DETAILED ACTION
1. Applicant’s response filed 5/8/2026 was received. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Priority
2. This section was previously provided and is repeated here. The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 62/426,977, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
Specifically, '977 fails to provide support for all claims of this application. The '977 application does not teach at least the following limitation of claim 1:
Accordingly, no claims are accorded the filing date of the '977 application; the effective filing date of all claims is presently considered to be 11/28/2017 (filing date of parent application 15/825,097 of which the instant application is a continuation of).
Claim Objections
3. The objections to claims 2-4 and 29 are withdrawn in view of the corrections filed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. The rejections of claim 8, claim 13, and claim 20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement are withdrawn in view of the persuasive arguments presented or the amendments filed.
The rejections of claim 8; claim 9; claim 12; claim 13; claim 19; claim 21; claim 23 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention are withdrawn in view of the persuasive arguments presented and/or corrections filed.
Additional comment for clarity of the record: With respect to claim 8, it is noted that while no units are given in the specification or claim for the molecular weight of the copolymer, these would be reasonably understood as g/mol or Daltons, which are equivalent units of measurement as argued by Applicant (see page 15 of the response).
5. The rejection of claim 16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement is maintained. Additionally, claim 1, and thus dependent claims 2-27; claim 2, and thus dependent claim 3; claim 3; claim 4, claim 28, and thus claim 29, and claim 29 are rejected under this heading as failing to comply with the written description requirement on the basis of the amendments filed. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
A) Maintained: Claim 16 recites that the conductive additive particles (of the electrode layer) are elongated. The Examiner cannot find such a teaching within the instant application. Only the solid particles of the conductive interlayer are described as elongated (P105 of the parent application PGPUB).
B) Claim 28 is addressed concurrently with claim 1 in this section given it incorporates the subject matter of claim 1. Claim 1 was amended to recite that the average areal capacity loading range of 2-10 mAh/cm2 is exhibited “during one of more charge-discharge cycles based on charge-discharge cycling at a rate of C/10 during a first charge-discharge cycle and a rate of C/2 during one or more subsequent charge-discharge cycles.” This has not support basis in the instant application. While P154 of the instant application describes an example in which cycle number is plotted against “% of cycle 5” and mAh/g (of the anode) for the specified example described at P154, the disclosure never recites or describes the Li-ion battery anode exhibiting an average areal capacity loading in a range of 2-10 mAh/cm2 during the now-claimed charge-discharge cycling method steps, or that this is the specific method utilized when measuring the average areal capacity. The average areal capacity loading range exhibited of 2-10 mAh/cm2 is never described in conjunction with any charge-discharge cycling method. Applicant is attempting to link two features never described together in the instant application. One cannot simply assume that this same charge-discharge cycling method is the one utilized to achieve the described result of the anode exhibiting an average areal capacity loading in a range of 2-10 mAh/cm2 when there is zero description of charge-discharge cycling method used to achieve the result claimed of the anode exhibiting an average areal capacity loading in a range of 2-10 mAh/cm2.
Moreover, the example relied upon does not have the basic requirements of the claim. P154 teaches the anode utilized comprises Si-comprising (nano)composite active particles with an average diameter of around 1.5 to 2.5 micron, PVA binder and SWCNTs as conductive additives. This example does not have “composite particles comprising carbon and silicon” (only silicon is recited). This example does not have the binder as claimed. Thus, the example cited appears to be entirely immaterial to the claim presented, or the anode’s exhibited capacity loading.
C) Claims 2-3 are amended to recite that the electrode layer exhibits the volumetric capacity recited “during the one or more charge-discharge cycles” (as further defined in claim 1 with respect to specific rates during specific times). This has no written description basis in the instant application. The only time a charge-discharge method is mentioned is when there is cycle number plotted against “% of cycle 5” and mAh/g of the anode for the specified example described at P154; the disclosure never recites or describes the electrode layer exhibiting the claimed volumetric capacity “during the one or more charge-discharge cycles” as defined in claim 1 with respect to specific rates during specific times.
D) Claim 4 was amended to recite that the composite particles exhibit a specific capacity in the range recited “during the one or more charge-discharge cycles” (as further defined in claim 1 with respect to specific rates during specific times). This has no written description basis in the instant application. The only time a charge-discharge method is mentioned is when there is cycle number plotted against “% of cycle 5” and mAh/g of the anode for the specified example described at P154; the disclosure never recites or describes the composite particles exhibiting the feature claimed in the range recited “during the one or more charge-discharge cycles” as defined in claim 1 with respect to specific rates during specific times.
E) Claim 28 was amended to recite that the composite particles exhibit the volume expansion ranges at the times recited that occur under the rates claimed within claim 1. This has no written description basis in the instant application. The volume expansion ranges claimed are not ever linked to the specific rates recited within claim 1 (i.e., a rate of C/10 during the first charge-discharge cycle, and a rate of C/2 during the one or more subsequent discharge cycles). The only time a charge-discharge method is mentioned is when there is cycle number plotted against “% of cycle 5” and mAh/g of the anode for the specified example described at P154; the disclosure never recites or describes the composite particles exhibiting the volume expansion feature “during the one or more charge-discharge cycles” as defined in claim 1 with respect to specific rates during specific times.
F) Claim 29 was amended to recite that the Li-ion battery exhibits a specific capacity in the range recited “during the one or more charge-discharge cycles” (as further defined in claim 1 with respect to specific rates during specific times). This has no written description basis in the instant application. The only time a charge-discharge method is mentioned is when there is a cycle number plotted against “% of cycle 5” and mAh/g of the anode for the specified example described at P154; the disclosure never recites or describes the Li-ion battery exhibiting the specific capacity feature “during the one or more charge-discharge cycles” as defined in claim 1 with respect to specific rates during specific times.
Appropriate correction and/or explanation is required.
6. The rejections of claim 1, and thus dependent claims 2-27; claim 2, and thus dependent claim 3; claim 3; claim 4; claim 18; claim 28, and thus claim 29; and claim 29 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention are maintained and updated to reflect the amendments provided.
A) Claims 1-4 and 29 remain rejected for failing to define the metes and bounds given they recite an average areal capacity of the anode (claim 1), volumetric capacity of the electrode layer (claims 2-3), a specific capacity of the composite particles (claim 4), and a specific capacity of the battery (claim 29) without properly defining the conditions that this occurs under and a specific method under which these capacities are achieved.
Applicant adds a (non-supported1) charge-discharge cycle feature limitation of the average areal capacity loading of 2-10 mAh/cm2 is exhibited “during one or more charge-discharge cycles based on charge-discharge cycling at a rate of C/10 during a first charge-discharge cycle and a rate of C/2 during one or more subsequent charge-discharge cycles.” This non-supported feature is for an entirely different anode construct that does not have the basic requirements of the claim. P154 teaches the anode utilized comprises Si-comprising (nano)composite active particles with an average diameter of around 1.5 to 2.5 micron, PVA binder and SWCNTs as conductive additives. This example does not have “composite particles comprising carbon and silicon” (only silicon is recited). This example does not have the binder as claimed. Thus, the example cited appears to be entirely immaterial to the claimed construct presented, or the anode having the claimed construct that exhibits given capacity features.
Arguendo, even with an assumption that this was applicable to the features recited (not conceded), there is still not a full method disclosed under which these claimed capacities are achieved. For example, the voltage window is critical for measuring capacity loading (mAh/cm2) as changing the limits of the voltage window changes how much lithium or charge goes in and out of the anode which in turn directly charges the final capacity value. This would be immediately known to those having ordinary skill in the art and is evidenced by “EL-CELL,” electrochemical test equipment (accessed at How do you calculate the capacity of a lithium-ion battery? | EL-CELL) (copy provided). Under the section of, “How do you measure capacity accurately in a laboratory setting” at least the following three points are noted:
Temperature control: Capacity is temperature-dependent. Measurements should be conducted at a defined, stable temperature to allow valid comparisons between experiments.
Voltage cut-off consistency: The upper and lower voltage limits define the accessible capacity window. These must be held constant across all comparative measurements.
Formation protocol: The number and rate of formation cycles before capacity measurement affect the stable capacity value, particularly due to SEI development on the anode.
The disclosure and claims are entirely silent under the specific method under which these capacities as claimed are achieved. The instant application is entirely silent on at least temperature control, voltage window (i.e., upper and lower voltage limits), and formation/aging protocol utilized to determine the claimed average areal capacity (or other capacities). As further evidence of how the prior art reports average capacity (mAh/cm2) with all these requirements appropriately defined, see Gallagher et al., “Optimizing Areal Capacities through Understanding the Limitations of Lithium-Ion Electrodes,” J. Electrochem. Soc. 163 A138-A149, published Nov. 10, 2015 (copy provided) in which not only is the C rate defined, but also the temperature, voltage window(s), and formation/aging protocol (p. A141, reproduced below):
Accordingly, the Examiner maintains the position that claims 1-4 and 29 are rejected for failing to define the metes and bounds given they recite an average areal capacity of the anode (claim 1), volumetric capacity of the electrode layer (claims 2-3), a specific capacity of the composite particles (claim 4), and a specific capacity of the battery (claim 29) without properly defining the conditions that this occurs under and a specific method under which these capacities are achieved, wherein such parameters would each directly affect the outcome of the exhibited, claimed capacities.
B) Claims 18 recites a percentage of weight of conductive additive particles but fails to define what this is relative to, thereby rendering the claim indefinite. An appropriate correction can be made by citing support as to what the specification defines this weight percentage is relative to, and amending that feature into the claim.
C) Claim 28 recites the following feature:
“…the composite particles exhibit volume expansion in a range of 8 vol. % to 160 vol.% during the first charge-discharge cycle and volume expansion in a range of 4 vol.% to 50 vol.% during one or more subsequent charge-discharge cycles.”
As noted in MPEP 2173.05(g), Examiners should consider three factors when examining claims that contain functional language to determine whether the language is ambiguous: (1) whether there is a clear cut indication of the scope of the subject matter covered by the claim, (2) whether the language sets forth well-defined boundaries of the invention or only states a problem solved or a result obtained, and (3) whether one of ordinary skill in the art would know from the claim terms what structure or steps are encompassed by the claim. The above underlined functional features do not define well-defined boundaries as there is not a clear cut indication of the scope of the subject matter covered by the claim, the functional claim language only states a result obtained, and one or ordinary skill in the art would not know from the claim terms what structure(s) is/are encompassed by the claim.
For example, it is not clear from the claim terms or the instant application specification what is required in terms of chemical composition, processing, additional components, etc. that provides for composite active material particles that exhibit the results claimed of exhibiting volume expansion in the range of 8 vol.% to 160 vol% during a first charge-discharge cycle and volume expansion in the range of 5 vol.% to 50 vol. % during one or more subsequent charge-discharge cycles. It is further not clear what the overall charge/discharge parameters (e.g., rate of charge/discharge, amount of current/voltage applied during charging cycle, etc.) required to achieve the results obtained. No supported method of charge/discharge is disclosed, and such methods can vary tremendously.
The Examiner cannot assume that any composite particle simply having the recited structure of “the composite particles comprise carbon and silicon and exhibit an average particle size in the range from about 0.2 µm to about 40 µm” subjected any charging/discharging protocol would intrinsically achieve the result obtained. Looking to the specification as to when this property is obtained is not illuminating: there is no guidance, no examples, and no parameters whatsoever set forth for how to configure a composite particle to achieve the result obtained, or the charging/discharging protocols.
An applicant may resolve the ambiguities of a function limitation by demonstrating that "specification provide[s] a formula for calculating a property along with examples that meet the claim limitation and examples that do not" (see Halliburton Energy Servs., 514 F.3d at 1255-56, 85 USPQ2d at 1663 citing Oakley, Inc. v. Sunglass Hut Int’l, 316 F.3d 1331, 1341, 65 USPQ2d 1321, 1326 (Fed. Cir. 2003)). Alternatively, applicant could demonstrate that the specification provides a general guideline and examples sufficient to teach a person skilled in the art when the claim limitation was satisfied (see Marosi, 710 F.2d at 803, 218 USPQ at 292), or applicant could amend the claims to recite the particular structure that accomplishes the function. The Examiner has reviewed the specification for formulas, a general guideline, examples, specific structure, etc. and none of these exists in the instant application for the result obtained recited in the claim. Accordingly, the feature is considered indefinite.
Appropriate correction is required.
Prior Art Evaluation
7. Per MPEP § 2143.03:
“"All words in a claim must be considered in judging the patentability of that claim against the prior art." In re Wilson, 424 F.2d 1382, 1385, 165 USPQ 494, 496 (CCPA 1970). (The Board erred because it ignored claim language that it considered to be indefinite, and reached a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious based only on the rest of the claim.). However, an examiner should not simply speculate about the meaning of the claim language and then enter an obviousness rejection in view of that speculative interpretation. In re Steele, 305 F.2d 859,134 USPQ 292 (CCPA 1962) (The "considerable speculation" by the examiner and the Board as to the scope of the claims did not provide a proper basis for an obviousness rejection.)
When evaluating claims for obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103, all the limitations of the claims must be considered and given weight, including limitations which do not find support in the specification as originally filed (i.e., new matter). Ex parte Grasselli, 231 USPQ 393 (Bd. App. 1983) aff’d mem. 738 F.2d 453 (Fed. Cir. 1984).
MPEP § 2173.06 further notes that when there is a great deal of confusion and uncertainty as to the proper interpretation of the limitations of a claim, it would not be proper to reject such a claim on the basis of prior art. As stated in In re Steele, 305 F.2d 859, 134 USPQ 292 (CCPA 1962), a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should not be based on considerable speculation about the meaning of terms employed in a claim or assumptions that must be made as to the scope of the claims.
For the above reasons, claims 2-4, 28, and 29 are considered highly indefinite in view of applicable sections above under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)/second paragraph to the point that it would be improper to reject such a claim on the basis of prior art. As in In re Wilson, 424 F.2d 1382, 1385, 165 USPQ 494, 496 (CCPA 1970), it would be improper to ignore claim language that it considered to be indefinite, and reached a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious based only on the rest of the claim.
In the interest of compact prosecution, the indefinite limitation of claim 1 (see section A) with respect to the average areal capacity is addressed as best as possible in terms of a general teaching that it is known to optimize average areal capacity loading.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. The rejection of claims 1, 5-11, 14-17, 22-25 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2015/0243997) in view of Umeno et al. (US 2002/0086211) and Sikha et al. (US 2016/0013480) is maintained. The rejection of claim 20 in view of the amendments filed is withdrawn and addressed below with a prior art reference addressing the amended limitation.
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a Li-ion battery anode (P7, 34, 91, 103; entire disclosure relied upon), comprising:
a current collector 11 (P59, 88-89; Fig. 1A); and
an electrode layer 13 arranged on the current collector 11 (59, 74, 87; Fig. 1A), the electrode layer 13 comprising composite particles (P49-53, 86) and a binder (P74) mixed with the composite particles (P74), the binder adhering to the composite particles (considered intrinsic to the described binder- the “binding” function in the name of the entity itself, as well as intrinsic to the recited materials described which have the same composition as that claimed as detailed below; alternatively, the binder binding/adhering to the composite particles is considered a prima facie obvious expedient in terms of the desired functionality of the taught binder), the composite particles adhering to the current collector 11 (via the interlayer 12 – P35, 42-43; note this is the identical construct of the instant application- see P115 of the parent application PGPUB),
wherein:
the composite particles comprise carbon and silicon (P48-53, 86) and (intrinsically) exhibit an average particle size of some value that is not disclosed; and
the binder comprises a copolymer comprising an acrylamide subunit and a second subunit selected from an acrylic acid, a carboxylic acid, an alginic acid, and a metal salt of any of the foregoing (P79, see also P35-47, 54-55).
Park is silent as to the composite particles that comprise carbon and silicon (P48-53, 86) exhibit an average particle size in a range from about 0.2 µm to about 40 µm. In the same field of endeavor, Umeno teaches analogous art of an anode material for a rechargeable lithium battery that forms a lithium-ion anode, the anode material being a specific example of the taught “composite of a silicon-based material and a carbon-based material” (P49) of Park and including silicon-carbon (Si-C) core-shell composite particles arranged with carbon in respective shells (P54-98) and with the Si particles being nano-sized Si particles (P64; entire disclosure relied upon). With respect to the average particle size, Umeno teaches the average particle diameter of the composite material for the anode is preferably 0.1 to 50 µm (P79) with an analysis of how the average particle diameter is linked with specific area which in turn has effects on initial charge efficiency, smoothness of the achieved anode, and peeling from the current collector (P79-81).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the composite particles of Park comprising carbon and silicon with an average particle diameter of 0.1 to 50 µm (P79), the range claimed entirely lying inside the range taught by Umeno, given Umeno teaches an analogous construct and that this is a suitable average particle diameter for known carbon-silicon composite particles utilized within an Li-anode electrode composition (P79-81), with the average particle diameter being a known result effective variable in terms of initial charge efficiency, smoothness of the achieved anode, and peeling from the current collector (P79-81). Accordingly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists with respect to the claimed range relative to the taught range (MPEP § 2144.05: In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists), with the courts further holding the following:
“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); MPEP 2144.05.
The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Park is also silent as to, “…the Li-ion battery anode exhibits an average areal capacity loading in a range of about 2 mAh/cm2 to about 10 mAh/cm2 during one or more charge-discharge cycles based ona charge-discharge cycling at a rate of C/10 during a first charge-discharge cycle and a rate of C/2 during one or more subsequent charge-discharge cycles” as claimed, wherein it is not clear under what critical method conditions that this feature is observed (see rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)/second paragraph). In the interest of compact prosecution, the limitation is addressed as best as possible. Sikha teaches analogous art of battery electrodes and design and teaches that the overall goal is to fabricate high-capacity energy storage devices and that to increase battery cell energy density, it is highly desirable to pack more materials into each battery cell to increase the electrode loading (mAh/cm2) (P21-22). Sikha teaches that methods to increase electrode loading include increasing the amount of active materials per unit area (P22). Accordingly, it is a known goal in the prior art to achieve high-capacity batteries by way providing a battery with high cell energy density, and that in order to do so, the electrode loading is increased by way of increasing the amount of active materials per unit area (P21-22).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to determine the optimum or workable electrode loading (mAh/cm2) possible for the anode of Park in order to providing a battery with high cell energy density by way of increasing the amount of active materials per unit area (P21-22). With respect to the specific range claimed, the court has held that “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Park fails to disclose wherein the composite particles comprise nanostructured or nano-sized silicon particles (claim 5) or that the composite particles comprise carbon coatings (claim 6); however, Umeno teaches analogous art of an anode material for a rechargeable lithium battery that forms a lithium-ion anode, the anode material being a specific example of the taught “composite of a silicon-based material and a carbon-based material” (P49) of Park and including silicon-carbon (Si-C) core-shell composite particles arranged with carbon in respective shells (“the composite particles comprise carbon coatings”) (P54-98) and with the Si particles being nano-sized Si particles (“the composite particles comprise nanostructured or nano-sized silicon particles”) (P64; entire disclosure relied upon). Umeno teaches that when the taught composite material is used as anode material of a lithium secondary battery, there battery achieve has high safety, large discharge capacity and excellent charge-discharge cycle property (P45). Additionally, the court has held (MPEP 2144.07):
The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) ("…selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle." 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to select as the taught “composite of a silicon-based material and a carbon-based material” of Park the specific, known composite of silicon and carbon material of Umeno given the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination, Umeno additionally teaching that when the taught composite material is used as anode material of a lithium secondary battery, there battery achieve has high safety, large discharge capacity and excellent charge-discharge cycle property (P45).
Regarding claim 7, Park teaches the copolymer is water- soluble (see the method of providing the copolymer utilizes water as a solvent (P69-74)). Moreover, a a composition and its properties are inseparable (see MPEP § 2112.01, II: regarding composition claims, if the composition is the same, it must have the same properties). Lastly, a person having ordinary skill in the art would immediately recognize that a copolymer having the defined subunits would result in a water-soluble copolymer given it would be immediately known that acrylamide, carboxylic acid, and/or alginic acid subunits are each water-soluble such that the copolymer resulting therefrom would be water soluble.
Regarding claim 8, Park teaches wherein the copolymer may have a weight average molecular weight of about 1,000 to 1,000,000 Daltons (P47) (“a molecular weight (MW) of less than about 25,000” overlapping with range with an assumption that the molecular weight is Daltons or g/mol).
Regarding claim 9, Park teaches wherein a metal in the metal salt is selected from at least sodium (Na), lithium (Li), or potassium (P65-72; claim 3).
Regarding claim 10, Park teaches wherein the copolymer may comprise halide anions given the copolymer may further include PVDF-HFP which comprises fluoride (P79).
Regarding claim 11, Park teaches wherein the copolymer comprises ammonium cations (P66-67: ammonimum hydroxide is taught as reacting with the copolymer to provide a cation-substituted polycarboxycic acid copolymer) (P66-68; see claim 3).
Regarding claim 14, Park teaches wherein the electrode layer comprises conductive additive particles (P87 teaches the use of “a conducting aid” or “an ion conductive polymer”). Park does not explicitly teach the conducting aid is in the format of particles; however, the positive electrode active material composition also teaches the use of a conducting agent and the taught materials are in the format of particles including at least graphite granules, carbon fibers, carbon nanotubes, metal powder, metal fibers, etc. (P98).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to look to the taught conducting aid agents taught for the positive active material composition and utilize the same for the taught conducting aid of the negative active material composition given the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Regarding claim 15, Park as discussed above (see rejection of claim 14) teaches wherein the conductive additive particles comprise carbon (P87, 98).
Regarding claim 16, Park as discussed above (see rejection of claim 14) teaches the use of carbon fibers, carbon fibers, metal fibers, etc. which are each examples of particles that are elongated as claimed.
Regarding claim 17, Park as discussed above (see rejection of claim 14) teaches wherein the conductive additive particles comprise carbon nanotubes (P98). Park does not explicitly teach single-walled carbon nanotubes. There are only two known options for carbon nanotubes as would be immediately known to those skilled in the art: single-walled carbon nanotubes (SWCNTs) or multi-walled carbon nanotubes (MWCNTs). Accordingly, the selection of a specific type of carbon nanotubes from only two known classes thereof is prima facie obvious given the species options of the genus taught can be at once envisioned by a person having ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2131.02).
Regarding claim 22, Park teaches the Li-ion battery anode additionally comprising a (ionically) conductive interlayer 12 between the current collector 11 and the electrode layer 13 (P59; 43; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 23, Park teaches wherein:
the binder of the electrode layer is a first binder;
the conductive interlayer comprises a second binder; and
the second binder comprises the copolymer- [interpreted to mean that the second binder is a copolymer as defined in claim 1, wherein the first binder and the second binder have the same composition] (P41, 79; entire disclosure relied upon).
Regarding claim 24, Park teaches wherein:
the binder of the electrode layer is a first binder;
the conductive interlayer comprises a second binder; and
the second binder comprises a poly(vinyl alcohol) (“PVA”) (P41, P79 teaches the binder material may further comprise PVA).
Regarding claim 25, Park teaches wherein:
the binder of the electrode layer is a first binder;
the conductive interlayer comprises a second binder; and
the second binder comprises a second copolymer comprising a second acrylamide subunit and a third subunit selected from a second acrylic acid, a second carboxylic acid, a second alginic acid, and a second metal salt of any of the foregoing (P41, 79, entire disclosure relied upon).
9. The rejection of claim 12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2015/0243997) in view of Umeno et al. (US 2002/0086211) and Sikha et al. (US 2016/0013480) as applied to at least claim 1 above, and further in view of Wandry et al., “Diallyldimethylammonium Chloride and its Polymers,” Laboratory of Polymers and Biomaterials, Department of Chemistry, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, CH-105 Lausanne Switzerland, Advances in Polymer Science, Vol. 145, 1999, pages 1-61 (copy provided) is maintained.
Regarding claim 12, Park teaches that the binder may comprise another binder material available in the art (P79), but fails to specifically teach wherein the copolymer [further] comprises diallyldimethylammonium chloride (DADMAC), diallyldiethylammonium chloride (DADEAC), methylammonium chloride, N,N-diallyl-N-propylammonium chloride, methylammonium bromide, ethylammonium bromide, propylammonium bromide, butylammonium bromide, methylammonium fluoride, ethylammonium fluoride, propylammonium fluoride, and/or butylammonium fluoride.
In the field of copolymer composition, Wandry teaches the use of diallyldimethylammonium chloride (“DADMAC”) (among other alkyl halides) and that the highly hydrophilic permanently charged quanternary ammonium groups (i.e., the group found in all of the above compounds) within a copolymer provides a copolymer with high water solubility and solution properties (p. 127). Wandry specifically teaches the copolymerization of DADMAC with acrylamide (p.134) (claim 1 requires the copolymer to have an acrylamide submit), as well as the copolymerization with acrylic acid comonomers (i.e., the “second substituent” of claim 1) (Table 7, p. 148-149). Section 5, pages 150- delves into the solution properties of diallyldimethylammonium chloride polymers, wherein one having ordinary skill in the art knows that the properties of a copolymer are a result of the properties of the individual monomer/constituent units incorporated therein.
The reference to Wandry drawn to specific copolymer composition is considered reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor which is to provide “needed improvement(s)” in electrode formulations (P8 of the parent PGPUB – all references made to such) with the electrode formulation including a first binder material (P15 of the parent PGPUB) with the desire to provide binders that are dissolved or dispersed in water (P68).
Therefore, in the context of Park which teaches the copolymer of claim 1 and the binder may comprise another binder material available in the prior art (P&9), and the problem faced by the inventor which is to obtain needed improvements in electrode formulations with the desire that the selected binder is dissolved or dispersed in water, it is considered an obvious expedient for one having ordinary skill in the art to look to known other binder materials that achieve this functionality, and to select DADMAC to be part of the copolymer binder given Wandry teaches it is known to copolymerize with the taught “subunits” of claim 1, and that the highly hydrophilic permanently charged quanternary ammonium groups (i.e., the group found in all of the claimed compounds) within a copolymer provides a copolymer with high water solubility and solution properties (p. 127).
10. The rejection of claim 13 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2015/0243997) in view of Umeno et al. (US 2002/0086211) and Sikha et al. (US 2016/0013480) as applied to at least claim 1 above, and further in view of Oyasato et al. (US 2003/0069354) is maintained.
Regarding claim 13, Park fails to disclose the amounts of the subunits within the copolymer (P79) and that the amount of the second subunit in the copolymer is less than around 10 wt. % as claimed. The second subunit as claimed can be interpreted as the polycarboxylic acid component or the alginic acid (P79).
In the field of endeavor of copolymer resin compositions, Oyasato teaches analogous art of copolymer resin compositions including alginic acid in the copolymer, and that the amount thereof is in the range of 0.1 to 10 wt% by weight as this results in a copolymer having high-melt tension and transparency with uniformity of the reaction being lost if 10 wt% is exceeded (71).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the alginic acid component of the copolymer of Pakr in an amount of 0.1 to 10 wt% given Oyasto teaches analogous art of copolymer resin compositions including alginic acid in the copolymer, and that a suitable amount is in a range of 0.1 to 10 wt% by weight, thereby providing the predictable, taught results of providing a copolymer having high-melt tension and transparency with uniformity of the reaction being lost if 10 wt% is exceeded (71).
11. The alternative rejection of claim 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2015/0243997) in view of Umeno et al. (US 2002/0086211) and Sikha et al. (US 2016/0013480) as applied to at least claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Nakayama et al. (US 2017/0338483).
Regarding claim 17, Park as discussed above (see rejection of claim 14) teaches wherein the conductive additive particles comprise carbon nanotubes (P98). Park does not explicitly teach single-walled carbon nanotubes. There are only two known categories for carbon nanotubes as would be immediately known to those skilled in the art: single-walled carbon nanotubes (SWCNTs) or multi-walled carbon nanotubes (MWCNTs). Accordingly, the selection of a specific type of carbon nanotubes from only two known categories thereof is prima facie obvious given the species options of the genus taught can be at once envisioned by a person having ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2131.02).
Additionally, for the avoidance of doubt, Nakayama is applied in the instant alternative rejection teach that it is a known technique to provide carbon nanotubes as a conductive aid within an active material layer of an electrode, and that examples of carbon nanotubes that may be used include single-walled caron nanutbes and multi-wall carbon nanotubes (P62).
12. The rejection of claim 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2015/0243997) in view of Umeno et al. (US 2002/0086211) and Sikha et al. (US 2016/0013480)
as applied to at least claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Kimura et al. (US 2016/0344015) is maintained.
Regarding claim 18, Park fails to disclose teaches wherein the electrode layer comprises less than 2 wt. % of the conductive additive particles.
In the same field of endeavor, Kimura teaches analogous art of an anode containing silicon-containing particles to which conductive additives are included, and that the content of the conductive additive with respect to the total amount of the active material layer 102 is preferably greater than or equal to 1 wt% and less than or equal to 10 wt%, and more preferably 1-5 wt% (P196). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP § 2144.05).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to utilize 1-10 wt%, more preferably 1-5 wt% of the conductive additives of Park given Kimura teaches an analogous anode composition and that this is a suitable range for the conductive additives (P196).
13. The rejection of claim 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2015/0243997) in view of Umeno et al. (US 2002/0086211) and Sikha et al. (US 2016/0013480)
as applied to at least claim 1 above, and further in view of Ito et al. (US 2017/0229743) is maintained.
Regarding claim 19, Park teaches wherein the current collector is a metal foil (P88-89) but is silent as to its average thickness (claimed range is “an average thickness in a range from around 4 µm to around 15 µm”). Looking to analogous constructs, Ito teaches analogous art of a lithium secondary battery in which the negative electrode (“anode”) has an active material applied to a copper foil with an average thickness of 10 µm (P74).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to look to known constructs to determine an appropriate average thickness of the metal foil current collector, and to select an average thickness of 10 µm for the metal foil current collector of Park in view of the teachings of Ito that this is a suitable average thickness for such an entity in an analogous construct (P74).
14. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2015/0243997) in view of Umeno et al. (US 2002/0086211) and Sikha et al. (US 2016/0013480)
as applied to at least claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2021/0167397).
Regarding claim 20, Park teaches wherein the current collector may be a metal foil (P88-89). Park does not teach wherein the metal foil comprises an electrodeposited coating as claimed. In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches analogous art of an anode current collector for a lithium secondary battery (P4) that is comprised of a copper foil 111 that comprises an electrodeposited coating (112, 113) (P17, 30, 55; Fig. 1; not limited to entire disclosure). The electrodeposited coating (112, 113) functions as an anti-corrosion treatment that forms a protective layer, wherein when used as the anode current collector a Li-secondary battery, provides for a current collector having low electric resistance and high adhesion to an active material (P19-22, 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the metal foil current collector of Park with an electrodeposited coating given Kim teaches the technique and construct are known in the prior art, and allow for the provision of an anti-corrosion treatment that forms a protective layer on the metal foil, wherein when used as the anode current collector a Li-secondary battery, provides for a current collector having low electric resistance and high adhesion to an active material (P19-22, 30).
It is noted that the feature of “an electrodeposited coating” a product-by-process feature, wherein the Courts have held:
“Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP § 2113).
The limitation requires there to be a coating on the metal foil, wherein there is no evidence that the product-by-process language as recited of being electrodeposited versus other methods (bar-coating, slurry coating, etc.) imparts any additional, specific structural characteristics. The issue is moot given Park in view of Kim teaches not only the structure but the electrodepositing feature (P55); however, the evaluation of the limitation is presented here for completeness.
15. The rejection of claim 21 under under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2015/0243997) in view of Umeno et al. (US 2002/0086211) and Sikha et al. (US 2016/0013480) as applied to at least claim 1 above, and further in view of Sawa et al. (US 2016/0204431) is maintained.
Regarding claim 21, Park teaches wherein the current collector may comprise a copper foil, but fails to explicitly teach the use of a copper (Cu) alloy foil comprising less than 99 wt. % copper (Cu).
In the same field of endeavor, Sawa teaches analogous art of a negative electrode (i.e., anode) for a lithium secondary battery including a silicon-based active material and metal current collector, wherein the current collector is a copper alloy foil with a composition of 96.2% by mass of Cu, 3% by mass Ni, 0.65% by mass Si, and 0.15% Mg (P46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to select as the metal current collector of Park that may comprise one or more metals including copper, nickel, etc. that specified by Sawa having the composition of 96.2% by mass of Cu, 3% by mass Ni, 0.65% by mass Si, and 0.15% Mg (P46) as the Courts have held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious); MPEP 2144.07.
16. The rejection of claims 13 and 26-27 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2015/0243997) in view of Umeno et al. (US 2002/0086211) and Sikha et al. (US 2016/0013480) as applied to at least claim 1 and 22 above, and further in view of Ikenuma et al. (US 2015/0111101) is maintained.
Regarding claim 13, Park fails to disclose the amounts of the subunits within the copolymer (P79) and that the amount of the second subunit in the copolymer is less than around 10 wt. % as claimed. The second subunit as claimed can be interpreted as the polycarboxylic acid component or the alginic acid (P79).
In the same field of endeavor, Ikenuma teaches analogous art of a lithium ion negative electrode including silicon and carbon active materials (P56, 99-100, 104) in an active material layer, and teaches the binder utilized in the active material layer preferably has carboxyl groups (-COOH) in an amount of 0.2 wt. to less than 10 wt% (P132). Accordingly, it is a known technique to provide the carboxylic acid component achieving carboxyl groups in an amount entirely within the range claimed as taught by Ikenuma (P132).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the (poly)carboxylic acid component of Park in an amount of 0.2 wt. to less than 10 wt% as taught by Ikenuma given the technique and construct are known, the use of the carboxyl group in this amount being a suitable for a binder utilized in the analogous construct of Ikenuma (P132).
Regarding claims 26-27, Park fails to disclose wherein the (ionically) conductive interlayer comprises elongated conductive particles (claim 26), wherein the elongated conductive particles comprise single-walled carbon nanotubes (claim 27)2.
In the same field of endeavor, Ikenuma teaches analogous art of a lithium ion negative electrode including silicon and carbon active materials (P56, 99-100, 104) in an active material layer, wherein a layer for increasing adhesion is provided between a current collector and the active material layer and termed the “first electrode layer” (i.e., “interlayer”) (P58, 81), wherein the first electrode layer (“interlayer”) “preferably includes conductive particles for providing conductive paths between the current collector and the active material layer or between the active material particles” (P82). Ikenuma teaches the conductive particles included in the first electrode layer (“interlayer”) include a carbon material with the examples of carbon fibers, carbon nanotubes, or flaky graphene (i.e., elongated conductive particles”) (P91-92).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide an embodiment of Park in which the interlayer 12 of Park includes conductive particles, and specifically elongated conductive particles including carbon nanotubes, given the technique and construct are taught by Ikenuma and provide the taught, predictable result of providing conductive paths between the current collector and the active material layer (P82).
Ikenuma does not explicitly teach single-walled carbon nanotubes. There are only two known categories for carbon nanotubes as would be immediately known to those skilled in the art: single-walled carbon nanotubes (SWCNTs) or multi-walled carbon nanotubes (MWCNTs). Accordingly, the selection of a specific type of carbon nanotubes from only two known classes thereof is prima facie obvious given the species options of the genus taught can be at once envisioned by a person having ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2131.02).
17. The alternative rejection of claim 27 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2015/0243997) in view of Umeno et al. (US 2002/0086211), Sikha et al. (US 2016/0013480), and Ikenuma et al. (US 2015/0111101) as applied to at least claim 26 above, and further in view of Nakayama et al. (US 2017/0338483) is maintained.
Regarding claim 27, Park as modified by Ikenuma teaches the use of carbon nanoutbes within the interlayer (see rejection of claim 26). As detailed above, Ikenuma does not explicitly teach single-walled carbon nanotubes. There are only two known categories for carbon nanotubes as would be immediately known to those skilled in the art: single-walled carbon nanotubes (SWCNTs) or multi-walled carbon nanotubes (MWCNTs). Accordingly, the selection of a specific type of carbon nanotubes from only two known categories thereof is prima facie obvious given the species options of the genus taught can be at once envisioned by a person having ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2131.02).
Additionally, for the avoidance of doubt, Nakayama is applied in the instant alternative rejection teach that it is a known technique to provide carbon nanotubes as a conductive aid within an active material layer of an electrode, and that examples of carbon nanotubes that may be used include single-walled caron nanotubes and multi-wall carbon nanotubes (P62).
Terminal Disclaimer
18. The Terminal Disclaimer filed 5/8/2026 was received and approved.
Double Patenting
19. The rejections of claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-12, 14-15, 18, and 20 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,581,523 in view of Umeno et al. (US 2002/0086211) is withdrawn in view of the Terminal Disclaimer filed 5/8/2026.
Response to Arguments
20. Applicant's arguments filed 5/8/2026 have been fully considered. With respect to any maintained position from the prior Office, the Examiner addresses the arguments presented below:
With respect to the arguments against the 112(a) rejection against claim 16 (page 12 of the response filed), Applicant quotes P107 for support.
In response, this paragraph is describing conductive additive particles of the conductive interlayer. The claim is drawn to conductive additive particles of the electrode layer (comprising composite particles and binder). Accordingly, the feature of the conductive additive particles of the electrode layer comprises elongated particles is not supported and the rejection maintained. This was noted in the original rejection itself: “Only the solid particles of the conductive interlayer are described as elongated (P105 of the parent application PGPUB).”
With respect to the arguments against the 112(b) rejection against claims 1-4 and 29 (pages 13-14 16 of the response filed), Applicant argues:
In response, this paragraph is describing an example in which cycle number is plotted against “% of cycle 5” and mAh/g (of the anode) for the specified example described at P154
The disclosure never recites or describes the Li-ion battery anode exhibiting an average areal capacity loading in a range of 2-10 mAh/cm2 “during one or more charge-discharge cycles based on charge-discharge cycling at a rate of C/10 during a first charge-discharge cycle and a rate of C/2 during one or more subsequent charge-discharge cycles.” Applicant is attempting to link two features never described together in the instant application. One cannot assume that this same charge-discharge cycling method is the one utilized to achieve the described result of the anode exhibiting an average areal capacity loading in a range of 2-10 mAh/cm2.
This non-supported feature is for an entirely different anode construct that does not have the basic requirements of the claim. P154 teaches the anode utilized comprises Si-comprising (nano)composite active particles with an average diameter of around 1.5 to 2.5 micron, PVA binder and SWCNTs as conductive additives. This example does not have “composite particles comprising carbon and silicon” (only silicon is recited). This example does not have the binder as claimed. Thus, the example cited appears to be entirely immaterial to the claimed construct presented, or the anode having the claimed construct that exhibits given capacity features.
Arguendo, even with an assumption that this was applicable to the features recited (not conceded), there is still not a full method disclosed under which these claimed capacities are achieved. For example, the voltage window is critical for measuring capacity loading (mAh/cm2) as changing the limits of the voltage window changes how much lithium or charge goes in and out of the anode which in turn directly charges the final capacity value. This would be immediately known to those having ordinary skill in the art and is evidenced by “EL-CELL,” electrochemical test equipment (accessed at How do you calculate the capacity of a lithium-ion battery? | EL-CELL) (copy provided). Under the section of, “How do you measure capacity accurately in a laboratory setting” at least the following three points are noted:
Temperature control: Capacity is temperature-dependent. Measurements should be conducted at a defined, stable temperature to allow valid comparisons between experiments.
Voltage cut-off consistency: The upper and lower voltage limits define the accessible capacity window. These must be held constant across all comparative measurements.
Formation protocol: The number and rate of formation cycles before capacity measurement affect the stable capacity value, particularly due to SEI development on the anode.
The disclosure and claims are entirely silent under the specific method under which these capacities as claimed are achieved. The instant application is entirely silent on at least temperature control, voltage window (i.e., upper and lower voltage limits), and formation/aging protocol utilized to determine the claimed average areal capacity (or other capacities). As evidence of how the prior art reports average capacity (mAh/cm2) with all these requirements appropriately defined, see Gallagher et al., “Optimizing Areal Capacities through Understanding the Limitations of Lithium-Ion Electrodes,” J. Electrochem. Soc. 163 A138-A149 (copy provided) in which not only is the C rate defined, but also the temperature, voltage window(s), and formation/aging protocol (p. A141, reproduced above). Accordingly, the rejection is maintained.
With respect to the arguments against the 112(b) rejection against claim 18 (page 16 of the response filed), Applicant argues:
In response, if such a feature is supported, then when amended into the claim, it would adequately address the 112(b) issue with respect to it being unclear as to what the 2 wt% of the conductive additive particles is relative to. Applicant should cite the paragraph where support is coming from for such an amendment and amend the claim if supported. At the present time, the claim does not make clear what this percentage is relative to, and the prior art commonly recites weight percentages to a singular component of a layer, the whole layer, etc. such that the claim remains indefinite.
With respect to the arguments against the 112(b) rejection against claim 28 (pages 17-18 of the response filed), Applicant argues:
In response, the first underlined portion appears to support the Examiner’s position. With regard to the second underlined portion stating that such Si-C composite particles with the claimed volume-changing characteristics occurring at the claimed times under the cycling C-rates “would already be known to POSITA,” Applicant is invited to provide a non-commonly owned prior art reference that adequately teaches said particles having said feature that occur during the times and at the C-rates defined. This would render the rejection moot. At the present time, in the absence of such a prior art reference of record, the claims nor the specification illuminate one of ordinary skill in the art at to what is required in terms of chemical composition, processing, additional components, etc. that provides for composite active material particles that exhibit the results claimed of exhibiting volume expansion in the range of 8 vol.% to 160 vol% during a first charge-discharge cycle and volume expansion in the range of 5 vol.% to 50 vol. % during one or more subsequent charge-discharge cycles. There is no guidance, no examples, and no parameters whatsoever set forth for how to configure a composite particle to achieve the result obtained, or the charging/discharging protocols. As noted in the rejection, alternative means to resolve the ambiguities of a function limitation include:
An applicant may resolve the ambiguities of a function limitation by demonstrating that "specification provide[s] a formula for calculating a property along with examples that meet the claim limitation and examples that do not" (see Halliburton Energy Servs., 514 F.3d at 1255-56, 85 USPQ2d at 1663 citing Oakley, Inc. v. Sunglass Hut Int’l, 316 F.3d 1331, 1341, 65 USPQ2d 1321, 1326 (Fed. Cir. 2003)). Alternatively, applicant could demonstrate that the specification provides a general guideline and examples sufficient to teach a person skilled in the art when the claim limitation was satisfied (see Marosi, 710 F.2d at 803, 218 USPQ at 292), or applicant could amend the claims to recite the particular structure that accomplishes the function.
The Examiner has reviewed the specification for formulas, a general guideline, examples, specific structure, etc. and none of these exists in the instant application for the result obtained recited in the claim. Accordingly, the feature is considered indefinite and the rejection maintained.
With respect to the arguments against the maintained prior art rejection:
Applicant argues:
In response, prior art disclosures are relevant as prior art for all they contain (MPEP 2123), and there is no requirement of a specific example to render a claim obvious. The single paragraph of Park (P79) provides adequate teaching, suggestion and motivation to arrive at a copolymer comprising “an acrylamide subunit” and “a second subunit selected from acrylic acid, carboxylic acid, an alginc acid, and a metal salt of any of the forgoing…” This is not a reconstruction based on impermissible hindsight, but selecting known options from an explicit list stating that these options are meant to form copolymers.
Applicant argues:
In response, the quoted “much smaller particles” are describing a feature of the individual, negative active material that may be a nanostructure (e.g., what would be silicon nanoparticles) (P81-85) (see “the negative active material may have a simple particular form…”). The next paragraph further describes alternative embodiments of the negative active material and that it may include a silicon-graphite composite or a Si-based material carbon (CNT) composite (P86), wherein the average particle size of these composites is not disclosed.
Park is silent as to the composite particle average particle size, wherein the Examiner cites Umeno as teaching an analogous construct of an anode material for a rechargeable lithium battery that forms a lithium-ion anode, the anode material being a specific example of the taught “composite of a silicon-based material and a carbon-based material” (P49) of Park and including silicon-carbon (Si-C) core-shell composite particles arranged with carbon in respective shells (P54-98) and with the Si particles being nano-sized Si particles (P64; entire disclosure relied upon). With respect to the average particle size, Umeno teaches the average particle diameter of the composite material for the anode is preferably 0.1 to 50 µm (P79) with an analysis of how the average particle diameter is linked with specific area which in turn has effects on initial charge efficiency, smoothness of the achieved anode, and peeling from the current collector (P79-81). The following conclusion was made and is maintained:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the composite particles of Park comprising carbon and silicon with an average particle diameter of 0.1 to 50 µm (P79), the range claimed entirely lying inside the range taught by Umeno, given Umeno teaches an analogous construct and that this is a suitable average particle diameter for known carbon-silicon composite particles utilized within an Li-anode electrode composition (P79-81), with the average particle diameter being a known result effective variable in terms of initial charge efficiency, smoothness of the achieved anode, and peeling from the current collector (P79-81). Accordingly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists with respect to the claimed range relative to the taught range (MPEP § 2144.05: In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists), with the courts further holding the following:
“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955); MPEP 2144.05.
The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Applicant continues this argument with respect to the Examiner relying upon Umeno for teaching the anode material is a specific example of the taught “composite of a silicon-based material and carbon-based material” (P49 of Park) and the finding of Umeno teaching an analogous construct (see underlining in quoted portion of bridging paragraph of page 21-22 of response filed). Applicant argues:
and
In response, Park teaches a genus of material to be utilized that includes composite particles comprised of carbon and silicon (P49, 86). This same genus is in the claim: “the composite particles comprise carbon and silicon.” Looking to known options of the genus of material taught by Park that have disclosed, appropriate average particle sizes is an example of
selecting a known material based on its suitability for its intended use, which the courts have held support a prima facie obviousness determination (see Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) ("…selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle." 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.); MPEP 2144.07.
The specific example of NanosysGraphite within Park does not negate the overall genus taught by Park (P49, 86), nor does it have any bearing on looking to prior art teachings for the taught genus (or species) and appropriate average particle sizes thereof. Arguendo, even if NanosysGraphite was the only material that could possibly be used in the construct of Park (not conceded), then Umeno is still applicable in terms of teaching appropriate average particle sizes for said NanosysGraphite material. To this end, Applicant lists websites and provides a blurry screenshot of one of those websites without providing appropriate copies and citations thereof. If evidence is relied upon to traverse a rejection, then legible copies must be provided and cited. The NanosysGraphite material screenshotted in the response appears to have no teaching of its average particle size of the material. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would still look to known, suitable average particle sizes taught within the prior art for the NanosysGraphite species material to provide suitably sized composite particles within the anode of Park.
The arguments and comparison of the NanosysGraphite species taught in Park versus the Umeno construct are not persuasive given Park teaches the use of the genus of composites of carbon and silicon (P49, 86), and in no manner limits the only material suitable within this genus to NanosysGraphite. In other words, the one species example taught does not somehow negate the overall taught genus. Moreover, what is or is not analogous art is defined by the claim: “In order for a reference to be proper for use in an obviousness rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, the reference must be analogous art to the claimed invention. In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325, 72 USPQ2d 1209, 1212 (Fed. Cir. 2004).” The claimed invention broadly recites that “the composite particles comprise carbon and silicon” There are no further limitations required to meet the composite particles, and the instant application has almost no further detail on the particle structure or requirements of its composite particles.
Applicant quotes pages 15-16 of the Office Action, and argues that P22 of Sikha goes on to recite a disadvantage thereof with increased thickness (see emphasized portion of P22 of Sikha on page 24 of the response). Applicant argues:
In response, the disadvantage described and emphasized in the remarks at P22 of Sikha is with respect to one option (increased thickness) of achieving increased electrode loading which in turns achieves high capacity loading. The other option listed of increasing the density of the electrode materials has no disadvantage described. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art could pursue increasing the density of the electrode materials without any described disadvantage of doing so by Sikha while achieving increased capacity loading.
Moreover, the following case law is pertinent to the disadvantage of thicker electrodes:
In Allied Erecting v. Genesis Attachments, 825 F.3d 1373, 1381, 119 USPQ2d 1132, 1138 (Fed. Cir. 2016), the court stated "[a]lthough modification of the movable blades may impede the quick change functionality disclosed by Caterpillar, ‘[a] given course of action often has simultaneous advantages and disadvantages, and this does not necessarily obviate motivation to combine’" (quoting Medichem, S.A. v. Rolabo, S.L., 437 F.3d 1157, 1165, 77 USPQ2d 1865, 1870 (Fed Cir. 2006) (citation omitted)).
Sikha teaches analogous art of battery electrodes and design and teaches that the overall goal is to fabricate high-capacity energy storage devices and that to increase battery cell energy density, it is highly desirable to pack more materials into each battery cell to increase the electrode loading (mAh/cm2) (P21-22). Sikha teaches that methods to increase electrode loading include increasing the amount of active materials per unit area (P22). Accordingly, it is a known goal in the prior art to achieve high-capacity batteries by way providing a battery with high cell energy density, and that in order to do so, the electrode loading is increased by way of increasing the amount of active materials per unit area (P21-22). It is also known that increasing the amount of active material creates thicker electrodes, wherein thicker electrodes have the described disadvantages (P22). It was concluded:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to determine the optimum or workable electrode loading (mAh/cm2) possible for the anode of Park in order to providing a battery with high cell energy density by way of increasing the amount of active materials per unit area (P21-22). With respect to the specific range claimed, the court has held that “Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Accordingly, based on the teachings of Sikha, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to determine the optimum or workable ranges of the capacity loading while not making the electrodes so thick as to balance these competing features and simultaneous advantages/disadvantages (P21-22). Accordingly, the Examiner did not cherry-pick one advantage ignore the other, the Examiner laid out why it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to achieve the optimum or workable electrode loading (mAh/cm2) possible for the anode of Park to provide a battery with high cell energy density by way of increasing the amount of active materials per unit area (P21-22).
As to Applicant’s repeated argument that “again, [Park’s Si-graphite particle] which has almost no description in Park aside from one commercial example,” this is respectfully not accurate given Park teaches the materials suitable for the negative electrode active material (P48-50, 81-82, 86), the size of the simple particulate form of the negative active material (P85), the amounts of carbon and silicon (P50), examples of the carbon-based material and the silicon-based material (P50-53, 86), and a specific species example thereof (P122). The instant application has less information provided than Park in which there is not one species example described of the composite particles. The construct or format that the composite particles of the instant application is never recited. It is not clear to the Examiner what the issue is with the disclosure of Park’s composite particles given the instant application recites even less information with regard to the composite particles.
Accordingly, the above arguments are not persuasive and the prior art rejection is maintained, and in the interest of compact prosecution, the indefinite limitation of claim 1 (see section A) with respect to the average areal capacity is addressed as best as possible in terms of a general teaching that it is known to optimize average areal capacity loading.
Conclusion
21. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMANDA J BARROW/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729
1 See rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a)/first paragraph with respect to the feature claimed.
2 It is noted that Park teaches that, “In an embodiment, the interlayer does not include a conducting agent. When the interlayer does not include a conducting agent, which may be an inorganic material, the interlayer may be easily formed as a thin film.” (P37). This does not amount to teaching away as it is describing one embodiment of the interlayer. The comment is made for clarity of the record and that an argument that Park “teaches away” from the use of a conducting agent will not be held as persuasive. "The prior art’s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed…." In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201, 73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004). Furthermore, Ikenuma provides the necessary teaching, suggestion, and motivation to utilize conducting agents in such a layer to achieve the taught result of providing conductive paths between the current collector and the active material layer (P82). It is noted that [a] given course of action often has simultaneous advantages and disadvantages, and this does not necessarily obviate motivation to combine.’" (quoting Medichem, S.A. v. Rolabo, S.L., 437 F.3d 1157, 1165, 77 USPQ2d 1865, 1870 (Fed Cir. 2006).