DETAILED ACTION
Summary
The Applicant’s arguments and claims amendments received August 18, 2026 have been entered into the file. Currently, claim 16 has been amended; and claims 13 and 18-19 are cancelled; resulting in claims 1-12, 14-17, and 20-22 pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 18, 2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer, et al. (US 2024/0258612 A1) in view of Bourke, et al. (US 2007/0087266 A1), cited on IDS.
Regarding claims 1 and 21, Meyer teaches a battery module comprising a liquid-tight housing (110) formed by a first end plate (114; front plate), a second end plate (116; back plate), and profile housing (113; single battery housing) (¶ [0086], Ln. 1-5; Fig. 1). As shown in Figures 1 and 4, the profile housing (113) is integrally formed. The profile housing accommodates a plurality of battery cells (120) and a first tempering fluid (¶ [0087], Ln. 1-5). The first tempering fluid is pumped through first fluid channels (11), with the inlet and outlet disposed on the first end plate (114) (¶ [0094], Ln. 1-6); Fig. 3, 7). Each battery cell is in thermal contact with the first tempering fluid (¶ [0010], Ln. 1-7). The plurality of battery cells make up a battery stack (cell assembly) as shown in Figures 19-20. Cell holders (140) hold the individual battery cells in position by covering about 50% of the lateral surface of the cells, and complement the next row of battery cell holders to hold the battery cells in position, forming holes to accommodate the cell body (¶ [0126], Ln. 1-11; Fig. 13-20).
Meyer teaches that the cells are electrically connected to each other by connection sheets (123; cell connectors), which connect to the plus or minus poles of the battery cells and then to electrical feedthroughs (117a, 117b; assembly electrodes) (¶ [0111], Ln. 1-9). The electrical feedthroughs (117a, 117b) are electrically connected to the battery cells and are arranged in respective sealed holes (enclosure interfaces) within the first end plate (114; front plate) and second end plate (116) (¶ [0092], Ln. 1-6, 10-14). The electrical feedthrough extending from the battery cells to the sealed hole is immersed in the first tempering fluid. The electrical feedthroughs (117a, 117b) allow access to voltage of the battery module from the outside by way of the sealed holes (¶ [0092], Ln. 8-10), which therefore electrically expose the battery stack to the external of the battery housing. Meyer does not expressly teach that both sealed holes are disposed on the first end plate (114).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery module of Meyer such that the negative electrical feedthrough (117b) is connected to a sealed hole located in the first end plate (114) rather than the second end plate (116). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that electrodes are commonly placed on the same side of a battery module. One of ordinary skill in the art would find this modification obvious and would be motivated to include both electrode connections on the same side of the battery module for easy connection to external devices.
Meyer further teaches that battery modules may be electrically connected to form a battery pack (¶ [0128], Ln. 1-4), however, Meyer does not expressly teach that two battery stacks (cell assemblies) are installed in the same profile housing (113), with four sealed holes (enclosure interfaces) disposed on the front plate and electrically connected to at least one of cell assemblies such that the two battery stacks are electrically exposed to the external of the battery housing. Meyer therefore does not expressly teach that each of the two battery stacks are removably installed into the housing.
Bourke teaches a modular battery system containing a plurality of battery modules and a cooling manifold, with the battery modules connected in series (¶ [0043], Ln. 1-7). Bourke teaches that the plurality of battery modules (101) are arranged in a system housing (102), further teaching that the modules are secured by rails (110) on the system housing (102) (¶ [0043], Ln. 9-12, 15-18; Fig. 6). Bourke teaches that the rails include securing rings, and the modular system including a plurality of modules on rails allows modules to be transported or maneuvered into and out of the system housing (¶ [0044], Ln. 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery module of Meyer to include a second battery stack (cell assembly) in the same profile housing as the first battery stack and connected in series, based on the teachings of Bourke. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include an additional cell assembly, making the battery module a modular system. Modular battery systems allow a cell assembly to be transported or maneuvered into and out of the housing without impacting the entire battery module. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to include a rail system based on the teachings of Bourke to transport each battery stack. In including a second battery stack in the profile housing, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that an additional set of electrical feedthroughs (117a, 117b) would be included as well. Thus, the first end plate would include four sealed holes (enclosure interfaces) in order to connect with the two electrical feedthroughs of each battery stack.
Further, in modifying the battery module of Meyer to include a second battery stack (cell assembly) in the same profile housing (113), one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that the flow of the first tempering fluid through the first battery stack would apply to the second battery stack. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to continue the flow of tempering fluid through the second battery stack in order to effectively cool all of the battery cells within the module, such that both cell assemblies are immersed in the tempering fluid.
Regarding claim 2, Meyer in view of Bourke teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above and Meyer further teaches that the first tempering fluid cools the battery cells on a circuit, defined by first fluid channels (111; flow control members) (¶ [0123], Ln. 1-7), which are located between the subsets of cells, and therefore between the battery stacks (Fig. 7).
Regarding claims 3 and 6-7, Meyer in view of Bourke teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 above. Meyer does not expressly teach a sealing member neighboring the first end plate (114; front plate) to obstruct a front passage between two neighboring battery stacks.
Bourke teaches that ribs (1643; sealing member) are included to define fluid pathways (¶ [0071], Ln. 9-11), and as shown in Figure 4F below, the ribs neighbor the first and second endplates to obstruct the fluid from flowing between neighboring cell assemblies. In this case, the ribs act as stoppers or bulkhead members to prevent flow from entering neighboring cell assemblies. Bourke teaches that the coolant can be made to circulate through the container in different ways, based on the partitions in the coolant channels (¶ [0073], Ln. 1-5). Bourke teaches directing the coolant through each module in a serpentine path as shown in Figure 4F, which is referred to as a serial connection (¶ [0074], Ln. 14-18).
Fig. 4F, while not shown in the PGPub, was made publicly available on 09/01/2010 in the file wrapper of application 11/252,925, corresponding to US 2007/0087266 to Bourke et al.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery module of Meyer to include a cooling manifold as taught by Bourke. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the cooling circuit taught by Meyer could be altered using ribs and partitions as taught by Bourke in order to circulate the first tempering fluid throughout the battery module in different ways. In doing so, the ribs would function as a stopper or bulkhead member neighboring the first end plate (114; front plate) to obstruct a front passage between two neighboring battery stacks. One would be motivated to alter the cooling circuit to a serial connection in order to effectively cool each battery stack.
Regarding claims 4-5, Meyer in view of Bourke teaches all of the limitations of claim 3 above. Meyer does not expressly teach a front passage comprising a first front opening neighboring the first end plate (114; front plate) and located at a lower surface of one of the two battery stacks and a second front opening corresponding to the first front opening and located at an upper surface of another of the two battery stacks, wherein a sealing member covers the first front opening and second front opening to prevent fluid from flowing through the front passage neighboring the first end plate. Meyer additionally does not teach a fluid passage comprising a first back opening positioned remotely from the first end plate and located at a lower surface of one of the two battery stacks and a second back opening facing the first back opening and located at an upper surface of another of the two battery stacks, wherein a sealing member is remotely positioned from the first back opening and second back opening to allow fluid to through the fluid passage positioned remotely from the first end plate.
Bourke teaches that the battery module is enclosed on all sides and includes a first endplate (401) and second endplate (402; front plate) (¶ [0065], Ln. 1-5; Fig. 4A), wherein the first endplate (401) is positioned remotely from the second endplate (402; front plate). Coolant enters the battery module through the container inlet (1650; fluid inlet), located on the second endplate (402; front plate), and exits the container outlet (1670; fluid outlet) (¶ [0074], Ln. 1-14). Ribs (1643; sealing member) are included to define fluid pathways (¶ [0071], Ln. 9-11), and as shown in Figure 4F, the ribs neighbor the first and second endplates to obstruct the fluid from flowing between neighboring cell assemblies. Bourke teaches that the coolant can be made to circulate through the container in different ways, based on the partitions in the coolant channels (¶ [0073], Ln. 1-5). Bourke teaches directing the coolant through each module in a serpentine path as shown in Figure 4F, which is referred to as a serial connection (¶ [0074], Ln. 14-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery module of Meyer to include a cooling manifold as taught by Bourke that directs the first tempering fluid in a serpentine path. In applying the cooling path taught by Bourke, there would be openings and sealing members at the first end plate (114; front plate) and second end plate (116) that allow the first tempering fluid to flow in a serial connection, preventing fluid from moving through a passage neighboring the first end plate and allowing fluid to move through a passage positioned remotely from the front plate. One would be motivated to alter the cooling circuit to a serial connection in order to effectively cool each battery cell.
Regarding claims 8-9, Meyer in view of Bourke teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 above. Meyer further teaches that the liquid-tight housing (110) includes a second end plate (116; back plate), which is opposite the first end plate (114; front plate) (¶ [0086], Ln. 1-5; Fig. 1), and that the first tempering fluid cools the battery cells on a circuit, defined by first fluid channels (111; flow control members) (¶ [0123], Ln. 1-7), which are located between the subsets of cells, and therefore also between the battery stacks (Fig. 7). Shown in Figure 7, the first fluid channels (111) neighbor the front and back plate, such that the battery stack is sandwiched between two first fluid channels.
Regarding claims 10-12, Meyer in view of Bourke teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 above. Meyer further teaches that the first end plate (114; front plate) and second end plate (116; back plate) are on opposite sides of the housing (Fig. 3), and that the battery stacks are sandwiched between first fluid channels (111; flow control members) when there are multiple first fluid channels (111; flow control members) (Fig. 7). Meyer does not expressly teach a bulkhead member inserted between neighboring battery stacks for separating neighboring battery stacks, wherein the first tempering fluid is unobstructed by a bulkhead opening of the bulkhead member, and that the bulkhead opening is positioned remotely from the first end plate (114; front plate).
Bourke teaches that the battery module is enclosed on all sides and includes a first endplate (401) and second endplate (402; front plate) (¶ [0065], Ln. 1-5; Fig. 4A), wherein the first endplate (401) is positioned remotely from the second endplate (402; front plate). Coolant enters the battery module through the container inlet (1650; fluid inlet), located on the second endplate (402; front plate), and exits the container outlet (1670; fluid outlet) (¶ [0074], Ln. 1-14). Bourke teaches that a bulkhead (146) may be used to provide flow communication between an interconnect (136, 137) and its respective inlet or outlet. Bourke does not expressly teach a bulkhead member inserted between neighboring cell assemblies for separating neighboring cell assemblies, wherein the coolant is unobstructed by a bulkhead opening of the bulkhead member, and that the bulkhead opening is positioned remotely from the second endplate (402; front plate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery module of Meyer in view of Bourke to include a bulkhead member inserted between neighboring battery stacks for separating neighboring battery stacks, wherein the first tempering fluid is unobstructed by a bulkhead opening of the bulkhead member, and the bulkhead opening is positioned remotely from the first end plate (114; front plate). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that in order for the first tempering fluid to flow in a serial connection, there need to be obstructed areas but also areas where the fluid can flow between the battery stacks. In order to allow the fluid to flow but maintain structure of the battery module, it would obvious to include a bulkhead member with a bulkhead opening. It would be obvious to include the bulkhead opening positioned remotely from the first end plate as the first tempering fluid needs to flow away from the inlet and throughout the battery assemblies in order to effectively cool the battery cells.
Regarding claims 14-15, Meyer in view of Bourke teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above, including a first end plate including four sealed holes in order to connect with the two electrical feedthroughs of each of the two battery stacks (each of the plurality of enclosure interfaces is respectively coupled to at least one of the plurality of assembly electrodes). Thus, the combination of references teaches a first end plate including a plurality of sealed holes comprising interface holes and connector interfaces, with each of the plurality of electrical feedthroughs penetrating through one of the plurality of interface holes such that the electrical feedthroughs are electronically coupled to the connector interfaces and are exposed to the outside of the front plate, making voltage of the battery module accessible from the outside.
Regarding claim 16, Meyer in view of Bourke teaches all of the limitations of claim 15 above, including each sealed hole coupled to an electrical feedthrough. Meyer in view of Bourke does not expressly teach that a specific one of the sealed holes further includes more than one interface region, and each of the interface regions is coupled to one of the electrical feedthroughs.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sealed holes of Meyer in view of Bourke to include multiple interface regions. In the case that the module includes interface regions, the portion where an electrical feedthrough extending through the front plate is considered an interface region. Further, the portion where the electrical feedthrough extending through the front plate must be included in the sealed hole in order to provide a liquid-tight housing. As each cell stack includes two electrical feedthroughs, each requiring an interface region, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to include both interface regions within the same sealed hole, such that the sealed hole (enclosure interface) includes more than one interface region (portion where the electrical feedthrough extending through the front plate), with each interface region coupled to an electrical feedthrough (assembly electrode). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this modification in order to reduce the area where holes are made in the liquid-tight housing.
Regarding claim 17, Meyer in view of Bourke teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above and Meyer further teaches that the battery module includes temperature sensors including temperature sensor lines (first wiring member) and voltage sensing lines (second wiring member) attached to the complementary cell holders and connecting to the connection sheet to provide temperature and voltage signals to the outside of the battery module (¶ [0120], Ln. 1-11).
Regarding claim 20, Meyer teaches a battery module comprising a liquid-tight housing (110) formed by a first end plate (114; front plate), a second end plate (116; back plate), and profile housing (113; single battery housing) (¶ [0086], Ln. 1-5; Fig. 1). As shown in Figures 1 and 4, the profile housing (113) is integrally formed. The profile housing accommodates a plurality of battery cells (120) and a first tempering fluid (¶ [0087], Ln. 1-5). The first tempering fluid is pumped through first fluid channels (11), with the inlet and outlet disposed on the first end plate (114) (¶ [0094], Ln. 1-6); Fig. 3, 7). Each battery cell is in thermal contact with the first tempering fluid (¶ [0010], Ln. 1-7). The plurality of battery cells make up a battery stack (cell assembly) as shown in Figures 19-20. Cell holders (140) hold the individual battery cells in position by covering about 50% of the lateral surface of the cells, and complement the next row of battery cell holders to hold the battery cells in position, forming holes to accommodate the cell body (¶ [0126], Ln. 1-11; Fig. 13-20).
Meyer teaches that the cells are electrically connected to each other by connection sheets (123; cell connectors), which connect to the plus or minus poles of the battery cells and then to electrical feedthroughs (117a, 117b; assembly electrodes) (¶ [0111], Ln. 1-9). The electrical feedthroughs (117a, 117b) are electrically connected to the battery cells and are arranged in respective sealed holes (enclosure interfaces) within the first end plate (114; front plate) and second end plate (116) (¶ [0092], Ln. 1-6, 10-14). The electrical feedthrough extending from the battery cells to the sealed hole is immersed in the first tempering fluid. The electrical feedthroughs (117a, 117b) allow access to voltage of the battery module from the outside by way of the sealed holes (¶ [0092], Ln. 8-10), which therefore electrically expose the battery stack to the external of the battery housing. Meyer does not expressly teach that both sealed holes are disposed on the first end plate (114).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery module of Meyer such that the negative electrical feedthrough (117b) is connected to a sealed hole located in the first end plate (114) rather than the second end plate (116). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that electrodes are commonly placed on the same side of a battery module. One of ordinary skill in the art would find this modification obvious and would be motivated to include both electrode connections on the same side of the battery module for easy connection to external devices.
Meyer further teaches that battery modules may be electrically connected to form a battery pack (¶ [0128], Ln. 1-4), however, Meyer does not expressly teach that two battery stacks (cell assemblies) are installed in the same profile housing (113), with four sealed holes (enclosure interfaces) disposed on the front plate and electrically connected to at least one of cell assemblies such that the two battery stacks are electrically exposed to the external of the battery housing. Meyer therefore does not expressly teach that each of the two battery stacks are removably installed into the housing.
Bourke teaches a modular battery system containing a plurality of battery modules and a cooling manifold, with the battery modules connected in series (¶ [0043], Ln. 1-7). Bourke teaches that the plurality of battery modules (101) are arranged in a system housing (102), further teaching that the modules are secured by rails (110) on the system housing (102) (¶ [0043], Ln. 9-12, 15-18; Fig. 6). Bourke teaches that the rails include securing rings, and the modular system including a plurality of modules on rails allows modules to be transported or maneuvered into and out of the system housing (¶ [0044], Ln. 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery module of Meyer to include a second battery stack (cell assembly) in the same profile housing as the first battery stack and connected in series, based on the teachings of Bourke. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include an additional cell assembly, making the battery module a modular system. Modular battery systems allow a cell assembly to be transported or maneuvered into and out of the housing without impacting the entire battery module. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to include a rail system based on the teachings of Bourke to transport each battery stack. In including a second battery stack in the profile housing, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that an additional set of electrical feedthroughs (117a, 117b) would be included as well. Thus, the first end plate would include four sealed holes (enclosure interfaces) in order to connect with the two electrical feedthroughs of each battery stack.
Further, in modifying the battery module of Meyer to include a second battery stack (cell assembly) in the same profile housing (113), one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that the flow of the first tempering fluid through the first battery stack would apply to the second battery stack. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to continue the flow of tempering fluid through the second battery stack in order to effectively cool all of the battery cells within the module, such that both cell assemblies are immersed in the tempering fluid.
Meyer further teaches that a plurality of battery modules may be electrically connecting to form a battery system, and that the plurality of battery modules are connected to a secondary tempering system (¶ [0014], Ln. 1-5). Meyer does not expressly teach that the battery system includes a casing including a side wall with a casing inlet, casing outlet, and two casing interfaces disposed on the side wall.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery system of Meyer in view of Bourke to include a casing for the battery system. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a casing is commonly included over a battery module or system in order to protect the system. As the battery system includes a secondary tempering system, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to include a casing inlet and outlet for the secondary tempering fluid to flow in and out of the system. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to include two casing interfaces, as interfaces for the positive and negative electrode leads are required for the battery system to supply power to external devices. Thus, one would be motivated to include a casing for the battery system in order to provide protection for the battery system, and one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to include the casing inlet, casing outlet, and casing interfaces in order for the battery system to function as intended.
Regarding claim 22, Meyer in view of Bourke teaches all of the limitations of claim 21 above. As the combination of references teaches a modular battery system including a rail system to allow a battery stack to be transported or maneuvered into and out of the housing without impacting the entire battery module, the combination of references teaches a plurality of protrusion lines along the longitudinal axis thereof.
Response to Arguments
Response-Claim Objections
Applicant's amendments to claim 16 in the response filed August 18, 2026 overcome the previous objection to claim 16 over minor informalities.
Response-Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 112
Applicant's cancellation of claim 13 and amendments to claim 16 in the response filed August 18, 2026 overcome the previous rejections of claims 13 and 16 as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Response-Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant's arguments filed August 18, 2026 with respect to Meyer, et al. (US 2024/0258612 A1) in view of Bourke, et al. (US 2007/0087266 A1) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that: the invention is not addressed as a whole; the rejections including arguments of obviousness over common knowledge miss limitations at the heart of the invention; Meyer does not teach a cell holder with holder holes; Meyer does not teach two assembly electrodes for each cell assembly; Meyer does not teach an integrally formed housing; Meyer does not teach flow control members disposed between cell assemblies; Meyer does not teach the claimed first and second wiring members; Meyer does not teach the claimed interface holes and connector interfaces; Meyer in view of Bourke does not teach cell assemblies in series or in parallel; Meyer does not teach two or more cell assemblies in one enclosure; Meyer does not teach four enclosure interfaces on one front plate; Meyer does not teach assembly electrodes belonging to each cell assembly; Meyer does not teach immersion of cell assemblies; Meyer does not teach removable installation of each cell assembly; Bourke does not teach immersion; Bourke has no unit answering to a cell assembly; Bourke’s rails do not supply removable installation; Bourke’s ribs are not a sealing member; Bourke’s coupling features are not the same as the requirements of claim 20; one of ordinary skill in the art would not have modified Meyer’s arrangement; one of ordinary skill in the art would not have modified Bourke’s arrangement; the prior art does not recognize the problem solved by the instant invention; and that the prior art does not recognize the effects of the arrangement of the instant invention.
With respect to the argument, see pages 12-14 of the remarks, that the invention is not addressed as a whole, this argument is not persuasive. The Applicant argues that missing limitations are addressed one at a time, without addressing the claimed invention as a whole, however, the rejection of claims 1 and 21 above addresses all of the limitations of those claims together. For example, the first missing limitation addressed is that Meyer does not expressly teach that both sealed holes are disposed on the first end plate. This limitation is addressed in paragraph 11 of the office action above, as one of ordinary skill in the art would find this modification obvious and would be motivated to include both electrode connections on the same side of the battery module for easy connection to external devices. Subsequently, in looking the next missing limitation, Meyer does not expressly teach that two battery stacks (cell assemblies) are installed in the same profile housing (113), with four sealed holes (enclosure interfaces) disposed on the front plate and electrically connected to at least one of cell assemblies such that the two battery stacks are electrically exposed to the external of the battery housing. Bourke is relied upon to address this limitation. Bourke is relied upon as a secondary reference to include an additional cell assembly, making the battery module a modular system. As noted in the rejection above, in including a second battery stack in the profile housing, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that an additional set of electrical feedthroughs (117a, 117b) would be included as well. When this limitation is addressed, the rejection of the first missing limitation is preserved, as it is noted in paragraph 14 above that in including both electrode connections on the same side of the battery module and including a second battery stack in the profile housing, four sealed holes would be disposed on the front plate of the battery module.
With respect to the argument, see pages 14-15 of the remarks, that the rejections including arguments of obviousness over common knowledge miss limitations at the heart of the invention, this argument is not persuasive. The Applicant argues that it would not be obvious to modify the battery module of Meyer to include both electrode connections on the same side of the battery module, to modify the battery module of Meyer in view of Bourke to continue to flow of tempering fluid through the second battery stack, or to modify the battery module of Meyer in view of Bourke to include a casing based on common knowledge in the art, as these limitations are at the heart of the instant invention. This argument is not persuasive. As noted in the office action above, the location of electrode interfaces being on the same side of a battery module is common practice. One of ordinary skill in the art would find this modification to the battery module of Meyer obvious and would have motivation to do so for easy connection to external devices. Further, continuing the flow of tempering fluid through the second battery stack is a modification one of ordinary skill in the art would make in the addition of a second battery stack to the module as explained above. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that in adding a second battery stack to a battery module wherein a tempering fluid is used to cool the first battery stack, the tempering fluid would be used to cool the second battery stack as well. Finally, providing a casing around a battery module is common in the art, and providing access to electrical feedthroughs and tempering fluid inlet/outlet in the casing is necessary for the battery module to function. It is noted that these modifications are not the inventive concepts of the instant invention but are common design choices in the battery art.
With respect to the argument, see pages 16-18 and 20 of the remarks, that Meyer does not teach a cell holder with holder holes, this argument is not persuasive. The Applicant argues that the cell holders of Meyer do not include holes, further arguing that the interpretation is broader than the claim reasonably allows. This argument is not persuasive. Meyer teaches that cell holders cover about 50% of the lateral surface of the battery cells and one cell holder is positively adjacent to the next (¶ [0126], Ln. 1-11; Fig. 13-20). Given this description and the shape of the cell holders provided in Figure 13, it is clear that adjacent cell holders create holes for each battery cell. Thus, as included in paragraph 9 above, the complementary cell holders (140) form a cell holder with holder holes that accommodate and hold at least of part of the body of one of the plurality of battery cells. A cell holder with holder holes allows for interpretation of complementary pieces creating a hole for each battery cell.
With respect to the argument, see page 16 of the remarks, that Meyer does not teach two assembly electrodes for each cell assembly, this argument is not persuasive. The teachings of Bourke are relied upon to include a second battery stack (cell assembly) in the same profile housing and connected in series. As noted in paragraph 14 above, in including an additional battery stack, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that an additional set of electrodes would be included on the additional battery stack, in order to provide electrical connection to the additional battery stack. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
With respect to the argument, see page 16 of the remarks, that Meyer does not teach an integrally formed housing, this argument is not persuasive. The Applicant argues that Meyer does not use the term “integral” however, as the term integral simply requires the housing to be connected together to form a single unit, Figures 1 and 4 are sufficient to address the claim limitation.
With respect to the argument, see pages 16-17 of the remarks, that Meyer does not teach flow control members disposed between cell assemblies, this argument is not persuasive. As stated in the office action above, the fluid channels of Meyer are interpreted as the flow control members. As shown in Figure 7, fluid channels are located between subsets of cells.
With respect to the argument, see page 17 of the remarks, that Meyer does not teach the claimed first and second wiring members, this argument is not persuasive. Meyer teaches that the battery module includes temperature sensors including temperature sensor lines (first wiring member) and voltage sensing lines (second wiring member) attached to the complementary cell holders and connecting to the connection sheet to provide temperature and voltage signals to the outside of the battery module (¶ [0120], Ln. 1-11). As Meyer teaches the wiring members attached to the cell holders, the wiring members are a part of each cell stack.
With respect to the argument, see page 17 of the remarks, that Meyer does not teach the claimed interface holes and connector interfaces, this argument is not persuasive. The combination of references teaches a first end plate including a plurality of sealed holes comprising interface holes and connector interfaces, with each of the plurality of electrical feedthroughs penetrating through one of the plurality of interface holes such that the electrical feedthroughs are electronically coupled to the connector interfaces and are exposed to the outside of the front plate, making voltage of the battery module accessible from the outside. It is noted that the rejection of claim 16 is modified above to address the amended claim.
With respect to the argument, see pages 18 and 20 of the remarks, that Meyer in view of Bourke do not teach cell assemblies in series or in parallel, this argument is not persuasive. Bourke teaches a modular battery system containing a plurality of battery modules and a cooling manifold, with the battery modules connected in series (¶ [0043], Ln. 1-7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery module of Meyer to include a second battery stack (cell assembly) in the same profile housing as the first battery stack and connected in series, based on the teachings of Bourke. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand how to connect the additional cell stack in series and would find it obvious to do so in order to electrically connect the two battery stacks.
With respect to the argument, see pages 19-21, that Meyer does not teach two or more cell assemblies in one enclosure; Meyer does not teach four enclosure interfaces on one front plate; Meyer does not teach assembly electrodes belonging to each cell assembly; and Meyer does not teach removable installation of each cell assembly, these arguments are not persuasive. As previously noted, the teachings of Bourke are relied upon to include a second battery stack in the same profile housing, creating a modular assembly. Thus, the first end plate would include four sealed holes (enclosure interfaces) in order to connect with the two electrical feedthroughs of each battery stack. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
With respect to the argument, see pages 18, 20-21, and 24 of the remarks, that Meyer does not teach immersion of cell assemblies, this argument is not persuasive. The Applicant argues that Meyer teaches that “each cell is isolated from the first tempering fluid” however, this statement is not included in Meyer [0126] as argued. Meyer expressly teaches that the battery module includes a liquid-tight housing, a plurality of battery cells, and a first tempering fluid in thermal contact with the plurality of cells (¶ [0129], Ln. 1-6). Thus, Meyer teaches immersion cooling.
With respect to the argument, see page 22-23 of the remarks, that Bourke does not teach immersion and that Bourke’s coupling features are not the same as the requirements of claim 20, this argument is not persuasive. The teachings of Bourke are not relied upon to teach the immersion of cells, as Meyer teaches that limitation. Similarly, the teachings of Bourke are not expressly relied on to teach that the electrical connections and tempering fluid inlet/outlet would need to be connected to the casing, as indicated in the rejection of claim 20 above. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
With respect to the argument, see pages 22 and 25 of the remarks, that Bourke has no unit answering to a cell assembly, this argument is not persuasive. Bourke teaches a system including a plurality of battery modules, referring to each battery module as a monoblock battery (¶ [0043], Ln. 1-4). Bourke further describes a monoblock battery as a multi-cell battery (¶ [0001], Ln. 1-5), and thus teaches that each module includes more than one cell.
With respect to the argument, see pages 22 and 25 of the remarks, that Bourke’s rails do not supply removable installation, this argument is not persuasive. Bourke expressly teaches that the battery modules are secured between a pair of rails, and that the modules may be transported or maneuvered independently or simultaneously into and out of the system housing using the rails (¶ [0044], Ln. 1-5). The teaching of Bourke is used to modify the battery module of Meyer such that the first and second battery stacks could be transported or maneuvered using a rail system.
With respect to the argument, see page 22 of the remarks, that Bourke’s ribs are not a sealing member, this argument is not persuasive. The Applicant argues that ribs (1643) are on the outer surfaces of side walls to connect, not obstruct, cooling channels. However, in looking to Figure 4F (included in the office action above), while ribs may be considered as connecting certain cooling channels, they also obstruct the flow path. As shown in Figure 4F, the ribs direct coolant such that it flows in a serpentine path, with the ribs acting as sealing members.
With respect to the argument, see page 24 of the remarks, that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have modified Meyer’s arrangement, this argument is not persuasive. As detailed above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery module of Meyer to include a second battery stack (cell assembly) in the same profile housing as the first battery stack and connected in series, based on the teachings of Bourke. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include an additional cell assembly, making the battery module a modular system. Modular battery systems allow a cell assembly to be transported or maneuvered into and out of the housing without impacting the entire battery module.
With respect to the argument, see page 25 of the remarks, that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have modified Bourke’s arrangement, this argument is not persuasive. The teachings of Bourke are relied upon as a secondary reference to modify the battery module of Meyer. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
With respect to the argument, see pages 21 and 26-27 of the remarks, that the prior art does not recognize the problem solved by the instant invention and that the prior art does not recognize the effects of the arrangement of the instant invention, this argument is not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument that the claimed arrangement reduces the liquid connectors and allows each cell assembly to be separately reachable on the outer side of the plate, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH J JACOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1785
/MARK RUTHKOSKY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1785