DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is responsive to amendment filed on September 23, 2025 where Applicant amended the claims. Claims 32-43 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 9/23/25, with respect to the claims have been fully considered.
Previous 112(b) rejections are withdrawn.
Applicant argues that Hars does not teach “subsequent security transaction”
In reply, Applicant is reminded that the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation. In this case, the claimed security transaction is a broad term and encompasses any type of action which involves or is related to network and communication security. Hars satisfies this broad limitation since Hars teaches encrypting subsequent segments of a message and transmitting the encrypted message. The claims fails to give functional details that would distinguish the claim from the prior art.
Applicant argues that Hars does not teach “where input states are received and combined with stored output states from previous packet processing operations”
In reply, Firstly, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the above-mentioned quote) are not recited in the rejected claims. The claims seem to be missing elements and features which would explicitly perform the quoted function. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Secondly, Hars teaches combining subsequent cipher blocks with previous cipher blocks, which satisfies the broadly worder claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 32,35,36,39,40,43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hars (US Publication 20170104581).
In reference to claim 32, Hars teaches a method, comprising:
generating, by a computing device, output states based on permutations of input states relating to a message; (see at least ¶ 32, which teaches a mode of attack resistant encryption based on permutation of inputs to generate outputs)
generating ciphertext data blocks based on packets associated with the message; (see at least ¶s 34-38, which teach generating ciphertext based on data associated with a message) and
communicating the ciphertext data blocks and receiving a next input state associated with a subsequent security transaction (see at least ¶ 34, which teaches obtaining and storing ciphertext, and receiving an incremented input for subsequent segments).
In reference to claim 35, this is taught by Hars, see at least ¶s 44,46,48, which teaches processing circuitry coupled to memory.
Claims 36,39,40,43 are slight variations of the rejected claims 32,35 above, and are therefore rejected based on the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 33,34,37,38,41,42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hars (US Publication 20170104581) in view of Saarinen et al (US Publication 20220138349).
In reference to claim 33, this is taught by Hars, see at least ¶s 21,22,34, which teach generating the ciphertext from plaintext segment of the message, and implementing the encryption with a nonce value. Hars fails to explicitly teach the subsequent security transaction includes generating a next value/nonce and a next permutation output state. However, Saarinen teaches implementing cryptographic permutations in an attack-resistant environment, and discloses subsequent operations including generated register data value, and outputting updated permutation state (see Saarinen, at least Abstract and ¶s 40-41). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Hars based on the teachings of Saarinen for the purpose of improving encryption operations to be resistant to side channel attacks.
In reference to claim 34, this is taught by Saarinen, see at least ¶ 46 and ¶ 88 lines 1-6&17-22, which teach the cryptographic permutation operations are based on authenticated encryption. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify Hars in view of Saarinen based on the motivation given in claim 33 above.
Claims 37,38,41,42 are slight variations of the rejected claims 33-34 above, and are therefore rejected based on the same rationale.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For any subsequent response that contains new/amended claims, Applicant is required to cite its corresponding support in the specification. (See MPEP chapter 2163.03 section (I.) and chapter 2163.04 section (I.) and chapter 2163.06) Applicant may not introduce any new matter to the claims or to the specification.
In formulating a response/amendment, Applicant is encouraged to take into consideration the prior art made of record but not relied upon, as it is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See previous Forms 892.
Contact & Status
To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Ramy M Osman/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457
October 6, 2025