DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12, 13, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keshner et al. (US 2020/0055672) in view of Geerlings et al. (US 2004/0126293).
Regarding claim 12, the reference Keshner et al. discloses a system for reducing greenhouse gas emissions, the system comprising:
a facility configured to produce a waste gas stream comprising from greater than 0 vol% to less than 40 vol% carbon dioxide (see paras. [0029]; [0059]; [0071]);
a pre-concentrator (205, 303) configured for increasing a concentration of carbon dioxide in the waste gas stream, producing a concentrated byproduct stream (see paras. [0062]-[0065]; Figs. 2, 3, 9);
a water dissolution system (211, 307, 500A; 950) configured for dissolving the carbon dioxide in water, producing a dissolved byproduct stream and an undissolved byproduct stream (see paras. [0062]-[0065]; [0072]; [0090]; [0100]; Figs. 2, 3, 9); and
an injection well (214, 980) operable to inject the dissolved byproduct stream into a reservoir containing mafic or ultramafic rock to allow components of the concentrated byproduct stream to react in situ with components of the mafic rock to precipitate and store components of the byproduct stream in the reservoir (see Abstract; paras. [0007]; [0009]; [0015]; [0062]; [0101]; Figs. 2, 9).
The reference Keshner et al. teaches that the pre-concentrator (i.e., the separator element 205, 303) can be a conventional separator employed for separating carbon dioxide from other gases (see paras. [0015]; [0063]). The reference Keshner et al., however, does not specifically disclose wherein the pre-concentrator (i.e., the separator element 205, 303) is one or more selected from the group consisting of a monoethanolamine (MEA) solution absorption unit, a pressure swing adsorption (PSA) unit, a metal-organic framework (MOF) unit, and a chemical looping combustion unit.
However, as evidenced by the reference Geerlings et al. (see paras. [0021]; [0036]-[0039]; Fig. 1), it is conventional in the art to employ a solvent extraction technique involving a monoethanolamine (MEA) solution absorption unit (1) for separating carbon dioxide gas from a waste gas stream (4) containing low concentration carbon dioxide to produce a concentrated carbon dioxide product stream (16) (see paras. [0021]; [0036]-[0039]; Fig. 1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a monoethanolamine solution absorption unit, as claimed by applicant, in place of the pre-concentrator (i.e., separator element 205, 303) of Keshner et al. in application were it is desired to employ a convention solvent extraction technique as taught by Geerlings et al. for producing, the concentrated byproduct stream comprising carbon dioxide, since the reference Keshner et al. teaches that a conventional apparatus typically employed for separating carbon dioxide from waste gases may be employed in place of the disclosed separator (205, 303) of Keshner et al. (see paras. [0015]; [0063]).
Regarding claim 13, the references Keshner et al. and Geerlings et al., teach the system, where the type of rock present in the reservoir includes igneous rock, such as volcanic rock or basalt (see Keshner et al.: paras. [0007]; [0009]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to inject the dissolved byproduct stream into a reservoir containing broken and fractured basaltic rock or silicate rock, since the reference Keshner et al. teaches injecting a highly concentrated solution of carbon dioxide in water into a reservoir containing broken and fractured rock that can react with dissolved carbon dioxide in the water to attain a rapid and economical conversion of carbon dioxide into stable carbonates (see paras. [0032]-[0034]). Further, the reference Keshner et al. teaches that the type of rock suitable to react with the dissolved carbon dioxide include igneous rock, such as volcanic rock or basalt (see paras. [0007]; [0009]; [0015]), which are considered to encompass the basaltic rock or silicate rock recited in claim 13.
Regarding claim 15, the references Keshner et al. and Geerlings et al. teach the system, wherein the pre-concentrator is configured to increase the CO2 concentration from less than 10 vol% to above 40 vol% (see Keshner et al.: para. [0071]; Geerlings et al.: para. [0036]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 16, the references Keshner et al. and Geerlings et al. teach the system, where the facility includes a power production facility (see Keshner et al.: paras. [0007]; [0070]; [0073]).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, the references Keshner et al. and Geerlings et al. teach the system, where the reservoir can be between about 300 m and 850 m below the surface (see Keshner et al. para. [0093]). Further, as no structural distinction is seen between the instantly claimed system and the system of Keshner et al. and Geerlings et al, the reservoir as taught of Keshner et al. can suitably be at temperature in the range as claimed by applicant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/LESSANEWORK SEIFU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774