DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Withdrawn Rejections
Any rejections and or objections, made in the previous Office Action, and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments and/or arguments in the response dated July 10, 2026. However, new rejections may have been made using the same prior art if still applicable to the newly presented amendments and/or arguments.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 4 and 6 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 9, 11 – 14, and 17 – 22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,462,132 to Bellamah. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed towards labels.
Bellamah discloses a label for a pack for consumer goods, the label comprising: a continuous sheet of polymer material including, a pull tab, the pull tab having a triangular shape, and one or more panels configured to at least partially cover the pack, the one or more panels including, an upper front panel connected along a first transverse fold line to the pull tab, an upper front panel side flap connected along a first longitudinal fold line to the upper front panel, the upper front panel side flap including, a first edge of the upper front panel side flap extending transversely outward from a lower end of the first longitudinal fold line, a second edge of the upper front panel side flap extending upwardly from a distal end of the first edge of the upper front panel side flap, and a third edge of the upper front panel side flap extending upwardly and inwardly from an upper end of the second edge of the upper front panel side flap to an upper end of the first longitudinal fold line; a top panel connected along a second transverse fold line to the upper front panel; and a top panel side flap connected along a second longitudinal fold line to the top panel, the top panel side flap including, a first edge of the top panel side flap extending transversely outward form a lower end of the second longitudinal fold line, a second edge of the top panel side flap extending upwardly and outwardly from a distal end of the first edge of the top panel side flap, a third edge of the top panel side flap extending upwardly from an upper end of the second edge of the top panel side flap, and a fourth edge of the top panel side flap extending inwardly from an upper end of the third edge of the top panel side flap to an upper end of the second longitudinal fold line (Claims 1, 12, 13, 14, and 21) as in claim 1. With respect to claim 2, the upper front panel side flap is a first upper front panel side flap, and the one or more panels further comprise: a second upper front panel side flap connected along a third longitudinal fold line to the upper front panel, the third longitudinal fold line being parallel with the first longitudinal fold line, and the second upper front panel side flap including, a first edge of the second upper front panel side flap extending transversely outward from a lower end of the third longitudinal fold line, a second edge of the second upper front panel side flap extending upwardly from a distal end of the first edge, and a third edge of the second upper front panel side flap extending upwardly and inwardly from an upper end of the second edge of the second upper front panel side flap to an upper end of the third longitudinal fold line (Claims 1, 13 and 21). Regarding claim 3, the first upper front panel side flap and the second upper front panel side flap each has a trapezoidal shape (Claim 11). For claim 4, the top panel side flap is a first top panel side flap, and the one or more panels further comprise: a second top panel side flap connected along a third longitudinal fold line to the top panel, the third longitudinal fold line being parallel with the second longitudinal fold line, and the second top panel side flap including, a first edge of the second top panel side flap extending transversely outward form a lower end of the third longitudinal fold line, a second edge of the second top panel side flap extending upwardly and outwardly from a distal end of the first edge of the second top panel side flap, a third edge of the second top panel side flap extending upwardly from an upper end of the second edge of the second top panel side flap, and a fourth edge of the second top panel side flap extending inwardly from an upper end of the third edge of the second top panel side flap to an upper end of the third longitudinal fold line (Claims 14 and 21). With regard to claim 6, the one or more panels further comprise: an upper back panel connected along a third transverse fold line to the top panel; a lower back panel connected along a fourth transverse fold line to the upper back panel; a bottom panel connected along a fifth transverse fold line to the lower back panel; and a lower front panel connected along a sixth transverse fold line to the bottom panel, the pull tab being configured to resealably adhere to at least a portion of the lower front panel (Claims 1, 5, 17, 19, and 21). As in claim 7, the one or more panels further comprise: an upper back panel side flap connected to the upper back panel along a third longitudinal fold line, the upper back panel having at least one angle that is greater than ninety degrees (Claims 17 and 21). With respect to claim 8, the upper back panel side flap is a first upper back panel side flap, and the one or more panels further comprise: a second upper back panel side flap connected to the upper back panel along a fourth longitudinal fold line, the fourth longitudinal fold line being parallel with the third longitudinal fold line, and the second upper back panel side flap having at least one angle that is greater than ninety degrees (Claims 18 and 21). Regarding claim 9, the one or more panels further include a lower back panel side flap connected to the lower back panel along a third longitudinal fold line, the lower back panel side flap having at least one angle that is greater than ninety degrees (Claims 19 and 20). For claim 10, the lower back panel side flap is a first lower back panel side flap, and the one or more panels further comprise: a second lower back panel side flap connected to the lower back panel along a fourth longitudinal fold line, the fourth longitudinal fold line being parallel with the third longitudinal fold line, and the second lower back panel side flap having at least one angle that is greater than ninety degrees (Claims 20 and 21). In claim 11, the one or more panels further comprise: a bottom panel side flap connected to the bottom panel along a third longitudinal fold line (Claim 5). With regard to claim 12, the bottom panel side flap is a first bottom panel side flap, and the one or more panels further comprise: a second bottom panel side flap connected to the bottom panel along a fourth longitudinal fold line, the fourth longitudinal fold line being parallel with the third longitudinal fold line (Claim 5). As in claim 13, the one or more panels further comprise: a lower front panel side flap connected to the lower front panel along a third longitudinal fold line (Claim 6). With respect to claim 14, the lower front panel side flap is a first lower front panel side flap, and the one or more panels further comprise: a second lower front panel side flap connected to the lower front panel along a fourth longitudinal fold line, the fourth longitudinal fold line being parallel with the third longitudinal fold line (Claims 6 and 21). Regarding claim 15, a resealable adhesive is on an entire surface of a first surface of the pull tab, and a permanent adhesive is on at least one of the one or more panels such that the one or more panels adhere to one or more walls of the pack (Claims 1 and 22). For claim 16, the continuous sheet includes the permanent adhesive on each of the one or more panels (Claims 1, 21 and 22). In claim 17, a resealable adhesive is on an entire surface of a first surface of the pull tab, a deadener is on at least a portion of the resealable adhesive, and a permanent adhesive is on at least a portion of the deadener (Claims 1 and 9). With regard to claim 18, the one or more panels are configured to at least partially cover a hinged lid of the pack (Claim 3). As in claim 19, the one or more panels are configured to cover over 25% of the pack (Claim 4). With respect to claim 20, the polymer material includes polyethylene, polyethylene terephthalate (PET), or a combination of polyethylene and polyethylene terephthalate (PET) (Claims 7 and 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 4, 6 – 16, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Focke et al. (USPN 4,121,756) in view of Müller (WO 2013/131620 A1) and Armstrong et al. (USPN 2,981,456).
Focke et al. disclose a label for a pack for consumer goods (Figures; Abstract), the label comprising: a continuous sheet material (Column 2, line 6) including a pull tab (Figure 1, #!6), and one or more panels configured to at least partially cover the pack (Figure 1; Column 2, line 7 to Column 3, line 49), the one or more panels including an upper front panel connected along a first transverse fold line to the pull tab (Figure 1, #15), an upper front panel side flap connected along a first longitudinal fold line to the upper front panel, the upper front panel side flap including, a first edge of the upper front panel side flap extending transversely outward from a lower end of the first longitudinal fold line, a second edge of the upper front panel side flap extending upwardly from a distal end of the first edge of the upper front panel side flap, and a third edge of the upper front panel side flap extending upwardly and inwardly from an upper end of the second edge of the upper front panel side flap to an upper end of the first longitudinal fold line (Figure 1, #35); a top panel connected along a second transverse fold line to the upper front panel (Figure 1, #14); and a top panel side flap connected along a second longitudinal fold line to the top panel, the top panel side flap including, a first edge of the top panel side flap extending transversely outward form a lower end of the second longitudinal fold line, a second edge of the top panel side flap extending upwardly and outwardly from a distal end of the first edge of the top panel side flap, a third edge of the top panel side flap extending upwardly from an upper end of the second edge of the top panel side flap, and a fourth edge of the top panel side flap extending inwardly from an upper end of the third edge of the top panel side flap to an upper end of the second longitudinal fold line (Figure 1, #33) as in claim 1. With respect to claim 2, the upper front panel side flap is a first upper front panel side flap, and the one or more panels further comprise: a second upper front panel side flap connected along a third longitudinal fold line to the upper front panel, the third longitudinal fold line being parallel with the first longitudinal fold line, and the second upper front panel side flap including, a first edge of the second upper front panel side flap extending transversely outward from a lower end of the third longitudinal fold line, a second edge of the second upper front panel side flap extending upwardly from a distal end of the first edge, and a third edge of the second upper front panel side flap extending upwardly and inwardly from an upper end of the second edge of the second upper front panel side flap to an upper end of the third longitudinal fold line (Figure 1, #36). Regarding claim 3, the first upper front panel side flap and the second upper front panel side flap each has a trapezoidal shape (Figure 1, #35 and 36). For claim 4, the top panel side flap is a first top panel side flap, and the one or more panels further comprise: a second top panel side flap connected along a third longitudinal fold line to the top panel, the third longitudinal fold line being parallel with the second longitudinal fold line, and the second top panel side flap including, a first edge of the second top panel side flap extending transversely outward form a lower end of the third longitudinal fold line, a second edge of the second top panel side flap extending upwardly and outwardly from a distal end of the first edge of the second top panel side flap, a third edge of the second top panel side flap extending upwardly from an upper end of the second edge of the second top panel side flap, and a fourth edge of the second top panel side flap extending inwardly from an upper end of the third edge of the second top panel side flap to an upper end of the third longitudinal fold line (Figure 1, #34). With regard to claim 6, the one or more panels further comprise: an upper back panel connected along a third transverse fold line to the top panel (Figure 1, #13); a lower back panel connected along a fourth transverse fold line to the upper back panel; a bottom panel connected along a fifth transverse fold line to the lower back panel (Figure 1, #12); and a lower front panel connected along a sixth transverse fold line to the bottom panel (Figure 1, #10), the pull tab being configured to resealably adhere to at least a portion of the lower front panel (Figure 1, #47). As in claim 7, the one or more panels further comprise: an upper back panel side flap connected to the upper back panel along a third longitudinal fold line, the upper back panel having at least one angle that is greater than ninety degrees (Figure 1, #31). With respect to claim 8, the upper back panel side flap is a first upper back panel side flap, and the one or more panels further comprise: a second upper back panel side flap connected to the upper back panel along a fourth longitudinal fold line, the fourth longitudinal fold line being parallel with the third longitudinal fold line, and the second upper back panel side flap having at least one angle that is greater than ninety degrees (Figure 1, #32). Regarding claim 9, the one or more panels further include a lower back panel side flap connected to the lower back panel along a third longitudinal fold line, the lower back panel side flap having at least one angle that is greater than ninety degrees (Figure 1, #29). For claim 10, the lower back panel side flap is a first lower back panel side flap, and the one or more panels further comprise: a second lower back panel side flap connected to the lower back panel along a fourth longitudinal fold line, the fourth longitudinal fold line being parallel with the third longitudinal fold line, and the second lower back panel side flap having at least one angle that is greater than ninety degrees (Figure 1, #30). In claim 11, the one or more panels further comprise: a bottom panel side flap connected to the bottom panel along a third longitudinal fold line (Figure 1, #27). With regard to claim 12, the bottom panel side flap is a first bottom panel side flap, and the one or more panels further comprise: a second bottom panel side flap connected to the bottom panel along a fourth longitudinal fold line, the fourth longitudinal fold line being parallel with the third longitudinal fold line (Figure 1, #28). As in claim 13, the one or more panels further comprise: a lower front panel side flap connected to the lower front panel along a third longitudinal fold line (Figure 1, #23)). With respect to claim 14, the lower front panel side flap is a first lower front panel side flap, and the one or more panels further comprise: a second lower front panel side flap connected to the lower front panel along a fourth longitudinal fold line, the fourth longitudinal fold line being parallel with the third longitudinal fold line (Figure 1, #24). With regard to claim 18, the one or more panels are configured to at least partially cover a hinged lid of the pack (Figure 2). As in claim 19, the one or more panels are configured to cover over 25% of the pack (Figures 1 and 2). However, Focke et al. fail to disclose a pull tab having a triangular shape, a continuous sheet of polymer material, a resealable adhesive is on an entire surface of a first surface of the pull tab, and a permanent adhesive is on at least one of the one or more panels such that the one or more panels adhere to one or more walls of the pack, and the continuous sheet includes the permanent adhesive on each of the one or more panels.
Armstrong et al. teach a pack for consumer goods (Figures, Abstract) having a disclose a pull tab having a triangular shape (Figures 1 – 6, #18) for the purpose of opening the container (Column 4, lines 1 – 29).
Müller teach a pack for consumer goods (Figures 1 and 2, Abstract), the reseal label comprising: a continuous sheet of polymer material (Page 9, lines 6 – 7) including, a pull tab (Figure 1, #21), and one or more panels configured to at least partially cover the pack (Figure 1; Page 12, line 7 to Page 13, line 6), a resealable adhesive is on an entire surface of a first surface of the pull tab, and a permanent adhesive is on at least one of the one or more panels such that the one or more panels adhere to one or more walls of the pack (Page 13, lines 9 to Page 14, line 12, wherein the adhesive of the overwrap is in contact with the panels of the stiffening material), and the continuous sheet includes the permanent adhesive on each of the one or more panels (Page 13, lines 9 to Page 14, line 12, wherein the adhesive of the overwrap is in contact with the panels of the stiffening material) for the purpose of making a container for consumer goods (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a pull tab with a triangular shape and a continuous sheet of polymer material with a permanent and releasable adhesive in Focke et al. in order to open the container as taught by Armstrong et al. and to make a container for consumer goods as taught by Müller.
With regard to the limitation “a pull tab having a triangular shape”, it is well settled that a particular shape of a prior invention carries no patentable weight unless the applicant can demonstrate that the new shape provides significant unforeseen improvements to the invention. In the instant case, the application does not indicate any new, significant attributes of the invention due to its shape which would have been unforeseen to one of ordinary skill in the art. A change in size or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent unexpected results. MPEP 2144.04 (I) and (IV). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to change the shape of the pull tab in order to change the visual attractiveness of the packaging. It is desirable to change the visual attractiveness of the packaging in order to make the consumer goods more appealing to the consumer.
Claims 5, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Focke et al. (USPN 4,121,756) in view of Müller (WO 2013/131620 A1) and Armstrong et al. (USPN 2,981,456) as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Parker (USPN 6,505,735).
Focke et al, as modified with Müller and Armstrong et al., disclose the claimed invention except for the first top panel side flap and the second top panel side flap each has a pentagonal shape, a deadener is on at least a portion of the resealable adhesive, and a permanent adhesive is on at least a portion of the deadener, and the polymer material includes polyethylene, polyethylene terephthalate (PET), or a combination of polyethylene and polyethylene terephthalate (PET).
Parker teaches the use of a deadener, a mask of varnish, on a tacky adhesive on a tab of label (Column 2, lines 12 – 16) for the purpose of controlling how the adhesive adheres to a surface (Column 2, lines 12 – 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a deadener on the adhesive of Müller in order to control ow the adhesive adheres to a surface as taught by Parker.
With regard to the limitation of “the first top panel side flap and the second top panel side flap each has a pentagonal shape”, it is well settled that a particular shape of a prior invention carries no patentable weight unless the applicant can demonstrate that the new shape provides significant unforeseen improvements to the invention. In the instant case, the application does not indicate any new, significant attributes of the invention due to its shape which would have been unforeseen to one of ordinary skill in the art. A change in size or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent unexpected results. MPEP 2144.04 (I) and (IV). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to change the shape of the top panel side flaps in order to change the visual attractiveness of the packaging. It is desirable to change the visual attractiveness of the packaging in order to make the consumer goods more appealing to the consumer.
With regard to the limitation of “the polymer material includes polyethylene, polyethylene terephthalate (PET), or a combination of polyethylene and polyethylene terephthalate (PET)”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have select polyethylene or polyethylene terephthalate (PET), since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. MP2144.07.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument that the prior art fails to teach a pull tab having a triangular, please see the newly presented rejection in view of Armstrong et al. It is also noted that it is well settled that a particular shape of a prior invention carries no patentable weight unless the applicant can demonstrate that the new shape provides significant unforeseen improvements to the invention. In the instant case, the application does not indicate any new, significant attributes of the invention due to its shape which would have been unforeseen to one of ordinary skill in the art. A change in size or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent unexpected results. MPEP 2144.04 (I) and (IV). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to change the shape of the pull tab in order to change the visual attractiveness of the packaging. It is desirable to change the visual attractiveness of the packaging in order to make the consumer goods more appealing to the consumer.
Conclusion
/Patricia L. Nordmeyer/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788
/pln/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 July 20, 2026