DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to claims filed on 11/24/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending for evaluation.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 11/24/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 7, 10, 15, 16, and 17 have been amended; Claims 1-20 remain pending for evaluation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wangler et al. (US 2020/0322826). Wangler hereinafter; Wangler was presented in the IDS submitted on 03/06/2023.
Regarding Claim 16, Wangler teaches a method comprising (Fig. 2, Para. [0103]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]):
receiving, by a network management system and directly from each of a plurality of client devices, client-side data collected by each of the plurality of client devices (Fig. 2, step 203; Para. [0103] - To perform reproducible testing at least one, probably more than one, of remote wireless network testing devices 115 as depicted in FIG. 1 must be programmed with the suite of tests to be run 201 as depicted in FIG. 1 116, 111, 115. These remote test devices 115 then run the tests specified in test suite 202,…While there are circumstances where the results of one or more wireless network tests are stored on the remote wireless network test device such as inability to functionally access the target wireless network or tests in the programmed test suite that specify that a second RF radio based wireless network be probed where only one RF radio exists on the test device, where, in both cases results are stored and transmitted, each associated with the test suite's ID upon re-establishment of connection with the central analysis and control server 111 as depicted in FIG. 1 routinely; however, test result data are transmitted to central analysis and control server 111 with the test suite specific ID at time of test completion 203 such that interim results are as up-to-data as possible; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]),
wherein each of the plurality of client devices is connected to one or more access point (AP) devices of a plurality of AP devices to access a wireless network provided by the AP devices (Fig. 20, element 2003; Para. [0077-0085] – [0078] In this embodiment, the system comprises a control server 2001, a service 2002 such as a mobile phone service, an online cloud computing platform, a VM or hardware device running an application or intra-company network controller, a plurality of wireless access points 2003, and a plurality of client devices 2004a-n, which may have different configurations. In some embodiments, the access points 2003 are not part of the system as, for example, when the service 2002 is an online platform which can be accessed from any location through public or third-party access points 2003… [0081] The service 2002 may be any type of service, platform, system, or device that allows access by one or more client devices 2004a-n through one or more access points. For example, the service 2002 may be a mobile phone service whose access points are cellular towers, an online cloud computing platform accessible via any access point that provides access to the Internet, a cloud-based virtual private network (VPN) networking system with access points owned by the cloud-based VPN or the client (e.g., a cloud-based VPN connecting a company with multiple regional offices, each of which has its own local access points), or a local network controller device with access points (e.g., a single office company with a network controller and a plurality of access points). Access points 2003 are any devices capable of receiving and re-transmitting wireless signals from client devices 2004a-n. Typically, these will be dedicated devices such as wireless routers and cellular towers, but may by client devices 2004a-n, which can be configured to act as access points 2003; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]),
and wherein, for each client device of the plurality of client devices, the corresponding client-side data comprises data indicative of signal strength associated with each of the one or more AP devices as measured by the particular client device (Fig. 2, step 202; Para. [0103] - To perform reproducible testing at least one, probably more than one, of remote wireless network testing devices 115 as depicted in FIG. 1 must be programmed with the suite of tests to be run 201 as depicted in FIG. 1 116, 111, 115. These remote test devices 115 then run the tests specified in test suite 202, which are attached to a unique test suite specific ID, such as but not limited to: wireless signal strength at test device location; wireless network BSSID; ability and latency logging onto the wireless network; negotiated wireless standard; signal level, wireless signal band or bands offered; ping round trip times; ability to upload and download data to LAN resident and cloud based dedicated targets, if available, measuring latency, data bandwidth, voice quality, video quality, packet loss, jitter; ability to access specified web pages and retrieve resources; ability to access the company's wireless phone carrier, if applicable; and ability to contact dedicated or critical phone targets and upload or download either voice or other data based on the needs of the customer. There are of course other tests known to the art and no feature precludes the invention from performing any of them should a customer desire; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]),
wherein the client-side data collected by at least one of the client devices includes data indicative of signal strength for one or more AP devices to which the client device did not connect (Fig. 28; Para. [0130] - FIG. 28 is a diagram showing how client device view or perspective can help detect a signal strength insufficiency situation. Signal strength insufficiency is another type of environmental condition that can be used to infer and troubleshoot network performance issues. In this example, the client device 2801 is within the usable range of access point 1 (2802). The usable range varies according to real world conditions, but for purposes of this example is defined as >70 dB. Two other access points 2803, 2804 can be seen by the client device 2801, but are outside of the usable range. Thus, while it may appear that three access points are available, attempting to use access point 2 2803 or access point 3 2804 will result in lost data, low transmission rates, and poor performance. Again, by combining this information from the client device's 2801 view or perspective with active and passive testing of the connection between the client device 2801 and its current access point, inferences can be made about problems with network performance at the client device/access point level, and potential solutions such as instructing client devices only to connect with certain access points in a given location, despite the existence of other visible access points. Network performance issues such as roaming problems, latency, jitter, throughput problems, and connectivity problems can be correlated with signal landscape (aka signal environment) information gathered by the client devices 2801 to identify the potential source of the problem and suggest a solution. For example, if the client device is having throughput problems, and can see signals from other access points, the client device 2801 can connect with each access point in turn to see if throughput improves. If so, that information, along with client device 2801 information like geolocation, can be used to make future connectivity decisions. If the client device 2801 is a mobile device, measurements may be taken over time of the client device 2801 geolocation and the relative signal strengths of the access points to determine the area of usable signal from a given access point. This client device/access point level information can be passed to the control server as data to be used in overall network performance management; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]);
analyzing, by the network management system, the client-side data for at least one client device collected by each of the plurality of client devices to detect a client event associated with the at least one client device (Fig. 2, step 206, 208, and 209; Para. [0103] - … Within central analysis and control server 111, data received from previously mentioned sources and possibly other sources specific to the needs or the test suite customer, are transformed using pre-programmed analysis functions to produce a representation of all tested aspects of network function. While these representations may be purely numerical, such a display is very difficult to quickly analyze and results are thus usually depicted as a proportion of 100% function with customer-decided minimum service levels as line graphs over a time period of interest 206. Given possession of floorplans and wireless access point maps, the system may also display service quality, coverage, congestion, failures, errors, user feedback and similar factors as colored topographical like maps to make interpreting the data and possible problem areas as easy as possible. Drops in service quality below certain limits may have profound consequences on customer operations and therefore central analysis and control server 111 has APIs to communicate with third party alarm and control systems 207. For example, over the past decade the proportion of hospital monitors and actuators that are wirelessly connected has greatly increased due to obvious convenience. However, if wireless service quality falls below a certain level within parts or all of the hospital for some reason, other methods for connect and control of that equipment is needed. The API of the central analysis and control server may communicate with the hospital's administration system to issue the needed advisories and alarms per hospital protocol. The API would, of course, function similarly in many other less drastic situations, but the server also includes analytics programming that allows it to combine data from different sources and different test suite which may uncover small irregularities in previous service levels or current equipment function such that a specific root cause and remedy for an issue at hand may be proposed by the central analysis and control module with the data 206. It may be that at least one test in the test suite is meant to recur a certain number of time, possibly indefinitely. The recurrence of tests and their time of run are controlled within the programming 208 and tests will continue to repeat automatically for the length programmed. Finally, results and statistics may be displayed, along with notifications about marginal service or failing equipment, and final cleanup and storage of data will be performed 209; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]);
and outputting, by the network management system, a notification including an indication of the client event (Fig. 2, step 206, 208, and 209; Para. [0103] - … Within central analysis and control server 111, data received from previously mentioned sources and possibly other sources specific to the needs or the test suite customer, are transformed using pre-programmed analysis functions to produce a representation of all tested aspects of network function. While these representations may be purely numerical, such a display is very difficult to quickly analyze and results are thus usually depicted as a proportion of 100% function with customer-decided minimum service levels as line graphs over a time period of interest 206…Finally, results and statistics may be displayed, along with notifications about marginal service or failing equipment, and final cleanup and storage of data will be performed 209; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]).
Regarding Claim 17, Wangler teaches Claim 16.
Wangler also teaches
wherein receiving the client-side data from a client device of the plurality of client devices comprises receiving the client-side data from a network management system agent executing on the client device (Fig. 22, element 2212 Para. [0091-0092] - [0091] FIG. 22 is a diagram showing an exemplary architecture for capture of connectivity and network performance data on client devices. Here, a client device 2210 is shown with certain key components for capturing connectivity and network performance data. A wireless device 2213 is a hardware device containing a wireless radio with receive and transmit capabilities. The wireless device 2213 may be configured to use any of numerous types of wireless frequencies and protocols, including, but not limited to WiFi, Bluetooth, and cellular. A wireless device driver 2214 is installed on the client device 2210, which is software that allows the operating system 2215 to interface with, and control the operation of, the wireless device 2213. System logs 2211 are stored by the operating system 2215 and other components of the client device 2210 containing details regarding operation of the client device 2210 and its components, and often contain useful information about connectivity and network performance. A software application 2212 (often called a software agent when used in this fashion) is installed on the client device 2210 to gather, analyze, and report connectivity and network performance data for the client device 2210. The software agent 2212 typically runs as a background process, and is not visible to the user, except when providing network status reports to the user; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0103]; Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]; Para. [0072]).
Regarding Claim 18, Wangler teaches Claim 16.
Wangler also teaches
receiving further client-side data for the at least one client device from a third-party system separate from the at least one client device (Fig. 2, step 207, Para. [0103] - …At the central analysis and control server, test result data from remote wireless service quality test devices 115 may be combined with information retrieved from third party sources 204 such as wireless access points 121, 141, that serve the tested wireless networks 120, 140…Information may also be retrieved from other third party devices 124 as available.… Drops in service quality below certain limits may have profound consequences on customer operations and therefore central analysis and control server 111 has APIs to communicate with third party alarm and control systems 207. For example, over the past decade the proportion of hospital monitors and actuators that are wirelessly connected has greatly increased due to obvious convenience. However, if wireless service quality falls below a certain level within parts or all of the hospital for some reason, other methods for connect and control of that equipment is needed. The API of the central analysis and control server may communicate with the hospital's administration system to issue the needed advisories and alarms per hospital protocol…; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0103]; Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]; Fig. 4, Para. [0105-0106]; Para. [0050, 0052, 0069]).
Regarding Claim 19, Wangler teaches Claim 16.
Wangler also teaches
wherein the client event comprises one of a connection event, a roaming event, and a voice event (Fig. 18, Para. [0072] - Devices programmed for test may perform measurements in the background measuring signal levels, data rates, retry rates and throughputs at different times. While the device moves, signal levels vary or when instructed by network, device may change connection to another access point as illustrated in FIG. 18. Assessing characteristics of the roaming behavior can be done be measuring signal level, signal to noise ratio, used data rate, throughput, packet loss and other parameters before and after the roaming event 1800. Measuring the time gap between the last data packet from previous access point and the first packet from the new access point provides information on the packet flow interruptions, which are especially important for real time traffic like voice. Collecting this information allows comparing behavior of different device manufacturers, device models, software versions, access points and different network settings and optimizing the service for best user experience; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0103]; Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]; Fig. 4, Para. [0105-0106]; Para. [0083-0087]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-8, and 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wangler et al. (US 2020/0322826), Wangler hereinafter, in view of Hassan (US 2020/0015187).
Regarding Claim 1, Wangler teaches a system comprising (Fig. 20, element 2003; Para. [0077-0085]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]):
a plurality of access point (AP) devices configured to provide a wireless network at a site (Fig. 20, element 2003; Para. [0077-0085]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]);
and a network management system (NMS) comprising (Fig. 4; Para. [0105-0106]; Fig. 20; Para. [0077-0085] - [0077] FIG. 20 is a diagram showing an exemplary system architecture for a distributed network performance management system. The distributed network performance management system is a smart, flexible wireless network monitoring solution that can operate independently, as part of a pre-existing ecosystem, or as part of a centralized, single-purpose service. Because of its distributed nature, computing and storage resources can be allocated to any level of the system, from the control server 2001 to the client devices 2004a-n based on network conditions (e.g., outages of sub-servers and services 2002, access points 2003, and connections/disconnections of client devices 2004a-n, etc.) and availability of online resources (e.g., bandwidth, storage capacity, processing capacity, etc.). The system may include dedicated client devices 2004a-n to play expanded roles not appropriate for client devices whose primary role is not network monitoring and management; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]):
a memory (Fig. 4, element 430, Para. [0105-0106])
storing AP-side data collected by the plurality of AP devices (Fig. 2, step 204, Para. [0103] – At the central analysis and control server, test result data from remote wireless service quality test devices 115 may be combined with information retrieved from third party sources 204 such as wireless access points 121, 141, that serve the tested wireless networks 120, 140. Examples of information provided by wireless access points may be, but is not limited to: RF Radio transmit strength, BSSID of the access point, wireless standards supported, wireless standards (example: Wi-Fi b, g, a, n, ac) in use as well as device or devices using each standard, percent bandwidth capacity under which the access point is currently operation and any recent warnings or failures in the access point's logs; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076])
and storing client-side data collected by a plurality of client devices connected to one or more of the plurality of AP devices to access the wireless network (Fig. 2, step 203, Para. [0103] and Fig. 20, element 2003, Para. [0077-0085]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]);
and one or more processors coupled to the memory and configured to (Fig. 4, element 455, Para. [0105-0106]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]):
receive the client-side data directly from each of the plurality of client devices including a particular client device (Fig. 2, step 203; Para. [0103]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]),
wherein the client-side data comprises telemetry data collected by each of the plurality client devices (Fig. 2, step 203; Para. [0103] - These remote test devices 115 then run the tests specified in test suite 202, which are attached to a unique test suite specific ID, such as but not limited to: wireless signal strength at test device location; wireless network BSSID; ability and latency logging onto the wireless network; negotiated wireless standard; signal level, wireless signal band or bands offered; ping round trip times; ability to upload and download data to LAN resident and cloud based dedicated targets, if available, measuring latency, data bandwidth, voice quality, video quality, packet loss, jitter; ability to access specified web pages and retrieve resources; ability to access the company's wireless phone carrier, if applicable; and ability to contact dedicated or critical phone targets and upload or download either voice or other data based on the needs of the customer; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]);
correlate the client-side data for the particular client device of the plurality of client devices with a device identifier of the particular client device (Fig. 3, step 312; Para. [0104] - …When prepared to start testing the user need only enter her unique account ID into the running framework application running on each of her remote network test devices 307, which will result in her pre-programmed test suite being downloaded 308 and run 310 on each of her remote network test devices and this data, associated with the unique account ID may be stored 309 and used with data bearing the same ID to perform in depth, coordinated analysis by the central server 312. With the unique ID, it is now also possible to create more complex testing protocols that are run on each remote network testing device associated with the user's ID 311, single tests may be run, continuous tests may be run, tests may be run periodically in the background without intervention, or tests may be uploaded and then triggered by central server. Finally, as the testing runs mature at the user's location, the tests may be modified 313 to better reflect the user's needs and these revised tests seamlessly uploaded to the remote network test devices from the central server 314 without remote test device operator intervention; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]);
wherein the client-side data for the particular client device comprises data indicative of signal strength associated with each of the one or more AP devices as measured by the particular client device (Fig. 2, step 202; Para. [0103]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]),
and wherein the AP-side data for the particular client device comprises signal strength data indicative of signal strength associated with the particular client device as measured by each of the one or more AP devices (Para. [0068] - Remote network test device 115, may also, under some circumstances, be a desktop workstation, a laptop computer, a kiosk, an Internet of Things (IoT) device, a wireless access point, modems with wireless (“Wi-Fi”) or optical (“Li-Fi”) capability such as asynchronous digital subscriber line (“ADSL”) or cable modems, or dedicated sensor devices for this purpose; Fig. 2, step 202; Para. [0103] - To perform reproducible testing at least one, probably more than one, of remote wireless network testing devices 115 as depicted in FIG. 1 must be programmed with the suite of tests to be run 201 as depicted in FIG. 1 116, 111, 115. These remote test devices 115 then run the tests specified in test suite 202,… which are attached to a unique test suite specific ID, such as but not limited to: wireless signal strength at test device location; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]);
analyze the data indicative of the signal strength from the client-side data in addition to the data indicative of the signal strength from the associated AP- side data for the particular client device to detect a wireless issue (Fig. 2, step 206, 208, and 209; Para. [0103]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]);
and output a notification including an indication of the wireless issue (Fig. 2, step 206, 208, and 209; Para. [0103]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]).
Yet, Wangler does not expressly teach associate, based on the device identifier, the client-side data for the particular client device and the AP-side data for the particular client device.
However, Hassan teaches
associate, based on the device identifier, the client-side data for the particular client device and the AP-side data for the particular client device (Fig. 7, step 708; Para. [0065] - At 708, server 130 correlates the location data and signal strengths/access point information received from each of the mobile devices 102-120 with the access points of network 100. In an implementation, access point location determiner 608 may use the access point MAC ID associated with the signal strength/access point information from a particular mobile device to correlate the access point identified by that MAC ID with that particular mobile device. For example, access point location determiner 608 may correlate mobile devices 102-106 with access point AP1, mobile devices 108-112 with access point AP2, mobile devices 114-120 with access point AP3, and mobile device 122 with access point AP4; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0022-0028]; Fig. 3, Para. [0030-0044]; Fig. 5, Para. [0046-0056]; Fig. 7, Para. [0058-0072]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wangler’s invention of “a distributed network performance management system and method that distributes a large portion of the network performance management to wireless client devices connected to the network” (Wangler Para. [0005]) with Hassan’s invention of “techniques for determining locations of one or more access points herein include receiving device location information and signal strength information from a plurality of mobile devices” (Hassan §Abstract) because Hassan’s invention provides “technology and techniques that allow the location of one or more access point to be determined using information provided by mobile devices” (Hassan Para. [0018]).
Regarding Claim 7, Wangler teaches a system comprising (Fig. 20, element 2003; Para. [0077-0085]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]):
receiving, by a network management system, access point (AP)-side data collected by plurality of AP devices configured to provide a wireless network at a site (Fig. 2, step 204, Para. [0103]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]);
receiving, by the network management system and directly from each of a plurality of client devices, client-side data collected by each of the plurality of client devices (Fig. 2, step 203; Para. [0103]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]),
wherein each of the plurality of client devices is connected to one or more of the AP devices to access the wireless network (Fig. 20, element 2003; Para. [0077-0085]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]),
wherein the client-side data comprises telemetry data collected by each of the plurality client devices (Fig. 2, step 203; Para. [0103]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]);
correlating, by the network management system, the client-side data for a particular client device of the plurality of client devices with a device identifier of the particular client device (Fig. 3, step 312; Para. [0104]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]);
wherein the client-side data for the particular client device comprises data indicative of signal strength associated with each of the one or more AP devices as measured by the particular client device (Fig. 2, step 202; Para. [0103]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]),
and wherein the AP-side data for the particular client device comprises signal strength data indicative of signal strength associated with the particular client device as measured by each of the one or more AP devices (Para. [0068]; Fig. 2, step 202; Para. [0103]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]);
analyzing the data indicative of the signal strength from the client-side data in addition to the data indicative of the signal strength from the associated AP-side data for the particular client device to detect a wireless issue (Fig. 2, step 206, 208, and 209; Para. [0103]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]);
and outputting, by the network management system, a notification including an indication of the wireless issue (Fig. 2, step 206, 208, and 209; Para. [0103]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]).
Yet, Wangler does not expressly teach associating, based on the device identifier, the client-side data for the particular client device and the AP-side data for the particular client device.
However, Hassan teaches
associating, based on the device identifier, the client-side data for the particular client device and the AP-side data for the particular client device (Fig. 7, step 708; Para. [0065]; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0022-0028]; Fig. 3, Para. [0030-0044]; Fig. 5, Para. [0046-0056]; Fig. 7, Para. [0058-0072]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wangler’s invention of “a distributed network performance management system and method that distributes a large portion of the network performance management to wireless client devices connected to the network” (Wangler Para. [0005]) with Hassan’s invention of “techniques for determining locations of one or more access points herein include receiving device location information and signal strength information from a plurality of mobile devices” (Hassan §Abstract) because Hassan’s invention provides “technology and techniques that allow the location of one or more access point to be determined using information provided by mobile devices” (Hassan Para. [0018]).
Regarding Claim 15, Wangler teaches a network management system that manages a plurality of network devices in a network, the network management system comprising (Fig. 20, element 2003; Para. [0077-0085]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]):
one or more processors (Fig. 4, element 455, Para. [0105-0106]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076);
and memory storing (Fig. 4, element 430, Para. [0105-0106]):
access point (AP)-side data collected by a plurality of AP devices configured to provide a wireless network at a site (Fig. 2, step 204, Para. [0103]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]),
and client-side data collected by a plurality of client devices connected to one or more of the plurality of AP devices to access the wireless network, the memory comprising instructions that when executed by the one or more processors cause the one or more processors to (Fig. 4, element 430, Para. [0105-0106]; Fig. 2, step 203, Para. [0103] and Fig. 20, element 2003, Para. [0077-0085]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]):
receive the client-side data directly from each of the plurality of client devices including a particular client device (Fig. 2, step 203; Para. [0103]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]),
wherein the client-side data comprises telemetry data collected by each of the plurality client devices (Fig. 2, step 203; Para. [0103]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]);
correlate the client-side data for the particular client device of the plurality of client devices with a device identifier of the particular client device (Fig. 3, step 312; Para. [0104]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]);
wherein the client-side data for the particular client device comprises data indicative of signal strength associated with each of the one or more AP devices as measured by the particular client device (Fig. 2, step 202; Para. [0103]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]),
and wherein the AP-side data for the particular client device comprises signal strength data indicative of signal strength associated with the particular client device as measured by each of the one or more AP devices (Para. [0068]; Fig. 2, step 202; Para. [0103]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]);
analyze the data indicative of the signal strength from the client-side data in addition to the data indicative of the signal strength from the associated AP-side data for the particular client device to detect a wireless issue (Fig. 2, step 206, 208, and 209; Para. [0103]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]);
and output a notification including an indication of the wireless issue (Fig. 2, step 206, 208, and 209; Para. [0103]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]).
Yet, Wangler does not expressly teach associate, based on the device identifier, the client-side data for the particular client device and the AP-side data for the particular client device.
However, Hassan teaches
associate, based on the device identifier, the client-side data for the particular client device and the AP-side data for the particular client device (Fig. 7, step 708; Para. [0065]; See also Fig. 1, Para. [0022-0028]; Fig. 3, Para. [0030-0044]; Fig. 5, Para. [0046-0056]; Fig. 7, Para. [0058-0072]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wangler’s invention of “a distributed network performance management system and method that distributes a large portion of the network performance management to wireless client devices connected to the network” (Wangler Para. [0005]) with Hassan’s invention of “techniques for determining locations of one or more access points herein include receiving device location information and signal strength information from a plurality of mobile devices” (Hassan §Abstract) because Hassan’s invention provides “technology and techniques that allow the location of one or more access point to be determined using information provided by mobile devices” (Hassan Para. [0018]).
Regarding Claims 3 and 8, Wangler in view of Hassan teaches Claims 1 and 7.
Wangler also teaches
associate/associating the client-side data for the particular client device with client-side location data for the particular client device based on an identifier assigned to a location application running on the particular client device (Fig. 11; Para. [0113] - FIG. 11 Is a list of methods by which the location of individual wireless network service quality test devices may be obtained according to a preferred embodiment of the invention 1100. The ability to position each wireless network test device at a specific location within the geography of the network greatly augments the value of the data collected as such things as coverage maps and access point identification can be made. The GPS system 1101 is an extremely accurate, automated method to establish test device location and also allows determination of test device movement, which can affect test data as the orientation of the device antenna changes and altitude which may play a role in specific circumstances. GPS signals can be weak or erratic indoors where may wireless network performance tests occur, then, other methods such as location determination by proximity to known Wi-Fi SSID/BSSID or visible light based data transmitter (“Li-Fi”) or infrared sensor 1102, Wi-Fi location service, RTLS or similar where test device location is determined by differential signal levels, packet propagation delay or signal direction determination through use of a directional antenna pattern 1103. Test device location may also be determine using a magnetic location service which has been calibrated for a particular building or floor plan 1104. Less reliable, as it relies on manual response and a user's perception of the precise location in which she finds herself, is to have the user identify her location on a floorplan map 1105 or verbally provide her location in an uncoached, freeform manner 1106; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0103]; Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076] ).
Regarding Claim 5, Wangler in view of Hassan teaches Claim 1.
Wangler also teaches
wherein analyzing the client-side data comprises: analyze aggregate correlated data for the plurality of client devices; and determine whether client devices of a same type or having a same software version are experiencing similar wireless issues (Fig. 2, step 206, 208, and 209; Para. [0103]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131] - FIG. 29 is a diagram showing a test cycle 2901 for capture of network performance data by a client device. A test cycle 2901 may comprise any number and types of testing, but in this example, the test cycle 2901 comprises a passive testing phase 2902, an active testing phase 2903, a station connectivity test phase 2904, and a system log check 2905. Active testing 2902 includes testing and measurement initiated by the client device such as initiation of connection attempts, initiation of data transmission and receipt (e.g., bandwidth, and speed/data rate testing), initiation of audio/voice calls, throughput testing, and server pings to determine connectivity. Passive testing 2903 includes testing and measurement of events to which the client device is exposed, but which have not necessarily been initiated by the client device, such as existing connections, available signals and their strength, data packet capture analysis, and the geolocation of the client device. Station connectivity state testing 2904 may include information as to whether a connection exists, to which access point the client device is connected, the signal strength of the connection, etc. The system log check 2905 may include information such as type of wireless device hardware and firmware, version of wireless device driver, client device hardware and software, operating system type and version, type of connection (e.g., WiFi, Bluetooth, etc.), speed of connection (determined by handshake), failed 802.11 authentications, DNS failures, no IP address/bad IP address, no internet connectivity, etc. The information gathered during each test cycle can be tracked over time, and combined with other information like the geolocation of the client device and the location of other nearby access points to make network performance management decisions; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0103]; Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]; Para. [0072])
Regarding Claim 10, Wangler in view of Hassan teaches Claim 7.
Wangler also teaches
wherein the client-side data further comprises an operating system version, a radio hardware version, and a firmware version on the client device (Fig. 22, Para. [0092] - The software application 2212 may either passively monitor the wireless device driver 2214, the operating system 2215, and the system logs 2211 for network performance data, or may conduct active network testing. When the wireless device 2213 attempts to connect with an access point 2201, the software application 2212 gathers data regarding network events, conditions, and performance issues such as, but not limited to type of wireless device hardware and firmware, version of wireless device driver, client device hardware and software, operating system type and version, type of connection (e.g., WiFi, Bluetooth, etc.), speed of connection (determined by handshake), failed 802.11 authentications, DNS failures, no IP address/bad IP address, no internet connectivity, etc. The software application 2212 may perform network performance analyses on the data such as signal strength, nominal connection speed, throughput speed, and the like, and may perform calculations such as average, mean, and mode, or percentile, quartile, etc., of certain metrics. Changes to metrics over time may be recorded and correlated with network performance impacts. In some embodiments, the software application 2212 may be configured with a wireless performance monitor that uses packet and frame filtering to extract and infer network performance data that are either not otherwise available or are not supported by any other components or functionality of the client device 2210; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0103]; Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076];),
wherein analyzing the client-side data comprises: analyze aggregate correlated data for the plurality of client devices; and determine whether client devices of a same type or having a same software version are experiencing similar wireless issues (Fig. 2, step 206, 208, and 209; Para. [0103]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0103]; Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]; Para. [0072])
Regarding Claims 6 and 11, Wangler in view of Hassan teaches Claims 1 and 7.
Wangler also teaches
analyze aggregate correlated data for the plurality of client devices; and determine whether client devices within a similar location at the site are experiencing similar wireless issues (Fig. 2, step 206, 208, and 209; Para. [0103] - Within central analysis and control server 111, data received from previously mentioned sources and possibly other sources specific to the needs or the test suite customer, are transformed using pre-programmed analysis functions to produce a representation of all tested aspects of network function. While these representations may be purely numerical, such a display is very difficult to quickly analyze and results are thus usually depicted as a proportion of 100% function with customer-decided minimum service levels as line graphs over a time period of interest 206. Given possession of floorplans and wireless access point maps, the system may also display service quality, coverage, congestion, failures, errors, user feedback and similar factors as colored topographical like maps to make interpreting the data and possible problem areas as easy as possible; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0103]; Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]; Para. [0072])
Regarding Claim 12, Wangler in view of Hassan teaches Claim 7.
Wangler also teaches
wherein receiving the client-side data comprises receiving the client-side data from a network management system agent executing on the client device (Fig. 22, element 2212 Para. [0091-0092]; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0103]; Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]; Para. [0072]; See rationale for Claim 17).
Regarding Claim 13, Wangler in view of Hassan teaches Claim 7.
Wangler also teaches
receiving further client-side data for the at least one client device from a third-party system separate from the at least one client device (Fig. 2, step 207, Para. [0103] - …At the central analysis and control server, test result data from remote wireless service quality test devices 115 may be combined with information retrieved from third party sources 204 such as wireless access points 121, 141, that serve the tested wireless networks 120, 140…Information may also be retrieved from other third party devices 124 as available.… Drops in service quality below certain limits may have profound consequences on customer operations and therefore central analysis and control server 111 has APIs to communicate with third party alarm and control systems 207. For example, over the past decade the proportion of hospital monitors and actuators that are wirelessly connected has greatly increased due to obvious convenience. However, if wireless service quality falls below a certain level within parts or all of the hospital for some reason, other methods for connect and control of that equipment is needed. The API of the central analysis and control server may communicate with the hospital's administration system to issue the needed advisories and alarms per hospital protocol…; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0103]; Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]; Fig. 4, Para. [0105-0106]; Para. [0050, 0052, 0069]).
Regarding Claim 14, Wangler in view of Hassan teaches Claim 7.
Wangler also teaches
wherein the client event comprises one of a connection event, a roaming event, and a voice event (Fig. 18, Para. [0072] - Devices programmed for test may perform measurements in the background measuring signal levels, data rates, retry rates and throughputs at different times. While the device moves, signal levels vary or when instructed by network, device may change connection to another access point as illustrated in FIG. 18. Assessing characteristics of the roaming behavior can be done be measuring signal level, signal to noise ratio, used data rate, throughput, packet loss and other parameters before and after the roaming event 1800. Measuring the time gap between the last data packet from previous access point and the first packet from the new access point provides information on the packet flow interruptions, which are especially important for real time traffic like voice. Collecting this information allows comparing behavior of different device manufacturers, device models, software versions, access points and different network settings and optimizing the service for best user experience; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0103]; Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]; Fig. 4, Para. [0105-0106]; Para. [0083-0087]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wangler in view of Hassan, and in further view of Agarwal et al. (US 2021/0195443, previously presented), Agarwal hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 2, Wangler in view of Hassan teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Wangler nor Hassan expressly teach determine the device identifier for the particular client device from a particular AP device to which the particular client device is connected.
However, Agarwal teaches
determine a device identifier for the particular client device from a particular AP device to which the particular client device is connected (Para. [0091] - The links tab provides a focus on the client links and the backhaul links. The tab can provide sorted information on the medium, band, and channel attributes of the links. The access point devices tab provides an overview of the location from the perspective of the access point devices. Sorted information on the number of devices connected, firmware versions, MAC, IP and connection date details can all be visible upon clicking show details. The access point devices tab assists the administrator in troubleshooting as well. Clicking on any access point will bring up controls that enable setting a Light Emitting Diode (LED) Mode to locate, rebooting an access point, or running speed tests on the access points. After results are updated to the cloud, the speed tests on the access points will move to the Speed Test tab mentioned above. The client devices tab provides an overview of the location from the perspective of devices. Clicking on any device will provide in-depth information such as connection type, IP and MAC addresses, RSSI values, bandwidth usage values over different periods of time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide determine a device identifier for the particular client device from a particular AP device to which the particular client device is connected as taught by Agarwal, in the combined system of Wangler/Hassan, so that it would provide Agarwal’s invention of “cloud-based proactive autonomous Wi-Fi monitoring to alert, predict, and solve customer issues for service providers” (Agarwal Para. [0006]).
Claim(s) 4 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wangler in view of Hassan as applied to Claims 7 and 9 above, and further in view of Fulknier and Smith (US 2007/0030857, previously presented), Fulknier hereinafter.
Regarding Claims 4 and 9, Wangler in view of Hassan teaches Claims 1 and 7.
Wangler further teaches
determine/determining whether the wireless issue is due to a client device issue (Fig. 27, Para. [0129] - By combining this information from the client device's 2701 view or perspective with active and passive testing of the connection between the client device 2701 and its current access point, inferences can be made about problems with network performance at the client device/access point level, and potential solutions such as re-configuring the channel or band used by the access point in that location. Network performance issues such as roaming problems, latency, jitter, throughput problems, and connectivity problems can be correlated with signal landscape (aka signal environment) information gathered by the client devices 2701 to identify the potential source of the problem and suggest a solution. For example, if the client device is having throughput problems, and has determined that it is near two access points that are near the edge of their usable range (e.g., a signal strength at the client device near 70 dB), the client device may infer that it the throughput problems are being caused by a hidden node problem. If the client device 2701 is a mobile device, measurements may be taken over time of the client device 2701 geolocation and the relative signal strengths of the access points to determine where the access points are located and whether changes in position of the client device 2701 fix the problem (thus confirming the hidden node problem). This client device/access point level information can be passed to the control server as data to be used in overall network performance management; See also Fig. 2, Para. [0103]; Fig. 3, Para. [0104]; Fig. 5, Para. [0107]; Fig. 6, Para. [0108]; Fig. 8, Para. [0110]; Fig. 9, Para. [0111]; Fig. 10, Para. [0112]; Fig. 11, Para. [0113]; Fig. 12, Para. [0114-0117]; Fig. 13, Para. [0118]; Fig. 18, Para. [0119-0120]; Fig. 19, Para. [0121]; Figs. 20-22, Para. [0077-0092]; Fig. 26; Fig. 27, Para. [0122-0129]; Fig. 28, Para. [0130]; Fig. 29, Para. [0131]; Fig. 30, Para. [0132]; Fig. 1, Para. [0068-0076]; Fig. 4, Para. [0105-0106]; Para. [0083-0087]).
Yet, Wangler nor Hassan expressly teach “or a wireless network issue by first determining whether the particular client device is connected to the wireless network at the site or connected to a cellular network.”
However, Fulknier teaches
or a wireless network issue by first determining whether the particular client device is connected to the wireless network at the site or connected to a cellular network (Para. [0065] - In further aspects of operating the preferred mobile router 140, the CPU 202 is programmed to periodically update information about the wireless network environment by repeatedly checking the availability of a more desirable cellular access point and by repeatedly checking the status of client devices in the WLAN area 170. This is done to make sure the mobile router 140 stays continuously connected to the EVDO cellular network even as the mobile router moves with respect to the wireless environment. In addition, the wireless router 140 is programmed to repeatedly send update messages to the cellular network to ensure that host device does not terminate the client device connection due to inactivity. In addition, the wireless router 140 is programmed to perform cellular network access point hand offs without losing a connection with the host cellular network. In particular this is accomplished by continuously communicating with two more cellular access points to hand off communications to the best available access point or if warranted to divide communication traffic between two or more cellular access points to increase bandwidth or improve reliability as may be required).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide or a wireless network issue by first determining whether the particular client device is connected to the wireless network at the site or connected to a cellular network as taught by Fulknier, in the combined system of Wangler/Hassan so that it would provide a means to “provide WAN access to mobile users wishing to perform routine computer tasks in places where network access is not available, e.g. when traveling in a vehicle, watercraft or aircraft or when traveling for work or pleasure” (Fulknier Para. [0007]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wangler as applied to Claim 16 above, and further in view of Futaki and Aminaka (US 2014/0254416, previously presented), Futaki hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 20, Wangler teaches Claim 16.
Yet, Wangler does not expressly teach providing, by the network management system and to each of the plurality of client devices, instructions for logging event data, wherein the client-side data comprises event data logged by the client devices based on the instructions from the network management system.
However, Futaki teaches
providing, by the network management system and to each of the plurality of client devices, instructions for logging event data, wherein the client-side data comprises event data logged by the client devices based on the instructions from the network management system (Para. [0223] - That is, the NM (Network Manager) 602 notifies a policy of the measurement, the logging of the measurement result, and the reporting of the above logging to the DM (Device Management) server 601 (Policy indication). The DM server 601 notifies the measurement/logging/reporting method to the UE 600, being a DM client (Measurement, logging and reporting configuration). The UE 600 reports the log of the measurement result (measurement log) to the DM server 601, and the DM server 601 reports the log reported from the UE 600 to the upper NM 602; See also Fig. 4; Para. [0105-0127] ).
The examiner interprets Para. [0023] as the NM provides instructions (i.e., policies for measurement, logging, and reporting) to the DM, which then instructs the UE to perform logging accordingly. The UE logs event data (i.e., measurement results logged by the UE) based on these instructions and reports them back, showing that the client devices log event data in accordance with instructions from the NM.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide providing, by the network management system and to each of the plurality of client devices, instructions for logging event data, wherein the client-side data comprises event data logged by the client devices based on the instructions from the network management system as taught by Futaki, in the combined system of Agarwal/Wang so that it would provide “a radio communication system, a radio terminal, a radio network, a radio communication method, and a program therefor capable of collecting information that the radio network side requires while alleviating a load on the terminal caused by the measurement/positioning and/or the reporting, and/or deleting the reporting of the information with a low necessity” (Futaki Para. [0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wangler’s invention of “a distributed network performance management system and method that distributes a large portion of the network performance management to wireless client devices connected to the network” (Wangler Para. [0005]) with Futaki’s invention of “a radio communication system, a radio terminal, a radio network, a radio communication method, and a program therefor capable of collecting information that the radio network side” (Futaki Para. [0028]) because Futaki’s invention provides methods which alleviate “load on the terminal caused by the measurement/positioning and/or the reporting, and/or deleting the reporting of the information with a low necessity” (Futaki Para. [0028]).
Conclusion
/R.A.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468