DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 3/11/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on pages 8-9 with respect to claims 1, 9 and 16 have been considered but are moot upon a further consideration and a new ground of rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mahamuni (US PGPub 2014/0126348).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mahamuni (US PGPub 2014/0126348).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Mahamuni teaches a system for detection and indication of faulty roadside units (RSUs) (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0013, a local stationary router may detect a disconnected backhaul link and may send a message (e.g., a critical message) to a first traveling mobile device, causing the message to be sent toward a destination via a remote stationary router), comprising:
an RSU in an intelligent transportation system (ITS) (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0027-0028, one or more RSUs represented as FARs (Field Area Routers)), wherein the ITS includes an operation center, RSUs, and pedestrians (Mahamuni, see paragraphs 0027, FIG. 1 may specifically illustrate a simplified VANET scenario, where a plurality of vehicles ( mobile devices 320 and 505, such as cars, trucks, etc.) may be in proximity to one another, while traveling at different speeds and directions. a control center), the RSU comprising one or more first processors, and a first non-transitory memory having first executable instructions that (Mahamuni, see figure 1 and paragraph 0017, FIG. 1 is a schematic block diagram of an example simplified computer network 100 illustratively comprising a plurality of stationary routers, such as field area routers (FARs) 300 and 410), when executed, cause the one or more first processors to:
monitor operation conditions of the RSU (Mahamuni, see paragraphs 0016-0017, Smart object networks, such as sensor networks, in particular, are a specific type of network having spatially distributed autonomous devices such as sensors, actuators, etc., that cooperatively monitor physical or environmental conditions at different locations. smart object networks are considered field area networks (FANs) … the objects in such networks may be stationary or mobile. As an example of a FAN involving both mobile and stationary devices, FIG. 1 is a schematic block diagram of an example simplified computer network 100);
detect a faulty condition of the RSU (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0040, a stationary router 300 detects a disconnected backhaul link 305 to a destination 310);
generate, in response to the detection of the faulty condition of the RSU, a predetermined distress transmission for on-board units (OBUs) (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0040, the stationary router has a message 315 to send to the destination); and
broadcast the predetermined distress transmission over a wireless interface (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0040, In order to reach the destination, in step 715, the stationary router sends the message to a traveling mobile device 320, to cause the message to be (hopefully) sent toward the destination); and
an OBU comprising one or more second processors, and a second non-transitory memory having second executable instructions that (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0027, a plurality of vehicles ( mobile devices 320 and 505, such as cars, trucks, etc.) may be in proximity to one another, while traveling at different speeds and directions), when executed, cause the one or more second processors to:
process the predetermined distress transmission (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0030, The message may be sent from the traveling vehicle to a connected FAR, which then relays the message to the destination).
Regarding claim 2, Mahamuni teaches wherein the faulty condition of the RSU includes a connection between the RSU and an operation center over a wired interface to a backhaul network being down (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0040, a stationary router 300 detects a disconnected backhaul link 305 to a destination 310).
Regarding claim 3, Mahamuni teaches further comprising:
broadcasting the predetermined distress transmission over the wireless interface using power from an internal power cell of the RSU (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0040, In order to reach the destination, in step 715, the stationary router sends the message to a traveling mobile device 320, to cause the message to be (hopefully) sent toward the destination).
Regarding claim 4, Mahamuni teaches wherein the faulty condition of the RSU includes a radio interface of the RSU being down (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0040, a stationary router 300 detects a disconnected backhaul link 305 to a destination 310).
Regarding claim 5, Mahamuni teaches further comprising:
broadcasting the predetermined distress transmission over the wireless interface using power from a main power source of the RSU (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0040, In order to reach the destination, in step 715, the stationary router sends the message to a traveling mobile device 320, to cause the message to be (hopefully) sent toward the destination).
Regarding claim 6, Mahamuni teaches wherein the wireless interface is operable to transmit wireless access in vehicular environments (WAVE) service advertisement (WSA) messages (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0026, One of the outcomes has been a new type of wireless access called Wireless Access for Vehicular Environment (WAVE) dedicated to vehicle-to-vehicle and vehicle-to-roadside communications).
Regarding claim 7, Mahamuni teaches wherein the RSU is a virtual RSU and wherein the predetermined distress transmission includes at least one of: a unique RSU identifier (ID); a three-dimensional (3D) location; and an intersection ID (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0033, the messages sent toward the destination may include identifiers indicating which FAR sent the message toward the destination, such that when multiple FARs send messages to multiple mobile devices (e.g., when there is a regional disturbance to multiple backhaul links simultaneously), the identifiers would allow distinguishing between multiple copies of the same message and different messages sent from different FARs).
Regarding claim 8, Mahamuni teaches further comprising:
detecting that the faulty condition of the RSU has ended (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0041, a timer may be set such that it may be determined whether the acknowledgment is received by expiration of the timer); and
halting a broadcasting of the predetermined distress transmission based on the detection that the faulty condition of the RSU has ended (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0041, the disconnected FAR may cease sending additional copies of the message to other traveling mobile devices).
Regarding claim 9, Mahamuni teaches an apparatus of a roadside unit (RSU) (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0027-0028, one or more RSUs represented as FARs (Field Area Routers)), comprising:
a wireless interface for sending transmissions to on board units (OBUs) mounted on vehicles (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0017, Each of the devices may be interconnected by various methods of communication (links), such as wired links or shared media (e.g., wireless links, etc.) where certain mobile devices may be in communication with a particular FAR based on distance, signal strength, current operational status, location, etc);
one or more processors (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0027-0028, one or more RSUs); and
a non-transitory memory having executable instructions that (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0027-0028, one or more RSUs), when executed, cause the one or more processors to:
monitor operating conditions of the RSU (Mahamuni, see paragraphs 0016-0017, Smart object networks, such as sensor networks, in particular, are a specific type of network having spatially distributed autonomous devices such as sensors, actuators, etc., that cooperatively monitor physical or environmental conditions at different locations. smart object networks are considered field area networks (FANs) … the objects in such networks may be stationary or mobile. As an example of a FAN involving both mobile and stationary devices, FIG. 1 is a schematic block diagram of an example simplified computer network 100);
detect a faulty condition of the RSU (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0040, a stationary router 300 detects a disconnected backhaul link 305 to a destination 310);
generate, in response to the detection of the faulty condition of the RSU (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0040, the stationary router has a message 315 to send to the destination), a predetermined distress transmission, wherein the predetermined distress transmission includes one or more of a unique RSU identifier (ID), a three-dimensional (3D) location, and an intersection ID (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0033, the messages sent toward the destination may include identifiers indicating which FAR sent the message toward the destination); and
broadcast the predetermined distress transmission over the wireless interface (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0040, In order to reach the destination, in step 715, the stationary router sends the message to a traveling mobile device 320, to cause the message to be (hopefully) sent toward the destination).
Regarding claim 10, Mahamuni teaches wherein the faulty condition of the RSU includes a connection between the RSU and an operation center over a wired interface to a backhaul network being down (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0040, a stationary router 300 detects a disconnected backhaul link 305 to a destination 310); and wherein an internal power cell of the RSU provides power for the broadcasting of the predetermined distress transmission over the wireless interface (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0019, The device may comprise one or more network interfaces 210 (e.g., wired, wireless, etc.), at least one processor 220, and a memory 240 interconnected by a system bus 250, as well as a power supply 260 (e.g., battery, plug-in, etc.)).
Regarding claim 11, Mahamuni teaches further comprising: wherein the faulty condition of the RSU includes a radio interface of the RSU being down (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0040, a stationary router 300 detects a disconnected backhaul link 305 to a destination 310); and wherein a main power source of the RSU provides power for the broadcasting of the predetermined distress transmission over the wireless interface (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0019, The device may comprise one or more network interfaces 210 (e.g., wired, wireless, etc.), at least one processor 220, and a memory 240 interconnected by a system bus 250, as well as a power supply 260 (e.g., battery, plug-in, etc.)).
Regarding claim 12, Mahamuni teaches wherein the radio interface is a first radio interface,
wherein the first radio interface is compliant with at least one of: a wireless access in vehicular environments (WAVE) service advertisement (WSA) protocol, a traveler information messages (TIM) protocol, and a regional wireless communication standard (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0026, One of the outcomes has been a new type of wireless access called Wireless Access for Vehicular Environment (WAVE) dedicated to vehicle-to-vehicle and vehicle-to-roadside communications); and
wherein a second radio interface of the RSU is compliant with at least one of: a signal phase and timing (SPaT) message protocol, and a protocol for messages corresponding with map data to convey geographic road information (MAP messages) (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0026, One of the outcomes has been a new type of wireless access called Wireless Access for Vehicular Environment (WAVE) dedicated to vehicle-to-vehicle and vehicle-to-roadside communications).
Regarding claim 13, Mahamuni teaches wherein the wireless interface is compliant with at least one of: a dedicated short-range communication (DSRC) protocol, a vehicle-to-everything (V2X) protocol, a Wi-Fi DSRC protocol, a 4G cellular-V2X protocol, and a Fifth Generation broadband cellular network (5G) protocol (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0026, One of the outcomes has been a new type of wireless access called Wireless Access for Vehicular Environment (WAVE) dedicated to vehicle-to-vehicle and vehicle-to-roadside communications).
Regarding claim 14, Mahamuni teaches wherein a coverage range of a protocol of the wireless interface is substantially the same as a coverage range of the RSU (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0026, One of the outcomes has been a new type of wireless access called Wireless Access for Vehicular Environment (WAVE) dedicated to vehicle-to-vehicle and vehicle-to-roadside communications).
Regarding claim 15, Mahamuni teaches the executable instructions, when executed, further cause the one or more processors to:
halt broadcasting of the predetermined distress transmission based on a detection that the RSU has returned to a normal operational state (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0041, the disconnected FAR may cease sending additional copies of the message to other traveling mobile devices).
Regarding claim 17, Mahamuni teaches wherein the faulty condition of the RSU includes a connection between the RSU and an operation center over a wired interface to a backhaul network being down (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0040, a stationary router 300 detects a disconnected backhaul link 305 to a destination 310); and wherein the broadcasting of the predetermined distress transmission over the wireless interface uses power from an internal power cell of the RSU (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0019, The device may comprise one or more network interfaces 210 (e.g., wired, wireless, etc.), at least one processor 220, and a memory 240 interconnected by a system bus 250, as well as a power supply 260 (e.g., battery, plug-in, etc.)).
Regarding claim 18, Mahamuni teaches wherein the faulty condition of the RSU includes a radio interface of the RSU being down (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0040, a stationary router 300 detects a disconnected backhaul link 305 to a destination 310); and wherein the broadcasting of the predetermined distress transmission over the wireless interface uses power from a main power source of the RSU (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0019, The device may comprise one or more network interfaces 210 (e.g., wired, wireless, etc.), at least one processor 220, and a memory 240 interconnected by a system bus 250, as well as a power supply 260 (e.g., battery, plug-in, etc.)).
Regarding claim 19, Mahamuni teaches wherein the RSU is a first RSU (Mahamuni, see figure 1, FAR 300); and wherein the second executable instructions, when executed, further cause the one or more second processors to: re-send the predetermined distress transmission to a second RSU (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0042, the local stationary router forwards the message to the intended destination 310 over its connected backhaul link 405).
Regarding claim 20, Mahamuni teaches wherein the OBU is a first OBU (Mahamuni, see figure 1, FAR 300); and wherein the second RSU comprises one or more third processors, and a third non-transitory memory having third executable instructions that, when executed, cause the one or more third processors to:
re-send the predetermined distress transmission to a second OBU (Mahamuni, see paragraph 0042, the local stationary router forwards the message to the intended destination 310 over its connected backhaul link 405).
Conclusion
/CHONG G KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2443
/NICHOLAS R TAYLOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2443