DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 12/18/2025 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 1, 17, 27, and 30 have been amended.
Claims 1, 3-17, and 19-32 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that prior art Tran’s statement at ¶0201 “Although the described issue and solutions are mainly used for PUSCH, it will be appreciated that they are also applicable for PUCCH, PDCCH, or PDSCH.” does not expressly or inherently describe “transmit, on a physical uplink channel, physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) repetitions without a demodulation reference signal (DMRS),” as recited in amended claim 1. Further arguing that the structure of PUCCH transmissions is distinct from that of PUSCH transmissions, and thus the considerations for DMRS usage are not inherently interchangeable between the two. The mere statement in ¶0201 of Tran that the described techniques are ”also applicable for PUCCH” is insufficient to provide an inherent disclosure of the recited limitation in question. (see Remarks pg. 13)
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The full citation from Tran at ¶0201 states “Although the described issue and solutions are mainly used for PUSCH, it will be appreciated that they are also applicable for PUCCH, PDCCH, or PDSCH. In the described issues and solutions, the length of time domain window may be determined based on different criteria.” From this disclosure, it can be said that the solutions described within the reference are applicable to any of PUSCH, PUCCH, PDCCH, or PDSCH. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the implementations disclosed regarding length of time domain windows for PUSCH repetitions in at least ¶0182-¶0183 of Tran can also apply to PUCCH repetitions. Applicant’s own disclosure at ¶0067 of the specification states “the time domain window for joint channel estimation for DMRS-less PUCCH repetitions may be the same as the time domain window for PUSCH communications with a DMRS or PUCCH communications with a DMRS.” And also ¶0073 “In some aspects, the base station 110 may perform joint channel estimation for a mix of DMRS-less repetitions and DMRS repetitions (PUCCH and/or PUSCH). Joint channel estimation based on DMRS repetitions on the PUCCH or the PUSCH may help in detection of DMRS-less communications.”. The applicant’s disclosure is being interpreted as also stating that the time domain window for PUCCH repetitions is compatible/applicable to PUSCH communications, and vice versa. Therefore, there is an inherent disclosure that the solutions provided for time domain windows regarding PUSCH repetitions are also applicable to PUCCH repetitions.
Applicant argues that the prior art of record Tran (US 2024/0188075 A1) does not disclose “transmit, on a physical uplink channel, physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) repetitions without a demodulation reference signal (DMRS),” as recited in claim 1. Further arguing that Tran discusses transmitting a reduced number of DMRS symbols with a set of PUSCH transmissions, and therefore only contemplates reducing the number of DMRS symbols within PUSCH repetition. (see Remarks pg. 12)
Examiner respectfully disagrees. In the previous Office Action, Tran was cited at ¶0182 “for repetitions of the multiple PUSCH transmissions for transport block(s), DMRS symbol(s) in one or more of the repetitions are reduced/omitted, herein for an example, DMRS(s) in some PUSCH repetition type A transmissions can be omitted.” which describes that DMRS in some PUSCH are omitted. This reads on the claim language as currently presented.
Applicant’s further arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-5, 8, 9, 11-17, 19-21, and 24-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 8-9, 11-16, 17, 19-21, and 24-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran et al. (US 2024/0188075 A1), hereinafter “Tran”, in view of Su et al. (US 2023/0354340 A1), hereinafter “Su”.
Re. Claim 1, Tran teaches:
A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: (¶0214 FIG. 22 shows a schematic, partially sectioned view of the communication apparatus 2200 that can be implemented for optimising time domain window and DMRS for joint channel estimation in accordance with various embodiments and examples as shown in FIGS. 1 to 21. The communication apparatus 2200 may be implemented as a UE or base station according to various embodiments.)
one or more memories; (¶0216 The data processing, storage [i.e. memory] and other relevant control apparatus can be provided on an appropriate circuit board and/or in chipsets. In various embodiments, when in operation, the at least one radio transmitter 2202, at least one radio receiver 2204, and at least one antenna 2212 may be controlled by the at least one controller 1506.)
and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively, configured to cause the UE to: (¶0216 The circuitry 2214 may include at least one controller 2206 [i.e. a processor] for use in software and hardware aided execution of tasks that the at least one controller 2206 is designed to perform, including control of communications with one or more other communication apparatuses in a wireless network.)
transmit, on a physical uplink channel, physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) repetitions without a demodulation reference signal (DMRS); (¶0182 for repetitions of the multiple PUSCH transmissions for transport block(s), DMRS symbol(s) in one or more of the repetitions are reduced/omitted, herein for an example, DMRS(s) in some PUSCH repetition type A transmissions can be omitted. The UE thus transmits a smaller number of DMRSs, where their locations are (pre-)configured. ¶0183 Referring to FIG. 11 and FIG. 12, a smaller number of DMRSs (i.e., DMRS-less as explained above) [i.e. repetitions without a DMRS] can be additionally configured in PUSCH-TimeDomainResourceAllocation IE 1100 (i.e. RRC signalling, via drms-less portion 1102) & ¶0201 “Although the described issue and solutions are mainly used for PUSCH, it will be appreciated that they are also applicable for PUCCH, PDCCH, or PDSCH [i.e. applies to PUCCH repetitions as well])
Yet, Tran does not explicitly teach: select a size of a first time domain window that is based at least in part on a second time domain window associated with joint channel estimation for PUCCH repetitions having a format with a DMRS for DMRS bundling; and maintain continuity for joint channel estimation of the PUCCH repetitions without a DMRS during the first time domain window.
However, in the analogous art, Su teaches such limitations:
select a size of a first time domain window that is based at least in part on a second time domain window associated with joint channel estimation for PUCCH repetitions having a format with a DMRS for DMRS bundling; (Fig. 6-7 & ¶0190-¶0192 In order to support an effective cross-slot channel estimation, DMRS configuration of PUCCH repetition in multiple slots can be adjusted when cross-slot channel estimation [i.e. DMRS bundling] is applied, according embodiments of the present disclosure. Cross-slot channel estimation implies that DMRS in one slot/repetition can aid channel estimation in adjacent slots/repetitions. If a gNB predicts that a radio channel is static and suitable for cross-slot channel estimation for a UE, it can let the UE reduce or omit DMRS resources allocated for some or all PUCCH repetitions. Zero DMRS in a PUCCH in a slot is also regarded as a DMRS configuration in the present disclosure. & PUCCH repetitions with less or no DMRS can include PUCCH repetitions specified in NR Release 15, or other kinds of PUCCH repetitions. In such cases, DMRS configuration can be configured for each PUCCH repetition, separately. Hereafter, DMRS configuration of a PUCCH repetition can include a number of DMRS symbols and locations of DMRS symbols & The UE can be configured with a DMRS pattern across slots/repetitions by gNB, through RRC signaling or uplink DCI, for example. FIG. 6 illustrates an exemplary DMRS pattern across 4 repetitions, in which one repetition is transmitted in one slot. In this example, the DMRS pattern can be “1 0 1 0”. It means the first slot (slot n) and the third slot (slot n+2) will use a default DMRS configuration, and the other two slots will not use any DMRS. & ¶0193 When multiple DMRS configurations are configured for PUCCH repetitions of a same UCI, it implies that in some of these PUCCH repetitions, at least part of DMRS are omitted. [i.e. these citations show that based on the DMRS pattern across slot/repetitions transmitted by the gNB (considered as the second time domain window), a pattern across slot/repetitions omitting DMRS (considered as the first window) is selected])
and maintain continuity for joint channel estimation of the PUCCH repetitions without a DMRS during the first time domain window. (¶0174 Besides factors in time and power domains, phase continuity between DMRS of multiple slots puts some other restraints to make cross-slot channel estimation possible. For example, UE may need to keep the same spatial transmission filter for PUCCH across multiple slots. & ¶0176 a UE can determine in which time instant and/or for how many time instants the terminal device has the capability of transmitting the uplink signal on physical control channel coherently. In an example, the UE can determine in which slots/repetitions or for how many slots/repetitions it needs to keep phase continuity. If frequency hopping is enabled, the UE can determine between which certain hops using the same PRB it needs to keep phase continuity. For example, a default setting could be phase coherency across all repetitions. If it is out of UE capability, then a specific smaller number of slots for keeping phase continuity is configured. In some embodiments, the UE can receive from a network device (e.g. gNB), an indication indicating in which time instant and/or for how many time instants the terminal device has the capability of transmitting the uplink signal on physical control channel coherently, and/or an indication indicating between which hops of a frequency hopping pattern the terminal device has the capability of transmitting the uplink signal on physical control channel coherently. For example, these slots/repetitions and/or hops can be configured by gNB via RRC/L1 signaling. & ¶0193 When multiple DMRS configurations are configured for PUCCH repetitions of a same UCI, it implies that in some of these PUCCH repetitions, at least part of DMRS are omitted. [i.e. slots/repetitions for maintaining continuity for cross-slot channel estimation (joint channel estimation) are configured by gNB, when multiple DMRS configurations are configured, then the time domain window will contain slots without DMRS] & ¶0190 In order to support an effective cross-slot channel estimation, DMRS configuration of PUCCH repetition in multiple slots can be adjusted when cross-slot channel estimation is applied, according embodiments of the present disclosure. In NR Release 15 and Release 16, one DMRS configuration is applied for all PUCCH repetitions of the UCI from one UE. Cross-slot channel estimation implies that DMRS in one slot/repetition can aid channel estimation in adjacent slots/repetitions. If a gNB predicts that a radio channel is static and suitable for cross-slot channel estimation for a UE, it can let the UE reduce or omit DMRS resources allocated for some or all PUCCH repetitions. Zero DMRS in a PUCCH in a slot is also regarded as a DMRS configuration in the present disclosure.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tran’s invention of communication apparatuses and communication methods for optimizing time domain window and DMRS for joint channel estimation to include Su’s teaching of maintaining phase continuity for joint channel estimation of the PUCCH repetitions with a DMRS during a time domain window, because it would enable the device to ensure a better accuracy of channel estimation in certain radio channel conditions. (see Su ¶0148)
Re. Claim 3, Tran combined with Su teaches claim 1.
Su further teaches:
wherein a length of the first time domain window and a length of the second time domain window are the same length. (¶0194 In some embodiments, the UE can keep a same length of PUCCH repetition for different DMRS configurations, with utilizing symbols reserved for omitted DMRS to transmit UCI bits or dummy bits. [i.e. different DMRS configurations (time domain windows) are the same length])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tran’s invention of communication apparatuses and communication methods for optimizing time domain window and DMRS for joint channel estimation to include Su’s teaching of the lengths of the first time domain window and second time domain window being the same, because it would enable the device to ensure a better accuracy of channel estimation in certain radio channel conditions. (see Su ¶0148)
Re. Claim 4, Tran combined with Su teaches claim 1.
Tran further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are configured to scale, using a scaling factor, the first time domain window with respect to the second time domain window. (¶0182 Referring to FIG. 10, an example time domain window for embodiment 1 is presented as time domain window 1002 [i.e. a second time domain window] with a length of T=4 slots, where each slot in the time domain window 1002 has a DMRS symbol 1004. An example time domain window for embodiment 1.1 is presented as time domain window 1006 [i.e. a first time domain window] with a length of T=4 slots [i.e. first and second time domain window being same length, can be interpreted as a scaling factor of 1] but with DMRS-less being applied, such that a smaller number of DMRS symbols 1004 are transmitted within the length of time domain window 1006. & ¶0189 In an implementation of embodiment 2.1 referring to FIG. 14, DMRS-less/-more are included in enhanced TDRA table 1400, e.g., a preconfigured TDRA table in Specs, wherein DMRS-more means additional DMRS(s) are configured. An index of this table can be indicated by field(s) in a DCI over, for example, a Msg2 PDCCH. Referring to FIG. 15, for a time domain window 1502 [i.e. another example of a second time domain window], gNB configures a length of T=4 slots and DMRS type B is used. For time domain window 1504 [i.e. another example of a first time domain window] in accordance with embodiment 2.1, UE decides to maintain requirements for joint CE within M=3 slots [i.e. a time domain window is scaled down to an “actual” or first time domain window for DMRS-less repetitions based on a second time domain window with DMRS] i.e. at portion 1506. DMRS-less is used in M=3 slots, while DMRS-more is used in the remaining (T−M) portion=1 slot.)
Re. Claim 5, Tran combined with Su teaches claim 4.
Tran further teaches:
wherein the scaling factor is less than 1. (¶0189 In an implementation of embodiment 2.1 referring to FIG. 14, DMRS-less/-more are included in enhanced TDRA table 1400, e.g., a preconfigured TDRA table in Specs, wherein DMRS-more means additional DMRS(s) are configured. An index of this table can be indicated by field(s) in a DCI over, for example, a Msg2 PDCCH. Referring to FIG. 15, for a time domain window 1502 [i.e. another example of a second time domain window], gNB configures a length of T=4 slots and DMRS type B is used. For time domain window 1504 [i.e. another example of a first time domain window] in accordance with embodiment 2.1, UE decides to maintain requirements for joint CE within M=3 slots [i.e. a time domain window is scaled down to an “actual” or first time domain window for DMRS-less repetitions based on a second time domain window with DMRS, interpreted as scaling by a factor of less than 1] i.e. at portion 1506. DMRS-less is used in M=3 slots, while DMRS-more is used in the remaining (T−M) portion=1 slot.)
Re. Claim 8, Tran combined with Su teaches claim 4.
Tran further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to obtain the scaling factor from stored configuration information or from configuration information received from a network entity. (¶0179 In a variation 1.5, an enhanced TDRA table is configured by RRC to facilitate joint channel estimation. & ¶0221 Each length of the one or more time domain windows may be included in a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table. [i.e. obtained from stored configuration information])
Re. Claim 9, Tran combined with Su teaches claim 1.
Su further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors, to maintain continuity, are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to maintain phase continuity during the first time domain window. (¶0174 Besides factors in time and power domains, phase continuity between DMRS of multiple slots puts some other restraints to make cross-slot channel estimation possible. For example, UE may need to keep the same spatial transmission filter for PUCCH across multiple slots. & ¶0176 a UE can determine in which time instant and/or for how many time instants the terminal device has the capability of transmitting the uplink signal on physical control channel coherently. In an example, the UE can determine in which slots/repetitions or for how many slots/repetitions it needs to keep phase continuity. If frequency hopping is enabled, the UE can determine between which certain hops using the same PRB it needs to keep phase continuity. For example, a default setting could be phase coherency across all repetitions. If it is out of UE capability, then a specific smaller number of slots for keeping phase continuity is configured. In some embodiments, the UE can receive from a network device (e.g. gNB), an indication indicating in which time instant and/or for how many time instants the terminal device has the capability of transmitting the uplink signal on physical control channel coherently, and/or an indication indicating between which hops of a frequency hopping pattern the terminal device has the capability of transmitting the uplink signal on physical control channel coherently. For example, these slots/repetitions and/or hops can be configured by gNB via RRC/L1 signaling. & ¶0193 When multiple DMRS configurations are configured for PUCCH repetitions of a same UCI, it implies that in some of these PUCCH repetitions, at least part of DMRS are omitted. [i.e. slots/repetitions for maintaining continuity for cross-slot channel estimation (joint channel estimation) are configured by gNB, when multiple DMRS configurations are configured, then the time domain window will contain slots without DMRS] & ¶0190 In order to support an effective cross-slot channel estimation, DMRS configuration of PUCCH repetition in multiple slots can be adjusted when cross-slot channel estimation is applied, according embodiments of the present disclosure. In NR Release 15 and Release 16, one DMRS configuration is applied for all PUCCH repetitions of the UCI from one UE. Cross-slot channel estimation implies that DMRS in one slot/repetition can aid channel estimation in adjacent slots/repetitions. If a gNB predicts that a radio channel is static and suitable for cross-slot channel estimation for a UE, it can let the UE reduce or omit DMRS resources allocated for some or all PUCCH repetitions. Zero DMRS in a PUCCH in a slot is also regarded as a DMRS configuration in the present disclosure.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tran’s invention of communication apparatuses and communication methods for optimizing time domain window and DMRS for joint channel estimation to include Su’s teaching of maintaining phase continuity for joint channel estimation of the PUCCH repetitions with a DMRS during a time domain window, because it would enable the device to ensure a better accuracy of channel estimation in certain radio channel conditions. (see Su ¶0148)
Re. Claim 11, Tran combined with Su teaches claim 1.
Su further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to transmit a UE capability for maintaining continuity for the PUCCH repetitions without a DMRS during the first time domain window. (¶0189-¶0190 the UE can report its capability and/or capability level of supporting channel estimation (at the receiver) across slots to a gNB with respect to one or more of the factors, such as uplink transmission power and other factors mentioned above. Based on these factors, the gNB is able to determine the UE’s capability and/or capability level, as discussed above. & In order to support an effective cross-slot channel estimation, DMRS configuration of PUCCH repetition in multiple slots can be adjusted when cross-slot channel estimation is applied, according embodiments of the present disclosure. In NR Release 15 and Release 16, one DMRS configuration is applied for all PUCCH repetitions of the UCI from one UE. Cross-slot channel estimation implies that DMRS in one slot/repetition can aid channel estimation in adjacent slots/repetitions. If a gNB predicts that a radio channel is static and suitable for cross-slot channel estimation for a UE, it can let the UE reduce or omit DMRS resources allocated for some or all PUCCH repetitions. Zero DMRS in a PUCCH in a slot is also regarded as a DMRS configuration in the present disclosure.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tran’s invention of communication apparatuses and communication methods for optimizing time domain window and DMRS for joint channel estimation to include Su’s teaching of transmitting a UE capability for maintaining phase continuity for joint channel estimation of the PUCCH repetitions with a DMRS during a time domain window, because it would enable the device to ensure a better accuracy of channel estimation in certain radio channel conditions. (see Su ¶0148)
Re. Claim 12, Tran combined with Su teaches claim 11.
Su further teaches:
where the UE capability for maintaining continuity for the PUCCH repetitions without a DMRS during the first time domain window is different than a UE capability for maintaining continuity for the repetitions with a DMRS. (¶0189-¶0190 the UE can report its capability and/or capability level of supporting channel estimation (at the receiver) across slots to a gNB with respect to one or more of the factors, [i.e. UE reports capability for different factors regarding maintaining continuity] such as uplink transmission power and other factors mentioned above. Based on these factors, the gNB is able to determine the UE’s capability and/or capability level, as discussed above. & In order to support an effective cross-slot channel estimation, DMRS configuration of PUCCH repetition in multiple slots can be adjusted when cross-slot channel estimation is applied, according embodiments of the present disclosure. In NR Release 15 and Release 16, one DMRS configuration is applied for all PUCCH repetitions of the UCI from one UE. Cross-slot channel estimation implies that DMRS in one slot/repetition can aid channel estimation in adjacent slots/repetitions. If a gNB predicts that a radio channel is static and suitable for cross-slot channel estimation for a UE, it can let the UE reduce or omit DMRS resources allocated for some or all PUCCH repetitions. [i.e. factors include reduced or omitted DMRS] Zero DMRS in a PUCCH in a slot is also regarded as a DMRS configuration in the present disclosure.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tran’s invention of communication apparatuses and communication methods for optimizing time domain window and DMRS for joint channel estimation to include Su’s teaching of transmitting a different UE capability for maintaining phase continuity for joint channel estimation of the PUCCH repetitions with a DMRS during a time domain window, because it would enable the device to ensure a better accuracy of channel estimation in certain radio channel conditions. (see Su ¶0148)
Re. Claim 13, Tran combined with Su teaches claim 11.
Su further teaches:
where the UE capability for maintaining continuity for the PUCCH repetitions without a DMRS during the first time domain window is based at least in part on a UE capability for maintaining continuity for the PUCCH repetitions with a DMRS. (¶0189-¶0190 the UE can report its capability and/or capability level of supporting channel estimation (at the receiver) across slots to a gNB with respect to one or more of the factors, [i.e. UE reports capability for different factors regarding maintaining continuity] such as uplink transmission power and other factors mentioned above. Based on these factors, the gNB is able to determine the UE’s capability and/or capability level, as discussed above. & In order to support an effective cross-slot channel estimation, DMRS configuration of PUCCH repetition in multiple slots can be adjusted when cross-slot channel estimation is applied, according embodiments of the present disclosure. In NR Release 15 and Release 16, one DMRS configuration is applied for all PUCCH repetitions of the UCI from one UE. Cross-slot channel estimation implies that DMRS in one slot/repetition can aid channel estimation in adjacent slots/repetitions. If a gNB predicts that a radio channel is static and suitable for cross-slot channel estimation for a UE, it can let the UE reduce or omit DMRS resources allocated for some or all PUCCH repetitions. [i.e. factors include reduced DMRS, which means the UE capability includes PUCCH repetitions with and without DMRS, therefore the capability is based partly on maintaining continuity for both types of PUCCH repetitions] Zero DMRS in a PUCCH in a slot is also regarded as a DMRS configuration in the present disclosure.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tran’s invention of communication apparatuses and communication methods for optimizing time domain window and DMRS for joint channel estimation to include Su’s teaching of transmitting a different UE capability for maintaining phase continuity for joint channel estimation of the PUCCH repetitions with a DMRS during a time domain window, because it would enable the device to ensure a better accuracy of channel estimation in certain radio channel conditions. (see Su ¶0148)
Re. Claim 14, Tran combined with Su teaches claim 11.
Tran further teaches:
where the UE capability for maintaining continuity for the PUCCH repetitions without a DMRS during the first time domain window is based at least in part on a format of communications on the physical uplink channel, an uplink control information size, a length of the communications on the physical uplink channel, or a length of an associated sequence set. (¶0185 A benefit of this implementation is to achieve reasonable measurement effort and power consumption for a UE because the preferred/actual length of time domain window [i.e. a first time domain window w/ DMRS-less transmissions] is based on its capability or channel condition/profiling & ¶0188 within the time domain window configured by gNB, the UE determines the actual length of time domain window based on one or more events which are transparent to gNB. The one or more events can include (v) a maximum duration that a UE is able to maintain the requirements of power consistency and phase continuity (UE capability) [i.e. UE capability based on a length of the communications on the physical uplink channel where phase continuity can be maintained] & ¶0224 the circuitry 2214 may, in operation, determine one or more time domain windows for multiple physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions, each length of the one or more time domain windows being not more than an overall length of the multiple PUSCH transmissions.)
Re. Claim 15, Tran combined with Su teaches claim 1.
Tran further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to determine to maintain continuity for the PUCCH repetitions without a DMRS during the first time domain window based at least in part on a format of communications on the physical uplink channel, an uplink control information size, a length of the communications on the physical uplink channel, or a length of an associated sequence set. (¶0189 For time domain window 1504 [i.e. a second time domain window] in accordance with embodiment 2.1, UE decides to maintain requirements for joint CE within M=3 slots i.e. at portion 1506 [i.e. a first time domain window, where continuity is determined to be maintained based on a length of the communications on the physical uplink channel]. DMRS-less is used in M=3 slots)
Re. Claim 16, Tran combined with Su teaches claim 1.
Tran further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to: transmit, during the first time domain window on the physical uplink channel, repetitions with a DMRS in addition to the PUCCH repetitions without a DMRS; (¶0189 For time domain window 1504 in accordance with embodiment 2.1, UE decides to maintain requirements for joint CE within M=3 slots i.e. at portion 1506 [i.e. a first time domain window, containing repetitions with DMRS and without DMRS]. DMRS-less is used in M=3 slots, while DMRS-more is used in the remaining (T−M) portion=1 slot. It will be appreciated that different densities of DMRSs can also applied within and outside (the remaining portion) of the actual length of time domain window [i.e. first time domain window can contain different quantities of DMRS and DMRS-less repetitions].)
and maintain, during the first time domain window, continuity for the joint channel estimation of the repetitions with a DMRS in addition to the PUCCH repetitions without a DMRS. (¶0189 For time domain window 1504 in accordance with embodiment 2.1, UE decides to maintain requirements for joint CE within M=3 slots i.e. at portion 1506 [i.e. maintain continuity during a first time domain window, containing repetitions with DMRS and without DMRS]. DMRS-less is used in M=3 slots, while DMRS-more is used in the remaining (T−M) portion=1 slot. It will be appreciated that different densities of DMRSs can also applied within and outside (the remaining portion) of the actual length of time domain window [i.e. first time domain window can contain different quantities of DMRS and DMRS-less repetitions].)
Re. Claim 17, Tran teaches the following limitations:
A network entity for wireless communication, comprising: (¶0214 FIG. 22 shows a schematic, partially sectioned view of the communication apparatus 2200 that can be implemented for optimising time domain window and DMRS for joint channel estimation in accordance with various embodiments and examples as shown in FIGS. 1 to 21. The communication apparatus 2200 may be implemented as a UE or base station according to various embodiments.)
One or more memories; (¶0216 The data processing, storage and other relevant control apparatus can be provided on an appropriate circuit board and/or in chipsets. In various embodiments, when in operation, the at least one radio transmitter 2202, at least one radio receiver 2204, and at least one antenna 2212 may be controlled by the at least one controller 1506.)
and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity to: (¶0216 The circuitry 2214 may include at least one controller 2206 [i.e. a processor] for use in software and hardware aided execution of tasks that the at least one controller 2206 is designed to perform, including control of communications with one or more other communication apparatuses in a wireless network.)
enable joint channel estimation of physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) repetitions without a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) on a physical uplink channel based at least in part on joint channel estimation being enabled for PUCCH repetitions with a DMRS; (¶0194 In an example implementation of embodiment 3, referring to FIG. 18, an existing indication of FH procedure in a DCI in Rel. 15/16 Specs is reinterpreted to enable/disable the integration of joint CE and inter-slot FH procedures by adding new entries (i.e., the one or more lengths of time domain windows and FH procedures are configured by using a single DCI). ¶0203 in all embodiments, the joint channel estimation and the time domain window are jointly enabled and disabled to a UE. This is because a purpose of the time domain window is used for the joint channel estimation. In this manner, the enabling or disabling of joint channel estimation for PUSCH transmissions within a time domain window also means the enabling or disabling of DMRS bundling for PUSCH transmissions within the time domain window, respectively, under the conditions of power consistency and phase continuity. DMRS bundling means that gNB combines all DMRS symbols of PUSCH transmissions within the time domain window to perform a joint channel estimation in order to decode uplink data in these PUSCH transmissions. ¶0201 “Although the described issue and solutions are mainly used for PUSCH, it will be appreciated that they are also applicable for PUCCH, PDCCH, or PDSCH [i.e. applies to PUCCH repetitions as well])
receive, from a user equipment (UE), the PUCCH repetitions without a DMRS on the physical uplink channel; (¶0182 for repetitions of the multiple PUSCH transmissions for transport block(s), DMRS symbol(s) in one or more of the repetitions are reduced/omitted, herein for an example, DMRS(s) in some PUSCH repetition type A transmissions can be omitted. The UE thus transmits a smaller number of DMRSs, where their locations are (pre-)configured. ¶0183 Referring to FIG. 11 and FIG. 12, a smaller number of DMRSs (i.e., DMRS-less as explained above) [i.e. repetitions without a DMRS] can be additionally configured in PUSCH-TimeDomainResourceAllocation IE 1100 (i.e. RRC signalling, via drms-less portion 1102))
Yet, Tran does not explicitly teach: select a size of a first time domain window that is based at least in part on a second time domain window associated with joint channel estimation for PUCCH repetitions having a format with a DMRS for DMRS bundling; and perform joint channel estimation of the PUCCH repetitions without a DMRS within a first time domain window.
However, in the analogous art, Su teaches such limitations:
select a size of a first time domain window that is based at least in part on a second time domain window associated with joint channel estimation for PUCCH repetitions having a format with a DMRS for DMRS bundling; (Fig. 6-7 & ¶0190-¶0192 In order to support an effective cross-slot channel estimation, DMRS configuration of PUCCH repetition in multiple slots can be adjusted when cross-slot channel estimation [i.e. DMRS bundling] is applied, according embodiments of the present disclosure. Cross-slot channel estimation implies that DMRS in one slot/repetition can aid channel estimation in adjacent slots/repetitions. If a gNB predicts that a radio channel is static and suitable for cross-slot channel estimation for a UE, it can let the UE reduce or omit DMRS resources allocated for some or all PUCCH repetitions. Zero DMRS in a PUCCH in a slot is also regarded as a DMRS configuration in the present disclosure. & PUCCH repetitions with less or no DMRS can include PUCCH repetitions specified in NR Release 15, or other kinds of PUCCH repetitions. In such cases, DMRS configuration can be configured for each PUCCH repetition, separately. Hereafter, DMRS configuration of a PUCCH repetition can include a number of DMRS symbols and locations of DMRS symbols & The UE can be configured with a DMRS pattern across slots/repetitions by gNB, through RRC signaling or uplink DCI, for example. FIG. 6 illustrates an exemplary DMRS pattern across 4 repetitions, in which one repetition is transmitted in one slot. In this example, the DMRS pattern can be “1 0 1 0”. It means the first slot (slot n) and the third slot (slot n+2) will use a default DMRS configuration, and the other two slots will not use any DMRS. & ¶0193 When multiple DMRS configurations are configured for PUCCH repetitions of a same UCI, it implies that in some of these PUCCH repetitions, at least part of DMRS are omitted. [i.e. these citation show that based on the DMRS pattern across slot/repetitions transmitted by the gNB (considered as the second time domain window), a pattern across slot/repetitions omitting DMRS (considered as the first window) is selected])
and perform joint channel estimation of the PUCCH repetitions without a DMRS within a first time domain window. (¶0174 Besides factors in time and power domains, phase continuity between DMRS of multiple slots puts some other restraints to make cross-slot channel estimation possible. For example, UE may need to keep the same spatial transmission filter for PUCCH across multiple slots. & ¶0176 a UE can determine in which time instant and/or for how many time instants the terminal device has the capability of transmitting the uplink signal on physical control channel coherently. In an example, the UE can determine in which slots/repetitions or for how many slots/repetitions it needs to keep phase continuity. If frequency hopping is enabled, the UE can determine between which certain hops using the same PRB it needs to keep phase continuity. For example, a default setting could be phase coherency across all repetitions. If it is out of UE capability, then a specific smaller number of slots for keeping phase continuity is configured. In some embodiments, the UE can receive from a network device (e.g. gNB), an indication indicating in which time instant and/or for how many time instants the terminal device has the capability of transmitting the uplink signal on physical control channel coherently, and/or an indication indicating between which hops of a frequency hopping pattern the terminal device has the capability of transmitting the uplink signal on physical control channel coherently. For example, these slots/repetitions and/or hops can be configured by gNB via RRC/L1 signaling. & ¶0193 When multiple DMRS configurations are configured for PUCCH repetitions of a same UCI, it implies that in some of these PUCCH repetitions, at least part of DMRS are omitted. [i.e. slots/repetitions for maintaining continuity for cross-slot channel estimation (joint channel estimation) are configured by gNB, when multiple DMRS configurations are configured, then the time domain window will contain slots without DMRS])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tran’s invention of communication apparatuses and communication methods for optimizing time domain window and DMRS for joint channel estimation to include Su’s teaching of maintaining phase continuity for joint channel estimation of the PUCCH repetitions with a DMRS during a time domain window, because it would enable the device to ensure a better accuracy of channel estimation in certain radio channel conditions. (see Su ¶0148)
Re. Claim 19, Tran combined with Su teaches claim 17.
Tran further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity to transmit a communication to the UE based at least in part on a result of performing the joint channel estimation of the PUCCH repetitions without a DMRS. (Tran: ¶0182 Referring to FIG. 10, an example time domain window for embodiment 1 is presented as time domain window 1002 with a length of T=4 slots [i.e. second time domain window – with DMRS], where each slot in the time domain window 1002 has a DMRS symbol 1004. An example time domain window for embodiment 1.1 is presented as time domain window 1006 with a length of T=4 slots but with DMRS-less being applied & ¶0202-¶0203 the length of time domain window for joint CE is not applied for different UL grants (dynamic and configured grant) at the same time in a configuration period. In the length of a time domain window, DMRS bundling for joint CE can be applied to satisfy requirements of at least power consistency and phase continuity across PUSCH transmissions. Further, DMRS bundling for joint CE is not applied for PUSCH transmissions scheduled outside the length of time domain window. & It would be appreciated that, in all embodiments, the joint channel estimation and the time domain window are jointly enabled and disabled to a UE. This is because a purpose of the time domain window is used for the joint channel estimation. In this manner, the enabling or disabling of joint channel estimation for PUSCH transmissions within a time domain window also means the enabling or disabling of DMRS bundling for PUSCH transmissions within the time domain window, respectively, under the conditions of power consistency and phase continuity. DMRS bundling means that gNB combines all DMRS symbols of PUSCH transmissions within the time domain window to perform a joint channel estimation in order to decode uplink data in these PUSCH transmissions. & ¶0258 the host computer initiates a transmission carrying the user data to the UE. The transmission may pass via the base station, in accordance with the teachings of the embodiments described throughout this disclosure. In step 1130 (which may be optional), the UE receives the user data carried in the transmission. [i.e. network entity transmitting a communication to the UE, based on the embodiments of the disclosure])
Re. Claim 20, Tran combined with Su teaches claim 17.
Tran further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity to scale, using a scaling factor, the first time domain window with respect to the second time domain window. (¶0182 Referring to FIG. 10, an example time domain window for embodiment 1 is presented as time domain window 1002 [i.e. a second time domain window] with a length of T=4 slots, where each slot in the time domain window 1002 has a DMRS symbol 1004. An example time domain window for embodiment 1.1 is presented as time domain window 1006 [i.e. a first time domain window] with a length of T=4 slots [i.e. first and second time domain window being same length, can be interpreted as a scaling factor of 1] but with DMRS-less being applied, such that a smaller number of DMRS symbols 1004 are transmitted within the length of time domain window 1006. & ¶0189 In an implementation of embodiment 2.1 referring to FIG. 14, DMRS-less/-more are included in enhanced TDRA table 1400, e.g., a preconfigured TDRA table in Specs, wherein DMRS-more means additional DMRS(s) are configured. An index of this table can be indicated by field(s) in a DCI over, for example, a Msg2 PDCCH. Referring to FIG. 15, for a time domain window 1502 [i.e. another example of a second time domain window], gNB configures a length of T=4 slots and DMRS type B is used. For time domain window 1504 [i.e. another example of a first time domain window] in accordance with embodiment 2.1, UE decides to maintain requirements for joint CE within M=3 slots [i.e. a time domain window is scaled down to an “actual” or first time domain window for DMRS-less repetitions based on a second time domain window with DMRS] i.e. at portion 1506. DMRS-less is used in M=3 slots, while DMRS-more is used in the remaining (T−M) portion=1 slot.)
Re. Claim 21, Tran combined with Su teaches claim 20.
Tran further teaches:
wherein the scaling factor is less than 1. (¶0189 In an implementation of embodiment 2.1 referring to FIG. 14, DMRS-less/-more are included in enhanced TDRA table 1400, e.g., a preconfigured TDRA table in Specs, wherein DMRS-more means additional DMRS(s) are configured. An index of this table can be indicated by field(s) in a DCI over, for example, a Msg2 PDCCH. Referring to FIG. 15, for a time domain window 1502 [i.e. another example of a second time domain window], gNB configures a length of T=4 slots and DMRS type B is used. For time domain window 1504 [i.e. another example of a first time domain window] in accordance with embodiment 2.1, UE decides to maintain requirements for joint CE within M=3 slots [i.e. a time domain window is scaled down to an “actual” or first time domain window for DMRS-less repetitions based on a second time domain window with DMRS, interpreted as scaling by a factor of less than 1] i.e. at portion 1506. DMRS-less is used in M=3 slots, while DMRS-more is used in the remaining (T−M) portion=1 slot.)
Re. Claim 24, Tran combined with Su teaches claim 20.
Tran further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity to transmit the scaling factor in configuration information to the UE. (¶0179 In a variation 1.5, an enhanced TDRA table is configured by RRC to facilitate joint channel estimation. & ¶0221 Each length of the one or more time domain windows may be included in a time domain resource allocation (TDRA) table. [i.e. obtained from stored configuration information])
Re. Claim 25, Tran combined with Su teaches claim 17.
Tran further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the network entity to determine to perform the joint channel estimation for the PUCCH repetitions without a DMRS based at least in part on a format of communications on the physical uplink channel, an uplink control information size, a length of the communications on the physical uplink channel, or a length of an associated sequence set. (¶0189 For time domain window 1504 [i.e. a second time domain window] in accordance with embodiment 2.1, UE decides to maintain requirements for joint CE within M=3 slots i.e. at portion 1506 [i.e. a first time domain window, where continuity is determined to be maintained based on a length of the communications on the physical uplink channel]. DMRS-less is used in M=3 slots)
Re. Claim 26, Tran combined with Su teaches claim 17.
Tran further teaches:
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured cause the network entity to: receive, during the first time domain window on the physical uplink channel, repetitions with a DMRS in addition to the PUCCH repetitions without a DMRS; (¶0189 For time domain window 1504 in accordance with embodiment 2.1, UE decides to maintain requirements for joint CE within M=3 slots i.e. at portion 1506 [i.e. a first time domain window, containing repetitions with DMRS and without DMRS]. DMRS-less is used in M=3 slots, while DMRS-more is used in the remaining (T−M) portion=1 slot. It will be appreciated that different densities of DMRSs can also applied within and outside (the remaining portion) of the actual length of time domain window [i.e. first time domain window can contain different quantities of DMRS and DMRS-less repetitions].)
and perform, during the first time domain window, the joint channel estimation of the repetitions with a DMRS in addition to the joint channel estimation of the PUCCH repetitions without a DMRS. (¶0189 For time domain window 1504 in accordance with embodiment 2.1, UE decides to maintain requirements for joint CE within M=3 slots i.e. at portion 1506 [i.e. maintain continuity during a first time domain window, containing repetitions with DMRS and without DMRS]. DMRS-less is used in M=3 slots, while DMRS-more is used in the remaining (T−M) portion=1 slot. It will be appreciated that different densities of DMRSs can also applied within and outside (the remaining portion) of the actual length of time domain window [i.e. first time domain window can contain different quantities of DMRS and DMRS-less repetitions].)
Claims 27-30 are directed to method claims that recite similar limitations to apparatus claims 1, 3, 4, and 17. Therefore, the rejections for claims 27-30 are similar to the rejections of claims 1, 3, 4, and 17.
Claims 6-7 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran combined with Su, and further in view of Park et al. (US 2020/0045691 A1), hereinafter “Park”.
Re. Claim 6, Tran combined with Su teaches claim 4.
Yet, the combined references fail to teach: wherein the scaling factor is greater than 1.
However, in the analogous art, Park teaches such a limitation:
wherein the scaling factor is greater than 1. (Park: ¶0158 when the UCI payload size is small, the DM-RS density may be increased to improve channel estimation performance since the coding rate is less affected by RS overhead. & ¶0159 when the UCI payload size is large, the DM-RS density may be decreased since the coding rate is more affected by RS overhead. [i.e. describes scaling up/down based off UCI payload size, interpreted as scaling by a factor of greater than 1])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tran and Su’s invention of a communication apparatus and method for optimizing time domain window and DMRS for joint channel estimation to include Park’s teaching of the scaling factor being greater than 1, because it would allow the UE to adjust the time domain window in order to improve channel estimation performance. (see Park ¶0157-¶0158)
Re. Claim 7, Tran combined with Su teaches claim 4.
Yet, the combined references fail to teach: wherein the scaling factor is based at least in part on a format of communications on the physical uplink channel or a size of uplink control information on the physical uplink channel
However, in the analogous art, Park teaches such a limitation:
wherein the scaling factor is based at least in part on a format of communications on the physical uplink channel or a size of uplink control information on the physical uplink channel. (Park: ¶0158 when the UCI payload size is small [i.e. based on size of uplink control information on the physical uplink channel], the DM-RS density may be increased to improve channel estimation performance since the coding rate is less affected by RS overhead. & ¶0159 when the UCI payload size is large, the DM-RS density may be decreased since the coding rate is more affected by RS overhead.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tran and Su’s invention of a communication apparatus and method for optimizing time domain window and DMRS for joint channel estimation to include Park’s teaching of the scaling factor being based on the size of uplink control information, because it would allow the UE to adjust the time domain window in order to improve channel estimation performance. (see Park ¶0157-¶0158)
Re. Claim 22, Tran combined with Su teaches claim 20.
Yet, the combined references fail to teach: wherein the scaling factor is greater than 1.
However, in the analogous art, Park teaches such a limitation:
wherein the scaling factor is greater than 1. (Park: ¶0158 when the UCI payload size is small, the DM-RS density may be increased to improve channel estimation performance since the coding rate is less affected by RS overhead. & ¶0159 when the UCI payload size is large, the DM-RS density may be decreased since the coding rate is more affected by RS overhead. [i.e. describes scaling up/down based off UCI payload size, interpreted as scaling by a factor of greater than 1])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tran and Su’s invention of a communication apparatus and method for optimizing time domain window and DMRS for joint channel estimation to include Park’s teaching of the scaling factor being greater than 1, because it would allow the UE to adjust the time domain window in order to improve channel estimation performance. (see Park ¶0157-¶0158)
Re. Claim 23, Tran combined with Su teaches claim 20.
Yet, the combined references fail to teach: wherein the scaling factor is based at least in part on a format of communications on the physical uplink channel or a size of uplink control information on the physical uplink channel
However, in the analogous art, Park teaches such a limitation:
wherein the scaling factor is based at least in part on or a size of uplink control information on the physical uplink channel. (Park: ¶0158 when the UCI payload size is small, the DM-RS density may be increased to improve channel estimation performance since the coding rate is less affected by RS overhead. & ¶0159 when the UCI payload size is large, the DM-RS density may be decreased since the coding rate is more affected by RS overhead.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tran and Su’s invention of a communication apparatus and method for optimizing time domain window and DMRS for joint channel estimation to include Park’s teaching of the scaling factor being based on the size of uplink control information, because it would allow the UE to adjust the time domain window in order to improve channel estimation performance. (see Park ¶0157-¶0158)
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran combined with Su, and further in view of Shim et al. (US 2025/0056506 A1), hereinafter referred to as Shim.
Re. Claim 10, Tran combined with Su teaches claim 1.
Yet, the combined references fail to disclose: wherein the one or more processors, to maintain continuity, are configured to refrain from changing a time advance, a spatial filter configuration, or a precoding parameter during the first time domain window.
However, in the analogous art, Shim teaches such a limitation:
wherein the one or more processors, to maintain continuity, are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to refrain from changing a time advance, a spatial filter configuration, or a precoding parameter during the first time domain window. (¶0151 DMRS bundling requires an assumption that various elements defining a channel such as power consistency, a timing advance (TA) command, a spatial filter, etc. are the same between a terminal and a base station [i.e. requirements for maintaining continuity for joint channel estimation] & ¶0154 within a configured TDW [i.e. a first or subsequent time domain window], a terminal may be configured/indicated not to perform an operation that violates phase continuity [i.e. following previous requirements for maintaining continuity], power consistency, etc. This TDW may be configured at the same time when joint channel estimation is enabled by higher layer (e.g., RRC) signaling.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tran and Su’s invention of a Communication apparatus and method for optimizing time domain window and DMRS for joint channel estimation to include Shim’s teaching of refraining from changing a timing advance or spatial filter configuration during a time domain window, because it would allow the UE to maintain phase continuity for joint channel estimation, which improves reception performance. (see Shim ¶0151 & ¶0154)
Claims 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran combined with Su, in view of Kittichokechai et al. (US 2024/0015748 A1), hereinafter “Kittichokechai”.
Re. Claim 31, Tran combined with Su teaches claim 1.
Yet, the combined references fail to disclose: wherein a format of the PUCCH repetitions is a PUCCH format 0.
However, in the analogous art, Kittichokechai teaches such a limitation:
wherein a format of the PUCCH repetitions is a PUCCH format 0. (¶0109 PUCCH repetition indicated by higher layer parameter nrofSlots in PUCCH-FormatConfig is also supported for short PUCCH formats 0 and 2. [i.e. PUCCH repetitions are format 0])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tran’s invention of a Communication apparatus and method for optimizing time domain window and DMRS for joint channel estimation to include Kittichokechai’s teaching of a format of the PUCCH repetitions being format 0, because it would enable the device to support short PUCCH formats with a duration of 1 or 2 OFDM symbols, which provides lower latency communication. (see Kittichokechai ¶0083)
Re. Claim 32, Tran combined with Su teaches claim 17.
Yet, Tran does not teach: wherein a format of the PUCCH repetitions is a PUCCH format 0.
However, in the analogous art, Kittichokechai teaches such a limitation:
wherein a format of the PUCCH repetitions is a PUCCH format 0. (¶0109 PUCCH repetition indicated by higher layer parameter nrofSlots in PUCCH-FormatConfig is also supported for short PUCCH formats 0 and 2. [i.e. PUCCH repetitions are format 0])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Tran’s invention of a Communication apparatus and method for optimizing time domain window and DMRS for joint channel estimation to include Kittichokechai’s teaching of a format of the PUCCH repetitions being format 0, because it would enable the device to support short PUCCH formats with a duration of 1 or 2 OFDM symbols, which provides lower latency communication. (see Kittichokechai ¶0083)
Conclusion
/G.A.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417