Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “pneumatic system” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: pneumatic system in Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, Claim 9 recites the limitation “a drill tool”. It is unclear whether this is meant to be the same “drilling tool” set forth in Claim 1 or a separate one entirely. Appropriate correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-9 and 25-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang CN110695731 based upon a public use or sale or other public availability of the invention.
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses automatic drilling equipment for drilling notches in a plurality of trays, the equipment comprising: a drilling tool (Wang; 13; fig 5); and a tray base (Wang; 7; fig 4) configured to hold and move a plurality of trays on the tray base with respect to the drilling tool, said drilling tool configured to drill the plurality of trays to open a notch at the same position in each tray of the plurality of trays at the same time (Wang; base 7 configured to move relative to the drill assembly and drill assembly configured to drill into workpiece(s) that are on base, plurality of workpieces incorporated from CN207288941U as referenced by Wang; fig 1).
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses the automatic drilling equipment of claim 1 wherein the plurality of trays are packaging trays for failure chips (Wang is intended to drill into flat plate or tray like workpieces which constitutes a tray for the purposes of Claim 2).
The recitations of “are packaging trays for failure chips” are intended use limitations and as such are given no patentable weight. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See also MPEP 2115 which states that the material or article worked upon by the apparatus does not limit the apparatus and the fact that the cited apparatus is capable of performing work on a similar workpiece this limitation is met.
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses the automatic drilling equipment of claim 1 wherein the plurality of trays consists of four or more trays in a stack (Wang; base 7 and drill assembly 13 configured to drill into workpiece(s) that are on base, plurality of workpieces consisting of four workpieces incorporated from CN207288941U as referenced by Wang; fig 1). See also MPEP 2115 which states that the material or article worked upon by the apparatus does not limit the apparatus and the fact that the cited apparatus is capable of performing work on a similar workpiece this limitation is met.
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses the automatic drilling equipment of claim 1 wherein the tray base further includes at least one tray clamp for securing the plurality of trays on the tray base (Wang; 10; fig 4).
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses the automatic drilling equipment of claim 1 wherein the drilling tool includes a motor for driving a drilling process (Wang; 16; fig 5).
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses the automatic drilling equipment of claim 1 further comprising a vacuum cleaning tool for cleaning debris generated by the drilling tool during a drilling process of the plurality of trays (Wang; 22; fig 1).
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses the automatic drilling equipment of claim 1 wherein the tray base further includes a bearing tool for controlling the movement of the tray base (Wang; 2, 3, 6, and 5 are used to move base 7 in relation to 13; fig 1).
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses the automatic drilling equipment of claim 1 further including a pneumatic system for operating a drill tool (Wang; 14 is described as a pneumatic cylinder and is part of the drill assembly and contributes to the operation of said assembly; fig 5).
Regarding claim 25, Wang discloses an automatic drilling equipment for drilling notches in a plurality of trays, the equipment comprising: a drilling tool (Wang; 13; fig 5); and a tray base configured to hold and move a plurality of trays on the tray base with respect to the drilling tool (Wang; 7; fig 1), the tray base including a plurality of tray clamps (Wang; 10; fig 4) for securing the plurality of trays on the tray base, said drilling tool configured to drill the plurality of trays to open a notch at the same position in each tray of the plurality of trays at the same time (Wang; base 7 configured to move relative to the drill assembly and drill assembly configured to drill into workpiece(s) that are on base, plurality of workpieces incorporated from CN207288941U as referenced by Wang; fig 1).
Regarding claim 26, The automatic drilling equipment of claim 25 wherein the plurality of trays are packaging trays for failure chips (Wang is intended to drill into flat plate or tray like workpieces which constitutes a tray for the purposes of Claim 26).
The recitations of “are packaging trays for failure chips” are intended use limitations and as such are given no patentable weight. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997). See also MPEP 2115 which states that the material or article worked upon by the apparatus does not limit the apparatus and the fact that the cited apparatus is capable of performing work on a similar workpiece this limitation is met.
Regarding claim 27, The automatic drilling equipment of claim 25 wherein the plurality of trays consists of four or more trays in a stack (Wang; base 7 and drill assembly 13 configured to drill into workpiece(s) that are on base, plurality of workpieces consisting of four workpieces incorporated from CN207288941U as referenced by Wang; fig 1). See also MPEP 2115 which states that the material or article worked upon by the apparatus does not limit the apparatus and the fact that the cited apparatus is capable of performing work on a similar workpiece this limitation is met.
Regarding claim 28, The automatic drilling equipment of claim 25 wherein the drilling tool includes a motor for driving a drilling process (Wang; 16; fig 5).
Regarding claim 29, The automatic drilling equipment of claim 25 further comprising a vacuum cleaning tool for cleaning debris generated by the drilling tool during a drilling process of the plurality of trays (Wang; 22; fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang CN110695731 in view of Yang CN112828337.
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses the automatic drilling equipment of claim 4 wherein the at least one tray clamp is a plurality of tray clamps (Wang; 10; fig 4).
Wang does not explicitly disclose the tray clamps including a plurality of sensors configured to detect the presence of a loaded plurality of trays on the tray base.
Yang teaches the tray clamps including a plurality of sensors configured to detect the presence of a loaded plurality of trays on the tray base (Yang; pressure sensor 6; fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Wang to include pressure sensors in the clamping mechanism similar to those taught by Yang which Yang uses to automatically detect workpieces and further to stop the actuation of the clamping mechanisms.
Claim(s) 10, 12, 14 and 30-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang CN110695731 in view of Vatterott US20140015389.
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses the automatic drilling equipment in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Wang does not explicitly disclose the automatic drilling equipment further comprising a maintenance screen.
Vatterott teaches the automatic drilling equipment further comprising a maintenance screen (Vatterott; 48; fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Wang to include a maintenance screen such as the one taught by Vatterott which is used to “provide information on the process and to allow for interruptions of the mechanical processes” (section [0008]) and one skilled in the art would recognize the advantages this would provide to the device of Wang.
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses the automatic drilling equipment of claim.
Wang does not explicitly disclose the automatic drilling equipment further comprising an emergency stop button.
Vatterott teaches the automatic drilling equipment further comprising an emergency stop button (Vatterott; 78; fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Wang to include an emergency stop feature such as that of Vatterott which they use to prevent power from reaching any operative component of the control panel and further, is required by law in the United States.
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses the automatic drilling equipment of claim 1.
Wang does not explicitly disclose the automatic drilling equipment further comprising a reset button, a start button and a stop button.
Vatterott teaches the automatic drilling equipment further comprising a reset button, a start button and a stop button (Vatterott; part of panel 46; fig 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Wang to include the start, stop and restart buttons of Vatterott which are included in the main control value and provide an interface for the user to better control the machine system.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang CN110695731 in view of Jacot US20180222003.
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses the automatic drilling equipment of claim 1.
Wang does not explicitly disclose the automatic drilling equipment further comprising a status traffic light.
Jacot teaches the automatic drilling equipment further comprising a status traffic light (Jacot; warning light 142; fig 1)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Wang to include a status light system similar to that of Jacot which is used to alert the staff and make things more convenient to perceive and maintain (section [0046]).
Claim(s) 13, 15 and 30-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang CN110695731 in view of Tan CN113305634.
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses the automatic drilling equipment of claim 1.
Wang does not explicitly disclose the automatic drilling equipment further comprising access doors for shielding the drilling tool.
Tan teaches the automatic drilling equipment further comprising access doors for shielding the drilling tool (Tan; Access doors on 21; fig 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Wang to include an access door such as that of Tan which Tan uses to better contain chips and particles generated in the operation process of the machine.
Regarding claim 15, Wang discloses the automatic drilling equipment of claim 6.
Wang does not explicitly disclose the automatic drilling equipment further comprising a cabinet, an upper compartment of the cabinet containing the drilling tool and a lower compartment of the cabinet containing the vacuum cleaning tool.
Tan teaches the automatic drilling equipment further comprising a cabinet (Tan; 2; fig 1), an upper compartment of the cabinet containing the drilling tool (Tan; 21; fig 2) and a lower compartment of the cabinet containing the vacuum cleaning tool (Tan; 31; fig 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Wang to rearrange the location of Wang’s vacuum to be vertically aligned beneath the working area of the machine which would serve to allow for a smaller footprint and that Tan uses to better collect debris generated by the work being performed. See In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)
Regarding claim 30, Wang discloses automatic drilling equipment for drilling notches in a plurality of trays, the equipment comprising: a drilling tool (Wang; 13; fig 1); a tray base configured to hold and move a plurality of trays on the tray base with respect to the drilling tool (Wang; 7; fig 1), the tray base including a plurality of tray clamps for securing the plurality of trays on the tray base (Wang; 10; fig 4), said drilling tool configured to drill the plurality of trays to open a notch at the same position in each tray of the plurality of trays at the same time.
Wang does not explicitly disclose a cabinet including an upper compartment that contains the drilling tool and a lower compartment that contains a vacuum cleaning tool.
Tan teaches the automatic drilling equipment further comprising a cabinet (Tan; 2; fig 1), an upper compartment of the cabinet containing the drilling tool (Tan; 21; fig 2) and a lower compartment of the cabinet containing the vacuum cleaning tool (Tan; 31; fig 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Wang to rearrange the location of Wang’s vacuum to be vertically aligned beneath the working area of the machine which would serve to allow for a smaller footprint and that Tan uses to better collect debris generated by the work being performed. See In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975)
Regarding claim 31, Wang discloses the automatic drilling equipment of claim 30 wherein the tray base includes a bearing tool for controlling the movement of the tray base (Wang; movement is accomplished by components 3, 2, 5 and 6; fig 1).
Regarding claim 32, The automatic drilling equipment of claim 30 wherein the drilling tool includes a motor for driving a drilling process (Wang; 16; fig 5).
Regarding claim 33, Wang discloses the automatic drilling equipment of claim 30.
Wang does not explicitly disclose the automatic drilling equipment further comprising access doors for shielding the drilling tool.
Tan teaches the automatic drilling equipment further comprising access doors for shielding the drilling tool (Tan; Access doors on 21; fig 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Wang to include an access door such as that of Tan which Tan uses to better contain chips and particles generated in the operation process of the machine.
Conclusion
/D.J.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3722
/ADAM J EISEMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724