DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Groups I, claims 1-17, in the reply filed on 8/22/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 3 recites the broad recitation “h are each an integer,” and the claim also recites “h is an integer of 1 to 3” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 8-12 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cruse et al. (USPN 6,635,700).
In Col. 17, lines 65-67, Cruse et al. teaches a rubber composition comprising:
a. at least one diene based polymer (col. 19, lines 43-65, solution SBR, polybutadiene; col. 12, lines 65-66, styrene-butadiene rubber);
b. precipitated silica (col. 19, lines 43-65, Zeosil 1165MP; col. 14, lines 1-44);
c. at least one coupling agent package comprising a mercapto-functional alkylalkoxysilane (col. 20, lines 10, Silane C 3-mercapto-1-propyltrimethoxysilane) and a blocked mercapto-functional alkylalkoxysilane (col. 19, lines 43-65, silane; col. 20, lines 8, Silane A 3-octanoylthio-1-propyltriethoxysilane; col. 24, lines 13-14, For Compound 20AB 9.7 phr Silane A+ 0.16 phr Silane C + 2.0 phr DPG);
d. at least one deblocking agent (col. 19, lines 43-65, DPG; col. 12, lines 46-53, latent-mercaptosilane activators);
e. a vulcanizing package comprising at least one vulcanizing agent comprising sulfur (col. 19, In 43-65, Sulfur) and at least one accelerator (col. 19, lines 43-65, CBS; col. 17, lines 6-21, N-cyclohexyl-2-benzo thiazole sulfenamide).
In col. 17, lines 29-45, Cruse et al. teach that combinations of a primary and a secondary accelerator are used in the rubber composition, wherein the secondary accelerator includes tetramethyl thiuram disulfide (col. 17, lines 6-11), which is a suitable scorch modifier according to ¶ 19 of the instant specification.
In col. 19, lines 43-65, Cruse et al. teach carbon black filler.
Regarding claim 2, Cruse et al. teaches wherein the at least one diene based polymer is a diene based polymer containing at least one functional group, a diene based polymer containing no functional group (col. 19, lines 43-65, solution SBR, polybutadiene; col. 12, lines 65-66, styrene-butadiene rubber), or combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 8, Cruse teaches wherein the weight ratio of the blocked mercaptofunctional alkylalkoxysilane to the mercapto-functional alkylalkoxysilane is from about 0.25:1 to about 50:1 (col. 23, lines 42-43, For Compound 16AB 9.12 phr Silane A+0.32 phr Silane C, the ratio amounting to 28.5:1).
Regarding claim 9, Cruse et al. teaches wherein the at least one deblocking agent is a compound of formula (XII): wherein: R26 is a polyvalent organic radical containing from 1 to 30 carbon atoms, each occurrence of A3 is an oxygen and d is an integer of from 1 to 100, preferably from 1 to 3 (col. 12, lines 46-51, latent-mercaptosilane activators selected from ... trimethylolpropane and ethylene glycol.).
Regarding claim 10, Cruse et al. teaches wherein the sulfur in the vulcanizing agent is selected from the group consisting of elemental sulfur, sulfur-donating compounds, and combinations thereof (col. 16, lines 61-67).
Regarding claim 11, Cruse et al. teaches wherein the at least one accelerator is selected from the group consisting of benzothiazoles, guanidine derivatives, thiocarbamates, and combinations thereof (col. 17, lines 6-21).
Regarding claim 12, Cruse et al. teaches wherein the at least one scorch modifier is a compound of formula (XIII), wherein R28 is independently a straight chain alkyl group of 1 carbon atom (col. 17, lines 6-11, tetramethyl thiuram disulfide).
Regarding claims 14-16, in the tables in col. 36-39, Cruse et al. teach their compositions have a Mooney viscosities from 53-62 MU, Mooney scorch, 3 pt rise, of from about 5.9-8.4 minutes as measured using the ASTM D-1646 method, and tensile strengths from about 3110 psi (21 MPa) to about 3630 psi (25 MPa).
Thus, the requirements for rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) are met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cruse et al. as applied above, and further in view of Tsukimawashi et al. (USPN 7,342,070).
Regarding claims 3, while Cruse et al. does not teach the diene based polymer to contain at least one functional group of formula (I), in a similar invention, Tsukimawashi et al. teaches a rubber composition comprising a diene based polymer containing at least one functional group (col. 6, lines 6-46) wherein the diene based polymer containing at least one functional group is a compound of formula (I), wherein P is a (co)polymer chain of a conjugated diolefin or a conjugated diolefin and an aromatic vinyl compound; R1 is an alkylene group having 1 to 12 carbon atoms; each R2 and R3 is independently an alkyl group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms, an allyl group or an aryl group; and k, m and n are each an integer, wherein n is 1 or 2, m is 1 or 2, and k is 1 or 2, with the proviso that n+m+k is an integer of 3 or 4 (col. 6, lines 16-35, formula (1 )); or is a compound of formula (II), wherein P is a (co)polymer chain of a conjugated diolefin or a conjugated diolefin and an aromatic vinyl compound; R1 is an alkylene group having 1 to 12 carbon atoms; each R2 and R3 is independently an alkyl group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms, an allyl group or an aryl group having 6 to 12 carbon atoms; and j and h are each an integer, wherein j is an integer of 1 to 3, and h is an integer of 1 to 3, with the proviso that j+h is an integer of 2 to 4 (col. 6, lines 36-46, formula (2)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Cruse et al. and Tsukimawashi et al., as both are directed to rubber compositions containing conjugated diene polymers and include the diene based polymer containing at least one functional group represented by formula (1) or (2) as disclosed in Tsukimawashi et al. in the composition of Cruse et al., in order to produce an automotive tire tread having good processability and a balance among wear resistance, failure characteristics, low hysteresis loss and wet-skid characteristics (Tsukimawashi et al., col. 1, lines 8-17).
Regarding claim 5, while Cruse et al. does not teach a diene based polymer containing at least one functional group of the present formula (III), Tsukimawashi et al. teaches the rubber composition comprising a diene based polymer containing at least one functional group (col. 6, lines 6-46) wherein the diene based polymer containing at least one functional group further comprises a terminating agent, wherein the terminating agent is of formula (Ill), wherein n is 1; R1 is an alkylene group having 1 to 12 carbon atoms; each R2 and R3 is independently an alkyl group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms, an allyl group or an aryl group; each occurrence of R4, R5, and R6 is independently an alkyl group having 1 to 12 carbon atoms or an aryl group of from 6 to 12 carbon atoms, with the proviso that R4 and R5 may combine through a covalent bond with each other to form a ring together with silicon atoms to which they are bonded; and k, m and n are each an integer, wherein n is 1 or 2, m is 1 or 2, and k is 1 or 2, with the proviso that n+m+k is an integer of 3 or 4 (col. 8, lines 4-32, formula (3), wherein f is 1; g is 1 and R1, R2 and R3 have the same definitions as given for the abovementioned formula (1 ); col. 6, In 16-35); or is of formula (IV): wherein R1 is an alkylene group having 1 to 12 carbon atoms; each R2 and R3 is independently an alkyl group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms, an allyl group or an aryl group; each occurrence of R4, R5, and R6 is independently an alkyl group having 1 to 12 carbon atoms or aryl group of from 6 to 12 carbon atoms, with the proviso that R4 and R5 may combine through a covalent bond with each other to form a ring together with silicon atoms to which they are bonded; and m is an integer of 1 or 2 (col. 8, lines 6-45, formula (4); col. 6, lines 16-35).
Therefore , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Cruse et al. and Tsukimawashi et al., as both are directed to rubber compositions containing conjugated diene polymers and include the diene based polymer containing at least one functional group represented by formula (3) or (4) as disclosed in Tsukimawashi et al. in the composition of Cruse et al., in order to produce an automotive tire tread having good processability and a balance among wear resistance, failure characteristics, low hysteresis loss and wet-skid characteristics (Tsukimawashi et al., col. 1, lines 8-17).
Claim(s) 4 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cruse et al. as applied above, and further in view of Thiele et al. (US 2008/0287601).
Regarding claim 4, while Cruse does not teach a composition comprising a diene based polymer containing at least one functional group of formula (V), in a similar invention, Thiele et al. teaches a rubber composition comprising a diene based polymer containing at least one functional group (¶’s 8-27), wherein the diene based polymer containing at least one functional group is analogous in structure to the compound of formula (V), wherein the SH group is capped with -S-SiR3, wherein each R is C1-C16 alkyl; P is a (co)polymer chain of a conjugated diolefin or a conjugated diolefin and an aromatic vinyl compound, Formula 5, wherein D is an elastomeric polymer;(See ¶ 53), living anionic elastomeric polymer is selected from ... copolymers of butadiene and styrene (See ¶ 53)); R1 is an alkylene group having 1 to 12 carbon atoms; each R2 and R3 is independently an alkyl group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms, an allyl group or an aryl group; and k, m and n are each an integer, wherein n is 1 or 2, m is 1 or 2, and k is 1 or 2, with the proviso that n+m+k is an integer of 3 or 4 (Formula 5, wherein x, y and k are each 1; ¶’s 86-87, R is preferably, C1 -C5 alkyl; R' is equivalent to the "A" group;, A group, when an alkyl, contains three to five carbon atoms (¶ 5)).
Thiele et al. teaches that the -S-SiR3 end cap is cleaved under vulcanization conditions to leave free SH group that is reactive toward fillers such as silica resulting in a homogeneous distribution of filler within the rubber composition (¶’s 97-98).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Cruse et al. and Thiele et al., as both are directed to rubber compositions containing conjugated diene polymers, to design through routine experimentation, a diene based polymer of formula (V) for use in the rubber composition of Cruse et al., in order to produce a homogeneous distribution of filler within the rubber composition (Thiele et al., ¶’s 97-98) and thereby provide an automotive tire tread having improved properties (Thiele et al., ¶ 167).
Regarding claim 13, while Cruse et al. does not teach a composition wherein the at least one diene based polymer is reactive with the precipitated silica, Thiele et al. teaches the rubber composition wherein the diene based polymer containing at least one functional group is reactive, under vulcanization conditions, toward silica present in the rubber composition, resulting in uniform distribution of silica in the composition (¶’s 75, 86, 87 and97-98).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Cruse et al. and Thiele et al., as both are directed to rubber compositions containing conjugated diene polymers, and include the functionalized diene based polymer disclosed in Thiele et al. in the composition of Cruse et al., in order to produce a homogeneous distribution of filler within the rubber composition (Thiele et al., ¶’s 97-98) and thereby provide an automotive tire tread having improved properties (Thiele et al., ¶ 167).
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cruse et al. as applied above, and further in view of Vecere et al. (US 2020/0347084).
Regarding claim 6, Cruse et al. teaches the rubber composition of claim 1, wherein the mercapto-functional alkylalkoxysilane is a mercaptosilane of formula (X), wherein a is O; R17 is a linear C3-alkylene group; X1 is OR20, wherein R20 is C1-alkyl and wherein X2 and X3 are each X1 (col. 20, line 10, Silane C3-mercapto-1-propyltrimethoxysilane).
Cruse et al. does not teach a mercaptosilane that meets the proviso that (iii) when X1 and X2 are -OR20, then the two -OR20 may be bonded together through a covalent bond to form a -OR20-R20O - group bonded to the same silicon atom which forms a ring structure containing 2 to 8 carbon atoms, two oxygen atoms and a silicon atom. However, Vecere et al. teaches a mercaptosilane of formula (X) useful in rubber compositions (¶’s 146-147), wherein the mercaptofunctional alkylalkoxysilane is a mercaptosilane of formula (X), wherein a is O; R17 is C1-alkylene; X1 and X2 are each OR20, wherein the two -OR20 may be bonded together through a covalent bond to form a -OR20-R20O- group bonded to the same silicon atom which forms a ring structure containing 2 to 8 carbon atoms, two oxygen atoms and a silicon atom; and X3 is methyl (¶ 46, 2- methyl[1,3,2]dioxasilinan-2-ylmethyl mercaptan).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Cruse et al. and Vecere et al., as both are directed to rubber compositions containing mercapto-functional alkoxysilanes and include the mercaptosilane disclosed in Vecere et al. in the composition of Cruse et al., in order to enhance the properties of the resulting composition (Cruse et al., Col 28, line 62 to col. 29, line 50).
Regarding claim 7, Cruse et al. teaches the rubber composition of claim 1, wherein the blocked mercapto-functional alkylalkoxysilane is a mercaptosilane of formula (XI), wherein a is O; R17 is a linear C3-alkylene group; X1 is OR20, wherein R20 is C2-alkyl and wherein X2 and X3 are each X1 and Y1 is -C(=O)R25, where R25 is a straight chain alkylene group of 8 carbon atoms (col. 20, line 8, Silane A 3-octanoylthio -1-propyltriethoxysilane).
Cruse et al. does not teach a mercaptosilane that meets the proviso that (iii) when X1 and X2 are -OR20, then the two -OR20 may be bonded together through a covalent bond to form a -OR20-R20O- group bonded to the same silicon atom which forms a ring structure containing 2 to 8 carbon atoms, two oxygen atoms and a silicon atom. However, Vecere et al. teaches a blocked mercaptosilane of formula (XI) useful in rubber compositions (¶ 146-147), wherein a is O; R17 is C1-alkylene; X1 and X2 are each OR20, wherein the two -OR20 may be bonded together through a covalent bond to form a -OR20-R20O- group bonded to the same silicon atom which forms a ring structure containing 2 to 8 carbon atoms, two oxygen atoms and a silicon atom; X3 is methyl, and Y1 is -C(=O)R25, where R25 is a straight chain alkylene group of 1 carbon atom (¶ 44), thioacetic acid S-(2- methyl-[1,3,2]dioxasilinan-2-ylmethyf ester).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Cruse and Vecere et al., as both are directed to rubber compositions containing blocked mercapto-functional alkoxysilanes and include the blocked mercaptosilane disclosed in Vecere et al. in the composition of Cruse et al., in order to enhance the properties of the resulting composition (Cruse et al., Col 26, line 56 to col. 27, line 25).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cruse et al. as applied above, and further in view of Tsukimawashi et al. (USPN 7,342,070).
In col. 17, lines 65-67, Cruse et al. teaches a rubber composition (col. 17, lines 65-67) comprising:
(i) about 100 parts of rubber, where the weight of the rubber is the sum of the weights of each diene based polymer used in the formulation which does not contain at least one functional group (col. 19, lines 43-65, 75 parts solution SBR, 25 parts polybutadiene; col. 12, lines 65-66, styrene-butadiene rubber);
(ii) about 5 to about 140 parts by weight per 100 parts rubber (i) of precipitated silica (col. 19, lines 43-65, 80 parts Zeosil 1165MP; col. 14, lines 1 -44);
(iii) about 1 to about 20 parts by weight per 100 parts rubber (col. 24, lines 13-14, For Compound 20AB 9.7 phr Silane A+ 0.16 phr Silane C) (i) a coupling agent package comprising a mercapto-functional alkylalkoxysilane (col. 20, line 10, Silane C 3-mercapto-1- propyltrimethoxysilane) and a blocked mercapto-functional alkylalkoxysilane (col. 19, lines 43-65, silane; col. 20, line 8, Silane A 3-octanoylthio-1 -propyltriethoxysilane; col. 24, lines 13-14, For Compound 20AB 9.7 phr Silane A+ 0.16 phr Silane C + 2.0 phr DPG);
(iv) about 0.1 to about 20 parts by weight per 100 parts rubber (i) a de blocking agent ((col. 19, lines 43-65, 2.0 parts DPG; col. 12, lines 46-53, latent-mercaptosilane activators); and
(v) about 0.1 to about 10 parts by weight per 100 parts rubber (i) a vulcanization package comprising sulfur and at least one accelerator (col. 19, lines 43-65, 1.4 parts sulfur and 1.7 parts CBS; col. 17, lines 6-21, N-cyclohexyl-2-benzo thiazole sulfenamide).
In col. 17, lines 29-45, Cruse et al. teach that combinations of a primary and a secondary accelerator are used in the rubber composition, wherein the secondary accelerator includes tetramethyl thiuram disulfide (col. 17, lines 6-11), which is a suitable scorch modifier according to ¶ 19 of the instant specification.
While Cruse et al. doesn’t teach the teach the functional group in the formulation, Tsukimawashi et al. teaches a rubber composition comprising a diene based polymer containing at least one functional group (col. 6, lines 6-46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Cruse et al. and Tsukimawashi et al., as both are directed to rubber compositions containing conjugated diene polymers and include in the composition of Cruse et al., through routine experimentation an optimum amount of the diene based polymer containing at least one functional group disclosed in Tsukimawashi et al., in order to produce an automotive tire tread having good processability and a balance among wear resistance, failure characteristics, low hysteresis loss and wet-skid characteristics (Tsukimawashi et al., col. 1, lines 8-17).
/KELECHI C EGWIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762
KCE