DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending, and claims 1-4 and 8-11 are currently under review.
Claims 5-7 and 12-20 are withdrawn.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 9/03/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain(s) pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every 112 rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 6/05/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Urata et al. (US 2019/0362871) and further evidenced by Koshiba et al. (US 2005/0236071).
Regarding claim 1, Urata et al. discloses a soft magnetic alloy powder having a compositional formula of FeaSibBcPdCue, wherein a ranges from 79 to 84.5 atomic percent, b ranges from 0 to 6 atomic percent, c ranges from 4 to 10 atomic percent, d ranges from 4 to 11 atomic percent, and e ranges from 0.2 to 0.4 atomic percent [0012]. Urata et al. further teaches that Fe can be substituted for up to 3 atomic percent of C, Sn, Co, Ni, Zr, Hf, etc. among others [0040]. The examiner notes that the overlap between the composition of Urata et al. and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Urata et al. further teaches that the soft magnetic alloy powder includes an amorphous phase as a main phase (ie. at least 50%) [0015].
Urata et al. does not expressly teach an aspect ratio shape of powder as claimed. However, Urata et al. does expressly teach that the powder can be made through gas atomization [0043], and one of ordinary skill would readily recognize gas atomization to achieve spherical (ie. aspect ratio of 1) powders as evidenced by Koshiba et al. [0010].
Regarding claim 2, the aforementioned prior art discloses the powder of claim 1 (see previous). The examiner notes that the claimed S range includes zero, such that S is not actually required. Alternatively, Urata et al. further teaches that S can also be included as in impurity in an amount of up to 0.1 weight percent, which overlaps with the claimed range [0034]. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claims 3 and 8, the aforementioned prior art discloses the powder of claims 1-2 (see previous). Urata et al. further teaches a total crystallinity of up to 10%, which corresponds to an amorphous phase of at least 90% [0046].
Regarding claims 4 and 9-11, the aforementioned prior art discloses the powder of claims 1-3 and 8 (see previous). Urata et al. further teaches a crystal grain size of up to 40 nanometers, which overlaps with the claimed range [0049]. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Response to Arguments
The previous 103 rejections made over Chiba et al. have been withdrawn in view of applicant’s remarks regarding unexpected results and criticality of the claimed Sn range.
Applicant's arguments filed 9/03/2025 regarding the 103 rejections over Urata et al. have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the claimed Sn range achieves unexpected and critical results of desirable coercive force and magnetic flux density values. The examiner cannot concur. The examiner notes that Urata et al. discloses broadly overlapping Sn values and values of coercivity of as low as approximately 40 A/m and magnetic flux density of up to 1.71 [table3]. These values are substantially similar to and comparable to those obtained by the instant application (and purported to be unexpected) as shown in the table provided on p.7 of the remarks such that the purported values of coercive force and magnetic flux density cannot be considered unexpected. Rather, these values are entirely expected and expressly disclosed by Urata et al.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734