DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response filed on 05/26/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Claim Status
Claim 1, 3-4, 10, 12-13 and 19 are amended.
Claim 2, 11 and 20 are canceled.
No new claim is/are added.
Claims 1, 3-10 and 12-19 are pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s response has been fully considered. Below are applicant’s main arguments and examiner’s response to those arguments:
Applicant’s argument: (remark pages 8-10), filed on 05/26/2026, with respect to claims 1, 10 and 19, ‘Applicant has amended the independent claims to clarify certain features of the claims and to further distinguish the claims from the cited references … As noted in Table 1 and paragraph [0099], the remaining allowed usage data is stored in the UDR but Karampatsis does not disclose or suggest receiving the allowed usage from the second policy control function as is now recited in independent claims 1, 10, and 19, as now amended … Applicant therefore submits that the rejections of the independent claims under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are overcome and that the independent claims are in condition for allowance’.
Examiner’s response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, examiner would like to mention that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Combination of S2-2104319, TS23.503 and TS23.502 teaches allowed usage IE for H-PLMN scenario and V-PCF retrieves control policy from H-PCF (S2-2104319: [Figure 4.3.2.2.1-1]; [Page 10]. TS23.503: [Page 23]; [Page 82: Table 6.2-3] and [Page 107: Table 6.4-1]. TS23.502: [Page 400]; [Figure 4.16.11-1]; [Page 399]; [Page 400]). Karampatsis teaches extends allowed usage IE to include PLMN-ID for V-PLMN scenario (Karampatsis: [TABLE 1]; [0099]). Therefore, combination of S2-2104319, TS23.503, TS23.502 and Karampatsis teaches V-PCF to retrieve control policy including remaining allowed usage from home PCF/UDR with motivation to provide traffic policies to visited PLMN with local breakout by supporting usage monitoring for remaining allowed usage on roaming subscriber with local breakout (Karampatsis: [0065]), which teaches the subject matters as claimed. See the detailed Office Action bellow under 35 U.S.C. § 103 section.
Applicant’s arguments (remark pages 8-10), filed on 05/26/2026, with respect to claims 1, 3-10 and 12-19 have been considered but are not convincing, the claim rejections under 35 USC § 103 are not withdrawn.
This Office Action is made Final.
Claim Objection
Claims 1 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: line 18: “signaling” should read as “signal”, line 21: “receiving” should read as “receive”.
Claim 19: line 16: “signal” should read as “signaling”, line 19: “receive” should read as “receiving”.
Appropriate correction(s) is/are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-10 and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over S2-2104319, in view of TS23.503, in view of TS23.502, and in view of Karampatsis et al. (US 20240031231 A), hereinafter “Karampatsis”.
Per claim 1, 10 ad 19:
Regarding claim 1, S2-2104319 teaches ‘An apparatus for a first policy control function’ (S2-2104319: [Figure 4.3.2.2.1-1]: “PCF”, an apparatus for a policy control function); ‘the apparatus comprising: at least one processor’ (existence of processor for an apparatus is implied); ‘at least one memory’ (existence of memory for an apparatus is implied); ‘comprising code that, when executed by the at least one processor’ (this is implied);
‘causes the apparatus to:
receive, from a session management function, a request for a policy to be established for a session for a subscriber’ (S2-2104319: [Figure 4.3.2.2.1-1]: Step 7a, Step 7b, [Page 9]: “the SMF performs PCF selection ... The SMF may perform an SM Policy Association Establishment procedure as defined in clause 4.16.4 to establish an SM Policy Association with the PCF”, PCF may receive a request from SMF about a policy to be established for a session of a subscriber);
‘wherein the subscriber is subscribed in a second domain and the first policy control function is configured to operate in a first domain’ (S2-2104319: [Figure 4.3.2.2.1-1]: “roaming with local breakout”, the roaming subscriber with local break out may be subscriber from a different domain (subscriber’s HPLMN); [Page 15]: “In local breakout roaming, the V-PCF interacts with the UDR of the VPLMN”);
‘determine a policy for the requested session’ (S2-2104319: [Figure 4.16.5.1-1]: Step 4, [Page 16]: “The PCF makes a policy decision”);
‘signal the at least one trigger condition to the session management function’ (S2-2104319: [Figure 4.3.2.2.1-1]: Step 7b. [Page 9]: “The PCF may provide policy information defined in clause 5.2.5.4 (and in TS 23.503 [20]) to SMF”; [Page 15]: “a Policy Control Request Trigger condition”, may signal a trigger condition to SMF);
S2-2104319 does not expressly teach, but TS23.503 in the same field of endeavor teaches ‘the determined policy comprising an indication of an allowed usage for the subscriber and at least one trigger condition for the policy to be updated’ (TS23.503: [Page 82: Table 6.2-3]: “Remaining allowed usage subscription information”; [Page 9]: “Monitoring key: information used by the SMF and PCF for usage monitoring control purposes as a reference to a given set of service data flows or application (s), that all share a common allowed usage on a per UE and DNN basis”; [Page 84]: “For the purpose of usage monitoring control the PCF shall request the Usage report trigger”);
‘wherein the allowed usage is retrieved based on an identifier for the subscriber and an identifier for a network associated with the first policy control function’ (TS23.503: [Page 84]: “The PCF may receive usage monitoring related information per DNN and S-NSSAI combination and UE from the UDR … usage monitoring related information for Monitoring key(s) per DNN and S-NSSAI combination and UE may also be received from the UDR, together with the corresponding remaining allowed usage related information”, PCF retrieves allowed usage based on DNN (an identifier for a network associated with PCF) and a given UE). However, combination S2-2104319 and TS23.503 fails to expressly teach retrieve allowed usage based on an identifier for the subscriber;
‘monitor the allowed usage for the subscriber by updating the policy in response to receipt of an indication that the at least one trigger condition has been met’ (TS23.503: [Page 84]: “The PCF supports usage monitoring control for a PDU Session … Updating the remaining allowed usage after the SMF reporting, minimizes the risk of exceeding the usage allowance”);
‘wherein the at least one trigger condition comprises a reset of the allowed usage’ (TS23.503: [Page 82]: “The Reset period only applies to usage monitoring control instances that periodically reset the allowed usage”, trigger condition may comprise a reset of the allowed usage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine TS23.503’s teaching with that of S2-2104319 to conform to 3GPP specification on usage monitoring in order to promote collaboration and inter-operation.
TS23.502 in the same field of endeavor teaches PCF retrieves allowed usage based on SUPI (an identifier for the subscriber) and DNN (an identifier for a network) (TS23.502: [Page 385]: “If the PCF does not have the subscriber's subscription related information, it sends a request to the UDR by invoking Nudr_DM_Query (SUPI, DNN, S-NSSAI, Policy Data, PDU Session policy control data, Remaining allowed Usage data) service in order to receive the information related to the PDU Session”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine TS23.502’s teaching with that of combination of S2-2104319 and TS23.503 to conform to 3GPP specification in order to promote collaboration and inter-operation.
Combination of S2-2104319, TS23.503 and TS23.502 teaches ‘signaling, to a second policy control function that operates in the second domain, a request for the allowed usage’ (S2-2104319: [Figure 4.3.2.2.1-1]: “roaming with local breakout”; [Page 1]: “Update procedures of monitoring and enforcement of the Total Bandwidth per S-NSSAI that is performed aggregating the MBR allocated to each PDU session established in that S-NSSAI"; [Page 10]: “the behaviour of PCF for monitoring … is defined in TS 23.503”. TS23.503: [Page 23, lines 12-16]: “Interactions between V-PCF and H-PCF ... Relay of notification of changes from the V-PCF in the VPLMN to the H-PCF as defined in clause 4.16 of TS 23.502”; [Page 82: Table 6.2-3] and [Page 107: Table 6.4-1], the PCF usage monitoring for remaining allowed usage, but the Information Elements in Policy Data on usage monitoring for remaining allowed usage do not contain PLMN and so do not allow to monitor usage monitoring for roaming subscriber with local breakout by retrieving and updating remaining allowed usage from home PCF/UDR . TS23.502: [Figure 4.16.11-1]: step 3, [Page 400]: “The V-PCF forwards the information received from AMF in step 2 to the H-PCF”, V-PCF sends request to H-PCF). However, combination of S2-2104319, TS23.503 and TS23.502 fails to expressly teach the request includes the allowed usage;
‘the request comprising an identification of the subscriber and an identification of a data connectivity being requested’ (TS23.502: [Figure 4.16.11-1]: step 2, step 3, [Page 399]: “The AMF sends a Npcf UEPolicy Control Create Request with the following information: SUPI, … Serving Network (PLMN ID, or PLMN ID and NID)”; [Page 400]: “The V-PCF forwards the information received from AMF in step 2 to the H-PCF”);
‘receiving the allowed usage from the second policy control function’ (TS23.502: [Figure 4.16.11-1]: Step 4, [Page 400]: “The H-PCF sends a Npcf UEPolicy Control Create Response to the V-PCF. The H-PCF may provide the Policy Control Request Trigger parameters in the Npcf UEPolicy Control Create Response”, V-PCF receives a control policy from H-PCF). However, combination of S2-2104319, TS23.503 and TS23.502 fails to expressly teach the control policy including the allowed usage.
However, Karampatsis in the same field of endeavor teaches Policy Data with “Remaining allowed usage data” and “PLMN ID for the UDR in VPLMN” (Karampatsis: [TABLE 1]: “Remaining allowed usage data”, “PLMN ID (for the UDR in VPLMN)”; [0099]: “the Remaining allowed Usage data are described in 3GPP TS 23.503”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Karampatsis’s teaching with that of combination of S2-2104319, TS23.503 and TS23.502 for V-PCF to retrieve control policy including remaining allowed usage from home PCF/UDR, i.e., first PCF to signal, to a second policy control function that operates in the second domain, a request for the allowed usage, the request comprising an identification of the subscriber and an identification of a data connectivity being requested; and receive the allowed usage from the second policy control function, in order to provide traffic policies to visited PLMN with local breakout by supporting usage monitoring for remaining allowed usage on roaming subscriber with local breakout (Karampatsis: [0065]: “provide the traffic steering policies … to the visited PLMN (“VPLMN”) providing local breakout”).
Regarding claim 10, claim 10 recites the method implemented by the apparatus in claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 recites the memory and the method implemented by the apparatus in claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Per claim 3 and 12:
Regarding claim 3, combination of S2-2104319, TS23.503, TS53.502 and Karampatsis teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 1 (discussed above).
S2-2104319 does not expressly teach, but TS23.503 teaches ‘signal, to a data repository function configured to operate in the first domain, a request for the allowed usage’ (TS23.503: [Page 81: Table 6.2-2], [Page 82: Table 6.2-3], [Page 84]: “The PCF may receive usage monitoring related information per DNN and S-NSSAI combination and UE from the UDR … together with the corresponding remaining allowed usage related information”; [Page 84]: “Once the PCF receives a usage report from the SMF the PCF shall deduct the value of the usage report from the remaining allowed usage”; [Page 84]: “the PCF shall store the remaining allowed usage, i.e. the information about the remaining overall amount of resources, in the UDR”);
‘receive an indication from the data repository function that the allowed usage is not available at the data repository’, this is implicitly taught when UDR does not have the allowed usage date yet (discussed in element above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine TS23.503’s teaching with that of S2-2104319 to conform to 3GPP specification on usage monitoring in order to promote collaboration and inter-operation.
Combination of S2-2104319, TS23.503, TS23.502 and Karampatsis teaches ‘wherein said signaling to the second policy control function is performed in response to the received indication from the data repository function’ (this could be concluded from the last two elements of claim 1 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Karampatsis’s teaching with that of combination of S2-2104319, TS23.503 and TS23.502 for V-PCF to retrieve and update remaining allowed usage from home PCF/UDR, in another word, in order to provide traffic policies to visited PLMN with local breakout by supporting usage monitoring for remaining allowed usage on roaming subscriber with local breakout (Karampatsis: [0065]: “provide the traffic steering policies … to the visited PLMN (“VPLMN”) providing local breakout”).
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 recites the method implemented by the apparatus in claim 3 (see rejection of claim 3 above).
Per claim 4 and 13:
Regarding claim 4, combination of S2-2104319, TS23.503, TS53.502 and Karampatsis teaches the apparatus as claimed in claim 1 (discussed above).
S2-2104319 does not expressly teach, but TS23.503 teaches ‘an indication of a data network name and an indication of slice information associated with the session being provided’ (TS23.503: [Page 81: Table 6.2-2], [Page 82: Table 6.2-3], [Page 84]: “The PCF may receive usage monitoring related information per DNN and S-NSSAI combination and UE from the UDR … together with the corresponding remaining allowed usage related information”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine TS23.503’s teaching with that of S2-2104319 to conform to 3GPP specification on usage monitoring in order to promote collaboration and inter-operation.
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 recites the method implemented by the apparatus in claim 4 (see rejection of claim 4 above).
Per claim 5 and 14:
Regarding claim 5, combination of S2-2104319, TS23.503, TS23.502 and Karampatsis teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (discussed above).
S2-2104319 does not expressly teach, but TS23.503 teaches ‘signaling, to a data repository function that operates in the first domain, a request for a remaining amount of the allowed usage, the request comprising an identification of the subscriber’ (TS23.503: [Page 81: Table 6.2-2], [Page 82: Table 6.2-3], [Page 84]: “The PCF may receive usage monitoring related information per DNN and S-NSSAI combination and UE from the UDR … together with the corresponding remaining allowed usage related information”; [Page 84]: “Once the PCF receives a usage report from the SMF the PCF shall deduct the value of the usage report from the remaining allowed usage”; [Page 84]: “the PCF shall store the remaining allowed usage, i.e. the information about the remaining overall amount of resources, in the UDR”);
‘receiving an indication of the allowed usage from the data repository function’ (discussed in element above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine TS23.503’s teaching with that of S2-2104319 to conform to 3GPP specification on usage monitoring in order to promote collaboration and inter-operation.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 recites the method implemented by the apparatus in claim 5 (see rejection of claim 5 above).
Per claim 6 and 15:
Regarding claim 6, combination of S2-2104319, TS23.503, TS23.502 and Karampatsis teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (discussed above).
S2-2104319 does not expressly teach, but TS23.503 teaches ‘the indication of the allowed usage’ (TS23.503: [Page 81: Table 6.2-2], [Page 82: Table 6.2-3], [Page 84]: “The PCF may receive usage monitoring related information per DNN and S-NSSAI combination and UE from the UDR … together with the corresponding remaining allowed usage related information”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine TS23.503’s teaching with that of S2-2104319 to conform to 3GPP specification on usage monitoring in order to promote collaboration and inter-operation.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 recites the method implemented by the apparatus in claim 6 (see rejection of claim 6 above).
Per claim 7 and 16:
Regarding claim 7, combination of S2-2104319, TS23.503, TS23.502 and Karampatsis teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (discussed above).
Combination of S2-2104319 and TS23.503 teaches ‘receiving, from the session management function, an indication that the at least one trigger condition has been met’ (S2-2104319: [Figure 4.16.5.1-1]: Step 1. [Page 15]: “When a Policy Control Request Trigger condition is met the SMF requests to update (Npcf_SMPolicyControl_Update) the SM Policy Association and provides information on the conditions that have been met”);
‘signaling, to a data repository function configured to operate in the same domain as the first policy control function, a request to update a usage information for the subscriber that is stored by the data repository function’ (TS23.503: [Page 81: Table 6.2-2], [Page 82: Table 6.2-3], [Page 84]: “The PCF may receive usage monitoring related information per DNN and S-NSSAI combination and UE from the UDR … together with the corresponding remaining allowed usage related information”; [Page 84]: “Once the PCF receives a usage report from the SMF the PCF shall deduct the value of the usage report from the remaining allowed usage”; [Page 84]: “the PCF shall store the remaining allowed usage, i.e. the information about the remaining overall amount of resources, in the UDR”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine TS23.503’s teaching of usage monitoring with that of S2-2104319 to conform to 3GPP specification in order to promote collaboration and inter-operation.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 recites the method implemented by the apparatus in claim 7 (see rejection of claim 7 above).
Per claim 8 and 17:
Regarding claim 8, combination of S2-2104319, TS23.503, TS23.502 and Karampatsis teaches the apparatus of claim 7 (discussed above).
S2-2104319 does not expressly teach, but TS23.503 teaches ‘in response to receiving said indication that the at least one trigger condition has been met, retrieving information identifying a quantity of the allowed usage that is remaining following the trigger condition being met’ (TS23.503: [Page 81: Table 6.2-2], [Page 82: Table 6.2-3], [Page 84, lines 4-7]: “The PCF may receive usage monitoring related information per DNN and S-NSSAI combination and UE from the UDR … together with the corresponding remaining allowed usage related information”; [Page 84, lines 24-25]: “Once the PCF receives a usage report from the SMF the PCF shall deduct the value of the usage report from the remaining allowed usage”; [Page 84, lines 41-42]: “the PCF shall store the remaining allowed usage, i.e. the information about the remaining overall amount of resources, in the UDR”);
‘wherein said signaling the request to update the policy comprises a request to update the allowed usage’ (discussed in element above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine TS23.503’s teaching with that of S2-2104319 to conform to 3GPP specification on usage monitoring in order to promote collaboration and inter-operation.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 recites the method implemented by the apparatus in claim 8 (see rejection of claim 8 above).
Per claim 9 and 18:
Regarding claim 9, combination of S2-2104319, TS23.503, TS23.502 and Karampatsis teaches the apparatus of claim 1 (discussed above).
S2-2104319 teaches ‘wherein the first domain is a visited domain, and the second domain is a home domain for the subscriber’ (S2-2104319: [Figure 4.3.2.2.1-1]: “roaming with local breakout”; in roaming with local breakout, the serving network is V-PLMN and subscriber has its H-PLMN; [Page 15, lines 21-22]: “In local breakout roaming, the V-PCF interacts with the UDR of the VPLMN”).
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 recites the method implemented by the apparatus in claim 9 (see rejection of claim 9 above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/G.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2462
/KEVIN C. HARPER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462