DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3, 5-11, 13 and 15-24 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 7/6/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 3, 5-11, 13 and 15-24 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yi et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0357264 A1) in view of Feuersaenger et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0181604 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 11 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0357264 A1) in view of Feuersaenger et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0181604 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yi discloses a method for wireless communication (See Abstract) comprising:
receiving a first wireless communication (BWP) (See Par. [199]-[200] and Fig. 12 of Yi for a reference to reception of a downlink PDSCH communication on a scheduled carrier/resource [a TB conveyed via PDSCH on a serving cell/carrier, scheduled by DCI]), the first wireless communication including a dynamic indication of a second carrier and/or a second BWP to be used for transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback corresponding to the data transmitted on the first carrier and/or the first BWP, the HARQ feedback transmitted to a device (See Par. [197], [207], [210] of Yi for a reference to PUCCH transmission may be dynamically indicated by DL scheduling, and the UL-SCC for PUCCH may be dynamically indicated by DL scheduling. For the given HARQ-ACK feedback, the carrier index or bandwidth part (BWP) index may be indicated); and
transmitting a second wireless communication to the device on the second carrier and/or the second BWP, the second wireless communication including the HARQ feedback (See Par. [204], [206]-[208], [210] of Yi for a reference to cross-carrier scheduling and UCI transmission between two different carriers may be used. PUCCH is transmitted on one of multiple UL carriers and the PUCCH cell is dynamically indicated. The carrier/BWP index is indicated for the given HARQ-ACK feedback).
Yi does not explicitly disclose the first communication is received in a data channel on the first carrier and/or first BWP.
However, Feuersaenger discloses the first communication is received in a data channel on the first carrier and/or first BWP (See Par. [179] of Feuersaenger for a reference to the transport block is thus transmitted as (part of) a scheduled transmission on the PDSCH and may be multiplexed with other data of logical channels to the transport block. A component-carrier indication is carried in a PDSCH transport block and may be a MAC control element [places other logical-channel data in the same PDSCH transport block]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Feuersaenger to Yi. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving scheduling decisions when the linked uplink component carrier has most likely not been used at least for a longer time period prior to the activation of the linked downlink component carrier. (Feuersaenger; Par. [250])
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1, including an apparatus (See Fig. 18; UE 900) comprising: a memory to store processor-executable instructions (See Fig. 18; Memory 920); a processor to execute the processor-executable instructions (See Fig. 18; Processor 910).
Regarding claim 21, Yi does not explicitly disclose wherein the data channel in which the dynamic indication is included is a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
However, Feuersaenger discloses wherein the data channel in which the dynamic indication is included is a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) (See Par. [179] of Feuersaenger for a reference to the component carrier (de)activation message is provided within a transport block in the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Feuersaenger to Yi. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving scheduling decisions when the linked uplink component carrier has most likely not been used at least for a longer time period prior to the activation of the linked downlink component carrier. (Feuersaenger; Par. [250])
Regarding claim 22, Yi does not explicitly disclose wherein the dynamic indication is included as part of a transport block (TB) in the PDSCH on the first carrier and/or the first BWP.
However, Feuersaenger discloses wherein the dynamic indication is included as part of a transport block (TB) in the PDSCH on the first carrier and/or the first BWP (See Par. [179]-[180] of Feuersaenger for a reference to the component carrier deactivation message is provided within a transport block in the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), and may be multiplexed with other data of logical channels to the transport block. The carrier information may be provided in a MAC control element).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Feuersaenger to Yi. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving scheduling decisions when the linked uplink component carrier has most likely not been used at least for a longer time period prior to the activation of the linked downlink component carrier. (Feuersaenger; Par. [250])
Regarding claim 23, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 21.
Regarding claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 22.
5. Claims 3, 5-8, 13 and 15-18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi et al. in view of Feuersaenger et al. and further in view of Islam et al. (US. Pub. No. 2018/0279289 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Yi and Feuersaenger does not explicitly disclose wherein the dynamic indication indicates the second carrier and/or the second BWP by indicating an identity of a particular frame that has an association with the second carrier and/or the second BWP.
However, Islam discloses wherein the dynamic indication indicates the second carrier and/or the second BWP by indicating an identity of a particular frame that has an association with the second carrier and/or the second BWP (See Par. [112]-[113], [143] of Islam for a reference to the DCI, transmitted from the BS to the UE, includes a location indication that indicates the starting position of a BWP, allocated to the UE, which is derived from the frame’s ID of the UL signaling).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Islam to the combination of Yi and Feuersaenger. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by reducing latency, increasing reliability and providing efficient resource allocation. (Islam; Par. [5]-[6])
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Yi and Feuersaenger does not explicitly disclose wherein prior to receiving the first wireless communication, the method comprises: receiving a semi-static indication of a plurality of carriers and/or BWPs on which the HARQ feedback may be sent, the plurality of carriers and/or BWPs including the second carrier and/or the second BWP.
However, Islam discloses wherein prior to receiving the first wireless communication, the method comprises: receiving a semi-static indication of a plurality of carriers and/or BWPs on which the HARQ feedback may be sent, the plurality of carriers and/or BWPs including the second carrier and/or the second BWP (See Par. [21], [52]-[53], [96], [195] and Fig. 8 of Islam for a reference to that prior to receiving the first DCI, receiving an RRC message including a plurality of UL BWPs and an UL grant indicating a particular UL BWP of the plurality of BWPs for UL transmission; including HARQ Process parameters. RRC message indicates BW partition in a semi-static manner).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Islam to the combination of Yi and Feuersaenger. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by reducing latency, increasing reliability and providing efficient resource allocation. (Islam; Par. [5]-[6])
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Yi and Feuersaenger does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 1, wherein: the first wireless communication is received on the first carrier and/or the first BWP during a reception duration of a first frame; and the second wireless communication is transmitted on the second carrier and/or the second BWP during a transmission duration of a second frame; wherein the reception duration is a time duration in which wireless transmission to the device is prohibited on the first frame, and/or wherein the transmission duration is a time duration in which wireless transmission from the device is prohibited on the second frame.
However, Islam discloses wherein: the first wireless communication is received on the first carrier and/or the first BWP during a reception duration of a first frame (See Par. [45], [278]-[279] of Islam for a reference to receiving, by the UE, DCI [First Wireless Communication] over a first BWP in a first time interval [Reception Interval]); and
the second wireless communication is transmitted on the second carrier and/or the second BWP during a transmission duration of a second frame (See Par. [45], [278]-[279] of Islam for a reference to transmitting, by the UE, the uplink control data [Second Wireless Communication] over a second BWP in a second time interval [Transmission Interval]);
wherein the reception duration is a time duration in which wireless transmission to the device is prohibited on the first frame, and/or wherein the transmission duration is a time duration in which wireless transmission from the device is prohibited on the second frame (See Par. [45], [110], [278]-[279] of Islam for a reference to the first time interval is the reception interval on which the UE monitors the PDCCH and no transmission is allowed, while the second interval is the transmission interval, which is subsequent to the first time interval, on which no transmission from the BS is monitored/allowed).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Islam to the combination of Yi and Feuersaenger. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by reducing latency, increasing reliability and providing efficient resource allocation. (Islam; Par. [5]-[6])
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Yi and Feuersaenger does not explicitly disclose wherein the second frame is one of a plurality of frames, wherein each one of the plurality of frames is associated with a different carrier and/or different BWP, wherein the second frame is associated with the second carrier and/or the second BWP.
However, Islam discloses wherein the second frame is one of a plurality of frames, wherein each one of the plurality of frames is associated with a different carrier and/or different BWP, wherein the second frame is associated with the second carrier and/or the second BWP (See Par. [21], [45], [91], [99] and Fig. 8 of Islam for a reference to the DCI, transmitted from the BS, may be broadcasted to a plurality of UEs. Each UE responds with a HARQ feedback frame. Each UE is allocated a different BWP [A plurality of BWPs are indicated]. The UL control data is transmitted over the second BWP).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Islam to the combination of Yi and Feuersaenger. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by reducing latency, increasing reliability and providing efficient resource allocation. (Islam; Par. [5]-[6])
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Yi and Feuersaenger does not explicitly disclose wherein the second frame has at least some of the transmission duration subsequent in time to a start of the reception duration of the first frame and overlapping in time and/or adjacent in time to the reception duration of the first frame.
However, Islam discloses wherein the second frame has at least some of the transmission duration subsequent in time to a start of the reception duration of the first frame and overlapping in time and/or adjacent in time to the reception duration of the first frame (See Par. [45], [99]-[100], [278] of Islam for a reference to the UL control data [Second Frame] is transmitted in a second time interval [Transmission Interval], which is subsequent to the first time interval [Reception Interval] and contiguous [Adjacent] to the first BWP/first time interval).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Islam to the combination of Yi and Feuersaenger. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by reducing latency, increasing reliability and providing efficient resource allocation. (Islam; Par. [5]-[6])
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 8.
6. Claims 9-10 and 19-20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi et al. in view of Feuersaenger et al. in view of Islam et al. and further in view of Liao et al. (US. Pub. No. 2017/0332396 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Yi, Feuersaenger and Islam does not explicitly disclose wherein the first frame includes a flexible duration in addition to and non-overlapping with the reception duration, and wherein the flexible duration is a duration in time in which a direction of communication is configurable on an apparatus-specific basis.
However, Liao discloses wherein the first frame includes a flexible duration in addition to and non-overlapping with the reception duration (See Par. [32], [38]-[39] and Fig. 7 of Liao for a reference to the radio frame 700 contains 10 slots and configured to have the first 7 slots as DL-Only and the next 3 slots as flexible non-overlapping slots under semi-static configuration), and wherein the flexible duration is a duration in time in which a direction of communication is configurable on an apparatus-specific basis (See Par. [39], [43] of Liao for a reference to a flexible slot is a slot that can have any slot type and can be dynamically configured by the BS as required by to the UE).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liao to the combination of Yi, Feuersaenger and Islam. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by dynamically adjusting the system’s parameters to efficiently utilizing radio resources and save the energy. (Liao; Par. [4])
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Yi, Feuersaenger and Islam does not explicitly disclose wherein the second frame includes a flexible duration in addition to and non-overlapping with the transmission duration, and wherein the flexible duration is a duration in time in which a direction of communication is configurable on an apparatus-specific basis.
However, Liao discloses wherein the second frame includes a flexible duration in addition to and non-overlapping with the transmission duration (See Par. [32], [38]-[39], [43] and Fig. 8 of Liao for a reference to the radio frame contains UL-only slots and flexible slots that are non-overlapping slots with the transmission slots under semi-static configuration), and wherein the flexible duration is a duration in time in which a direction of communication is configurable on an apparatus-specific basis (See Par. [39], [43] of Liao for a reference to a flexible slot is a slot that can have any slot type and can be dynamically configured by the BS as required by to the UE).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Liao to the combination of Yi, Feuersaenger and Islam. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by dynamically adjusting the system’s parameters to efficiently utilizing radio resources and save the energy. (Liao; Par. [4])
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 9.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 10.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rateardoost et al, (US. Pub. No. 2022/00007399 A1) discloses a method for HARQ acknowledgment timing determination.
Lei et al. (US. Pub. No. 2021/0359832 A1) discloses a method for switching of carrier frequencies used by half-duplex frequency division duplex (HD-FDD) user equipment in a wireless network.
Hwang et al. (US. Pub. No. 2020/0351837 A1) discloses a method for operating a terminal in a wireless communication system and a device using the same method.
/R.K.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413