DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the RCE filed on 2/3/26.
Claim(s) 18-36 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17, 19-20, 23, 25, 27-28, 32 & 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20180242267 A1 in view of Goel, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2019/0191403 A1.
As to claim 25, Jiang teaches an apparatus, comprising:
a transceiver, configured to:
receive second indication information, wherein the second indication information requests to activate time synchronization of a first clock source of a terminal device, or the second indication information requests to deactivate the time synchronization of the first clock source of the terminal device (Jiang, page 10, paragraph 93-95; i.e., [0094] In an implementation, the first node is the node that initiates clock synchronization detection, and the first synchronization detection request message includes the ID of the first node. That the second node sends the first synchronization detection response message to the node that initiates clock synchronization detection includes the following. The second node may send the first synchronization detection response message to the first node according to the ID of the first node); and
a processor, configured to generate the first indication information based on the second indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates to a terminal device to enter an activation state of time synchronization for a first clock source, or the first indication information indicates to a terminal device to enter a deactivation state of time synchronization for a first clock source (Jiang, page 10, paragraph 93-95; page 12, paragraph 119; i.e., [0095] In another implementation, if the first node is not the node that initiates clock synchronization detection, and a fourth node is the node that initiates clock synchronization detection, and the first synchronization detection response message includes the ID of the fourth node. That the second node sends the first synchronization detection response message to the node that initiates clock synchronization detection includes the following. The second node sends the first synchronization detection response message to the fourth node according to the ID of the fourth node that is included in the first synchronization detection request message; [0119] the first detection result is used to indicate a status of the clock synchronization path between the first node and the second node).
But Jiang failed to teach the claim limitation wherein send first indication information to the terminal device.
However, Goel teaches the limitation wherein send first indication information to the terminal device (Goel, page 4, paragraph 39; page 10, paragraph 95; i.e., [0039] For example, the base station may transmit a request message to a user equipment (UE) that starts the timing synchronization ( or update) procedure with the UE. The UE may receive the request message and then begin to search for and measure timing synchronization signals from the base station. The UE may then transmit a timing measurement signal to the base station and receive a timing update command from the base station; [0095] The UE(s) may receive the request message 405 and begin
locating timing synchronization signal(s) on which to perform timing measurements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang to substitute packet core from Goel for packet network from Jiang to supporting communication for multiple communication devices, which may be otherwise known as user equipment (UE) (Goel, page 1, paragraph 3).
As to claim 27, Jiang-Goel teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 25, wherein:
the first indication information comprises an identifier of the first clock source (Jiang, page 10, paragraph 93-95; i.e., [0094] In an implementation, the first node is the node that initiates clock synchronization detection, and the first synchronization detection request message includes the ID of the first node. That the second node sends the first synchronization detection response message to the node that initiates clock synchronization detection includes the following. The second node may send the first synchronization detection response message to the first node according to the ID of the first node).
As to claim 28, Jiang-Goel teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 25, wherein the first indication information further comprises: at least one of the following:
a port number of a first port, and the first port comprises a port allocated for transmitting a time synchronization packet of the first clock source; an identifier of the terminal device; or a first indication, wherein the first indication indicates the activation state, or the first indication indicates the deactivation state (Jiang, page 9, paragraph 86-88; i.e., [0086] the second synchronization type in the first synchronization detection request message and the port used to transmit a clock synchronization signal, a port used to transmit a time synchronization signal; [0087] generates a first synchronization detection response message according to the first synchronization detection request message, where the first synchronization detection response message includes clock topology information of the second node and the ID of the first node).
As to claim 32, Jiang-Goel teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 27, wherein generating the time synchronization packet of the first clock source based on the first indication information, and sending the time synchronization packet of the first clock source to an external device (Jiang, page 10, paragraph 93-95; i.e., [0094] In an implementation, the first node is the node that initiates clock synchronization detection, and the first synchronization detection request message includes the ID of the first node. That the second node sends the first synchronization detection response message to the node that initiates clock synchronization detection includes the following. The second node may send the first synchronization detection response message to the first node according to the ID of the first node).
As to claim 35, Jiang-Goel teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 27, wherein obtaining, from a positioning system based on the first indication information, time information for generating the time synchronization packet of the first clock source (Jiang, page 10, paragraph 93-95; i.e., [0095] In another implementation, if the first node is not the node that initiates clock synchronization detection, and a fourth node is the node that initiates clock synchronization detection, the first synchronization detection request message includes an ID of the fourth node, and the first synchronization detection response message includes the ID of the fourth node. That the second node sends the first synchronization detection response message to the node that initiates clock synchronization detection includes the following. The second node sends the first synchronization detection response message to the fourth node according to the ID of the fourth node that is included in the first synchronization detection request message).
Claim(s) 17, 19-20 & 23 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 25, 27-28, 32 & 35. Therefore, claim(s) 17, 19-20 & 23 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 25, 27-28, 32 & 35.
Claim(s) 18, 21-22, 24, 26, 29-31, 33-34 & 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20180242267 A1 in view of Goel, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2019/0191403 A1, and further in view of Rost, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20210204172 A1.
As to claim 26, Jiang-Goel teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 25. But Jiang-Goel failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the second indication information is configured to be used to process a first quality of service (QoS) flow, to obtain a processed first QoS flow, wherein the processed first QoS flow is used by the terminal device to transmit a time synchronization packet of the first clock source.
However, Rost teaches the limitation wherein the second indication information is configured to be used to process a first quality of service (QoS) flow, to obtain a processed first QoS flow, wherein the processed first QoS flow is used by the terminal device to transmit a time synchronization packet of the first clock source (Rost, page 11, paragraph 245; i.e., [0245] TSN traffic may use a particular ( e.g. newly defined) QoS profile (new 5QI) for TSN traffic, but also traffic from other networks (or applications) with similar QoS requirements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang-Goel to substitute ingress or egress port from Rost for the port from Jiang-Goel to achieve deterministic data transmission with guaranteed low latency with time-aware devices (Rost, page 1, paragraph 7).
As to claim 29, Jiang-Goel teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 27. But Jiang-Goel failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the first indication information comprises an identifier of a first application service entity, wherein the first application service entity is configured to provide a first service for the terminal device, and the first service is based on time synchronization of the first clock source.
However, Rost teaches the limitation wherein the first indication information comprises an identifier of a first application service entity, wherein the first application service entity is configured to provide a first service for the terminal device, and the first service is based on time synchronization of the first clock source (Rost, page 11, paragraph 244; i.e., [0244] contain the traffic identification, e.g. in the form of AF-Service-Identifier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang-Goel to substitute ingress or egress port from Rost for the port from Jiang-Goel to achieve deterministic data transmission with guaranteed low latency with time-aware devices (Rost, page 1, paragraph 7).
As to claim 30, Jiang-Goel teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 27. But Jiang-Goel failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the first clock source comprises a clock source of a time sensitive network (TSN).
However, Rost teaches the limitation wherein the first clock source comprises a clock source of a time sensitive network (TSN) (Rost, page 11, paragraph 245; i.e., [0245] TSN traffic may use a particular ( e.g. newly defined) QoS profile (new 5QI) for TSN traffic, but also traffic from other networks (or applications) with similar QoS requirements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang-Goel to substitute ingress or egress port from Rost for the port from Jiang-Goel to achieve deterministic data transmission with guaranteed low latency with time-aware devices (Rost, page 1, paragraph 7).
As to claim 31, Jiang-Goel teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 27. But Jiang-Goel failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the first clock source comprises a clock source of a fifth generation (5G) system or a sixth generation (6G) system.
However, Rost teaches the limitation wherein the first clock source comprises a clock source of a fifth generation (5G) system or a sixth generation (6G) system (Rost, page 11, paragraph 226; i.e., [0226] A 5G QoS Identifier (5QI)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang-Goel to substitute ingress or egress port from Rost for the port from Jiang-Goel to achieve deterministic data transmission with guaranteed low latency with time-aware devices (Rost, page 1, paragraph 7).
As to claim 33, Jiang-Goel teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 27. But Jiang-Goel failed to teach the claim limitation wherein receiving the time synchronization packet of the first clock source based on the first indication information, updating information carried in the time synchronization packet of the first clock source, and sending an updated time synchronization packet of the first clock source to an external device.
However, Rost teaches the limitation wherein receiving the time synchronization packet of the first clock source based on the first indication information, updating information carried in the time synchronization packet of the first clock source, and sending an updated time synchronization packet of the first clock source to an external device (Rost, page 3, paragraph 73; i.e., [0073] TSN delay parameters may be updated according to the actual load in the 3GPP network).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang-Goel to substitute ingress or egress port from Rost for the port from Jiang-Goel to achieve deterministic data transmission with guaranteed low latency with time-aware devices (Rost, page 1, paragraph 7).
As to claim 34, Jiang-Goel teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 27. But Jiang-Goel failed to teach the claim limitation wherein initiating establishment of a first quality of service flow (QoS flow) based on the first indication information, wherein the first QoS flow is used to transmit the time synchronization packet of the first clock source.
However, Rost teaches the limitation wherein initiating establishment of a first quality of service flow (QoS flow) based on the first indication information, wherein the first QoS flow is used to transmit the time synchronization packet of the first clock source (Rost, page 11, paragraph 245; i.e., [0245] TSN traffic may use a particular ( e.g. newly defined) QoS profile (new 5QI) for TSN traffic, but also traffic from other networks (or applications) with similar QoS requirements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang-Goel to substitute ingress or egress port from Rost for the port from Jiang-Goel to achieve deterministic data transmission with guaranteed low latency with time-aware devices (Rost, page 1, paragraph 7).
As to claim 36, Jiang-Goel teaches the apparatus as recited in claim 27. But Jiang-Goel failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the first indication information indicates to enter the deactivation state; and wherein a time synchronization packet of the first clock source is processed based on the first indication information by: stopping generating the time synchronization packet of the first clock source based on the first indication information; discarding the time synchronization packet of the first clock source based on the first indication information; transparently transmitting the time synchronization packet of the first clock source to an external device based on the first indication information; deleting a first quality of service (QoS) flow based on the first indication information, wherein the first QoS flow is used to transmit the time synchronization packet of the first clock source; or stopping obtaining, from a positioning system based on the first indication information, the time information for generating the time synchronization packet of the first clock source.
However, Rost teaches the limitation wherein indicates to enter the deactivation state; and wherein a time synchronization packet of the first clock source is processed based on the first indication information by: stopping generating the time synchronization packet of the first clock source based on the first indication information; discarding the time synchronization packet of the first clock source based on the first indication information; transparently transmitting the time synchronization packet of the first clock source to an external device based on the first indication information; deleting a first quality of service (QoS) flow based on the first indication information, wherein the first QoS flow is used to transmit the time synchronization packet of the first clock source; or stopping obtaining, from a positioning system based on the first indication information, the time information for generating the time synchronization packet of the first clock source (Rost, page 11, paragraph 243; i.e., [0243] The SMF, based on the policies can perform the according actions, e.g. modify or remove the QoS Flow).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Jiang-Goel to substitute ingress or egress port from Rost for the port from Jiang-Goel to achieve deterministic data transmission with guaranteed low latency with time-aware devices (Rost, page 1, paragraph 7).
Claim(s) 18, 21-22 & 24 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 26, 30-31 & 36. Therefore, claim(s) 18, 21-22 & 24 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 26, 30-31 & 36.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 17-36 has/have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Applicant’s arguments include the failure of previously applied art to expressly disclose “first indication information to the terminal device” (see Applicant’s response, 1/5/26, page 10-11). It is evident from the detailed mappings found in the above rejection(s) that Goel disclosed this functionality (see Goel, page 4, paragraph 39; page 10, paragraph 95). Further, it is clear from the numerous teachings (previously and currently cited) that the provision for “first indication information to the terminal device” was widely implemented in the networking art. Thus, Applicant’s arguments drawn toward distinction of the claimed invention and the prior art teachings on this point are not considered persuasive.
Listing of Relevant Arts
Zhang, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US20220322254A1 discloses initiating time synchronization.
Wang, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2018/0205476 A1 discloses generate time synchronization message to the terminal.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416