Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 10-14, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Truman (WO 2019/096680 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Truman teaches a motorcycle (vehicle 100) comprising a monocoque (monocoque 204, Figures 1-2), the monocoque comprising:
a shear wall (cover plate 208) that forms an outer wall of the monocoque (Figures 3A to 3E and Figure 4); and
a cooling channel (plurality of apertures 250) running through the shear wall (Figures 3A to 3E and Figure 4).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Truman teaches an electric component (page 13, lines 33-37) thermally connected to the shear wall inside the monocoque (page 18, line 30- page 19, line 5).
Regarding claims 3-4, and 14, Truman teaches that the electric component is a battery (BMS) and an electronic circuit (other electronic systems of the vehicle, page 13, lines 33-37).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Truman teaches that the shear wall is planar (Figures 3A to 3E and Figure 4) or non-planar or is of non- uniform thickness.
Regarding claims 10 and 18, Truman teaches that the cooling channel is uniformly distributed (Figure 4) or non- uniformly distributed within the shear plate.
Regarding claims 11 and 19, Truman teaches a first shell (first clamshell part 700a) and a second shell (second clamshell part 700b), wherein the shear wall closes an open face formed by the first and second shells when the first and second shells are connected to each other (Figure 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 9, 15-16, and 20-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record fails to teach all limitations of the following claims, particularly as follows:
Claims 5 and 15 recite an electric component thermally connected to the shear wall outside the monocoque.
Claims 6-7 and 16 recite that the shear wall is a front wall of the monocoque or a bottom front wall of the monocoque.
Claims 9 and 20 recite a cover over the shear wall.
Since the prior art (e.g. Truman) teaches monocoque that lack said features, the prior art does not anticipate the claimed subject matter.
For illustration purposes, Fig 5 and 10 of the examined disclosure shows the shear wall, which is different than the shear wall taught by the prior art of record (Fig. 3A-D of Truman).
Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to a skilled artisan to have modified the prior art in order to arrive at the claimed invention without resorting to impermissible hindsight.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references noted on the attached PTO-892 form teach monocoques of interest.
/H.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/VALENTIN NEACSU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611