Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8, and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 8-11, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagh et al. US 20130318264 A1 (Domestic Priority May 22, 2012) in view of Nagapudi et al. US 20110078299 A1 (Domestic Priority September 30, 2009).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Wagh discloses an apparatus comprising: an interface comprising circuitry configured to convey an indication (see, transaction layer provides an interface between a device's processing circuitry and the interconnect architecture, such as a data link layer and a physical layer, section 0026), via a sideband channel (see, a consolidated sideband mechanism that can be used for link management, section 0082), responsive to receipt of a first packet (see, first transaction associated with a packetizing operation to provide a data link layer packet to a PHY, section 0095); control circuitry configured to: receive the indication via the sideband channel (see, sending and receiving of a configuration ready indication via the sideband interconnect, section 0070), the indication comprising data usable to determine a destination of the packet; cause at least one client of a plurality of clients to be wakened to process the packet, responsive to the packet being destined for the client; and process the packet without causing a client of the plurality of clients to be wakened, responsive to the packet being destined for the control circuitry.
Wagh discloses all the claim limitations but fail to disclose: receive the indication via the sideband channel (see, sending and receiving of a configuration ready indication via the sideband interconnect, section 0070), the indication comprising data usable to determine a destination of the packet; cause at least one client of a plurality of clients to be wakened to process the packet, responsive to the packet being destined for the client; and process the packet without causing a client of the plurality of clients to be wakened, responsive to the packet being destined for the control circuitry.
However Nagapudi from a similar filed of endeavor discloses: receive the indication via the sideband channel, the indication comprising data usable to determine a destination of the packet (see, destination address field associated with a packet that can point a packet towards a baseboard management controller (BMC), section 0032 Nagapudi; noted, a packet addressed to the BMC can be passed to the sideband interface, which, in turn, can pass the entire packet to the BMC, section 0034 Nagapudi); cause at least one client of a plurality of clients to be wakened to process the packet, responsive to the packet being destined for the client (see, wake-on-LAN modules include hardware that listens to incoming packets for a wake-up packet or a so called magic packet where it processes the packets according to data stored in the packet to carry out configuration functions, sections 0029-0030 Nagapudi; noted, destination address field associated with a packet that can point a packet towards a baseboard management controller (BMC), section 0032 Nagapudi); and process the packet without causing a client of the plurality of clients to be wakened, responsive to the packet being destined for the control circuitry (see, when WOL receives valid magic packets, it notifies the power management module, which, in turn, can wake up, i.e., restore power supply to the core logic, section 0029 Nagapudi; noted, destination address field associated with a packet that can point a packet towards a baseboard management controller (BMC), section 0032 Nagapudi).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the sideband of Wagh with the destination address of packets of Nagapudi. The motivation would have been to improve management of a converged network adapter in sleep mode.
Regarding claim 2 (Previously Presented), Wagh discloses the apparatus as recited in claim 1, wherein sideband channel is a lower speed (see, sideband interconnect (can be implemented as a low speed in-band signaling mechanism such as available using an M-PHY in a low power pulse width modulation (PWM) mode, section 0084; noted, a first physical unit may be a low power PHY unit that in one embodiment may correspond to an M-PHY in accordance with the MIPI specification to provide communication via a primary interconnect where a sideband (SB) PHY unit may be present, section 0033) and lower power channel (see, low power PHY, which can be a given low power PHY either developed specially or adapted from another PHY such as an M-PHY, can provide for processing of the packetized data for communication along interconnect, section 0029; noted, a first physical unit may be a low power PHY unit that in one embodiment may correspond to an M-PHY in accordance with the MIPI specification to provide communication via a primary interconnect where a sideband (SB) PHY unit may be present, section 0033) than a high-speed communication channel (see, the higher speed (and greater power consuming) circuitry of the physical layer for the primary interconnect, section 0082) used to convey the first packet (see, in-band high speed signaling mechanism such as physical layer ordered sets or DLLPs, section 0084; noted, signals can be communicated via a single packet in which each of these signals can correspond to an indicator or field of the packet, section 0089).
Regarding claim 3 (Previously Presented), Wagh discloses the apparatus as recited in claim 2, wherein control circuitry utilizes an always-on power domain (see, the active state, stall, or low power state associated with control by the host, sections 0089-0091).
Regarding claim 4 (Previously Presented), Wagh discloses the apparatus as recited in claim 2, wherein, when transitioning from an idle state, the sideband channel does not require training (see, sideband channel may be used to signal exit from electrical idle state, section 0060; noted, training ordered sets of electrical idle ordered set can be ignored, section 0058).
Regarding claim 8 (Currently Amended), Wagh discloses a method, comprising: receiving, by circuitry of a processing node, an indication (see, transaction layer provides an interface between a device's processing circuitry and the interconnect architecture, such as a data link layer and a physical layer, section 0026) of a first packet (see, first transaction associated with a packetizing operation to provide a data link layer packet to a PHY, section 0095) via a sideband channel (see, a consolidated sideband mechanism that can be used for link management, section 0082), the indication comprising data usable to determine a destination of the first packet; causing, by the circuitry, at least one client of a plurality of clients identified as being a destination of the packet to be wakened to process the packet, responsive to the packet being destined for the client; and processing, by the circuitry, the packet without causing a client of the plurality of clients to be wakened, responsive to the packet being destined for the control circuitry.
Wagh discloses all the claim limitations but fail to disclose: an indication of a first packet via a sideband channel (see, a consolidated sideband mechanism that can be used for link management, section 0082), the indication comprising data usable to determine a destination of the first packet; causing, by the circuitry, at least one client of a plurality of clients identified as being a destination of the packet to be wakened to process the packet, responsive to the packet being destined for the client; and processing, by the circuitry, the packet without causing a client of the plurality of clients to be wakened, responsive to the packet being destined for the control circuitry.
However Nagapudi from a similar filed of endeavor discloses: an indication of a first packet via a sideband channel, the indication comprising data usable to determine a destination of the first packet (see, destination address field associated with a packet that can point a packet towards a baseboard management controller (BMC), section 0032 Nagapudi; noted, a packet addressed to the BMC can be passed to the sideband interface, which, in turn, can pass the entire packet to the BMC, section 0034 Nagapudi); causing, by the circuitry, at least one client of a plurality of clients identified as being a destination of the packet to be wakened to process the packet, responsive to the packet being destined for the client (see, wake-on-LAN modules include hardware that listens to incoming packets for a wake-up packet or a so called magic packet where it processes the packets according to data stored in the packet to carry out configuration functions, sections 0029-0030 Nagapudi; noted, destination address field associated with a packet that can point a packet towards a baseboard management controller (BMC), section 0032 Nagapudi); and processing, by the circuitry, the packet without causing a client of the plurality of clients to be wakened, responsive to the packet being destined for the control circuitry (see, when WOL receives valid magic packets, it notifies the power management module, which, in turn, can wake up, i.e., restore power supply to the core logic, section 0029 Nagapudi; noted, destination address field associated with a packet that can point a packet towards a baseboard management controller (BMC), section 0032 Nagapudi).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the sideband of Wagh with the destination address of packets of Nagapudi. The motivation would have been to improve management of a converged network adapter in sleep mode.
Regarding claim 9 (Previously Presented), Wagh discloses the method as recited in claim 8, wherein the sideband channel is a lower speed (see, sideband interconnect (can be implemented as a low speed in-band signaling mechanism such as available using an M-PHY in a low power pulse width modulation (PWM) mode, section 0084; noted, a first physical unit may be a low power PHY unit that in one embodiment may correspond to an M-PHY in accordance with the MIPI specification to provide communication via a primary interconnect where a sideband (SB) PHY unit may be present, section 0033) and lower power channel (see, low power PHY, which can be a given low power PHY either developed specially or adapted from another PHY such as an M-PHY, can provide for processing of the packetized data for communication along interconnect, section 0029; noted, a first physical unit may be a low power PHY unit that in one embodiment may correspond to an M-PHY in accordance with the MIPI specification to provide communication via a primary interconnect where a sideband (SB) PHY unit may be present, section 0033) than a high-speed communication channel (see, the higher speed (and greater power consuming) circuitry of the physical layer for the primary interconnect, section 0082) used to convey the first packet (see, in-band high speed signaling mechanism such as physical layer ordered sets or DLLPs, section 0084; noted, signals can be communicated via a single packet in which each of these signals can correspond to an indicator or field of the packet, section 0089).
Regarding claim 10 (Previously Presented), Wagh discloses the method as recited in claim 9, wherein the circuitry utilizing an always-on power domain (see, the active state, stall, or low power state associated with control by the host, sections 0089-0091).
Regarding claim 11 (Previously Presented), Wagh discloses the method as recited in claim 9, further comprising transitioning the sideband channel from an idle state, without performing training steps (see, sideband channel may be used to signal exit from electrical idle state, section 0060; noted, training ordered sets of electrical idle ordered set can be ignored, section 0058).
Regarding claim 15 (Currently Amended), Wagh discloses a computing system comprising: local area network circuitry (see, wireless local area network (WLAN) transceiver present as circuitry, section 0108); and a processing node comprising a manageability module circuit (MPC) and a plurality of clients, each comprising circuitry for processing tasks (see, wireless local area network (WLAN) transceiver present as circuitry which may be coupled to processor, section 0108); and wherein the MPC is configured to: receive an indication (see, transaction layer provides an interface between a device's processing circuitry and the interconnect architecture, such as a data link layer and a physical layer, section 0026) via a sideband channel (see, a consolidated sideband mechanism that can be used for link management, section 0082), responsive to a first packet (see, first transaction associated with a packetizing operation to provide a data link layer packet to a PHY, section 0095) received via the local area network circuitry (see, wireless local area network (WLAN) transceiver present as circuitry, section 0108), the indication comprising data usable to determine a destination of the packet; cause at least one client of a plurality of clients identified as being a destination of the packet to be wakened to process the packet, responsive to the packet being destined for the client; and process the packet without causing a client of the plurality of clients to be wakened, responsive to the packet being destined for the control circuitry.
Wagh discloses all the claim limitations but fail to disclose: receive an indication (see, transaction layer provides an interface between a device's processing circuitry and the interconnect architecture, such as a data link layer and a physical layer, section 0026) via a sideband channel (see, a consolidated sideband mechanism that can be used for link management, section 0082), responsive to a first packet (see, first transaction associated with a packetizing operation to provide a data link layer packet to a PHY, section 0095) received via the local area network circuitry (see, wireless local area network (WLAN) transceiver present as circuitry, section 0108), the indication comprising data usable to determine a destination of the packet; cause at least one client of a plurality of clients identified as being a destination of the packet to be wakened to process the packet, responsive to the packet being destined for the client; and process the packet without causing a client of the plurality of clients to be wakened, responsive to the packet being destined for the control circuitry.
However Nagapudi from a similar filed of endeavor discloses: receive an indication via a sideband channel, responsive to a first packet received via the local area network circuitry, the indication comprising data usable to determine a destination of the packet (see, destination address field associated with a packet that can point a packet towards a baseboard management controller (BMC), section 0032 Nagapudi; noted, a packet addressed to the BMC can be passed to the sideband interface, which, in turn, can pass the entire packet to the BMC, section 0034 Nagapudi); cause at least one client of a plurality of clients identified as being a destination of the packet to be wakened to process the packet, responsive to the packet being destined for the client (see, wake-on-LAN modules include hardware that listens to incoming packets for a wake-up packet or a so called magic packet where it processes the packets according to data stored in the packet to carry out configuration functions, sections 0029-0030 Nagapudi; noted, destination address field associated with a packet that can point a packet towards a baseboard management controller (BMC), section 0032 Nagapudi); and process the packet without causing a client of the plurality of clients to be wakened, responsive to the packet being destined for the control circuitry (see, when WOL receives valid magic packets, it notifies the power management module, which, in turn, can wake up, i.e., restore power supply to the core logic, section 0029 Nagapudi; noted, destination address field associated with a packet that can point a packet towards a baseboard management controller (BMC), section 0032 Nagapudi).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the sideband of Wagh with the destination address of packets of Nagapudi. The motivation would have been to improve management of a converged network adapter in sleep mode.
Regarding claim 16 (Original), Wagh discloses the computing system as recited in claim 15, further comprising a sideband communication channel between the MPC and the local area network circuitry (see, wireless local area network (WLAN) transceiver present as circuitry, section 0108), wherein the MPC is further configured to communicate with the local area network circuitry through the sideband communication channel that is a lower speed (see, sideband interconnect (can be implemented as a low speed in-band signaling mechanism such as available using an M-PHY in a low power pulse width modulation (PWM) mode, section 0084; noted, a first physical unit may be a low power PHY unit that in one embodiment may correspond to an M-PHY in accordance with the MIPI specification to provide communication via a primary interconnect where a sideband (SB) PHY unit may be present, section 0033) and lower power channel (see, low power PHY, which can be a given low power PHY either developed specially or adapted from another PHY such as an M-PHY, can provide for processing of the packetized data for communication along interconnect, section 0029; noted, a first physical unit may be a low power PHY unit that in one embodiment may correspond to an M-PHY in accordance with the MIPI specification to provide communication via a primary interconnect where a sideband (SB) PHY unit may be present, section 0033) than a high-speed communication channel (see, the higher speed (and greater power consuming) circuitry of the physical layer for the primary interconnect, section 0082) between the local area network circuitry and the processing node (see, wireless local area network (WLAN) transceiver present as circuitry which may be coupled to processor, section 0108).
Regarding claim 17 (Original), Wagh discloses the computing system as recited in claim 16, wherein each of the MPC and a packet processing circuit of the local area network circuitry utilizes an always-on power domain (see, the active state, stall, or low power state associated with control by the host, sections 0089-0091).
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagh et al. US 20130318264 A1 (Domestic Priority May 22, 2012) in view of Nagapudi et al. US 20110078299 A1 (Domestic Priority September 30, 2009), and in view of Kobayashi et al. US 20050066085 A1 (Domestic Priority May 1, 2003).
The combination of Wagh and Nagapudi discloses all the claim limitations but fail to disclose: Regarding claim 5 (Previously Presented), the apparatus as recited in claim 4, wherein when transitioning from an idle state, the high-speed communication channel requires training.
However Kobayashi from a similar filed of endeavor discloses: the apparatus as recited in claim 4, wherein when transitioning from an idle state, the high-speed communication channel requires training (see, highest link speed needs to be trained with sets of training packets and training is repeated until successful, section 0094 Kobayashi; noted, idle period associated with link traffic and link data stream, section 0072, 0083 Kobayashi).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Wagh and Nagapudi with the link data of Kobayashi. The motivation would have been to improve transferring the multimedia data packet stream in accordance with a link rate.
The combination of Wagh and Nagapudi discloses all the claim limitations but fail to disclose: Regarding claim 12 (Previously Presented), the method as recited in claim 9, wherein transitioning the high-speed communication channel from an idle state requires training.
However Kobayashi from a similar filed of endeavor discloses: the method as recited in claim 9, wherein transitioning the high-speed communication channel from an idle state requires training (see, highest link speed needs to be trained with sets of training packets and training is repeated until successful, section 0094 Kobayashi; noted, idle period associated with link traffic and link data stream, section 0072, 0083 Kobayashi).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Wagh and Nagapudi with the link data of Kobayashi. The motivation would have been to improve transferring the multimedia data packet stream in accordance with a link rate.
Claims 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagh et al. US 20130318264 A1 (Domestic Priority May 22, 2012) in view of Nagapudi et al. US 20110078299 A1 (Domestic Priority September 30, 2009), and in view of Salmonsen et al. US 20060026162 A1 (Domestic Priority July 19, 2004).
The combination of Wagh and Nagapudi discloses all the claim limitations but fail to disclose: Regarding claim 6 (Previously Presented), the apparatus as recited in claim 2, wherein: the control circuitry is further configured to send, via the sideband channel, a response based on processing of the first packet by the control circuitry while each of the plurality of clients remains in an idle state; and the first packet is a remote monitoring packet requesting diagnostic information from one or more of the plurality of clients.
However Salmonsen from a similar filed of endeavor discloses: the apparatus as recited in claim 2, wherein: the control circuitry is further configured to send, via the channel, a response (see, reply packet sent in response to a request, section 0113 Salmonsen) based on processing of the first packet (see, the first arbitration packet that is processed with an algorithm, section 0115 Salmonsen) by the control circuitry while each of the plurality of clients remains in an idle state (see, the use of a media tree that is replaced only after all clients go into an idle state, sections 0071-0073 Salmonsen); and the first packet is a remote monitoring packet (see, a secondary server that sends arbitration packets to a primary server that the secondary server monitors, section 0113 Salmonsen) requesting diagnostic information from one or more of the plurality of clients (see, client supplies a real-time configurable diagnostic stream to a client console and can use a diagnostic command shell with an extensive command set, enabling multiple diagnostic tests, section 0043 Salmonsen).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Wagh and Nagapudi with the packets of Salmonsen. The motivation would have been to improve configuring a user interface that enables selection and access of the content.
The combination of Wagh and Nagapudi discloses all the claim limitations but fail to disclose: Regarding claim 13 (Previously Presented), the method as recited in claim 9, wherein the first packet is a remote monitoring packet requesting diagnostic information from one or more of the plurality of clients.
However Salmonsen from a similar filed of endeavor discloses: the method as recited in claim 9, wherein the first packet (see, the first arbitration packet that is processed with an algorithm, section 0115 Salmonsen) is a remote monitoring packet (see, a secondary server that sends arbitration packets to a primary server that the secondary server monitors, section 0113 Salmonsen) requesting diagnostic information from one or more of the plurality of clients (see, client supplies a real-time configurable diagnostic stream to a client console and can use a diagnostic command shell with an extensive command set, enabling multiple diagnostic tests, section 0043 Salmonsen).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Wagh and Nagapudi with the packets of Salmonsen. The motivation would have been to improve configuring a user interface that enables selection and access of the content.
The combination of Wagh and Nagapudi discloses all the claim limitations but fail to disclose: Regarding claim 20 (Original), the computing system as recited in claim 16, wherein: the MPC is further configured to send, via the sideband communication channel, a response to the local area network circuitry based on processing of the first packet by the MPC while each of the plurality of clients of the processing node remains in an idle state; and the first packet is a remote monitoring packet requesting diagnostic information from one or more of the plurality of clients of the processing node.
However Salmonsen from a similar filed of endeavor discloses: the computing system as recited in claim 16, wherein: the MPC is further configured to send, via the sideband communication channel, a response (see, reply packet sent in response to a request, section 0113 Salmonsen) to the local area network circuitry based on processing of the first packet (see, the first arbitration packet that is processed with an algorithm, section 0115 Salmonsen) by the MPC while each of the plurality of clients of the processing node remains in an idle state (see, the use of a media tree that is replaced only after all clients go into an idle state, sections 0071-0073 Salmonsen); and the first packet is a remote monitoring packet (see, a secondary server that sends arbitration packets to a primary server that the secondary server monitors, section 0113 Salmonsen) requesting diagnostic information from one or more of the plurality of clients of the processing node (see, client supplies a real-time configurable diagnostic stream to a client console and can use a diagnostic command shell with an extensive command set, enabling multiple diagnostic tests, section 0043 Salmonsen).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Wagh and Nagapudi with the packets of Salmonsen. The motivation would have been to improve configuring a user interface that enables selection and access of the content.
Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagh et al. US 20130318264 A1 (Domestic Priority May 22, 2012) in view of Nagapudi et al. US 20110078299 A1 (Domestic Priority September 30, 2009), and in view of Wu et al. US 20080195719 A1 (Domestic Priority February 12, 2007).
The combination of Wagh and Nagapudi discloses all the claim limitations but fail to disclose: Regarding claim 7 (Previously Presented), the apparatus as recited in claim 2, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to access local memory for processing the first packet, thereby allowing a system memory to remain in an idle state.
However Wu from a similar filed of endeavor discloses: the apparatus as recited in claim 2, wherein the control circuitry is further configured to access local memory for processing the first packet, thereby allowing a system memory to remain in an idle state (see, processor of processor node may broadcast a first memory request packet, section 0079 Wu; noted, if sufficient local memory is available, the processor may allocate local memory to the process, section 0008 Wu; noted, memory controller configured to control access to memory can be implemented on one or more integrated circuits or printed circuit boards, section 0040 Wu).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Wagh and Nagapudi with the packets of Wu. The motivation would have been to improve transporting in systems with an unreliable underlying transport layer.
The combination of Wagh and Nagapudi discloses all the claim limitations but fail to disclose: Regarding claim 14 (Previously Presented), the method as recited in claim 9, further comprising further comprising accessing local memory to process the first packet, thereby allowing a system memory to remain in an idle state.
However Wu from a similar filed of endeavor discloses: the method as recited in claim 9, further comprising further comprising accessing local memory to process the first packet, thereby allowing a system memory to remain in an idle state (see, processor of processor node may broadcast a first memory request packet, section 0079 Wu; noted, if sufficient local memory is available, the processor may allocate local memory to the process, section 0008 Wu; noted, memory controller configured to control access to memory can be implemented on one or more integrated circuits or printed circuit boards, section 0040 Wu).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Wagh and Nagapudi with the packets of Wu. The motivation would have been to improve transporting in systems with an unreliable underlying transport layer.
The combination of Wagh and Nagapudi discloses all the claim limitations but fail to disclose: Regarding claim 19 (Original), the computing system as recited in claim 16, further comprising local memory, wherein the MPC is further configured to access the local memory for processing the first packet in place of accessing system memory of the processing node.
However Wu from a similar filed of endeavor discloses: the computing system as recited in claim 16, further comprising local memory, wherein the MPC is further configured to access the local memory for processing the first packet in place of accessing system memory of the processing node (see, processor of processor node may broadcast a first memory request packet, section 0079 Wu; noted, if sufficient local memory is available, the processor may allocate local memory to the process, section 0008 Wu; noted, memory controller configured to control access to memory can be implemented on one or more integrated circuits or printed circuit boards, section 0040 Wu).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Wagh and Nagapudi with the packets of Wu. The motivation would have been to improve transporting in systems with an unreliable underlying transport layer.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagh et al. US 20130318264 A1 (Domestic Priority May 22, 2012) in view of Nagapudi et al. US 20110078299 A1 (Domestic Priority September 30, 2009), and in view of.
The combination of Wagh and Nagapudi discloses all the claim limitations but fail to disclose: Regarding claim 18 (Original), the computing system as recited in claim 16, further comprising a sideband input/output interface configured to communicate with the local area network circuitry through the sideband communication channel, wherein the sideband input/output interface is not configured to perform lane training.
However Ranganathan from a similar filed of endeavor discloses: the computing system as recited in claim 16, further comprising a sideband input/output interface fig. 2, sideband PHY unit may provide for communication via a sideband interconnect 270, section 0033 Ranganathan; noted, interconnect can be described as a load/store input/output (IO) interconnect system/technology, sections 0004, 0015 Ranganathan) configured to communicate with the local area network circuitry through the sideband communication channel (see, sideband channel may be used to signal exit from electrical idle, section 0060 Ranganathan), wherein the sideband input/output interface is not configured to perform lane training (fig. 2, this consolidated sideband mechanism can be used before training of the primary interconnect, section 0082 Ranganathan) (fig. 2, sideband PHY unit may provide for communication via a sideband interconnect 270, section 0033 Ranganathan; noted, interconnect can be described as a load/store input/output (IO) interconnect system/technology, sections 0004, 0015 Ranganathan; noted: it is possible to provide multiple low power PHYs to enable higher rates of data communication, e.g., via multiple channels, where each channel is associated with an independent PHY, section 0039 Ranganathan).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Wagh and Nagapudi with the sideband communication of Ranganathan. The motivation would have been to include aspects of sideband communication into a computing system and its clients.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK YIPAO PEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473