DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on September 22, 2025 is acknowledged.
Specification
The Specification recites “This application claims the benefit of the filing date and priority to: U.S. Provisional Application Serial No. 62/035,140 entitled “Method for Synthesis of Graphene Derivatives and Functional Materials from Asphaltenes”, filed 08/10/2015, Confirmation No. 9603; the entire contents of the said provisional application is hereby incorporated by reference”; however, there are no claims to prior-filed applications in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites “wherein the one or more nanostructures is selected from the group consisting of 0D-, 1D or 2D, carbon, inorganic and any combinations thereof”; this renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear how the nanostructure is selected from “carbon” or “inorganic”. It appears the claim should recite “wherein the one or more nanostructures is selected from the group consisting of 0D-, 1D- and 2D-”; clarification is requested. Furthermore, claim 1 recites “O is oxygen”; however, there is no O in the formula in claim 1. The Examiner construes this limitation as M is oxygen; clarification is requested. Claims 2-4 are subsumed under the rejection.
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 2-4 recite “further comprising ASU is”; this is unclear as it is unclear if Applicant is intended to claim a second asymmetric unit in addition to the asymmetric unit in claim 1 or if there is one asymmetric unit comprising the formulas in claims 2-4.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of copending Application No. 17/931,113 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the reasons given below.
US Patent Application No. 17/931,113 claims a composition comprising a network of one or more 2D non-carbon nanomaterials having a lattice structure selected from orthorhombic, monoclinic, triclinic, wherein the lattice structure is formed by (ASU)n is an asymmetric unit having the formula (TxLyMz)n or (TxLyMzH), T is an alkaline metal, L is a chalcogen, M is oxygen, wherein x≥1, y≥1, z≥5 (Claim 1); NaS2O8 and NaSO5H (Claims 2 and 3). It is clear that all of the elements of the application claims 1-3 are to be found in US Application No. 17/931,113. The difference between the instant claims and US Application No. 17/931,113 lies in the fact that US Application No. 17/931,113 is more specific. Thus, the instant claims are anticipated by claims 1-3 of US Application No. 17/931,113 and are not patentably distinct from claims 1-3 of US Application No. 17/931,113.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanimola (US Patent Application 2016/0039678).
Regarding claim 1, Tanimola teaches nanomaterial comprising a 2D single crystal with asymmetric unit formula Na6O16S4 (Abstract, Paragraph 31). Tanimola further teaches the lattice structure of the single crystals can exist in different polymorphs like orthorhombic, monoclinic and triclinic (Paragraph 226).
Tanimola teaches the limitations of the instant claims; hence, Tanimola anticipates the claims.
Claims 1-2, 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zheng et al (Beam-assisted large elongation of in situ formed Li2O nanowires).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4, Zheng et al teaches Li2O nanowires (which satisfies claimed 1D nanostructure) (Abstract). Zheng et al further teaches Li2O crystals with cubic structure (which satisfies claimed asymmetric unit) (Results, Discussion, Method).
Zheng et al teaches the limitations of the instant claims; hence, Zheng et al anticipates the claims.
Conclusion
/TANISHA DIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761 December 13, 2025