Drawings
Figure 1A should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of inclusion of legal phraseology (i.e., it includes the word “said”). Note that the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said”, should be avoided. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 8 – 10, 15 - 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0178736 A1 to Westra et al. (hereinafter “Westra”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0145018 A1 to Sabata et al. (hereinafter “Sabata”).
Regarding Claim 1, Westra teaches a method to perform a pressurized test of a pressure retaining equipment (see abstract describing a pressure testing system for hydrostatic pressure testing of a pipe or other vessels, see arrangement at Figs. 1 illustrating a system 10 for testing pipe or fluid pressure vessels 14), comprising:
placing a sensor assembly on the pressure retaining equipment or in the vicinity of the pressure retaining equipment (see temperature sensors 90, Fig. 4 which is capable of measuring the temperature in the internal section 72 of pipe 14 and/or see pressure sensors 88, Fig. 2 which are capable of measuring the fluid pressure in internal section 72 of pipe 14, see paragraph [0074], see also paragraph [0098] describing multiple sensors attached to the inlet section 76 and the outlet section 78 of the pipe 14).
Even though Westra teaches placing a sensor assembly on the pressure retaining equipment or in the vicinity of the pressure retaining equipment as described above, Westra does not explicitly teach the sensor assembly being a waterproof wireless sensor assembly that is inserted via a nozzle or an entry point of the pressure retaining equipment into an enclosed volume of the pressure retaining equipment.
Sabata, in the field of remote monitoring of pipelines using wireless sensor network, teaches that it is known to use a waterproof wireless sensor assembly that is inserted via a nozzle or an entry point of the pressure retaining equipment (see paragraphs [0024] describing wireless sensor system being delivered (i.e., inserted) to the point of inspection either through the gas stream or by rolling it along the pipeline walls or using robots, the sensor assembly being a waterproof wireless sensor assembly as also described at paragraphs [0017], [0026] and Fig. 3 since the wireless transceiver and the sensor are inside an environmentally sealed spherical package, see also claim 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the insert a waterproof wireless sensor assembly into a pressure retaining equipment or pipeline of Sabata into Westra, in order to utilize low cost wireless devices, improve flexibility of use and ease of installation. The modification further allows remote monitoring thus providing effective and efficient pipeline monitoring system.
Westra in view of Sabata as modified above further teaches;
closing, subsequent to said inserting (see modification above), all openings of the pressure retaining equipment except a connection to a pump (see installation of the inlet and outlet seals 80, 82, in Fig 4 respectively, see paragraphs [0098] – [0102] of Westra, see also paragraphs [0105] – [0109] of Westra describing using a first pump 41 and/or second pump 42 for the hydrostatic testing sequence);
applying, by the pump, pressure to a test fluid contained in the enclosed volume (see also paragraphs [0105] – [0110] of Westra describing testing sequence which includes opening and closing of appropriate control valves associated with the test fluid tank 32 and pumps for applying pressure in the internal section 72 of pipe 14 and also for maintaining the pressure in the internal section 72, hence reading on the invention as claimed);
wirelessly transmitting in real-time, by the wireless sensor assembly (see modification of wireless sensor assembly in view of Sabata above, see paragraph [0009] of Sabata describing the method and the system for remote and real-time monitoring of pipelines) to a computing device external to the pressure retaining equipment (see command module 12 which includes a control center 18, Figs. 1, 2 which is arranged external to the pressure retaining equipment (i.e., pipe 14), see paragraph [0067] of Westra), test readings (note that the command module comprising the control center 18 and program 26 is used to obtain data from sensors and for data logging and recording purposes as described at paragraphs [0103], [0112] of Westra, hence reading on the invention as claimed);
analyzing, by the computing device, the test readings to determine a result of the pressurized test (see paragraphs [0110] – [0112] of Westra describing the analysis of the testing sequence, see also claims 24, 25 which describes the computer program which is capable of determining whether any gas is held in the internal section of said vessel based on the detected fluid pressure, hence reading on the invention as claimed); and
perform, based on the result of the pressurized test, a pre-determined operation (see for instance paragraph [0110] of Westra which states “If the pressure drops below the specified range, the predetermined holding time will be maintained and pressures and temperatures will be recorded to make a determination at the end of the holding time whether any temperature fluctuations have influenced the pressure and whether the test is successful or not. If the pressure drops below the plus or minus 5% range, the test is aborted and considered unsuccessful”, hence performing a pre-determined operation of for instance, aborting the test and/or maintaining the holding time and recording pressures and temperatures, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 8, Westra teaches a sensor assembly for performing a pressurized test of a pressure retaining equipment (see abstract describing a pressure testing system for hydrostatic pressure testing of a pipe or other vessels, see arrangement at Figs. 1 illustrating a system 10 for testing pipe or fluid pressure vessels 14), comprising:
at least one sensor that is in fluid communication with a test fluid contained in an enclosed volume of the pressure retaining equipment to acquire test readings during the pressurized test (see temperature sensors 90, Fig. 4 which is capable of measuring the temperature in the internal section 72 of pipe 14 and/or see pressure sensors 88, Fig. 2 which are capable of measuring the fluid pressure in internal section 72 of pipe 14, see paragraph [0074], see also paragraph [0098] describing multiple sensors attached to the inlet section 76 and the outlet section 78 of the pipe 14).
Even though Westra teaches a sensor assembly comprising at least one sensor that is in fluid communication with a test fluid as described above, Westra does not explicitly teach the sensor assembly as being a wireless sensor assembly and that the at least one sensor being in contact with a test fluid.
Sabata, in the field of remote monitoring of pipelines using wireless sensor network, teaches that it is known to use a wireless sensor assembly that is placed inside and being in contact with the test fluid contained in the pressure retaining equipment (see abstract and paragraphs [0020] – [0026] describing wireless sensor system being delivered (i.e., inserted) to the point of inspection of pipelines, thus being in contact with the fluid inside the pipeline, see arrangement at Figs. 1 and 3 of Sabata).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a wireless sensor assembly of Sabata into Westra, in order to utilize low cost wireless devices, improve flexibility of use and ease of installation. The modification further allows remote monitoring thus providing effective and efficient pipeline monitoring system.
Westra in view of Sabata as modified above further teaches;
a wireless transmitter for wirelessly transmitting (see modification of wireless sensor assembly in view of Sabata above, see paragraph [0009] of Sabata describing the method and the system for remote and real-time monitoring of pipelines) the test readings to a computing device external to the pressure retaining equipment (see command module 12 which includes a control center 18, Figs. 1, 2 which is arranged external to the pressure retaining equipment (i.e., pipe 14), see paragraph [0067] of Westra, note that the command module comprising the control center 18 and program 26 is used to obtain data from sensors and for data logging and recording purposes as described at paragraphs [0103], [0112] of Westra, hence reading on the invention as claimed),
wherein the wireless sensor assembly (see Fig. 3 of Sabata, see modification above) has a dimension suitable for being inserted into the enclosed volume via a nozzle of the pressure retaining equipment (see paragraphs [0024] of Sabata describing wireless sensor system being delivered (i.e., inserted) to the point of inspection either through the gas stream or by rolling it along the pipeline walls or using robots, thus comprising an entry point i.e. a nozzle of the equipment as claimed), and
wherein the test readings are analyzed by the computing device to determine a result of the pressurized test (see paragraphs [0110] – [0112] of Westra describing the analysis of the testing sequence, see also claims 24, 25 which describes the computer program which is capable of determining whether any gas is held in the internal section of said vessel based on the detected fluid pressure, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claim 15, Westra teaches a pressure retaining equipment (see abstract describing a pressure testing system for hydrostatic pressure testing of a pipe or other vessels, see arrangement at Figs. 1 illustrating a system 10 for testing pipe or fluid pressure vessels 14), comprising:
at least one enclosure wall fitted with a nozzle of the pressure retaining equipment (see for instance arrangement at Fig. 4 illustrating pipe 14 having enclosure wall (i.e., external surface 74) and an inlet section 76 which can be reasonably considered as the claimed nozzle of the pressure retaining equipment or pipeline 14, see paragraph [0072] describing the arrangement);
an enclosed volume defined be the at least one enclosure wall (see arrangement at Fig. 4 illustrating an enclosed volume of the pipeline 14); and
a sensor assembly placed on the enclosed volume (see temperature sensors 90, Fig. 4 which is capable of measuring the temperature in the internal section 72 of pipe 14 and/or see pressure sensors 88, Fig. 2 which are capable of measuring the fluid pressure in internal section 72 of pipe 14, see paragraph [0074], see also paragraph [0098] describing multiple sensors attached to the inlet section 76 and the outlet section 78 of the pipe 14).
Even though Westra teaches a sensor assembly placed on the enclosed volume as described above, Westra does not explicitly teach the sensor assembly being a wireless sensor assembly that is placed inside the enclosed volume.
Sabata, in the field of remote monitoring of pipelines using wireless sensor network, teaches that it is known to use a wireless sensor assembly that is placed inside an enclosed volume (see abstract and paragraphs [0020] – [0026] describing wireless sensor system being delivered (i.e., inserted) to the point of inspection of pipelines, see arrangement at Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a wireless sensor assembly of Sabata into Westra, in order to utilize low cost wireless devices, improve flexibility of use and ease of installation. The modification further allows remote monitoring thus providing effective and efficient pipeline monitoring system.
Westra in view of Sabata as modified above further teaches;
at least one sensor that is in contact with a test fluid contained in the enclosed volume (see abstract and paragraphs [0020] – [0026] of Sabata describing wireless sensor system being delivered (i.e., inserted) to the point of inspection of pipelines, thus being in contact with the fluid inside the pipeline, see arrangement at Figs. 1 and 3 of Sabata) to acquire test readings during a pressurized test (see command module 12 which includes a control center 18, Figs. 1, 2 which is arranged external to the pressure retaining equipment (i.e., pipe 14), see paragraph [0067] of Westra, note that the command module comprising the control center 18 and program 26 is used to obtain data from sensors and for data logging and recording purposes as described at paragraphs [0103], [0112] of Westra, hence reading on the invention as claimed); and
a wireless transmitter for wirelessly transmitting the test readings to a computing device external to the pressure retaining equipment (see modification of wireless sensor assembly in view of Sabata above, see paragraph [0009] of Sabata describing the method and the system for remote and real-time monitoring of pipelines and/or see command module 12 which includes a control center 18, Figs. 1, 2 of Westra which is arranged external to the pressure retaining equipment (i.e., pipe 14), see paragraph [0067] of Westra, note that the command module comprising the control center 18 and program 26 is used to obtain data from sensors and for data logging and recording purposes as described at paragraphs [0103], [0112] of Westra, hence reading on the invention as claimed),
wherein the wireless sensor assembly (see Fig. 3 of Sabata, see modification above) has a dimension suitable for being inserted into the enclosed volume via the nozzle of the pressure retaining equipment (see modification of Westra in view of Sabata above, see nozzle or inlet portion of Westra as described above and see paragraphs [0024] of Sabata describing wireless sensor system being delivered (i.e., inserted) to the point of inspection either through the gas stream or by rolling it along the pipeline walls or using robots, thus comprising an entry point i.e. a nozzle of the equipment as claimed), and
wherein the test readings are analyzed by the computing device to determine a result of the pressurized test (see paragraphs [0110] – [0112] of Westra describing the analysis of the testing sequence, see also claims 24, 25 which describes the computer program which is capable of determining whether any gas is held in the internal section of said vessel based on the detected fluid pressure, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claims 2, 9 and 16, Westra in view of Sabata as modified in claims above teaches further comprising:
placing, prior to said inserting, the wireless sensor assembly inside a protection cage (see spherical package that seals the wireless sensor assembly at Fig. 3 of Sabata, see paragraph [0017] and claim 7 of Sabata);
coupling, via a magnet in the wireless sensor assembly or in the protection cage, the wireless sensor assembly to an inner wall of the pressure retaining equipment in a vicinity of the nozzle (see modification above, see paragraph [0026] of Sabata describing using small magnets that can be used to attach the mote sensor system to the pipe walls); and
retrieving, via the nozzle or an exit point and subsequent to completing the pressurized test, the wireless sensor assembly from the pressure retaining equipment (even though Westra in view of Sabata does not explicitly state “retrieving” the wireless sensor assembly, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to retrieve or remove the wireless sensor assembly through an exit point such as outlet 78, Fig. 4 of Westra and/or opening of the pipeline of Sabata, once the data collection is complete since it is known in the art that sensors such as wireless sensors of Sabata can be deployed and or retrieved as per user’s desire, see also paragraph [0029] of Sabata describing determining the location of the sensor for repair and maintenance, hence being retrieved from the pipeline).
Regarding Claims 3, 10 and 17, Westra in view of Sabata teach the claimed invention except for wherein at least one of the wireless sensor assembly and the protection cage includes or is capsulated in a lower density material than the test fluid, and wherein the lower density provides buoyancy of the wireless sensor assembly to facilitate said retrieving. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a lower density material for the protection cage of the wireless sensor assembly, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). The modification allows for easily movable wireless sensor assembly (see movable wireless assembly of Sabata as described at paragraph [0029]).
Claim(s) 4 – 7, 11 – 14, 18 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westra in view of Sabata and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 6,958,693 B2 to Rothgeb et al. (hereinafter “Rothgeb”).
Regarding Claims 4, 11 and 18, Westra in view of Sabata as modified above teaches acquiring, using a sensor of the wireless sensor assembly (see modification of wireless sensor assembly in view of Sabata above, see paragraph [0009] of Sabata describing the method and the system for remote and real-time monitoring of pipelines), the test readings (see command module 12 which includes a control center 18, Figs. 1, 2 which is arranged external to the pressure retaining equipment (i.e., pipe 14), see paragraph [0067] of Westra, note that the command module comprising the control center 18 and program 26 is used to obtain data from sensors and for data logging and recording purposes as described at paragraphs [0103], [0112] of Westra, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Westra in view of Sabata teaches the claimed invention except for wherein the sensor is in contact with the test fluid that passes through at least one opening of the protection cage.
Rothgeb, in the field of sensor devices adapted to detect, identify and/or measure a chemical and/or physical characteristic, teaches that it is known to use a sensor being in contact with the test fluid that passes through at least one opening of the protection cage (see Col. 8, lines 23 – 28 which states “the environment is in functional contact with the sensors elements”, see also Col. 10, line 65 – Col. 11, lines 1 - 10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the sensor element of Rothgeb into Westra in view of Sabata, in order to aid in real time analysis of surrounding environments (see for instance Col. 9, lines 61 – 67 of Rothgeb).
Westra in view of Sabata in view of Rothgeb as modified above further teaches;
wherein the sensor comprises at least one of a pressure sensor, a temperature sensor, and a fluid quality sensor (see paragraphs [0074] of Westra describing pressure and temperature sensors, see paragraphs [0009], [0025] of Sabata describing pressure sensors and/or see Col. 5, lines 51 – Col. 6, line 1 – 22 of Rothgeb)
Regarding Claims 5, 12, 19, Westra in view of Sabata in view of Rothgeb as modified above teaches wherein the protection cage comprises a mesh wall, and wherein the at least one opening is an opening of the mesh wall (see for instance mesh structure at the protective element 20, Fig. 3 of Rothgeb that has openings to allow contact of the fluid with the sensor, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claims 6, 13 and 20, Westra in view of Sabata in view of Rothgeb as modified above teaches wherein the waterproof wireless sensor assembly is constructed from a lightweight nonmetallic high-pressure resistant material and has a dimension larger than the size of the opening of the mesh wall, and wherein the sensor is installed on a support structure implanted in the lightweight nonmetallic high-pressure resistant material to secure the sensor and mitigate a pressure induced contraction during the pressurized test (see arrangement at Fig. 3 of Rothgeb, see also Col. 7, lines 23 – 30 and Col. 10, lines 37 – 64 of Rothgeb describing the material of the housing which may be plastics and high-pressure resistant, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claims 7 and 14, Westra in view of Sabata in view of Rothgeb as modified above teaches further comprising: initiating, by placing the wireless sensor assembly in a charging position butting a charging station that is integrated with the protection case, charging of a rechargeable battery of the wireless sensor assembly; and subsequent to charging the rechargeable battery and using an activation button of the charging station, activating the wireless sensor assembly inside the protection cage and releasing the wireless sensor assembly from the charging station (see power source 18 of Rothgeb which can be a rechargeable battery as described at Col. 8, lines 58 – 59, Col. 15, lines 17 – 32 of Rothgeb, therefore by utilizing a rechargeable battery, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to initiate charging of the rechargeable battery by placing the sensor assembly in a charging position as claimed, since it is known in the art of rechargeable batteries that in order to recharge the battery, one will need to place or butt the electronic device in a charging station as claimed, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form accompanying this office action which includes the following relevant prior art:
Mann et al. (U.S. No. 2014/0326050 A1) teaches pressure test containment vessel to perform test to a test specimen.
Dull (U.S. No. 8,950,242 B1) teaches testing hoses at increased pressure vessels.
Pennebaker, III (U.S. 2019/0186975 A1) teaches a system for monitoring a fill level of a container includes a wireless module disposed on the container including an enclosure, a processor and a wireless transceiver disposed within the enclosure, and a cable mounted to the enclosure. A first pressure sensor is attached to an end of the cable distal from the enclosure and a second pressure sensor is attached to an opposite end within the enclosure. See arrangement at Figs. 28 – 30 which utilize sensor units placed inside a container.
/MARRIT EYASSU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855