Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7-15 and 17-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-15 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2021/0202889) in view of Kim (US 2015/0179718).
Regarding independent claim 1, Lee teaches a light emitting display device (Lee, Abstract) comprising:
a circuit layer having a thin film transistor (Lee, [0027]) and an auxiliary power electrode (157, FIG. 3) over a substrate (110, FIG. 1); a protective layer (160, FIG. 3) overlaying the circuit layer; a contact portion (CH2, FIG. 3) configured to expose a portion of the auxiliary power electrode; an eaves structure (175, FIG. 3) disposed over a portion of the auxiliary power electrode and configured to have an undercut region; a pixel electrode (171, FIG. 3) disposed over the protective layer and connected to the thin film transistor; (FIG. 3) a light emitting layer (181, FIG. 3) disposed over the pixel electrode; and a common electrode (185, FIG. 3) disposed over the light emitting layer and connected to the auxiliary power electrode in the undercut region of the eaves structure, and a support pattern (173a), wherein the eaves structure is made of a single material. (FIG. 3).
Lee does not disclose the support pattern between a portion of the auxiliary power electrode and the eaves structure, and wherein the eaves structure is in contact with an upper surface of the support pattern and is in contact with an upper surface of the auxiliary power electrode through the support pattern.
Kim discloses a light emitting display device, in figure 3, having a support pattern 140 between a portion of the auxiliary power electrode 120 and the eaves structure 150/160/170, and wherein the eaves structure 150/160/170 is in contact with an upper surface of the support pattern 140 and is in contact with an upper surface of the auxiliary power electrode 120 through the support pattern 140.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the support pattern between a portion of the auxiliary power electrode and the eaves structure, and wherein the eaves structure is in contact with an upper surface of the support pattern and is in contact with an upper surface of the auxiliary power electrode through the support pattern as disclosed by Kim in the device disclosed by Lee, for the purpose of improving adhesion and mechanical stability between the components of the device thereby improving display reliability and performance.
Regarding dependent claim 2, Lee teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 1, wherein the eaves structure includes: an eaves portion (175b, FIG. 3) disposed over a portion of the auxiliary power electrode; and a pillar portion (175a, FIG. 3) protruding from a lower surface of the eaves portion and contacting an upper surface of the auxiliary power electrode, wherein the undercut region corresponds to a lower portion of the eaves portion. (FIG. 3)
Regarding dependent claim 3, Lee teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 2, wherein the pillar portion includes an inclined surface (175b, FIG. 4) having a reverse tapered shape whose upper width that protrudes from the lower surface of the eaves portion is wider than its lower width that contacts the upper surface of the auxiliary power electrode. (FIG. 3)
Regarding dependent claim 4, Lee teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 2, wherein the eaves structure is formed in an island pattern over a portion of the auxiliary power electrode, and the portion of the auxiliary power electrode exposed by the contact portion includes an exposed portion of the auxiliary power electrode in the periphery of the eaves structure. (FIG. 3)
Regarding dependent claim 5, Lee teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 4, wherein the eaves portion overlaps at least a portion of the exposed portion of the auxiliary power electrode. (FIG. 3)
Regarding dependent claim 7, Lee teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 6, wherein the eaves structure and the support pattern are made of different materials from each other. (FIG. 4, [0090])
Regarding dependent claim 8, Lee teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 6, wherein the eaves structure includes: an eaves portion (175b, FIG. 4) disposed over the support pattern; and a pillar portion (175a, FIG. 4) protruding from a lower surface of the eaves portion and configured to be in contact with an upper surface of the auxiliary power electrode through the support pattern, wherein the undercut region includes a lower portion of the eaves portion and a lateral surface of the pillar portion. (FIG. 4)
Regarding dependent claim 9, Lee teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 8, wherein the support pattern (173a, FIG. 4) includes a lower surface having a first width. an upper surface having a second width which is narrower than the first width. and an inclined surface between the lower surface and the upper surface, wherein the width of the eaves portion is wider than the first width. (FIG. 4)
Regarding independent claim 10, Lee teaches a light emitting display device (Lee, Abstract) comprising: a circuit layer having a thin film transistor and an auxiliary power electrode (157, FIG. 3) over a substrate; a first protective layer (161, FIG. 3) overlaying the circuit layer; a second protective layer (163, FIG. 3) disposed over the first protective layer; a pixel electrode (171, FIG. 3) disposed over the second protective layer and connected to the thin film transistor; a bank layer (177, FIG. 3) disposed over the second protective layer and configured to define an opening at the pixel electrode; a contact portion (CH2, FIG. 3) which penetrates the first and second protective layers and the bank layer to expose a portion of the auxiliary power electrode; (FIG. 3) an eaves structure (175, FIG. 4) disposed over a portion of the auxiliary power electrode exposed by the contact portion and configured to include an undercut region (adjacent to 175b, FIG. 4); a light emitting layer (181, FIG. 3) disposed over the pixel electrode and the bank layer; and a common electrode (185, FIG. 4) disposed over the light emitting layer and connected to the auxiliary power electrode in the undercut region of the eaves structure, and a support pattern (173a).
Lee does not disclose the support pattern between a portion of the auxiliary power electrode and the eaves structure, and wherein the eaves structure is in contact with an upper surface of the support pattern and is in contact with an upper surface of the auxiliary power electrode through the support pattern.
Kim discloses a light emitting display device, in figure 3, having a support pattern 140 between a portion of the auxiliary power electrode 120 and the eaves structure 150/160/170, and wherein the eaves structure 150/160/170 is in contact with an upper surface of the support pattern 140 and is in contact with an upper surface of the auxiliary power electrode 120 through the support pattern 140.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the support pattern between a portion of the auxiliary power electrode and the eaves structure, and wherein the eaves structure is in contact with an upper surface of the support pattern and is in contact with an upper surface of the auxiliary power electrode through the support pattern as disclosed by Kim in the device disclosed by Lee, for the purpose of improving adhesion and mechanical stability between the components of the device thereby improving display reliability and performance.
Regarding dependent claim 11, Lee teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 10, wherein the first protective layer is made of an inorganic insulating material, and the second protective layer is made of an organic insulating material. (Lee, paras. [0076]-[0077])
Regarding dependent claim 12, Lee teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 10, wherein the undercut region of the eaves structure is formed at the same layer as the first protective layer. (FIG. 3)
Regarding dependent claim 13, Lee teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 12, wherein the eaves structure is made of the same material as that at least one of the bank layer, the second protective layer, and the pixel electrode. (Lee, paras. [0155]-[0156])
Regarding dependent claim 14, Lee teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 12, wherein the eaves structure includes: an eaves portion (175b, FIG. 4) disposed over a portion of the auxiliary power electrode; and a pillar portion (175a, FIG. 4) protruding from a lower surface of the eaves portion and contacting an upper surface of the auxiliary power electrode, wherein a height of the pillar portion is lower than or equal to a height of the first protective layer. (FIGS. 3-4)
Regarding dependent claim 15, Lee teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 14, wherein the pillar portion includes an inclined surface having a reverse tapered shape whose upper width that protrudes from the lower surface of the eaves portion is wider than its lower width that contacts the upper surface of the auxiliary power electrode. (FIG. 4)
Regarding dependent claim 17, Lee teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 16, wherein the support pattern is made of the same material as that of the first protective layer. (Lee, paras. [0155]-[0156])
Regarding dependent claim 18, Lee teaches the light emitting display device according to claim 16, wherein the eaves structure includes: an eaves portion (175b, FIG. 3) disposed over the support pattern (173a, FIG. 3); and a pillar portion (175a, FIG. 3) protruding from the lower surface of the eaves portion and contacting the upper surface of the auxiliary power electrode through the support pattern, wherein the support pattern includes a lower surface having a first width, an upper surface having a second width which is narrower than the first width, and an inclined surface between the lower surface and the upper surface, wherein the width of the eaves portion is wider than the first width. (FIGS. 3-4)
Regarding independent claim 19, Lee teaches: a light emitting display device (Lee, Abstract) comprising: a circuit layer having a thin film transistor (Lee, [0027]) and an auxiliary power electrode (157, FIG. 3) over a substrate (110, FIG. 1); a first protective layer (161, FIG. 3) overlaying the circuit layer; a second protective layer (163, FIG. 3) disposed over the first protective layer; a contact portion (CH2, FIG. 3) configured to expose a portion of the auxiliary power electrode; an eaves structure (175, FIG. 3) disposed over a portion of the auxiliary power electrode and configured to have an undercut region (FIG. 3); a support pattern (173a); a pixel electrode (171, FIG. 3) disposed over the second protective layer and connected to the thin film transistor; a light emitting layer (181, FIG. 3) disposed over the pixel electrode; and a common electrode (185, FIG. 3) disposed over the light emitting layer and connected to the auxiliary power electrode in the undercut region of the eaves structure, wherein the eaves structure is formed of the same material as the second protective layer, and wherein the support pattern is formed of the same material as the first protective layer [0076, 0077, 0155, 0156].
Lee does not disclose the support pattern between a portion of the auxiliary power electrode and the eaves structure.
Kim discloses a light emitting display device, in figure 3, having a support pattern 140 between a portion of the auxiliary power electrode 120 and the eaves structure 150/160/170.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have a support pattern between a portion of the auxiliary power electrode and the eaves structure as disclosed by Kim in the device disclosed by Lee, for the purpose of improving adhesion and mechanical stability between the components of the device thereby improving display reliability and performance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim (US 2018/0062109), Nam (US 2015/0179719) and Tanada (US 2012/0223342) disclose a light emitting display device having eaves structure.
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872