DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmidt (USP 9,510,525) in view of Warner (USP 3,147,922) in view of Miller et al. (USP 10,271,474).
With respect to claim 14, Schmidt disclose a method of distributing liquid fertilizer in an agricultural implement, the method comprising: providing, from a system source (10), liquid fertilizer through a conduit (12); pumping, with a positive displacement pump (20) operated by a motor (see column 4 line 43), the liquid fertilizer through an adjustable relief valve (30), said adjustable relief valve regulating the pressure of the liquid fertilizer in the system (see column 13 lines 10-19); monitoring, with a flowmeter (42), the flow of the liquid fertilizer after is has passed through the positive displacement pump (see column 6 lines 22-26); and distributing the liquid fertilizer at one or more row units of the agricultural implement (see figure 1). Schmidt disclose orifice outlets (see column 5 lines 24-36) positioned downstream the flowmeter (see figure 2), with respect to a direction of transport for the liquid fertilizer (see figure 2), for spraying the liquid fertilizer onto a field (see column 5 lines 34-44); wherein all orifice outlets for spraying the liquid fertilizer onto a field are in parallel with one another (see figure 2).
Schmidt discloses a variable degree of throttling but does not disclose that the adjustable relief valve is modulated with a spring. Warner disclose a valve modulated with a spring to represent pressure means which exerts a closing pressure on a ball (see column 3 lines 2-13). As both Schmidt and Warner disclose relief valves, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the valve in Schmidt with the valve having a spring as taught by Warner in order to allow control of the valve to remain open during normal operating pressure and close when a closing pressure is reached and provide controlled throttling between the opened and closed positions.
Schmidt in view of Warner does not disclose confirming, via a flow switch, the presence of the liquid fertilizer in the conduit. Miller et al. teaches using a flow switch to ensure water (which includes fertilizers) is flowing (see column 18 lines 9-37). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention to have modified the method of distributing fertilizer as taught by Schmidt by including a flow switch as taught by Miller et al. with a reasonable expectation of success in order to ensure that liquid is flowing in the system.
With respect to claim 15, Schmidt disclose further comprising controlling the liquid fertilizer from the system source with an electric ball valve (14, wherein Schmidt is silent as to the type of valve, however, it would have been obvious to have used the same type of valve for 14 as 30 for the purpose of saving time and money by using the same valve, which is an electric ball valve as modified by Warner) upstream of the positive displacement pump (see figure 1).
With respect to claim 16, Schimdt discloses further comprising filtering (13) the liquid fertilizer before and/or after pumping with the positive displacement pump (see figure 1).
With respect to claim 17, Schimdt disclose further comprising monitoring, with one or more pressure gauges (41), the pressure of the liquid fertilizer downstream of the positive displacement pump (see figure 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6, 8, 10-13, and 18-20 are allowed. As noted in the nonfinal rejection mailed 11/6/25, the prior art does not disclose a flow switch between the filter and positive displacement pump to confirm the presence of the liquid fertilizer in the conduit in combination with the other limitations of the amended independent claims 1 and 18.
Response to Arguments
With respect to claim 14, Applicant's arguments and amendments filed 2/6/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As noted above, Miller et al. teaches that flow switches are known in the art to confirm the presence of liquid in a conduit.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Nicole Coy/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3672