DETAILED ACTION
2. This action is in response to amendment filed on 5/19/2026, in which claims 1 – 3, 6 – 7, 9 – 11, 13 – 14, 16 – 17, and 19 – 20 was amended, and claims 1 – 20 was presented for further examination.
3. Claims 1 – 20 are now pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
4 Applicant's arguments filed 5/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See remarks below.
Remarks
5. As per claim 1, applicant argues in substance in pages 7 – 8 that Dean et al (US 2017/0230392 A1) and Bogachev et al (US 2023/0408991 A1), alone , or in combination does not disclose generating an outlier score associated with the feature based on the determined probability value identifying the subset as anomalous based at least in part on the generated outlier score associated with the feature.
Examiner respectfully responds that the combine teaching of Dean et al (US 2017/0230392 A1) and Zohrevand et al (An analytic review of anomaly scoring methods toward mitigating false alarms) discloses the limitation of generating an outlier score associated with the feature based on the determined probability value identifying the subset as anomalous based at least in part on the generated outlier score associated with the feature (Zohrevand: pg.4 col.2 lines 37 – 38, pg.6 col.1 lines 6 – 8, lines 12 – 13, and pg.10 lines 26 – 28).
Zohrevand discloses detection and correction of automatic false alarm. A set of observation of event are collected. The probability of the observation parameters is computed and anomaly score is generated based on the computed probability. The anomaly score is then used to identify the anomaly (see pg.4 col.2 lines 37 – 38, pg.6 col.1 lines 6 – 8, lines 12 – 13, and pg.10 lines 26 – 28).
Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1 – 4, 6 – 11, and 13 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dean et al (US 2017/0230392 A1), in view of Zohrevand et al (An analytic review of anomaly scoring methods toward mitigating false alarms).
As per claim 1, Dean et al (US 2017/0230392 A1) discloses,
A computer-implemented method, comprising: receiving a dataset associated with a device (para.[0050]; “network traffic monitor 110
extracts meta-data of packets moving across a network” and para.[0084]; “detecting anomalous behavior of network devices given the values of a collection of real valued metrics Mi, ... , Mn for each device”).
selecting a subset of data from the dataset, the subset including a feature (para.[0013]; “deriving values, m1, ..., mM of a metric, M, representative of data associated with the device” and para.[0050]; “network traffic monitor 110 extracts meta-data of packets moving across a network”).
determining parameters of the selected subset of data (para.[0013]; “deriving values, m1, ..., mM of a metric, M, representative of data associated with
the device”, para.[0043]; “The metrics are representative of data associated with a device of a computer system”, and para.[0051]; “measurements of network
activity are processed to produce behavior metrics”).
determining based on an extreme value theory (EVT) algorithm a probability value associated with the feature based at least in part on the determined parameters (NOTE: para.[0043]; “modelling the distribution of values of metrics, using extreme value theory …..distribution is then used to calculate the survival probabilities of observations of values of the metric. The survival probability is the probability of observing a more extreme value than the observed value” and para.[0086]; “extreme value theory is used. In particular, the method of Peaks Over Thresholds (POT) is used for estimating tail probabilities and quantiles from observed data”).
generating an outlier score associated with the feature based on the determined probability value (NOTE: para.[0013]; “the probability of observing a more extreme value of the metric than a given value, m, of the metric, wherein the probability is used to determine whether the device is behaving anomalously”, where extreme value is analogous to “outlier score” as claimed, para.[0014]; “probability of observing a more extreme value may be the probability of observing a greater value than the given value, m, when the given value is greater than a suitable quantile point of the values, mi, ... , mN; and/or
wherein the probability of observing a more extreme value is the probability of observing a smaller value than the given value, m, when the given value is less than a suitable quantile point of the values, mi, ... , mN”, and para.[0052]; “compute the values of the corresponding behavioral metrics”).
identifying the subset as anomalous based at least in part on the generated outlier score associated with the feature (para.[0013]; “wherein the probability is used to determine whether the device is behaving anomalously” and para.[0052]; “These values are then analyzed to see how anomalous the value of each metric is”).
and based on identifying the subset as anomalous, executing an action associated with the device (para.[0012]; “Network system administrators/security officers may be sent alerts about any device whose behavior is determined to be sufficiently anomalous”, where sending an alerts based on anomalous information is analogous to “based on identifying the subset as anomalous, executing an action associated with the device” as claimed).
The examiner believe Dean et al (US 2017/0230392 A1) discloses each and every feature of claim 1. In addition, Zohrevand et al (An analytic review of anomaly scoring methods toward mitigating false alarms) discloses, determining based on an extreme value theory (EVT) algorithm a probability value associated with the feature based at least in part on the determined parameters (pg.4 col.2 lines 37 – 38; “the anomaly score of the observations is computable based on their probabilities and data statistics” and pg.6 col.1 lines 6 – 8; “the probability-based and information theory-based scoring techniques”, lines 12 – 13; “Extreme value theorem: The extreme value theorem is explored in [41] to find distribution-independent bounds”).
generating an outlier score associated with the feature based on the determined probability value (pg.4 col.2 lines 37 – 38; “the anomaly score of the observations is computable based on their probabilities and data statistics” and pg.10 lines 26 – 28; “anomaly scoring improvement strategies take advantage of the rarity and probability values to score anomalies”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate anomaly scoring process of the system of Zohrevand into probability computation of anomalous behavior of a device of the system of Dean to analyzes behavioral patterns, and reports suspicious events for further investigation
As per claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Zohrevand et al (An analytic review of anomaly scoring methods toward mitigating false alarms) discloses,
wherein the device is an IoT device, wherein the outlier score above a threshold indicates the IoT device failed or is susceptible to fail and wherein the action is to initiate repair or replacement of the IoT device (pg.1 col.2 lines 6 – 9; “scoring and ranking the suspicion level of observations, an
optimal threshold of anomaly scores to flag the system status, discard noise or irrelevant outliers”, pg.2 col.1 line 29; “internet of things (IoT) related AD”, and pg.7 col.2 lines 37 – 43; “An online collective analysis technique is proposed in [49] to handle flagging of suspicious events based on anomaly detection techniques ……….anomalous interval is more suspicious of being attack than a single strike caused by sensor noise or predictor faults”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate anomaly scoring process of the system of Zohrevand into probability computation of anomalous behavior of a device of the system of Dean to produce a probabilistic forecast of extreme values based on a statistical model of extremes fitted to data.
As per claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Dean et al (US 2017/0230392 A1) discloses,
wherein: the subset includes a plurality of features (para.[0012]; “processing the new network activity measurement of each device to compute the values of the corresponding behavioral metrics”).
and the computer-implemented method further comprises: implementing the EVT algorithm to determine a probability value associated with each of the plurality of features (para.[0043]; “modelling the distribution of values of metrics, using extreme value theory …..distribution is then used to calculate the survival probabilities of observations of values of the metric. The survival probability is the probability of observing a more extreme value than the observed value” and para.[0086]; “extreme value theory is used. In particular, the method of Peaks Over Thresholds (POT) is used for estimating tail probabilities and quantiles from observed data”).
generating an outlier score associated with each of the plurality of features (para.[0013]; “the probability of observing a more extreme value of the metric than a given value, m, of the metric, wherein the probability is used to determine whether the device is behaving anomalously” and para.[0014]; “probability of observing a more extreme value may be the probability of observing a greater value than the given value, m, when the given value is greater than a suitable quantile point of the values, mi, ... , mN; and/or wherein the probability of observing a more extreme value is the probability of observing a smaller value than the given value, m, when the given value is less than a suitable quantile point of the values, mi, ... , mN”).
and generating an aggregate outlier score associated with the subset, the aggregate outlier score comprising a sum of the generated outlier scores associated with each of the plurality of features (para.[0012]; “levels of anomalousness of the values of each behavioral metric of a device may be combined to produce a measure of the overall anomalousness of the behavior of each device”).
As per claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Dean et al (US 2017/0230392 A1) discloses,
wherein the dataset associated with the device comprises data captured by one or more sensors in real time (para.[0052]; “analyzing the new observations of the activity of each network device in real time”).
As per claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Dean et al (US 2017/0230392 A1) discloses,
further comprising: determining using the EVT algorithm a threshold associated with anomalous features (para.[0086]; “extreme value theory is used. In particular, the method of Peaks Over Thresholds (POT) is used for estimating tail probabilities and quantiles from observed data”).
As per claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated and further Dean et al (US 2017/0230392 A1) discloses,
further comprising: identifying the subset as anomalous based at least in part on the generated outlier score associated with the feature being greater than the determined threshold (para.[0014]; “probability of observing a more extreme value may be the probability of observing a greater value than the given value, m, when the given value is greater than a suitable quantile point of the values, mi, ... , mN; and/or wherein the probability of observing a more extreme value is the probability of observing a smaller value than the given value, m, when the given value is less than a suitable quantile point of the values, mi, ... , mN”).
As per claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated and further Dean et al (US 2017/0230392 A1) discloses,
further comprising: identifying the subset as anomalous in real-time (para.[0252]; “New values of the behavioral metrics are fed into the system in real time for anomaly detection and alerting”).
As per claim 9, Dean et al (US 2017/0230392 A1) discloses,
A system, comprising: a processor; a memory storing instructions executable by the processor (para.[0035]; “system comprising a processor, and a memory comprising computer readable code operable, in use, to instruct the processor to perform”).
a data collector, implemented on the processor, that receives a dataset (para.[0047]; “a processor arranged to run the steps of the process described herein, memory required to store information related to the running of the
process, as well as a network interface for collecting the required information”).
an extreme value theory (EVT) mechanism, implemented on the processor (para.[0086]; “extreme value theory is used. In particular, the method of Peaks Over Thresholds (POT) is used for estimating tail probabilities and quantiles from observed data”).
that: selects a subset of data from the dataset, the subset including a feature (para.[0013]; “deriving values, m1, ..., mM of a metric, M, representative of data associated with the device”).
determines parameters of the selected subset of data (para.[0013]; “deriving values, m1, ..., mM of a metric, M, representative of data associated with the device” and para.[0043]; “The metrics are representative of data associated with a device of a computer system”).
determines based on an extreme value theory (EVT) algorithm a probability value associated with the feature based at least in part on the determined parameters (NOTE: para.[0043]; “modelling the distribution of values of metrics, using extreme value theory …..distribution is then used to calculate the survival probabilities of observations of values of the metric. The survival probability is the probability of observing a more extreme value than the observed value” and para.[0086]; “extreme value theory is used. In particular, the method of Peaks Over Thresholds (POT) is used for estimating tail probabilities and quantiles from observed data”).
generates an outlier score associated with the feature based on the determined probability value (NOTE: para.[0013]; “the probability of observing a more extreme value of the metric than a given value, m, of the metric, wherein the probability is used to determine whether the device is behaving anomalously” and para.[0014]; “probability of observing a more extreme value may be the probability of observing a greater value than the given value, m, when the given value is greater than a suitable quantile point of the values, mi, ... , mN; and/or wherein the probability of observing a more extreme value is the probability of observing a smaller value than the given value, m, when the given value is less than a suitable quantile point of the values, mi, ... , mN”).
and identifies the subset as anomalous based at least in part on the generated outlier score associated with the feature (para.[0013]; “wherein the probability is used to determine whether the device is behaving anomalously”).
and a task executor, implemented on the processor, that executes an action based on the subset being identified as anomalous (para.[0012]; “Network system administrators/security officers may be sent alerts about any device whose behavior is determined to be sufficiently anomalous”).
The examiner believe Dean et al (US 2017/0230392 A1) discloses each and every feature of claim 1. In addition, Zohrevand et al (An analytic review of anomaly scoring methods toward mitigating false alarms) discloses
determines based on an extreme value theory (EVT) algorithm a probability value associated with the feature based at least in part on the determined parameters (pg.4 col.2 lines 37 – 38; “the anomaly score of the observations is computable based on their probabilities and data statistics”, pg.6 col.1 lines 6 – 8; “the probability-based and information theory-based scoring techniques”, lines 12 – 13; “Extreme value theorem: The extreme value theorem is explored in [41] to find distribution-independent bounds”, and pg.10 lines 32 – 34; “processes are another type of strategies to update the threshold related parameters based on the running system performance”).
generates an outlier score associated with the feature based on the determined probability value (pg.4 col.2 lines 37 – 38; “the anomaly score of the observations is computable based on their probabilities and data statistics” and pg.10 lines 26 – 28; “anomaly scoring improvement strategies take advantage of the rarity and probability values to score anomalies”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate anomaly scoring process of the system of Zohrevand into probability computation of anomalous behavior of a device of the system of Dean to Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate anomaly scoring process of the system of Zohrevand into probability computation of anomalous behavior of a device of the system of Dean to analyzes behavioral patterns, and reports suspicious events for further investigation
As per claim 10, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated and further Dean et al (US 2017/0230392 A1) discloses,
wherein: the subset includes a plurality of features (para.[0012]; “processing the new network activity measurement of each device to compute the values of the corresponding behavioral metrics”).
and the EVT mechanism further: implements the EVT algorithm to determine a probability value associated with each of the plurality of features (para.[0043]; “modelling the distribution of values of metrics, using extreme value theory …..distribution is then used to calculate the survival probabilities of observations of values of the metric. The survival probability is the probability of observing a more extreme value than the observed value” and para.[0086]; “extreme value theory is used. In particular, the method of Peaks Over Thresholds (POT) is used for estimating tail probabilities and quantiles from observed data”).
generates an outlier score associated with each of the plurality of features (para.[0013]; “the probability of observing a more extreme value of the metric than a given value, m, of the metric, wherein the probability is used to determine whether the device is behaving anomalously” and para.[0014]; “probability of observing a more extreme value may be the probability of observing a greater value than the given value, m, when the given value is greater than a suitable quantile point of the values, mi, ... , mN; and/or wherein the probability of observing a more extreme value is the probability of observing a smaller value than the given value, m, when the given value is less than a suitable quantile point of the values, mi, ... , mN”).
As per claim 11, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated and further Dean et al (US 2017/0230392 A1) discloses,
wherein the EVT mechanism further generates an aggregate outlier score associated with the subset, the aggregate outlier score comprising a sum of the generated outlier scores associated with each of the plurality of features (para.[0012]; “levels of anomalousness of the values of each behavioral metric of a device may be combined to produce a measure of the overall anomalousness of the behavior of each device”).
As per claim 13, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated and further Dean et al (US 2017/0230392 A1) discloses,
wherein the EVT mechanism further determines a threshold for anomalous features based on the EVT algorithm (para.[0086]; “extreme value theory is used. In particular, the method of Peaks Over Thresholds (POT) is used for estimating tail probabilities and quantiles from observed data”).
As per claim 14, the rejection of claim 13 is incorporated and further Dean et al (US 2017/0230392 A1) discloses,
wherein the EVT mechanism further identifies the subset as anomalous based at least in part on the generated outlier score associated with the feature being greater than the determined threshold (para.[0014]; “probability of observing a more extreme value may be the probability of observing a greater value than the given value, m, when the given value is greater than a suitable quantile point of the values, mi, ... , mN; and/or wherein the probability of observing a more extreme value is the probability of observing a smaller value than the given value, m, when the given value is less than a suitable quantile point of the values, mi, ... , mN”).
As per claim 15, the rejection of claim 9 is incorporated and further Dean et al (US 2017/0230392 A1) discloses,
wherein the EVT mechanism further identifies the subset as anomalous in real-time (para.[0252]; “New values of the behavioral metrics are fed into the system in real time for anomaly detection and alerting”).
Claim 16 is a computer-storage memory claim corresponding to system claim 9, and rejected under the same reason set forth in connection to the rejection of claim 9 above
Claims 17 and 18 - 20 are computer-storage memory claim corresponding to method claims 3 and 5 - 7respectively, and rejected under the same reason set forth in connection to the rejection of claims 3 and 5 - 7 respectively above.
6. Claims 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dean et al (US 2017/0230392 A1), in view of Zohrevand et al (An analytic review of anomaly scoring methods toward mitigating false alarms), and further in view of Bogachev et al (US 2023/0408991 A1).
As per claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Dean et al (US 2017/0230392 A1) and Zohrevand et al (An analytic review of anomaly scoring methods toward mitigating false alarms) does not discloses wherein the determined parameters are a gamma value and a sigma value of a tail of a calibration set of data, the method further comprising: calculating a final threshold as approximately equal to a risk factor multiplied by a total number of observations over a number of peaks in the dataset, all raised to a power of negative gamma value, minus one, multiplied by a proportion of the sigma value and the gamma value, plus an initial threshold and assigning the outlier score to the feature based on determining a sample value associated with the feature to be more than the final threshold.
However, Bogachev et al (US 2023/0408991 A1) in an analogous art discloses,
wherein the determined parameters are a gamma value and a sigma value of a tail of a calibration set of data, the method further comprising: calculating a final threshold as approximately equal to a risk factor multiplied by a total number of observations over a number of peaks in the dataset, all raised to a power of negative gamma value, minus one, multiplied by a proportion of the sigma value and the gamma value, plus an initial threshold and assigning the outlier score to the feature based on determining a sample value associated with the feature to be more than the final threshold (para.[0122]; “the POT approach specifies a preferably large value for the threshold 722, u, such that only those signals of interest which exceed the threshold 722 are considered extreme values. The distribution of the extreme values is then determined by fitting a suitable distribution”, para.[0124]; “the quality of statistical estimation of the model parameters from available exceedances (which would get depleted due to higher thresholds). Preferably, the threshold is chosen according to an empirical quantile; for instance at a 95% level, so that about 5% of observed values lie above this threshold. This empirical approach is particularly useful for initial calibration of the model”, para.[0125]; “the plurality of signals of interest are censored by defining the threshold exceedances over a threshold u”,
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate probabilistic forecast of extreme values of the system of Bogachev into anomaly scoring process of the system of Zohrevand to produce a probabilistic forecast of extreme values based on a statistical model of extremes fitted to data.
As per claim 12, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated, Dean et al (US 2017/0230392 A1) and Zohrevand et al (An analytic review of anomaly scoring methods toward mitigating false alarms) does not discloses wherein the determined parameters are a gamma value and a sigma value of a tail of a calibration set of data.
However, Bogachev et al (US 2023/0408991 A1) in an analogous art discloses,
wherein the determined parameters are a gamma value and a sigma value of a tail of a calibration set of data (para.[0124]; “the quality of statistical estimation of the model parameters from available exceedances (which would get depleted due to higher thresholds). Preferably, the threshold is chosen according to an empirical quantile; for instance at a 95% level, so that about 5% of observed values lie above this threshold. This empirical approach is particularly useful for initial calibration of the model”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to incorporate probabilistic forecast of extreme values of the system of Bogachev into anomaly scoring process of the system of Zohrevand to produce a probabilistic forecast of extreme values based on a statistical model of extremes fitted to data.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AUGUSTINE K. OBISESAN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2156
7/11/2026