal transfer anomaly notification method performed by a roadside unit), comprising:
an RSU in an intelligent transportation system (ITS), wherein the ITS includes an operation center, RSUs, and pedestrians (Shuman, see figure 9 and paragraph 0077, Roadside units (RSUs), however, may be used to perform anomaly detection and mitigation associated with OBUs. Traffic management center 950), the RSU comprising one or more first processors, and a first non-transitory memory having first executable instructions that, when executed (Shuman, see figure 6, block diagram of an example of a roadside unit), cause the one or more first processors to:
detect a faulty condition of the RSU (Shuman, see paragraph 0080, The anomaly detection unit 650 is configured to detect anomalies in RF signal transfer, e.g., reception of RF communication signals and/or reception of SPS signals);
generate, in response to the detection of the faulty condition of the RSU, a predetermined distress transmission for on-board units (OBUs) (Shuman, see paragraph 0117, transmitting, from the first roadside unit to another entity, an anomaly indication indicative of the anomaly of radio frequency signal transfer and the type of radio frequency signal transfer of the anomaly); and
broadcast the predetermined distress transmission over a wireless interface (Shuman, see paragraphs 0117 and 0118, transmitting, from the first roadside unit to another entity, an anomaly indication indicative of the anomaly of radio frequency signal transfer and the type of radio frequency signal transfer of the anomaly. the anomaly mitigation unit 660 of the RSU 910 may send an anomaly message to the RSU 920, to the TMC 950, and/or to one or more OBUs within the communication region 916); and
an OBU comprising one or more second processors, and a second non-transitory memory having second executable instructions that, when executed (Shuman, see figure 5, a block diagram of an example on-board unit), cause the one or more second processors to:
process the predetermined distress transmission (Shuman, see paragraph 0118, The RSU 910 may transmit a warning using the WSA channel and the OBU 500, e.g., the anomaly mitigation unit 550, may take mitigating action(s) based on an inability to receive an RF health status via the WSA channel).
Regarding claim 2, Shuman teaches wherein the faulty condition of the RSU includes a connection between the RSU and an operation center over a wired interface to a backhaul network being down (Shuman, see paragraph 0080, The anomaly detection unit 650 is configured to detect anomalies in RF signal transfer, e.g., reception of RF communication signals and/or reception of SPS signals).
Regarding claim 3, Shuman teaches further comprising:
broadcasting the predetermined distress transmission over the wireless interface using power from an internal power cell of the RSU (Shuman, see paragraph 0118, The RSU 910 may transmit a warning using the WSA channel and the OBU 500, e.g., the anomaly mitigation unit 550, may take mitigating action(s) based on an inability to receive an RF health status via the WSA channel).
Regarding claim 4, Shuman teaches wherein the faulty condition of the RSU includes a radio interface of the RSU being down (Shuman, see paragraph 0080, The anomaly detection unit 650 is configured to detect anomalies in RF signal transfer, e.g., reception of RF communication signals and/or reception of SPS signals).
Regarding claim 5, Shuman teaches further comprising:
broadcasting the predetermined distress transmission over the wireless interface using power from a main power source of the RSU (Shuman, see paragraph 0118, The RSU 910 may transmit a warning using the WSA channel and the OBU 500, e.g., the anomaly mitigation unit 550, may take mitigating action(s) based on an inability to receive an RF health status via the WSA channel).
Regarding claim 6, Shuman teaches wherein the wireless interface is operable to transmit wireless access in vehicular environments (WAVE) service advertisement (WSA) messages (Shuman, see paragraph 0118, The RSU 910 may transmit a warning using the WSA channel and the OBU 500, e.g., the anomaly mitigation unit 550, may take mitigating action(s) based on an inability to receive an RF health status via the WSA channel).
Regarding claim 7, Shuman teaches wherein the predetermined distress transmission includes at least one of: a unique RSU identifier (ID); a three-dimensional (3D) location; and an intersection ID (Shuman, see paragraph 0118, The anomaly mitigation unit 660 may include an indication (e.g., a definition of the boundary) of the anomaly region in the anomaly indication).
Regarding claim 8, Shuman teaches further comprising:
detecting that the faulty condition of the RSU has ended (Shuman, see paragraph 0080, The anomaly detection unit 650 is configured to detect anomalies in RF signal transfer, e.g., reception of RF communication signals and/or reception of SPS signals); and
halting a broadcasting of the predetermined distress transmission based on the detection that the faulty condition of the RSU has ended (Shuman, see paragraph 0118, The RSU 910 may transmit a warning using the WSA channel and the OBU 500, e.g., the anomaly mitigation unit 550, may take mitigating action(s) based on an inability to receive an RF health status via the WSA channel).
Regarding claim 9, Shuman teaches an apparatus of a roadside unit (RSU) (Shuman, see abstract, A radio frequency signal transfer anomaly notification method performed by a roadside unit), comprising:
a wireless interface for sending transmissions to on board units (OBUs) mounted on vehicles (Shuman, see figure 9 and paragraph 0077, Roadside units (RSUs), however, may be used to perform anomaly detection and mitigation associated with OBUs. Traffic management center 950);
one or more processors (Shuman, see figure 6, block diagram of an example of a roadside unit); and
a non-transitory memory having executable instructions that, when executed (Shuman, see figure 6, block diagram of an example of a roadside unit), cause the one or more processors to:
detect a faulty condition of the RSU (Shuman, see paragraph 0080, The anomaly detection unit 650 is configured to detect anomalies in RF signal transfer, e.g., reception of RF communication signals and/or reception of SPS signals);
generate, in response to the detection of the faulty condition of the RSU, a predetermined distress transmission (Shuman, see paragraph 0117, transmitting, from the first roadside unit to another entity, an anomaly indication indicative of the anomaly of radio frequency signal transfer and the type of radio frequency signal transfer of the anomaly), wherein the predetermined distress transmission includes one or more of a unique RSU identifier (ID), a three-dimensional (3D) location, and an intersection ID (Shuman, see paragraph 0118, The anomaly mitigation unit 660 may include an indication (e.g., a definition of the boundary) of the anomaly region in the anomaly indication); and
broadcast the predetermined distress transmission over the wireless interface (Shuman, see paragraphs 0117 and 0118, transmitting, from the first roadside unit to another entity, an anomaly indication indicative of the anomaly of radio frequency signal transfer and the type of radio frequency signal transfer of the anomaly. the anomaly mitigation unit 660 of the RSU 910 may send an anomaly message to the RSU 920, to the TMC 950, and/or to one or more OBUs within the communication region 916).
Regarding claim 10, Shuman teaches wherein the faulty condition of the RSU includes a connection between the RSU and an operation center over a wired interface to a backhaul network being down (Shuman, see paragraph 0080, The anomaly detection unit 650 is configured to detect anomalies in RF signal transfer, e.g., reception of RF communication signals and/or reception of SPS signals); and wherein an internal power cell of the RSU provides power for the broadcasting of the predetermined distress transmission over the wireless interface (Shuman, see paragraph 0118, The RSU 910 may transmit a warning using the WSA channel and the OBU 500, e.g., the anomaly mitigation unit 550, may take mitigating action(s) based on an inability to receive an RF health status via the WSA channel).
Regarding claim 11, Shuman teaches further comprising: wherein the faulty condition of the RSU includes a radio interface of the RSU being down (Shuman, see paragraph 0080, The anomaly detection unit 650 is configured to detect anomalies in RF signal transfer, e.g., reception of RF communication signals and/or reception of SPS signals); and wherein a main power source of the RSU provides power for the broadcasting of the predetermined distress transmission over the wireless interface (Shuman, see paragraph 0118, The RSU 910 may transmit a warning using the WSA channel and the OBU 500, e.g., the anomaly mitigation unit 550, may take mitigating action(s) based on an inability to receive an RF health status via the WSA channel).
Regarding claim 12, Shuman teaches wherein the radio interface is a first radio interface,
wherein the first radio interface is compliant with at least one of: a wireless access in vehicular environments (WAVE) service advertisement (WSA) protocol, a traveler information messages (TIM) protocol, and a regional wireless communication standard (Shuman, see paragraph 0118, The RSU 910 may transmit a warning using the WSA channel and the OBU 500, e.g., the anomaly mitigation unit 550, may take mitigating action(s) based on an inability to receive an RF health status via the WSA channel); and
wherein a second radio interface of the RSU is compliant with at least one of: a signal phase and timing (SPaT) message protocol, and a protocol for messages corresponding with map data to convey geographic road information (MAP messages) (Shuman, see paragraph 0118, The RSU 910 may transmit a warning using the WSA channel and the OBU 500, e.g., the anomaly mitigation unit 550, may take mitigating action(s) based on an inability to receive an RF health status via the WSA channel).
Regarding claim 13, Shuman teaches wherein the wireless interface is compliant with at least one of: a dedicated short-range communication (DSRC) protocol, a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) protocol, a Wi-Fi DSRC protocol, a 4G cellular-V2X protocol, and a Fifth Generation broadband cellular network (5G) protocol (Shuman, see paragraph 0032, V2X (Vehicle-to-Everything, e.g., V2P (Vehicle-to-Pedestrian), V2I (Vehicle-to-Infrastructure), V2V (Vehicle-to-Vehicle), etc.), IEEE 802.11p, etc.). V2X communications may be cellular (Cellular-V2X (C-V2X)) and/or WiFi (e.g., DSRC (Dedicated Short-Range Connection))).
Regarding claim 14, Shuman teaches wherein a coverage range of a protocol of the wireless interface is substantially the same as a coverage range of the RSU (Shuman, see paragraph 0080, The anomaly detection unit 650 is configured to detect anomalies in RF signal transfer, e.g., reception of RF communication signals and/or reception of SPS signals).
Regarding claim 15, Shuman teaches the executable instructions, when executed, further cause the one or more processors to:
halt broadcasting of the predetermined distress transmission based on a detection that the RSU has returned to a normal operational state (Shuman, see paragraph 0080, The anomaly detection unit 650 is configured to detect anomalies in RF signal transfer, e.g., reception of RF communication signals and/or reception of SPS signals).
Regarding claim 17, Shuman teaches wherein the faulty condition of the RSU includes a connection between the RSU and an operation center over a wired interface to a backhaul network being down (Shuman, see paragraph 0080, The anomaly detection unit 650 is configured to detect anomalies in RF signal transfer, e.g., reception of RF communication signals and/or reception of SPS signals); and wherein the broadcasting of the predetermined distress transmission over the wireless interface uses power from an internal power cell of the RSU (Shuman, see paragraph 0118, The RSU 910 may transmit a warning using the WSA channel and the OBU 500, e.g., the anomaly mitigation unit 550, may take mitigating action(s) based on an inability to receive an RF health status via the WSA channel).
Regarding claim 18, Shuman teaches wherein the faulty condition of the RSU includes a radio interface of the RSU being down (Shuman, see paragraph 0080, The anomaly detection unit 650 is configured to detect anomalies in RF signal transfer, e.g., reception of RF communication signals and/or reception of SPS signals); and wherein the broadcasting of the predetermined distress transmission over the wireless interface uses power from a main power source of the RSU (Shuman, see paragraph 0118, The RSU 910 may transmit a warning using the WSA channel and the OBU 500, e.g., the anomaly mitigation unit 550, may take mitigating action(s) based on an inability to receive an RF health status via the WSA channel).
Regarding claim 19, Shuman teaches wherein the RSU is a first RSU (Shuman, see paragraph 0090, an RSU 910 (which is an example of the RSU 700) can use one or more sensors to monitor a region near the RSU 910); and wherein the second executable instructions, when executed, further cause the one or more second processors to: re-send the predetermined distress transmission to a second RSU (Shuman, see paragraph 0091, the anomaly detection unit 650 may be configured to use analytics and coordination with one or more other RSUs and/or a server (e.g., a traffic management center) to determine whether a communication anomaly exists near the RSU 600).
Regarding claim 20, Shuman teaches wherein the OBU is a first OBU (Shuman, see paragraph 0090, an RSU 910 (which is an example of the RSU 700) can use one or more sensors to monitor a region near the RSU 910); and wherein the second RSU comprises one or more third processors, and a third non-transitory memory having third executable instructions that, when executed, cause the one or more third processors to:
re-send the predetermined distress transmission to a second OBU (Shuman, see paragraph 0091, the anomaly detection unit 650 may be configured to use analytics and coordination with one or more other RSUs and/or a server (e.g., a traffic management center) to determine whether a communication anomaly exists near the RSU 600).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHONG G KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
/NICHOLAS R TAYLOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2443