Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "two of said battery or battery packs" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the battery being associated with electrically heated gloves or sock. However, it is not clear what the limitations of “associated with” would include.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al (US 2016/0059731).
Regarding claim 1, Jung discloses, A battery charging cable assembly for heated wearables, said battery charging cable assembly being comprised of a first cable section (130) having an input connector (140) at one end for connection to an ac adapter to receive a converted dc supply voltage (not positively recited), said first cable section being connected at another end to an input of an intelligent battery charger mounted in a housing (CCID 120 which is mounted in a housing 121, See Figs 1-4. It should be noted that naming a battery charger an “intelligent” battery charger does not add any limitations to the element on its own.), said housing having at least one output symmetrical female receptacle connectors for receiving a symmetrical male plug connector secured at one end of at least one output charging cable (Figs 3 and 4 show the female connection 123a inside the housing 121 for receiving a male connector plug, See Paragraph [0046]), said output charging cable having a further symmetrical male plug connector (Figs 2 and 4 show a male connector plug 131b) secured at an opposite end thereof for connection to a symmetrical female receptacle connector of a connecting port (Figs 1-4 show the connector 110 being connected with a battery or battery pack connection which would have a female connector) associated with a battery or battery pack to provide charging voltage and current, said at least one output charging cable being capable of supplying voltage from said intelligent battery charger to said battery or battery pack which is programmed to provide a rated charging voltage to said battery or battery pack while said intelligent battery charger independently monitors the battery capacity of said battery or battery pack. (CCID controls the charging of the battery and provides a supply voltage and current. A rated voltage would be supplied. See Paragraph [0012]) While it is possible Jung may not specifically disclose some of the limitations which are not positively recited such as receiving the converted DC supply, it would have been obvious to provide a converted DC supply or providing a rated charging voltage as these would be done based on the intended application or use of the device.
Regarding claim 2, Jung fails to disclose said housing is provided with two of said output symmetrical female connectors, and further wherein there are two of said output charging cables with each of said two output charging cables being connected to a respective one of said two output symmetrical female connectors and to associated ones of two of said battery or battery packs. However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide two of said output symmetrical female connectors, and further wherein there are two of said output charging cables with each of said two output charging cables being connected to a respective one of said two output symmetrical female connectors and to associated ones of two of said battery or battery packs, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claims 7 and 12, Jung fails to disclose the battery pack is associated with gloves or socks. It would have been obvious to provide the battery being associated with electrically heated glove or socks since the manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to issue of patentability of the machine itself.
Regarding claim 11, Jung fails to disclose said intelligent battery charger providing a power supply of 8.4 volts, 1.5 amps. However, it would have been obvious to provide a power supply of 8.4 volts and 1.5 amps since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 13, it would have been obvious to provide the reversible charging cables as USB-C charging cables have the same connection on both ends making them reversible.
Regarding claim 14, It would have been obvious to provide the permanently secured connector since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 15, Figs 1-4 of Jung show the detachable cable section having a male connector.
Claim(s) 3, 5-6, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al (US 2016/0059731) and McLean et al (US 2015/0357834).
Regarding claim 3, the teachings of Jung have been discussed above. Jung discloses the said two output symmetrical female receptacle connector of said intelligent battery charger and said symmetrical male plug connector at said one end and opposite end of said two charging cables, as discussed above. Jung fails to disclose these elements are USB type C connectors.
McLean discloses an intelligent battery charger 26 having input and output cables with the connectors being USB type connectors. (See Paragraph [0035]). It would have been obvious to adapt Jung in view of McLean to provide the USB type C connectors as these are obvious variants for charging connectors and would be selected based on the intended use, or requirements, of the device.
Regarding claims 5-6, Jung fails to disclose the visual charge indicator. However, McLean discloses the intelligent battery charger 26 having an LED to indicate the charge state of the battery. (See Paragraph [0045]) It would have been obvious to adapt Jung in view of Mclean to provide the visual charge indicator on the intelligent battery charger for indicating the charge state of the battery.
Regarding claim 16, it would have been obvious to provide the reversible charging cables as USB-C charging cables have the same connection on both ends making them reversible.
Claim(s) 4, 8-10, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al (US 2016/0059731) and McLean et al (US 2015/0357834) and Hatch et al (US 2021/0051223).
Regarding claims 4 and 8-10, the teachings of Jung have been discussed above. Jung discloses the said two output symmetrical female receptacle connector of said intelligent battery charger and said symmetrical male plug connector at said one end and opposite end of said two charging cables, as discussed above. Jung fails to disclose these elements are USB type C connectors.
McLean discloses an intelligent battery charger 26 having input and output cables with the connectors being USB type connectors. (See Paragraph [0035]). It would have been obvious to adapt Jung in view of McLean to provide the USB type C connectors as these are obvious variants for charging connectors and would be selected based on the intended use, or requirements, of the device.
Jung in view of McLean fails to disclose an opposite end of said output charging cables are provided with male magnetic connectors for multi-directional magnetic coupling with female magnetic connectors associated with said battery or battery pack to be charged.
Hatch discloses male and female connectors 36, 78 having a magnetic coupling. (See Paragraph [0083]) It would have been obvious to adapt Jung in further view of McLean to provide the magnetic connection for the connectors to provide a quick release connection to avoid a tripping hazard and damage to devices.
Regarding claim 17, Jung discloses, A battery charging cable assembly for heated wearables, said battery charging cable assembly being comprised of a first cable section (130) having an input connector (140) at one end for connection to an ac adapter to receive a converted dc supply voltage (not positively recited), said first cable section being connected at another end to an input of an intelligent battery charger mounted in a housing (CCID 120 which is mounted in a housing 121, See Figs 1-4. It should be noted that naming a battery charger an “intelligent” battery charger does not add any limitations to the element on its own.), said housing having at least one output symmetrical female receptacle connectors for receiving a symmetrical male plug connector secured at one end of at least one output charging cable (Figs 3 and 4 show the female connection 123a inside the housing 121 for receiving a male connector plug, See Paragraph [0046]), said output charging cable having a further symmetrical male plug connector (Figs 2 and 4 show a male connector plug 131b) secured at an opposite end thereof for connection to a symmetrical female receptacle connector of a connecting port (Figs 1-4 show the connector 110 being connected with a battery or battery pack connection which would have a female connector) associated with a battery or battery pack to provide charging voltage and current, said at least one output charging cable being capable of supplying voltage from said intelligent battery charger to said battery or battery pack which is programmed to provide a rated charging voltage to said battery or battery pack while said intelligent battery charger independently monitors the battery capacity of said battery or battery pack. (CCID controls the charging of the battery and provides a supply voltage and current. A rated voltage would be supplied. See Paragraph [0012]) While it is possible Jung may not specifically disclose some of the limitations which are not positively recited such as receiving the converted DC supply, it would have been obvious to provide a converted DC supply or providing a rated charging voltage as these would be done based on the intended application or use of the device.
Jung in view of McLean fails to disclose an opposite end of said output charging cables are provided with male magnetic connectors for multi-directional magnetic coupling with female magnetic connectors associated with said battery or battery pack to be charged.
Hatch discloses male and female connectors 36, 78 having a magnetic coupling. (See Paragraph [0083]) It would have been obvious to adapt Jung in further view of McLean to provide the magnetic connection for the connectors to provide a quick release connection to avoid a tripping hazard and damage to devices.
Regarding claim 18 McLean discloses an intelligent battery charger 26 having input and output cables with the connectors being USB type connectors. (See Paragraph [0035]). It would have been obvious to adapt Jung in view of McLean to provide the USB type C connectors as these are obvious variants for charging connectors and would be selected based on the intended use, or requirements, of the device.
Conclusion
/BRIAN W JENNISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 9/11/2025