Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., small DC batteries, intelligent battery charger) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The size, current, or voltage of the battery is not claimed until claim 11. Either way “small” is relative term.
While “intelligent battery charger” appears in claim 1, it is not positively recited. The claim only requires the cables be connected to an intelligent battery charger.
The rejection below is now used to disclose the amended claim limitations.
Regarding the statement on page 12, applicant suggests the word “fails was omitted.” The word fails was not omitted from the rejection of claims 3, 5-6, 16. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide two of said output symmetrical female connectors, and further wherein there are two of said output charging cables with each of said two output charging cables being connected to a respective one of said two output symmetrical female connectors and to associated ones of two of said battery or battery packs, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
However, this argument fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Regarding the arguments on page 13, applicant makes conclusory statements without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. The reasons for obviousness are clearly stated and applicant does not provide any specific reasoning for why they are not obvious.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheatham, III et al (US 2016/0036259) in view of Jung et al (US 2016/0059731) and Guccione et al (US 2009/0267562).
Regarding claim 1, Cheatham discloses, a battery charging cable assembly for heated wearables (The battery charging cable in Figs 1-3 is capable of being used for heated wearables , said battery charging cable (102) assembly being comprised of a first cable section having an input connector at one end for connection to an ac adapter to receive a converted dc supply voltage (the energy transfer device 312 may be configured to receive AC or DC and convert to whichever voltage is necessary, See Paragraph [0034]), said first cable section being connected at another end to an input of an intelligent battery charger mounted in a housing (Fig 1 shows one section of a cable being connected to an intelligent battery charger 108 or 300), (Figs 1-3 show and output cable having a male plug connector 106 for connecting to a battery pack of a device and provide charging voltage and current. See Paragraph [0023]) . said at least one output charging cable being capable of supplying voltage from said intelligent battery charger to said battery or battery pack, said intelligent battery charger being programmed to detect the type if battery being charged and provide a rated charging voltage to said battery or battery pack and independently monitors the battery capacity of said battery or battery pack being charged. (The device 100 is an intelligent charging device, Paragraph [0021], in that it detects the device type, battery type such as battery specifications, max/min voltage and current levels, max energy transfer rates and monitors the energy being transferred. See Paragraphs [0032] and [0046])
Cheatham fails to disclose said housing having at least one output symmetrical female receptacle connectors for receiving a symmetrical male plug connector secured at one end of the output charging cable; and the output charging cable being reversible and interchangeable.
Jung discloses, A battery charging cable assembly for heated wearables, said battery charging cable assembly being comprised of a first cable section (130) having an input connector (140) at one end for connection to an ac adapter to receive a converted dc supply voltage (not positively recited), said first cable section being connected at another end to an input of an intelligent battery charger mounted in a housing (CCID 120 which is mounted in a housing 121, See Figs 1-4. It should be noted that naming a battery charger an “intelligent” battery charger does not add any limitations to the element on its own.), said housing having at least one output symmetrical female receptacle connectors for receiving a symmetrical male plug connector secured at one end of at least one output charging cable (Figs 3 and 4 show the female connection 123a inside the housing 121 for receiving a male connector plug, See Paragraph [0046]), said output charging cable having a further symmetrical male plug connector (Figs 2 and 4 show a male connector plug 131b) secured at an opposite end thereof for connection to a symmetrical female receptacle connector of a connecting port (Figs 1-4 show the connector 110 being connected with a battery or battery pack connection which would have a female connector) associated with a battery or battery pack to provide charging voltage and current, said at least one output charging cable being capable of supplying voltage from said intelligent battery charger to said battery or battery pack which is programmed to provide a rated charging voltage to said battery or battery pack while said intelligent battery charger independently monitors the battery capacity of said battery or battery pack. (CCID controls the charging of the battery and provides a supply voltage and current. A rated voltage would be supplied. See Paragraph [0012]) While it is possible Jung or Cheatham may not specifically disclose some of the limitations which are not positively recited such as receiving the converted DC supply, it would have been obvious to provide a converted DC supply or providing a rated charging voltage as these would be done based on the intended application or use of the device.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to provide said housing having at least one output symmetrical female receptacle connectors for receiving a symmetrical male plug connector secured at one end of the output charging cable for allowing the cables to be swapped out based on voltage/current requirements or for replacement.
Guccione discloses, regarding claims 1 and 13, a charging cable 25 from a housing to a device being charged. The cable has male connector which is received by a female connector in a housing. (See Fig 1). The cable has the same type of connection on both ends, making it reversible. It would have been obvious to make the cable reversible and interchangeable for standardizing the connection and the ease of manufacturing.
It would have been obvious provide the USB type C connectors as these are obvious variants for charging connectors and would be selected based on the intended use, or requirements, of the device.
Regarding claim 2, Cheatham fails to disclose said housing is provided with two of said output symmetrical female connectors, and further wherein there are two of said output charging cables with each of said two output charging cables being connected to a respective one of said two output symmetrical female connectors and to associated ones of two of said battery or battery packs. However, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide two of said output symmetrical female connectors, and further wherein there are two of said output charging cables with each of said two output charging cables being connected to a respective one of said two output symmetrical female connectors and to associated ones of two of said battery or battery packs, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claims 7 and 12, Cheatham fails to disclose the battery pack is associated with gloves or socks. It would have been obvious to provide the battery being associated with electrically heated glove or socks since the manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to issue of patentability of the machine itself.
Regarding claim 11, Cheatham fails to disclose said intelligent battery charger providing a power supply of 8.4 volts, 1.5 amps. However, it would have been obvious to provide a power supply of 8.4 volts and 1.5 amps since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 14, It would have been obvious to provide the permanently secured connector since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 15, Figs 1-3 of Jung show the detachable cable section having a male connector.
Claim(s) 3, 5-6, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheatham, III et al (US 2016/0036259) in view of Jung et al (US 2016/0059731), Guccione et al (US 2009/0267562) and McLean et al (US 2015/0357834).
Regarding claim 3, the teachings of Cheatham have been discussed above. Cheatham in view of Jung discloses the said two output symmetrical female receptacle connector of said intelligent battery charger and said symmetrical male plug connector at said one end and opposite end of said two charging cables, as discussed above. Jung fails to disclose these elements are USB type C connectors.
McLean discloses an intelligent battery charger 26 having input and output cables with the connectors being USB type connectors. (See Paragraph [0035]). It would have been obvious to adapt Cheatham in view of McLean to provide the USB type C connectors as these are obvious variants for charging connectors and would be selected based on the intended use, or requirements, of the device.
Regarding claims 5-6, Cheatham fails to disclose the visual charge indicator. However, McLean discloses the intelligent battery charger 26 having an LED to indicate the charge state of the battery. (See Paragraph [0045]) It would have been obvious to adapt Cheatham in view of Mclean to provide the visual charge indicator on the intelligent battery charger for indicating the charge state of the battery.
Regarding claim 16, it would have been obvious to provide the reversible charging cables as USB-C charging cables have the same connection on both ends making them reversible.
Claim(s) 4, 8-10, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheatham, III et al (US 2016/0036259) in view of Jung et al (US 2016/0059731), McLean (US 2015/0357834) and Hatch et al (US 2021/0051223).
Regarding claims 4 and 8-10, the teachings of Cheatham as modified have been discussed above. Cheatham discloses the said two output symmetrical female receptacle connector of said intelligent battery charger and said symmetrical male plug connector at said one end and opposite end of said two charging cables, as discussed above. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide two of said output symmetrical female connectors, and further wherein there are two of said output charging cables with each of said two output charging cables being connected to a respective one of said two output symmetrical female connectors and to associated ones of two of said battery or battery packs, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Cheatham fails to disclose these elements are USB type C connectors.
McLean discloses an intelligent battery charger 26 having input and output cables with the connectors being USB type connectors. (See Paragraph [0035]). It would have been obvious to adapt Cheatham in view of McLean to provide the USB type C connectors as these are obvious variants for charging connectors and would be selected based on the intended use, or requirements, of the device.
Cheatham in view of McLean fails to disclose an opposite end of said output charging cables are provided with male magnetic connectors for multi-directional magnetic coupling with female magnetic connectors associated with said battery or battery pack to be charged.
Hatch discloses male and female connectors 36, 78 having a magnetic coupling. (See Paragraph [0083]) It would have been obvious to adapt Cheatham in further view of Hatch to provide the magnetic connection for the connectors to provide a quick release connection to avoid a tripping hazard and damage to devices.
Regarding claim 17, Regarding claim 1, Cheatham discloses, a battery charging cable assembly for heated wearables (The battery charging cable in Figs 1-3 is capable of being used for heated wearables , said battery charging cable (102) assembly being comprised of a first cable section having an input connector at one end for connection to an ac adapter to receive a converted dc supply voltage (the energy transfer device 312 may be configured to receive AC or DC and convert to whichever voltage is necessary, See Paragraph [0034]), said first cable section being connected at another end to an input of an intelligent battery charger mounted in a housing (Fig 1 shows one section of a cable being connected to an intelligent battery charger 108 or 300), (Figs 1-3 show and output cable having a male plug connector 106 for connecting to a battery pack of a device and provide charging voltage and current. See Paragraph [0023]) said at least one output charging cable being capable of supplying voltage from said intelligent battery charger to said battery or battery pack, said intelligent battery charger being programmed to detect the type if battery being charged and provide a rated charging voltage to said battery or battery pack and independently monitors the battery capacity of said battery or battery pack being charged. (The device 100 is an intelligent charging device, Paragraph [0021], in that it detects the device type, battery type such as battery specifications, max/min voltage and current levels, max energy transfer rates and monitors the energy being transferred. See Paragraphs [0032] and [0046])
Cheatham fails to disclose said housing having at least one output symmetrical female receptacle connectors for receiving a symmetrical male plug connector secured at one end of the output charging cable.
Jung discloses, A battery charging cable assembly for heated wearables, said battery charging cable assembly being comprised of a first cable section (130) having an input connector (140) at one end for connection to an ac adapter to receive a converted dc supply voltage (not positively recited), said first cable section being connected at another end to an input of an intelligent battery charger mounted in a housing (CCID 120 which is mounted in a housing 121, See Figs 1-4. It should be noted that naming a battery charger an “intelligent” battery charger does not add any limitations to the element on its own.), said housing having at least one output symmetrical female receptacle connectors for receiving a symmetrical male plug connector secured at one end of at least one output charging cable (Figs 3 and 4 show the female connection 123a inside the housing 121 for receiving a male connector plug, See Paragraph [0046]), said output charging cable having a further symmetrical male plug connector (Figs 2 and 4 show a male connector plug 131b) secured at an opposite end thereof for connection to a symmetrical female receptacle connector of a connecting port (Figs 1-4 show the connector 110 being connected with a battery or battery pack connection which would have a female connector) associated with a battery or battery pack to provide charging voltage and current, said at least one output charging cable being capable of supplying voltage from said intelligent battery charger to said battery or battery pack which is programmed to provide a rated charging voltage to said battery or battery pack while said intelligent battery charger independently monitors the battery capacity of said battery or battery pack. (CCID controls the charging of the battery and provides a supply voltage and current. A rated voltage would be supplied. See Paragraph [0012]) While it is possible Jung or Cheatham may not specifically disclose some of the limitations which are not positively recited such as receiving the converted DC supply, it would have been obvious to provide a converted DC supply or providing a rated charging voltage as these would be done based on the intended application or use of the device.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to provide said housing having at least one output symmetrical female receptacle connectors for receiving a symmetrical male plug connector secured at one end of the output charging cable for allowing the cables to be swapped out based on voltage/current requirements or for replacement.
Jung in view of McLean fails to disclose an opposite end of said output charging cables are provided with male magnetic connectors for multi-directional magnetic coupling with female magnetic connectors associated with said battery or battery pack to be charged.
Hatch discloses male and female connectors 36, 78 having a magnetic coupling. (See Paragraph [0083]) It would have been obvious to adapt Jung in further view of Hatch to provide the magnetic connection for the connectors to provide a quick release connection to avoid a tripping hazard and damage to devices.
Regarding claim 18 McLean discloses an intelligent battery charger 26 having input and output cables with the connectors being USB type connectors. (See Paragraph [0035]). It would have been obvious to adapt Cheatham in view of McLean to provide the USB type C connectors as these are obvious variants for charging connectors and would be selected based on the intended use, or requirements, of the device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN W JENNISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 5/20/2026