DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s remarks/arguments 1/07/2026 for
response of the office action mailed on 10/17/2025. Claims 1-3, 8, 10-15, 17-21, 23-26, and 28-31 have been amended. Claims 1-8, 10-21, and 23-32 remain pending in the application.
file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicant’s remarks/arguments (page 9-14), filed on 1/07/2026, with respect to the independent claim
1 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks in page 12 for the independent claim 1, Applicant asserts that “the fourth indication discussed in WANG is not communicated until after the terminal device evaluates the conditions of execution of handover. Thus, the fourth indication of WANG does not teach or suggest an "early bye message," as recited in amended claim 1, at least because the fourth indication is not sent until after handover has been triggered”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. WANG (WO 2021/056453 A1) discloses (In response to receiving the handover command, the terminal device 120 may evaluates 207 all the conditions of execution of handover associated with each of the at least one second network device 130. Return back to FIG. 2, upon transmitting the fourth indication, the terminal device 120 may perform 209 a random access channel (RACH) procedure with the second network device 130 (i.e., the first device 130) so as to establish a connection (i.e., the second connection) with the first device 130. So far, simultaneous connections between terminal device 120 and the first and second network devices 110 and 130 are established, Wang: [0053], [0064]).
Regarding remarks in page 10 for the independent claim 1, Applicant asserts that WANG does not discuss a "wait timer," as recited in amended claim 1, nor does the Office Action point to any portion of WANG as allegedly disclosing the recited "wait timer".
Wang discloses (the terminal device 120 may perform the determination by using a newly-defined timer. For example, if receiving an acknowledgement for the transmission of the fourth indication within a preset time period, the terminal device 120 may determine that the fourth indication is successfully transmitted. Otherwise, the terminal device 120 may determine that the fourth indication is not successfully transmitted. the terminal device 120 may perform the determination by limiting the number of transmission times. For example, if the number of the transmission of the fourth indication is above a preset value and an acknowledgement for the transmission of the fourth indication is still not received, the terminal device 120 may determine that the fourth indication is not successfully transmitted. Otherwise, the terminal device 120 may determine that the fourth indication is successfully transmitted, Wang: [0113]-[0116]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 10, 16-21, 23, and 27-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
KIM (US 2020/0288359 Al, hereinafter “Kim”) in view of WANG (WO 2021/056453 A1, hereinafter “Wang”) and in further view of LATHEEF et al. (US 2021/0051550 Al, hereinafter “Latheef”).
.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses:
A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising (the wireless communication network may comprise a plurality of base stations and a plurality of user equipment, Kim: Fig.1, [0057]):
one or more memories (processor may execute a program stored in at least one of the memory and the storage device, Kim: [0056]); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to (communication node may comprise at least one processor. The processor may execute a program stored in at least one of the memory and the storage device, Kim: [0055]-[0056]):
generate, based at least in part on a handover condition being satisfied, configuring the measurement or reporting parameters for mobility control, the terminal establishing a connection with the serving cell may report, to the serving cell, the capability information informing that the terminal is a terminal capable of simultaneously receiving services from two cells, Kim: [0166]); and
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
generate,
transmit, to the source cell, the bye message before the CHO is initiated or during a wait timer that is started after the CHO is initiated.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches:
generate, based at least in part on a handover condition being satisfied, a bye message that indicates that the UE is preparing to leave a source cell for a target cell (terminal device may transmit, to the first network device, a fourth indication (e.g., "bye" message) regarding establishment of the second connection, Wang: [0054]-[0055]),
transmit, to the source cell, the bye message before the CHO is initiated (In response to receiving the handover command, the terminal device may evaluate all the conditions of execution of handover associated with each of the at least one second network device. terminal device may transmit, to the first network device, a fourth indication (e.g., "bye" message) regarding establishment of the second connection between the first device and the terminal device having a first connection with the first network device. terminal device may transmit a special scheduling request (SR) to the first network device and transmit the MAC CE to the first network device in a grant from the first network device in response to the special SR. Return back to FIG. 2, upon transmitting the fourth indication, the terminal device 120 may perform 209 a random access channel (RACH) procedure with the second network device 130 (i.e., the first device 130) so as to establish a connection (i.e., the second connection) with the first device 130. So far, simultaneous connections between terminal device 120 and the first and second network devices 110 and 130 are established, Wang: [0053]-[0057], [0064])
or during a wait timer that is started after the CHO is triggered (the terminal device 120 may perform the determination by using a newly-defined timer. For example, if receiving an acknowledgement for the transmission of the fourth indication within a preset time period, the terminal device 120 may determine that the fourth indication is successfully transmitted. Otherwise, the terminal device 120 may determine that the fourth indication is not successfully transmitted. the terminal device 120 may perform the determination by limiting the number of transmission times. For example, if the number of the transmission of the fourth indication is above a preset value and an acknowledgement for the transmission of the fourth indication is still not received, the terminal device 120 may determine that the fourth indication is not successfully transmitted. Otherwise, the terminal device 120 may determine that the fourth indication is successfully transmitted, Wang: [0113]-[0116]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Wang in order to further modify generating, based at least in part on a handover condition being satisfied, an early bye message and transmitting the early bye message before a conditional handover (CHO) is triggered or during a wait timer that is started after the CHO is triggered from the teachings of Wang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because conditional handover with simultaneous connectivity can be achieved and both a reduction of handover interruption and an improvement of handover robustness are attained (Wang: [0138]).
Yet, Kim in view of Wang do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the bye message includes a cell identifier (ID) or a physical cell ID of a cell for which a conditional handover (CHO) is to be initiated; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Latheef teaches:
wherein the early bye message includes a cell identifier (ID) or a physical cell ID of a cell for which a conditional handover (CHO) is to be initiated (CHO) is initiated (the source cell 106 may configure a new identifier or the measurement identifier within the CHO configurations for linking the measurement object and the report configuration. The new identifier can incur more overhead, but the new identifier can be used if the same CHO triggering condition is applied for multiple candidates, Latheef: [0059]-[0062]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim and Wang in view of Latheef in order to further modify the bye message which includes a cell identifier (ID) or a physical cell ID of a cell for which a conditional handover (CHO) is to be initiated (CHO) is initiated from the teachings of Latheef.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the CHO configurations may include the container with the CHO target cell configurations (Latheef: [0062]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim-Wang-Latheef teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Kim further discloses:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to monitoring for a response to the early bye message until the wait timer expires (the terminal may be controlled or configured to select (or determine) the target cell for the simultaneous service release (or, termination) based on a timer. the timer may be configured to start at a time point at which the terminal transmits the radio access request message. when a control message is transmitted, a timer may be configured for each control message to control timing, Kim: [0230]- [0234], [0237]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim-Wang-Latheef teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Kim further discloses:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit a CHO complete message after transmitting the early bye message (transmitting a fourth message to the base station of the serving cell, the fourth message reporting completion of configuration for receiving the services simultaneously from the serving cell and the target cell. terminal may transmit a control message indicating that the configuration of the simultaneous service is completed also to the serving cell, Kim: [0008], [0180], [0183], [0185], [0221]).
Regarding claim 4, Kim-Wang-Latheef teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Kim further discloses:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit a CHO complete message after the wait timer expires (terminal may transmit the control message informing the completion of the simultaneous service, a case when a packet transmission delay measured between both links is greater than a reference, Kim: [0221] - [0229]).
Regarding claim 6, Kim-Wang-Latheef teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Kim further discloses:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the handover condition includes one or more of a threshold gradient of signal strength, a threshold gradient of signal quality, a threshold Doppler parameter, or a velocity of the UE (message may include at least one of a reference condition or threshold value of a radio channel for receiving a simultaneous service, a parameter for performing an operation, a triggering condition, a measurement or reporting reference value or threshold value, or a related timer configuration parameter, Kim: [0023], [0143], [0178]).
Regarding claim 7, Kim-Wang-Latheef teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Kim further discloses:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the handover condition includes multiple measurement events (message may include at least one of a reference condition or threshold value of a radio channel for receiving a simultaneous service, a parameter for performing an operation, a triggering condition, a measurement or reporting reference value or threshold value, or a related timer configuration parameter, Kim: [0014], [0143], [0178]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim-Wang-Latheef teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Kim further discloses:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the early bye message, are configured to transmit the bye message in a radio resource control message, a medium access control element (MAC CE), a scheduling request specific to handover, or a channel state information report specific to handover (terminal may independently configure and maintain a signaling radio bearer (SRB) for transmission of an RRC control message with both the serving cell and the target cell, Kim: [0247]-[0248]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim-Wang-Latheef teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Kim further discloses:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the early bye message includes a configuration index that identifies the target cell (during the handover, the terminal may receive information on the configuration of the beams of the base station from the base station through a handover control message, Kim: [0117]).
Regarding claim 16, Kim-Wang-Latheef teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Kim further discloses:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the CHO includes a dual active protocol stack handover (simultaneous service is a handover scheme using radio protocol layers (or stack) dually activated in the source cell and the target cell for the handover terminal (i.e., dual active protocol layer handover or dual active protocol stack handover), Kim: [0172], [0176]).
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses:
A network entity in a source cell for wireless communication, comprising (the wireless communication network may comprise a plurality of base stations and a plurality of user equipments, Kim: Fig.1, [0057]):
one or more memories (processor may execute a program stored in at least one of the memory and the storage device, Kim: [0056]); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to (communication node may comprise at least one processor. The processor may execute a program stored in at least one of the memory and the storage device, Kim: [0055]-[0056]):
receive, from a user equipment (UE) before a trigger of a conditional handover (CHO), terminal may transmit, to the serving cell, a control (or measurement result) message requesting a start (or configuration) of the simultaneous service or informing that the start (or configuration) condition. the control message requesting the start of the simultaneous service or informing that the condition for starting the simultaneous service is satisfied is received from the terminal. When the control message requesting the start of the simultaneous service or informing that the condition for starting the simultaneous service is satisfied is received from the terminal 702, the serving cell 701-1 may determine whether to perform the simultaneous service, Kim: [0172]- [0173]); and
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
receive,
forward data to one or more prepared CHO target cells based at least in part on the early bye message.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches:
receive, terminal device may transmit, to the first network device, a fourth indication (e.g., "bye" message) regarding establishment of the second connection, Wang: [0054])
forward data to one or more prepared CHO target cells based at least in part on the early bye message (first network device may transmit data of the terminal device and sequence number information associated with the first data packet of the data to the first device, i.e., perform data forwarding to the first device. if one of the second network devices is selected as the first device, the first network device may transmit the fourth indication using the SR configuration corresponding to this second network device, Wang: [0030], [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Wang in order to further modify receiving, from a user equipment (UE) before initiation of a conditional handover (CHO), an early bye message and forwarding data to one or more prepared CHO target cells based at least in part on the early bye message from the teachings of Wang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because conditional handover with simultaneous connectivity can be achieved and both a reduction of handover interruption and an improvement of handover robustness are attained (Wang: [0138]).
Yet, Kim in view of Wang do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the bye message includes a cell identifier (ID) or a physical cell ID of a cell for which the CHO is to be initiated; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Latheef teaches:
wherein the bye message includes a cell identifier (ID) or a physical cell ID of a cell for which the CHO is to be initiated (the source cell 106 may configure a new identifier or the measurement identifier within the CHO configurations for linking the measurement object and the report configuration. The new identifier can incur more overhead, but the new identifier can be used if the same CHO triggering condition is applied for multiple candidates, Latheef: [0060]-[0062]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim and Wang in view of Latheef in order to further modify the bye message which includes a cell identifier (ID) or a physical cell ID of a cell for which a conditional handover (CHO) is to be initiated (CHO) is initiated from the teachings of Latheef.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the CHO configurations may include the container with the CHO target cell configurations (Latheef: [0062]).
Regarding claim 18, Kim-Wang-Latheef teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Kim further discloses:
The network entity of claim 17, wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit a response to the early bye message (the terminal may be controlled or configured to select (or determine) the target cell for the simultaneous service release (or, termination) based on a timer. the timer may be configured to start at a time point at which the terminal transmits the radio access request message. when a control message is transmitted, a timer may be configured for each control message to control timing, Kim: [0230]- [0234], [0237]).
Regarding claim 19, Kim-Wang-Latheef teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Kim further discloses:
The network entity of claim 17, wherein the one or more prepared CHO target cells includes the target cell identified by a cell identifier in the early bye message (transmitting a fourth message to the base station of the serving cell, the fourth message reporting completion of configuration for receiving the services simultaneously from the serving cell and the target cell. terminal may transmit a control message indicating that the configuration of the simultaneous service is completed also to the serving cell, Kim: [0008], [0180], [0183], [0185], [0221]).
Regarding claim 20, Kim-Wang-Latheef teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Kim further discloses:
The network entity of claim 17, wherein the one or more prepared CHO target cells includes multiple prepared CHO target cells if the early bye message does not include a cell identifier (terminal may transmit the control message informing the completion of the simultaneous service, a case when a packet transmission delay measured between both links is greater than a reference, Kim: [0221] - [0229]).
Regarding claim 21, Kim-Wang-Latheef teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Kim further discloses:
The network entity of claim 17, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the early bye message, are configured to receive the early bye message in a radio resource control message, a medium access control element (MAC CE), a scheduling request specific to handover, or a channel state information report specific to handover (terminal may independently configure and maintain a signaling radio bearer (SRB) for transmission of an RRC control message with both the serving cell and the target cell, Kim: [0247]-[0248]).
Regarding claim 23, Kim-Wang-Latheef teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Kim further discloses:
The network entity of claim 17, wherein the early bye message includes a configuration index that identifies the target cell (during the handover, the terminal may receive information on the configuration of the beams of the base station from the base station through a handover control message, Kim: [0117]).
Regarding claim 27, Kim-Wang-Latheef teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Kim further discloses:
The network entity of claim 17, wherein the CHO includes a dual active protocol stack handover (simultaneous service is a handover scheme using radio protocol layers (or stack) dually activated in the source cell and the target cell for the handover terminal (i.e., dual active protocol layer handover or dual active protocol stack handover), Kim: [0172], [0176]).
Regarding claim 28, Kim discloses:
A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising (a method in which the terminal performing handover receives services simultaneously from the source cell and the target cell, Kim: [0160]):
generating, based at least in part on a handover condition being satisfied, configuring the measurement or reporting parameters for mobility control, the terminal establishing a connection with the serving cell may report, to the serving cell, the capability information informing that the terminal is a terminal capable of simultaneously receiving services from two cells, Kim: [0166]); and
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
generating,
transmitting, to the source cell, the early bye message before a trigger of the CHO is triggered or during a wait timer that is started after the CHO is triggered.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches:
generating,terminal device may transmit, to the first network device, a fourth indication (e.g., "bye" message) regarding establishment of the second connection, Wang: [0054]-[0055])
transmitting, to the source cell, the early bye message before a trigger of the CHO is triggered (In response to receiving the handover command, the terminal device may evaluate all the conditions of execution of handover associated with each of the at least one second network device. terminal device may transmit, to the first network device, a fourth indication (e.g., "bye" message) regarding establishment of the second connection between the first device and the terminal device having a first connection with the first network device. terminal device may transmit a special scheduling request (SR) to the first network device and transmit the MAC CE to the first network device in a grant from the first network device in response to the special SR. Return back to FIG. 2, upon transmitting the fourth indication, the terminal device 120 may perform 209 a random access channel (RACH) procedure with the second network device 130 (i.e., the first device 130) so as to establish a connection (i.e., the second connection) with the first device 130. So far, simultaneous connections between terminal device 120 and the first and second network devices 110 and 130 are established, Wang: [0053]-[0057], [0064]).
or during a wait timer that is started after the CHO is triggered (the terminal device 120 may perform the determination by using a newly-defined timer. For example, if receiving an acknowledgement for the transmission of the fourth indication within a preset time period, the terminal device 120 may determine that the fourth indication is successfully transmitted. Otherwise, the terminal device 120 may determine that the fourth indication is not successfully transmitted. the terminal device 120 may perform the determination by limiting the number of transmission times. For example, if the number of the transmission of the fourth indication is above a preset value and an acknowledgement for the transmission of the fourth indication is still not received, the terminal device 120 may determine that the fourth indication is not successfully transmitted. Otherwise, the terminal device 120 may determine that the fourth indication is successfully transmitted, Wang: [0113]-[0116]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Wang in order to further modify generating, based at least in part on a handover condition being satisfied, an early bye message and transmitting the early bye message before a conditional handover (CHO) is triggered or during a wait timer that is started after the CHO is triggered from the teachings of Wang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because conditional handover with simultaneous connectivity can be achieved and both a reduction of handover interruption and an improvement of handover robustness are attained (Wang: [0138]).
Yet, Kim in view of Wang do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the early bye message includes a cell identifier (ID) or a physical cell ID of a cell for which a conditional handover (CHO) is to be initiated; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Latheef teaches:
wherein the early bye message includes a cell identifier (ID) or a physical cell ID of a cell for which a conditional handover (CHO) is to be initiated (the source cell 106 may configure a new identifier or the measurement identifier within the CHO configurations for linking the measurement object and the report configuration. The new identifier can incur more overhead, but the new identifier can be used if the same CHO triggering condition is applied for multiple candidates, Latheef: [0060]-[0062]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim and Wang in view of Latheef in order to further modify the early bye message which includes a cell identifier (ID) or a physical cell ID of a cell for which a conditional handover (CHO) is to be initiated (CHO) is initiated from the teachings of Latheef.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the CHO configurations may include the container with the CHO target cell configurations (Latheef: [0062]).
Regarding claim 29, Kim-Wang-Latheef teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 28 above.
Kim further discloses:
The method of claim 28, wherein the method further comprises monitoring for a response to the early bye message until the wait timer expires (the terminal may be controlled or configured to select (or determine) the target cell for the simultaneous service release (or, termination) based on a timer. the timer may be configured to start at a time point at which the terminal transmits the radio access request message. when a control message is transmitted, a timer may be configured for each control message to control timing, Kim: [0230]- [0234], [0237]).
Regarding claim 30, Kim discloses:
A method of wireless communication performed by a network entity of a source cell, comprising (the method performed in the first communication node, Kim: [0068]):
receiving, from a user equipment (UE) before a trigger of a conditional handover (CHO), terminal may transmit, to the serving cell, a control (or measurement result) message requesting a start (or configuration) of the simultaneous service or informing that the start (or configuration) condition. the control message requesting the start of the simultaneous service or informing that the condition for starting the simultaneous service is satisfied is received from the terminal, Kim: [0172]- [0173]); and
Kim does not explicitly disclose:
receiving, from a user equipment (UE) before a trigger of a conditional handover (CHO), an early bye message
forwarding data to one or more prepared CHO target cells based at least in part on the early bye message.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches:
receiving, from a user equipment (UE) before initiation of a conditional handover (CHO), an early bye message (terminal device may transmit, to the first network device, a fourth indication (e.g., "bye" message) regarding establishment of the second connection, Wang: [0054])
forwarding data to one or more prepared CHO target cells based at least in part on the early bye message (first network device may transmit data of the terminal device and sequence number information associated with the first data packet of the data to the first device, i.e., perform data forwarding to the first device. if one of the second network devices is selected as the first device, the first network device may transmit the fourth indication using the SR configuration corresponding to this second network device, Wang: [0030], [0063]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Wang in order to further modify receiving, from a user equipment (UE) before initiation of a conditional handover (CHO), an early bye message and forwarding data to one or more prepared CHO target cells based at least in part on the early bye message from the teachings of Wang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because conditional handover with simultaneous connectivity can be achieved and both a reduction of handover interruption and an improvement of handover robustness are attained (Wang: [0138]).
Yet, Kim in view of Wang do not explicitly disclose:
wherein the bye message includes a cell identifier (ID) or a physical cell ID of a cell for which the CHO is to be initiated; and
However, in the same field of endeavor, Latheef teaches:
wherein the bye message includes a cell identifier (ID) or a physical cell ID of a cell for which the CHO is to be initiated (the source cell 106 may configure a new identifier or the measurement identifier within the CHO configurations for linking the measurement object and the report configuration. The new identifier can incur more overhead, but the new identifier can be used if the same CHO triggering condition is applied for multiple candidates, Latheef: [0060]-[0062]); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim and Wang in view of Latheef in order to further modify the bye message which includes a cell identifier (ID) or a physical cell ID of a cell for which a conditional handover (CHO) is to be initiated (CHO) is initiated from the teachings of Latheef.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the CHO configurations may include the container with the CHO target cell configurations (Latheef: [0062]).
Regarding claim 31, Kim-Wang-Latheef teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 28 above.
Kim in view of Wang do not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 28, further comprising transmitting a CHO complete message after transmitting the early bye message.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Latheef teaches:
further comprising transmitting a CHO complete message after transmitting the early bye message (on receiving the RRC reconfiguration message for releasing the CHO configuration of the candidate target cell 106, the UE 102 releases the CHO configuration of the candidate target cell 106 and sends an RRC reconfiguration complete message to the source cell 106, Latheef: [0077]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim and Wang in view of Latheef in order to further modify transmitting a CHO complete message after transmitting the bye message from the teachings of Latheef.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the CHO configurations may include the container with the CHO target cell configurations (Latheef: [0062]).
Regarding claim 32, Kim-Wang-Latheef teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 28 above.
Kim in view of Latheef do not explicitly disclose:
The method of claim 28, further comprising transmitting a CHO complete message after the wait timer expires.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches:
further comprising transmitting a CHO complete message after the wait timer expires (the terminal device 120 may transmit 208, to the first network device 110, a fourth indication (e.g., "bye" message). terminal device 120 may perform the determination by using a newly-defined timer. the terminal device 120 may transmit 210, to the first device 130, a handover complete message such as 5 RRCConnectionReconfigurationComplete/RRCReconfigurationComplete message. if receiving an acknowledgement for the transmission of the fourth indication within a preset time period, the terminal device 120 may determine that the fourth indication is successfully transmitted, Wang: [0054], [0065], [0114]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim and Latheef in view of Wang in order to further modify transmitting a CHO complete message after the wait timer expires from the teachings of Wang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because conditional handover with simultaneous connectivity can be achieved and both a reduction of handover interruption and an improvement of handover robustness are attained (Wang: [0138]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim-Wang-Latheef and in further view of YIU, Candy (WO 2018/175819 Al, hereinafter “Yiu”).
Regarding claim 5, Kim-Wang-Latheef teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Kim-Wang-Latheef do not explicitly disclose:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the handover condition includes reaching a configured time point within a time to trigger (TTT) for a measurement event used for the CHO.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Yiu teaches:
wherein the handover condition includes reaching a configured time point within a time to trigger (TTT) for a measurement event used for the CHO (UE excute decoding a conditional handover command from a serving cell for the UE to connect with a target cell, and evaluating a condition before executing the handover command, wherein a first time to trigger (TTT) is started in the event the condition is true, Yiu: Page 19 Lines 1 -18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim-Wang-Latheef in view of Yiu in order to further modify the handover condition that includes reaching a configured time point within a time to trigger (TTT) for a measurement event from the teachings of Yiu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the TIT signal with its own value in may be signaled in the handover command for the UE to evaluate whether or not to execute the conditional handover command (Yiu: Page 5 Lines 16 -24).
Claims 11-13, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim-Wang-Latheef and in further view of Tenny et al. (US 2018/0324651 Al, hereinafter “Tenny”).
Regarding claim 11, Kim-Wang-Latheef teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Kim-Wang-Latheef do not explicitly disclose:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the early bye message, are configured to transmit the early message in a primary cell.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tenny teaches:
wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the early bye message, are configured to transmit the early bye message in a primary cell (changing to operating as a primary cell (PCell), Tenny: [0015]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim-Wang-Latheef in view of Tenny in order to further modify transmitting the early bye message in a primary cell from the teachings of Tenny.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may reduce the amount of signaling and number of procedural steps, which helps to improve overall handover performance (Tenny: [0027]).
Regarding claim 12, Kim-Wang-Latheef teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Kim-Wang-Latheef do not explicitly disclose:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the early bye message, are configured to transmit the early bye message in a secondary cell or a primary secondary cell.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tenny teaches:
wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the early bye message, are configured to transmit the early bye message in a secondary cell or a primary secondary cell (target node is added as a primary secondary cell (PSCell) to trigger dual connectivity operation together with the source node, Tenny: [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim-Wang-Latheef in view of Tenny in order to further modify transmitting the early bye message in a secondary cell or a primary secondary cell from the teachings of Tenny.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may reduce the amount of signaling and number of procedural steps, which helps to improve overall handover performance (Tenny: [0027]).
Regarding claim 13, Kim-Wang-Latheef teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Kim-Wang-Latheef do not explicitly disclose:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the early bye message, are configured to transmit the early bye message to a secondary node in a dual connectivity mode for conditional primary secondary cell change.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tenny teaches:
wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the early bye message, are configured to transmit the early bye message to a secondary node in a dual connectivity mode for conditional primary secondary cell change (dual connectivity handover involves the addition of access node as a secondary node of UE. dual connectivity handover procedure begin with the addition of a target node as a secondary node, Tenny: [0054], [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim-Wang-Latheef in view of Tenny in order to further modify transmitting the early bye message to a secondary node in a dual connectivity mode for conditional primary secondary cell change from the teachings of Tenny.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may reduce the amount of signaling and number of procedural steps, which helps to improve overall handover performance (Tenny: [0027]).
Regarding claim 24, Kim-Wang-Latheef teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Kim-Wang-Latheef do not explicitly disclose:
The network entity of claim 17, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the early bye message, are configured to receive the early bye message in a primary cell.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tenny teaches:
wherein the one or more processors, to receive the early bye message, are configured to receive the early bye message in a primary cell (changing to operating as a primary cell (PCell), Tenny: [0015]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim-Wang-Latheef in view of Tenny in order to further modifyreceiving the early bye message in a primary cell from the teachings of Tenny.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may reduce the amount of signaling and number of procedural steps, which helps to improve overall handover performance (Tenny: [0027]).
Regarding claim 25, Kim-Wang-Latheef teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Kim-Wang-Latheef do not explicitly disclose:
The network entity of claim 17, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the early bye message, are configured to receive the early bye message in a secondary cell or a primary secondary cell.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tenny teaches:
wherein the one or more processors, to receive the early bye message, are configured to receive the early bye message in a secondary cell or a primary secondary cell (target node is added as a primary secondary cell (PSCell) to trigger dual connectivity operation together with the source node, Tenny: [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim-Wang-Latheef in view of Tenny in order to further modify receiving the early bye message in a secondary cell or a primary secondary cell from the teachings of Tenny.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may reduce the amount of signaling and number of procedural steps, which helps to improve overall handover performance (Tenny: [0027]).
Claims 14-15, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim-Wang-Latheef and in further view of Tenny et al. (US 2018/0279188 Al, hereinafter “Tenny2”).
Regarding claim 14, Kim-Wang-Latheef teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Kim-Wang-Latheef do not explicitly disclose:
The UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the early bye message, are configured to transmit the early bye message to a relay station at the source cell.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tenny2 teaches:
wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the early bye message, are configured to transmit the early bye message to a relay station at the source cell (includes transmitting the RRC message to the relay UE. base station receives a configuration for a remote UE and processes this configuration as an RRC message for a remote UE through PDCP and then passes to the context of a relay UE, Tenny2: [0014], [0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim-Wang-Latheef in view of Tenny2 in order to further modify transmitting the early bye message to a relay station at the source cell from the teachings of Tenny2.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may pass the PDCP PDU to an uppermost layer of a short range link protocol stack on a short range link (Tenny2: [0013]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim-Wang-Latheef teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 14 above.
Kim-Wang-Latheef do not explicitly disclose:
The UE of claim 14, wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the early bye message, are configured to transmit the early bye message in a PC5 message or a non-cellular message.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tenny2 teaches:
wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the early bye message, are configured to transmit the early bye message in a PC5 message or a non-cellular message (PDCP PDU is passed directly to the top layer of the short range link's transport stack (e.g., an RLC layer of PC5, or a PDCP layer of PC5 in the case in which the PDCP is implemented on PC5), Tenny2: [0014], [0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim-Wang-Latheef in view of Tenny2 in order to further modify transmitting the early bye message in a PC5 message from the teachings of Tenny2.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may pass the PDCP PDU to an uppermost layer of a short range link protocol stack on a short range link (Tenny2: [0013]).
Regarding claim 26, Kim-Wang-Latheef teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 17 above.
Kim-Wang-Latheef do not explicitly disclose:
The network entity of claim 17, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the early bye message, are configured to receive the early bye message from a relay station.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tenny2 teaches:
wherein the one or more processors, to receive the early bye message, are configured to receive the early bye message from a relay station (includes transmitting the RRC message to the relay UE. base station receives a configuration for a remote UE and processes this configuration as an RRC message for a remote UE through PDCP and then passes to the context of a relay UE, Tenny2: [0014], [0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim-Wang-Latheef in view of Tenny2 in order to further modify transmitting the early bye message to a relay station at the source cell from the teachings of Tenny2.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it may pass the PDCP PDU to an uppermost layer of a short range link protocol stack on a short range link (Tenny2: [0013]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension
of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
In the case of amendments, applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the
specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and support, for ascertaining the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/Robert C Scheibel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 February 19, 2026