DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 2 states “a user glans” but should read –a user’s glans--.
Claim 1, line 5 states “a user foreskin” but should read –a user’s foreskin --.
Claims 1, lines 2-3, 6, 8 and claim 5, line 3, recite the limitation “, in use”, but examiner suggests removing the limitation for clarity of the claims. The limitation does not further limit the claims and may add some confusion to intention of the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) based upon a public use or sale or other public availability of the invention. The claims of the instant application can be found in the product “Pecker Packer” which has a website published date of February 20, 2021, see attached capture from the Internet Archive Wayback Machine. The products sold on the website are the same as the invention of the instant application, wherein the base and outer sleeve are in one component and the compression sleeve is a separate component. Each of the components are made of silicone, and each component features an aligned opening. The sleeve outer ring of the publicly available product can fold between two position to allow for insertion of the foreskin. The compression sleeve of the publicly available product is configured to fit around the outside of the outer sleeve and the outer sleeve is configured to connect to weight accessories or an air kit. Examiner acknowledges that the owner of the publicly available product is the same as the listed Inventor of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
For the purposes of compact prosecution, in the case that the Inventor’s product was not publicly available before 28 September 2021, Examiner is presenting additional prior art that is obvious over the claims of the instant application.
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blau (US 20220401174 A1) in view of Marx (US 5662631 A).
Regarding claim 1, Blau discloses a restoration device for foreskin (Abstract) comprising a base defining a glans cone configured to receive a user glans (Figure 2C), in use and an outer sleeve comprising an inner portion that matingly couples with the base and a sleeve outer ring configured to press on a user foreskin (Figure 2C), in use.
Blau fails to disclose a compression sleeve configured to wrap around an outer surface of the sleeve outer ring, in use. Marx discloses a male external catheter attachment assembly, wherein the catheter attachment includes elastic bands to aid in retention of the device on penis (Col 3, lines 60-65). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device as taught by Blau, with external elastic bands around the outer surface of the sleeve outer ring as taught by Marx, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of aid in retention of the device on penis (Col 3, lines 60-65).
Regarding claim 2, Blau, as modified in claim 1, further discloses the base, the outer sleeve, and the compression sleeve comprise a pliable material (Blau, Paragraph [0044]; Marx, Col 3, lines 60-65, elastic rings).
Regarding claim 3, Blau, as modified in claim 1, further discloses the base defines a cone opening and the outer sleeve defines an outer sleeve opening that aligns with the cone opening (Figure 2C).
Regarding claim 4, Blau, as modified in claim 1, further discloses the sleeve outer ring is operable to fold between a first position, where a distal end thereof is distal the inner portion, and a second position, where the distal end thereof is proximal the inner portion (Figures 1E and 1F).
Regarding claim 5, Blau, as modified in claim 1, further discloses the compression sleeve is operable to apply a compression force to the outer surface of the sleeve outer ring, in use (Marx, Col 3, lines 60-65, elastic rings).
Regarding claim 6, Blau, as modified in claim 1, further discloses a distal end of the outer sleeve is configured to connect to one of a plurality of accessories (Blau, Paragraph {0043]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Haughey (US 20010049468 A1) discloses a similar device with a base and outer sleeve. Goulter (US 5618277 A) discloses a condom catheter with an external elastic band for providing additional compression to hold the device on. Heimreid (US 4388923 A) discloses a similar device with a base and outer sleeve.
/CHARLES A MARMOR II/Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/M.D.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3791