DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to the Applicant’s Application filed on February 9, 2026.
Claims 1 and 11 have been amended.
Claims 2 and 12 have been cancelled.
Claims 1 and 11 are independent. As a result claims 1, 3-11, and 13-20 are pending in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument filed February 9, 2026 regarding the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C 101, has been fully considered and is persuasive.
Applicants argue in substance:
Regarding claims 1-20, the applicants submit that the steps are being performed are directed to statutory subject matter under 101 because the claims as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application and are a technical improvement.
The argument of claims 1-20 have been fully considered and is persuasive.
Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection of claims 1-20 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed February 9, 2026 regarding the rejection of claims 1 and 11 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, regarding claims 1 and 11 Rakesh does not teach or suggest the following limitation, detecting a directory as disclosed in Applicants’ invention.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s assertions.
With regards to a), Examiner appreciates the interpretation of the description given by Applicant in the response. In Fig. 4, para [0039], Rakesh teaches " The slicer 202 can slice the file system by the number of directories and files and based on depth of directories and files of the share. Using the file system directory example of FIG. 4, with a proposed slice of one level depth, the slicer would return five slices: Slices 1-4 would be the directories dir-1, dir-2, dir-3”, para [0040], Rakesh teaches “Using the FIG. 4 example file system layout, the slicer could propose seven slices. Assuming that the slicer is configured to slice at 100 GB boundary, the slices can be as follows: Slice 1 is directory 1; Slice 2 is directories dir-2 and dir-3; Slice 3 is directory-4-2; Slice 4 is directory-4-1-2; Slice 5 is directory-4-1-1-1; Slice 6 is directory-4-1-1-2 and directory-4-1-1-3”. Therefore, detecting a directory as a specific slice.
Applicant argues, regarding claims 1 and 11 Rakesh does not teach or suggest the following limitation, generating a crawl job specific to the detected directory as disclosed in Applicants’ invention.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s assertions.
With regards to b), Examiner appreciates the interpretation of the description given by Applicant in the response. In Fig. 1, Fig. 5, para [0037], Rakesh teaches “AS Backup agents 119 crawl the NAS share and create multiple slices of the entire share to backup these slices in parallel.”, para [0038], Rakesh teaches “The slicer 117 breaks up the file system into slices (units of work or sub-assets), and the backup agent 119 performs the backup tasks.”, para [0039], Rakesh teaches "The slicer 202 can slice the file system by the number of directories and files and based on depth of directories and files of the share. Using the file system directory example of FIG. 4, with a proposed slice of one level depth, the slicer would return five slices: Slices 1-4 would be the directories dir-1, dir-2, dir-3”. Therefore, generating backup task (crawl job) for corresponding slice with identified directory.
Applicant argues, regarding claims 1 and 11 Rakesh does not teach or suggest the following limitation, adding the generated crawl job to the thread pool for execution as disclosed in Applicants’ invention.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s assertions.
With regards to c), Examiner appreciates the interpretation of the description given by Applicant in the response. In Fig. 5, Figs. 7-8, para [0040], Rakesh teaches “FIG. 5, Backupset-1 corresponds to Slice 1 (dir-1), Backupset-2 corresponds to Slice 2 (dir-1, dir-3), Backupset-3 corresponds to Slice 3 (dir-4-2), Backupset-4 corresponds to Slice 4 (dir-4-1-2), Backupset-5 corresponds to Slice 5 (dir-4-1-1-1), Backupset-6 corresponds to Slice 6 (dir-4-1-1-2, dir-4-1-1-3), and Backupset-7 corresponds to Slice 7 (file-1, file-2, file-3).”, para [0048], Rakesh teaches “System 700 includes a file system slicer agent 706 that partitions or reorganizes (slices) the directories and files of file system 702 into appropriately sized slices, using one or more of the slicing techniques described above. A backup agent 708 then sends a list of the directories and files assigned to each slice to a crawl process 710”, para [0049], Rakesh teaches "The crawl process crawls the slices in parallel, so that, for example, if there are 16 slices, crawl process will run 16 threads for each slice. During an incremental backup, the crawl process detects whether a file has changed since a last backup, and if not, the file will be skipped”, para [0050], Rakesh “backup agents 708 use backup processes provided by a backup management process (e.g., 112 of FIG. 1). As such, they perform full, incremental, or differential backups with or without deduplication. A typical backup process comprises a full backup followed by a number of incremental backups, where the periodicity of full backups and intervening incremental backups is defined by a set backup schedule. A full backup is referred to as a ‘level 0’ backup. The backup agents perform certain tasks when working with level 0 backups”. Therefore, adding backups to threads.
Applicant argues, regarding claims 1 and 11 Rakesh does not teach or suggest the following limitation, performing each crawl job in the thread pool to crawl a respective directory as disclosed in Applicants’ invention.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s assertions.
With regards to d), Examiner appreciates the interpretation of the description given by Applicant in the response. In Figs. 7-8, para [0049], Rakesh teaches "The crawl process crawls the slices in parallel, so that, for example, if there are 16 slices, crawl process will run 16 threads for each slice. During an incremental backup, the crawl process detects whether a file has changed since a last backup, and if not, the file will be skipped”, para [0074], Rakesh “The NAS agent passes the consolidated backup file of the previous backup to the NAS agent. It also passes the bucket of sub-assets to be backed up, which is the same as that for full backup. Here, the lookup for elements in each separate sub-asset (running in a separate thread) would be performed on the consolidated backup file only”, para [0075], Rakesh teaches “Table 902 lists six example individual metadata files for sub-assets 1-6. These sub-assets are organized and named within an /ifs directory as dir-1, dir-2, dir-3, dir-4, dir-5, and dir-6. After backup operation, each sub-asset is referenced with a backup ID number, such as ‘12345’ for the backup operation, thus generating metadata files dir-x-12345 for each of the six sub-assets, as shown in table 902.”. Therefore, performing backups in thread, crawling respective directories.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-11, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patle et al. (US 2021/0149703) (hereinafter Patle) in view of Rakesh et al. (US 2022/0334925)(hereinafter Rakesh).
Regarding claim 1, Patle teaches a method, comprising: gathering system resource information regarding availability of hardware resources (see Fig. 3, para [0034-0035], discloses gathering CPU and memory resource information in allocations to a database system); based on the system resource information, identifying a thread pool size (see Fig. 3, para [0035], discloses based on CPU and memory resource limits, controlling the size of thread pool dynamically); starting a thread pool having the thread pool size, wherein the thread pool size is dynamically adjustable based on changes in the system resources (see para [0035-0036], discloses thread manager dynamically controlling the size of thread pool to reflect changes in a CPU limitation).
Patle does not explicitly teach crawling a filesystem to traverse the filesystem, comprising: detecting a directory; and generating a crawl job specific to the detected directory; and adding the generated crawl job to the thread pool for execution; and performing each crawl job in the thread pool to crawl a respective directory.
Rakesh teaches crawling a filesystem to traverse the filesystem, comprising: detecting a directory (see Fig. 4, para [0039-0040], discloses detecting a directory as a specific slice); and generating a crawl job specific to the detected directory (see Fig. 1, Fig. 5, para [0037-0039], discloses generating backup task (crawl job) for corresponding slice with identified directory); and adding the generated crawl job to the thread pool for execution (see Fig. 5, Figs. 7-8, para [0040], para [0048-0050], discloses adding backups to threads ); and performing each crawl job in the thread pool to crawl a respective directory (see Figs. 7-8, para [0049], para [0074-0075], discloses performing backups in thread, crawling respective directories).
Patle/Rakesh are analogous arts as they are each from the same field of endeavor of database systems.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Patle to identify crawl jobs to perform from disclosure of Rakesh. The motivation to combine these arts is disclosed by Rakesh as “enhances filesystem crawlers to make storing and searching for metadata scalable” (para [0005]) and identifying crawl jobs to perform is well known to persons of ordinary skill in the art, and therefore one of ordinary skill would have good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp that would lead to anticipated success.
Regarding claim 11, Patle teaches a non-transitory storage medium having stored therein instructions that are executable by one or more hardware processors to perform operations (see para [0006], discloses medium and processor) comprising: gathering system resource information regarding availability of hardware resources (see Fig. 3, para [0034-0035], discloses gathering CPU and memory resource information in allocations to a database system); based on the system resource information, identifying a thread pool size (see Fig. 3, para [0035], discloses based on CPU and memory resource limits, controlling the size of thread pool dynamically); starting a thread pool having the thread pool size, wherein the thread pool size is dynamically adjustable based on changes in the system resources (see para [0035-0036], discloses thread manager dynamically controlling the size of thread pool to reflect changes in a CPU limitation).
Patle does not explicitly teach crawling a filesystem by: detecting a directory; and generating a crawl job specific to the detected directory; and adding the generated crawl job to the thread pool for execution; and performing each crawl job in the thread pool to crawl a respective directory.
Rakesh teaches crawling a filesystem by: detecting a directory (see Fig. 4, para [0039-0040], discloses detecting a directory as a specific slice); and generating a crawl job specific to the detected directory (see Fig. 1, Fig. 5, para [0037-0039], discloses generating backup task (crawl job) for corresponding slice with identified directory); and adding the generated crawl job to the thread pool for execution (see Fig. 5, Figs. 7-8, para [0040], para [0048-0050], discloses adding backups to threads ); and performing each crawl job in the thread pool to crawl a respective directory (see Figs. 7-8, para [0049], para [0074-0075], discloses performing backups in thread, crawling respective directories).
Patle/Rakesh are analogous arts as they are each from the same field of endeavor of database systems.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Patle to identify crawl jobs to perform from disclosure of Rakesh. The motivation to combine these arts is disclosed by Rakesh as “enhances filesystem crawlers to make storing and searching for metadata scalable” (para [0005]) and identifying crawl jobs to perform is well known to persons of ordinary skill in the art, and therefore one of ordinary skill would have good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp that would lead to anticipated success.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Patle/Rakesh teach a method of claim 1 and a medium of claim 11.
Patle further teaches wherein the thread pool size is dynamically adjusted based on a detected change in the system resources (see para [0035-0036], discloses detecting dynamic change in resource limits and automatically changing the thread size to reflect changes in CPU limitations).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Patle/Rakesh teach a method of claim 1 and a medium of claim 11.
Patle does not explicitly teach wherein performing one of the crawl jobs identifies a size of a directory to which the crawl job is directed.
Rakesh teaches wherein performing one of the crawl jobs identifies a size of a directory to which the crawl job is directed (see Fig. 5, para [0042-0043], discloses identifying size of a directory to crawl in order to combine to achieve a directory of optimal size).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Patle/Rakesh teach a method of claim 1 and a medium of claim 11.
Patle does not explicitly teach wherein the filesystem resources comprise hardware and/or software resources available to perform crawl jobs.
Rakesh teaches wherein the filesystem resources comprise hardware and/or software resources available to perform crawl jobs (see Fig. 2, Fig. 7 , para [0048], discloses backup agent sending list of directories and files to crawl).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Patle/Rakesh teach a method of claim 1 and a medium of claim 11.
Patle does not explicitly teach wherein when a filesystem node other than a directory is encountered by the crawling, a file count and a folder size are incremented for that filesystem node.
Rakesh teaches wherein when a filesystem node other than a directory is encountered by the crawling, a file count and a folder size are incremented for that filesystem node (see Fig. 3, Fig. 5, para [0043], para [0050, 0054], discloses file count and subdirectory sizes for incremental backups).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Patle/Rakesh teach a method of claim 1 and a medium of claim 11.
Patle does not explicitly teach wherein the thread pool comprises a wait queue
Rakesh teaches wherein the thread pool comprises a wait queue (see para [0049], discloses a queue for slices).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, Patle/Rakesh teach a method of claim 1 and a medium of claim 11.
Patle does not explicitly teach wherein one of the crawl jobs is performed while the crawling is ongoing.
Rakesh teaches wherein one of the crawl jobs is performed while the crawling is ongoing (see Fig. 7, para [0049], discloses crawl process crawls slices in parallel).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, Patle/Rakesh teach a method of claim 1 and a medium of claim 11.
Patle does not explicitly teach wherein one of the crawl jobs comprises slicing data in a directory according to one or more criteria.
Rakesh teaches wherein one of the crawl jobs comprises slicing data in a directory according to one or more criteria (see Fig. 6, para [0043], discloses slicing directory to accomplish optimal size).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Patle/Rakesh teach a method of claim 1 and a medium of claim 11.
Patle does not explicitly teach wherein a data slice, of a directory, created by one of the crawl jobs is re-sliced in response to a change detected in a size of the directory in the filesystem.
Rakesh teaches wherein a data slice, of a directory, created by one of the crawl jobs is re-sliced in response to a change detected in a size of the directory in the filesystem (see Fig. 6, para [0042-0043], discloses re-slicing until optimal size directory is reached).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Courtney Harmon/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2159