Detailed Action
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 1 be found allowable, claim 23 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
The difference between the two independent claims is that Claims 1 recites “the springs of the at least one third string of pocketed springs and the springs of the at least one fourth string of pocketed springs have a spring diameter less than the springs of the plurality of first strings of the innerspring main body” and Claim 23 recites “the springs of the second, third and fourth strings of pocketed springs have a spring diameter less than the springs of the plurality of first strings of the innerspring main body”. The difference between the two claims is that Claim 23 does not indicate the second string of pocketed springs has a lesser spring diameter in that portion of the claim. However, earlier in each claim, it is recited that “wherein the springs of the at least one second string of pocketed springs have a spring diameter less than the diameter of the springs of the plurality of first strings of the innerspring main body”.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment to Claim 1 is supported by at least published ¶0030.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 26-29 recite “the springs of the first, second, third and fourth strings of pocketed springs are of the same diameter”. Claims 1 and 23, from which all of 26-29 depend, recite that the second, third and fourth strings of pocketed springs have a spring diameter less than the diameter of the springs of the first strings. There is no written support or support from the drawings for the first string(s) to have a different and same diameter simultaneously to the second, third and fourth strings of springs.
Claims 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 26-29 recite “the same spring diameter”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
Claims 26-29 recite “the springs of the first, second, third and fourth strings of pocketed springs are of the same diameter”. Claims 1 and 23, from which all of 26-29 depend, recite that the second, third and fourth strings of pocketed springs have a spring diameter less than the diameter of the springs of the first strings. It is unclear how the first strings of pocketed springs can have a diameter that is both different (as required by Claims 1 and 23) and the same (required by claims 26-29) as the second, third and fourth strings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long (US20170251821A1) in view of Mossbeck (US20170340130A1), further in view of Jewett (US20180049559A1).
Claim 1
Long teaches an innerspring unit (Figure 1B, Item 10b) comprising (a) an innerspring main body comprising a plurality of first strings of pocketed springs (Figure 1B shows strings (26) of springs (28) that make up a core of the mattress (10b).) ; and (b) at least one second string of pocketed springs located on a lateral surface of the innerspring main body, so that the at least one second string of pocketed springs extends in a longitudinal direction of the innerspring main body (Figure 1B teaches a border (17) that is made up of a continuous material extending in the longitudinal direction of the mattress (10b) and located on the lateral side surface of the spring assembly (12). ¶0051 teaches that the border can be made from a string of springs of a different diameter.), wherein the springs of the at least one second string of pocketed springs have a spring diameter different from the diameter of the springs of the plurality of first strings of the innerspring main body. (¶0051 teaches that the border is made from a string of pocketed springs having a different diameter than the ones of the interior of the pocketed spring assembly.) wherein at least one third string of pocketed springs is attached to a first longitudinal end of the innerspring main body and at least one fourth string of pocketed springs is attached to a second longitudinal end of the innerspring main body (Figure 1B teaches the border (17) has portions on the longitudinal ends of the mattress core spring assembly (12). ¶0051 teaches the border can be made from pocketed springs. As for “attached”, see the combination with Mossbeck below.), wherein the springs of the at least one third string of pocketed springs and the springs of the at least one fourth string of pocketed springs have a spring diameter different than the springs of the plurality of first strings of the innerspring main body (¶0051 teaches the border can be made from pocketed springs having a different diameter than the interior springs.)and wherein at least one second string of pocketed springs is attached to a first lateral side surface and to a second lateral side surface of the innerspring main body (Figure 1B shows the border (17) includes portions on the two lateral side surfaces of the innerspring main body (12).), so that the springs of the second, third and fourth strings of pocketed springs form an edge area completely surrounding the first strings of pocketed springs (border, 17).
Long does not explicitly disclose that the borders are attached to the perimeter of the innerspring main body.
However, Mossbeck teaches a border made from strings of pocketed springs where the strings are attached to the perimeter of the innerspring main body. (Figure 12A shows border strings (38i and 38ii) that surround the inner spring core (28). ¶0061 teaches the perimeter strings are glued or otherwise secured to the periphery of the core.)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply the known attachment technique of Mossbeck to the border and core structure of Long in order to secure the border to the inner ore of springs. (Mossbeck ¶0061)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed, to apply the known attachment technique of Mossbeck to the border and core structure of Long because it has been held to be prima facie obvious to apply a known technique to a known method/apparatus to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(D).
The predictable result is the border strings of springs in Long will be secured via gluing to the inner core.
Long does not disclose that the diameter of the second, third and fourth strings of pocketed springs is less than the diameter of the first string of pocketed springs; and wherein the springs of the second, third and fourth strings of pocketed springs are configured such that a stability of the innerspring unit at an edge area thereof is increased compared to an area where the springs of the first strings of pocketed springs are arranged.
However, Jewett (Figure 2 teaches a pocketed spring assembly that includes edge springs (32/36) and core strings (26/60). teaches the diameter of the second, third and fourth strings of pocketed springs is less than the diameter of the first string of pocketed springs (¶0011-0012 teach that the diameter of the springs of the inner pocket core springs is greater than the diameter of the edge springs.); and wherein the springs of the second, third and fourth strings of pocketed springs are configured such that a stability of the innerspring unit at an edge area thereof is increased compared to an area where the springs of the first strings of pocketed springs are arranged. (¶0012 teaches that the structure of the inner core springs and outer edge springs having different diameters results in four sides of edge support for the core. Additionally, since Jewett teaches the claimed structure of the smaller diameter edge springs as claimed, the reference teaches the claimed intended use/function of this structure.)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply the known smaller diameter edge spring technique of Jewett to the different diameter spring size mattress device of Long in order to have a firmer perimeter (Jewett ¶0013) that provides edge support (Jewett ¶0012).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed, to apply the known smaller diameter edge spring technique of Jewett to the different diameter spring size mattress device of Long because it has been held to be prima facie obvious to apply a known technique to a known method/apparatus to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(D).
Claim 6
Long in view of Mossbeck and Jewett teaches the innerspring unit of claim 1, wherein the at least one second spring of pocketed springs is glued to the innerspring main body. (Mossbeck teaches the gluing of the border strings to the inner core in ¶0061.)
Claim 23
Long teaches an innerspring unit (Figure 1B, Item 10b) comprising (a) an innerspring main body comprising a plurality of first strings of pocketed springs (Figure 1B shows strings (26) of springs (28) that make up a core of the mattress (10b).) ; and (b) at least one second string of pocketed springs on a lateral surface of the innerspring main body, so that the at least one second string of pocketed springs extends in a longitudinal direction of the innerspring main body (Figure 1B teaches a border (17) that is made up of a continuous material extending in the longitudinal direction of the mattress (10b) and located on the lateral side surface of the spring assembly (12). ¶0051 teaches that the border can be made from a string of springs of a different diameter.), wherein the springs of the at least one second string of pocketed springs have a spring diameter different from the diameter of the springs of the plurality of first strings of the innerspring main body. (¶0051 teaches that the border is made from a string of pocketed springs having a different diameter than the ones of the interior of the pocketed spring assembly.) wherein at least one third string of pocketed springs is attached to a first longitudinal end of the innerspring main body and at least one fourth string of pocketed springs is attached to a second longitudinal end of the innerspring main body (Figure 1B teaches the border (17) has portions on the longitudinal ends of the mattress core spring assembly (12). ¶0051 teaches the border can be made from pocketed springs. As for “attached”, see the combination with Mossbeck below.), wherein the springs of second, third and fourth strings of pocketed springs have a spring diameter different than the plurality of first springs of the plurality of first strings of the innerspring main body (¶0051 teaches the border can be made from pocketed springs having a different diameter than the interior springs.)and wherein at least one second string of pocketed springs is attached to a first lateral side surface and to a second lateral side surface of the innerspring main body (Figure 1B shows the border (17) includes portions on the two lateral side surfaces of the innerspring main body (12).), so that the springs of the second, third and fourth strings of pocketed springs form an edge area completely surrounding the first strings of pocketed springs (border, 17).
Long does not explicitly disclose that the borders are attached to the perimeter of the innerspring main body.
However, Mossbeck teaches a border made from strings of pocketed springs where the strings are attached to the perimeter of the innerspring main body. (Figure 12A shows border strings (38i and 38ii) that surround the inner spring core (28). ¶0061 teaches the perimeter strings are glued or otherwise secured to the periphery of the core.)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply the known attachment technique of Mossbeck to the border and core structure of Long in order to secure the border to the inner ore of springs. (Mossbeck ¶0061)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed, to apply the known attachment technique of Mossbeck to the border and core structure of Long because it has been held to be prima facie obvious to apply a known technique to a known method/apparatus to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(D).
The predictable result is the border strings of springs in Long will be secured via gluing to the inner core.
Long does not disclose that the diameter of the second, third and fourth strings of pocketed springs is less than the diameter of the first string of pocketed springs; and wherein the springs of the second, third and fourth strings of pocketed springs are configured such that a stability of the innerspring unit at an edge area thereof is increased compared to an area where the springs of the first strings of pocketed springs are arranged.
However, Jewett (Figure 2 teaches a pocketed spring assembly that includes edge springs (32/36) and core strings (26/60). teaches the diameter of the second, third and fourth strings of pocketed springs is less than the diameter of the first string of pocketed springs (¶0011-0012 teach that the diameter of the springs of the inner pocket core springs is greater than the diameter of the edge springs.); and wherein the springs of the second, third and fourth strings of pocketed springs are configured such that a stability of the innerspring unit at an edge area thereof is increased compared to an area where the springs of the first strings of pocketed springs are arranged. (¶0012 teaches that the structure of the inner core springs and outer edge springs having different diameters results in four sides of edge support for the core. Additionally, since Jewett teaches the claimed structure of the smaller diameter edge springs as claimed, the reference teaches the claimed intended use/function of this structure.)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to apply the known smaller diameter edge spring technique of Jewett to the different diameter spring size mattress device of Long in order to have a firmer perimeter (Jewett ¶0013) that provides edge support (Jewett ¶0012).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed, to apply the known smaller diameter edge spring technique of Jewett to the different diameter spring size mattress device of Long because it has been held to be prima facie obvious to apply a known technique to a known method/apparatus to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(D).
Claim 25
Long in view of Mossbeck and Jewett teaches the innerspring unit of claim 23, wherein the at least one second spring of pocketed springs is glued to the innerspring main body. (Mossbeck teaches the gluing of the border strings to the inner core in ¶0061.)
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long (US20170251821A1) in view of Mossbeck (US20170340130A1) and Jewett (US20180049559A1), further in view of Argo Federkernprod Gmbh (DE29710267U1).
Claim 5
Long in view of Mossbeck and Jewett teaches the innerspring unit of claim 1, wherein a pair of sheets (Long, Figure 1B shows items 14 and 18 as layers on the top and bottom of the pocketed spring assembly (12). ¶0051-0052 teach these items can be scrim sheets.) is attached to upper and lower surfaces of the innerspring main body (Jewett, ¶0041 “The pocketed spring assembly 12 may include upper and lower scrim sheets 18 attached with adhesive to upper and lower surfaces of the strings of springs 26 of the pocketed spring assembly 12.”), the sheets cover the innerspring main body and laterally extend beyond the innerspring main body (Applicant’s Claim 1 indicates that the innerspring main body is made up only of the first strings of pocketed springs. Long, Figure 1B shows the layers (14, 18) extend beyond the main body (12) and out to the border (17).); and wherein the at least one second string of pocketed springs is attached to the lateral surface of the innerspring main body (Long, Figure 1B shows the border (17) is attached to the lateral surface of the innerspring main body (12).) such that it is arranged between the pair of sheets. (Long, Figure 1B shows the layers (14, 18) extend over the top and bottom of the border (17).)
Long in view of Mossbeck and Jewett does not explicitly disclose fleece sheets.
However, Argo Federkernprod Gmbh teaches the use of fleece material for a covering a pocketed spring core. (Figure 1 teaches pocketed springs (3) that have a top and bottom (11 and 12) cover layer applied to them. Lines 71-72 teach that the cover layers (11, 12) are made from fleece.)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to substitute the known fleece material of Argo Federkernprod Gmbh with for the sheet material of Jewett in order to use a flexible, low stretch cloth (Argo Federkernprod Gmbh Line 71) for the scrim sheets of Jewett.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed, to substitute the known fleece material of Argo Federkernprod Gmbh with for the sheet material of Long in view of Mossbeck and Jewett because it has been held to be prima facie obvious to substitute one known element for another to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long (US20170251821A1) in view of Mossbeck (US20170340130A1) and Jewett (US20180049559A1), further in view of Argo Federkernprod Gmbh (DE29710267U1).
Claim 24
Long in view of Mossbeck and Jewett teaches the innerspring unit of claim 23, wherein a pair of sheets (Long, Figure 1B shows items 14 and 18 as layers on the top and bottom of the pocketed spring assembly (12). ¶0051-0052 teach these items can be scrim sheets.) is attached to upper and lower surfaces of the innerspring main body (Jewett, ¶0041 “The pocketed spring assembly 12 may include upper and lower scrim sheets 18 attached with adhesive to upper and lower surfaces of the strings of springs 26 of the pocketed spring assembly 12.”), the sheets cover the innerspring main body and laterally extend beyond the innerspring main body (Applicant’s Claim 1 indicates that the innerspring main body is made up only of the first strings of pocketed springs. Long, Figure 1B shows the layers (14, 18) extend beyond the main body (12) and out to the border (17).); and wherein the at least one second string of pocketed springs is attached to the lateral surface of the innerspring main body (Long, Figure 1B shows the border (17) is attached to the lateral surface of the innerspring main body (12).) such that it is arranged between the pair of sheets. (Long, Figure 1B shows the layers (14, 18) extend over the top and bottom of the border (17).)
Long in view of Mossbeck and Jewett does not explicitly disclose fleece sheets.
However, Argo Federkernprod Gmbh teaches the use of fleece material for a covering a pocketed spring core. (Figure 1 teaches pocketed springs (3) that have a top and bottom (11 and 12) cover layer applied to them. Lines 71-72 teach that the cover layers (11, 12) are made from fleece.)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to substitute the known fleece material of Argo Federkernprod Gmbh with for the sheet material of Jewett in order to use a flexible, low stretch cloth (Argo Federkernprod Gmbh Line 71) for the scrim sheets of Jewett.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed, to substitute the known fleece material of Argo Federkernprod Gmbh with for the sheet material of Long in view of Mossbeck and Jewett because it has been held to be prima facie obvious to substitute one known element for another to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant arguments (see remarks filed 04/23/2026) against the rejection presented in the office action dated 02/03/2026 have been fully considered but are not convincing.
Applicant argues that (a) it would not have been predictable to glue the perimeter strings to the pocketed springs to the inner core of Long; (b) Jewett fails to teach strings of pocketed coil springs having pocketed coil springs of a lesser diameter than the diameter of pocketed coil springs of the central core on all four sides because Jewett discusses out of pocket diameter.
Although an assertion is made in the remarks regarding the predictability of gluing in Long and Mossbeck, it is unclear how the coil springs having rectangular convolutions vs a circular convolution changes the ability to glue the strings of springs together. There is no mention in either reference (that was found during writing of this office action) that strings of springs of a circular shape are incapable of being glued to another string of springs. See, for example, US7211167B1 Figure 3 where cylindrical pocketed springs are glued to one another.
It is respectfully asserted that the argument regarding the “out of pocket” diameter is not in line with the current claim language. The claims do not require the diameter be an “in pocket” diameter as of the filing dated 04/23/2026.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found on the PTO-892 Notice of References Cited Form. The following table outlines interpretations of the prior art:
Document
Description of Relevant Subject Matter
US20120102658A1
Figure 1 teaches a mattress core where the perimeter is formed of four border rows/columns of springs having the same characteristics.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL W HOTCHKISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726