Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, page 8 lines 13 – 30 thru page 9 lines 1 – 9, and page 11 lines 17 – 28 thru page 12 whole page, filed 01/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Finkel et al.’s control for transferring energy through the converter is based on a peak current rather than a switching frequency as claimed. However, one of ordinary skill in the art knows that peak current and switching frequency have an inversely proportional relationship. Therefore, Finkel et al.’s control for transferring energy through the converter is based on both, the peak current and the switching frequency.
In response to applicant’s argument, page 9 lines 10 – 30, that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the benefit of Torvinen et al. having multiple output voltages from the first energy storage and second energy storage is to provide specialized power levels to the at least one piezo element within the system for a shoe sole.
In response to applicant's argument, page 10 lines 1 – 9, that “in addition, Torvinen and Finkel control energy transfer using different inputs and for different reasons. As discussed above, Torvinen transfers energy when the first energy storage reaches a storage threshold, and only at that point transfer energy to a second energy storage. In contrast, Finkel creates multiple output voltages to enable Finkel's converter to control the jitter signal in the converter. These two systems are distinct and do not provide any motivation to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine these control methods. For example, Torvinen does not disclose any problems related to jitter signals or the need to create multiple output voltages. And Finkel does not make any link between the jitter signals and a first energy storage reaching a first energy threshold and requiring a transfer of energy", the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
In response to applicant's argument, page 10 lines 11 – 19, that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Claim Objections
Regarding Claims 16 and 20, Applicant has amended the previous objections therefore, objections have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding Claim 16, Applicant has amended the previous 112(b) rejections of insufficient antecedent basis therefore, the 112(b) rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7– 8, 10 – 12, and 15 – 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torvinen et al. in view of Finkel et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Torvinen et al. discloses a system (1200) for a shoe sole (Torvinen et al. Para [0001] whole paragraph), comprising:
at least one piezo element (1205) adapted to produce an electrical signal upon mechanical deformation of the at least one piezo element (Torvinen et al. Para [0012] lines 2 – 5);
at least one first energy storage (1230) and at least one second energy storage (1235) (Torvinen et al. Fig. 12),
the at least one first energy storage and the at least one second energy storage being adapted to store electrical energy obtained from the electrical signal (Torvinen et al. Para [0012] lines 8 – 11);
at least one converter unit (DCDC converter of voltage regulator 1260).
Torvinen et al. does not disclose:
at least one converter unit adapted to selectively control a transfer of an amount of electrical energy between the at least one first energy storage and the at least one second energy storage,
wherein the at least one converter unit is adapted to selectively control the transfer of an amount of electrical energy based at least in part on a switching frequency between a charge state and a discharge state of the at least one converter unit;
and a control unit adapted to calculate the switching frequency.
Finkel discloses:
wherein the at least one converter unit is adapted to selectively control the transfer of an amount of electrical energy based at least in part on a switching frequency between a charge state and a discharge state of the at least one converter unit (Finkel et al. c. 13, l. 23 – 30);
further comprising a control unit (190) adapted to calculate the switching frequency (Finkel et al. c. 2, l. 19 – 25 discloses the controller can be a microcontroller that has the ability to calculate switching frequency).
Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. structurally disclose:
at least one converter unit (100) adapted to selectively control a transfer of an amount of electrical energy (of Finkel et al. Fig. 1) between the at least one first energy storage and the at least one second energy storage (of Torvinen et al. Fig. 12).
Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. discloses converters therefore, Finkel et al. constitutes as prior art. Finkel et al. discloses a flyback converter having the ability to transfer electrical energy via a transformer. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the at least one converter unit is adapted to selectively control the transfer of an amount of electrical energy based at least in part on a switching frequency between a charge state and a discharge state of the at least one converter unit and a control unit adapted to calculate the switching frequency of Finkel et al., and at least one converter unit adapted to selectively control a transfer of an amount of electrical energy between the at least one first energy storage and the at least one second energy storage of structurally disclosed Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. for the purpose of 1) improving efficiency by minimizing switching losses in charging and discharging of the first energy storage and second energy storage, 2) determining factors such as individual component size, cost, efficiency, and performance within the system, and 3) creating multiple output voltages from the first energy storage and the second energy storage.
Regarding Claim 3, Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. disclose the system of the claim 1.
Torvinen et al. does not disclose:
wherein the switching frequency is based at least in part on the electrical signal of the at least one piezo element, an overall power used by the system, or both.
Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. structurally discloses:
wherein the switching frequency is based at least in part on the electrical signal (of Finkel et al. c. 15, l. 49 – 51) of the at least one piezo element (of Torvinen), an overall power used by the system, or both (of Torvinen et al. Fig. 12, which discloses at least one piezo element 1205).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the switching frequency is based at least in part on the electrical signal of the at least one piezo element, an overall power used by the system, or both of Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. for the purpose of controlling the rate at which power is supplied to the first energy storage and the second energy storage.
Regarding Claim 7, Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. discloses the system of claim 1.
Torvinen et al. does not disclose:
wherein the at least one converter unit is a flyback converter having a primary transformer side connected with the at least one first energy storage and a secondary transformer side connected with the at least one second energy storage.
Finkel et al. discloses:
wherein the at least one converter unit is a flyback converter having a primary transformer side (provided with primary winding 132 on transformer 130) connected with the at least one first energy storage and a secondary transformer side (provided with secondary winding 134 on transformer 130) connected with the at least one second energy storage (Finkel et al. Fig. 1).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the at least one converter unit is a flyback converter having a primary transformer side connected with the at least one first energy storage and a secondary transformer side connected with the at least one second energy storage of Finkel et al. for the purpose of distributing power among the first and second energy storages.
Regarding Claim 8, Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. discloses the system of claim 1.
Torvinen et al. does not disclose:
wherein the electrical energy is transferred from the at least one first energy storage to the at least one converter unit in the charge state and the electrical energy is transferred from the at least one converter unit to the at least one second energy storage in the discharge state.
Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. structurally discloses:
wherein the electrical energy is transferred from the at least one first energy storage (of Torvinen et al. Fig. 12) to the at least one converter unit in the charge state (Finkel et al. c. 4, l. 48 – 52) and the electrical energy is transferred from the at least one converter unit to the at least one second energy storage (of Torvinen et al. Fig. 12) in the discharge state (of Finkel et al. c. 4, l. 57 – 59).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the electrical energy is transferred from the at least one first energy storage to the at least one converter unit in the charge state and the electrical energy is transferred from the at least one converter unit to the at least one second energy storage in the discharge state of structurally disclosed Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. for the purpose of utilizing the same electrical energy and minimize electrical losses throughout the system.
Regarding Claim 10, Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. discloses the system of claim 1.
Torvinen et al. do not disclose:
further comprising a power management unit adapted to generate a control signal to switch the at least one converter unit between the charge state and the discharge state.
Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. structurally discloses:
further comprising a power management unit (1270 of Torvinen) adapted to generate a control signal (Torvinen et al. Para [0075] lines 8 – 9) to switch the at least one converter unit between the charge state and the discharge state (of Finkel et al. c. 13, l. 23 – 30).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further comprise a power management unit adapted to generate a control signal to switch the at least one converter unit between the charge state and the discharge state of structurally disclosed Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. for the purpose of efficiently regulating the system.
Regarding Claim 11, Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising at least one third energy storage (1240) adapted to store electrical energy obtained from the electrical signal (Torvinen et al. Para [0016] whole paragraph) and to provide electrical energy to the at least one second energy storage (Torvinen et al. Para [0021] first sentence) when the electrical signal from the at least one piezo element drops below a piezo threshold of electrical energy (Torvinen et al. Para [0019] first sentence discloses the third energy storage can supply energy when the at least one piezo element drops below a piezo threshold via not being deformed).
Regarding Claim 12, Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. discloses the system of claim 1.
Torvinen et al. do not disclose:
further comprising at least one regulator unit adapted to switch between a regulating mode and a non-regulating mode of the at least one regulator unit based at least in part of a regulation threshold of electrical energy.
Finkel et al. discloses:
further comprising at least one regulator unit (Zener diode 178) adapted to switch between a regulating mode and a non-regulating mode of the at least one regulator unit based at least in part of a regulation threshold of electrical energy (Finkel et al. c. 3, l. 54 discloses a Zener diode 178 which is known to have a regulating mode and a non-regulating mode based on a regulation threshold).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further comprise at least one regulator unit adapted to switch between a regulating mode and a non-regulating mode of the at least one regulator unit based at least in part of a regulation threshold of electrical energy of Finkel et al. for the purpose of maintain stable and constant voltage.
Regarding Claim 15, Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising at least one rectifying unit adapted to convert the electrical signal (Torvinen et al. Para [0026] first sentence).
Regarding Claim 16, Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. discloses the system of claim 15, further comprising at least one of a signal processing unit, a first comparator unit (750), a second comparator unit, a first switching unit, a second switching unit, a third switching unit, or a battery unit (Torvinen et al. Fig. 7),
wherein the system comprises at least one of the following arrangements:
the at least one piezo element is connected to the signal processing unit;
the at least one rectifying unit is connected between the at least one piezo element and the at least one first energy storage;
the at least one first energy storage is connected to at least one of the at least one regulator unit, the at least one converter unit, or the power management unit;
the at least one regulator unit is connected between the at least one first energy storage and the at least one second energy storage, and is connected to the second comparator unit;
the at least one converter unit is connected to at least one of the at least one first energy storage, the at least one second energy storage, or the power management unit (Torvinen et al. Para [0071] first sentence);
the at least one second energy storage is connected to at least one of the at least one third energy storage by one of the first switching unit, the first comparator unit, or the second comparator unit;
the first comparator unit is connected with the first switching unit;
the at least one third energy storage is connected to at least one of the battery unit, the control unit, and the power management unit; the control unit is connected to the power management unit;
and the power management unit is connected to at least one of the signal processing unit, the second switching unit, or the third switching unit.
Regarding Claim 17, Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the system is integrated into a cavity of an insole, a midsole or an outsole of a shoe (Torvinen et al. Para [0036] first sentence).
Regarding Claim 18, Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. discloses the system of claim 1, wherein at least two piezo elements (220, 230, and 240) are arranged in a heel area and/or a forefoot area of the shoe sole (Torvinen et al. Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 19, Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. discloses a shoe sole comprising the system of claim 1 (Torvinen et al. Para [0012] first sentence).
Regarding Claim 20, Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. discloses a shoe comprising the shoe sole of claim 19 (Torvinen et al. Para [0036] whole paragraph).
Regarding Claim 21, Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. discloses a method for operating the system of claim 1, the method comprising: generating the electrical signal upon mechanical deformation of the at least one piezo element (Torvinen et al. Para [0012] lines 2 – 5);
Torvinen et al. do not disclose:
and selectively controlling the transfer of an amount of electrical energy between the at least one first energy storage and the at least one second energy storage.
Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. structurally disclose:
and selectively controlling the transfer of an amount of electrical energy (of Finkel et al. Fig. 1) between the at least one first energy storage and the at least one second energy storage (of Torvinen et al. Fig. 12).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selectively controlling the transfer of an amount of electrical energy between the at least one first energy storage and the at least one second energy storage of structurally disclosed Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. for the purpose of creating multiple output voltages from the first energy storage and the second energy storage.
Regarding Claim 22, Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. discloses the method of claim 21.
Torvinen et al. do not disclose:
wherein selectively controlling comprises switching at least one converter unit between a charge state and a discharge state by using a switching frequency and wherein the electrical energy is transferred from the at least one first energy storage to the at least one converter unit in the charge state and the electrical energy is transferred from the at least one converter unit to the at least one second energy storage in the discharge state.
Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. structurally disclose:
wherein selectively controlling comprises switching at least one converter unit between a charge state and a discharge state by using a switching frequency (of Finkel et al. c. 13, l. 23 – 30) and wherein the electrical energy is transferred from the at least one first energy storage (of Torvinen et al. Fig. 12) to the at least one converter unit in the charge state (Finkel et al. c. 4, l. 48 – 52) and the electrical energy is transferred from the at least one converter unit to the at least one second energy storage (of Torvinen et al. Fig. 12) in the discharge state (of Finkel et al. c. 4, l. 57 – 59).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein selectively controlling comprises switching at least one converter unit between a charge state and a discharge state by using a switching frequency and wherein the electrical energy is transferred from the at least one first energy storage to the at least one converter unit in the charge state and the electrical energy is transferred from the at least one converter unit to the at least one second energy storage in the discharge state of structurally disclosed Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. for the purpose of utilizing the same electrical energy and minimize electrical losses throughout the system.
Regarding Claim 23, Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. discloses the method of claim 22.
Torvinen et al. does not disclose:
further comprising calculating the switching frequency.
Finkel et al. discloses:
further comprising calculating the switching frequency (Finkel et al. c. 2, l. 19 – 25 discloses the controller can be a microcontroller that has the ability to calculate switching frequency).
It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further comprise calculating the switching frequency of Finkel et al. for the purpose of determining factors such as individual component size, cost, efficiency, and performance within the system.
Claims 6 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torvinen et al. in view of Finkel et al. and further in view of Peng et al.
Regarding Claim 6, Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. discloses the system of claim 1.
Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. do not disclose:
wherein the at least one converter unit has an active mode and a non-active mode,
wherein a transition between the active mode and the non-active mode is based at least in part on a lower converter threshold, an upper converter threshold, or both thresholds for the electrical energy measured at the at least one first energy storage and wherein the selective control of the at least one converter unit is only provided in the active mode.
Peng et al. discloses:
wherein the at least one converter unit has an active mode (active clamp mode) and a nonactive mode (non-active clamp mode) (Peng et al. c. 1, l. 8 – 12).
Torvinen et al. and Peng et al. structurally disclose:
wherein a transition between the active mode and the non-active mode (of Peng et al. c. 1, l. 8 – 12) is based at least in part on a lower converter threshold (of Torvinen et al. Para [0074] lines 6 – 8), an upper converter threshold, or both thresholds for the electrical energy measured at the at least one first energy storage (of Torvinen et al. Fig. 12) and wherein the selective control of the at least one converter unit is only provided in the active mode (of Peng c. 1, l. 29 – 36).
Torvinen et al., Finkel et al., and Peng et al. discloses a converter therefore, Peng et al. constitutes as prior art. Peng et al. discloses a converter having an active mode and a non-active mode. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the at least one converter unit has an active mode and a non-active mode of Peng et al. and wherein a transition between the active mode and the non-active mode is based at least in part on a lower converter threshold, an upper converter threshold, or both thresholds for the electrical energy measured at the at least one first energy storage and wherein the selective control of the at least one converter unit is only provided in the active mode of structurally disclosed Torvinen et al. and Peng et al. for the purpose of efficiently regulating voltage in the at least one converter.
Regarding Claim 24, Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. discloses the method of claim 21.
Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. do not disclose:
further comprising switching the system between an active mode and a non-active mode or between a regulating mode and a non-regulating mode, or between both modes.
Peng et al. discloses:
further comprising switching the system between an active mode and a non-active mode (Peng et al. c. 1, l. 8 – 12 ) or between a regulating mode and a non-regulating mode, or between both modes.
Torvinen et al., Finkel et al., and Peng et al. discloses a converter therefore, Peng et al. constitutes as prior art. Peng et al. discloses a converter having an active mode and a non-active mode. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further comprise switching the system between an active mode and a non-active mode or between a regulating mode and a non-regulating mode, or between both modes of Peng et al. for the purpose of efficiently regulating voltage in the at least one converter.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torvinen et al. in view of Finkel et al. and further in view of Wang et al.
Regarding Claim 5, Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. disclose the system of claim 1.
Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. do not disclose:
wherein the charge state has a duration in the range of 20 ns to 180 ns.
Wang et al. discloses:
wherein the charge state has a duration in the range of 20 ns to 180 ns (Wang et al. Para [0059] first sentence).
Torvinen et al., Finkel et al., and Wang et al. disclose charges therefore, Wang et al. constitute prior art. Wang et al. discloses a charge state duration is less than 100 nanoseconds. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the charge state has a duration in the range of 20 ns to 180 ns of Wang et al. for the purpose of having an efficient charging speed of the at least one converter.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torvinen et al. in view of Finkel et al. and further in view of Puggelli et al.
Regarding Claim 9, Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. discloses the system of claim 1.
Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. do not disclose:
wherein the at least one converter unit comprises a metal oxide semiconductor field-effect transistor switch adapted to switch the at least one converter unit between the charge state and the discharge state.
Finkel et al. and Puggelli et al. structurally disclose:
wherein the at least one converter unit (102) comprises a metal oxide semiconductor field-effect transistor switch (206) (of Puggelli et al. c. 4, l. 56 – 58) adapted to switch the at least one converter unit between the charge state and the discharge state (of Finkel et al. c. 13, l. 23 – 30).
Torvinen et al., Finkel et al., and Puggelli et al. discloses converters therefore, Puggelli et al. constitute prior art. Puggelli et al. discloses a SC regulator having a metal oxide semiconductor field-effect transistor switch. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the at least one converter unit comprises a metal oxide semiconductor field-effect transistor switch adapted to switch the at least one converter unit between the charge state and the discharge state of structurally disclosed Finkel et al. and Puggelli et al. for the purpose of controlling the flow of electricity.
Claim 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Torvinen et al. in view of Finkel et al. and further in view of Gartstein et al.
Regarding Claim 13, Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. disclose the system of claim 12.
Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. do not disclose:
wherein the regulating mode causes the at least one second energy storage staying in a regulated voltage range between 1.0 to 4.0 V so that electrical energy accumulates in the at least one first energy storage.
Torvinen et al., Finkel et al., and Gartstein et al. structurally discloses:
wherein the regulating mode (of Finkel et al. c. 3, l. 54) causes the at least one second energy storage (of Torvinen et al. Fig. 12) staying in a regulated voltage range between 1.0 to 4.0 V (of Gartstein et al. c. 3, l. 55-60, which discloses the electrochemical battery can have a regulated voltage, such as 1.0 to 4.0 V, to allow controlled discharge) so that electrical energy accumulates in the at least one first energy storage (of Torvinen et al. Fig. 12).
Torvinen et al., Finkel et al., and Gartstein et al. disclose energy storages therefore, Gartstein et al. constitutes as prior art. Gartstein et al. discloses a regulator regulating voltage from an electrochemical battery. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the regulating mode causes the at least one second energy storage staying in a regulated voltage range between 1.0 to 4.0 V so that electrical energy accumulates in the at least one first energy storage of structurally disclosed Torvinen et al., Finkel et al., and Gartstein et al. for the purpose of extending service life to the at least one first and second energy storages.
Regarding Claim 14, Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. disclose the system of claim 12.
Torvinen et al. and Finkel et al. do not disclose:
further comprising at least one comparator unit adapted to measure the regulation threshold of electrical energy.
Finkel et al. and Gartstein et al. structurally discloses:
further comprising at least one comparator unit (Gartstein et al. c. 16, l. 56 – 61) adapted to measure the regulation threshold of electrical energy (of Finkel et al. c. 3, l. 54).
Torvinen et al., Finkel et al., and Gartstein et al. disclose energy storages therefore, Gartstein et al. constitutes as prior art. Gartstein et al. discloses a comparator coupled to a sub-controller of a regulator. It would be obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further comprise at least one comparator unit adapted to measure the regulation threshold of electrical energy of structurally disclosed Finkel et al. and Gartstein et al. for the purpose of comparing digital outputs of the electrical energy.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THEODORE L PERKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TERRANCE L KENERLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834