DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 1 - 9 , 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent App. Pub. No. 2018/0153434 (Tang et al.) , as evidenced by US 6,456,864 (Swanson et al.), and in view of USPAP 2014/0309661 (Sheps et al.). Tang discloses a delivery apparatus for an implantable medical device (see description of the device used as a “guide sheath” for catheter that is advanced into its central lumen [0051]; [0081] ), comprising a handle ( 16 ; see Fig. 1; [00 41 ]); a shaft (1 2 ) extending distally from the handle (16) , the shaft having a steering-member lumen (30) extending a length of the shaft ([00 46 ]; Fig. 4); a steering member ( puller wires 32) extending through the steering-member lumen (30) [00 46 ], the steering member (32) having a proximal end portion and a distal end portion; and a pull ring (45) disposed along a distal end portion of the shaft (Fig. 6), wherein the distal end portion of the steering member (32) is fixed to the distal segment of the pull ring (45) (Fig. 6; [0055]); Tang discloses the steering wires (32) enable deflection of the shaft [0046]. Tang incorporates by reference US 6,456,864 (Swanson) at [0041] , wherein Swanson discloses a well-known adjustment mechanism (steering lever 43) on a handle (38) for controlling steering wires (see Fig. 3A-B and column 6, lines 40- 55). Tang fails to disclose the pull ring (45) has a d istal segment defining a second diameter smaller than the first diameter of a proximal segment. Sheps discloses another catheter with steering wires (29A and 29B) attached to a pull ring (11) (see Fig. 20 and [0189]). Sheps teaches that the pull ring defines a shape having a decreased overall diameter at the distal end (due to recesses 2604 – see marked up drawing below). Sheps teaches that the shape of the recesses (2602) aids in attachment of the pull wires with the pull ring [035 6-0357 ]. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to configure the pull ring of Tang to define a smaller diameter at the distal end, as taught by Sheps, as the modification merely involves a combination of known pull rings that obtains a predictable result of enhancing the attachment of steering wires to a ring for the purpose of deflecting a catheter. Regarding claim 2-3: Sheps further teaches that the steering wires extend through an opening (2604) defined in a proximal segment of the pull ring (11) that is defined by recess (2604) and cap (2602) that is welded over the recess [0357] (Fig. 20). The distal ends of the steering wires (29A and 29B) extend through these opening and into corresponding grooves (see marked up drawing below) defined on an outer surface of the ring. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to attach the wires and ring Tang according to Sheps, as the modification merely involves a combination of known pull rings that obtains a predictable result of an attachment of steering wires to a ring for the purpose of deflecting a catheter. Regarding claim 4, Tang discloses a braided layer (26) radially outward of the steering-member lumen (30) (see Fig. 4; [0044]), wherein the braided layer has a distal end portion that extends into the proximal segment of the pull ring (see description of end of braided layer 26 surrounded by pull ring 45 at [0055]) . Regarding claim 5, Tang discloses the terminal ends of the steering wires (32) are welded to the pull ring (45) at point “W” in Fig. 6 [0055]. The braided layer (26) is secured to the inner surface of the pull ring (45), but Tang fails to explicitly disclose whether the wires (32) extend distally beyond the distal end of the braided layer (26). Sheps teaches that the terminal ends of the steering wires are extend into the grooves at the distalmost portion of the pull ring (11) to enhance coupling (see Figure 20), o ne of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to configure the steering wires of modified Tang to extend distally of the terminal end of the braided layer, as the modification merely involves a combination of known pull rings that obtains a predictable result of enhancing attachment of steering wires to a pull ring of a catheter . Regarding claims 6 and 7, Tang discloses the shaft (12) comprises an inner polymer layer (liner 25) radially inward of the braided layer (26) (see cross-section of Figures 3A and 4; [0043]) and that “defines” the steering member lumens (30) at least in part. The shaft (12) includes an outer layer (48) of polymer in which the steering-member lumen s (30) and braided layer (26) are embedded [0052] . In this manner, radially inward of the braided layer (26) and an outer polymeric layer that is radially outward of the braided layer. Additionally, the pull ring is embedded within this same polymer layer (48) such that it is bet ween the inner and outer polymeric layers (Fig. 6; [0052]). Regarding claim 8, Sheps teaches that a pull ring may be perforated, as the ring (11) comprises openings (see Fig. 20). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the ring of Tang to be perforated, as taught by Sheps, as the modification merely involves a combination of known pull rings that obtains predictable result s. Regarding claims 19 and 20, modified Tang discloses all the claimed structural features of the catheter, as explained in detail above. Tang and Sheps teach a method of use comprising the steps of inserting the shaft of the catheter device into the body of a patient (see [0002-0003] of Tang; , and steering the shaft inside the body of the patient [0002-0003] by actuating an adjustment mechanism on a handle of the device outside the body of the patient, wherein the adjustment mechanism is operatively coupled to the proximal end portion of the steering member and wherein the actuating includes adjusting tension in the steering member to adjust a curvature of the shaft (see Swanson incorporated by reference in Tang ). Sheps additionally discloses a method of insertion and steering of the shaft within a patient’s body (see Fig. 14A-F; [0289]). Claim(s) 10-1 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent App. Pub. No. 2018/0153434 (Tang et al. evidenced by US 6,456,864 (Swanson et al.), in view of USPAP 2014/0309661 (Sheps et al.) , as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of US PAP 2019/0247627 ( Korkuch et al.). Tang, as modified by Sheps above, comprises all the claimed structural features but fails to explicitly disclose that the distal end portion of the braided layer (26) extends into the proximal segment of the pull ring (45) and terminates at a location proximal to the distal segment of the pull ring. Korkuch discloses a catheter shaft (200) with a braided layer ([0151]; Fig. 7-9). The terminal end of the braided layer is within a distal ring (3804 in Fig. 38A-B; 3904 in Figures 39A-B; 4004 in Fig. 40A-B). The braided layer extends only into the proximal section of the ring, such that its terminal end does not extend into the distal section of the ring (3804). Korkuch teaches that these constructs provide a secure connection between the catheter layer comprising a reinforcing braid and an inner surface of a n annular ring [0223-0227]. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to configure the braided layer of modified Tang to be terminate at a location proximal to a distal end segment of the pull ring, as taught by Korkuch , as the modification merely involves a combination of known catheter constructs according to known methods that obtains a predictable result of a secure attachment between a braided reinforced catheter layer with an inner surface of a ring. Regarding claim s 11 , 15 and 1 6 , Sheps further teaches that the steering wires extend through an opening (2604) defined in a proximal segment of the pull ring (11) that is defined by recess (2604) and cap (2602) that is welded over the recess [0357] (Fig. 20). The distal ends of the steering wires (29A and 29B) extend through these opening and into corresponding grooves (see marked up drawing below) defined on an outer surface of the ring. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to attach the wires and ring Tang according to Sheps, as the modification merely involves a combination of known pull rings that obtains a predictable result of an attachment of steering wires to a ring for the purpose of deflecting a catheter. In regards to claim 12, see marked up drawing above denoting a “transition section” that tapers from a proximal section (does not include “grooves”) and a distal section (includes “grooves” that reduce an overall diameter of the ring at a distal portion). Regarding claim 13, Tang discloses the terminal ends of the steering wires (32) are welded to the pull ring (45) at point “W” in Fig. 6 [0055]. The braided layer (26) is secured to the inner surface of the pull ring (45), but Tang fails to explicitly disclose whether the wires (32) extend distally beyond the distal end of the braided layer (26). Sheps teaches that the terminal ends of the steering wires are extend into the grooves at the distalmost portion of the pull ring (11) to enhance coupling (see Figure 20), o ne of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to configure the steering wires of modified Tang to extend distally of the terminal end of the braided layer, as the modification merely involves a combination of known pull rings that obtains a predictable result of enhancing attachment of steering wires to a pull ring of a catheter . Regarding claim 14, Tang discloses the shaft (12) comprises an inner polymer layer (liner 25) radially inward of the braided layer (26) (see cross-section of Figures 3A and 4; [0043]) and that “defines” the steering member lumens (30) at least in part. The shaft (12) includes an outer layer (48) of polymer in which the steering-member lumen s (30) and braided layer (26) are embedded [0052]. In this manner, radially inward of the braided layer (26) and an outer polymeric layer that is radially outward of the braided layer. Additionally, the pull ring is embedded within this same polymer layer (48) such that it is bet ween the inner and outer polymeric layers (Fig. 6; [0052]). In regards to claim 17, Tang discloses a second shaft extending through central lumen (22) (see description of the device used as a “guide sheath” for catheter that is advanced into its central lumen [0051]; [0081]) . Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. in view of Sheps et al. and Korkuch , as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of US Patent No. 5,531,721 (Pepin et al.) Tang discloses the delivery apparatus is a guide sheath for a second catheter shaft that is advanced into its central lumen (22) ([0051]; [0081]), but fails to explicitly state the second shaft comprises an inflatable balloon on its distal end. Pepin teaches that it is known in the art to combine a balloon catheter (2 9 of Fig. 1) with a steerable guide sheath ( 12 ). O ne of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the modified Tang guide sheath with a balloon catheter taught by Levine, as the modification merely involves a combination of known catheters that obtains predictable results. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT SARAH WEBB ALEMAN whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-5749 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M, Tu, Th, Fr 9am - 3pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Melanie Tyson can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-9062 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SARAH W ALEMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774