DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (PG Pub 20200373901).
Considering claim 1, Liu (Figure 1) teaches bulk acoustic wave resonator having a central region (150 + paragraph 0036), a first outer region (area between 140 and 160), and a first raised frame region (160 + (left side) paragraph 0036) between the central region and the first outer region, a second outer region (area between 145 and 160), and a second raised frame region (160 (right side) + paragraph 0036) between the central region and the second outer region the bulk acoustic resonator comprising: a piezoelectric layer (115 + paragraph 0035); a top electrode (120 + paragraph 0035) over the piezoelectric layer, the top electrode disposed at least in the central region, the outer region, and the first raised frame region (160 + (left side) paragraph 0036) and the second raised frame region (160 + (right side) paragraph 0036), the top electrode (120 + paragraph 0035) having a constant width in the central region extending from the first raised frame region to the second raised frame region and configured such that a resonant frequency in the outer region is higher than a resonant frequency in the central region (paragraph 0036).
Considering claim 2, Liu (Figure 1) teaches wherein a resonant frequency in the raised frame region is lower than the resonant frequencies in the central region and the outer region (paragraphs 0036-0037).
Considering claim 3, Liu (Figure 1) teaches wherein a thickness of the top electrode (120 + paragraph 0035) in the raised frame region (160 + paragraph 0036) is greater than a thickness of the top electrode in the central region (150 + paragraph 0036) and a thickness of the top electrode in the outer region.
Considering claim 4, Liu (Figure 1) teaches wherein a dielectric layer (130 + paragraph 0035) that varies in width over at least a portion of the top electrode having a constant width in the central region.
Considering claim 5, Liu (Figure 1) teaches wherein materials of the top electrode include at least one of molybdenum (Mo0, tungsten (W), platinum (Pt), ruthenium (Ru) (120 + paragraph 0035), iridium (Ir) or osmium (Os).
Considering claim 6, Liu (Figure 1) teaches a bottom electrode (125 + paragraph 0035) disposed such that the piezoelectric layer (115 + paragraph 0035) is positioned between the top electrode and the bottom electrode, wherein an end of the bottom electrode where the bottom electrode terminates is positioned in the raised frame region or the outer region.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (PG Pub 20200373901).
Considering claim 7, Liu discloses wherein the end of the bottom electrode is positioned between the raised frame region and the outer region except for wherein the bottom electrode is positioned within 1 microns from an intersection between the raised frame region and the outer region. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the bottom electrode is positioned within 1 microns from an intersection between the raised frame region and the outer region, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art , discovering the optimum where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Considering claim 8, Liu (Figure 1) teaches the bulk acoustic wave resonator is a mesa type bulk acoustic wave resonator and further comprising: a substrate (110 + paragraph 0034) and an air cavity (135 + paragraph 0034) disposed between the substrate and the bottom electrode.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-20 are allowed. Considering claim 9, the prior art does not teach the applicant’s claimed limitations for the reasons cited in the previous office action.
Conclusion
/BRYAN P GORDON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837