DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-23 and 29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 24, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The instant claims appear to employ a novel plant. Since the plant is essential to the claimed invention it must be obtainable by a repeatable method set forth in the specification or otherwise be readily available to the public. If the plant is not so obtainable or available, the requirement of 35 USC 112 may be satisfied by a deposit of the plant. The specification does not disclose a repeatable process to obtain the plant and it is not apparent if the plant is readily available to the public. Because the variety 18-14-185 was produced by an interspecific cross using open pollination, and that such cross would not be reproducible, it would appear that a deposit of tissue from which said variety that can be reliably regenerated would be needed. The Examiner notes that the instant specification make no mention of a deposit of Biological Material which would be required under 37 CFR 1.809.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberts (US 2017/0335236).
With regards to claim 23, Roberts teaches a hybrid mint plant (abstract) that contains menthone and menthol at a ratio of 0.48-1:1 (0005).
With regards to claims 24-26, Roberts teaches about 2.5 to about 3.8% mass of limonene, about 1.2 to about 1.8% mass of methone, about 22 to about 35% mass of menthofuran, about 3.9 to about 5.9% mass of menthyl acetate, about 1.5 to about 2.5% mass menthol, and about 4.4 to about 6.7% mass of 1,8 cineole (0005).
Roberts does not teach the exact amounts of the different compounds. However, due to the use of the word about in both the claim and the art and the at least minimal overlap in concentration ranges, the ranges of Roberts reads on the range of the claimed invention absent a showing of criticality of said ranges.
With regards to claim 27, Roberts teaches the use of at least one part of the hybrid mint plant to be chosen from leaf, stem, seed, rhizome, stolon, flower or their combinations (0018).
With regards to claim 29, Roberts teaches the mint plant to be resistant to mint wilt from verticillium dahlia (0017).
Conclusion
/JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763