DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of the amendment filed on 08/12/2025 in which claims 1-2, 9-10, 13, 17-18, and 20 were amended, claim 8 canceled, and claim 21 added. Therefore, claims 1-7 and 9-21 are pending for examination below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 9, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims recite “the at least one heating element includes at least one heating element” which renders the claim unclear. For example, it is not clear if this limitation requires a second heating element (in which case the claim should be amended to make it clear this is a separate heating element) or if the claim lacks antecedent basis since “at least one heating element” is being recited again after before previously recited in the claim. The Examiner’s best guess is the heating element feature is being repeated by accident and was meant to recited in a limitation such as –includes a handle and the at least one heating element is positioned within the handle—or –includes a handle and the at least one heating element includes the at least one heating element positioned within the handle--.
Claims 2-7, 10-16, and 18-21 depend from the claims above and are rejected for the same reasons.
Further, claim 17, recites in line 11 “a handle” which has antecedent basis issues with the handle previously introduced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-5, 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Westfall et al. [US 2021/0129696].
With respect to claims 1 and 9, Westfall discloses a charging station [136] for charging a propulsion battery pack [124] of an electric vehicle (EV) [112], the charging station comprising: a charging cabinet operable for providing a charging voltage or current to the propulsion battery pack during a charging operation of the EV [par. 0024]; an electrical cable having a distal end and a proximal end [306], wherein the distal end is connected to the charging cabinet [par. 0043]; and a charge coupler connected to the proximal end of the electrical cable and configured to connect to a charge receptacle of the EV [304, see figs. 3-4], the charge coupler comprising a coupler body having a vehicle plug [310] and at least one heating element connected to the coupler body [320], wherein the at least one heating element is configured to selectively heat the coupler body in response to an environmental state of the charge coupler being indicative of accumulated snow or ice on the charge coupler [par. 0046], and the charge coupler includes a handle [302, par. 0045; i.e. canopy/shroud is equated to a handle as it provides grip for positioning the charge coupler], and the at least one heating element includes at least one heating element positioned within the handle and operable for warming the handle [320 is within 302, as best understood in view of the 112 clarity issue above].
With respect to claim 2, Westfall further discloses wherein the at least one heating element includes a resistive heating element located within the vehicle plug end [320, fig. 3].
With respect to claim 4, Westfall further discloses a sensor operable for detecting the environmental state of the charge coupler [par. 0046].
With respect to claims 5 and 10, Westfall further discloses wherein the sensor includes a temperature sensor and the environmental state of the charge coupler includes a temperature of the charge coupler [par. 0046], and the vehicle plug end includes a plurality of charging pins configured to connect to a charge receptacle of the EV [310].
With respect to claim 7, Westfall further discloses wherein the charge coupler includes a plurality of charging pins [310], and wherein the at least one heating element includes one or more heating elements positioned proximate the plurality of charging pins [320].
With respect to claim 11, Westfall further discloses shutting off the at least one heating element in response to the temperature of the charge coupler having reached a threshold temperature level [par. 0046, i.e. above freezing temperature].
With respect to claim 12, Westfall further discloses comparing the environmental state of the charge coupler to a corresponding threshold value, wherein selectively activating the at least one heating element occurs when the environmental state exceeds the corresponding threshold value [par. 0046; i.e. compared to freezing temperature threshold].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westfall et al. [US 2021/0129696] as applied above, and further in view of Reber et al. [US 11,220,184].
With respect to claims 3 and 14, Westfall fails to explicitly disclose using coolant, however, such a concept is well-known in the art. For example, Reber relates to a charging station for electric vehicles and teaches a charging cord and coupler incorporating a coolant loop operable for circulating a heated coolant through the charge coupler, wherein the heating element includes the heated coolant [Fig. 8, claim 12, col. 5 lines 5-12].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify Westfall such that the heating source is a coolant instead of a resistive element for the benefit of allowing the pre-heating to end as quickly as possible as stated by Reber, i.e. coolant can be instantaneously removed whereas resistive elements need more time to dissipate the heat.
With respect to claim 16, Westfall fails to disclose first and second heating profile based on whether the cord is connected to the vehicle or not. Reber relates to a charging station for electric vehicles and teaches determining, via the controller, whether the charge coupler is presently stowed in a cradle of the charging station or connected to the EV; executing a first heating profile when the charge coupler is presently stowed in the cradle of the charging station; and executing a second heating profile when the charge coupler is connected to the EV [Fig. 8 shows a first preheating profile when the coupler is stowed (not yet connected) at S100 and then a second heating profile after the coupler is connected at S130-S170].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify Westfall to incorporate first and second heating profiles based on the coupler’s connection to the vehicle for the benefit of conducting away waste heat during the connection/charging, thereby keeping the line resistance low as stated by Reber.
Claim(s) 6 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westfall et al. [US 2021/0129696] as applied above, and further in view of Yang [CN 111409480].
With respect to claims 6 and 15, Westfall fails to disclose measuring humidity. However, Yang relates to a charging gun for detecting humidity and teaches a humidity sensor and the environmental state of the charge coupler includes a humidity level of the charge coupler [par. 0002,0005,0008] by utilizing a heating source [par. 0023].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify Westfall such that a humidity level is used to trigger the environmental state for the benefit of preventing short circuiting of the circuitry due to dangerous moisture levels as stated by Yang.
Claim(s) 13 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westfall et al. [US 2021/0129696] as applied above, and further in view of Garcia-Ferre et al. [US 2023/0182593].
With respect to claims 13 and 21, Westfall discloses the at least one heating element includes a resistive element located in the vehicle plug end that selectively activates with current based on environment factors [320] and the vehicle plug end includes a plurality of charging pins configured to connect to a charge receptacle of the EV [310], but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the handle is located between the vehicle plug end and a connection of the charge coupler to the proximal end of the electrical cable.
Garcia-Ferre relates to a EV charging station connector and discloses providing a heating element in a handle of the connector, the handle with heating element inside being positioned between a vehicle plug end and a connection of the charge coupler at a proximal end of an electrical cable [Figs. 1 and 3 as illustrated with handle 101 and heating element 108].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Westfall to incorporate the handle between the plug end and electrical cable as taught by Garcia-Ferre for the benefit of providing a means for a user to easily grab onto to reposition the charging device as needed while still protecting from environmental issues.
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garcia-Ferre et al. [US 2023/0182593] in view of Westfall et al. [US 2021/0129696].
With respect to claims 17-18, Garcia-Ferre discloses a charge coupler [100] for use with a charging station [300] when charging a propulsion battery pack of an electric vehicle (EV) [abstract], the charge coupler comprising: a coupler body having a vehicle plug end and a handle [Fig. 1], wherein the vehicle plug end includes a plurality of charging pins configured to connect to a charge receptacle of the EV [par. 0027], and wherein the handle is connectable to a charging cabinet of the charging station [Fig. 3] via an electrical cable [par. 0027]; and at least one heating element connected to the coupler body, wherein the at least one heating element is configured to selectively heat the charge coupler [108], wherein the charge coupler includes a coupler body having a charge end and a handle with the at least one heating element including at least one heating element positioned within the handle and operable for warming the handle [Fig. 1]. However, Reber fails to explicitly disclose a sensor operable for detecting an environmental state of the charge coupler, and the heating in response to the environmental state being indicative of accumulated snow or ice on the charge coupler.
Westfall relates to a vehicle charging system and teaches an electrical cable having a distal end and a proximal end [306], wherein the distal end is connected to the charging cabinet [par. 0043]; and a charge coupler connected to the proximal end of the electrical cable and configured to connect to a charge receptacle of the EV [304, see figs. 3-4], the charge coupler comprising a coupler body and at least one resistive heating element connected to the coupler body [320], a sensor operable for detecting an environmental state of the charge coupler [par. 0046], and wherein the at least one heating element is configured to selectively heat the coupler body (i.e. handled area) in response to an environmental state of the charge coupler being indicative of accumulated snow or ice on the charge coupler [par. 0046].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify Garcia-Ferre to additionally include the environmental sensor with resistive heating element in proximity to the contacts/in the handle with selective heating based thereon as taught by Westfall for the benefit of preventing accumulation of snow and ice on the coupler as stated by Westfall, thereby preventing damage to the circuitry such as short circuiting.
With respect to claim 19, Garcia-Ferre further discloses a coolant loop operable for circulating a heated coolant through the charge coupler, wherein the at least one heating element includes the heated coolant [105-106].
With respect to claim 20, Garcia-Ferre as modified above in view of Westfall further discloses wherein the at least one heating element includes a first heating element positioned proximate the plug end and a second heating element positioned proximate the handle [i.e. claim 17 details above Garcia-Ferre discloses heated coolant through the cable and plug handle 108 and Westfall teaches a resistive element in the handled coupler area], and the handle is located between the charge end and a connection of the charge coupler at a proximal end of the electrical cable [100].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Westfall relates to a “hands-free charging for an electric vehicle” and therefore the equated section 302 cannot be a handle.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s position that just because a prior art has a hands-free charging operation for an electric vehicle that categorically disqualifies the entire structure of the prior art from having any handles at all is not persuasive. For example, the electrical connectors could need maintenance or repositioned or get stuck due to the described environmental concerns. Saying it is not possible whatsoever to grab/pickup the charging connector, i.e. handle it, just because the overall operation of the recharging operation is automated does not consider the reference as a whole.
Further, with respect to claim 9, Applicant does not explain how putting a structure limitation of a handle with a heating element gives the method claim weight by affecting the method in a manipulative sense as is required to be given patentable weight instead of merely claiming of use of a particular structure.
Finally, with respect to claim 17 and new reference is applied in view of Garcia-Ferre which explicitly shows a heating element in a handle for an EV.
Therefore, the arguments are not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHANIEL R PELTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859