DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 11/12/2025 has been entered into the prosecution for the application. Currently claims 1-17 and 19-21 are pending with claims 15-17 and 20 withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-14 and 21 are pending examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0066556 of Herrington et al in view of US 10,730,125 of Forenz et al and US 3,421,997 of Williams. It is noted that Herrington is a CON of PCT/US21/28895 (which was filed on 4/23/21 and published on 12/2/2021) as well as provisional application 63/015419 which was filed on 4/24/2020 and fully supports the non-provisional application.
As to claim 1, Herrington teaches of a method for pulsed electrochemical machining of a workpiece (Herrington, [0003] and [0048]), the method comprising:
generating a pulsed current between an electrode of a tool body of a pECM machining assembly and the workpiece, the tool body defining a tool axis, and the electrode comprising an electrically conductive material and defining a working surface at a first end configured to face the workpiece (Herrington, [0040], [0044], [0048], [0053] – [0055], and Figs. 2A and 4);
delivering an electrolyte through a plurality of apertures in the working surface into an interelectrode gap between the working surface of electrode and a target surface of the workpiece, wherein the plurality of apertures fluidically couple to an electrolyte system (Herrington, [0040], [0048], [0053] – [0055], [0071] and Figs. 2A, 4 and 14);
and positioning the working surface of the electrode relative to the target surface of the workpiece to remove material from the target surface of the workpiece (Herrington, [0040], [0048], [0053] – [0055], [0071] and Figs. 2A, 4 and 14).
Herrington additionally teaches that the electrolyte flows to the holes from a single manifold (i.e. manifold block of the tool body) to the working surface of the electrode (Herrington, [0034], [0040] and Fig. 2A).
As seen in Figs. 4 and 2A, the tool body includes a tool axis, the electrode comprises a conductive material and defines a working surface of the electrode (202) to face the workpiece (220). As seen the electrolyte (216) is delivered to the interelectrode gap (218) from the plurality of apertures (210) of the electrode to the target surface of the workpiece for material removal. As in Fig. 14, the apertures are fluidically coupled to an electrolyte system (1402).
Herrington does not specifically teach the pulsed current is supplied by a pulsed direct current. Herrington also does not teach the baffle element.
Forenz teaches of electrochemical machining processes (Forenz, col 1 lines 61-65).
Forenz additionally teaches that known methods of pulse machining include utilizing a pulsed direct current source to control the pulsed current which allows for machining during the pulse on time (Forenz, col 8 lines 49-67).
As Herrington teaches utilizing a pulsed current (Herrington, [0048]), it would have been obvious to a person before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Herrington as per Forenz so as to specifically utilize a pulsed direct current source for supplying the pulsed current in performing the electrochemical machining process as desired.
As modified, Herrington in view of Forenz do not teach the baffle element.
Williams teaches to electrochemical machining of a metal workpiece (Williams, col 1 lines 19-42, col 1 line 54 thru col 2 line 15).
Williams additionally teaches that the electrolyte flow from a manifold block (343) through a baffle element defining a reservoir (355) which at least partially equalizes electrolyte pressure above a plurality of baffle element apertures (353) to deliver the electrolyte through the electrode to the target surface of the workpiece (Williams, col 18 lines 24-38 and Figs. 29 and 31).
As seen in Figs. 29 and 31, below, the cavity (347) within the electrode block (343) defines the manifold block. The electrolyte flows through holes (345) of the electrode assembly to the target surface of the workpiece. The holes (353) extend partway up the block where their upper ends are connected (i.e. forming a reservoir) with transversely extending manifolding passages (355) which reduce and tend to equalize the pressure drop for all the holes (353).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Herrington in view of Forenz as per Williams so as to utilize the desired baffle elements in order to reduce and equalize the pressure drop of the electrolyte within the tool body.
As to claims 2 and 3, Herrington in view of Forenz and Williams teach to the method of claim 1.
Herrington additionally teaches the electrode defines a first end defined by the working surface and a second end, such that each aperture corresponds to a channel extending from the first end through the electrode to the second end and such that each channel can deliver electrolyte to the interelectrode gap (Herrington, [0043], [0054] and Figs. 3A and 5).
As seen in Fig. 3A and 5, the electrode includes channels (510) from a second end of the electrode (514 side) to the first end of the electrode (502) towards the working surface such that electrolyte is delivered to the working surface of the electrode through the channels within the electrode.
As to claims 4 and 5, Herrington in view of Forenz and Williams teach to the method of claim 1.
Herrington additionally teaches a channel within the electrode is fluidically coupled to the manifold to an inlet of the electrode, thus to an electrolyte inlet and outlet of the manifold block (Herrington, [0034], [0040] and Fig. 4).
As to claims 6-8, Herrington in view of Forenz and Williams teach to the method of claim 1.
Herrington additionally teaches the electrode comprises a metal such that the electrode can be fully formed by additive manufacturing as a single piece (Herrington, [0035] and [0044]).
As to claim 9, Herrington in view of Forenz and Williams teaches to the method of claim 1.
Herrington additionally teaches and apertures are evenly distributed across the workpiece such that electrolyte is distributed through the apertures of the electrode (Herrington, [0068], [0071] and Figs. 12 and Fig. 14).
Herrington does not teach the baffle element.
Williams teaches to electrochemical machining of a metal workpiece (Williams, col 1 lines 19-42, col 1 line 54 thru col 2 line 15).
Williams additionally teaches that the electrolyte flow from a manifold block (343) through a baffle element which at least partially equalizes electrolyte pressure above a plurality of baffle element apertures (353) to uniformly deliver the electrolyte through the electrode to the target surface of the workpiece (Williams, col 18 lines 24-38 and Figs. 29 and 31).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Herrington in view of Forenz as per Williams so as to utilize the baffle element for equalization of the pressure of the electrolyte within the system in order to facilitate uniform electrolyte flow to the target surface of the workpiece.
As to claim 21, Herrington in view of Forenz and Williams teaches to the method of claim 1.
Herrington in view of Forenz do not teach the baffle element.
Williams teaches to electrochemical machining of a metal workpiece (Williams, col 1 lines 19-42, col 1 line 54 thru col 2 line 15).
Williams additionally provides that the manifold block provides a seal around the perimeter of the baffle elements to reduce and contain leakage of the electrolyte from the electrolyte manifold to the target surface of the workpiece (Williams, col 18 lines 25-43).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Herrington in view of Forenz as per Williams to provide a seal between the elements to facilitate movement of the electrolyte in the desired direction while minimizing leakage within the system.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herrington in view of Forenz and Williams as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 8,597,489 of Luo et al.
As to claim 13, Herrington in view of Forenz and Williams teach to the method of claim 1.
Herrington in view of Forenz and Williams do not teach forming a seal between the tool body and a flow block.
Luo teaches of electrochemical machining processes and the tool electrode utilized therein (Luo, col 2 lines 8-11).
Luo additionally teaches utilizing spacers, a flexible elastomeric backing and insulation to seal and thus prevent electrolyte leaks as well as facilitate the desired flow of the electrolyte in relation to the component being electrochemically machined (Luo, col 9 lines 1-20, col 15 lines 34-61 and Figs. 5, 12a and 12b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Herrington in view of Forenz and Williams as per Luo so as to utilize a sealing mechanism between the tool body and machining surface to facilitate electrolyte flow while preventing undesired leaks.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herrington in view of Forenz and Williams as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al “Electrochemical drilling with vacuum extraction of electrolyte” Journal of Materials Processing Technology, 210 (2010), p. 238-244.
As to claim 14, Herrington in view of Forenz and Williams teaches to the method of claim 1.
Herrington and Forenz and Williams do not teach pulling a vacuum through a channel in the electrode.
Wang teaches of electrochemical machining (Wang, p. 238 Introduction).
Wang additionally teaches the use of a vacuum through a channel within the electrode improves removal of products and the overall flow rate of the electrolyte at the working surface (Wang, p. 244 Conclusion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Herrington in view of Forenz and Williams as per Wang so as to pull a vacuum within a channel of the electrode to improve product removal and flow rate of the electrolyte at the working surface of the electrode during the electrochemical machining process.
Double Patenting
Claims 10-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,447,543 of Garner et al in view of 3,421,997 of Williams.
As to claims 10-12 of the current application, claim 16 of Garner teaches the method of pulsed electrochemical machining with the same context of electrode, tool body and apertures. Garner does not specifically claim the baffle assembly, however, this is obvious in view of Williams.
In specific to the electrolyte flow dynamics and area per unit of claims 10-12, these are the same as those described in claim 16 of Garner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The limitations defining the cross section area of central vs. perimeter portions as they relate to electrolyte flow overcomes the closest art of record.
With that said, as noted above, a terminal disclaimer must be filed in relation to US 12,447,543. While not identical, claims 10-12 are substantial duplicates of claims 16-18 of Garner such that that same and overlapping subject matter is claimed.
Conclusion
BRIAN W. COHEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759
/BRIAN W COHEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759