DETAILED ACTION
This is a Non-Final Action on the Merits. Claims 1-11 13-20, and 22-23 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments
The amendment filed on February 24th, 2026 has been considered and entered. Accordingly, claims 1 and 13 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
The previous objection of claim 1 has been overcome due to the applicant’s amendment.
The previous rejection of claims 1-11 13-20, and 22-23 under 35 USC 112(b) has been overcome due to the applicant’s amendments.
The applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-11 13-20, and 22-23 have been considered but are moot in view of the newly formulated grounds of rejections necessitated by the applicant’s amendments.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“generating … by a processing unit” in at least claim 1
The published specification provides corresponding structure for a processing unit in paragraph 72.
Contingent Limitations
Claims 1 and 13 contain conditional limitations:
Claim 1: “wherein the component that is moved by the weight shifting system is (1) translatable under a cabin of the vehicle and along a first axis that is parallel to the rear axle while the component is between the front axle and the rear axle of the vehicle, and (2) translatable under the cabin of the vehicle along a second axis that is non-parallel to the rear axle while the component is between the front axle and the rear axle of the vehicle”
Claim 13: “wherein the component that is moved by the weight shifting system is (1) translatable under a cabin of the vehicle and along a first axis that is parallel to the rear axle while the component is between the front axle and the rear axle of the vehicle, and (2) translatable under the cabin of the vehicle along a second axis that is non-parallel to the rear axle while the component is between the front axle and the rear axle of the vehicle”
With respect to conditional limitations in process claims, MPEP 2111.04 guides
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. For example, assume a method claim requires step A if a first condition happens and step B if a second condition happens. If the claimed invention may be practiced without either the first or second condition happening, then neither step A or B is required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim
As claims 1 and 13 are process claims, Ex Parte Schulhauser applies to limitations (1)-(2). See MPEP 2111.04, II “contingent claims” ("[i]f the condition for performing a contingent step is not satisfied, the performance recited by the step need not be carried out in order for the claimed method to be performed . . . [t]herefore "[t]he Examiner did not need to present evidence of the obviousness of the [ ] method steps of claim 1 that are not required to be performed under a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim (e.g., instances in which the electrocardiac signal data is not within the threshold electrocardiac criteria such that the condition precedent for the determining step and the remaining steps of claim 1 has not been met);").
For example, the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 1 does not require “wherein the component that is moved by the weight shifting system is (1) translatable under a cabin of the vehicle and along a first axis that is parallel to the rear axle” or “and (2) translatable under the cabin of the vehicle along a second axis that is non-parallel to the rear axle” since the conditional phrases “while” does not require that the determination is actually made (i.e., “while the component is between the front axle and the rear axle of the vehicle”; “while the component is between the front axle and the rear axle of the vehicle”; -- rather than that they are determined).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 9-10, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bar (US 20130041545 A1) (“Bar”) in view of Yamauchi (US 20120035786 A1) (“Yamauchi”) in view of Yoon (KR 19990040790 A) (“Yoon”) (Translation Attached) in view of Seo (US 20170050685 A1) (“Seo”) in view of Fulton (US 8083565 B1) (“Fulton”).
With respect to claim 1, Bar teaches a method of dynamically shifting a weight of a component of a vehicle that comprises a front axle and a rear axle, includes:
sensing a condition by a sensor during operation of the vehicle by a driver in the vehicle (See at least Bar Paragraph 21 “According to an advantageous feature of the present invention, the transverse acceleration may also be determined by using a signal from at least one sensor. This sensor may be, for example, an acceleration sensor (g-sensor) measuring the instantaneous transverse acceleration. Such sensors enable a particularly accurate measurement of the respective transverse acceleration.”)
generating a control signal, by a processing unit, after the sensor has sensed the condition and that the component of the vehicle is moved while the driver in the vehicle is operating the vehicle (See at least Bar Paragraph 14 “According to an advantageous feature of the present invention, the at least one actuator which causes a steering intervention in a steering system of the motor vehicle may be adjusted so as to that at least partially compensate a yaw movement of the motor vehicle caused by the adjustment of the at least one actuator of the active suspension system. Adjusting the at least one actuator at step c) may affect not only the rolling performance, but also the cornering performance of the motor vehicle. Adjustment of the at least one actuator which causes the intervention in the steering system may at least partially, more particularly completely, affect the cornering performance”).
Bar fails to explicitly disclose moving, by a weight shifting system, the component of the vehicle based on the control signal received from the processing unit, wherein the weight shifting system comprises a positioner motor, and wherein the component that is moved by the weight shifting system is (1) translatable under a cabin of the vehicle and along a first axis that is parallel to the rear axle while the component is between the front axle and the rear axle of the vehicle, and (2) translatable under the cabin of the vehicle along a second axis that is non-parallel to the rear axle while the component is between the front axle and the rear axle of the vehicle; wherein the component of the vehicle is moved by a distance that is sufficient to change a center of mass of the vehicle by at least 6 inches while the driver in the vehicle is operating the vehicle.
Yamauchi teaches sensing a condition by a sensor during operation of the vehicle; generating a control signal, by a processing unit, after the sensor has sensed the condition (See at least Yamauchi FIG. 2 and Paragraph 31 “At step 320, the vehicle determines the present speed of the vehicle. The speed of the vehicle may be determined based on a global positioning system, a speedometer, or any other manner of measuring speed known in the art”);
and moving, by a weight shifting system, the component of the vehicle based on the control signal received from the processing unit wherein the weight shifting system comprises a positioner motor (See at least Yamauchi Paragraphs 30-32 “FIG. 3 illustrates a process 300 for operating weight shifting system such as the system 100 of FIG. 1 in an unmanned ground vehicle, including certain aspects of the present teachings. At step 310, the vehicle determines a present location of the vehicle … At step 320, the vehicle determines the present speed of the vehicle. The speed of the vehicle may be determined based on a global positioning system, a speedometer, or any other manner of measuring speed known in the art … At step 350, the vehicle controls a weight shifting system of the vehicle to relocate a weight movably attached to the weight shifting system based on at least one of the present location of the vehicle, the present speed of the vehicle, the present turn angle of the vehicle, and the planned turn angle of the vehicle at the planned location of the vehicle.”);
wherein the component of the vehicle is moved by a distance that is sufficient to change a center of mass of the vehicle (See at least Yamauchi Paragraph 4 “The present teachings provide a system to shift a center of gravity of an unmanned ground vehicle” | Paragraph 19-20 “Weight shifting system 100 further includes a shaft element 122 attached to toothed belts 118 and 120 to circulate the toothed belts 118 and 120 (e.g., via gears on each side of the shaft that engage the teeth of the belts), and shaft motor 124 connected to shaft elements 122 for rotating shaft element 122. When rotated, shaft element 122 rotates to circulate toothed belts 118 and 120 to move sliding couplers 110 and 112 along guide members 102 and 104, respectively, and thus move support guide 150 along the frame. Support guide 150 further includes slidable weight 152, a toothed belt 154, a pinion 153 attached to weight 152 and configured to move along toothed belt 154, and a support motor 156 to drive (i.e., rotate) pinion 153. Weight 152 may be any physical element providing enough weight to cause a shift in the center of gravity of the vehicle when relocated from one location of the weight shifting system to another”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bar to include moving, by a weight shifting system, the component of the vehicle based on the control signal received from the processing unit wherein the weight shifting system comprises a positioner motor and wherein the component of the vehicle is moved by a distance that is sufficient to change a center of mass of the vehicle, as taught by Yamauchi as disclosed above, such that the component is moved while the driver in the vehicle is operating the vehicle, in order to ensure safe and efficient movement of the vehicle (Yamauchi Paragraph 7 “The present teachings further provide a method to shift a center of gravity of an unmanned ground vehicle”).
Bar in view of Yamauchi, however, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the component that is moved by the weight shifting system is (1) translatable under a cabin of the vehicle and along a first axis that is parallel to the rear axle while the component is between the front axle and the rear axle of the vehicle, and (2) translatable under the cabin of the vehicle along a second axis that is non-parallel to the rear axle while the component is between the front axle and the rear axle of the vehicle; wherein the component of the vehicle is moved by a distance that is sufficient to change a center of mass of the vehicle by at least 6 inches while the driver in the vehicle is operating the vehicle.
Yoon teaches wherein the component that is moved by the weight shifting system is (1) translatable under a cabin of the vehicle and along a first axis that is parallel to the rear axle and (2) translatable under the cabin of the vehicle along a second axis that is non-parallel to the rear axle while the component is between the front axle and the rear axle of the vehicle (See at least Yoon FIGS 1-2 and Paragraphs 28-30 “The control unit 50 to which the present invention is applied calculates the center of gravity of the vehicle according to the set logic by inputting a signal from each of the pressure sensors 52, 54, 56, and 58 installed under the seat and controlling the calculated result according to the calculated result. By outputting a signal to control each motor 30, the corresponding weight 20 is moved linearly in the corresponding sharp so as to distribute the weight of the vehicle. In particular, the weight 20 of each weight 20 coupled to the front and rear wheels of the vehicle and the weight 20 of the wheelbase 14 installed in the longitudinal direction of the vehicle is positioned by the control signal of the control unit 50. The positions of the weights 20 which are determined and controlled and adjusted are distributed to distribute the weight of the vehicle to an optimal state to ensure driving stability. In addition, the weight 20 is coupled to the motor 30 to drive the rotary gear 32 therein, the driven rotary gear 32 is rotated along the engaged shaft 10 by the combined weight ( 20) slides on the shaft 10 to determine and fix the position.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bar in view of Yamauchi to include that the component that is moved by the weight shifting system is (1) translatable under a cabin of the vehicle and along a first axis that is parallel to the rear axle and (2) translatable under the cabin of the vehicle along a second axis that is non-parallel to the rear axle while the component is between the front axle and the rear axle of the vehicle, as taught by Yoon as disclosed above, in order to ensure safe component movement to adjust the center of mass (Yoon “Accordingly, the present invention has been made in order to solve the problems described above, when the center of gravity of the vehicle is biased by the lifted passengers, a plurality of weights having a predetermined weight automatically changes the position of the vehicle It is an object of the present invention to provide an automatic weight control device for a vehicle that ensures stable running by dispersing it evenly so that the center of gravity is not biased”).
Bar in view of Yamauchi in view of Yoon, however, fails to explicitly disclose that the component that is moved by the weight shifting system is (1) translatable under a cabin of the vehicle and along a first axis that is parallel to the rear axle while the component is between the front axle and the rear axle of the vehicle.
Seo teaches that the component that is moved by the weight shifting system is (1) translatable under a cabin of the vehicle and along a first axis that is parallel to the rear axle while the component is between the front axle and the rear axle of the vehicle (See at least Seo FIGS. 1 and 5A-5B and Paragraphs 41-42 “The balance control apparatuses 10 and 20 include a battery pack 10 supplying power to the vehicle 1 and a frame module 20 on which the battery pack 10 is installed. In particular, the battery pack 10 and the frame module 20 are referred to individually or collectively as a “balance control apparatus” or “balance controlled apparatuses,” respectively. The battery pack 10 is movably installed on the frame module 20. The battery pack 10 moves to control the center of gravity of the vehicle based on a value measured by the load sensor. According to one embodiment, the balance control apparatuses 10 and 20 may be installed on a rear floor 5 of the vehicle to control centers of gravity of the left and right sides of the vehicle. The rear floor 5 forms a bottom surface of a rear side of the vehicle 1. The balance control apparatuses 10 and 20 can be disposed lengthwise so as to extend between the left and right sides of the vehicle. The balance control apparatuses 10 and 20 preferably are bolted to the rear floor 5 by a four point type and fixed. The balance control apparatuses 10 and 20 can be installed at a reinforced position of the rear floor 5 to prevent a watertight problem from occurring.” | Paragraphs 60-61 “Here, referring to FIG. 5A, if the center of gravity is present at the left of the vehicle 1 at the position of the battery pack 10, the battery pack 10 moves to the right side so that the center of gravity of the vehicle 1 is generated at the center, thereby preventing the center of gravity from leaning to one side. Similarly, referring to FIG. 5B, if the center of gravity is present at the right of the vehicle 1 at the position of the battery pack 10, the battery pack 10 moves to the left side so that the center of gravity of the vehicle 1 is generated at the center, thereby preventing the center of gravity from leaning to one side.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bar in view of Yamauchi in view of Yoon to include that the component that is moved by the weight shifting system is (1) translatable under a cabin of the vehicle and along a first axis that is parallel to the rear axle while the component is between the front axle and the rear axle of the vehicle, as taught by Seo as disclosed above, in order to ensure safe vehicle movement based on the weight of the vehicle changing (Seo Paragraph 10 “An aspect of the present invention provides a balancing apparatus of a vehicle and a control method thereof capable of improving driving stability and convenience by constantly maintaining a left and right balance while the vehicle is driven.”).
Bar in view of Yamauchi in view of Yoon in view of Seo, however, fails to explicitly moving the center of mass of the vehicle by at least 6 inches
Fulton however, teaches a moving a vehicle’s center of mass by a set amount (See at least Fulton Col. 2 lines 22-36 “According to another aspect of the present invention, the invention includes a method for adjusting the center of gravity of a model race car. This method includes the steps of selecting a desired center of gravity location for the race car; determining a distance between the desired center of gravity and the car's rear axle; weighing the race car, measuring the wheelbase, or the distance between the front and rear axles; placing the rear wheels on a stand; placing the front wheels on a scale to measure afront axle weight, calculating the distance between the car's center of gravity and the rear axle by multiplying the wheelbase by the measured front axle weight to get a first value and dividing the first value by the cars weight; and moving an adjustable weight on the chassis until the actual distance between the center of gravity and the rear axle is approximately equal to the desired distance between the center of gravity and the rear axle.”).
As discussed by Fulton, the ability to quickly and easily balancing vehicle weight distribution while travelling is well known in the vehicle weight control art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to try, by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made, to pick moving the center of mass of the vehicle by at least 6 inches and incorporate it into the system of Bar in view of Yamauchi in view of Yoon in view of Seo since there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions (i.e. balancing vehicle weight distribution while travelling) to the recognized need and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to ensure a vehicle’s safety with respect to weight distribution based on changing conditions when travelling and preforming maneuvers that are affected by a vehicle’s weight distribution (i.e. turning, braking, accelerating, etc.). Furthermore, where the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement, the particular arrangement is deemed to have a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555, 188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
With respect to claim 3, Bar in view of Yamauchi in view of Yoon in view of Seo in view of Fulton teach that the component of the vehicle is moved by the weight shifting system by a set amount (See at least Fulton Col. 2 lines 22-36 “According to another aspect of the present invention, the invention includes a method for adjusting the center of gravity of a model race car. This method includes the steps of selecting a desired center of gravity location for the race car; determining a distance between the desired center of gravity and the car's rear axle; weighing the race car, measuring the wheelbase, or the distance between the front and rear axles; placing the rear wheels on a stand; placing the front wheels on a scale to measure afront axle weight, calculating the distance between the car's center of gravity and the rear axle by multiplying the wheelbase by the measured front axle weight to get a first value and dividing the first value by the cars weight; and moving an adjustable weight on the chassis until the actual distance between the center of gravity and the rear axle is approximately equal to the desired distance between the center of gravity and the rear axle.”).
As discussed by Fulton, the ability to quickly and easily balancing vehicle weight distribution while travelling is well known in the vehicle weight control art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to try, by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made, to pick moving the center of mass of the vehicle by at least 12 inches and incorporate it into the system of Bar in view of Yamauchi in view of Yoon in view of Seo since there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions (i.e. balancing vehicle weight distribution while travelling) to the recognized need and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to ensure a vehicle’s safety with respect to weight distribution based on changing conditions when travelling and preforming maneuvers that are affected by a vehicle’s weight distribution (i.e. turning, braking, accelerating, etc.). Furthermore, where the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement, the particular arrangement is deemed to have a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555, 188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
With respect to claim 4, Bar in view of Yamauchi in view of Yoon in view of Seo in view of Fulton teach the component of the vehicle is moved by the weight shifting system by a distance that is sufficient to change a driving characteristic of the vehicle (See at least Yamauchi Paragraph 23 “In operation, weight shifting system 100 can be implemented in a vehicle as an added feature to an existing vehicle or can be built into the vehicle. The weight shifting system preferable operates in a horizontal plane of the vehicle as shown in FIG. 4. When the vehicle needs to shift its center of gravity, for example to counteract oversteer or understeer or prevent rollover, the vehicle can control weight shifting system 100 to move weight element 152 to a desired location longitudinally and laterally along shifting system 100's rectangular frame”).
With respect to claim 5, Bar in view of Yamauchi in view of Yoon in view of Seo in view of Fulton teach the component comprises a battery for powering a motor of the vehicle, and wherein the battery is moved by the weight shifting system based on the control signal (See at least Yamauchi Paragraph 20 “The physical element preferably comprises an element with a second purpose in the vehicle, such as a battery to power one or more components of the vehicle,” | Paragraph 40 “ The CPU processes the environment data, as well as any control data (e.g., desired speed and direction based on either manual control through an OCU or a planned path) to determine if a shift of the vehicle's center of gravity is required. If a shift is required, the vehicle CPU can control the weight shifting system to move a weight 452 to a desired location along the vehicle. Relocation of weight 452 causes the center of gravity of the vehicle to shift to reduce/minimize oversteering, understeering, and/or a vehicle's rollover tendency”).
With respect to claim 6, Bar in view of Yamauchi in view of Yoon in view of Seo in view of Fulton teach that the battery is configured to power a motor of the vehicle, and wherein the battery is moved by the weight shifting system while the battery is electrically coupled to the motor of the vehicle (See at least Yamauchi Paragraph 20 “The physical element preferably comprises an element with a second purpose in the vehicle, such as a battery to power one or more components of the vehicle,” | Paragraph 40 “ The CPU processes the environment data, as well as any control data (e.g., desired speed and direction based on either manual control through an OCU or a planned path) to determine if a shift of the vehicle's center of gravity is required. If a shift is required, the vehicle CPU can control the weight shifting system to move a weight 452 to a desired location along the vehicle. Relocation of weight 452 causes the center of gravity of the vehicle to shift to reduce/minimize oversteering, understeering, and/or a vehicle's rollover tendency”).
With respect to claim 7, Bar in view of Yamauchi in view of Yoon in view of Seo in view of Fulton teach that the sensor is configured to sense an acceleration of the vehicle, and the control signal is generated by the processing unit to operate the weight shifting system based on the sensed acceleration of the vehicle (See at least Yamauchi Paragraphs 30-32 “FIG. 3 illustrates a process 300 for operating weight shifting system such as the system 100 of FIG. 1 in an unmanned ground vehicle, including certain aspects of the present teachings. At step 310, the vehicle determines a present location of the vehicle … At step 320, the vehicle determines the present speed of the vehicle. The speed of the vehicle may be determined based on a global positioning system, a speedometer, or any other manner of measuring speed known in the art … At step 350, the vehicle controls a weight shifting system of the vehicle to relocate a weight movably attached to the weight shifting system based on at least one of the present location of the vehicle, the present speed of the vehicle, the present turn angle of the vehicle, and the planned turn angle of the vehicle at the planned location of the vehicle.”) (See at least Bar Paragraph 36 “The roll angle a is adjusted by acquiring with the control device 22 signals from the sensor 32 and determining with the control device 22 the transverse acceleration from these signals. Depending on the respective value of the transverse acceleration, the control device 22 now determines a suitable transverse tilt with the roll angle a and a suitable superimposed steering angle Δb. The transverse tilt is adjusted by transmitting signals from the control device 22 to the ABC control device 20, wherein the latter controls the corresponding lift of the individual vertical actuators 18 a to 18 d. The superimposed steering angle is adjusted by transmitting corresponding signals from the control device 32 to the steering actuator 28 which intervenes in the steering system 26 so as to define a particular steering angle for the wheels 16 a and 16 b.”).
With respect to claim 8, Bar in view of Yamauchi in view of Yoon in view of Seo in view of Fulton teach that the sensor is configured to sense a deceleration of the vehicle, and the control signal is generated by the processing unit to operate the weight shifting system based on the sensed deceleration of the vehicle (See at least Yamauchi Paragraphs 30-32 “FIG. 3 illustrates a process 300 for operating weight shifting system such as the system 100 of FIG. 1 in an unmanned ground vehicle, including certain aspects of the present teachings. At step 310, the vehicle determines a present location of the vehicle … At step 320, the vehicle determines the present speed of the vehicle. The speed of the vehicle may be determined based on a global positioning system, a speedometer, or any other manner of measuring speed known in the art … At step 350, the vehicle controls a weight shifting system of the vehicle to relocate a weight movably attached to the weight shifting system based on at least one of the present location of the vehicle, the present speed of the vehicle, the present turn angle of the vehicle, and the planned turn angle of the vehicle at the planned location of the vehicle.”) (See at least Bar Paragraph 36 “The roll angle a is adjusted by acquiring with the control device 22 signals from the sensor 32 and determining with the control device 22 the transverse acceleration from these signals. Depending on the respective value of the transverse acceleration, the control device 22 now determines a suitable transverse tilt with the roll angle a and a suitable superimposed steering angle Δb. The transverse tilt is adjusted by transmitting signals from the control device 22 to the ABC control device 20, wherein the latter controls the corresponding lift of the individual vertical actuators 18 a to 18 d. The superimposed steering angle is adjusted by transmitting corresponding signals from the control device 32 to the steering actuator 28 which intervenes in the steering system 26 so as to define a particular steering angle for the wheels 16 a and 16 b.”).
With respect to claim 9, Bar in view of Yamauchi in view of Yoon in view of Seo in view of Fulton teach the sensor is configured to sense a turning of the vehicle, and the control signal is generated by the processing unit to operate the weight shifting system based on the sensed turning of the vehicle (See at least Yamauchi Paragraphs 30-32 “FIG. 3 illustrates a process 300 for operating weight shifting system such as the system 100 of FIG. 1 in an unmanned ground vehicle, including certain aspects of the present teachings. At step 310, the vehicle determines a present location of the vehicle … At step 320, the vehicle determines the present speed of the vehicle. The speed of the vehicle may be determined based on a global positioning system, a speedometer, or any other manner of measuring speed known in the art … At step 350, the vehicle controls a weight shifting system of the vehicle to relocate a weight movably attached to the weight shifting system based on at least one of the present location of the vehicle, the present speed of the vehicle, the present turn angle of the vehicle, and the planned turn angle of the vehicle at the planned location of the vehicle.”);
With respect to claim 10, Bar in view of Yamauchi in view of Yoon in view of Seo in view of Fulton teach the act of moving the component comprises translating the component of the vehicle along a trajectory that is parallel to a longitudinal axis of the vehicle (See at least Yamauchi Paragraph 17 “FIG. 1 illustrates an exemplary embodiment of a weight shifting system 100, including certain aspects of the present teachings. Weight shifting system 100 includes a rectangular frame comprising guides 102 and 104 extending longitudinally between frame supports 106 and 108. Weight shifting system 100 further includes a support guide 150 which extends laterally from guide 102 to guide 104, perpendicular to guides 102 and 104. Support guide 150 includes sliding couplers 110 and 112 that slide along guides 102 and 104, respectively”).
With respect to claim 16, Bar in view of Yamauchi in view of Yoon in view of Seo in view of Fulton teach that the component is coupled to a first straight gear rack (See at least Yamauchi Paragraph 18 “Weight shifting system 100 further includes toothed belts 118 and 120 running under and parallel to guides 102 and 104, respectively, and attached to a circular drive gears 105 and 107, respectively, at frame support 108. Toothed belts 118 and 120 can be, for example, fixedly attached to sliding couplers 110 and 112, respectively, so that circulating toothed belts 118 and 120 through the circular gears 105 and 107 can cause sliding couplers 110 and 112 to slide along guides 102 and 104, respectively” | Paragraph 27 “The embodiment of FIG. 1 is intended to be exemplary, and it would be apparent to one skilled in the art that certain aspects of the present teachings may be implemented in a plurality of ways. For example, sliding couplers 110 and 112 and support guide 150 may move along guides 102 and 104 in a variety of ways, including a rack and pinion system in which a motor resides at one or both of the sliding couplers and drives a circular pinion to engage the teeth of a linear gear parallel to, or along guides 102 and 104. Also, weight element 152 may move along support guide 150 in a variety of ways, including a motor attached to one of the couplers to drive a circular gear coupled to a toothed belt attached to weight 152. Circulating the toothed belt would move weight 152 along support guide 15”).
With respect to claim 17, Bar in view of Yamauchi in view of Yoon in view of Seo in view of Fulton teach that the act of moving the component comprises operating a first pinion that is operatively and moveably coupled to the first straight gear rack (See at least Yamauchi Paragraph 18 “Weight shifting system 100 further includes toothed belts 118 and 120 running under and parallel to guides 102 and 104, respectively, and attached to a circular drive gears 105 and 107, respectively, at frame support 108. Toothed belts 118 and 120 can be, for example, fixedly attached to sliding couplers 110 and 112, respectively, so that circulating toothed belts 118 and 120 through the circular gears 105 and 107 can cause sliding couplers 110 and 112 to slide along guides 102 and 104, respectively” | Paragraph 27 “The embodiment of FIG. 1 is intended to be exemplary, and it would be apparent to one skilled in the art that certain aspects of the present teachings may be implemented in a plurality of ways. For example, sliding couplers 110 and 112 and support guide 150 may move along guides 102 and 104 in a variety of ways, including a rack and pinion system in which a motor resides at one or both of the sliding couplers and drives a circular pinion to engage the teeth of a linear gear parallel to, or along guides 102 and 104. Also, weight element 152 may move along support guide 150 in a variety of ways, including a motor attached to one of the couplers to drive a circular gear coupled to a toothed belt attached to weight 152. Circulating the toothed belt would move weight 152 along support guide 15”).
With respect to claim 18, Bar in view of Yamauchi in view of Yoon in view of Seo in view of Fulton teach that the component is coupled to a second straight gear rack (See at least Yamauchi Paragraph 18 “Weight shifting system 100 further includes toothed belts 118 and 120 running under and parallel to guides 102 and 104, respectively, and attached to a circular drive gears 105 and 107, respectively, at frame support 108. Toothed belts 118 and 120 can be, for example, fixedly attached to sliding couplers 110 and 112, respectively, so that circulating toothed belts 118 and 120 through the circular gears 105 and 107 can cause sliding couplers 110 and 112 to slide along guides 102 and 104, respectively” | Paragraph 27 “The embodiment of FIG. 1 is intended to be exemplary, and it would be apparent to one skilled in the art that certain aspects of the present teachings may be implemented in a plurality of ways. For example, sliding couplers 110 and 112 and support guide 150 may move along guides 102 and 104 in a variety of ways, including a rack and pinion system in which a motor resides at one or both of the sliding couplers and drives a circular pinion to engage the teeth of a linear gear parallel to, or along guides 102 and 104. Also, weight element 152 may move along support guide 150 in a variety of ways, including a motor attached to one of the couplers to drive a circular gear coupled to a toothed belt attached to weight 152. Circulating the toothed belt would move weight 152 along support guide 15”).
With respect to claim 19, Bar in view of Yamauchi in view of Yoon in view of Seo in view of Fulton teach that the act of moving the component comprises operating a first pinion that is operatively and moveably coupled to the first straight gear rack, and/or operating a second pinion that is operatively and moveably coupled to the second straight gear rack (See at least Yamauchi Paragraph 18 “Weight shifting system 100 further includes toothed belts 118 and 120 running under and parallel to guides 102 and 104, respectively, and attached to a circular drive gears 105 and 107, respectively, at frame support 108. Toothed belts 118 and 120 can be, for example, fixedly attached to sliding couplers 110 and 112, respectively, so that circulating toothed belts 118 and 120 through the circular gears 105 and 107 can cause sliding couplers 110 and 112 to slide along guides 102 and 104, respectively” | Paragraph 27 “The embodiment of FIG. 1 is intended to be exemplary, and it would be apparent to one skilled in the art that certain aspects of the present teachings may be implemented in a plurality of ways. For example, sliding couplers 110 and 112 and support guide 150 may move along guides 102 and 104 in a variety of ways, including a rack and pinion system in which a motor resides at one or both of the sliding couplers and drives a circular pinion to engage the teeth of a linear gear parallel to, or along guides 102 and 104. Also, weight element 152 may move along support guide 150 in a variety of ways, including a motor attached to one of the couplers to drive a circular gear coupled to a toothed belt attached to weight 152. Circulating the toothed belt would move weight 152 along support guide 15”).
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bar (US 20130041545 A1) (“Bar”) Yamauchi (US 20120035786 A1) (“Yamauchi”) in view of Yoon (KR 19990040790 A) (“Yoon”) (Translation Attached) in view of Seo (US 20170050685 A1) (“Seo”) in view of Fulton (US 8083565 B1) (“Fulton”) further in view of Boro (US 20240102450 A1) (“Boro”).
With respect to claim 2, Bar in view of Yamauchi in view of Yoon in view of Seo in view of Fulton fail to explicitly disclose that the weight of the component is at least 50lbs.
Boro teaches using a weight component of varying size (See at least Boro Paragraph 10 “The weight may be a counterweight. The weight may be of a solid material. The weight may be a heavy metal weight, or made from another material with relatively high density, such as a density of more than 5 g/cm3. The weight may e.g. be a steel weight” | Paragraph 13 “The apparatus comprises a plurality of weights, such as two, three, four or even more than four weights, that may be configured to be movably connected to one or more drive systems. The apparatus may comprise a plurality of drive systems. There may be one drive system per weight, or one or more drive systems may be configured to receive more than one weight”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bar in view of Yamauchi in view of Yoon in view of Seo in view of Fulton to include using a weight component of varying size, as taught by Boro as disclosed above, such that the weight of the component is at least 50lbs, in order to ensure vehicle stability (Boro Paragraph 2 “The current invention relates to an apparatus for and a method of balancing a travelling car for installation of at least a part of a wind turbine.”).
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bar (US 20130041545 A1) (“Bar”) in view of Yamauchi (US 20120035786 A1) (“Yamauchi”) in view of Yoon (KR 19990040790 A) (“Yoon”) (Translation Attached) in view of Seo (US 20170050685 A1) (“Seo”) in view of Fulton (US 8083565 B1) (“Fulton”) further in view of Tilbor (US 20040198170 A1) (“Tilbor”).
With respect to claim 11, Bar in view of Yamauchi in view of Yoon in view of Seo in view of Fulton teach that the component of the vehicle can be moved in rearward direction based on the speed of the vehicle (See at least Yamauchi Paragraphs 30-32 “FIG. 3 illustrates a process 300 for operating weight shifting system such as the system 100 of FIG. 1 in an unmanned ground vehicle, including certain aspects of the present teachings. At step 310, the vehicle determines a present location of the vehicle … At step 320, the vehicle determines the present speed of the vehicle. The speed of the vehicle may be determined based on a global positioning system, a speedometer, or any other manner of measuring speed known in the art … At step 350, the vehicle controls a weight shifting system of the vehicle to relocate a weight movably attached to the weight shifting system based on at least one of the present location of the vehicle, the present speed of the vehicle, the present turn angle of the vehicle, and the planned turn angle of the vehicle at the planned location of the vehicle”).
Bar in view of Yamauchi in view of Yoon in view of Seo in view of Fulton fail to explicitly disclose that the component of the vehicle is moved in a rearward direction during or before an acceleration of the vehicle and/or is moved in a forward direction during or before a deceleration of the vehicle.
Tilbor teaches adjusting the front and rear weight distribution of a vehicle based on the movement of the vehicle and/or is moved in a forward direction during or before a deceleration of the vehicle (Tilbor Paragraph 32 “The dynamic transformation capability of vehicle 10 increases the driving, stunt and over versatility of the toy and allows the user to vary the vehicle's wheelbase, center of gravity (cog), front/rear weight distribution, ground clearance, attitude (i.e., angle to ground plane) and the suspension travel depending on the particular driving conditions”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the method of Bar in view of Yamauchi in view of Yoon in view of Seo in view of Fulton to include adjusting the front and rear weight distribution of a vehicle based on the movement of the vehicle and/or is moved in a forward direction during or before a deceleration of the vehicle, as taught Tilbor as disclosed above, such that the component of the vehicle is moved in a rearward direction during or before an acceleration of the vehicle, in order to ensure stability of the vehicle (Tilbor Paragraph 35 “he combination of these dynamic vehicle changes inherently increases the overall stability of the vehicle and enhances high speed handling and operation on high traction and/or smooth surfaces”).
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamauchi (US 20120035786 A1) (“Yamauchi”) in view of Bar (US 20130041545 A1) (“Bar”) in view of Alshaalan (US 202104031034 A1) (“Alshaalan”) in view of Yoon (KR 19990040790 A) (“Yoon”) (Translation Attached) in view of Seo (US 20170050685 A1) (“Seo”).
With respect to claim 13, Yamauchi teaches a method of dynamically shifting a weight of a component of a vehicle that comprises a front axle and a rear axle, includes:
sensing a condition by a sensor during operation of the vehicle; generating a control signal, by a processing unit, after the sensor has sensed the condition (See at least Yamauchi FIG. 2 and Paragraph 31 “At step 320, the vehicle determines the present speed of the vehicle. The speed of the vehicle may be determined based on a global positioning system, a speedometer, or any other manner of measuring speed known in the art”);
and moving, by a weight shifting system, the component of the vehicle based on the control signal received from the processing unit wherein the weight shifting system comprises a positioner motor (See at least Yamauchi Paragraphs 30-32 “FIG. 3 illustrates a process 300 for operating weight shifting system such as the system 100 of FIG. 1 in an unmanned ground vehicle, including certain aspects of the present teachings. At step 310, the vehicle determines a present location of the vehicle … At step 320, the vehicle determines the present speed of the vehicle. The speed of the vehicle may be determined based on a global positioning system, a speedometer, or any other manner of measuring speed known in the art … At step 350, the vehicle controls a weight shifting system of the vehicle to relocate a weight movably attached to the weight shifting system based on at least one of the present location of the vehicle, the present speed of the vehicle, the present turn angle of the vehicle, and the planned turn angle of the vehicle at the planned location of the vehicle.”);
wherein the component of the vehicle is moved by a distance that is sufficient to change a center of mass of the vehicle (See at least Yamauchi Paragraph 4 “The present teachings provide a system to shift a center of gravity of an unmanned ground vehicle” | Paragraph 19-20 “Weight shifting system 100 further includes a shaft element 122 attached to toothed belts 118 and 120 to circulate the toothed belts 118 and 120 (e.g., via gears on each side of the shaft that engage the teeth of the belts), and shaft motor 124 connected to shaft elements 122 for rotating shaft element 122. When rotated, shaft element 122 rotates to circulate toothed belts 118 and 120 to move sliding couplers 110 and 112 along guide members 102 and 104, respectively, and thus move support guide 150 along the frame. Support guide 150 further includes slidable weight 152, a toothed belt 154, a pinion 153 attached to weight 152 and configured to move along toothed belt 154, and a support motor 156 to drive (i.e., rotate) pinion 153. Weight 152 may be any physical element providing enough weight to cause a shift in the center of gravity of the vehicle when relocated from one location of the weight shifting system to another”).
Yamauchi fails to explicitly disclose sensing a condition by a sensor during operation of the vehicle by a driver in the vehicle and generating an output signal1 by a user control in the vehicle, wherein the act of sensing the condition comprises sensing the output signal during the operation of the vehicle by the driver in the vehicle and wherein the user control is implemented in the vehicle as a part of the weight shifting system for the vehicle, and is configured to generate the output signal in response toa user input provisioned by the driver in the vehicle; and wherein the component that is moved by the weight shifting system is (1) translatable under a cabin of the vehicle and along a first axis that is parallel to the rear axle while the component is between the front axle and the rear axle of the vehicle, and (2) translatable under the cabin of the vehicle along a second axis that is non-parallel to the rear axle while the component is between the front axle and the rear axle of the vehicle.
Bar teaches sensing a condition by a sensor during operation of the vehicle by a driver in the vehicle (See at least Bar Paragraph 21 “According to an advantageous feature of the present invention, the transverse acceleration may also be determined by using a signal from at least one sensor. This sensor may be, for example, an acceleration sensor (g-sensor) measuring the instantaneous transverse acceleration. Such sensors enable a particularly accurate measurement of the respective transverse acceleration.”)
and generating an output signal2 by a user control in the vehicle (See at least Bar Paragraph 14 “According to an advantageous feature of the present invention, the at least one actuator which causes a steering intervention in a steering system of the motor vehicle may be adjusted so as to that at least partially compensate a yaw movement of the motor vehicle caused by the adjustment of the at least one actuator of the active suspension system. Adjusting the at least one actuator at step c) may affect not only the rolling performance, but also the cornering performance of the motor vehicle. Adjustment of the at least one actuator which causes the intervention in the steering system may at least partially, more particularly completely, affect the cornering performance”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Yamauchi to include disclose sensing a condition by a sensor during operation of the vehicle by a driver in the vehicle and generating an output signal by a user control in the vehicle, as taught by Bar as disclosed above, such that the component of the vehicle is moved by a distance that is sufficient to change a center of mass of the vehicle by at least 6 inches while the driver in the vehicle is operating the vehicle, in order to ensure safe vehicle travel (Bar Paragraph 2 “The present invention relates to a method and an apparatus for affecting the cornering performance off a motor vehicle. The invention also relates to a motor vehicle with such an apparatus”).
Yamauchi in view of Bar fail to explicitly disclose, generating an output signal3 by a user control in the vehicle, wherein the act of sensing the condition comprises sensing the output signal during the operation of the vehicle by the driver in the vehicle and wherein the user control is implemented in the vehicle as a part of the weight shifting system for the vehicle, and is configured to generate the output signal in response to a user input provisioned by the driver in the vehicle; wherein the component that is moved by the weight shifting system is (1) translatable under a cabin of the vehicle and along a first axis that is parallel to the rear axle while the component is between the front axle and the rear axle of the vehicle, and (2) translatable under the cabin of the vehicle along a second axis that is non-parallel to the rear axle while the component is between the front axle and the rear axle of the vehicle.
Alshaalan teaches generating an output signal4 by a user control in the vehicle, wherein the act of sensing the condition comprises sensing the output signal during the operation of the vehicle by the driver in the vehicle and wherein the user control is implemented in the vehicle as a part of the weight shifting system for the vehicle, and is configured to generate the output signal in response to a user input provisioned by the driver in the vehicle (See at least Alshaalan Paragraphs 36-39 “FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of an example of a forklift 100 including an example of a stability control system. The forklift 100 includes a load bearing portion 102 that is configured to carry a load. For example, the load bearing portion 102 includes forks mounted to a front end of the forklift 100 that can be raised or lowered (for example, hydraulically or pneumatically) to carry a load. The load carried by the load bearing portion 102 can induce a moment that can cause the forklift 100 to tip forward under the weight of the load. That is, the moment can cause the forklift 100 to rotate along a first vertical plane (FIG. 2, 204) perpendicular to the ground on which the forklift rests or is driven. To counter such tipping, the forklift 100 includes a counterweight 104 mounted on the forklift 100 along a longitudinal axis (FIG. 2, 202) of the forklift 100. In general, the counterweight 104 is a body having a weight sufficient to counter the tipping moment induced by the heaviest load that the load bearing portion 102 is configured to support. The location of the counterweight 104 on the forklift 100 is chosen based on the location of the center of mass 116 and the location of the tipping point 118 of the forklift 100. That is, as the load on the load bearing portion 102 increases, the location of the center of mass 116 moves towards the front end of the forklift 100 along the longitudinal axis. Such movement of the center of mass 116 induces a moment to cause the forklift 100 to rotate about the center of mass 116. The counterweight 104 counters such as rotation by inducing a counter moment in the opposite direction. Similarly, when the forklift 100 turns, the center of mass 116 is displaced transversely from the longitudinal axis. Such displacement induces a moment that can cause the forklift 100 to rotate along a second vertical plane (FIG. 2, 206) that is, perpendicular to the first vertical plane. That is, the moment can cause the forklift 100 to tip sideways. The counterweight 104 can counter such sideways rotation as well. In some implementations, the counterweight 104 is stationary relative to the forklift 100. That is, the position of the counterweight 104 on the forklift 100 does not change … In some implementations, the forklift 100 includes a controller 108 that is connected to the stability control system 106. The controller 108 can be a computer system that includes one or more processors and a computer-readable medium (for example, a non-transitory computer-readable medium) storing instructions executable by the one or more processors to perform operations described in this disclosure. Alternatively or in addition, the controller 108 can include processing circuitry, firmware, software, hardware or any combination of them. The controller 108 is configured to control extension and swinging of the stability control system 106 to counter the moments that cause the forklift 100 to tip, such moments being greater than moments that the counterweight 104 can counter.” | Paragraph 44 “In some implementations, the controller 108 is connected to the engine 122 mounted to the forklift 100 to provide to force to drive the forklift 100 and to the multiple wheels 120. Wheels 120 are coupled to the engine 122 to transport the forklift 100 under the motor force provided by the engine 122. Using these connections, the controller 108 can determine a speed of the forklift 100 and a direction in which the forklift 100 travels. The controller 108 can determine the moments described earlier using the speed and the direction of travel. For example, the controller 108 can use the value from the strain gauge (described earlier) and, through a linear relationship, determine an output to the moment on the extension mechanism 126. Knowing a length of the extension mechanism 126, the controller 108 can implement a formula of “Moment=Distance X Mass” to determine the mass producing the moment. The controller 108 can use the determined mass with the center of mass 116 to determine an actual center of mass (or offset center of mass) 210 (FIG. 3), as described later. Responsive to determining the location of the actual center of mass, the controller 108 can extend or retract the extension mechanism 126 to move the counterweight 124 so that the center of mass of the forklift 100 is re-centered.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Yamauchi in view of Bar to include generating an output signal5 by a user control in the vehicle, wherein the act of sensing the condition comprises sensing the output signal during the operation of the vehicle by the driver in the vehicle and wherein the user control is implemented in the vehicle as a part of the weight shifting system for the vehicle, and is configured to generate the output signal in response toa user input provisioned by the driver in the vehicle, as taught by Alshaalan as disclosed above, in order to ensure vehicle stability in response to output from a user input (Alshaalan Paragraph 33 “This disclosure describes a closed loop stability control system that senses a change in the center of mass of a load transport vehicle, for example, a forklift, and automatically adjusts the position of a counterweight on the vehicle to prevent tipping of the vehicle due to the change in the center of mass.”).
Yamauchi in view of Bar in view of Alshaalan, however, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the component that is moved by the weight shifting system is (1) translatable under a cabin of the vehicle and along a first axis that is parallel to the rear axle while the component is between the front axle and the rear axle of the vehicle, and (2) translatable under the cabin of the vehicle along a second axis that is non-parallel to the rear axle while the component is between the front axle and the rear axle of the vehicle.
Yoon teaches wherein the component that is moved by the weight shifting system is (1) translatable under a cabin of the vehicle and along a first axis that is parallel to the rear axle and (2) translatable under the cabin of the vehicle along a second axis that is non-parallel to the rear axle while the component is between the front axle and the rear axle of the vehicle (See at least Yoon FIGS 1-2 and Paragraphs 28-30 “The control unit 50 to which the present invention is applied calculates the center of gravity of the vehicle according to the set logic by inputting a signal from each of the pressure sensors 52, 54, 56, and 58 installed under the seat and controlling the calculated result according to the calculated result. By outputting a signal to control each motor 30, the corresponding weight 20 is moved linearly in the corresponding sharp so as to distribute the weight of the vehicle. In particular, the weight 20 of each weight 20 coupled to the front and rear wheels of the vehicle and the weight 20 of the wheelbase 14 installed in the longitudinal direction of the vehicle is positioned by the control signal of the control unit 50. The positions of the weights 20 which are determined and controlled and adjusted are distributed to distribute the weight of the vehicle to an optimal state to ensure driving stability. In addition, the weight 20 is coupled to the motor 30 to drive the rotary gear 32 therein, the driven rotary gear 32 is rotated along the engaged shaft 10 by the combined weight ( 20) slides on the shaft 10 to determine and fix the position.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Yamauchi in view of Bar in view of Alshaalan to include that the component that is moved by the weight shifting system is (1) translatable under a cabin of the vehicle and along a first axis that is parallel to the rear axle and (2) translatable under the cabin of the vehicle along a second axis that is non-parallel to the rear axle while the component is between the front axle and the rear axle of the vehicle, as taught by Yoon as disclosed above, in order to ensure safe component movement to adjust the center of mass (Yoon “Accordingly, the present invention has been made in order to solve the problems described above, when the center of gravity of the vehicle is biased by the lifted passengers, a plurality of weights having a predetermined weight automatically changes the position of the vehicle It is an object of the present invention to provide an automatic weight control device for a vehicle that ensures stable running by dispersing it evenly so that the center of gravity is not biased”).
Yamauchi in view of Bar in view of Alshaalan, however, fails to explicitly disclose that the component that is moved by the weight shifting system is (1) translatable under a cabin of the vehicle and along a first axis that is parallel to the rear axle while the component is between the front axle and the rear axle of the vehicle.
Seo teaches that the component that is moved by the weight shifting system is (1) translatable under a cabin of the vehicle and along a first axis that is parallel to the rear axle while the component is between the front axle and the rear axle of the vehicle (See at least Seo FIGS. 1 and 5A-5B and Paragraphs 41-42 “The balance control apparatuses 10 and 20 include a battery pack 10 supplying power to the vehicle 1 and a frame module 20 on which the battery pack 10 is installed. In particular, the battery pack 10 and the frame module 20 are referred to individually or collectively as a “balance control apparatus” or “balance controlled apparatuses,” respectively. The battery pack 10 is movably installed on the frame module 20. The battery pack 10 moves to control the center of gravity of the vehicle based on a value measured by the load sensor. According to one embodiment, the balance control apparatuses 10 and 20 may be installed on a rear floor 5 of the vehicle to control centers of gravity of the left and right sides of the vehicle. The rear floor 5 forms a bottom surface of a rear side of the vehicle 1. The balance control apparatuses 10 and 20 can be disposed lengthwise so as to extend between the left and right sides of the vehicle. The balance control apparatuses 10 and 20 preferably are bolted to the rear floor 5 by a four point type and fixed. The balance control apparatuses 10 and 20 can be installed at a reinforced position of the rear floor 5 to prevent a watertight problem from occurring.” | Paragraphs 60-61 “Here, referring to FIG. 5A, if the center of gravity is present at the left of the vehicle 1 at the position of the battery pack 10, the battery pack 10 moves to the right side so that the center of gravity of the vehicle 1 is generated at the center, thereby preventing the center of gravity from leaning to one side. Similarly, referring to FIG. 5B, if the center of gravity is present at the right of the vehicle 1 at the position of the battery pack 10, the battery pack 10 moves to the left side so that the center of gravity of the vehicle 1 is generated at the center, thereby preventing the center of gravity from leaning to one side.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Yamauchi in view of Bar in view of Alshaalan in view of Yoon to include that the component that is moved by the weight shifting system is (1) translatable under a cabin of the vehicle and along a first axis that is parallel to the rear axle while the component is between the front axle and the rear axle of the vehicle, as taught by Seo as disclosed above, in order to ensure safe vehicle movement based on the weight of the vehicle changing (Seo Paragraph 10 “An aspect of the present invention provides a balancing apparatus of a vehicle and a control method thereof capable of improving driving stability and convenience by constantly maintaining a left and right balance while the vehicle is driven.”).
With respect to claim 14, Yamauchi in view of Bar in view of Alshaalan in view of Yoon in view of Seo teach that the user control is operable to cause the weight shifting system to move the component of the vehicle in a first direction during a first mode of operation (See at least Alshaalan Paragraphs 36-39 “FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of an example of a forklift 100 including an example of a stability control system. The forklift 100 includes a load bearing portion 102 that is configured to carry a load. For example, the load bearing portion 102 includes forks mounted to a front end of the forklift 100 that can be raised or lowered (for example, hydraulically or pneumatically) to carry a load. The load carried by the load bearing portion 102 can induce a moment that can cause the forklift 100 to tip forward under the weight of the load. That is, the moment can cause the forklift 100 to rotate along a first vertical plane (FIG. 2, 204) perpendicular to the ground on which the forklift rests or is driven. To counter such tipping, the forklift 100 includes a counterweight 104 mounted on the forklift 100 along a longitudinal axis (FIG. 2, 202) of the forklift 100. In general, the counterweight 104 is a body having a weight sufficient to counter the tipping moment induced by the heaviest load that the load bearing portion 102 is configured to support. The location of the counterweight 104 on the forklift 100 is chosen based on the location of the center of mass 116 and the location of the tipping point 118 of the forklift 100. That is, as the load on the load bearing portion 102 increases, the location of the center of mass 116 moves towards the front end of the forklift 100 along the longitudinal axis. Such movement of the center of mass 116 induces a moment to cause the forklift 100 to rotate about the center of mass 116. The counterweight 104 counters such as rotation by inducing a counter moment in the opposite direction. Similarly, when the forklift 100 turns, the center of mass 116 is displaced transversely from the longitudinal axis. Such displacement induces a moment that can cause the forklift 100 to rotate along a second vertical plane (FIG. 2, 206) that is, perpendicular to the first vertical plane. That is, the moment can cause the forklift 100 to tip sideways. The counterweight 104 can counter such sideways rotation as well. In some implementations, the counterweight 104 is stationary relative to the forklift 100. That is, the position of the counterweight 104 on the forklift 100 does not change … In some implementations, the forklift 100 includes a controller 108 that is connected to the stability control system 106. The controller 108 can be a computer system that includes one or more processors and a computer-readable medium (for example, a non-transitory computer-readable medium) storing instructions executable by the one or more processors to perform operations described in this disclosure. Alternatively or in addition, the controller 108 can include processing circuitry, firmware, software, hardware or any combination of them. The controller 108 is configured to control extension and swinging of the stability control system 106 to counter the moments that cause the forklift 100 to tip, such moments being greater than moments that the counterweight 104 can counter.”).
With respect to claim 15, Yamauchi in view of Bar in view of Alshaalan in view of Yoon in view of Seo teach that the user control is operable to cause the weight shifting system to move the component of the vehicle in a second direction during a second mode of operation, the second direction being opposite from the first direction (See at least Alshaalan Paragraphs 36-39 “FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of an example of a forklift 100 including an example of a stability control system. The forklift 100 includes a load bearing portion 102 that is configured to carry a load. For example, the load bearing portion 102 includes forks mounted to a front end of the forklift 100 that can be raised or lowered (for example, hydraulically or pneumatically) to carry a load. The load carried by the load bearing portion 102 can induce a moment that can cause the forklift 100 to tip forward under the weight of the load. That is, the moment can cause the forklift 100 to rotate along a first vertical plane (FIG. 2, 204) perpendicular to the ground on which the forklift rests or is driven. To counter such tipping, the forklift 100 includes a counterweight 104 mounted on the forklift 100 along a longitudinal axis (FIG. 2, 202) of the forklift 100. In general, the counterweight 104 is a body having a weight sufficient to counter the tipping moment induced by the heaviest load that the load bearing portion 102 is configured to support. The location of the counterweight 104 on the forklift 100 is chosen based on the location of the center of mass 116 and the location of the tipping point 118 of the forklift 100. That is, as the load on the load bearing portion 102 increases, the location of the center of mass 116 moves towards the front end of the forklift 100 along the longitudinal axis. Such movement of the center of mass 116 induces a moment to cause the forklift 100 to rotate about the center of mass 116. The counterweight 104 counters such as rotation by inducing a counter moment in the opposite direction. Similarly, when the forklift 100 turns, the center of mass 116 is displaced transversely from the longitudinal axis. Such displacement induces a moment that can cause the forklift 100 to rotate along a second vertical plane (FIG. 2, 206) that is, perpendicular to the first vertical plane. That is, the moment can cause the forklift 100 to tip sideways. The counterweight 104 can counter such sideways rotation as well. In some implementations, the counterweight 104 is stationary relative to the forklift 100. That is, the position of the counterweight 104 on the forklift 100 does not change … In some implementations, the forklift 100 includes a controller 108 that is connected to the stability control system 106. The controller 108 can be a computer system that includes one or more processors and a computer-readable medium (for example, a non-transitory computer-readable medium) storing instructions executable by the one or more processors to perform operations described in this disclosure. Alternatively or in addition, the controller 108 can include processing circuitry, firmware, software, hardware or any combination of them. The controller 108 is configured to control extension and swinging of the stability control system 106 to counter the moments that cause the forklift 100 to tip, such moments being greater than moments that the counterweight 104 can counter.”).
Claims 20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bar (US 20130041545 A1) (“Bar”) in view of Yamauchi (US 20120035786 A1) (“Yamauchi”) in view of Yoon (KR 19990040790 A) (“Yoon”) (Translation Attached) in view of Seo (US 20170050685 A1) (“Seo”) in view of Fulton (US 8083565 B1) (“Fulton”) further in view of Alshaalan (US 202104031034 A1) (“Alshaalan”).
With respect to claim 20, Bar in view of Yamauchi in view of Yoon in view of Seo in view of Fulton fail to explicitly disclose that the sensor is configured to sense an operation of a foot pedal in the vehicle, and wherein the component of the vehicle is moved by the weight shifting system based on the control signal being indicative of the operation of the foot pedal.
Alshaalan teaches that the sensor is configured to sense an operation of a foot pedal in the vehicle, and wherein the component of the vehicle is moved by the weight shifting system based on the control signal being indicative of the operation of the foot pedal (See at least Alshaalan Paragraphs 36-39 “FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of an example of a forklift 100 including an example of a stability control system. The forklift 100 includes a load bearing portion 102 that is configured to carry a load. For example, the load bearing portion 102 includes forks mounted to a front end of the forklift 100 that can be raised or lowered (for example, hydraulically or pneumatically) to carry a load. The load carried by the load bearing portion 102 can induce a moment that can cause the forklift 100 to tip forward under the weight of the load. That is, the moment can cause the forklift 100 to rotate along a first vertical plane (FIG. 2, 204) perpendicular to the ground on which the forklift rests or is driven. To counter such tipping, the forklift 100 includes a counterweight 104 mounted on the forklift 100 along a longitudinal axis (FIG. 2, 202) of the forklift 100. In general, the counterweight 104 is a body having a weight sufficient to counter the tipping moment induced by the heaviest load that the load bearing portion 102 is configured to support. The location of the counterweight 104 on the forklift 100 is chosen based on the location of the center of mass 116 and the location of the tipping point 118 of the forklift 100. That is, as the load on the load bearing portion 102 increases, the location of the center of mass 116 moves towards the front end of the forklift 100 along the longitudinal axis. Such movement of the center of mass 116 induces a moment to cause the forklift 100 to rotate about the center of mass 116. The counterweight 104 counters such as rotation by inducing a counter moment in the opposite direction. Similarly, when the forklift 100 turns, the center of mass 116 is displaced transversely from the longitudinal axis. Such displacement induces a moment that can cause the forklift 100 to rotate along a second vertical plane (FIG. 2, 206) that is, perpendicular to the first vertical plane. That is, the moment can cause the forklift 100 to tip sideways. The counterweight 104 can counter such sideways rotation as well. In some implementations, the counterweight 104 is stationary relative to the forklift 100. That is, the position of the counterweight 104 on the forklift 100 does not change … In some implementations, the forklift 100 includes a controller 108 that is connected to the stability control system 106. The controller 108 can be a computer system that includes one or more processors and a computer-readable medium (for example, a non-transitory computer-readable medium) storing instructions executable by the one or more processors to perform operations described in this disclosure. Alternatively or in addition, the controller 108 can include processing circuitry, firmware, software, hardware or any combination of them. The controller 108 is configured to control extension and swinging of the stability control system 106 to counter the moments that cause the forklift 100 to tip, such moments being greater than moments that the counterweight 104 can counter.” | Paragraph 44 “In some implementations, the controller 108 is connected to the engine 122 mounted to the forklift 100 to provide to force to drive the forklift 100 and to the multiple wheels 120. Wheels 120 are coupled to the engine 122 to transport the forklift 100 under the motor force provided by the engine 122. Using these connections, the controller 108 can determine a speed of the forklift 100 and a direction in which the forklift 100 travels. The controller 108 can determine the moments described earlier using the speed and the direction of travel. For example, the controller 108 can use the value from the strain gauge (described earlier) and, through a linear relationship, determine an output to the moment on the extension mechanism 126. Knowing a length of the extension mechanism 126, the controller 108 can implement a formula of “Moment=Distance X Mass” to determine the mass producing the moment. The controller 108 can use the determined mass with the center of mass 116 to determine an actual center of mass (or offset center of mass) 210 (FIG. 3), as described later. Responsive to determining the location of the actual center of mass, the controller 108 can extend or retract the extension mechanism 126 to move the counterweight 124 so that the center of mass of the forklift 100 is re-centered.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bar in view of Yamauchi in view of Yoon in view of Seo in view of Fulton to include that the sensor is configured to sense an operation of a foot pedal in the vehicle, and wherein the component of the vehicle is moved by the weight shifting system based on the control signal being indicative of the operation of the foot pedal, as taught by Alshaalan as disclosed above, in order to ensure vehicle stability in response to output from a user input (Alshaalan Paragraph 33 “This disclosure describes a closed loop stability control system that senses a change in the center of mass of a load transport vehicle, for example, a forklift, and automatically adjusts the position of a counterweight on the vehicle to prevent tipping of the vehicle due to the change in the center of mass.”).
With respect to claim 23, Bar in view of Yamauchi in view of Yoon in view of Seo in view of Fulton fail to explicitly disclose that the act of sensing the condition comprises sensing an output signal generated by a user control in the vehicle in response to a user input provisioned by the driver.
Alshaalan teaches that the act of sensing the condition comprises sensing an output signal generated by a user control in the vehicle in response to a user input provisioned by the driver (See at least Alshaalan Paragraphs 36-39 “FIG. 1 is a schematic diagram of an example of a forklift 100 including an example of a stability control system. The forklift 100 includes a load bearing portion 102 that is configured to carry a load. For example, the load bearing portion 102 includes forks mounted to a front end of the forklift 100 that can be raised or lowered (for example, hydraulically or pneumatically) to carry a load. The load carried by the load bearing portion 102 can induce a moment that can cause the forklift 100 to tip forward under the weight of the load. That is, the moment can cause the forklift 100 to rotate along a first vertical plane (FIG. 2, 204) perpendicular to the ground on which the forklift rests or is driven. To counter such tipping, the forklift 100 includes a counterweight 104 mounted on the forklift 100 along a longitudinal axis (FIG. 2, 202) of the forklift 100. In general, the counterweight 104 is a body having a weight sufficient to counter the tipping moment induced by the heaviest load that the load bearing portion 102 is configured to support. The location of the counterweight 104 on the forklift 100 is chosen based on the location of the center of mass 116 and the location of the tipping point 118 of the forklift 100. That is, as the load on the load bearing portion 102 increases, the location of the center of mass 116 moves towards the front end of the forklift 100 along the longitudinal axis. Such movement of the center of mass 116 induces a moment to cause the forklift 100 to rotate about the center of mass 116. The counterweight 104 counters such as rotation by inducing a counter moment in the opposite direction. Similarly, when the forklift 100 turns, the center of mass 116 is displaced transversely from the longitudinal axis. Such displacement induces a moment that can cause the forklift 100 to rotate along a second vertical plane (FIG. 2, 206) that is, perpendicular to the first vertical plane. That is, the moment can cause the forklift 100 to tip sideways. The counterweight 104 can counter such sideways rotation as well. In some implementations, the counterweight 104 is stationary relative to the forklift 100. That is, the position of the counterweight 104 on the forklift 100 does not change … In some implementations, the forklift 100 includes a controller 108 that is connected to the stability control system 106. The controller 108 can be a computer system that includes one or more processors and a computer-readable medium (for example, a non-transitory computer-readable medium) storing instructions executable by the one or more processors to perform operations described in this disclosure. Alternatively or in addition, the controller 108 can include processing circuitry, firmware, software, hardware or any combination of them. The controller 108 is configured to control extension and swinging of the stability control system 106 to counter the moments that cause the forklift 100 to tip, such moments being greater than moments that the counterweight 104 can counter.” | Paragraph 44 “In some implementations, the controller 108 is connected to the engine 122 mounted to the forklift 100 to provide to force to drive the forklift 100 and to the multiple wheels 120. Wheels 120 are coupled to the engine 122 to transport the forklift 100 under the motor force provided by the engine 122. Using these connections, the controller 108 can determine a speed of the forklift 100 and a direction in which the forklift 100 travels. The controller 108 can determine the moments described earlier using the speed and the direction of travel. For example, the controller 108 can use the value from the strain gauge (described earlier) and, through a linear relationship, determine an output to the moment on the extension mechanism 126. Knowing a length of the extension mechanism 126, the controller 108 can implement a formula of “Moment=Distance X Mass” to determine the mass producing the moment. The controller 108 can use the determined mass with the center of mass 116 to determine an actual center of mass (or offset center of mass) 210 (FIG. 3), as described later. Responsive to determining the location of the actual center of mass, the controller 108 can extend or retract the extension mechanism 126 to move the counterweight 124 so that the center of mass of the forklift 100 is re-centered.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Bar in view of Yamauchi in view of Yoon in view of Seo in view of Fulton to include that the act of sensing the condition comprises sensing an output signal generated by a user control in the vehicle in response to a user input provisioned by the driver, as taught by Alshaalan as disclosed above, in order to ensure vehicle stability in response to output from a user input (Alshaalan Paragraph 33 “This disclosure describes a closed loop stability control system that senses a change in the center of mass of a load transport vehicle, for example, a forklift, and automatically adjusts the position of a counterweight on the vehicle to prevent tipping of the vehicle due to the change in the center of mass.”).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamauchi (US 20120035786 A1) (“Yamauchi”) in view of Bar (US 20130041545 A1) (“Bar”) in view of Alshaalan (US 202104031034 A1) (“Alshaalan”) in view of Yoon (KR 19990040790 A) (“Yoon”) (Translation Attached) in view of Seo (US 20170050685 A1) (“Seo”) further in view of Fulton (US 8083565 B1) (“Fulton”).
With respect to claim 22, Yamauchi in view of Bar in view of Alshaalan in view of Yoon in view of Seo fails to explicitly moving the center of mass of the vehicle by at least 6 inches
Fulton however, teaches a moving a vehicle’s center of mass by a set amount (See at least Fulton Col. 2 lines 22-36 “According to another aspect of the present invention, the invention includes a method for adjusting the center of gravity of a model race car. This method includes the steps of selecting a desired center of gravity location for the race car; determining a distance between the desired center of gravity and the car's rear axle; weighing the race car, measuring the wheelbase, or the distance between the front and rear axles; placing the rear wheels on a stand; placing the front wheels on a scale to measure afront axle weight, calculating the distance between the car's center of gravity and the rear axle by multiplying the wheelbase by the measured front axle weight to get a first value and dividing the first value by the cars weight; and moving an adjustable weight on the chassis until the actual distance between the center of gravity and the rear axle is approximately equal to the desired distance between the center of gravity and the rear axle.”).
As discussed by Fulton, the ability to quickly and easily balancing vehicle weight distribution while travelling is well known in the vehicle weight control art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to try, by one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made, to pick moving the center of mass of the vehicle by at least 6 inches and incorporate it into the method of Yamauchi in view of Bar in view of Alshaalan in view of Yoon in view of Seo since there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions (i.e. balancing vehicle weight distribution while travelling) to the recognized need and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to ensure a vehicle’s safety with respect to weight distribution based on changing conditions when travelling and preforming maneuvers that are affected by a vehicle’s weight distribution (i.e. turning, braking, accelerating, etc.). Furthermore, where the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement, the particular arrangement is deemed to have a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555, 188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
Conclusion
/IBRAHIM ABDOALATIF ALSOMAIRY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3667 /KENNETH J MALKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667
1 There is no limiting definition of an output signal
2 There is no limiting definition of an output signal
3 There is no limiting definition of an output signal
4 There is no limiting definition of an output signal
5 There is no limiting definition of an output signal