DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Remark filed on 8/25//26.
Claims 17, 20, 23, 25, 28, 32, 33, and 35 have been amended. Claims 1-16, 18, 24, 26, 34, and 36 have been cancelled. Claims 37-41 have been added.
Claim(s) Claims 17, 19-23, 25, 27-33, 35, and 37-41 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17, 19-23, 25, 27-33 & 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20180242267 A1 in view of Goel, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2019/0191403 A1, and further in view of Rost, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20210204172 A1.
As to claim 25, Jiang teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a transceiver, configured to:
receive second indication information, wherein the second indication information requests to activate time synchronization of a first clock source of a terminal device (Jiang, page 10, paragraph 93-95; i.e., [0094] In an implementation, the first node is the node that initiates clock synchronization detection, and the first synchronization detection request message includes the ID of the first node. That the second node sends the first synchronization detection response message to the node that initiates clock synchronization detection includes the following. The second node may send the first synchronization detection response message to the first node according to the ID of the first node); and
a processor, configured to generate the first indication information based on the second indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates to a terminal device to enter an activation state of time synchronization for a first clock source (Jiang, page 10, paragraph 93-95; page 12, paragraph 119; i.e., [0095] In another implementation, if the first node is not the node that initiates clock synchronization detection, and a fourth node is the node that initiates clock synchronization detection, and the first synchronization detection response message includes the ID of the fourth node. That the second node sends the first synchronization detection response message to the node that initiates clock synchronization detection includes the following. The second node sends the first synchronization detection response message to the fourth node according to the ID of the fourth node that is included in the first synchronization detection request message; [0119] the first detection result is used to indicate a status of the clock synchronization path between the first node and the second node).
But Jiang failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the second indication information is configured to be used to process a first quality of service (QoS) flow to obtain a processed first QoS flow, and the processed first QoS flow is used by the terminal device to transmit a time synchronization packet of the first clock source; send first indication information to the terminal device.
However, Goel teaches the limitation wherein send first indication information to the terminal device (Goel, page 4, paragraph 39; page 10, paragraph 95; i.e., [0039] For example, the base station may transmit a request message to a user equipment (UE) that starts the timing synchronization ( or update) procedure with the UE. The UE may receive the request message and then begin to search for and measure timing synchronization signals from the base station. The UE may then transmit a timing measurement signal to the base station and receive a timing update command from the base station; [0095] The UE(s) may receive the request message 405 and begin locating timing synchronization signal(s) on which to perform timing measurements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang to substitute packet core from Goel for packet network from Jiang to supporting communication for multiple communication devices, which may be otherwise known as user equipment (UE) (Goel, page 1, paragraph 3).
However, Rost teaches the limitation wherein the second indication information is configured to be used to process a first quality of service (QoS) flow, to obtain a processed first QoS flow, wherein the processed first QoS flow is used by the terminal device to transmit a time synchronization packet of the first clock source (Rost, page 9, paragraph 188 & 191; page 11, paragraph 245; i.e., [0188] In TSN networks, TSN frames are transmitted in time cycles; [0191] the TSN Translator requests the establishment of PDU sessions and QoS flows with specific QoS requirements. QoS flows that will be needed for integration with TSN, can derive the maximum expected packet/frame size for each QoS flow; [0245] TSN traffic may use a particular ( e.g. newly defined) QoS profile (new 5QI) for TSN traffic, but also traffic from other networks (or applications) with similar QoS requirements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang-Goel to substitute ingress or egress port from Rost for the port from Jiang-Goel to achieve deterministic data transmission with guaranteed low latency with time-aware devices (Rost, page 1, paragraph 7).
As to claim 27, Jiang-Goel-Rost teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 25, wherein the first indication information comprises an identifier of the first clock source (Jiang, page 10, paragraph 93-95; i.e., [0094] In an implementation, the first node is the node that initiates clock synchronization detection, and the first synchronization detection request message includes the ID of the first node. That the second node sends the first synchronization detection response message to the node that initiates clock synchronization detection includes the following. The second node may send the first synchronization detection response message to the first node according to the ID of the first node).
As to claim 28, Jiang-Goel-Rost teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 25, wherein the first indication information further comprises: at least one of the following:
a port number of a first port, and the first port comprises a port allocated for transmitting the time synchronization packet of the first clock source; an identifier of the terminal device; or a first indication, wherein the first indication indicates the activation state (Jiang, page 9, paragraph 86-88; i.e., [0086] the second synchronization type in the first synchronization detection request message and the port used to transmit a clock synchronization signal, a port used to transmit a time synchronization signal; [0087] generates a first synchronization detection response message according to the first synchronization detection request message, where the first synchronization detection response message includes clock topology information of the second node and the ID of the first node).
As to claim 29, Jiang-Goel-Rost teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 27. But Jiang-Goel failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the first indication information comprises an identifier of a first application service entity, wherein the first application service entity is configured to provide a first service for the terminal device, and the first service is based on time synchronization of the first clock source.
However, Rost teaches the limitation wherein the first indication information comprises an identifier of a first application service entity, wherein the first application service entity is configured to provide a first service for the terminal device, and the first service is based on time synchronization of the first clock source (Rost, page 11, paragraph 244; i.e., [0244] contain the traffic identification, e.g. in the form of AF-Service-Identifier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang-Goel to substitute ingress or egress port from Rost for the port from Jiang-Goel to achieve deterministic data transmission with guaranteed low latency with time-aware devices (Rost, page 1, paragraph 7).
As to claim 30, Jiang-Goel-Rost teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 27. But Jiang-Goel failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the first clock source comprises a clock source of a time sensitive network (TSN).
However, Rost teaches the limitation wherein the first clock source comprises a clock source of a time sensitive network (TSN) (Rost, page 11, paragraph 245; i.e., [0245] TSN traffic may use a particular ( e.g. newly defined) QoS profile (new 5QI) for TSN traffic, but also traffic from other networks (or applications) with similar QoS requirements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang-Goel to substitute ingress or egress port from Rost for the port from Jiang-Goel to achieve deterministic data transmission with guaranteed low latency with time-aware devices (Rost, page 1, paragraph 7).
As to claim 31, Jiang-Goel-Rost teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 27. But Jiang-Goel failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the first clock source comprises a clock source of a fifth generation (5G) system or a sixth generation (6G) system.
However, Rost teaches the limitation wherein the first clock source comprises a clock source of a fifth generation (5G) system or a sixth generation (6G) system (Rost, page 11, paragraph 226; i.e., [0226] A 5G QoS Identifier (5QI)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang-Goel to substitute ingress or egress port from Rost for the port from Jiang-Goel to achieve deterministic data transmission with guaranteed low latency with time-aware devices (Rost, page 1, paragraph 7).
As to claim 33, Jiang-Goel-Rost teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 27. But Jiang-Goel failed to teach the claim limitation wherein receiving the time synchronization packet of the first clock source based on the first indication information, updating information carried in the time synchronization packet of the first clock source, and sending an updated time synchronization packet of the first clock source to an external device.
However, Rost teaches the limitation wherein receiving the time synchronization packet of the first clock source based on the first indication information, updating information carried in the time synchronization packet of the first clock source, and sending an updated time synchronization packet of the first clock source to an external device (Rost, page 3, paragraph 73; i.e., [0073] TSN delay parameters may be updated according to the actual load in the 3GPP network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang-Goel to substitute ingress or egress port from Rost for the port from Jiang-Goel to achieve deterministic data transmission with guaranteed low latency with time-aware devices (Rost, page 1, paragraph 7).
As to claim 32, Jiang-Goel-Rost teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 27, wherein generating the time synchronization packet of the first clock source based on the first indication information, and sending the time synchronization packet of the first clock source to an external device (Jiang, page 10, paragraph 93-95; i.e., [0094] In an implementation, the first node is the node that initiates clock synchronization detection, and the first synchronization detection request message includes the ID of the first node. That the second node sends the first synchronization detection response message to the node that initiates clock synchronization detection includes the following. The second node may send the first synchronization detection response message to the first node according to the ID of the first node).
As to claim 35, Jiang-Goel-Rost teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 27, wherein obtaining, from a positioning system based on the first indication information, time information for generating the time synchronization packet of the first clock source (Jiang, page 10, paragraph 93-95; i.e., [0095] In another implementation, if the first node is not the node that initiates clock synchronization detection, and a fourth node is the node that initiates clock synchronization detection, the first synchronization detection request message includes an ID of the fourth node, and the first synchronization detection response message includes the ID of the fourth node. That the second node sends the first synchronization detection response message to the node that initiates clock synchronization detection includes the following).
Claim(s) 17, 19-20 & 23 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 25, 27-28, 32 & 35. Therefore, claim(s) 17, 19-20 & 23 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 25, 27-28, 32 & 35.
Claim(s) 21-22 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 30-31. Therefore, claim(s) 21-22 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 30-31.
Claim(s) 37 & 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20180242267 A1 in view of Goel, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2019/0191403 A1, and Rost, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20210204172 A1, and further in view of Wang, US 2023/0069669 A1.
As to claim 37, Jiang-Goel-Rost teaches the method as recited in claim 17. But Jiang-Goel-Rost failed to teach the claim limitation wherein receiving the second indication information comprises receiving the second indication information from a network exposure function (NEF) entity.
However, Wang teaches the limitation wherein receiving the second indication information comprises receiving the second indication information from a network exposure function (NEF) entity (Wang, page 3, paragraph 36; i.e., [0036] network exposure function).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang-Goel-Rost to substitute SyncE from Wang for eMTC from Jiang-Goel-Rost to reduce the effect of network performance and increase efficiency of the battery performance of the terminal devices (Wang, page 1, paragraph 7).
Claim(s) 39 is/are directed to an apparatus claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 37. Therefore, claim(s) 39 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 37.
Claim(s) 38, 40-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20180242267 A1 in view of Goel, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2019/0191403 A1, and Rost, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20210204172 A1, and further in view of Fujioka, US 2014/0215566 A1.
As to claim 38, Jiang-Goel-Rost teaches the method as recited in claim 17. But Jiang-Goel-Rost failed to teach the claim limitation wherein receiving, by the network device, third indication information, wherein the third indication information requests to deactivate the time synchronization of the first clock source of the terminal device; generating, by the network device, fourth indication information based on the third indication information, wherein the fourth indication information indicates to the terminal device to enter a deactivation state of the time synchronization for the first clock source.
However, Goel teaches the limitation wherein send first indication information to the terminal device (Goel, page 4, paragraph 39; page 10, paragraph 95; i.e., [0039] For example, the base station may transmit a request message to a user equipment (UE) that starts the timing synchronization ( or update) procedure with the UE. The UE may receive the request message and then begin to search for and measure timing synchronization signals from the base station. The UE may then transmit a timing measurement signal to the base station and receive a timing update command from the base station; [0095] The UE(s) may receive the request message 405 and begin locating timing synchronization signal(s) on which to perform timing measurements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang to substitute packet core from Goel for packet network from Jiang to supporting communication for multiple communication devices, which may be otherwise known as user equipment (UE) (Goel, page 1, paragraph 3).
However, Fujioka teaches the limitation wherein receiving, by the network device, third indication information, wherein the third indication information requests to deactivate the time synchronization of the first clock source of the terminal device (Fujioka, page 2, paragraph 16; page 5, paragraph 84; i.e., [0016] the network terminating device through a transmission network, wherein the transmission network is connected to a reference clock that holds a reference time, the network terminating device includes a terminating internal clock that synchronizes with the reference clock; [0084] the request time information generation processing unit 120111 acquires the request time T is the latter method, the operation frequency of the hardware clock included in each network terminating device 120 is synchronized with the time synchronization reference clock); generating, by the network device, fourth indication information based on the third indication information, wherein the fourth indication information indicates to the terminal device to enter a deactivation state of the time synchronization for the first clock source device (Fujioka, page 2, paragraph 16; page 5, paragraph 84; i.e., [0016] the network terminating device through a transmission network, wherein the transmission network is connected to a reference clock that holds a reference time, the network terminating device includes a terminating internal clock that synchronizes with the reference clock; [0084] the request time information generation processing unit 120111 acquires the request time T is the latter method, the operation frequency of the hardware clock included in each network terminating device 120 is synchronized with the time synchronization reference clock).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang-Goel-Rost to substitute IEEE1588v2/PTP from Fujioka for sync topology from Jiang-Goel-Rost to provide a technique to issue and authenticate a high-accuracy and high-reliability authentication time (Fujioka, page 1, paragraph 10).
As to claim 41, Jiang-Goel-Rost teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 40. But Jiang-Goel-Rost failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the time synchronization packet of the first clock source is processed based on the fourth indication information by: stopping generating the time synchronization packet of the first clock source based on the fourth indication information; discarding the time synchronization packet of the first clock source based on the fourth indication information; transparently transmitting the time synchronization packet of the first clock source to an external device based on the fourth indication information; or stopping obtaining, from a positioning system based on the fourth indication information, time information for generating the time synchronization packet of the first clock source.
However, Fujioka teaches the limitation wherein the time synchronization packet of the first clock source is processed based on the fourth indication information by: stopping generating the time synchronization packet of the first clock source based on the fourth indication information (Fujioka, page 2, paragraph 16; page 5, paragraph 84; i.e., [0016] the network terminating device through a transmission network, wherein the transmission network is connected to a reference clock that holds a reference time, the network terminating device includes a terminating internal clock that synchronizes with the reference clock; [0084] the request time information generation processing unit 120111 acquires the request time T is the latter method, the operation frequency of the hardware clock included in each network terminating device 120 is synchronized with the time synchronization reference clock); discarding the time synchronization packet of the first clock source based on the fourth indication information; transparently transmitting the time synchronization packet of the first clock source to an external device based on the fourth indication information; or stopping obtaining, from a positioning system based on the fourth indication information, time information for generating the time synchronization packet of the first clock source.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang-Goel-Rost to substitute IEEE1588v2/PTP from Fujioka for sync topology from Jiang-Goel-Rost to provide a technique to issue and authenticate a high-accuracy and high-reliability authentication time (Fujioka, page 1, paragraph 10).
Claim(s) 40 is/are directed to an apparatus claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 38. Therefore, claim(s) 40 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 38.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument(s) filed 8/25/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues in substance that: A) with respect to claims 1 & 25; Rost fails to teach that "a time synchronization packet of the first clock source is transmitted in the first QoS flow" (page 9-10).
In response to A); Rost teaches the limitation wherein “the second indication information is configured to be used to process a first quality of service (QoS) flow, to obtain a processed first QoS flow, wherein the processed first QoS flow is used by the terminal device to transmit a time synchronization packet of the first clock source” (Rost, page 9, paragraph 188 & 191; page 11, paragraph 245; i.e., [0188] In TSN networks, TSN frames are transmitted in time cycles; [0191] the TSN Translator requests the establishment of PDU sessions and QoS flows with specific QoS requirements. QoS flows that will be needed for integration with TSN, can derive the maximum expected packet/frame size for each QoS flow; [0245] TSN traffic may use a particular ( e.g. newly defined) QoS profile (new 5QI) for TSN traffic, but also traffic from other networks (or applications) with similar QoS requirements). Clearly, transmitting the TSN using the QoS profile is equating to “to transmit a time synchronization packet”. Therefore, Rost meets the claim limitation.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Listing of Relevant Arts
Zhang, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US20220322254A1 discloses initiating time synchronization.
Wang, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2018/0205476 A1 discloses generate time synchronization message to the terminal.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416