DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed March 19th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-16 and 18-20 remain pending in the application. Claims 3, 7, 14-16, and 18-20 remain withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected Species 1 and 3. Claims 9-13 were allowed in the previous office action. However, the amendment has raised other issues detailed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 7-11, filed March 19th, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Luo et al. (CN 112268318).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (US Patent No. 5,931,001), hereinafter Watanabe in view of Luo et al. (CN 112268318), hereinafter Luo.
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe discloses a temperature control unit (Fig. 1) comprising:
one or more thermoelectric cooling elements (Fig. 1, thermoelectric module 4) coupled to a conditioned space heat exchanger (Fig. 1, first heat-absorbing-side heat transfer unit 5 and second heat-absorbing-side heat transfer unit 6 collectively comprise the conditioned space heat exchanger; Fig. 3; Col. 5, lines 19-21, The thermoelectric module 4, the first heat-absorbing-side heat transfer unit 5 and the first heat-dissipating-side unit 9 are put together into a single package, and the structure of the package is shown in FIG. 3) and an unconditioned space heat exchanger (Fig. 1, first heat-dissipating-side heat transfer unit 9 and the second heat-dissipating-side heat transfer unit 10 collectively comprise the unconditioned space heat exchanger);
one or more conditioned air fans (Fig. 1, air supply fan 16; Col. 6, lines 20-22, the air supply fan 16 is driven, fresh outdoor supply air 36 of a high temperature is introduced into the air inlet passage 1 through a filter) configured to move air from a conditioned space (Fig. 1, room 101) vertically displaced from the conditioned space heat exchanger (Col. 6, lines 29-33, The supply air 36 is introduced into the room in this embodiment, so that the foul air inside the room is naturally or forcedly (no air exhaust fan is shown in FIG. 1) exhausted to the outside of the house through the air outlet passage 2; Further, the air supply fan has the same structure as the claimed one or more conditioned air fans and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed; Additionally, at least portions of room 101 are vertically displaced from first heat-absorbing-side heat transfer unit 5 and second heat-absorbing-side heat transfer unit 6);
one or more unconditioned air fans (Fig. 1, heat-dissipating-side fan 13) configured to move air from an unconditioned space (Fig. 1, unconditioned space is considered to be the space outside of room 101 defined by wall 102) over the unconditioned space heat exchanger (Col. 4, lines 42-45, a heat dissipating-side fan 13 arranged adjacent to a heat dissipating surface of the second heat-dissipating-side heat transfer unit 10; Further, the heat-dissipating-side fan 13 has the same structure as the claimed one or more unconditioned air fans and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed); and
a power supply (Fig. 2, power supply 15; Col. 4, lines 48-49, a power supply 15 for supplying electric power to the thermoelectric module 4) configured to change a polarity of power to the one or more thermoelectric cooling elements (Col. 14, lines 15-18, Further, the present invention can be applied for both cooling and heating by making it possible to change over the direction of a current to be fed to the heat exchanger; Further, the power supply 15 has the same structure as the claimed power supply and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed).
However, Watanabe does not disclose a body configured to extend through an opening in a wall between a conditioned space and an unconditioned space;
the one or more thermoelectric element positioned in the body in a region within the opening in the wall, the conditioned space heat exchanger extending vertically from the body on a conditioned space side of the body, and the unconditioned space heat exchanger extending vertically from the body on an unconditioned space side of the body, wherein the body has a vertical cross-sectional area less than a vertical cross-sectional area of the conditioned space heat exchanger or a vertical cross-sectional area of the unconditioned space heat exchanger.
Luo teaches a body configured to extend through an opening in a wall between a conditioned space and an unconditioned space (Fig. 1, cover body 2, push pull window 11, outdoor shell 3, indoor shell 9; Pg. 4, through setting concave lower mounting groove and the upper mounting groove on the chassis 1 and the channel shell, convenient for the air conditioner device across the lower side frame of the wall body; at the same time, the push-pull window of the upper frame is embedded on the outer cover; there is no need to pre-process the wall body and the window body; it is convenient to install; it can simplify the mounting process of the air conditioner; but also can ensure the installation stability of the air conditioner device, small movement, and after the air conditioner is installed, the indoor unit and the outdoor unit are respectively located on two sides of the wall, separated by the partition 6; the sound insulation effect is better; the rain day or rainstorm room can preferentially isolate the outside water into the indoor side of the electric box 7; improving the user experience; Further, the cover body 2 of Luo has the same structure as the claimed body and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed);
the refrigeration generating components positioned in the body in a region within the opening in the wall, the conditioned space heat exchanger extending vertically from the body on a conditioned space side of the body, and the unconditioned space heat exchanger extending vertically from the body on an unconditioned space side of the body, wherein the body has a vertical cross-sectional area less than a vertical cross-sectional area of the conditioned space heat exchanger or a vertical cross-sectional area of the unconditioned space heat exchanger (Fig. 1 of Luo depicts compressor 5, partition 6, electric appliance box 7 to be disposed in mounting channel 10 of the cover body 2 and depicts evaporator 8 extending vertically from the cover body 2 in the indoor shell 9 and condenser 5 extending vertically from the cover body 2 in the outdoor shell 3; Further, annotated Fig. 1 of Luo below depicts a vertical cross-sectional area of the body C to be less than both a vertical cross-section area of the evaporator D and a vertical cross-sectional area of the condenser E).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the temperature control unit of claim 1 of Watanabe to include a body configured to extend through an opening in a wall between a conditioned space and an unconditioned space; the one or more thermoelectric element positioned in the body in a region within the opening in the wall, the conditioned space heat exchanger extending vertically from the body on a conditioned space side of the body, and the unconditioned space heat exchanger extending vertically from the body on an unconditioned space side of the body, wherein the body has a vertical cross-sectional area less than a vertical cross-sectional area of the conditioned space heat exchanger or a vertical cross-sectional area of the unconditioned space heat exchanger as taught by Luo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide a temperature control unit that is convenient and simple to install across a window frame while ensuring installation stability to improve the overall user experience (Luo, Pg. 4).
Moreover, the modification of Watanabe as modified herein result in the one or more conditioned air fans configured to move air from the conditioned space in a position vertically displaced from the body; and
the one or more unconditioned air fans configured to move air from the unconditioned space over the unconditioned space heat exchanger in a position vertically displaced from the body.
Regarding claim 4, Watanabe as modified discloses the temperature control unit of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the conditioned space heat exchanger is directly coupled to a first surface of the one or more thermoelectric cooling elements (See annotated Fig. 3 of Watanabe below, first heat-absorbing-side heat transfer unit 5 is shown to be directly coupled to first surface of the one or more thermoelectric cooling elements A; Col. 5, lines 19-21, The thermoelectric module 4, the first heat-absorbing-side heat transfer unit 5 and the first heat-dissipating-side unit 9 are put together into a single package, and the structure of the package is shown in FIG. 3) and the unconditioned space heat exchanger is directly coupled to a second surface of the one or more thermoelectric cooling elements (See annotated Fig. 3 of Watanabe below, first heat-dissipating-side unit 9 is shown to be directly coupled to second surface of the one or more thermoelectric cooling elements B; Col. 5, lines 19-21, The thermoelectric module 4, the first heat-absorbing-side heat transfer unit 5 and the first heat-dissipating-side unit 9 are put together into a single package, and the structure of the package is shown in FIG. 3) opposite the first surface of the one or more thermoelectric cooling elements (See annotated Fig. 3 of Watanabe below, second surface of the one or more thermoelectric cooling elements B is opposite first surface of the one or more thermoelectric cooling elements A).
++
Annotated Fig. 3 of Watanabe
Annotated Fig. 1 of Luo
Regarding claim 5, Watanabe as modified discloses the temperature control unit of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the conditioned space heat exchanger is operatively coupled to a first surface of the one or more thermoelectric cooling elements (See annotated Fig. 3 of Watanabe below, first surface of the one or more thermoelectric cooling elements A) through a first working medium (Watanabe, Fig. 3, heat-absorbing-side transfer medium 14; Col. 6, lines 34-53, As is illustrated in FIG. 3, the heat-absorbing-side heat 14, which has absorbed heat from the supply air 36, enters the heat-absorbing-side frame 21 through the water inlet 19 of the first heat-absorbing-side heat transfer unit 5 and hits the distributing plate 24, so that the heat-absorbing-side heat transfer medium 14 is caused to disperse. The heat-absorbing-side heat transfer medium 14 is therefore caused to flow rapidly through the plural distributing holes 22 toward the heat-absorbing-side substrate 17. Since the heat-absorbing-side substrate 17 is cooled owing to a supply of electric power to the thermoelectric module 4, the heat-absorbing-side heat transfer medium 14 is efficiently cooled while it hits the heat-absorbing-side substrate 17. The heat-absorbing-side heat transfer medium 14 then circulates back to the second heat-absorbing-side transfer unit 6 through the water outlet 20, and again contributes to the cooling of the air supply 36) and the unconditioned space heat exchanger is operatively coupled to a second surface of the one or more thermoelectric cooling elements (See annotated Fig. 3 of Watanabe below, second surface of the one or more thermoelectric cooling elements B) opposite the first surface of the one or more thermoelectric cooling elements (See annotated Fig. 3 of Watanabe below, second surface of the one or more thermoelectric cooling elements B is opposite first surface of the one or more thermoelectric cooling elements A) through a second working medium (Watanabe, Fig. 3, heat-dissipating-side transfer medium 14; Col. 6, lines 54-64, The heat, which has moved to the heat-absorbing-side substrate 17, is transferred to the heat-dissipating-side 18 via the thermoelectric module 4. At the first heat-dissipating-side heat transfer unit 9, the heat is absorbed in the heat-dissipating-side heat transfer medium 14. The heat is transferred further via the heat-dissipating-side circulating passage 11 to the second heat-dissipating-side heat transfer unit 10, where the heat is dissipated by air supplied from the heat-dissipating-side fan 34. The heat-dissipating-side heat transfer medium 14 again contributes to the transport of heat).
Annotated Fig. 3 of Watanabe
Regarding claim 6, Watanabe as modified discloses the temperature control unit of claim 5 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 5 above), wherein the first working medium and the second working medium are a same type of medium (Watanabe, Col. 4, lines 45-48, a heat transfer medium 14 made of a liquid (for example water) and filled in the heat-absorbing-side circulating passage 7 and the heat-dissipating-side circulating passage 11).
Regarding claim 8, Watanabe as modified discloses the temperature control unit of claim 5 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 5 above), wherein the first working medium and the second working medium comprise a liquid (Watanabe, Col. 4, lines 45-48, a heat transfer medium 14 made of a liquid (for example water) and filled in the heat-absorbing-side circulating passage 7 and the heat-dissipating-side circulating passage 11).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe as modified by Luo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Parish et al. (US 20120000207), hereinafter Parish.
Regarding claim 2, Watanabe as modified discloses the temperature control unit of claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Watanabe as modified does not disclose wherein the power supply configured to change a level of power to the one or more thermoelectric cooling elements.
Parish teaches wherein the power supply configured to change a level of power to the one or more thermoelectric cooling elements (Pg. 12, paragraph 148, For example, the CPU 1305 can control the temperature output from the TEC (s) 400 (at the heat exchangers) by varying input power level to the TEC 400).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power supply of the temperature control unit of Watanabe of claim 2 to change a level of power to the one or more thermoelectric cooling elements as taught by Parish. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow a used to adjust and control operation of the system (Parish, Pg. 12, paragraph 148).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-13 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 9, the prior art does not anticipate nor render obvious the combination set forth in the independent claims, and specifically does not disclose the following: wherein the conditioned space heat exchanger connects to the body through a first hinged connection on a first end of the body configured to be positioned in the conditioned space; and where the unconditioned space heat exchanger connects to the body through a second hinged connection on a second end of the body opposite the first end of the body, the second end of the body configured to be positioned in the unconditioned space.
The closest prior art of record, Watanabe et al. (US Patent No. 5,931,001), hereinafter Watanabe in view of Kim (US Patent No. 12,339,017), hereinafter Kim, Parish et al. (US 20120000207), hereinafter Parish and Li et al. (US Patent No. 11,498,163), hereinafter Li disclose a temperature control unit (Fig. 1) comprising:
one or more thermoelectric cooling elements (Fig. 1, thermoelectric module 4) coupled to a conditioned space heat exchanger (Fig. 1, first heat-absorbing-side heat transfer unit 5 and second heat-absorbing-side heat transfer unit 6 collectively comprise the conditioned space heat exchanger; Fig. 3; Col. 5, lines 19-21, The thermoelectric module 4, the first heat-absorbing-side heat transfer unit 5 and the first heat-dissipating-side unit 9 are put together into a single package, and the structure of the package is shown in FIG. 3) through a first working fluid (Fig. 3, heat-absorbing-side transfer medium 14; Col. 6, lines 34-53, As is illustrated in FIG. 3, the heat-absorbing-side heat 14, which has absorbed heat from the supply air 36, enters the heat-absorbing-side frame 21 through the water inlet 19 of the first heat-absorbing-side heat transfer unit 5 and hits the distributing plate 24, so that the heat-absorbing-side heat transfer medium 14 is caused to disperse. The heat-absorbing-side heat transfer medium 14 is therefore caused to flow rapidly through the plural distributing holes 22 toward the heat-absorbing-side substrate 17. Since the heat-absorbing-side substrate 17 is cooled owing to a supply of electric power to the thermoelectric module 4, the heat-absorbing-side heat transfer medium 14 is efficiently cooled while it hits the heat-absorbing-side substrate 17. The heat-absorbing-side heat transfer medium 14 then circulates back to the second heat-absorbing-side transfer unit 6 through the water outlet 20, and again contributes to the cooling of the air supply 36);
the one or more thermoelectric cooling elements operatively coupled to an unconditioned space heat exchanger (Fig. 1, first heat-dissipating-side heat transfer unit 9 and the second heat-dissipating-side heat transfer unit 10 collectively comprise the unconditioned space heat exchanger; Fig. 3; Col. 5, lines 19-21, The thermoelectric module 4, the first heat-absorbing-side heat transfer unit 5 and the first heat-dissipating-side unit 9 are put together into a single package, and the structure of the package is shown in FIG. 3) through a second working fluid (Fig. 3, heat-dissipating-side transfer medium 14; Col. 6, lines 54-64, The heat, which has moved to the heat-absorbing-side substrate 17, is transferred to the heat-dissipating-side 18 via the thermoelectric module 4. At the first heat-dissipating-side heat transfer unit 9, the heat is absorbed in the heat-dissipating-side heat transfer medium 14. The heat is transferred further via the heat-dissipating-side circulating passage 11 to the second heat-dissipating-side heat transfer unit 10, where the heat is dissipated by air supplied from the heat-dissipating-side fan 34. The heat-dissipating-side heat transfer medium 14 again contributes to the transport of heat);
one or more conditioned air fans (Fig. 1, air supply fan 16; Col. 6, lines 20-22, the air supply fan 16 is driven, fresh outdoor supply air 36 of a high temperature is introduced into the air inlet passage 1 through a filter) configured to move air from a conditioned space (Fig. 1, room 101) over the conditioned space heat exchanger (Col. 6, lines 29-33, The supply air 36 is introduced into the room in this embodiment, so that the foul air inside the room is naturally or forcedly (no air exhaust fan is shown in FIG. 1) exhausted to the outside of the house through the air outlet passage 2; Further, the air supply fan has the same structure as the claimed one or more conditioned air fans and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed);
one or more unconditioned air fans (Fig. 1, heat-dissipating-side fan 13) configured to move air from an unconditioned space (Fig. 1, unconditioned space is considered to be the space outside of room 101 defined by wall 102) over the unconditioned space heat exchanger (Col. 4, lines 42-45, a heat dissipating-side fan 13 arranged adjacent to a heat dissipating surface of the second heat-dissipating-side heat transfer unit 10; Further, the heat-dissipating-side fan 13 has the same structure as the claimed one or more unconditioned air fans and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed); and
a power supply (Fig. 2, power supply 15; Col. 4, lines 48-49, a power supply 15 for supplying electric power to the thermoelectric module 4) configured to change a polarity of power to the one or more thermoelectric cooling elements (Col. 14, lines 15-18, Further, the present invention can be applied for both cooling and heating by making it possible to change over the direction of a current to be fed to the heat exchanger; Further, the power supply 15 has the same structure as the claimed power supply and is capable of functioning in the manner claimed).
However, Watanabe does not disclose a body configured to extend through an opening in a wall between a conditioned space and an unconditioned space;
the one or more thermoelectric element positioned in the body.
Kim teaches a body configured to extend through an opening in a wall between a conditioned space and an unconditioned space (Fig. 1, case 11; Col. 2, lines 33-54, Hereinafter, a structure in which the air-conditioning device according to the embodiment of the present disclosure is fitted into a window opening will be described with reference to FIGS. 1 and 2. Referring to FIGS. 1 and 2, the air-conditioning device may include the chassis 20 that is attached to the outer surface of the case 11 between the indoor outlet 141 and the outdoor outlet 141', and is inserted into a gap or opening of a window frame. The chassis 20 may be attached to the outer surface of the case 11 between the indoor inlet 13 and the outdoor outlet 13'. The chassis 20 may be elongated in a longitudinal direction of the case 11. The chassis 20 may be disposed at a position corresponding to the barrier 12. The chassis 20 may be fastened to a window, namely, a gap of a window frame. When the chassis 20 is inserted into the window frame, the first area S1 may be located indoors, and the second area S2 may be located outdoors. Conversely, when the chassis 20 is inserted into the window frame, the first area S1 may be located outdoors, and the second area S2 may be located indoors. Here, a structure of the area located indoors serves as an indoor unit, and a structure of the area located outdoors serves as an outdoor unit);
the one or more thermoelectric element positioned in the body (Fig. 2 of Kim depicts first thermoelectric element 15 and second thermoelectric element 18 to be positioned in the case 11 in a region within the opening in the wall).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the temperature control unit of claim 1 of Watanabe to include a body configured to extend through an opening in a wall between a conditioned space and an unconditioned space and the one or more thermoelectric element positioned in the body as taught by Kim. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide a compact temperature control unit (Kim, Col. 4, lines 8-10).
Further, Watanabe as modified does not disclose the power supply configured to change a level of power to the one or more thermoelectric cooling elements.
Parish teaches the power supply configured to change a level of power to the one or more thermoelectric cooling elements (Pg. 12, paragraph 148, For example, the CPU 1305 can control the temperature output from the TEC (s) 400 (at the heat exchangers) by varying input power level to the TEC 400).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power supply of the temperature control unit of Watanabe as modified to change a level of power to the one or more thermoelectric cooling elements as taught by Parish. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to allow a used to adjust and control operation of the system (Parish, Pg. 12, paragraph 148).
Moreover, Watanabe as modified does not disclose wherein the conditioned space heat exchanger connects to the body through a first hinged connection on a first end of the body configured to be positioned in the conditioned space; and where the unconditioned space heat exchanger connects to the body through a second hinged connection on a second end of the body opposite the first end of the body, the second end of the body configured to be positioned in the unconditioned space.
Li teaches a singular hinged connection positioned in the middle of a body of a temperature control unit (Fig. 28, hinge 2810; Col. 19, lines 37-41, In some embodiments, the top cover 170 can be foldable in one or more locations. For example, FIGS. 28a and 28b illustrate an example where the top cover 170 includes a hinge 2810 that allows the top cover 170 to fold or assume a flat configuration).
However, there is no teaching in the prior art of record that would, reasonably and absent impermissible hindsight, motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of the prior art to provide wherein the conditioned space heat exchanger connects to the body through a first hinged connection on a first end of the body configured to be positioned in the conditioned space; and where the unconditioned space heat exchanger connects to the body through a second hinged connection on a second end of the body opposite the first end of the body, the second end of the body configured to be positioned in the unconditioned space, in combination with all other claimed features.
Claim 9 is allowable. The restriction requirement between Species 1-3, as set forth in the Office action mailed on September 06th, 2024 , has been reconsidered in view of the allowability of claims to the elected invention pursuant to MPEP § 821.04(a). The restriction requirement is hereby withdrawn as to any claim that requires all the limitations of an allowable claim. Specifically, the restriction requirement of September 06th, 2024 is partially withdrawn. Claim 13, directed to Species 1: Fig. 1-5 is no longer withdrawn from consideration because the claim requires all the limitations of an allowable claim. However, claims 3, 7, 14-16, and 18-20, directed to Species 1 and 3 remain withdrawn from consideration because they do not all require all the limitations of an allowable claim.
In view of the above noted withdrawal of the restriction requirement, applicant is advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application.
Once a restriction requirement is withdrawn, the provisions of 35 U.S.C. 121 are no longer applicable. See In re Ziegler, 443 F.2d 1211, 1215, 170 USPQ 129, 131-32 (CCPA 1971). See also MPEP § 804.01.
Claims 10 and 13 are also allowed by virtue of their dependency on claim 9.
Claims 11-12 are also allowed by virtue of their dependency on claim 10.
of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such
submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 April 14th, 2026
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763