DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3, 5-12 and 17-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-12, 17 and 19-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0306521 A1 to Ogawa in view of US 2018/0332634 A1 to Kawaura and further in view of US 2017/0290071 A1 to Ito et al. (hereafter refers as Ito).
Regarding claims 1, 19 and 20, Ogawa teaches a method for controlling an information processing apparatus (a method for controlling an information processing terminal 1 for communicating with a first electronic device 2 and a second electronic device 3, Fig. 1-2), an information processing apparatus (the information processing terminal 1 for communicating with a first electronic device 2 and a second electronic device 3, Fig. 1-2) and a non-transitory storage medium (the information processing terminal 1 comprises a memory 12 for storing instructions, Fig. 1 and paragraphs [6, 21, 25, 94]) for causing a computer of an information processing apparatus to execute (the instructions, which when executed by a cpu/processor of the information processing terminal 1, cause the information processing terminal 1 to perform the method, paragraphs [6, 21, 25, 94]), the information processing apparatus comprising:
one or more processors (the information processing terminal 1 includes the cpu/processor, paragraphs [6, 21, 25, 94]); and
memory storing one or more programs (the information processing terminal 1 comprises a memory 12 for storing instructions, Fig. 1 and paragraphs [6, 21, 25, 94]) configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for (the instructions, which when executed by the cpu/processor of the information processing terminal 1, cause the information processing terminal 1 to perform the method, paragraphs [6, 21, 25, 94]):
processing to execute, based on receiving from a user an instruction to execute a registration process of a communication apparatus (processing to execute a process of registering/adding communication apparatus(s), based on receiving selection from a user to execute the process, i.e. launch an apparatus, paragraphs [21-23, 40, 42-44] and Fig. 2, steps A01),
(b) a first acquisition process of acquiring first connection information (capturing/obtaining a connection information of an access point of a wireless network from the electronic device 2, abstract, paragraphs [18, 19, 35, 40, 46] and Fig. 2, step A07), including a password used when the first communication apparatus has connected to a first access point (including a password used when the electronic device 2 has connected to an access point 4, paragraphs [18-19, 35, 37, 42-45]), for connecting to the first access point from the first communication apparatus (for connecting to the access point 4, from the electronic device 2, paragraphs [42-45]), and;
(c) transmitting the first connection information to a second communication apparatus (transmitting the obtained connection information to a second electronic device, i.e. electronic device 3, paragraphs [50-51] and Fig. 2, step u06) via communication conforming to a communication scheme that is not via an external access point (via a peer to peer connection, i.e. NFC, paragraphs [49-51]).
However, Ogawa does not explicitly teach “a storing process of storing the acquired first connection information in a storage area”.
Kawaura teaches an information processing apparatus for communicating with a second communication apparatus (an PC 100, Fig. 1A-3, for communicating with a electronic device/printer 101, Fig. 1-3), the information processing apparatus comprising:
one or more processors (the PC 100 includes a cpu/processor, paragraphs [26, 39, 90]); and
memory storing one or more programs (the PC 100 includes a memory for storing instructions, Fig. 2 and paragraphs [26, 39, 90]) configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for (the instructions, which when executed by the CPU/processor of the PC 100, cause the PC 100 to perform the method, paragraphs [26, 39, 90]):
(b) a first acquisition process of acquiring first connection information, including a password, for connecting to a first access point (capturing/obtaining a connection information of an access point of a wireless network, abstract, when installing the network setting processing on the PC and/or when connecting to the access point, paragraphs [26, 28, 42, 66]);
(c) a storing process of storing the acquired first connection information in a storage area (stores the acquired wireless profile in a storage area, i.e. ROM 202, Fig. 2 and paragraphs [26, 28, 66]); and
transmitting the stored first connection information to a second communication apparatus via communication conforming to a communication scheme that is not via an external access point (the PC transmits the connection information/wireless profile to the printer via the wireless ad-hoc/p2p communication, paragraphs [40-44, 48-51] and Fig. 3, steps s305-s309).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of the storing process of storing the acquired first connection information in a storage area and transmitting the stored first connection information to a second communication apparatus via communication conforming to a communication scheme that is not via an external access point as taught by Kawaura, with the teachings of transmitting the first connection information to a second communication apparatus as taught by Ogawa, for a purpose of improving connection establishment for the second communication apparatus, by transmitting the stored first connection information only when the stored first connection information associated with the access point, is detected by the second communication apparatus, thus ensure that the stored first connection information is only used when needed (see Kawaura, paragraphs [40-44, 48-51]).
However, the combination of Ogawa and Kawaura does not explicitly teach “(a) a registration process of acquiring, from a first communication apparatus, specific information regarding the first communication apparatus and registering the first communication apparatus based on the specific information”.
Ito teaches a method for controlling an information processing apparatus (a method for controlling an information processing apparatus 101 for communicating with a communication apparatus, Fig. 4-6, 10, 20A-20E), an information processing apparatus (the information processing apparatus 101 for communicating with a communication apparatus, Fig. 4-6, 10, 20A-20E) and a non-transitory storage medium (the information processing apparatus 101 comprises a memory for storing instructions, Fig. 1 and paragraphs [35-38]) for causing a computer of an information processing apparatus to execute (the instructions, which when executed by a cpu/processor of the information processing apparatus 101, cause the information processing apparatus 101 to perform the method, paragraphs [37, 115]), the information processing apparatus comprising:
one or more processors (the information processing apparatus 101 includes the cpu/processor, paragraphs [35-38]); and
memory storing one or more programs (the information processing apparatus 101 comprises a memory for storing instructions, Fig. 1 and paragraphs [35-38]) configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for (the instructions, which when executed by a cpu/processor of the information processing apparatus 101, cause the information processing apparatus 101 to perform the method, paragraphs [37, 115]):
processing to execute, based on receiving from a user an instruction to execute a registration process of a communication apparatus (processing to execute, based on receiving from a user an instruction, i.e. selecting printer registration, a registration process of a communication apparatus, i.e. printer, paragraphs [67-68, 101] and Fig. 4 and 20A-20C),
(a) a registration process of acquiring, from a first communication apparatus (acquiring information from a printer, paragraph [70]), specific information regarding the first communication apparatus (specific information regarding the printer, paragraph [70]) and registering the first communication apparatus based on the specific information (registering the printer based on the information regarding the printer, paragraphs [68-70, 100-102]),
(b) a first acquisition process of acquiring first connection information (capturing/obtaining a connection information of an access point of a wireless network from the printer, paragraph [82]), including a password used when the first communication apparatus has connected to a first access point (including a password used when the printer has connected to an access point, paragraph [82]), for connecting to the first access point from the first communication apparatus (for connecting to the access point, from the printer, paragraph [82]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of (a) a registration process of acquiring, from a first communication apparatus, specific information regarding the first communication apparatus and registering the first communication apparatus based on the specific information as taught by Ito, with the teachings of combination of Ogawa and Kawaura, for a purpose of improving connection between the first communication apparatus and the information processing apparatus, by registering the first communication apparatus when needed, i.e. first detected, and enabling the user to use the first communication apparatus, i.e. printing (see Ito, paragraphs [68-70, 100-102] and Fig. 20A-20F).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Ogawa, Kawaura and Ito further teaches wherein the first connection information includes a service set identifier (SSID) of the first access point (wherein the connection information is including a SSID of the access point, see Ogawa, paragraphs [18, 19], see Kawaura, paragraphs [26, 28, 31, 43, 75]).
Regarding claim 5, Ito further teaches the first connection information is stored in an external server (storing information about the registered printer in an external storage device, paragraphs [83, 91, 100]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of the first connection information is stored in an external server as taught by Ito, with the teachings of storing the first connection information as taught by combination of Ogawa and Kawaura, for a purpose of obtaining the first connection information from the external server for future, when the first electronic device is not available (see Ito, paragraphs [83, 91, 100]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Ogawa, Kawaura and Ito further teaches the method comprising:
connecting the information processing apparatus to the first access point after transmitting the stored first connection information to the second communication apparatus (the information processing terminal/PC connects to the access point corresponding to the stored connection information/wireless profile when the access point is one of the information processing terminal/PC being connected, after transmitting the stored connection information/wireless profile is transmitted to the printer/electronic device 3, see Ogawa, paragraphs [36, 38, 63-65], see Kawaura, paragraphs [17-18, 39, 40, 43-44, 57] and Fig. 3, steps s309-s310).
Regarding claim 17, Ogawa further teaches wherein the first communication apparatus and the second communication apparatus are each a printer (wherein the electronic devices are printers, paragraphs [5, 28]).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Ogawa, Kawaura and Ito further teaches wherein the specific information includes information about a name of the first communication apparatus (obtain specific information of the communication apparatus/printer include information about a name of the communication apparatus/printer, see Ito, paragraphs [59, 96, 100-102], storing obtained information of the electronic device 2 including a device name, see Ogawa, paragraph [27]).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Ogawa, Kawaura and Ito further teaches wherein the specific information includes a media access control (MAC) address of the first communication apparatus (information of the electronic device 2/printer includes an MAC address, see Ogawa, paragraph [27], see Ito, paragraphs [70, 100]).
Regarding claim 23, Ito further teaches wherein the specific information includes at least one of information about a sheet size (information of the printer includes a paper size, paragraph [70]) or information about a sheet type (information of the printer includes a paper type, paragraph [70]), which are available for use by the first communication apparatus having a printing function (which are available for use by the printer having a printing function, paragraph [70]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein the specific information includes at least one of information about a sheet size or information about a sheet type, which are available for use by the first communication apparatus having a printing function as taught by Ito, with the teachings of combination of Ogawa and Kawaura, for a purpose of improving user’s experiences by obtaining printing capability of the first communication apparatus to enable the user to select and use the first communication apparatus (see Ito, paragraph [70]).
Regarding claim 24, Ito further teaches wherein the registration process is a process of registering the first communication apparatus in a specific application which has been installed in the information processing apparatus and is controllable by the transmitting (wherein the registration process is to registering the printer in a specific application, i.e. print application, which has been installed in the information processing apparatus and is control by the transmitting, Fig. 1, 4-6, 20A-20F and paragraphs [58, 68, 90, 98-100, 106]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein the registration process is a process of registering the first communication apparatus in a specific application which has been installed in the information processing apparatus and is controllable by the transmitting as taught by Ito, with the teachings of combination of Ogawa and Kawaura, for a purpose of improving user’s experiences by enabling the user to use the specific application to registering the first communication apparatus to use the first communication apparatus after registration (see Ito, Fig. 1, 4-6, 20A-20F and paragraphs [58, 68, 90, 98-100, 106]).
Regarding claim 25, Ito further teaches wherein the specific information includes capability information of the first communication apparatus related to printing (obtaining the capability information of the printer/communication apparatus related to printing, paragraph [70]); and wherein the registration process is a process of registering information of the first communication apparatus in the information processing apparatus so as to enable transmission of a print job to the first communication apparatus (registering information about the printer to enabling the transmission of a print job to the printer, paragraphs [68-70, 103-105]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein the specific information includes capability information of the first communication apparatus related to printing and wherein the registration process is a process of registering information of the first communication apparatus in the information processing apparatus so as to enable transmission of a print job to the first communication apparatus as taught by Ito, with the teachings of combination of Ogawa and Kawaura, for a purpose of improving user’s experiences by enabling the user to transmit the print job to the first communication apparatus (see Ito, paragraphs [68-70, 103-105]).
Regarding claim 26, Kawaura further teaches:
obtaining, before the transmitting, search result information from the second apparatus via communication conforming to a first communication scheme that is not via an external access point, the search result information indicating one or more access points found by executing an access point search by the second communicating apparatus (acquires SSID list from the printer, via a wireless ad-hoc or P2P communication that is not via the access point, i.e. have not connected to the access point/SSID, Fig. 3, step s307, Fig. 4 paragraphs [40-43, 48-50], wherein the SSID list indicating one or more access points found by executing an access point search by the printer, paragraphs [48-49]), wherein the transmitting the stored first connection information to the second communicating apparatus (the PC transmits the connection information/wireless profile to the printer via the wireless ad-hoc/p2p communication, paragraphs [40-44, 48-51] and Fig. 3, steps s305-s309) is performed based on information of a first access point corresponding to the stored first connection information being included in the search result information obtained from the second communication apparatus (when the SSID in the SSID list matches SSID associated with the stored connection information/wireless profile, paragraphs [42-43, 49]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of obtaining, before the transmitting, search result information from the second apparatus via communication conforming to a first communication scheme that is not via an external access point, the search result information indicating one or more access points found by executing an access point search by the second communicating apparatus, wherein the transmitting the stored first connection information to the second communicating apparatus is performed based on information of a first access point corresponding to the stored first connection information being included in the search result information obtained from the second communication apparatus as taught by Kawaura, with the teachings of acquiring connection information for connecting to an access point from the first communication apparatus and transmitting the connection information to the second communication apparatus as taught by Ogawa, for a purpose of improving connection establishment by the second communication apparatus, by obtaining search result information from the second communication apparatus, thus ensure, that the second communication apparatus is the one for connection (see Kawaura, paragraphs [40-44, 48-51]).
Regarding claim 6, Kawaura further teaches wherein based on information of the first access point corresponding to the stored first connection information being not included in the search result information, the stored first connection information is not transmitted to the second communication apparatus (when an SSID associated with the stored wireless profile is not in the SSID list, displaying a screen to allow a user to enter a wireless profile for the SSID in the SSID list, paragraphs [51-52, 55] and Fig. 3, step s307, Fig. 4, steps s402-s409).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of wherein based on information of the first access point corresponding to the stored first connection information being not included in the search result information, the stored first connection information is not transmitted to the second communication apparatus as taught by Kawaura, with the teachings of Ogawa, for a purpose of increase efficiency in connecting the second electronic device with the access point by not transmitting the stored connection information when such connection information is not needed, i.e. when the SSID/access point associated with the stored wireless profile is not in the SSID/access point found during the searching (see Kawaura, paragraphs [52, 55]).
Regarding claim 7, Kawaura further teaches the method comprising:
displaying, on a display of the information processing apparatus (the PC displays on a screen of the PC, paragraph [55]), a screen for receiving an input of a password of a second access point (displaying on a display of the PC, for receiving an input of a password of an access point, paragraphs [55-57] and Fig. 4-5A, including manual adding access point by a user, paragraphs [55, 68] and Fig. 5B), based on information of the first access point corresponding to the stored first connection information being not included in the search result information and the second access point to which the information processing apparatus is being connected when at least a setting operation is performed being included in the search result information (when an SSID associated with the stored wireless profile is not in the SSID list found in the searching, i.e. displaying AP selection screen after AP is not included in SSID list, paragraphs [55-57] and Fig. 4, step s402-s403, Fig. 5A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of displaying, on a display of the information processing apparatus, a screen for receiving an input of a password of a second access point, based on information of the first access point corresponding to the stored first connection information being not included in the search result information and the second access point to which the information processing apparatus is being connected when at least a setting operation is performed being included in the search result information as taught by Kawaura, with the teachings of Ogawa, for a purpose of increase efficiency in connecting the second electronic device to the access point by allowing the user to enter the password for the second access point when the first connection information associated with the second access point was not stored (see Kawaura, paragraphs [55-57]).
Regarding claim 8, Kawaura further teaches comprising
transmitting, to the second communication apparatus, second connection information for connecting to the second access point (the PC transmits to the printer/second electronic device, the connection information/wireless profile entered by the user, paragraphs [43, 54-57, 72] and Fig. 3, step s309, Fig. 4, step s402-s409), in response to receipt of an input of the password of the second access point from a user on the displayed screen, the second connection information including the password of the second access point (in response to receipt of an input of the password from the screen from the user on the displayed screen, for the SSID in the SSID list and not matched with the SSID with the stored connection information, paragraphs [53-55, 57, 68, 72] and Fig. 5A-5B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of the second transmission step of transmitting, to the second communication apparatus, connection information for connecting to the access point to which the information processing apparatus is being connected when at least the setting operation is performed, in response to receipt of an input of the password of the access point to which the information processing apparatus is being connected when at least the setting operation is performed from a user on the screen displayed in the first display step, the connection information including the password of the access point to which the information processing apparatus is being connected when at least the setting operation is performed as taught by Kawaura, with the teachings of Ogawa, for a purpose of increase efficiency in connecting the second electronic device to the access point by providing the password entered by the user for the access point found by the second electronic device (see Kawaura, paragraphs [53-55, 57, 72]).
Regarding claim 9, Kawaura further teaches the method comprising:
acquiring, from the second communication apparatus, connection information for connecting to the second access point, in response to the second communication apparatus establishing a connection with the second access point using the transmitted second connection information (the PC receives password and/or SSID entered by the user when the printer is to be connected to the SSID included in the SSID list using the password and/or SSID entered by the user, paragraphs [55-57, 81-85]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of t acquiring, from the second communication apparatus, connection information for connecting to the second access point, in response to the second communication apparatus establishing a connection with the second access point using the transmitted second connection information as taught by Kawaura, with the teachings of Ogawa, for a purpose of increase efficiency in connecting the second electronic device to the second access point by acquire the connection information for connecting to the second access point, i.e. entered by the user, found by the second electronic device (see Kawaura, paragraphs [55-57, 81-85]).
Regarding claim 10, Kawaura further teaches the method comprising:
displaying, on the display of the information processing apparatus, information indicating the one or more access points included in the search result information, based on information of the second access point being not included in the search result information (displaying on a screen of the PC a list of access points/SSID acquired from the printer, when the SSID/access point including the SSID/access point manually entered by the user, is not in the SSID list, paragraphs [54-55, 57] and Fig. 4-5A);
receiving selection of an access point, as a third access point, from among the one or more access points included in the search result information displayed on the screen (the PC receives selection of one of the access points displayed on the screen, paragraph [55] and Fig. 5A); and
transmitting, in response to receipt of an input of a password of the third access point selected from a user, third connection information for connecting to the third access point to the second communication apparatus (the PC transmits, in response to receipt of an input of password of the access point selected, the wireless profile for connecting to the selected access point, to the printer, paragraphs [54-55, 57, 72] and Fig. 3, steps s308-s309, Fig. 4, steps s408-s410).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of displaying, on the display of the information processing apparatus, information indicating the one or more access points included in the search result information, based on information of the second access point being not included in the search result information, receiving selection of an access point, as a third access point, from among the one or more access points included in the search result information displayed on the screen, and transmitting, in response to receipt of an input of a password of the third access point selected from a user, third connection information for connecting to the third access point to the second communication apparatus as taught by Kawaura, with the teachings of Ogawa, for a purpose of increase efficiency in connecting the second electronic device to the access point by providing the password entered by the user for the third access point selected by the user from the list of access points found by the second electronic device (see Kawaura, paragraphs [53-55, 57, 72]).
Regarding claim 11, Kawaura further teaches the method comprising:
acquiring, from the second communication apparatus, connection information for connecting to the third access point, in response to the second communication apparatus establishing a connection with the third access point using the transmitted third connection information (the PC receives password and/or SSID entered by the user when the printer is to be connected to the SSID included in the SSID list using the password and/or SSID entered by the user, paragraphs [55-57, 81-85]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0306521 A1 to Ogawa in view of US 2018/0332634 A1 to Kawaura and US 2017/0290071 A1 to Ito et al. (hereafter refers as Ito) as applied to claims above, and further in view of US 2020/0220718 A1 to Tsuji.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Ogawa, Kawaura and Ito does not explicitly teach “transmitting a print job for executing printing to the second communication apparatus via an access point to which the second communication apparatus is connected”.
Tsuji teaches a method comprising transmitting a print job for executing printing to the second communication apparatus via an access point to which the second communication apparatus is connected (a terminal 10 transmits the connection information to a printer, Fig. 9, step t878 and paragraphs [126-128], and transmits print data to the printer via the AP to which the printer is connected, paragraphs [130-131] and Fig. 9, step t884).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of the second transmission step of transmitting a print job for executing printing to the second communication apparatus via an access point to which the second communication apparatus is connected as taught by Tsuji, with the teachings of combination of Ogawa, Kawaura and Ito, for a purpose of increase user’s experiences by allowing the user send the print job for executing printing to the printer/second communication apparatus after the printer/second communication apparatus has connected to the access point (see Tsuji, paragraphs [128-131] and Fig. 9).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2019/0384537 A1 discloses storing SSID and password in advance by the user or at a factory shipment time (paragraphs [58, 60, 78]).
US 2007/0189241 A1 discloses when there is enough storage space, a new network information is stored in addition to an old network information (see paragraph [33]).
US 2020/0045763 A1 discloses terminal apparatus saves AP information, disconnects from the AP, receives AP list form communication apparatus, and transmits AP information to the communication apparatus when the AP list includes the AP (see paragraphs [75-79, 83-86] and Fig. 4).
US 2019/0097830 A1 discloses a smart device stores SSID and password of AP, receives accessible AP list via NFC connection from a home device, transmits SSID and password of AP when the AP is included in the accessible AP list, wherein a user is able to enter SSID and password of AP when AP is not included in the accessible AP list (Fig. 2 and paragraphs [50-65]).
/DUNG B HUYNH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469 January 10, 2026