Detailed Action
This action is in response to the RCE filed on 04/02/2026 for the amended claims filed 04/02/2026 for application 17/936,099, in which:
Claim 1, 9, and 17 are the independent Claims.
Claims 1, 9, and 17 are currently amended.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. § 101 Rejections:
Applicant's arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejections of the previous office action have been fully considered, but are unpersuasive.
Applicant asserts (Pages 10-12) that the claims are patent eligible under § 101 at least because they integrate any alleged judicial exceptions into a practical application (see MPEP § 2106.04(d)). Applicant further asserts the generating… and selecting… limitations and notes them as reciting practical applications with support from the specification.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejections for the amended claims are directed to an abstract idea (Step 2A Prong 1) and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application (Step 2A Prong 2). The pending Claims are directed to a judicial exception due to reciting limitations which fall within the “mental processes” group of abstract ideas; where the judicial exception is unable to be directed to significantly more than the judicial exception due to the pending Claims not including additional elements that contribute to an “inventive concept”. Due to the additional elements falling under MPEP 2106.05, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application and the specific details are discussed below within the Examiner’s Responses and 35 USC § 101 Rejections. The claims are directed towards the improvement of an abstract idea. Improvements to an abstract idea are still considered an abstract idea. Although the Claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the Claims. The generating … a plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics for a plurality of machine-learning models according to the meta-graph features of the graph representation … and selecting a first type of machine-learning model from the plurality of machine-learning models to process the dataset associated with the graph representation … are both evaluated as abstract ideas that fall into the “mental processes” group of abstract ideas; where the additional elements are either applying the abstract idea on a computer or restricting the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The rejections follow the steps of the analysis laid out within the MPEP which was followed for the previous and current examination (see MPEP 2106). The rejection also follows the steps of the analysis as laid out in the MPEP which was followed for the previous and current examination (see MPEP 2106). More specific details are discussed below within the responses and 35 USC § 101 Rejections.
Applicant asserts (Pages 10-11), that the model selection system utilizes the learned mappings of a graph feature machine-learning model to efficiently estimate model performance based on extracted meta-graph features of a graph representation of a new dataset without training or testing the model in connection with the new dataset; thus, a technical solution to a technical problem as time is saved and improvement comes from the generating… limitation in the amended independent claims.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. MPEP 2106.05(a) recites:
After the examiner has consulted the specification and determined that the disclosed invention improves technology, the claim must be evaluated to ensure the claim itself reflects the disclosed improvement in technology … the claim must include the components or steps of the invention that provide the improvement described in the specification
…
It is important to note, the judicial exception alone cannot provide the improvement. The improvement can be provided by one or more additional elements. See the discussion of Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 187 and 191-92, 209 USPQ 1, 10 (1981)) in subsection II, below.
Applicant fails to show how any alleged technical improvement would be provided by anything more than the judicial exception on its own. The claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more. The claim is not patent eligible. Additionally, applicant fails to show how the claim includes components or steps (including the generating… limitation) that would provide the alleged improvement described in the specification or by the cited case law. By MPEP 2106.05(f)(1), "the claim recites only the idea of a solution or outcome, i.e. the claim fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished". Moreover, the examiner maintains that the Claim does not impose any meaningful limits on the judicial exceptions. As noted in the rejection, the Claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to an integration of the identified abstract idea into a practical application, thus the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Applicant asserts (Page 11), at least for the reasons noted above, currently amended independent claims 1, 9, and 17, and its dependent claims, are directed to patent-eligible subject matter, and Applicant respectfully requests that the Office withdraw the rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s arguments regarding the other independent and dependent claims rely upon the same assertions as with respect to Claim 1, and are thus likewise unpersuasive. Therefore, the claims do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application nor amount to significantly more. For the reasons given above and in the rejections below, the rejection to all Claims (including Claim 1, similar independent claims, and all dependent Claims) are maintained. More specific details are discussed below within the 35 USC § 101 Rejections.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. § 102 Rejections:
Applicant's arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. § 102 rejections of the previous office action have been fully considered, but are unpersuasive.
Applicant asserts (Pages 11-13), that Jiang fails to disclose generating a plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics that indicate predicted model performances. Jiang fails to disclose all of the limitations of currently amended independent claims 1, 9, and 17. Applicant further supports this by citing the generating… limitation and noting that Jiang describes where its model "predict[s] user-event preference scores" for a user and "rank[s] the candidate events from the test set according to the predicted ratings and recommend" the user the top events." where predicted ratings represent a likelihood that a user will be interested in an event. However, a user's interest in an event does not disclose "generating ... a plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics for a plurality of machine-learning models," as recited in currently amended independent claims. Jiang describes the predicted ratings of various events by a single machine learning model, not a "plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics [that] indicate predicted model performances of the plurality of machine-learning models," as in currently amended independent claims. Thus, Jiang does not disclose the generating… limitation; thus, all independent claims and dependent claims are not anticipated by Jiang.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Jiang teaches the generation of a plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics via calculations shown within Fig. 2 for rating prediction; which is interpreted as a type of performance metric by the examiner. This calculation is done for the likelihood a user is a interested in an event which is generating based on the metrics of the ML Models. However, the amended limitation now further recites the wherein limitation which is not explicitly taught within Jiang. Nevertheless, new prior art reference Smith-Miles does cover the implicit teachings of Jiang to fully teach all limitations of the amended independent claim under the broadest reasonable interpretation. Applicant’s arguments regarding the other independent and dependent claims rely upon the same assertions as with respect to Claim 1, and are thus likewise unpersuasive.
Applicant asserts (Pages 14-15), to disclose the selecting… limitation and all independent claims and dependent claims are not anticipated by Jiang. Jiang describes where “MGAR can select the appropriate meta-graph which contributes the most for each user through a feature fusion mechanism”. However, the selection of an appropriate meta-graph which "contributes the most," as in Jiang, is not the same as "selecting a first type of machine-learning model from the plurality of machine-learning models," as in currently amended independent claim 1. Emphasis added. As the selection of a meta-graph does not disclose the selection of a machine learning model, Jiang further fails to disclose the selecting… limitation; thus, and all independent claims and dependent claims are not anticipated by Jiang; thus, all independent claims and dependent claims are not anticipated by Jiang. The other rejections to the claims are now moot and do not, therefore, need to be addressed individually at this time.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Jiang teaches the selection of a first type of ML model as the MGAR model selects the most influential meta-graph; thus, interpreted by the examiner as graph representation according to the plurality of estimate graph learning performance metrics as the model selects the highest rating prediction event for each user). This selection is done for processing the data and thus interpreted by the examiner as selecting a first type of machine-learning model from the plurality of machine-learning models to process the dataset associated with the graph representation … However, the amended limitation now further recites the wherein limitation which is not explicitly taught within Jiang. Nevertheless, new prior art reference Smith-Miles does cover the implicit teachings of Jiang to fully teach all limitations of the amended independent claim under the broadest reasonable interpretation. Applicant’s arguments regarding the other independent and dependent claims rely upon the same assertions as with respect to Claim 1, and are thus likewise unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding Claim 1:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Claim 1 recites a method, thus a process, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
However, Claim 1 further recites the method comprising of:
extracting … meta-graph features from a graph representation of a dataset, the meta-graph features representing structural characteristics of the graph representation of the dataset … (a human being can mentally apply evaluation to extract features from a meta-graph representing specific graph characteristics)
generating … a plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics for a plurality of machine-learning models according to the meta-graph features of the graph representation … (a human being can make a judgement for generating a plurality of estimated metrics for machine-learning models based on specific features)
selecting a first type of machine-learning model from the plurality of machine-learning models to process the dataset associated with the graph representation … (a human being can mentally apply evaluation to select a type of machine-learning model to process a specific dataset)
… by comparing the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics … (a human being can mentally apply evaluation to make a comparison of specific metrics)
Claim 1 thus recites an abstract idea (that falls into the “mental processes” group of abstract ideas).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements consist of:
… utilizing a graph feature machine-learning model … (to perform a mental process and the performance of an abstract idea on a computer is no more than instructions to “apply it” on a computer, by MPEP 2106.05(f))
… wherein the graph representation of the dataset comprises a plurality of nodes and a plurality of edges between the plurality of nodes indicating relationships between the plurality of nodes (which is restricting the abstract idea to a Particular Technological Environment, by MPEP 2106.05(h))
… wherein the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics indicate predicted model performances of the plurality of machine-learning models in executing a graph learning task on the graph representation of the dataset (which is restricting the abstract idea to a Particular Technological Environment, by MPEP 2106.05(h))
… the plurality of machine-learning models comprising a plurality of different types of machine-learning models associated with graph learning tasks (which is restricting the abstract idea to a Particular Technological Environment, by MPEP 2106.05(h))
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Additional elements a merely applying the abstract idea on a computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)) which cannot provide significantly more. Additional elements b-d are only restricting the abstract idea to a Particular Technological Environment (MPEP 2106.05(h)) which cannot provide significantly more. Thus, the claim is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 2:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Dependent Claim 2 recites the method of Claim 1. Claim 1 is a method, thus a process, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
However, Claim 2 further recites the method comprising of:
extracting local structural characteristics of the plurality of nodes and the plurality of edges (a human being can mentally apply evaluation to extract local structural characteristics of nodes and edges)
extracting global structural characteristics of the plurality of nodes (a human being can mentally apply evaluation to extract global structural characteristics of nodes)
Claim 2 thus recites an abstract idea (that falls into the “mental processes” group of abstract ideas).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no new additional elements recited.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because there are no new additional elements recited. The judicial exception alone does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Thus, the claim is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 3:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Dependent Claim 3 recites the method of Claim 2. Claim 2 is a method, thus a process, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
However, Claim 3 further recites the method comprising of:
generating a feature matrix comprising a plurality of rows corresponding to the plurality of nodes and the plurality of edges of the graph representation according the local structural characteristics (a mathematical relationship between variables and/or numbers using a mathematical formula/equations)
generating a meta-graph feature vector comprising a fixed-dimension for the graph representation based on the feature matrix utilizing the global structural characteristics (a mathematical relationship between variables and/or numbers using a mathematical formula/equations)
Claim 3 thus recites an abstract idea (that falls into the “mathematical concepts” group of abstract ideas).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no new additional elements recited.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because there are no new additional elements recited. The judicial exception alone does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Thus, the claim is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 4:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Dependent Claim 4 recites the method of Claim 2. Claim 2 is a method, thus a process, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
However, Claim 4 further recites the method comprising of generating one or more latent feature vectors representing a node degree, a number of wedges, a number of triangles centered at each node of the plurality of nodes, or a frequency of triangles for each edge of the plurality of edges (a mathematical relationship between variables and/or numbers using a mathematical formula/equations). Claim 4 thus recites an abstract idea (that falls into the “mathematical concepts” group of abstract ideas).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no new additional elements recited.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because there are no new additional elements recited. The judicial exception alone does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Thus, the claim is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 5:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Dependent Claim 5 recites the method of Claim 2. Claim 2 is a method, thus a process, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
However, Claim 5 further recites the method comprising of generating one or more latent feature vectors representing an importance score of each node of the plurality of nodes, an eccentricity of each node of the plurality of nodes, or a k-core number of each node of the plurality of nodes (a mathematical relationship between variables and/or numbers using a mathematical formula/equations). Claim 5 thus recites an abstract idea (that falls into the “mathematical concepts” group of abstract ideas).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no new additional elements recited.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because there are no new additional elements recited. The judicial exception alone does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Thus, the claim is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 6:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Dependent Claim 6 recites the method of Claim 1. Claim 1 is a method, thus a process, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
However, Claim 6 further recites the method comprising of determining … based on learned mappings between meta-graph features and model graph learning performance metrics of the plurality of machine-learning models (a human being can apply mental evaluation to make a determination based on learnt mappings between features and metrics). Claim 6 thus recites an abstract idea (that falls into the “mental processes” group of abstract ideas).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no new additional elements recited.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because there are no new additional elements recited. The judicial exception alone does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Thus, the claim is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 7:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Dependent Claim 7 recites the method of Claim 1. Claim 1 is a method, thus a process, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
However, Claim 7 further recites the method comprising of:
generating a meta-graph comprising a plurality of graph nodes corresponding to graph features for a graph dataset and a plurality of model nodes corresponding to model factors for the plurality of machine-learning models (a human being can make a judgement for generating a meta-graph comprising specific representations for model and graph nodes)
generating the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics based on the meta-graph features and relationships between the plurality of graph nodes and the plurality of model nodes in the meta-graph (a human being can make a judgement for generating estimated graph learning performance based on specific feature and relationship constraints)
Claim 7 thus recites an abstract idea (that falls into the “mental processes” group of abstract ideas).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no new additional elements recited.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because there are no new additional elements recited. The judicial exception alone does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Thus, the claim is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 8:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Dependent Claim 8 recites the method of Claim 7. Claim 7 is a method, thus a process, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
However, Claim 8 further recites the method comprising of:
determining the graph features for the graph dataset and the model factors for the plurality of machine-learning models … (a human being can apply mental evaluation to determine the graph features for the graph data set and model factors of ML models)
… by factorizing a performance matrix comprising model graph learning performance metrics of the plurality of machine-learning models according to the graph dataset (a mathematical relationship between variables and/or numbers using a mathematical formula/equations)
Claim 8 thus recites an abstract idea (that falls into the “mathematical concepts” or “mental processes” group of abstract ideas).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no new additional elements recited.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because there are no new additional elements recited. The judicial exception alone does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Thus, the claim is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 9:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Claim 9 recites a system, thus a machine, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
However, Claim 9 further recites the system comprising of:
extracting … meta-graph features from a graph representation of a dataset, the meta-graph features comprising structural characteristics of the graph representation of the dataset in a latent space … (a human being can mentally apply evaluation to extract features from a meta-graph representing specific graph characteristics)
generating … a plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics for the plurality of machine-learning models according to the meta-graph features of the graph representation … (a human being can make a judgement for generating a plurality of estimated metrics for machine-learning models based on specific features)
selecting a first type of machine-learning model from the plurality of machine-learning models to process the dataset associated with the graph representation … (a human being can mentally apply evaluation to select a type of machine-learning model to process a specific dataset)
… by comparing to the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics … (a human being can mentally apply evaluation to make a comparison of specific metrics)
Claim 9 thus recites an abstract idea (that falls into the “mental processes” group of abstract ideas).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements consist of:
a memory component; and a processing device coupled to the memory component, the processing device to perform operations comprising: (to perform a mental process and the performance of an abstract idea on a computer is no more than instructions to “apply it” on a computer, by MPEP 2106.05(f))
… utilizing a graph feature machine-learning model comprising parameters learned based on a graph dataset and corresponding model graph learning performances for a plurality of machine-learning models … (to perform a mental process and the performance of an abstract idea on a computer is no more than instructions to “apply it” on a computer, by MPEP 2106.05(f))
… wherein the graph representation comprising of the dataset comprises a plurality of nodes and a plurality of edge between the plurality of nodes indicating relationships between the plurality of nodes (which is restricting the abstract idea to a Particular Technological Environment, by MPEP 2106.05(h))
… wherein the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics indicate predicted model performances of the plurality of machine-learning models in executing a graph learning task on the graph representation of the dataset (which is restricting the abstract idea to a Particular Technological Environment, by MPEP 2106.05(h))
… the plurality of machine-learning models comprising a plurality of different types of machine-learning models associated with graph learning tasks (which is restricting the abstract idea to a Particular Technological Environment, by MPEP 2106.05(h))
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Additional elements a and b are merely applying the abstract idea on a computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)) which cannot provide significantly more. Additional element c-e are only restricting the abstract idea to a Particular Technological Environment (MPEP 2106.05(h)) which cannot provide significantly more. Thus, the claim is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 10:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Dependent Claim 10 recites the system of Claim 9. Claim 9 is a system, thus a machine, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
However, Claim 10 further recites the system comprising of:
generating … a plurality of structural feature matrices comprising local structural characteristics of the graph representation (a mathematical relationship between variables and/or numbers using a mathematical formula/equations)
extracting the meta-graph features based on the plurality of structural feature matrices (a human being can mentally apply evaluation to extract meta-graph features based on structural feature matrices)
Claim 10 thus recites an abstract idea (that falls into the “mental processes” group of abstract ideas).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no new additional elements recited.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because there are no new additional elements recited. The judicial exception alone does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Thus, the claim is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 11:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Dependent Claim 11 recites the system of Claim 10. Claim 10 is a system, thus a machine, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
However, Claim 11 further recites the system comprising of generating … a fixed-dimension meta-graph feature vector by modifying the plurality of structural feature matrices according to a set of global statistical characteristics associated with the graph representation (a mathematical relationship between variables and/or numbers using a mathematical formula/equations). Claim 11 thus recites an abstract idea (that falls into the “mathematical concepts” group of abstract ideas).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no new additional elements recited.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because there are no new additional elements recited. The judicial exception alone does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Thus, the claim is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 12:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Dependent Claim 12 recites the system of Claim 11. Claim 11 is a system, thus a machine, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
However, Claim 12 further recites the system comprising of:
generating a plurality of feature vectors by modifying the plurality of structural feature matrices via a plurality of statistical functions (a mathematical relationship between variables and/or numbers using a mathematical formula/equations)
generating a concatenated plurality of feature vectors to generate the fixed-dimension meta-graph feature vector by concatenating the plurality of feature vectors (a mathematical relationship between variables and/or numbers using a mathematical formula/equations)
Claim 12 thus recites an abstract idea (that falls into the “mathematical concepts” group of abstract ideas).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no new additional elements recited.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because there are no new additional elements recited. The judicial exception alone does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Thus, the claim is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 13:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Dependent Claim 13 recites the system of Claim 12. Claim 12 is a system, thus a machine, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
However, Claim 13 further recites the system comprising of appending one or more scalar statistical metrics determined from the graph representation to the concatenated plurality of feature vectors in the fixed-dimension meta-graph feature vector (a mathematical relationship between variables and/or numbers using a mathematical formula/equations). Claim 13 thus recites an abstract idea (that falls into the “mathematical concepts” group of abstract ideas).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no new additional elements recited.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because there are no new additional elements recited. The judicial exception alone does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Thus, the claim is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 14:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Dependent Claim 14 recites the system of Claim 9. Claim 9 is a system, thus a machine, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
However, Claim 14 further recites the system comprising of:
generating … a first estimated performance metric according to the meta-graph features (a human being can make a judgement for generating an estimated performance metric according to observed meta-graph features)
generating … a second estimated performance metric according to the meta-graph features (a human being can make a judgement for generating an estimated performance metric according to observed meta-graph features)
Claim 14 thus recites an abstract idea (that falls into the “mental processes” group of abstract ideas).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements consist of:
… for a first machine-learning model of the plurality of machine-learning models … (which is restricting the abstract idea to a Particular Technological Environment, by MPEP 2106.05(h))
… for a second machine-learning model of the plurality of machine-learning models … (which is restricting the abstract idea to a Particular Technological Environment, by MPEP 2106.05(h))
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Additional elements a and b are only restricting the abstract idea to a Particular Technological Environment (MPEP 2106.05(h)) which cannot provide significantly more. Thus, the claim is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 15:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Dependent Claim 15 recites the system of Claim 14. Claim 14 is a system, thus a machine, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
However, Claim 15 further recites the system comprising of selecting the first machine-learning model in response to determining that the first estimated performance metric is higher than the second estimated performance metric (a human being can mentally apply evaluation to select a machine-learning model based on a determination of a performance metric being higher than another performance metric). Claim 15 thus recites an abstract idea (that falls into the “mental processes” group of abstract ideas).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no new additional elements recited.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because there are no new additional elements recited. The judicial exception alone does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Thus, the claim is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 16:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Dependent Claim 16 recites the system of Claim 9. Claim 9 is a system, thus a machine, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
However, Claim 16 further recites the system comprising of:
extracting … a plurality of sets of meta-graph features for training graph representations in the graph dataset (a human being can mentally apply evaluation to extract features from a meta-graph for training)
generating, for the plurality of machine-learning models, a plurality of sets of ground-truth graph learning performance metrics according to the plurality of sets of meta-graph features (a human being can make a judgement for generating estimated metrics for machine-learning models based on specific metrics)
learning the parameters of the graph feature machine-learning model by determining mappings between the plurality of sets of meta-graph features and the plurality of sets of ground-truth graph learning performance metrics (a human being can apply mental evaluation to learn parameters by making a determination based on mappings between features and metrics)
Claim 16 thus recites an abstract idea (that falls into the “mental processes” group of abstract ideas).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no new additional elements recited.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because there are no new additional elements recited. The judicial exception alone does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Thus, the claim is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 17:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Claim 17 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium, thus a manufacture, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
However, Claim 17 further recites the non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising of:
extracting … meta-graph features from a graph representation of a dataset, the meta-graph features comprising local structural characteristics and global structural characteristics from a graph representation of a dataset in a latent space … (a human being can mentally apply evaluation to extract features from a meta-graph representing specific graph characteristics)
generating … a plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics for a plurality of machine-learning models according to the meta-graph features of the graph representation and learned mappings between the meta-graph features and graph learning performance metrics of the plurality of machine-learning models …. (a human being can make a judgement for generating estimated metrics for machine-learning models based on features and mappings between specific constraints)
selecting a first type of machine-learning model from the plurality of machine-learning models to process the dataset associated with the graph representation … (a human being can mentally apply evaluation to select a type of machine-learning model to process a specific dataset)
… by comparing according to the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics … (a human being can mentally apply evaluation to make a comparison of specific metrics)
Claim 17 thus recites an abstract idea (that falls into the “mental processes” group of abstract ideas).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements consist of:
storing executable instructions, which when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to perform operations comprising: (to perform a mental process and the performance of an abstract idea on a computer is no more than instructions to “apply it” on a computer, by MPEP 2106.05(f))
… utilizing a graph feature machine-learning model … (to perform a mental process and the performance of an abstract idea on a computer is no more than instructions to “apply it” on a computer, by MPEP 2106.05(f))
… wherein the graph representation of the dataset comprises a plurality of nodes and a plurality of edges between the plurality of nodes indicating relationships between the plurality of nodes (which is restricting the abstract idea to a Particular Technological Environment, by MPEP 2106.05(h))
… wherein the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics indicate predicted model performances of the plurality of machine-learning models in a graph learning task for the graph representation of the dataset (which is restricting the abstract idea to a Particular Technological Environment, by MPEP 2106.05(h))
… the plurality of machine-learning models comprising a plurality of different types of machine-learning models associated with graph learning tasks (which is restricting the abstract idea to a Particular Technological Environment, by MPEP 2106.05(h))
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Additional elements a and b merely applying the abstract idea on a computer (MPEP 2106.05(f)) which cannot provide significantly more. Additional element c-e are only restricting the abstract idea to a Particular Technological Environment (MPEP 2106.05(h)) which cannot provide significantly more. Thus, the claim is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 18:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Dependent Claim 18 recites the system of Claim 17. Claim 17 is a system, thus a machine, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
However, Claim 18 further recites the system comprising of:
generating … a plurality of structural feature matrices comprising local structural characteristics of the graph representation (a mathematical relationship between variables and/or numbers using a mathematical formula/equations)
generating … a fixed-dimension meta-graph feature vector by modifying the plurality of structural feature matrices according to a set of global statistical characteristics associated with the graph representation (a mathematical relationship between variables and/or numbers using a mathematical formula/equations)
Claim 18 thus recites an abstract idea (that falls into the “mathematical concepts” group of abstract ideas).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no new additional elements recited.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because there are no new additional elements recited. The judicial exception alone does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Thus, the claim is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 19:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Dependent Claim 19 recites the system of Claim 17. Claim 17 is a system, thus a machine, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
However, Claim 19 further recites the system comprising of generating the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics based on learned mappings between meta-graph features of training graph representations of a graph dataset and graph learning performance metrics of the plurality of machine-learning models corresponding to the training graph representations (a human being can make a judgement for generating estimated metrics for machine-learning models based on mappings between features and metrics with specific constraints). Claim 19 thus recites an abstract idea (that falls into the “mental processes” group of abstract ideas).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no new additional elements recited.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because there are no new additional elements recited. The judicial exception alone does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Thus, the claim is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 20:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Dependent Claim 20 recites the system of Claim 17. Claim 17 is a system, thus a machine, one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
However, Claim 20 further recites the system comprising of selecting the first type of machine-learning model of the plurality of machine-learning models corresponding to a highest estimated performance metric of the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics (a human being can mentally apply evaluation to select a specific type of machine-learning model associated with the highest performance metric). Claim 20 thus recites an abstract idea (that falls into the “mental processes” group of abstract ideas).
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because there are no new additional elements recited.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because there are no new additional elements recited. The judicial exception alone does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Thus, the claim is subject-matter ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al., “A novel meta-graph-based attention model for event recommendation”, in view of Smith-Miles et al., “Cross-Disciplinary Perspectives on Meta-Learning for Algorithm Selection”.
Regarding Claim 1:
A method comprising: extracting, utilizing a graph feature machine-learning model, meta-graph features from a graph representation of a dataset, the meta-graph features representing structural characteristics of the a graph representation the a dataset, wherein the graph representation of the dataset comprises a plurality of nodes and a plurality of edges between the plurality of nodes indicating relationships between the plurality of nodes;
(Jiang, Page 14663, Fig. 1; Page 14665, Fig. 2; Page 14666, Column 2, Paragraph 1, “… MGAR is mainly composed of three parts, as illustrated in Fig. 2. First, we construct multiple meta-graphs according to the EBSNs graph and compute multiple commuting matrices based on meta-graphs to express the user preferences information …”; Page 14667, Column 1, Paragraph 2, “… we adopt Latent Dirichlet Allocation (LDA) [44] model to extract event topics, which are applied as a new object type T of the EBSNs graph”. Fig. 2 shows utilizing the Meta-Graph-based Attention Recommendation model (interpreted by the examiner as a graph feature machine-learning model) for the recommendation method which extracts the features/representations from multiple meta-graphs over a graph dataset; where the ‘Data Preparation’ section shows the creation of ‘Commuting matrices’ based on ‘Meta-graphs’ (which represent the structural characteristics of a graph representation as they express the user preferences information). The ‘Meta-graph’ are extracted as noted within Fig. 2 as the Model Event topics are extracted via LDA model for meta graph features. Thus, extracting meta-graph features representing the meta-graph structure which contains a plurality of nodes and edges (shown in Fig 1 b & c which also shows a plurality of nodes and a plurality of edges between the plurality of nodes))).
generating, utilizing the graph feature machine-learning model, a plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics for a plurality of machine-learning models according to the meta-graph features of the graph representation, …
(Jiang, Page 14665, Fig. 2; Page 14670, Algorithm 1; Page 14666, Column 2, Paragraph 1, “… Then, we propose a CNN-based embedding approach to learn the user/event embeddings taking commuting matrices as input and an attention mechanism to incorporate the learnt embeddings. Finally, we employ a factorization machine framework to predict ratings by considering the concatenated user and event embeddings as input”. Fig. 2 shows within the ‘Meta-graph Embedding generation’ section shows the utilization of a plurality of CNN machine-learning models each outputting a fused latent vector (F) which are used within the ‘Rating Prediction’ section. ^ruiej within Fig. 2 is the generation of a plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics as the predicted ratings are for set of user ui to set of event ej where each predicted rating is the likelihood for a user to be interested in an event (thus, interpreted by the examiner as predicted performances). Each rating indicates the predicted performances for each graph learning task shown within the Fig 2: Meta-graph Embedding Generation section; where the CNN-based embedding approach is used to learn the embeddings and then incorporate the learnt embeddings and then finally using a Factorization Machine framework to predict performances based on the Fused latent vectors from the plurality of machine-learning models).
selecting a first type of machine-learning model from the plurality of machine-learning models to process the dataset associated with the graph representation …
(Jiang, Page 14665, Fig. 2; Page 14676, Column 2, Paragraph 1, “… MGAR can select the appropriate meta-graph which contributes the most for each user through a feature fusion mechanism”; Page 14667, Column 1, Paragraph 1, “In our MGAR model, we employ an advanced CNN-based approach and attention mechanism to learn embeddings from multi-meta-graphs”. Fig. 2 shows the MGAR model which selects a first type of machine-learning model to process data as it selects the meta-graph that is the most influential/contributes the most (thus, interpreted by the examiner as a graph representation according to the plurality of estimate graph learning performance metrics as the model selects the highest rating prediction event for each user). The first type is interpreted by the examiner as the one that offers the most contribution out of the different types of machine-learning models; where each machine learning model is different based on feature fusion and different meta-graphs (which are different graph learning tasks) for different prediction type events).
Jiang teaches meta-graph specific representations and features; however, Jiang does not explicitly teach where the metrics indicate predicted model performances and comparing the metrics for selection:
… wherein the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics indicate predicted model performances of the plurality of machine-learning models in a graph learning task on the graph representation of the dataset; and
… by comparing to the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics, the plurality of machine-learning models comprising a plurality of different types of machine-learning models associated with graph learning tasks.
Nevertheless, these limitations are explicitly taught by Smith-Miles:
generating … wherein the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics indicate predicted model performances of the plurality of machine-learning models in a graph learning task on the graph representation of the dataset; and
(Smith-Miles, Page 20, Fig. 2; Page 2, Paragraph 3, “… for tackling the algorithm selection problem using a (meta-) learning approach include: (i) the availability of large collections of problem instances of various complexities; (ii) the existence of a large number of diverse algorithms for tackling problem instances; iii) performance metrics to evaluate algorithm performance; and (iv) the existence of suitable features to characterize the properties of the instances. Combining the features (iv) with the performance metrics (iii) across a large number of instances (i) solved by different algorithms (ii) creates a comprehensive set of metadata or meta-knowledge about algorithm performance”. Fig. 2 shows the framework of Smith-Miles, where the automated algorithm selection combines features with performance metrics across different algorithms (Fig. 2: “Algorithm Performance Results {Y}”); thus, generating a plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics to indicate predicted model performances).
selecting … by comparing to the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics, the plurality of machine-learning models comprising a plurality of different types of machine-learning models associated with graph learning tasks.
(Smith-Miles, Page 20, Fig. 2, Paragraph 3, “… the framework shown in Figure 2 proposes an empirical learning approach to assist with both automated algorithm selection and improved algorithm design. Phase 1 requires the generation of meta-data for the problem domain (the set of P, A, Y, F). Phase 2 focuses on learning of this meta-data to learn the relationship between the instance features F and the algorithm performance measures Y. This will generate empirical rules or algorithm rankings, which then require integration into an automated algorithm selection model. Phase 3 focuses on examining the empirical results of meta-learning from a theoretical perspective … that can be used to refine the algorithms …”. Fig. 2 shows “Automated Algorithm Selection” which selects the algorithm based on the performance metrics and feature (Algorithm Performance Results and Instance Features) with the empirical rules; thus, by comparing to the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the methodology for extracting/generating/selecting data associated with meta-graphs and performance metrics by Jiang with the explicit generating/selection of Smith-Miles to utilize an automated algorithm for selection to improve/refine algorithm design via learning meta-data (see Smith-Miles, Page 20, Figure 2, Paragraph 3, “… the framework shown in Figure 2 proposes an empirical learning approach to assist with both automated algorithm selection and improved algorithm design. Phase 1 requires the generation of meta-data for the problem domain (the set of P, A, Y, F). Phase 2 focuses on learning of this meta-data to learn the relationship between the instance features F and the algorithm performance measures Y. This will generate empirical rules or algorithm rankings, which then require integration into an automated algorithm selection model. Phase 3 focuses on examining the empirical results of meta-learning from a theoretical perspective … that can be used to refine the algorithms …”; Page 21, Paragraph 2, “This article has discussed the algorithm selection problem, originally formulated by Rice in 1976, and has demonstrated that many different directions have been followed by different communities seeking guidance on how to select the best algorithm for their problem domain. The task of automated algorithm selection lies at the intersection of many disciplines: computational complexity theory, algorithmic information theory, artificial intelligence, machine learning, and operations research …”).
Regarding Claim 2:
Jiang/Smith-Miles teach the method of Claim 1 and Jiang further teaches:
wherein extracting the meta-graph features comprises:
extracting local structural characteristics of the plurality of nodes and the plurality of edges; and
(Jiang, Page 14663, Fig 1(c); Page 14665, Fig. 2: Commuting Matrix. Fig. 2 shows the generation of the Commuting Matrix which extracts the local structural characteristics of the nodes, edges and even path count of the meta-graphs (Fig 1(c))).
extracting global structural characteristics of the plurality of nodes.
(Jiang, Page 14665, Fig. 2: Commuting Matrix -> [Fui and Fej]. To extract the global structural characteristic, Fig. 2 shows the ‘Meta-graph Embedding Generation’ which creates Latent Fused Vectors Fui and Fej ; thus, extracting global structural characteristics of the plurality of nodes as the Fused Latent Vectors contain the information of the Commuting Matrices across all meta-graphs with applying the attention mechanism to reflect the global view of how the different models/structures/graphs affect node performance and patterns).
Regarding Claim 3:
Jiang/Smith-Miles teach the method of Claim 2 and Jiang further teaches:
wherein extracting the meta-graph features comprises:
generating a feature matrix comprising a plurality of rows corresponding to the plurality of nodes and the plurality of edges of the graph representation according the local structural characteristics; and
(Jiang, Page 14663, Fig 1(c); Page 14665, Fig. 2: Commuting Matrix; Page 14667, Column 2, Paragraph 2, “… PathCount [11] can be used to describe the preference of source node for target node in a metapath … commuting matrix CP for meta-path P is calculated as the latent interaction frequency between objects from A1 and Al along with the semantic of meta-path P”. The Commuting Matrix has rows ui and columns ej; u = user and e = event which are the nodes within the meta-graphs (ex: Fig. 1(c)); thus, the Commuting Matrix is a generated feature matrix with rows corresponding to the plurality of nodes and the plurality of edges of the meta-graph representation (which are based on the local structural characteristics)).
generating a meta-graph feature vector comprising a fixed-dimension for the graph representation based on the feature matrix utilizing the global structural characteristics.
(Jiang, Page 14665, Fig. 2: Commuting Matrix -> Fui and Fej; Page 14671, Equation 14 & 15,
&
(15)”. d within Equation 14 denotes the fixed-dimension of the input vector; where Equation 15 is used to get the rating predictor; where xui,ej the xth element of the concatenated vector (of the two fused latent vectors which describe the global structural characteristics) of user/event interaction embedding; thus, generating a meta-graph feature vector comprising a fixed-dimension for the graph representation based on the feature matrix utilizing the global structural characteristics).
Regarding Claim 4:
Jiang/Smith-Miles teach the method of Claim 2 and Jiang further teaches:
wherein extracting the local structural characteristics comprises generating one or more latent feature vectors representing a node degree …
(Jiang, Page 14667, Column 2, Paragraph 2, “The latent interactions between users and events … We tend to leverage the frequency of latent interactions to encode users and events. PathCount [11] can be used to describe the preference of source node for target node in a metapath … commuting matrix CP for meta-path P is calculated as the latent interaction frequency between objects from A1 and Al along with the semantic of meta-path P”. The examiner is interpreting node degree as simply the number of nodes connected to the source node; thus, PathCount teaches the node degree of each and every node as the commuting matrix CP for meta-path P is calculated as the latent interaction frequency between objects from A1 and Al along meta-path P ).
Regarding Claim 5:
Jiang/Smith-Miles teach the method of Claim 2 and Jiang further teaches:
wherein extracting the global structural characteristics comprises generating one or more latent feature vectors representing an importance score of each node of the plurality of nodes …
(Jiang, Page 14665, Fig. 2: Commuting Matrix -> Fui and Fej; Page 14670, Column 2, Equations 12 & 13:
(12)
(13). Fui and Fej are the fused latent vectors which are generated based off the Commuting Matrix which represent an importance score of the features as the fused latent vector represents the weighted user/event for each node across the meta-graphs; thus, the generated fused latent features vectors represent the importance-weighted structures within all meta-graphs).
Regarding Claim 6:
Jiang/Smith-Miles teach the method of Claim 1 and Jiang further teaches:
wherein generating the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics comprises
determining, utilizing the graph feature machine-learning model, based on learned mappings between meta-graph features and model graph learning performance metrics of the plurality of machine-learning models.
(Jiang, Page 14665, Fig. 2: Commuting Matrix -> Fui and Fej. ^ruiej within Fig. 2 is the graph learning performance metrics which are determined based on the commuting matrix which are the mappings for the Meta-graph features and the model graph learning performance metrics (which are shown within the ‘Meta-graph Embedding Generation’ section; where the CNNs are used to help determine based on the learned mappings between the features and the different model structures used to embed and finally analyze the performance metrics within the Rating Prediction section)).
Regarding Claim 7:
Jiang/Smith-Miles teach the method of Claim 1 and Jiang further teaches:
wherein generating the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics comprises:
generating a meta-graph comprising a plurality of graph nodes corresponding to graph features for a graph dataset and a plurality of model nodes corresponding to model factors for the plurality of machine-learning models; and
(Jiang, Page 14665, Fig. 2. Fig. 2 shows the generation of multiple meta-graph embeddings which represent different meta-graph structures corresponding to the graph features for a graph dataset is (as the Commuting Matrix is generated from the input ESBN/Meta-graphs)).
generating the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics based on the meta-graph features and relationships between the plurality of graph nodes and the plurality of model nodes in the meta-graph.
(Jiang, Page 14665, Fig. 2; Page 14665, Fig. 2; Page 14676, Column 2, Paragraph 1, “… MGAR can select the appropriate meta-graph which contributes the most for each user through a feature fusion mechanism”; Page 14667, Column 1, Paragraph 1, “In our MGAR model, we employ an advanced CNN-based approach and attention mechanism to learn embeddings from multi-meta-graphs”. Fig. 2 shows the MGAR model which selects the most influential machine-learning model to process data as it selects the meta-graph (Fig. 2 shows the plurality of metrics being generated via embeddings); thus, implying the outputs that are generated from the CNN-based approach and rated within Rating Predictor are based on the meta-graph features and relationships between the model structure nodes and meta-graph nodes).
Regarding Claim 8:
Jiang/Smith-Miles teach the method of Claim 7 and Jiang further teaches:
wherein generating the meta-graph comprises
determining the graph features for the graph dataset and the model factors for the plurality of machine-learning models by factorizing a performance matrix comprising model graph learning performance metrics of the plurality of machine-learning models according to the graph dataset.
(Jiang, Page 14671, Column 1, Paragraph 2, “Our rating predictor is built based … Factorization Machine (FM) model [24], which can effectively model the second-order feature interactions. In FM, the rating of user ui on item ej is defined as follows
”; Page 14676, Column 2, Paragraph 1, “… MGAR can select the appropriate meta-graph which contributes the most for each user through a feature fusion mechanism”; The factorizing by the FM model of Jiang, teaches determining the highest rated value for prediction; thus, Equation 14 shows determining the graph features (already encoded within the embeddings) for the most relevant (performance metric based) event for each user).
Regarding Claim 9:
A system comprising: a memory component; and a processing device coupled to the memory component, the processing device to perform operations comprising:
(Jiang, Page 14673, Column 1, Paragraph 1, “We implement the proposed MGAR model based on Pytorch … experiments run in a Linux server with one GPU (NVIDIA Geforce RTX-2080 Ti) and 20 CPU cores (Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-9820X*20)”. The MGAR Model is implied to be implemented on a computing system as the model is based on Pytorch which implies a processor, memory component, and non-transitory computer program as they are inherent within a system that utilizes source code for processing attention based recommendation).
extracting, utilizing a graph feature machine-learning model comprising parameters learned based on a graph dataset and corresponding model graph learning performances for a plurality of machine-learning models, meta-graph features from a graph representation of a dataset, the meta-graph features comprising structural characteristics of the graph representation of the dataset in a latent space, wherein the graph representation of the dataset comprises a plurality of nodes and a plurality of edges between the plurality of nodes indicating relationships between the plurality of nodes;
(Jiang, Page 14663, Fig. 1; Page 14665, Fig. 2; Page 14666, Column 2, Paragraph 1, “… MGAR is mainly composed of three parts, as illustrated in Fig. 2. First, we construct multiple meta-graphs according to the EBSNs graph and compute multiple commuting matrices based on meta-graphs to express the user preferences information …”; Page 14671, Equation 14,
”; Page 14667, Column 1, Paragraph 2, “… we adopt Latent Dirichlet Allocation (LDA) [44] model to extract event topics, which are applied as a new object type T of the EBSNs graph”. Fig. 2 shows utilizing the Meta-Graph-based Attention Recommendation model (interpreted by the examiner as a graph feature machine-learning model) for the recommendation method which uses parameters learned based on the graph dataset (which can be seen within Equation 14); where the ‘Data Preparation’ section shows the creation of ‘Commuting matrices’ based on ‘Meta-graphs’ which represent the structural characteristics of a graph representation as they express the user preferences information. The ‘Meta-graph’ are extracted as noted within Fig. 2 as the Model Event topics are extracted via LDA model for meta graph features. Thus, extracting meta-graph features representing the meta-graph structure which contains a plurality of nodes and edges (shown in Fig 1 b & c which also shows a plurality of nodes and a plurality of edges between the plurality of nodes))).
generating, utilizing the graph feature machine-learning model, a plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics for the plurality of machine-learning models according to the meta-graph features of the graph representation, …
(Jiang, Page 14665, Fig. 2; Page 14670, Algorithm 1; Page 14666, Column 2, Paragraph 1, “… Then, we propose a CNN-based embedding approach to learn the user/event embeddings taking commuting matrices as input and an attention mechanism to incorporate the learnt embeddings. Finally, we employ a factorization machine framework to predict ratings by considering the concatenated user and event embeddings as input”. Fig. 2 shows within the ‘Meta-graph Embedding generation’ section shows the utilization of a plurality of CNN machine-learning models each outputting a fused latent vector (F) which are used within the ‘Rating Prediction’ section. ^ruiej within Fig. 2 is the generation of a plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics as the predicted ratings are for set of user ui to set of event ej where each predicted rating is the likelihood for a user to be interested in an event (thus, interpreted by the examiner as predicted performances). Each rating indicates the predicted performances for each graph learning task shown within the Fig 2: Meta-graph Embedding Generation section; where the CNN-based embedding approach is used to learn the embeddings and then incorporate the learnt embeddings and then finally using a Factorization Machine framework to predict performances based on the Fused latent vectors from the plurality of machine-learning models).
selecting a first type of machine-learning model from the plurality of machine-learning models to process the dataset associated with the graph representation …
(Jiang, Page 14665, Fig. 2; Page 14676, Column 2, Paragraph 1, “… MGAR can select the appropriate meta-graph which contributes the most for each user through a feature fusion mechanism”; Page 14667, Column 1, Paragraph 1, “In our MGAR model, we employ an advanced CNN-based approach and attention mechanism to learn embeddings from multi-meta-graphs.”. Fig. 2 shows the MGAR model which selects a first type of machine-learning model to process data as it selects the meta-graph that is the most influential/contributes the most (thus, interpreted by the examiner as graph representation according to the plurality of estimate graph learning performance metrics as the model selects the highest rating prediction event for each user). The first type is interpreted by the examiner as the one that offers the most contribution out of the different types of machine-learning models; where each machine learning model is different based on feature fusion and different meta-graphs (which are different graph learning tasks) for different prediction events).
Jiang teaches meta-graph specific representations and features; however, Jiang does not explicitly teach where the metrics indicate predicted model performances and comparing the metrics for selection:
… wherein the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics indicate predicted model performances of the plurality of machine-learning models in executing a graph learning task on the graph representation of the dataset; and
… by comparing the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics, the plurality of machine-learning models comprising a plurality of different types of machine-learning models associated with graph learning tasks.
Nevertheless, these limitations are explicitly taught by Smith-Miles:
generating … wherein the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics indicate predicted model performances of the plurality of machine-learning models in a graph learning task on the graph representation of the dataset;
(Smith-Miles, Page 20, Fig. 2; Page 2, Paragraph 3, “… for tackling the algorithm selection problem using a (meta-) learning approach include: (i) the availability of large collections of problem instances of various complexities; (ii) the existence of a large number of diverse algorithms for tackling problem instances; iii) performance metrics to evaluate algorithm performance; and (iv) the existence of suitable features to characterize the properties of the instances. Combining the features (iv) with the performance metrics (iii) across a large number of instances (i) solved by different algorithms (ii) creates a comprehensive set of metadata or meta-knowledge about algorithm performance”. Fig. 2 shows the framework of Smith-Miles, where the automated algorithm selection combines features with performance metrics across different algorithms (Fig. 2: “Algorithm Performance Results {Y}”); thus, generating a plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics to indicate predicted model performances).
selecting … by comparing to the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics, the plurality of machine-learning models comprising a plurality of different types of machine-learning models associated with graph learning tasks.
(Smith-Miles, Page 20, Fig. 2, Paragraph 3, “… the framework shown in Figure 2 proposes an empirical learning approach to assist with both automated algorithm selection and improved algorithm design. Phase 1 requires the generation of meta-data for the problem domain (the set of P, A, Y, F). Phase 2 focuses on learning of this meta-data to learn the relationship between the instance features F and the algorithm performance measures Y. This will generate empirical rules or algorithm rankings, which then require integration into an automated algorithm selection model. Phase 3 focuses on examining the empirical results of meta-learning from a theoretical perspective … that can be used to refine the algorithms …”. Fig. 2 shows “Automated Algorithm Selection” which selects the algorithm based on the performance metrics and feature (Algorithm Performance Results and Instance Features) with the empirical rules; thus, by comparing to the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the methodology for extracting/generating/selecting data associated with meta-graphs and performance metrics by Jiang with the explicit generating/selection of Smith-Miles to utilize an automated algorithm for selection to improve/refine algorithm design via learning meta-data (see Smith-Miles, Page 20, Figure 2, Paragraph 3, “… the framework shown in Figure 2 proposes an empirical learning approach to assist with both automated algorithm selection and improved algorithm design. Phase 1 requires the generation of meta-data for the problem domain (the set of P, A, Y, F). Phase 2 focuses on learning of this meta-data to learn the relationship between the instance features F and the algorithm performance measures Y. This will generate empirical rules or algorithm rankings, which then require integration into an automated algorithm selection model. Phase 3 focuses on examining the empirical results of meta-learning from a theoretical perspective … that can be used to refine the algorithms …”; Page 21, Paragraph 2, “This article has discussed the algorithm selection problem, originally formulated by Rice in 1976, and has demonstrated that many different directions have been followed by different communities seeking guidance on how to select the best algorithm for their problem domain. The task of automated algorithm selection lies at the intersection of many disciplines: computational complexity theory, algorithmic information theory, artificial intelligence, machine learning, and operations research …”).
Regarding Claim 10:
Jiang/Smith-Miles teach the method of Claim 9 and Jiang further teaches:
wherein extracting the meta-graph features comprises:
generating, utilizing the graph feature machine-learning model, a plurality of structural feature matrices comprising local structural characteristics of the graph representation; and
(Jiang, Page 14663, Fig 1(c); Page 14665, Fig. 2: Commuting Matrix. Fig. 2 shows the generation of the Commuting Matrix which extracts the local structural characteristics of the nodes, edges and even path count of the meta-graphs (Fig 1(c))).
extracting the meta-graph features based on the plurality of structural feature matrices.
(Jiang, Page 14665, Fig. 2: Commuting Matrix -> [Fui and Fej]. To extract the global structural characteristic, Fig. 2 shows the ‘Meta-graph Embedding Generation’ which creates Latent Fused Vectors Fui and Fej ; thus, extracting based on structural characteristics from the features as the Fused Latent Vectors contain the information of the Commuting Matrices across all meta-graphs with applying the attention mechanism).
Regarding Claim 11:
Jiang/Smith-Miles teach the method of Claim 10 and Jiang further teaches:
wherein extracting the meta-graph features comprises
generating, utilizing the graph feature machine-learning model, a fixed-dimension meta-graph feature vector by modifying the plurality of structural feature matrices according to a set of global statistical characteristics associated with the graph representation.
(Jiang, Page 14671, Equation 14 & 15,
&
(15)”.)
(Jiang, Page 14665, Fig. 2: Commuting Matrix -> Fui and Fej; Page 14671, Equation 14 & 15,
&
(15)”. d within Equation 14 denotes the fixed-dimension of the input vector and w0 denotes a global bias; where Equation 15 is used to get the rating predictor; where xui,ej the xth element of the concatenated vector (of the two fused latent vectors which describe the global statistical characteristics) of user/event interaction embedding; thus, generating a fixed-dimension meta-graph feature vector by modifying (via concatenation)).
Regarding Claim 12:
Jiang/Smith-Miles teach the method of Claim 11 and Jiang further teaches:
wherein generating the fixed-dimension meta-graph feature vector comprises:
generating a plurality of feature vectors by modifying the plurality of structural feature matrices via a plurality of statistical functions; and
(Jiang, Page 14665, Fig. 2: Fig. 2 shows the generating of a plurality of feature vectors by modifying the structural feature matrices with the use of CNNs-attention based approach to statistically transform the commuting matrix (as the examiner interprets the CNNs applying the learned convolutional filters which are statistical functions)).
generating a concatenated plurality of feature vectors to generate the fixed-dimension meta-graph feature vector by concatenating the plurality of feature vectors.
(Jiang, Page 14671, Equation 15,
(15)”; Page 14666, Column 2, Paragraph 1, “… Then, we propose a CNN-based embedding approach to learn the user/event embeddings taking commuting matrices as input and an attention mechanism to incorporate the learnt embeddings. Finally, we employ a factorization machine framework to predict ratings by considering the concatenated user and event embeddings as input”. The two Fused Latent feature vectors are concatenated to generate the fixed-dimension meta graph feature vector).
Regarding Claim 13:
Jiang/Smith-Miles teach the method of Claim 12 and Jiang further teaches:
wherein extracting the meta-graph features further comprises
appending one or more scalar statistical metrics determined from the graph representation to the concatenated plurality of feature vectors in the fixed-dimension meta-graph feature vector.
(Jiang, Page 14665, Fig. 2: Commuting Matrix -> Fui and Fej; Page 14671, Equation 14 & 15,
&
(15)”. d within Equation 14 denotes the fixed-dimension of the input vector and w0 denotes a global bias; where Equation 15 is used to get the rating predictor; where xui,ej the xth element of the concatenated vector (of the two fused latent vectors) of user/event interaction embedding. The adjustable weights within Equation 14 are interpreted as the scalar statistical metrics determined from the graph representation as they are scalar values that append/adjust the concatenated feature vector).
Regarding Claim 14:
Jiang/Smith-Miles teach the method of Claim 9 and Jiang further teaches:
wherein generating the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics comprises:
generating, for a first machine-learning model of the plurality of machine-learning models, a first estimated performance metric according to the meta-graph features; and generating, for a second machine-learning model of the plurality of machine-learning models, a second estimated performance metric according to the meta-graph features.
(Jiang, Page 14665, Fig. 2: Fig. 2 shows the generating for multiple machine-learning models estimated performance metrics according to the commuting matrix (meta-graph features); as the Rating Predictor compares the performance metrics to find the most influential).
Regarding Claim 15:
Jiang/Smith-Miles teach the method of Claim 14 and Jiang further teaches:
wherein selecting the machine-learning model to process the dataset associated with the graph representation comprises
selecting the first machine-learning model in response to determining that the first estimated performance metric is higher than the second estimated performance metric.
(Jiang, Page 14665, Fig. 2; Page 14676, Column 2, Paragraph 1, “… MGAR can select the appropriate meta-graph which contributes the most for each user through a feature fusion mechanism”; Page 14667, Column 1, Paragraph 1, “In our MGAR model, we employ an advanced CNN-based approach and attention mechanism to learn embeddings from multi-meta-graphs.”. Fig. 2 shows the MGAR model which selects a machine-learning model to process the dataset as it selects the meta-graph that is the most influential/contributes the most (the model selects the highest rating prediction event for each user; thus, the system will select the first machine-learning model if the system determines that the first estimated performance metric is higher than the second estimated performance metric).
Regarding Claim 16:
Jiang/Smith-Miles teach the method of Claim 9 and Jiang further teaches:
wherein the processing device further performs operations comprising:
extracting, utilizing the graph feature machine-learning model, a plurality of sets of meta-graph features for training graph representations in the graph dataset;
(Jiang, Page 14672, Table 5; Page14673, Column 2, Paragraph 3, “… MGAR model … learns multiple aspects of latent factors of users and events guided by meta-graphs …”. Table 5 shows meta-graph datasets and their meta-graph relations; thus, implying extracting meta-graph features for training graph representations in the graph dataset).
generating, for the plurality of machine-learning models, a plurality of sets of ground-truth graph learning performance metrics according to the plurality of sets of meta-graph features; and
(Jiang, Page 14665, Fig. 2; Page 14670, Algorithm 1; Page 14666, Column 2, Paragraph 1, “… Then, we propose a CNN-based embedding approach to learn the user/event embeddings taking commuting matrices as input and an attention mechanism to incorporate the learnt embeddings. Finally, we employ a factorization machine framework to predict ratings by considering the concatenated user and event embeddings as input”. Fig. 2 shows within the ‘Meta-graph Embedding generation’ section shows the utilization of a plurality of CNN machine-learning models each outputting a fused latent vector (F) which are used within the ‘Rating Prediction’ section. ^ruiej within Fig. 2 is the generation of a plurality graph learning performance metrics for the training set (thus, ground-truth as the prior data is the baseline for the trained CNNs within Fig. 2) as the predicted ratings are for set of user ui to set of event ej where each predicted rating is the likelihood for a user to be interested in an event (predicted performances). Each rating indicates the predicted performances for each graph learning task shown within the Fig 2: Meta-graph Embedding Generation section; where the CNN-based embedding approach is used to learn the embeddings and then incorporate the learnt embeddings and then finally using a Factorization Machine framework to predict performances based on the Fused latent vectors from the plurality of machine-learning models).
learning the parameters of the graph feature machine-learning model by determining mappings between the plurality of sets of meta-graph features and the plurality of sets of ground-truth graph learning performance metrics.
(Jiang, Page 14665, Fig. 2: Commuting Matrix -> Fui and Fej. ^ruiej within Fig. 2 is the graph learning performance metrics which are determined based on the commuting matrix which are the mappings for the Meta-graph features and the graph learning performance metrics (which are shown within the ‘Meta-graph Embedding Generation’ section; where the CNNs (which are used to learn the parameters as CNNs innately use convolutional filters which are trainable parameters for learning) are used to help determine based on the learned mappings between the features and the different model structures used to embed and finally analyze the performance metrics within the Rating Prediction section)).
Regarding Claim 17:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing executable instructions, which when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to perform operations comprising:
(Jiang, Page 14673, Column 1, Paragraph 1, “We implement the proposed MGAR model based on Pytorch … experiments run in a Linux server with one GPU (NVIDIA Geforce RTX-2080 Ti) and 20 CPU cores (Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-9820X*20)”. The MGAR Model is implied to be implemented on a computing system as the model is based on Pytorch which implies a processor, memory component, and non-transitory computer program as they are inherent within a system that utilizes source code for processing attention based recommendation).
extracting, utilizing a graph feature machine-learning model, meta-graph features from a graph representation of a dataset, the meta-graph features comprising local structural characteristics and global structural characteristics from a graph representation of a dataset in a latent space, wherein the graph representation of the dataset comprises comprising a plurality of nodes and a plurality of edges indicating relationships between the plurality of nodes;
(Jiang, Page 14663, Fig. 1; Page 14665, Fig. 2: Commuting Matrix -> [Fui and Fej]; Page 14666, Column 2, Paragraph 1, “… MGAR is mainly composed of three parts, as illustrated in Fig. 2. First, we construct multiple meta-graphs according to the EBSNs graph and compute multiple commuting matrices based on meta-graphs to express the user preferences information …”; Page 14667, Column 1, Paragraph 2, “… we adopt Latent Dirichlet Allocation (LDA) [44] model to extract event topics, which are applied as a new object type T of the EBSNs graph”. Fig. 2 shows utilizing the Meta-Graph-based Attention Recommendation model (interpreted by the examiner as a graph feature machine-learning model) for the recommendation method; where the ‘Data Preparation’ section shows the creation of ‘Commuting matrices’ based on ‘Meta-graphs’ which represent the structural characteristics of a graph representation as they express the user preferences information; thus, extracting meta-graph features representing the meta-graph structure which contains a plurality of nodes and edges (shown in Fig 1 b & c)). Fig. 2 shows the generation of the Commuting Matrix which extracts the local structural characteristics of the nodes, edges and even path count of the meta-graphs (Fig 1(c))). The ‘Meta-graph’ are extracted as noted within Fig. 2 as the Model Event topics are extracted via LDA model for meta graph features. To extract the global structural characteristic, Fig. 2 shows the ‘Meta-graph Embedding Generation’ which creates Latent Fused Vectors Fui and Fej ; thus, extracting global structural characteristics of the plurality of nodes as the Fused Latent Vectors contain the information of the Commuting Matrices across all meta-graphs with applying the attention mechanism to reflect the global view of how the different models/structures/graphs affect node performance and patterns).
generating, utilizing the graph feature machine-learning model, a plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics for a plurality of machine-learning models according to the meta-graph features of the graph representation and learned mappings between the meta-graph features and graph learning performance metrics of the plurality of machine-learning models, …
(Jiang, Page 14665, Fig. 2; Page 14670, Algorithm 1; Page 14666, Column 2, Paragraph 1, “… Then, we propose a CNN-based embedding approach to learn the user/event embeddings taking commuting matrices as input and an attention mechanism to incorporate the learnt embeddings. Finally, we employ a factorization machine framework to predict ratings by considering the concatenated user and event embeddings as input”. Fig. 2 shows within the ‘Meta-graph Embedding generation’ section shows the utilization of a plurality of CNN machine-learning models each outputting a fused latent vector (F) which are used within the ‘Rating Prediction’ section. ^ruiej within Fig. 2 is the generation of a plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics as the predicted ratings are for set of user ui to set of event ej where each predicted rating is the likelihood for a user to be interested in an event (thus, interpreted by the examiner as predicted performances). Each rating indicates the predicted performances for each graph learning task shown within the Fig 2: Meta-graph Embedding Generation section; where the CNN-based embedding approach is used to learn the embeddings and then incorporate the learnt embeddings and then finally using a Factorization Machine framework to predict performances based on the Fused latent vectors from the plurality of machine-learning models. The MGAR model selects the most influential machine-learning model to process data (Fig. 2 shows the plurality of metrics being generated via embeddings); thus, implying the outputs that are generated from the CNN-based approach and rated within Rating Predictor are based on the mappings between meta-graph features and learned mappings (interpreted as the commuting matrix and the trained CNN models, respectively)).
selecting a first type of machine-learning model from the plurality of machine-learning models to process the dataset associated with the graph representation …
(Jiang, Page 14665, Fig. 2; Page 14676, Column 2, Paragraph 1, “… MGAR can select the appropriate meta-graph which contributes the most for each user through a feature fusion mechanism”; Page 14667, Column 1, Paragraph 1, “In our MGAR model, we employ an advanced CNN-based approach and attention mechanism to learn embeddings from multi-meta-graphs”. Fig. 2 shows the MGAR model which selects a first type of machine-learning model to process data as it selects the meta-graph that is the most influential/contributes the most (thus, interpreted by the examiner as graph representation according to the plurality of estimate graph learning performance metrics as the model selects the highest rating prediction event for each user. The first type is interpreted by the examiner as the one that offers the most contribution out of the different types of machine-learning models; where each machine learning model is different based on feature fusion and different meta-graphs (which are different graph learning tasks) for different prediction events).
Jiang teaches meta-graph specific representations and features; however, Jiang does not explicitly teach where the metrics indicate predicted model performances and comparing the metrics for selection:
… wherein the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics indicate model predicted performances of the plurality of machine-learning models in executing a graph learning task on the graph representation of the dataset; and
… by comparing the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics, the plurality of machine-learning models comprising a plurality of different types of machine-learning models associated with graph learning tasks.
Nevertheless, these limitations are explicitly taught by Smith-Miles:
generating … wherein the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics indicate predicted model performances of the plurality of machine-learning models in a graph learning task on the graph representation of the dataset;
(Smith-Miles, Page 20, Fig. 2; Page 2, Paragraph 3, “… for tackling the algorithm selection problem using a (meta-) learning approach include: (i) the availability of large collections of problem instances of various complexities; (ii) the existence of a large number of diverse algorithms for tackling problem instances; iii) performance metrics to evaluate algorithm performance; and (iv) the existence of suitable features to characterize the properties of the instances. Combining the features (iv) with the performance metrics (iii) across a large number of instances (i) solved by different algorithms (ii) creates a comprehensive set of metadata or meta-knowledge about algorithm performance”. Fig. 2 shows the framework of Smith-Miles, where the automated algorithm selection combines features with performance metrics across different algorithms (Fig. 2: “Algorithm Performance Results {Y}”); thus, generating a plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics to indicate predicted model performances).
selecting … by comparing to the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics, the plurality of machine-learning models comprising a plurality of different types of machine-learning models associated with graph learning tasks.
(Smith-Miles, Page 20, Fig. 2, Paragraph 3, “… the framework shown in Figure 2 proposes an empirical learning approach to assist with both automated algorithm selection and improved algorithm design. Phase 1 requires the generation of meta-data for the problem domain (the set of P, A, Y, F). Phase 2 focuses on learning of this meta-data to learn the relationship between the instance features F and the algorithm performance measures Y. This will generate empirical rules or algorithm rankings, which then require integration into an automated algorithm selection model. Phase 3 focuses on examining the empirical results of meta-learning from a theoretical perspective … that can be used to refine the algorithms …”. Fig. 2 shows “Automated Algorithm Selection” which selects the algorithm based on the performance metrics and feature (Algorithm Performance Results and Instance Features) with the empirical rules; thus, by comparing to the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the methodology for extracting/generating/selecting data associated with meta-graphs and performance metrics by Jiang with the explicit generating/selection of Smith-Miles to utilize an automated algorithm for selection to improve/refine algorithm design via learning meta-data (see Smith-Miles, Page 20, Figure 2, Paragraph 3, “… the framework shown in Figure 2 proposes an empirical learning approach to assist with both automated algorithm selection and improved algorithm design. Phase 1 requires the generation of meta-data for the problem domain (the set of P, A, Y, F). Phase 2 focuses on learning of this meta-data to learn the relationship between the instance features F and the algorithm performance measures Y. This will generate empirical rules or algorithm rankings, which then require integration into an automated algorithm selection model. Phase 3 focuses on examining the empirical results of meta-learning from a theoretical perspective … that can be used to refine the algorithms …”; Page 21, Paragraph 2, “This article has discussed the algorithm selection problem, originally formulated by Rice in 1976, and has demonstrated that many different directions have been followed by different communities seeking guidance on how to select the best algorithm for their problem domain. The task of automated algorithm selection lies at the intersection of many disciplines: computational complexity theory, algorithmic information theory, artificial intelligence, machine learning, and operations research …”).
Regarding Claim 18:
Jiang/Smith-Miles teach the method of Claim 17 and Jiang further teaches:
wherein extracting the meta-graph features comprises:
generating, utilizing the graph feature machine-learning model, a plurality of structural feature matrices comprising local structural characteristics of the graph representation; and
(Jiang, Page 14663, Fig 1(c); Page 14665, Fig. 2: Commuting Matrix. Fig. 2 shows the generation of the Commuting Matrix which extracts the local structural characteristics of the nodes, edges and even path count of the meta-graphs (Fig 1(c))).
generating, utilizing the graph feature machine-learning model, a fixed-dimension meta-graph feature vector by modifying the plurality of structural feature matrices according to a set of global statistical characteristics associated with the graph representation.
(Jiang, Page 14671, Equation 14 & 15,
&
(15)”.)
(Jiang, Page 14665, Fig. 2: Commuting Matrix -> Fui and Fej; Page 14671, Equation 14 & 15,
&
(15)”. d within Equation 14 denotes the fixed-dimension of the input vector and w0 denotes a global bias; where Equation 15 is used to get the rating predictor; where xui,ej the xth element of the concatenated vector (of the two fused latent vectors which describe the global statistical characteristics) of user/event interaction embedding; thus, generating a fixed-dimension meta-graph feature vector by modifying (via concatenation)).
Regarding Claim 19:
Jiang/Smith-Miles teach the method of Claim 17 and Jiang further teaches:
wherein generating the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics comprises
generating the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics based on learned mappings between meta-graph features of training graph representations of a graph dataset and graph learning performance metrics of the plurality of machine-learning models corresponding to the training graph representations.
(Jiang, Page 14665, Fig. 2; Page 14665, Fig. 2; Page 14676, Column 2, Paragraph 1, “… MGAR can select the appropriate meta-graph which contributes the most for each user through a feature fusion mechanism”; Page 14667, Column 1, Paragraph 1, “In our MGAR model, we employ an advanced CNN-based approach and attention mechanism to learn embeddings from multi-meta-graphs”. Fig. 2 shows the MGAR model which selects the most influential machine-learning model to process data as it selects the meta-graph (Fig. 2 shows the plurality of metrics being generated via embeddings); thus, implying the outputs that are generated from the CNN-based approach and rated within Rating Predictor are based on the mappings between meta-graph features and graph learning performance metrics (commuting matrix and the trained CNN models (interpreted as training graph representations), respectively)).
Regarding Claim 20:
Jiang/Smith-Miles teach the method of Claim 17 and Jiang further teaches:
wherein selecting the machine-learning model to process the data associated with the graph representation comprises
selecting the first type of a machine-learning model of the plurality of machine-learning models corresponding to a highest estimated performance metric of the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics.
(Jiang, Page 14665, Fig. 2; Page 14676, Column 2, Paragraph 1, “… MGAR can select the appropriate meta-graph which contributes the most for each user through a feature fusion mechanism”. Fig. 2 shows the generating for multiple machine-learning models estimated performance metrics according to the commuting matrix (meta-graph features). The Rating Predictor compares the performance metrics to find the most influential; thus, selecting the first type of machine-learning model with the highest estimated performance metric of the plurality of estimated graph learning performance metrics).
Conclusion
/I.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2122
/KAKALI CHAKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2122