DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment and RCE filed on 12/24/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1 and 18 are independent. Claims 18-20 are newly added.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
Currently, none of the limitations are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-15 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Pelissier et al. (US 2006/0064175) in view of Chin (US 5,922,026).
Regarding claim 1, Pelissier discloses an implantable prosthesis (fig. 1) for repairing a tissue or muscle wall defect, the implantable prosthesis comprising: a patch of repair fabric including a body portion 40 that is constructed and arranged to cover the tissue or muscle wall defect, the patch having an oval shape with a major axis 60 and a minor axis 62, the patch including an obtuse end portion 66 and an acute end portion 64, the obtuse end portion being wider than the acute end portion (Fig. 1).
Pelissier discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for one or more accessible pockets provided on the patch to facilitate deployment and/or placement of the prosthesis at the tissue or muscle wall defect, all of the accessible pockets provided on the patch to facilitate deployment and/or placement of the prosthesis being located only at the obtuse end portion of the patch.
Chin teaches placing pockets on opposite sides of the repair fabric (fig. 1; col. 4, ll. 3-5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Pelissier with pockets on opposite sides of the fabric as taught by Chin, in order to aid in positioning and attaching the prosthesis. Furthermore, Chin discloses varying the number and locations of the pockets (col. 4, ll. 3-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Pelissier so that all of the pockets are on the obtuse side of the minor axis in view of Chin, in order to accommodate use scenarios where only one end, such as the obtuse end, of the prosthetic needs to be precisely manipulated. Examiner notes that references such as US 2004/0215219 teach implantable prostheses for the same purpose as applicant’s device, wherein all of the pockets are located on one side of the minor axis (paragraph 0033).
Regarding claim 2, the patch includes a first (Pelissier; fig. 2, element 40) and second (forming the first pocket; see Chin fig. 1, the layer forming the left pocket 110) layers attached together to create the at least one pocket / one or more accessible pockets therebetween.
Regarding claim 3, the second layer includes an edge (an edge adjacent the opening of the pocket in the modified device) extending across the portion of the first surface of the first layer.
Regarding claim 4, the patch includes a first opening (the opening in the first pocket of the modified device) to provide access to the at least one pocket / one or more accessible pocket.
Regarding claim 5, the first opening is located along the edge of the second layer (see Chin; fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Pelissier discloses a member (fig. 1, element 24) to help deploy and/or hold the body portion in a spread out configuration (paragraph 0027).
Regarding claim 7, the member (Pelissier; fig. 1, element 24) surrounds the body portion of the patch.
Regarding claim 8, the member includes an indentation (Pelissier; fig. 1, element 34) that is adapted to be positioned adjacent a body structure (paragraph 0030), the indentation formed by a portion of the member deviating inwardly toward the body portion.
Regarding claim 9, the indentation (Pelissier; fig. 1, element 34) has a curved shape.
Regarding claim 10, the member (Pelissier; fig. 1, element 24) has a convex shape along a substantial portion thereof and the indentation has a concave shape.
Regarding claim 11, the indentation (Pelissier; fig. 1, element 34) is offset from the minor axis of the patch toward the acute end portion.
Regarding claim 12, the member has a resiliency that allows the member to deform from an initial shape and then return to the initial shape to return the body portion of the patch to the spread out configuration (Pelissier; paragraph 0027).
Regarding claim 13, the repair fabric is susceptible to the formation of adhesions with tissue and organs (Pelissier; paragraph 0065).
Regarding claim 14, the repair fabric has a plurality of interstices that are constructed and arranged to allow tissue ingrowth (Pelissier; paragraph 0065).
Regarding claim 15, the obtuse end portion of the modified prothesis of Pelissier in view of Chin is fully capable to overlie and cover the tissue or muscle wall defect and the acute end portion the modified prothesis of Pelissier in view of Chin is fully capable to be positioned away from the tissue or muscle wall defect because the obtuse end portion of the prothesis of Pelissier is fully capable to overlie and cover the tissue or muscle wall defect and the acute end portion of the prothesis of Pelissier is fully capable to be positioned away from the tissue or muscle wall defect (Pelissier, Fig. 1).
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Pelissier et al. (US 2006/0064175) in view of Chin (US 5,922,026) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rousseau (US Pub. No.: 2002/0133236).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Pelissier in view of Chin renders obvious all the limitations of claim 1 but fails to disclose that the one or more accessible pockets are positioned and oriented substantially symmetrically about the major axis; wherein the one or more accessible pockets consist of a single accessible pocket. Chin further discloses the number and location of pockets can be varied (col. 4, ll. 3-5).
Rousseau teaches, in the same field of endeavor (implantable prosthesis), an implantable prosthesis consisting a single accessible pocket (pocket 15, Figs. 1 and 1 or the pocket shown in Fig. 3) positioned and oriented substantially symmetrically about the major axis.
Before the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the implantable prosthesis of Pelissier in view of Chin to include only a single accessible pocket which is positioned and oriented substantially symmetrically about the major axis as taught by Rousseau in order to allow the surgeon’s finger(s) or a surgical instrument to be received in the pocket (Paras. [0016], [0004], [0024] and Fig. 9) to precisely manipulate the prosthesis.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Pelissier et al. (US 2006/0064175) in view of Rousseau (US Pub. No.: 2002/0133236) and Chin (US 5,922,026).
Regarding claim 18, Pelissier discloses an implantable prosthesis (fig. 1) for repairing a tissue or muscle wall defect, the implantable prosthesis comprising: a patch of repair fabric including a body portion 40 that is constructed and arranged to cover the tissue or muscle wall defect, the patch having an oval shape with a major axis 60 and a minor axis 62, the patch including an obtuse end portion 66 and an acute end portion 64, the obtuse end portion being wider than the acute end portion (Fig. 1); wherein the body portion includes: a first layer of repair fabric (40, Fig. 2); and a second layer (42, Fig. 2) of repair fabric attached to the first layer of repair fabric (Figs. 2-4); a support member (24, Figs. 2-4) positioned between the first layer of repair fabric and the second layer of repair fabric and extending around the body portion. However, Pelissier does not specifically disclose that the second layer of repair fabric includes one or more unattached segments extending across the first layer of repair fabric to form one or more accessible pockets located only on the first side of the minor axis and at the obtuse end portion of the patch.
Rousseau teaches, in the same field of endeavor (implantable prosthesis), a body portion of a patch repair fabric (10, Figs. 1 and 2) comprising a first layer (12, Figs. 1 and 2) and a second layer (14, Figs. 1 and 2); wherein the second layer of repair fabric includes an unattached segment extending across the first layer of repair fabric to form an accessible pocket (pocket 15, Figs. 1 and 2 and Paras. [0016]-[0018]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the second layer of the repair fabric of the prosthesis of Pelissier to include an unattached segment extending across the first layer of repair fabric to form an accessible pockets located only on the first side of the minor axis as taught by Rousseau in order to facilitate the deployment of the implantable prosthesis enabling an object, such as a surgical instrument or surgeon’s finger, to be placed into the pocket (Rousseau, Para. [0004]).
Furthermore, Chin teaches placing pockets on opposite sides of the repair fabric (fig. 1; col. 4, ll. 3-5). Furthermore, Chin discloses varying the number and locations of the pockets (col. 4, ll. 3-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Pelissier in view of Rousseau so that all of the pockets are on the obtuse side of the minor axis in view of Chin, in order to accommodate use scenarios where only one end of the prosthetic, such as the obtuse end, needs to be precisely manipulated.
Regarding claim 19, Rousseau discloses an unattached length or segment of the unattached segment extend across a portion of the body portion to form an opening to the accessible pocket (Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 20, Rousseau discloses that the opening to the accessible pocket is formed through the second layer of repair fabric (Figs. 1 and 2).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 and 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,452,588. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations of claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,452,588 are contained in claims 1-15 and 18-20 of the instant application.
#17/939,263
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
#11,452,588
1
2
4
5
6
7
8
9
#17/939,263
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
18
19
20
#11,452,588
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
3
6
7
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,452,588 in view of Rousseau (US Pub. No.: 2002/0133236).
Regarding claims 16 and 17, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,452,588 recites all the limitations of claims 1 of the instant application. However, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,452,588 does not recite that the one or more accessible pockets are positioned and oriented symmetrically about the major axis, and the major axis is colinear with a central axis of the one or more accessible pockets; wherein the one or more accessible pockets consist of a single accessible pocket.
Rousseau teaches, in the same field of endeavor (implantable prosthesis), an implantable prosthesis consisting a single accessible pocket (pocket 15, Figs. 1 and 1 or the pocket shown in Fig. 3) positioned and oriented symmetrically about the major axis, and the major axis is colinear with a central axis of the one or more accessible pocket.
Before the invention was made, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,452,588 to include only a single accessible pocket which is positioned and oriented symmetrically about the major axis, and the major axis is colinear with a central axis of the one or more accessible pocket as taught by Rousseau in order to allow the surgeon’s finger(s) or a surgical instrument to be received in the pocket (Paras. [0016], [0004], [0024] and Fig. 9).
Response to Arguments
The objection to the drawing and the rejection on claims 16 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been withdrawn in light of the amendment
The double patent rejection has been maintained.
Applicant's arguments regarding art rejection(s) on claims 1-17 filed 12/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the argument(s) on pages 7-8 of the remarks, Pelissier discloses an implantable prosthesis (fig. 1) for repairing a tissue or muscle wall defect, the implantable prosthesis comprising: a patch of repair fabric including a body portion 40 that is constructed and arranged to cover the tissue or muscle wall defect, the patch having an oval shape with a major axis 60 and a minor axis 62, the patch including an obtuse end portion 66 and an acute end portion 64, the obtuse end portion being wider than the acute end portion (Fig. 1).
Pelissier discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for one or more accessible pockets provided on the patch to facilitate deployment and/or placement of the prosthesis at the tissue or muscle wall defect, all of the accessible pockets provided on the patch to facilitate deployment and/or placement of the prosthesis being located only at the obtuse end portion of the patch.
Chin teaches placing pockets on opposite sides of the repair fabric (fig. 1; col. 4, ll. 3-5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Pelissier with pockets on opposite sides of the fabric as taught by Chin, in order to aid in positioning and attaching the prosthesis. Furthermore, Chin discloses varying the number and locations of the pockets (col. 4, ll. 3-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Pelissier so that all of the pockets are on the obtuse side of the minor axis in view of Chin, in order to accommodate use scenarios where only one end, such as the obtuse end, of the prosthetic needs to be precisely manipulated. Examiner notes that references such as US 2004/0215219 teach implantable prostheses for the same purpose as applicant’s device, wherein all of the pockets are located on one side of the minor axis (paragraph 0033). Since Chin discloses that the number and locations of the pockets can be varied (col. 4, ll. 3-5), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Pelissier so that all of the pockets are on the obtuse side of the minor axis in view of Chin, in order to accommodate use scenarios where only one end, such as the obtuse end, of the prosthetic needs to be precisely manipulated.
Conclusion
/JING RUI OU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771