DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed March 30, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 4-9, 12-14, and 17-18 are pending in the application. Applicant has submitted amendments to the claims along with other remarks. Claims 1-2, 4-10, 12-15, and 17-18 are still rejected by prior art references, refer to the following rejection for details.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see pp. 8-12 of the response, filed March 30, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 4-9, 12-14, and 17-18 under § 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Please see the rejection for details.
Applicant asserts various conclusory statements that certain elements are not disclosed by Nallusamy on pp. 9-10. A basis for these assertions is not provided. Further, Applicant attacks Nallusamy individually which is improper. MPEP § 2145(IV) (“One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references.”).
For these reasons, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-9, 12-14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Non-patent literature by David Navratil entitled “Broadcast and Multicast Communication” (hereinafter “Navratil”) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2023/0319514 (hereinafter “Kim”) and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0307091 (hereinafter “Nallusamy”).
Regarding claim 1, Navratil teaches: A multicast/broadcast service communication method (Figure 1), applied to a terminal device or a chip of the terminal device, comprising: determining one or more of a first multicast service or a first broadcast service of a first multicast/broadcast service (p. 14/48 The term multicast in the remaining [sic] of this section refers to the exchange of multicast PDUs between a UE and a data network Via UPF without involving the XCF and XUF functions.), the one or more of the first multicast service or the first broadcast service comprising a multicast or broadcast service that the terminal device is to leave (p. 13/48 On the other hand, the PDU Session modification and release can be requested by the UE or by the network); and sending a first message ( p. 13/48 On the other hand, the PDU Session modification and release can be requested by the UE or by the network), the first message carrying identification information of the one or more of the first multicast service or the first broadcast service, and the first message is a protocol data unit (PDU) session modification request message (p. 13/48 On the other hand, the PDU Session modification and release can be requested by the UE or by the network).
Although inherent, Navratil does not explicitly show “the first message carrying identification information of the first multicast/broadcast service.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches: the first message carrying identification information of the first multicast/broadcast service ([0296] For example, the UE may send a PDU session modification request message. Here, the NAS message may include an N1 SM container, a PDU session ID, and a UE Integrity Protection Maximum Data Rate. N1 SM container may include PDU session modification request (PDU Session ID, Packet Filters, Operation, Requested QoS, Segregation, 5GSM Core Network Capability, Number of Packet Filters, if Always-on PDU Session is requested, Always-on PDU Session Requested) and wherein the first message further carries one or more of a first information element ([0296], [0299]) and a cause value of the first message ([0296], [0299], [0550]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Navratil to include the feature of identification information and a combination of Navratil and Kim renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., including an information element and an indication of an operation type).
The combination of Navratil and Kim does not explicitly teach: and a first information element, the first information element comprising a leave indication and the first information element indicating an operation type corresponding to the first multicast/broadcast service that the terminal device or chip is to leave.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nallusamy teaches: and a first information element, the first information element ([0042] sending an IGMP LEAVE request 302) comprising a leave indication ([0042] sending an IGMP LEAVE request 302) and the first information element indicating an operation type ([0042] AGF node 102 can stop replicating multicast stream 214B to RG 2 110B.) corresponding to the first multicast/broadcast service ([0042] multicast stream 214B) that the terminal device or chip is to leave.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Navratil and Kim to include the feature of a leave indication and operation and a combination of Navratil and Kim with Nallusamy renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A). (e.g., providing the leave indication with an operation).
Regarding claim 4, --Navratil teaches: A multicast/broadcast service communication method, applied to a session management function network element or a chip of the session management function network element, comprising: receiving a third message, the third message carrying identification information of one or more of a first multicast service or a first broadcast service of a first multicast/broadcast service, and the one or more of the first multicast service or the first broadcast service comprising a multicast or broadcast service that a terminal device is to leave (Figure 1, steps 1a, 1e, 3b); updating a session management context of a protocol data unit (PDU) session of the terminal device based on the third message (p. 19/48, The N1 SM container carries the PDU Session Modification Command that the AMF shall provide to the UE. It may include the QoS rules, QoS Flow level QoS parameters if needed for the QoS Flow(s) associated with the QoS rule(s) and corresponding QoS rule operation and QoS Flow level QoS parameters operation to notify the UE that one or more QoS rules were added, removed or modified.), the updating comprising: removing the identification information of the first multicast/broadcast service from the session management context of the PDU session of the terminal device (p. 19/48, The N1 SM container carries the PDU Session Modification Command that the AMF shall provide to the UE; Figure 1, step 1a; Step 1a; p. 13/48 “On the other hand, the PDU Session modification and release can be requested by the UE or by the network.”).
Although inherent, Navratil does not explicitly show: updating a session management context of a protocol data unit (PDU) session of the terminal device based on the third message and the identification information being associated with the multicast or broadcast service the terminal device is to leave.
However, Kim teaches: the first message carrying identification information of the first multicast/broadcast service ([0296] For example, the UE may send a PDU session modification request message. Here, the NAS message may include an N1 SM container, a PDU session ID, and a UE Integrity Protection Maximum Data Rate. N1 SM container may include PDU session modification request (PDU Session ID, Packet Filters, Operation, Requested QoS, Segregation, 5GSM Core Network Capability, Number of Packet Filters, if Always-on PDU Session is requested, Always-on PDU Session Requested), updating a session management context of a protocol data unit (PDU) session of the terminal device based on the third message ([0312-315]), the updating comprising: removing the identification information of the first multicast/broadcast service from the session management context of the PDU session of the terminal device ([0315]) including a cause value of the third message ([0296], [0299], [0550]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Navratil to include the feature of updating the context and removing the identification information and a combination of Navratil and Kim renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., updating context and removing identifiers when a multicast or broadcast is no longer needed).
The combination of Navratil and Kim does not explicitly teach: and a first information element, the first information element comprising a leave indication and the first information element indicating an operation type corresponding to the first multicast/broadcast service that the terminal device or chip is to leave.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nallusamy teaches: and a first information element, the first information element ([0042] sending an IGMP LEAVE request 302) comprising a leave indication ([0042] sending an IGMP LEAVE request 302) and the first information element indicating an operation type ([0042] AGF node 102 can stop replicating multicast stream 214B to RG 2 110B.) corresponding to the first multicast/broadcast service ([0042] multicast stream 214B) that the terminal device or chip is to leave.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Navratil and Kim to include the feature of a leave indication and operation and a combination of Navratil and Kim with Nallusamy renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A). (e.g., providing the leave indication with an operation).
Regarding claim 5, Navratil teaches: wherein the method further comprises: removing unicast quality of service (QoS) information corresponding to the one or more of the first multicast service or the first broadcast service of the first multicast/broadcast service (p. 19/48 The N1 SM container carries the PDU Session Modification Command that the AMF shall provide to the UE. It may include the QoS rules, QoS Flow level QoS parameters if needed for the QoS Flow(s) associated with the QoS rule(s) and corresponding QoS rule operation and QoS Flow level QoS parameters operation to notify the UE that one or more QoS rules were added, removed or modified. See also, Kim at [0315], [0320], [0698-703 “remove/removal”]).
Regarding claim 6, although inherent, Navratil does not explicitly teach: wherein the third message is a session management context update request.
Kim teaches: wherein the third message is a session management context update request ([0312] Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Navratil to include the feature of updating the context and removing the identification information and a combination of Navratil and Kim renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., configuring the message as a session management context update request).
Regarding claim 7, although inherent, Navratil does not explicitly teach: wherein the method further comprises: sending a fifth message to a multicast/broadcast control plane function network element, wherein the fifth message carries the identification information of the one or more of the first multicast service or the first broadcast service of the first multicast/broadcast service.
Kim teaches: wherein the method further comprises: sending a fifth message to a multicast/broadcast control plane function network element, wherein the fifth message carries the identification information of the one or more of the first multicast service or the first broadcast service of the first multicast/broadcast service ([0312] 3a) For UE-initiated modification or AN-initiated modification, SMF may respond to AMF via PDU session update SM context. For example, the PDU session update SM context may be Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext. Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext may include N2 SM information (PDU session ID, QFI, QoS profile, session-Aggregate Maximum Bit Rate (AMBR)), and N1 SM container (including PDU Session Modification Command). PDU session modification command may include PDU session ID, QoS rule, QoS rule operation, QoS flow level QoS parameters if necessary for QoS related to QoS rule, Session-AMBR, Always-on PDU Session Requested if Always-on PDU Session is requested. [0304]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Navratil to include the feature of updating the context and removing the identification information and a combination of Navratil and Kim renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., including information in a message is a known method with predictable results and sending a message to a UPF is a known operation).
Regarding claim 8, Navratil teaches: wherein the fifth message further comprises: an identifier of the user plane function network element corresponding to the one or more of the first multicast service or the first broadcast service of the first multicast/broadcast service (Figure 1 (p. 16/48), steps 8a-b; p. 20/48, 8. The SMF may update N4 session of the UPF(s) that are involved by the PDU Session Modification by sending N4 Session Modification Request message to the UPF. (see NOTE 2); see also Kim [0309-310] steps 2a-b of FIG. 11a).
Regarding claim 9, Navratil does not explicitly teach: sending a sixth message, wherein the sixth message carries the identification information of the one or more of the first multicast service or the first broadcast service of the first multicast/broadcast service.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches: sending a sixth message, wherein the sixth message carries the identification information of the one or more of the first multicast service or the first broadcast service of the first multicast/broadcast service ([0312] 3a) For UE-initiated modification or AN-initiated modification, SMF may respond to AMF via PDU session update SM context. For example, the PDU session update SM context may be Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext. Nsmf_PDUSession_UpdateSMContext may include N2 SM information (PDU session ID, QFI, QoS profile, session-Aggregate Maximum Bit Rate (AMBR)), and N1 SM container (including PDU Session Modification Command). PDU session modification command may include PDU session ID, QoS rule, QoS rule operation, QoS flow level QoS parameters if necessary for QoS related to QoS rule, Session-AMBR, Always-on PDU Session Requested if Always-on PDU Session is requested.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Navratil to include the feature of updating the context and removing the identification information and a combination of Navratil and Kim renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., identification information can be included in a message with known methods).
Regarding claim 12, Navratil teaches: A multicast/broadcast service communication method, applied to an access network device or a chip of the access network device, comprising: receiving an eighth message, the eighth message carrying identification information of one or more of a first multicast service or a first broadcast service of a first multicast/broadcast service, and the one or more of the first multicast service or the first broadcast service comprising a multicast or broadcast service that a terminal device is to leave (Figure 1, step 1a; Step 1a; p. 13/48 “On the other hand, the PDU Session modification and release can be requested by the UE or by the network.”); and releasing an air interface resource that is allocated to the terminal device for the one or more of the first multicast service or the first broadcast service.
Although inherent, Navratil does not explicitly teach: the eighth message carrying identification information of one or more of a first multicast service or a first broadcast service of a first multicast/broadcast service, and the one or more of the first multicast service or the first broadcast service comprising a multicast or broadcast service that a terminal device is to leave and releasing an air interface resource that is allocated to the terminal device for the multicast or broadcast service that the terminal device is to leave.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches: the eighth message carrying identification information of one or more of a first multicast service or a first broadcast service of a first multicast/broadcast service ([0296-298]) and releasing an air interface resource that is allocated to the terminal device for the multicast or broadcast service that the terminal device is to leave ([0307] 1e) (AN-initiated modification) Regardless of whether a notification control is set or not, when an AN resource to which a QoS flow is mapped is released, (R)AN must indicate to the SMF. (R) AN may transmit an N2 message (including PDU session ID and N2 SM information) to the AMF. The N2 SM information may include a QoS flow ID (QFI), user location information, and an indication that a QoS flow has been released. See also [0223] [396]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Navratil to include the feature of identification information and releasing resources and a combination of Navratil and Kim renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., receiving identification information and releasing resources based on the request).
The combination of Navratil and Kim does not explicitly teach: and a first information element, the first information element comprising a leave indication and the first information element indicating an operation type corresponding to the first multicast/broadcast service that the terminal device or chip is to leave.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nallusamy teaches: the eighth message ([0042] sending an IGMP LEAVE request 302) comprising a leave indication ([0042] sending an IGMP LEAVE request 302) and the first information element indicating an operation type ([0042] AGF node 102 can stop replicating multicast stream 214B to RG 2 110B.) corresponding to the first multicast/broadcast service ([0042] multicast stream 214B) that the terminal device or chip is to leave.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Navratil and Kim to include the feature of a leave indication and operation and a combination of Navratil and Kim with Nallusamy renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A). (e.g., providing the leave indication with an operation).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Navratil and Kim fail to teach: wherein the method further comprises: when the terminal device is the last terminal device that leaves the one or more of the first multicast service or the first broadcast service of the first multicast/broadcast service via the access network device, releasing a service data transmission tunnel between the access network device and a core network device for the first multicast/broadcast service.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nallusamy teaches: wherein the method further comprises: when the terminal device is the last terminal device that leaves the one or more of the first multicast service or the first broadcast service of the first multicast/broadcast service via the access network device, releasing a service data transmission tunnel between the access network device and a core network device for the first multicast/broadcast service ([0062] For example, the AGF node may maintain an association database or cache and use the association database or cache to determine whether the computing device making the request is the last computing device receiving the multicast stream. As discussed above, the AGF node can maintain associations with a multicast stream using a list of tunnel identifiers of tunnels created when computing devices register with the AGF node to communicate to a data network via the APF node and a UPF node upstream from the computing device. If the tunnel identifier associated with the computing device making the leave request is the only tunnel identifier in the list, then the computing device is the last computing device receiving the multicast stream via the AGF node. [0063] If the AGF node determines that the leave request is for the last device receiving the multicast stream via the AGF node (“YES” branch of 604), the AGF node can forward the request to leave the multicast stream to a UPF node providing the multicast stream (606). The UPF node can stop transmitting the multicast stream to the AGF node in response to receiving the request. The method then ends.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Navratil to include the feature of identification information and releasing resources and a combination of Navratil and Kim renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., release a transmission tunnel when the last terminal leaves).
Regarding claim 14, Navratil teaches: A communication apparatus, comprising: a memory storing instructions; and at least one processor in communication with the memory, the at least one processor configured, upon execution of the instructions, to perform the following steps: (Figure 1): determining one or more of a first multicast service or a first broadcast service of a first multicast/broadcast service, the one or more of the first multicast service or the first broadcast service comprising a multicast or broadcast service that a terminal device is to leave; (Figure 1, Step 1a, p. 13/48 “On the other hand, the PDU Session modification and release can be requested by the UE or by the network.”); and sending a first message, the first message carrying identification information of the one or more of the first multicast service or the first broadcast service, and the first message is a protocol data unit (PDU) session modification request message (Figure 1, Step 1a, p. 13/48 “On the other hand, the PDU Session modification and release can be requested by the UE or by the network.”).
Although inherent, Navratil does not explicitly show “A communication apparatus, comprising: a memory storing instructions; and at least one processor in communication with the memory, the at least one processor configured, upon execution of the instructions, to perform the following steps: . . . the first message carrying identification information of the first multicast/broadcast service and the first information element including a cause value of the first message.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches: A communication apparatus, comprising: a memory storing instructions; and at least one processor in communication with the memory, the at least one processor configured, upon execution of the instructions ([0010]), to perform the following steps: . . . the first message carrying identification information of the first multicast/broadcast service ([0296] For example, the UE may send a PDU session modification request message. Here, the NAS message may include an N1 SM container, a PDU session ID, and a UE Integrity Protection Maximum Data Rate. N1 SM container may include PDU session modification request (PDU Session ID, Packet Filters, Operation, Requested QoS, Segregation, 5GSM Core Network Capability, Number of Packet Filters, if Always-on PDU Session is requested, Always-on PDU Session Requested) and the first information element including a cause value of the first message ([0296], [0299], [0550]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Navratil to include the feature of identification information and a combination of Navratil and Kim renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., providing identification information in the request and performance with a memory and processor and cause value information).
The combination of Navratil and Kim does not explicitly teach: and a first information element, the first information element comprising a leave indication and the first information element indicating an operation type corresponding to the first multicast/broadcast service that the terminal device or chip is to leave.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nallusamy teaches: the eighth message ([0042] sending an IGMP LEAVE request 302) comprising a leave indication ([0042] sending an IGMP LEAVE request 302) and the first information element indicating an operation type ([0042] AGF node 102 can stop replicating multicast stream 214B to RG 2 110B.) corresponding to the first multicast/broadcast service ([0042] multicast stream 214B) that the terminal device or chip is to leave.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Navratil and Kim to include the feature of a leave indication and operation and a combination of Navratil and Kim with Nallusamy renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A). (e.g., providing the leave indication with an operation).
Regarding claim 17, Navratil teaches: A communication apparatus, comprising: a memory storing instructions; and at least one processor in communication with the memory, the at least one processor configured, upon execution of the instructions, to perform the following steps: receiving an eighth message, the eighth message carrying identification information of one or more of a first multicast service or a first broadcast service of a first multicast/broadcast service, the one or more of the first multicast service or the first broadcast service comprising is a multicast or broadcast service that a terminal device is to leave (Figure 1, step 1a; Step 1a; p. 13/48 “On the other hand, the PDU Session modification and release can be requested by the UE or by the network.”); and releasing an air interface resource that is allocated to the terminal device for the one or more of the first multicast service or the first broadcast service.
Although inherent, Navratil does not explicitly teach: the eighth message carrying identification information of one or more of a first multicast service or a first broadcast service of a first multicast/broadcast service, and the one or more of the first multicast service or the first broadcast service comprising a multicast or broadcast service that a terminal device is to leave and releasing an air interface resource that is allocated to the terminal device for the multicast or broadcast service that the terminal device is to leave.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches: the eighth message carrying identification information of one or more of a first multicast service or a first broadcast service of a first multicast/broadcast service ([0296-298]) and releasing an air interface resource that is allocated to the terminal device for the multicast or broadcast service that the terminal device is to leave ([0307] 1e) (AN-initiated modification) Regardless of whether a notification control is set or not, when an AN resource to which a QoS flow is mapped is released, (R)AN must indicate to the SMF. (R) AN may transmit an N2 message (including PDU session ID and N2 SM information) to the AMF. The N2 SM information may include a QoS flow ID (QFI), user location information, and an indication that a QoS flow has been released. See also [0223] [396]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Navratil to include the feature of identification information and releasing resources and a combination of Navratil and Kim renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., receiving identification information and releasing resources based on the request).
The combination of Navratil and Kim does not explicitly teach: and a first information element, the first information element comprising a leave indication and the first information element indicating an operation type corresponding to the first multicast/broadcast service that the terminal device or chip is to leave.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nallusamy teaches: the eighth message ([0042] sending an IGMP LEAVE request 302) comprising a leave indication ([0042] sending an IGMP LEAVE request 302) and the first information element indicating an operation type ([0042] AGF node 102 can stop replicating multicast stream 214B to RG 2 110B.) corresponding to the first multicast/broadcast service ([0042] multicast stream 214B) that the terminal device or chip is to leave.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Navratil and Kim to include the feature of a leave indication and operation and a combination of Navratil and Kim with Nallusamy renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A). (e.g., providing the leave indication with an operation).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Navratil and Kim fail to teach: wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: when the terminal device is the last terminal device that leaves the one or more of the first multicast service or the first broadcast service of the first multicast/broadcast service via an access network device, releasing a service data transmission tunnel between the access network device and a core network device for the one or more of the first multicast service or the first broadcast service of the first multicast/broadcast service.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Nallusamy teaches: wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: when the terminal device is the last terminal device that leaves the one or more of the first multicast service or the first broadcast service of the first multicast/broadcast service via an access network device, releasing a service data transmission tunnel between the access network device and a core network device for the one or more of the first multicast service or the first broadcast service of the first multicast/broadcast service ([0062] For example, the AGF node may maintain an association database or cache and use the association database or cache to determine whether the computing device making the request is the last computing device receiving the multicast stream. As discussed above, the AGF node can maintain associations with a multicast stream using a list of tunnel identifiers of tunnels created when computing devices register with the AGF node to communicate to a data network via the APF node and a UPF node upstream from the computing device. If the tunnel identifier associated with the computing device making the leave request is the only tunnel identifier in the list, then the computing device is the last computing device receiving the multicast stream via the AGF node. [0063] If the AGF node determines that the leave request is for the last device receiving the multicast stream via the AGF node (“YES” branch of 604), the AGF node can forward the request to leave the multicast stream to a UPF node providing the multicast stream (606). The UPF node can stop transmitting the multicast stream to the AGF node in response to receiving the request. The method then ends.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Navratil to include the feature of identification information and releasing resources and a combination of Navratil and Kim renders the claim prima facie obvious within the described scope of the prior art and any indicated differences within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (e.g., telecommunications engineer) according to a combination of known prior art elements with known methods to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A) (e.g., release a transmission tunnel when the last terminal leaves).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 2013/0287004 related to a communication system, network handover processing method and apparatus.
U.S. Publication No. 2023/0108178 related to a method and apparatus for multicast-broadcast service area control in wireless communication system.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAB/ Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/YUWEN PAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649