DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia Dominguez (US 20190136224) in view of Ziv “Micro-electroporation of mesenchymal stem cells with alternating electrical current pulses”.
With respect to claims 1 and 23, Garcia Dominguez discloses an electroporation device and kit comprising at least two conductive elements having a hollow tubular structure. An insulating structure defining a channel of constant diameter is configured to fluidically couple the two conductive elements to define an electroporation flow path. This is described in paragraph [0149], which states that the conductive elements are 16-guage stainless-steel dispensing needle electrodes. Paragraph [0150] teaches that the insulating structure is made from PDMS and glass materials, which are understood to have insulating properties. At least Fig. 23C shows an embodiment in which the channel has a constant diameter. See also paragraph [0146], which states that, in the Fig. 23C embodiment, “[t]he straight microchannel (FIG. 23C) is 50 μm in width, with a constant cross-sectional area along its entire 3 mm length”.
Garcia Dominguez appears to show that the straight channel having a constant diameter is bound by an inlet well and an outlet well characterized by an expanded cross-sectional area.
It is unclear if the electrodes are received in these inlet and outlet wells, or if they extend all the way into the channel. It is also unclear if Garcia Dominguez shows that the two conductive elements are inserted along an axial direction of the insulating structure.
Ziv discloses an electroporation device comprising at least two conductive elements having a hollow, tubular structure. The conductive elements are fluidically coupled to an insulating structure along an axial direction of the insulating structure. The insulating structure additionally includes a channel, wherein the conductive elements are extended into the channel. This is shown in Figs. 1 and 3b and described in the materials and methods section spanning pages 96-99. Ziv teaches that the insulating structure is made from PDMS, which is understood to have insulating properties.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to ensure that the Garcia Dominguez conductive elements are inserted into the insulating structure so that they are oriented along an axial direction of the insulating structure and extended into the channel. Ziv shows that this is a “simple and inexpensive way to produce a micro-electroporation channel” suitable for the treatment of target cells. Ziv indicates that electrode needles operate in a similar manner and may be used to generate fluid flow and produce an electric field in a similar way regardless of whether they are parallel or orthogonal to the axial direction of the insulating structure.
With respect to claims 2 and 3, Garcia Dominguez and Ziv discloses the combination as described above. Garcia Dominguez teaches in paragraph [0149] that the conductive elements are 16-guage stainless-steel dispensing needle electrodes, which reads on a cannula. Furthermore, the conductive element needles are described as being operable with a syringe pump.
With respect to claim 4, Garcia Dominguez and Ziv discloses the combination as described above. Garcia Dominguez further states that channel is a tube formed using PDMS, which is a polymer.
With respect to claim 5, Garcia Dominguez and Ziv discloses the combination as described above. Garcia Dominguez shows in Fig. 27 that the two conductive elements are inserts at opposing ends of the channel.
With respect to claim 8, Garcia Dominguez and Ziv discloses the combination as described above. Garcia Dominguez additionally shows in Fig. 23C that the length of the channel is approximately 4 mm to define a gap between the two oppositely-disposed conductive elements.
With respect to claims 9-11, Garcia Dominguez and Ziv discloses the combination as described above. Paragraphs [0019] and [0123] of Garcia Dominguez states that a fluid pump is used to deliver fluid through the channel at a flow rate between 0.5 to 5 mL/min. Paragraph [0120] states that a controller (Figure 14:1460) is used to regulate the flow rate of the pump based on a desired residence time.
With respect to claims 12-14, Garcia Dominguez and Ziv discloses the combination as described above. Paragraphs [0016] and [0017] of Garcia Dominguez teach that a power supply is used to generate an electric field within the channel of about 0.5 kV/cm to about 12.5 kV/cm. Garcia Dominguez teaches that the power supply is also in communication with the controller (Figure 14:1460).
With respect to claim 15, Garcia Dominguez and Ziv discloses the combination as described above. Garcia Dominguez further teaches in paragraph [0110] that channel diameter and distance are considered when applying a particular voltage.
With respect to claim 16, Garcia Dominguez and Ziv discloses the combination as described above. Although Garcia Dominguez does not expressly teach that the controller includes a computer with a display, it is noted that displays, monitors, alarms, alerts and other “indicators” are typical and standard components of a computer controller, and therefore it would have been obvious to ensure that the Garcia Dominguez system includes such an indicator to display electroporation variables and parameters (e.g., applied current).
With respect to claim 17, Garcia Dominguez and Ziv discloses the combination as described above. Although there appears to be a typo in the publication (“m” instead of the intended “µm”), Garcia Dominguez is understood to teach a channel diameter of about 0.5 mm to about 5 mm in paragraph [0127].
With respect to claims 18 and 19, Garcia Dominguez and Ziv discloses the combination as described above. The insulating structure and conductive elements taught by Garcia Dominguez are both considered to be disposable.
With respect to claims 20 and 21, Garcia Dominguez and Ziv discloses the combination as described above. Fluid flow may pass through the Garcia Dominguez channel at a wide variety of velocities, including between about 0.1 m/s to about 5 m/s. See, for example, paragraph [0011]. Furthermore, it is well established that apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Here, the designation of a desired flow rate relates to how the device is intended to be used, as opposed to further limiting the device structure.
With respect to claim 22, Garcia Dominguez and Ziv discloses the combination as described above. Garcia Dominguez teaches a corresponding method of fabricating the electroporation device in which the conductive elements are inserted at opposing ends of the insulating structure.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia Dominguez (US 20190136224) in view of Ziv “Micro-electroporation of mesenchymal stem cells with alternating electrical current pulses” as applied to claim 5, and further in view of Cao (US 20200155227).
Garcia Dominguez and Ziv discloses the combination as described above, however do not expressly teach the provision of markings to demarcate an insertion distance of the conductive elements.
Cao discloses an electroporation device comprising a conductive element configured as a hollow, tubular structure (Figure 1:121). The conductive element includes markings (Figure 7:512) configured to demarcate an insertion distance. This is described in paragraphs [0051]-[0060].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to ensure that the Garcia Dominguez insulating structure includes markings configured to control an insertion distance of each conductive needle element. As evidenced by Cao, it is known in the art to guard against the over-insertion of a needle to prevent against cell damage and to confirm that the needle is in a correct position relative to the cells and biological medium. Markings may facilitate automated control over the insertion step when Garcia Dominguez’s conductive elements are coupled to the ends of the insulating structure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Applicant’s arguments filed 05 August 2026 are persuasive. It is agreed that the prior art does not teach, in the context of the claimed invention, a plurality of stops to define an insertion distance of a conductive element. Although stops are generally known in the art in isolation (see the previously cited Kodama reference), the prior art does not teach a plurality of stops configured to control the insertion of a conductive element into a channel having a constant diameter formed within an electroporation structure. Kodama, for example, is different in that the stops are used to regulate the vertical movement of a needle as it descends into an open well. Kodama also appears to teach only a single stop, as opposed to multiple stops configured to correspond to different predetermined depths.
The Sokolski (US 20180200487) and Kling (US 4373526) references teach the state of the art regarding stops used to regulate needle insertion.
Conclusion
This is a non-final rejection.
/NATHAN A BOWERS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799