DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Claims 1 and 3 have been amended. Claims 5, 7, 9, 11, and 13 are as previously presented. Claims 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, and 12 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, and 13 are presently examined.
Status of objections and rejections
The rejection below has been modified as necessitated by the applicant’s amendments.
Claim Interpretation
The claim limitation of a “positioning gap” in claim 1 (and in subsequent dependent claims) is given the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification. The examiner is interpreting a “positioning gap” to be a discontinuity in the edge conductive element for example the edge of the conductive element is not a perfect circle as noted in the instant specification [0007, 0018, fig. 6-8].
The claim limitation of “end foot” in claim 1 is given the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification. The examiner is interpreting “end foot” to be any piece of the edge of the top cover in which two grooves are placed either side of it as noted in [0011] and fig. 7 of the instant specification.
Claim 1 line 14 recites “end pins” but it appears this is a typo and should read “end foot” as such, the examiner is interpreting “end pins” to be “end foot”.
If this is not a typo and was intended then clarification is required otherwise a rejection under 35USC112b may arise.
Claim 1 lines 9-11 recites the following and in the remarks figure 7 is relied upon for support.
As such the grooves each are recessed from the edge of the conductive element to a center of the conductive element will be interpreted such that the groves start at the edge of the conductive element and are recessed in a direction towards the center as depicted in figure 7 of the instant application and not such that they must start at the edge of the conductive element and end at (to) the center of the conductive element because this interpretation is supported by the instant specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng (CN111613739A) and in view of Mori (US 20060019158 A1).
Regarding claim 1, A case component for a button battery accommodating a battery cell [fig. 1-2 , Peng], comprising a case body (10, shell) and a conductive element (30) [0075, fig. 1-2, Peng], and the case body comprises a bottom case (101) and a top cover (102) [0076, fig. 1-2, Peng]; an accommodating cavity (1011) is in the case body [0075, fig. 2, Peng]; one end of the bottom case has an opening that is in communication with the accommodating cavity [0075-0076, fig. 2, Peng]; the top cover is disposed on the opening of the bottom case [0076, fig. 2-3, Peng]; the conductive element is disposed on the top cover by an insulating adhesive layer (50) [0078- 0081, fig. 2-3, Peng discloses that a sealing rubber ring (50) is used to bond the conductive element to the through hole of the top cover; sealing rubber ring reads on insulating adhesive layer];
Peng is silent to the use of a positioning gap on the conductive element and the use of an end foot on the positioning gap.
However, Mori discloses a case component (11) for a battery comprising a case body and a conductive element (15) and a top cover (13) [fig. 1, Mori]. Wherein the case body comprises a bottom case (11c) and an accommodating cavity to house the electrode assembly [fig. 1, Mori]. The conductive element (15b) further comprises a series of flange structures (153, 156, 553, 563, 566 “positioning gaps”) on the edge of the conductive element [figs. 2, 3a, 4, 5a-c, 6, Mori]. Wherein the positioning gap comprises a pair of grooves [fig. 2, 3a, 4, 5a-c, 6, Mori], and the grooves each are recessed from the edge of the conductive element to a center of the conductive element [fig. 2, 3a, 4, 5a-c, 6, Mori]. wherein the positioning gap further comprises an end foot [fig. 2, 3a, 4, 5a-c, 6, Mori], and the pair of grooves are respectively located on both sides of the end foot [fig. 2, 3a, 4, 5a-c, 6, Mori]. The grooves and end foot are arranged along the outer edge of the conductive member and are arranged abreast in the direction of the outer edge of the conductive member [fig. 2, 3a, 4, 5a-c, 6, Mori].
See annotated figure 6 below for additional clarification.
Mori further notes that the percentage of the cut out part to form the flange structure on the edge of the conductive member can be arbitrarily determined [0024, Mori].
Annotated fig. 6, Mori showing “positioning gaps” and an “end foot” with grooves on either side of it.
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Peng such that there existed a series of flanged structures along the edge of the conductive member. Wherein the flanged structure contains an “end foot” with two grooves on either side of the “end foot” arranged along the outer edge of the conductive member and are arranged abreast in the direction of the outer edge of the conductive member. Using flange structures (“positioning gaps”) along the edge of the “conductive member” and allow for positioning at regions of the main surface of the conductive member and may be used to guide on the XY plane for positioning of the conductive member [0058, Mori].
Regarding claim 3, modified Peng is silent to the depth of the grooves of the conductive element. However, one of ordinary skill within the art would appreciate that if the depth of the groove were too small the impact grooves/notches (e.g. improved adhesion) would not be prevalent. If the grooves/notches were too large then the structural integrity of the conductive element would be diminished. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to filing would therefore recognize the depth as a result effective variable.
Prior to the effective filing date, on of ordinary skill within the arts, barring any critically, would find it obvious to optimize the conductive element groove depth to between 0.05-0.5mm to balance the function of the groove while maintaining structural integrity of the overall component, see MPEP 2144.
Regarding claim 5 and 7, Peng as presently modified is silent to the positioning of the “positioning gaps”.
However, Mori discloses the case component wherein the edge of the conductive element is provided with two flange structures “positioning gaps” (153, 156, 553, 563, 566) [fig. 2, 3a, 4, 5a-c, 6, Mori], and the two positioning gaps are disposed at opposite sides of the edge of the conductive element [fig. 2, 3a, 4, 5a-c, 6, Mori]; or the edge of the conductive element is provided with four positioning gaps [fig. 2, 3a, 4, 5a-c, 6, Mori] , and the four positioning gaps are evenly disposed at the edge of the conductive element [fig. 2, 3a, 4, 5a-c, 6, Mori] .
Mori notes that the number and location of the flange structures may be modified to one’s optimal values according to the size of the battery and electrode assembly [0115, Mori].
Annotated fig. 6, Mori showing positioning of the “positioning gaps”
Prior to the effective filing date, one of ordinary skill within the arts would find it obvious to modify Peng such that the positioning gaps were located to have either two gaps on opposite edges and/or four positioning gaps evenly distributed around the edge of the conductive member. Doing so allows for one to obtain secure connection points and allow for improved positioning of the conductive member [0058, 0085, Mori].
Regarding claim 9 and 11, modified Peng discloses the case component, wherein the bottom case (101) comprises a bottom wall and a side wall [fig. 2-5, Peng], a bottom end of the side wall is connected to the bottom wall [fig. 2-5, Peng], and the top cover (102) is disposed on an top end of the side wall [fig. 2-5, Peng].
Regarding claim 13, modified Peng discloses a battery comprising a battery cell (20) and the case component for the battery [0075, fig. 1-2, Peng], and the case component for the battery comprises the case body (10, shell) and a conductive element (30) [0075, fig. 1-2, Peng]; the battery cell is accommodated in the accommodating cavity of the case body [0075, fig. 2, Peng]; the battery cell has a first pole ear (201, equivalent to “first tab”) and a second pole ear (202, equivalent to a “second tab”) [0075, Peng]; the conductive element is electrically connected to one of the first tab and the second tab [0075, Peng]; and the bottom case is electrically connected to the other one of the first tab and the second tab [0075, Peng].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See below for details.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Ji in claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on Ji as applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
No other arguments are presented. The examiner maintains their rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUINTIN D. ELLIOTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724