DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Regarding claim 1, discloses a magnetic component [figure 1], comprising: at least one magnetic core structure [figure 1, 2a, 2b] wherein at least one gap is formed between end surfaces of the at least one magnetic core [figure 1, para 42]; at least one electrical winding [8] surrounding at least a part of the at least one magnetic core [figure 1]; and a shielding device [10, para 52] for shielding fringing fields of the at least one gap, the shielding device comprising: a holding unit attached to at least one of the at least one magnetic core and the at least one
electrical winding in a periphery of the at least one gap [figure 1, adhesive 9]; and at least one shield member attached to the holding unit; wherein the at least one shield member is configured to shield gap-fringing fields in the periphery of the at least one gap [para 52].
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-10, 13 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Waggoner et al. [EP2216793A2]. Regarding claim 1, Ritter et al. discloses magnetic component [170], comprising: at least one magnetic core [300], wherein at least one gap is formed between end surfaces of the at least one magnetic core [figure 5]; at least one electrical winding surrounding at least a part of the at least one magnetic core [420]; and a shielding device [410] for shielding fringing fields of the at least one gap, the shielding device comprising: a holding unit attached to at least one of the at least one magnetic core and the at least one electrical winding in a periphery of the at least one gap [figure 6, insulator 430]; and at least one shield member [410, figure 6] attached to the holding unit; wherein the at least one shield member is configured to shield gap-fringing fields in the periphery of the at least one gap [para 21].
Regarding claims 2-3, Ritter et al. discloses the magnetic component according to claim 1, wherein the holding unit comprises at least one side surface configured to at least partially surround the gap and to hold the at least one shield member [figure 7].
Regarding claim 4, Ritter et al. discloses the holding unit comprises: the receiving portion [450, 460, figure 7].
Regarding claims 7-9, Ritter et al. discloses an insulating frame-shaped portion [470] placed between the two opposing surfaces of the cores extending from a side surface of the insulator [430] filling the air gap [para 22].
Regarding claim 10, Ritter et al. discloses a gap [figure 6, 452] to separate two portions of the shield [para 21]. Regarding claim 13, Ritter et al. discloses the fringe shield surrounding the end surfaces of the core and thus overlapping in the radial direction [figures 6-7, para. 22].
Regarding claims 15-16, Ritter et al. discloses the member 430 being formed of an epoxy resin material [para. 22].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ritter et al.
Regarding claims 11-12, Ritter et al. disclose everything claimed except the wherein a shortest distance between the shield member and a closest edge of the respective gap is defined as L and a width of the respective gap is defined as D, and L > D, wherein a quotient L/D is
between and including a maximum and a minimum, wherein the maximum is selected from 5, 3, and 2, and the minimum is selected from 1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 1.4, and 1.5, or the quotient L/D is one of the above and the shield member overlaps at least one of the end surfaces. The specific distances of the gaps and the overhang of the shielding members would been an obvious design consideration based on the core structure, fringing effects and sizing. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to (?), since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 14 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ritter et al. in view of Jitaru [US 6967553]. Ritter et al. discloses everything claimed except the use of a ferrite material as at least one of the shield members. Jitaru discloses an inductor structure [figure 4c] having an EI core structure including shielding plate members [18] formed of ferrite material [column 4, line 64- column 5, line 16]. It would have been obvious that a portion of the shielding structure could have been ferrite, as suggested by Jitaru, in order to reduce losses in the winding structure and control fringe effects.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ritter et al. in view of Worthington et al. [WO2012001398].
Regarding claim 17, Ritter et al discloses everything claimed except wherein the at least one electrical winding does not surround the at least one gap. Worthington et al. discloses an EI magnetic core configuration [figure 3a] including a shielding plate mounted outside of the gap in the EI configuration. It would have been obvious, to use the design of Worthington et al. for the core, in order to simply the mounting of the core.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12-30-2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant essentially argues that the Suzuki fails to disclose the shielding device to suppress fringing fields including a holding unit. Applicant states that the adhesive 9 with fix, or hold, the shield. As noted by applicant, the shielding member is used to protect the bobbin from the adhesive. Suzuki further states, however, that the protective cover 10 can be formed of other materials to provide shielding, see paragraph 52 which states “However, the material is not limited to the insulator. The protective cover 10 may be configured such that it has a shield effect using a metal, such as copper, which can function as a shield.”
Applicant further argues that the fringe shield is not held by the insulating material 430. Ritter states that “a fringe shield (410) sealed within an insulator (430),” thus it is held by the insulating material. Applicant argues that “holding unit” is not the same as that in claim 1 since the insulation is formed around the fringe shield. Examiner disagrees, the claim states that the fringe shield is “attached to the holding unit.” The claim is directed towards a final product and not a manufacturing method thereof.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LINCOLN D DONOVAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2842