DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8-14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2001340366A (366 from now on).
Regarding claim 1, 12, and 13, 366’ discloses a woven graft comprising a primary portion (main pipe A) having a primary lumen disposed therein, a secondary portion (branch pipe B) branching off the primary portion. The secondary portion having a secondary lumen disposed therein in fluid communication with the primary lumen and extending from the primary portion at a branching angle between 75 degrees to 105 degrees (see Figure 1) and a first transitional portion connecting the primary portion to the secondary portion (see below for explanation). The first transitional portion having a first aperture through which the secondary lumen fluidly communicates with the primary lumen (See Figure 1). Wherein the primary portion has a first weave pattern and the secondary portion has at least a second weave pattern (spec discloses that both portions are made of a weave pattern, also page 3, lines 21-39 of English translation discloses the portions with different shapes, thickness, etc…). The first transitional portion is free of punctures, cuts, and bursts and a transition from the primary portion to the secondary portion through the first transitional portion is free of stitched seams (see page 3, lines 6 and 7 of English translation).
NOTE: there is an inherent transition between the main portion to the branch portion, since, the connection is seamless.
Regarding claims 2 and 14, the first weave pattern is distinct from the second weave pattern, since, page 3, lines 25 and 26 discloses that the branch portion B can have a tapered configuration.
Regarding claims 5 and 8-9, see Figure 3 disclosing the tertiary portion having a second transitional portion and the connection between the primary portion and the tertiary portion is also seamless, therefore, it follows the same structural limitations of the secondary lumen and the transitional portion.
Regarding claim 6, the first weave pattern is distinct from the third weave pattern (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, see Fig. 3 disclosing the tertiary portion offset from the secondary portion.
Regarding claim 11, see Figure 4 disclosing the quaternary portion having a third transitional portion and the connection between the primary portion and the quaternary portion is also seamless, therefore, it follows the same structural limitations of the secondary lumen and the transitional portion.
Regarding claim 18, 366’ does not explicitly say that the primary portion and the secondary portion composed of different warp yarns, however, the Examiner believes that in different embodiments it does because as mentioned in the specification (English translation), the branches can have various shapes, thickness and lengths, therefore, if the branch has a taper configuration, then, the secondary portion will have different warp yarns compare the primary portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2001340366A (366 from now on).
366’ discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, 366’ does not disclose a resorbable material (claim 17) and is silent regarding the third weave pattern being distinct from the second weave pattern.
Regarding claim 7, as disclosed in page 3, lines 25-26 and 34-35 the reference talks about the method of making the implant by getting information from the database of a computer related to artificial blood vessels of different types sizes and also discloses the option of having the branch pipes being made of different shapes, such as, a taper shape, etc.. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to also make the third weave pattern distinct from the second weave pattern in order to accommodate the different sizes of the branches extending from the main portion.
Regarding claim 17, at the time the invention was made, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the material of the 366’ reference because Applicant has not disclosed that by having a resorbable material provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the polyester material because it would perform equally as well.
Therefore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the 366’ reference to obtain the invention as specified in claim 17.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 19-21 are allowed.
Conclusion
/ALVIN J STEWART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799 8/26/26