DETAILED ACTION
StatusClaims(s) 1-20, is/are filed on 8/18/2025 are currently pending. Claim(s) 18-20 is/are withdrawn, 1-17 is/are rejected. Claims 14-17 are allowed.
Election-Restrictions
The applicant elected group 1 corresponding to claims 1-17 in the reply filed 8/18/2025. Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed.
Applicants argue there is no search or examination burden because, applicant believes all the claims are in the same overlapping class. However, this not found persuasive. There is a search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species the inventions required a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries even though the inventions are classified together) (refer MPEP 808.02). Moreover, in this case the method and apparatus have separate classification as noted in the restriction, thereby employing a search burden. This restriction is made final.
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1 of copending Application No. 17937690. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 of copending Application No. 17937690 substantially correspond to claims 1 of instant application because each of claims of the instant application are broader version the patent. Instant claim 1 is anticipated by reference claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim(s) 1 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1 of copending Application No. 18062337. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 of copending Application No. 18062337 substantially correspond to claims 1 of instant application because each of claims of the instant application are broader version the patent. Instant claim 1 is anticipated by reference claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by DIEL (US 20200353414 A1).
Regarding claim 1, DIEL teaches a fluid filtration system comprising: a workstation, the workstation including a cabinet (18 i.e. a housing); a pump (80), the pump supported by the cabinet and adapted to selectively produce a flow of fluid; a single use filter (12), the single use filter removably mounted to the workstation, the single use filter having an upstream end and a downstream end; a fluid supply conduit (56), the upstream end of the single use filter being in fluid communication with the pump via the fluid supply conduit, the fluid supply conduit including a junction (implied in fig. 2) and a fluid supply valve (66), the fluid supply valve disposed between the junction and the pump; a vent conduit (52), the vent conduit being in fluid communication with junction of the fluid supply conduit such that the upstream end of the single use filter is in fluid communication with the vent conduit via the junction and a common branch extends between the junction and the upstream end of the single use filter, the vent conduit including an outlet (60), a liquid sensor (76), and a vent valve (74), the liquid sensor disposed between the junction and the outlet, the vent valve disposed between the liquid sensor and the outlet, the liquid sensor configured to generate a liquid detection signal in response to detecting liquid in the vent conduit; a control unit (78), the control unit in electrical communication with the liquid sensor to receive the liquid detection signal therefrom, the control unit including a processor and a non-transitory computer readable medium bearing a filter conditioning program containing a filter priming module, the processor arranged with the computer readable medium to execute the filter conditioning program, the processor being in electrical communication with the pump, the fluid supply valve, the vent valve, and the liquid sensor to perform a priming operation on the single use filter based upon instructions from the filter priming module [0042].
Regarding claim 2, DIEL teaches wherein the filter priming module is configured to perform the following steps when executed by the processor: open the fluid supply valve (66) to open the fluid supply conduit, open the vent valve (74) to open the vent conduit, operate the pump (80) to deliver the flow of fluid to the upstream end of the single use filter such that gas in the fluid supply conduit is displaced to the vent conduit, cease operation of the pump and/or close the vent valve in response to receiving the liquid detection signal (from 76) [0026].
Regarding claim 4, DIEL teaches wherein the filter priming module is configured to perform the following steps as part of the priming operation when executed by the processor: close the vent valve in response to receiving the liquid detection signal, operate the pump to deliver the flow of fluid to the single use filter such that the flow of fluid passes through the single use filter and the discharge conduit and out of the second outlet [0024-0027].
Regarding claim 5, DIEL teaches wherein the filter conditioning program includes a filter flushing module, the filter flushing module being configured to perform the following steps as part of a flushing operation when executed by the processor: close the vent valve in response to receiving the liquid detection signal, close the first outlet valve to occlude the first outlet, partially open the second outlet valve to partially open the second outlet operate the pump to deliver the flow of fluid to the single use filter such that the flow of fluid passes through the single use filter and the discharge conduit and out of the second outlet to thereby produce a backpressure in the discharge conduit [0025-0028].
Regarding claim 6, DIEL teaches wherein the filter conditioning program includes a filter flushing module, the filter flushing module being configured to perform the following steps as part of a flushing operation when executed by the processor: operate the pump to deliver the flow of fluid to the single use filter such that the flow of fluid passes through the single use filter and the discharge conduit and out of the second outlet, close the vent valve in response to receiving the liquid detection signal, close the first outlet valve to occlude the first outlet, sequentially open and close the second outlet valve to sequentially open and close the second outlet to thereby produce a pulsing effect in the discharge conduit [0025-0028].
Regarding claim 7, DIEL teaches further comprising: a pressurized gas supply conduit, the upstream end of the single use filter being in fluid communication with the pressurized gas supply conduit, the pressurized gas supply conduit adapted to selectively direct a flow of pressurized gas therethrough to the upstream end of the single use filter; wherein the filter conditioning program includes a filter pressurizing module, the filter pressurizing module being configured to perform the following steps as part of a pressurizing operation when executed by the processor: close the fluid supply valve to occlude the fluid supply conduit, close the vent valve to occlude the vent conduit, close the first outlet valve to occlude the first outlet, close the second outlet valve to occlude the second outlet, direct the flow of pressurized gas through the pressurized gas supply conduit to the upstream end of the single use filter [0015, 0025-0028].
Regarding claim 8, DIEL teaches wherein the pressurized gas supply conduit includes an air filter (54).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 3-8, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diel (US 20200353414 A1) in view of Brugger (US 5650071 A).
Regarding claim 3, DIEL teaches further comprising: a discharge conduit (48), the discharge conduit being in fluid communication with the downstream end of the single use filter, the discharge conduit including a first outlet (44) and a second outlet (46) and a first outlet valve (40, implied). DIEL does not teach a second outlet valve (implied) respectively associated with the first outlet and the second outlet, the first outlet adapted for fluid connection to a product container and the second outlet adapted for fluid connection to a waste repository; wherein the filter priming module is configured to perform the following steps as part of the priming operation when executed by the processor: close the first outlet valve to occlude the first outlet, open the second outlet valve to open the second outlet. Yyy teaches a first outlet valve (venous clamp 72), second outlet valve (waste valve 106). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have to incorporated these valves for the purpose of priming and maintaining aseptic technique.
Regarding claim 4, DIEL teaches the filter priming module is configured to perform the following steps as part of the priming operation when executed by the processor: close the vent valve (74) in response to receiving the liquid detection signal, operate the pump (80) to deliver the flow of fluid to the single use filter (12) such that the flow of fluid passes through the single use filter and the discharge conduit (48) and out of the second outlet (46) [0024-0032].
Regarding claim 5, DIEL teaches the filter conditioning program includes a filter flushing module, the filter flushing module being configured to perform the following steps as part of a flushing operation when executed by the processor: close the vent valve in response to receiving the liquid detection signal, close the first outlet valve to occlude the first outlet, partially open the second outlet valve to partially open the second outlet operate the pump to deliver the flow of fluid to the single use filter such that the flow of fluid passes through the single use filter and the discharge conduit and out of the second outlet to thereby produce a backpressure in the discharge conduit [0027].
Regarding claim 6, DIEL teaches the filter conditioning program includes a filter flushing module, the filter flushing module being configured to perform the following steps as part of a flushing operation when executed by the processor: operate the pump to deliver the flow of fluid to the single use filter such that the flow of fluid passes through the single use filter and the discharge conduit and out of the second outlet, close the vent valve in response to receiving the liquid detection signal, close the first outlet valve to occlude the first outlet, sequentially open and close the second outlet valve to sequentially open and close the second outlet to thereby produce a pulsing effect in the discharge conduit [0027].
Regarding claim 7, DIEL teaches a pressurized gas supply conduit (60, implied), the upstream end of the single use filter being in fluid communication with the pressurized gas supply conduit, the pressurized gas supply conduit adapted to selectively direct a flow of pressurized gas therethrough to the upstream end of the single use filter; wherein the filter conditioning program includes a filter pressurizing module, the filter pressurizing module being configured to perform the following steps as part of a pressurizing operation when executed by the processor: close the fluid supply valve to occlude the fluid supply conduit, close the vent valve to occlude the vent conduit, close the first outlet valve to occlude the first outlet, close the second outlet valve to occlude the second outlet, direct the flow of pressurized gas through the pressurized gas supply conduit to the upstream end of the single use filter [0015-0028].
Regarding claim 8, DIEL teaches wherein the pressurized gas supply conduit includes an air filter (54) [0010].
Regarding claim 13, DIEL does not teach the claim details. However, this is well-known. EP 1450879 B1eaches wherein the fluid supply conduit includes a prefilter (48 - ultrafilter), the prefilter disposed upstream of the single use filter (50) between a pump (8) and the junction (85). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to incorporated a prefilter to remove coarse particulates before the main single use filter, extending the life of the main filter, as prefiltration is conventional in fluid systems to prevent clogging.
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BRUGGER (US 5650071 A) in view of XIAO (WO 2016045577 A1).
Regarding claim 14, BRUGGER teaches a fluid filtration system comprising: a single use filter (54), the single use filter having an upstream end and a downstream end; a common branch (52), the common branch in fluid communication with the upstream end of the single use filter, the common branch including a first junction (102) and a second junction (implied in cartridge 42); a fluid supply conduit (38), the fluid supply conduit being in fluid communication with the first junction of the common branch such that the upstream end of the single use filter is in fluid communication with the fluid supply conduit via the first junction, the fluid supply conduit including a fluid supply valve (40), the first junction disposed between the fluid supply valve and the upstream end of the single use filter; a vent conduit (94), the vent conduit being in fluid communication with the second junction of the common branch such that the upstream end of the single use filter is in fluid communication with the vent conduit via the second junction, the vent conduit including an outlet (end of 94), and a vent valve (clamp on 94), the liquid sensor disposed between the first junction and the second junction of the common branch, the vent valve disposed between the second junction and the outlet, the liquid sensor configured to generate a liquid detection signal in response to detecting liquid in the vent conduit; a discharge conduit (66), the discharge conduit being in fluid communication with the downstream end of the single use filter, the discharge conduit including a first outlet (to 36) and a second outlet (to 86) and a first outlet valve (72) and a second outlet valve (106) respectively associated with the first outlet and the second outlet, the first outlet adapted for fluid connection to a product container and the second outlet adapted for fluid connection to a waste repository.
BRUGGER does not teach a liquid sensor in vent conduit generating signal. XIAO taches a liquid sensor (WIF sensor with pins 310). Paragraph [0025-0035]: "The top end 302 further includes water in fuel (“WIF”) pins 310 that extend into the fuel filter housing 106 when the automatic drain assembly 114 is coupled to the fuel filter housing 106. The WIF pins 310 are part of a WIF sensor. The WIF pins 310 are used by a controller 502 to determine when the water level within the fuel filter housing 106 reaches a threshold level." It would have been obvious to incorporate a liquid sensor as in XIAO into the vent conduit of BRUGGER to detect liquid presence and prevent overflow or contamination during venting, as liquid level sensors are conventional in fluid systems to trigger control actions like valve closure, enhancing safety in medical filtration where air venting must avoid liquid loss.
Regarding claim 15, BRUGGER teaches a pressurized gas supply conduit (pneumatic to 222), the pressurized gas supply conduit being in fluid communication with the second junction of the common branch such that the upstream end of the single use filter is in fluid communication with the pressurized gas supply conduit via the second junction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 9-12, 16-17 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
***
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/WAQAAS ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777