DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-12 and 14-18 remain withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the UAV and fuselage (claim 13) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Feng et al. (CN 108698703 A, hereinafter Feng) in view of Yin et al. (CN 209684001 U, hereinafter Yin) and Moriya (JP 2002257552 A).
As to claim 1, Feng teaches an inertial measurement module, comprising:
a mount 212;
a circuit board 221, mounted (at least indirectly) to a surface (upward facing surface in fig. 4) of the mount;
an inertial measurement assembly 222, 224, comprising a thermal resistor 224 (¶37) and an inertial measurement unit 222 (¶37), wherein the thermal resistor and the inertial measurement unit are spaced apart on the circuit board (fig. 5);
a thermally conductive member 213, mounted to the circuit board and configured to abut against the thermal resistor and the inertial measurement unit, so that heat generated by the thermal resistor is transferred to the inertial measurement unit (¶38); and
a counterweight assembly 211, mounted to the surface of the mount (¶35), wherein a first groove (comprising cavity 2110 – fig. 5) is arranged on an end surface of the counterweight assembly facing the mount, a receiving space (comprising cavity 2110 – fig. 5) is formed by the first groove and the surface of the mount (i.e. the “surface of the mount” recited above; this is the surface of the mount 212 facing downward in fig. 5 and upward in fig. 4), the thermally conductive member and the inertial measurement assembly are both received in the receiving space (¶30 teaches that the receiving space between the mount 212 and counterweight assembly 211 receives the thermally conductive member and the inertial measurement assembly; ¶30, ¶35 and figs. 4-5 show that the upper and lower shells 211-212 are assembled together with the thermally conductive member and the inertial measurement assembly between them), and the thermally conductive member is arranged at a preset distance (which includes at least the thickness of the board 221 in fig. 5) from a bottom of the first groove,
wherein a protruding frame is arranged on the surface of the mount (¶30 teaches that the sensor module is fixed in the receiving cavity 2110 and wherein the receiving cavity 2110 is partially in the counterweight assembly 211 and partially in the mount 212; accordingly, Feng’s protruding frame comprises at least the walls of the mount 212 forming part of the receiving cavity 2110),
wherein the counterweight assembly comprises a thermally insulative cover 2111 (in the instant specification, lines 15-17 of pg. 8 teach that the thermally insulative cover 51 is made of plastic; similarly, Feng’s thermally insulative cover 2111 is made of plastic, meaning it is thermally insulative - ¶31) and a counterweight block 2112, one end (bottom end in fig. 5) of the thermally insulative cover mates with and is mounted to an end (upper end in fig. 5) of the counterweight block, an other end (upper end in fig. 5) of the thermally insulative cover is mounted to the surface of the mount (i.e. the surface of the mount, being the downward-facing surface in fig. 5), and the first groove (comprising cavity 2110) is arranged on the other end (upper end in fig. 5) of the thermally insulative cover,
wherein the thermally insulative cover is positioned on and mounted to the mount.
Feng does not teach wherein the circuit board is mounted in the protruding frame, and an inner wall of the thermally insulative cover abuts against an outer wall of the protruding frame so that the thermally insulative cover is positioned on and mounted to the mount.
Yin teaches a mount 4 with a protruding frame (formed by at least the walls forming a cavity 4.1 – fig. 1), wherein a circuit board 3 is mounted in the protruding frame (¶31) of the mount.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Feng such that the circuit board is mounted in the protruding frame as taught by Yin since such a modification would be a simple substitution of one method of mounting the circuit board for another for the predictable result that the circuit board is still successfully supported and protected.
[AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (APS)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Moriya teaches a sensor housing comprising a mount 25 and a cover 30, wherein the mount comprises an annular protruding section APS (fig. 4 above) which assists in mounting the cover to the mount (¶29 teaches that the mount is “fitted” into the opening in the cap), wherein the cover has a flange 32, and wherein an inner wall (at least inside of the flange 32) of the cover abuts against an outer wall of the protruding section APS so that the cover is positioned on and mounted to the mount.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Feng as modified such that the edges of the mount and counterweight assembly that abut each other are configured with an annular protruding section and flange that abut each other, as taught by Moriya, for the benefit that it is more difficult for foreign debris to enter the housing due to the angle formed with the annular protruding frame and flange.
Feng as modified teaches wherein an inner wall (at least inside of the flange 32 of Moriya on the thermally insulative cover of Feng) of the thermally insulative cover abuts against an outer wall (radially outwardly facing wall of the annular protruding section APS of Moriya) of the protruding frame so that the thermally insulative cover is positioned on and mounted to the mount.
As to claim 2, Feng teaches wherein an end surface (bottom end surface in fig. 5) of the thermally conductive member 213 abuts against the thermal resistor, and a side surface adjacent to (i.e. near) the end surface abuts against a side surface of the inertial measurement unit (the “side surface,” at the beginning of line 3 of the claim, is not positively recited as part of the claimed apparatus; accordingly, a side surface of something that is not part of the claimed apparatus is capable of abutting against the side surface of the inertial measurement unit).
As to claim 7, Feng teaches a shock absorption system, comprising:
an inertial measurement module (described below);
a support 1, configured to be mounted to a fuselage 101 of an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) 100 (fig. 8); and
a shock-absorbing connection assembly 3, configured to be connected to the inertial measurement module and the support, wherein
the inertial measurement module comprises:
a mount 212;
a circuit board 221, mounted (at least indirectly) to a surface (upward facing surface in fig. 4) of the mount;
an inertial measurement assembly 222, 224, comprising a thermal resistor 221 and an inertial measurement unit 222, wherein the thermal resistor and the inertial measurement unit are spaced apart on the circuit board (fig. 5);
a thermally conductive member 213, mounted to the circuit board and configured to abut against the thermal resistor and the inertial measurement unit, so that heat generated by the thermal resistor is transferred to the inertial measurement unit (¶38); and
a counterweight assembly 211, mounted to the surface of the mount (¶35), wherein a first groove (comprising cavity 2110 – fig. 5) is arranged on an end surface of the counterweight assembly facing the mount, a receiving space (comprising cavity 2110 – fig. 5) is formed by the first groove and the surface of the mount (i.e. the “surface of the mount” recited above; this is the surface of the mount 212 facing downward in fig. 5 and upward in fig. 4), the thermally conductive member and the inertial measurement assembly are both received in the receiving space (¶30 teaches that the receiving space between the mount 212 and counterweight assembly 211 receives the thermally conductive member and the inertial measurement assembly; ¶30, ¶35 and figs. 4-5 show that the upper and lower shells 211-212 are assembled together with the thermally conductive member and the inertial measurement assembly between them), and the thermally conductive member is arranged at a preset distance (which includes at least the thickness of the board 221 in fig. 5) from a bottom of the first groove,
wherein a protruding frame is arranged on the surface of the mount (¶30 teaches that the sensor module is fixed in the receiving cavity 2110 and wherein the receiving cavity 2110 is partially in the counterweight assembly 211 and partially in the mount 212; accordingly, Feng’s protruding frame comprises at least the walls of the mount 212 forming part of the receiving cavity 2110),
wherein the counterweight assembly comprises a thermally insulative cover 2111 (in the instant specification, lines 15-17 of pg. 8 teach that the thermally insulative cover 51 is made of plastic; similarly, Feng’s thermally insulative cover 2111 is made of plastic, meaning it is thermally insulative - ¶31) and a counterweight block 2112, one end (bottom end in fig. 5) of the thermally insulative cover mates with and is mounted to an end (upper end in fig. 5) of the counterweight block, an other end (upper end in fig. 5) of the thermally insulative cover is mounted to the surface of the mount (i.e. the surface of the mount, being the downward-facing surface in fig. 5), and the first groove (comprising cavity 2110) is arranged on the other end (upper end in fig. 5) of the thermally insulative cover,
wherein the thermally insulative cover is positioned on and mounted to the mount.
Feng does not teach wherein the circuit board is mounted in the protruding frame, and an inner wall of the thermally insulative cover abuts against an outer wall of the protruding frame so that the thermally insulative cover is positioned on and mounted to the mount.
Yin teaches a mount 4 with a protruding frame (formed by at least the walls forming a cavity 4.1 – fig. 1), wherein a circuit board 3 is mounted in the protruding frame (¶31) of the mount.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Feng such that the circuit board is mounted in the protruding frame as taught by Yin since such a modification would be a simple substitution of one method of mounting the circuit board for another for the predictable result that the circuit board is still successfully supported and protected.
Moriya teaches a sensor housing comprising a mount 25 and a cover 30, wherein the mount comprises an annular protruding section APS (fig. 4 above) which assists in mounting the cover to the mount (¶29 teaches that the mount is “fitted” into the opening in the cap), wherein the cover has a flange 32, and wherein an inner wall (at least inside of the flange 32) of the cover abuts against an outer wall of the protruding section APS so that the cover is positioned on and mounted to the mount.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Feng as modified such that the edges of the mount and counterweight assembly that abut each other are configured with an annular protruding section and flange that abut each other, as taught by Moriya, for the benefit that it is more difficult for foreign debris to enter the housing due to the angle formed with the annular protruding frame and flange.
Feng as modified teaches wherein an inner wall (at least inside of the flange 32 of Moriya on the thermally insulative cover of Feng) of the thermally insulative cover abuts against an outer wall (radially outwardly facing wall of the annular protruding section APS of Moriya) of the protruding frame so that the thermally insulative cover is positioned on and mounted to the mount.
As to claim 13, Feng teaches an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) 100, comprising a shock absorption system (described below) and a fuselage 101, wherein the shock absorption system is mounted to the fuselage (fig. 8); and
the shock absorption system comprises:
an inertial measurement module (described below);
a support 1, configured to be mounted to a fuselage 101 of a UAV 100; and
a shock-absorbing connection assembly 3, configured to be connected to the inertial measurement module and the support (see at least figs. 1-2), wherein
the inertial measurement module comprises:
a mount 212;
a circuit board 221, mounted (at least indirectly) to a surface (upward facing surface in fig. 4) of the mount;
an inertial measurement assembly 222, 224, comprising a thermal resistor 224 and an inertial measurement unit 222, wherein the thermal resistor and the inertial measurement unit are spaced apart on the circuit board (fig. 5);
a thermally conductive member 213, mounted to the circuit board and configured to abut against the thermal resistor and the inertial measurement unit, so that heat generated by the thermal resistor is transferred to the inertial measurement unit (¶38); and
a counterweight assembly 211, mounted to a surface of the mount (¶35), wherein a first groove (comprising cavity 2110 – fig. 5) is arranged on an end surface of the counterweight assembly facing the mount, a receiving space (comprising cavity 2110 – fig. 5) is formed by the first groove and the surface of the mount (i.e. the “surface of the mount” recited above; this is the surface of the mount 212 facing downward in fig. 5 and upward in fig. 4), the thermally conductive member and the inertial measurement assembly are both received in the receiving space (¶30 teaches that the receiving space between the mount 212 and counterweight assembly 211 receives the thermally conductive member and the inertial measurement assembly; ¶30, ¶35 and figs. 4-5 show that the upper and lower shells 211-212 are assembled together with the thermally conductive member and the inertial measurement assembly between them), and the thermally conductive member is arranged at a preset distance (which includes at least the thickness of the board 221 in fig. 5) from a bottom of the first groove,
wherein a protruding frame is arranged on the surface of the mount (¶30 teaches that the sensor module is fixed in the receiving cavity 2110 and wherein the receiving cavity 2110 is partially in the counterweight assembly 211 and partially in the mount 212; accordingly, Feng’s protruding frame comprises at least the walls of the mount 212 forming part of the receiving cavity 2110),
wherein the counterweight assembly comprises a thermally insulative cover 2111 (in the instant specification, lines 15-17 of pg. 8 teach that the thermally insulative cover 51 is made of plastic; similarly, Feng’s thermally insulative cover 2111 is made of plastic, meaning it is thermally insulative - ¶31) and a counterweight block 2112, one end (bottom end in fig. 5) of the thermally insulative cover mates with and is mounted to an end (upper end in fig. 5) of the counterweight block, an other end (upper end in fig. 5) of the thermally insulative cover is mounted to the surface of the mount (i.e. the surface of the mount, being the downward-facing surface in fig. 5), and the first groove (comprising cavity 2110) is arranged on the other end (upper end in fig. 5) of the thermally insulative cover,
wherein the thermally insulative cover is positioned on and mounted to the mount.
Feng does not teach wherein the circuit board is mounted in the protruding frame, and an inner wall of the thermally insulative cover abuts against an outer wall of the protruding frame so that the thermally insulative cover is positioned on and mounted to the mount.
Yin teaches a mount 4 with a protruding frame (formed by at least the walls forming a cavity 4.1 – fig. 1), wherein a circuit board 3 is mounted in the protruding frame (¶31) of the mount.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Feng such that the circuit board is mounted in the protruding frame as taught by Yin since such a modification would be a simple substitution of one method of mounting the circuit board for another for the predictable result that the circuit board is still successfully supported and protected.
Moriya teaches a sensor housing comprising a mount 25 and a cover 30, wherein the mount comprises an annular protruding section APS (fig. 4 above) which assists in mounting the cover to the mount (¶29 teaches that the mount is “fitted” into the opening in the cap), wherein the cover has a flange 32, and wherein an inner wall (at least inside of the flange 32) of the cover abuts against an outer wall of the protruding section APS so that the cover is positioned on and mounted to the mount.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Feng as modified such that the edges of the mount and counterweight assembly that abut each other are configured with an annular protruding section and flange that abut each other, as taught by Moriya, for the benefit that it is more difficult for foreign debris to enter the housing due to the angle formed with the annular protruding frame and flange.
Feng as modified teaches wherein an inner wall (at least inside of the flange 32 of Moriya on the thermally insulative cover of Feng) of the thermally insulative cover abuts against an outer wall (radially outwardly facing wall of the annular protruding section APS of Moriya) of the protruding frame so that the thermally insulative cover is positioned on and mounted to the mount.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng in view of Yin and Moriya as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Feng et al. (US 20170059319 A1, hereinafter Feng2).
As to claim 5, Feng teaches a connection line 223 of the circuit board.
Feng as modified does not teach wherein a first opening is arranged on the protruding frame, a second opening is arranged on the thermally insulative cover, and the first opening and the second opening are respectively configured to communicate an inner space of the protruding frame and the first groove with the outside; and
when the thermally insulative cover is mounted to the mount, the first opening and the second opening are located on a same end and are aligned and form a channel, and the connection line of the circuit board extends out through the channel.
[AltContent: textbox (Fig. 4 of Feng2)][AltContent: textbox (O2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (O1)][AltContent: arrow]
Feng2 teaches a housing comprising a first shell 401 (analogous to the mount 212 of Feng, with respect to the routing direction of the connection line 403) with a first opening O1 (fig. 4 above) and a second shell 407 with a second opening O2 (fig. 4 above),
when the first shell is mounted to the second shell, the first opening and the second opening are located on a same end and are aligned and form a channel O1-O2, and the connection line 403 of the circuit board (not shown, but located inside assembly 408 - ¶42) extends out through the channel (see ¶40, which teaches that the shells are mated and locked together; fig. 5 shows an example of this in a different embodiment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Feng as modified such that the housing shells enclose the connection line and wherein the connection line is outputted through a channel formed by openings in the first and second shells, as taught by Feng2, so as to provide more protection to the signal line since the housing would provide more coverage for the signal line.
Feng as modified teaches wherein a first opening (forming part of opening O1 of Feng2) is arranged on the protruding frame (which is on the mount 212 of Feng), a second opening O2 (Feng2) is arranged on the thermally insulative cover, and the first opening and the second opening are respectively configured to communicate an inner space of the protruding frame and the first groove with the outside; and
when the thermally insulative cover is mounted to the mount, the first opening and the second opening are located on a same end and are aligned (see fig. 4 of Feng2) and form a channel, and the connection line of the circuit board extends out through the channel (fig. 5 of Feng2 shows a similar example of this configuration).
[AltContent: textbox (OG)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Fig. 5 of Feng)][AltContent: textbox (Fig. 4 of Feng)][AltContent: textbox (PB)][AltContent: arrow]
As to claim 6, Feng teaches wherein a protruding block BP (fig. 4 above) is arranged on an end (upper side in fig. 4) of the thermally insulative cover 2111, an open groove OG (fig. 5 above) is arranged on an end (upper end in fig. 5) of the counterweight block 2112, and the protruding block is inserted into the open groove, so that the counterweight block is fixedly mounted to the thermally insulative cover (¶31-32 teach that the counterweight block 2112 is coated onto the thermally insulative cover 2111).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/11/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pg. 11 that “From the utility point of the present invention, the function- relevant structural elements around the key elements "inertial measurement unit", "thermal resistor" and "thermally conductive member" which are not specifically covered by Feng's teaching is the "thermally insulative cover" in Claims 3 and 4, illustrated in paragraph [0054].”
Applicant’s phrasing here is unclear. Is Applicant arguing that Feng does not teach the "inertial measurement unit", "thermal resistor" and "thermally conductive member?" Is Applicant arguing that Feng does not teach the "thermally insulative cover?" Or is Applicant arguing something else? The rejection of claim 1 clearly shows that Feng teaches the "inertial measurement unit", "thermal resistor" and "thermally conductive member." The claims do not recite that the "inertial measurement unit," "thermal resistor" and "thermally conductive member" *are* the "thermally insulative cover," as suggested by Applicant. Furthermore, the rejection of claim 1 shows that Feng teaches the claimed "thermally insulative cover."
Applicant argues on pgs. 11-12 that element 2111 of Feng does not read on the claimed thermally insulative cover because:
1. “The present invention “thermally insulative cover” is placed between the electric component side of the circuit board (where the above-mentioned key elements are located) and the outer housing.” In Feng’s teaching, the “inner housing” is located the backside (as opposed to the electric component side) of the control circuit board.”
2. …”there is no indication that this inner housing is functioning as a thermally insulating material other than mentioning that it “may be a plastic housing or a low-density metal housing” [0026]. Obviously, if it is a low-density metal housing, it is not a thermally insulating material.”
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
1. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., ““thermally insulative cover” is placed between the electric component side of the circuit board (where the above-mentioned key elements are located) and the outer housing”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
2. Applicant’s specification indicates, on lines 15-17 of pg. 8, that plastic has a relatively small thermal conductivity and is the material of the disclose thermally insulative cover 51. Feng’s thermally insulative cover 2111 is also plastic, meaning it also has a relatively small thermal conductivity. This means Feng’s thermally insulative cover 2111 is a thermally insulative cover. The Examiner did not rely on the embodiment of Feng in which element 2111 is metal. Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pg. 12 that “Feng does not disclose the limitation for the amended independent claims.”
Applicant’s argument is not persuasive. If the phrase “the limitation” refers to the limitations above, then Applicant’s argument is not persuasive for the reasons discussed above. If Applicant is referring to the limitations amended into claims 1, 7 and 13, then in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In the rejections of claims 1, 7 and 13, Feng was modified in view of other references in order to reject all the limitations amended into these claims.
Applicant argues on pg. 12 that “Moriya or Yin does not compensate what Feng lacks. A person in the relevant art would not be motivated to combine both cited art, individually or combined to come up with the current invention.”
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. The rejection of claims 1, 7 and 13 show that that the prior art combination teaches all of these claims, and that a person in the relevant art would indeed be motivated to combine the cited art to come up with the claimed invention.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 102 rejections have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) for rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.C.P./Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/STEPHEN D MEIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853