DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Summary
The Applicant’s arguments and claims amendments received February 10, 2026 have been entered into the file. Currently, claims 1-7, 9-10, 12, 17, and 20-21 have been amended; and claims 18-19 have been cancelled; resulting in claims 1-17 and 20-22 pending for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 16, lines 5-6 of the claim recite that “each of the more than one interface region is coupled to one of the more than one of the plurality of assembly electrodes.” It appears that the claim is meant to state “each of the more than one interface region is coupled to one of the plurality of assembly electrodes.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13, the limitation in lines 4-5 reciting that “each of the plurality of assembly electrodes penetrates respectively through one of the plurality of interface holes to be exposed to the outside of the front plate,” is indefinite in light of Applicant’s arguments filed February 10, 2026. On page 23 of the remarks, the Applicant argues that according to claim 1, the assembly electrodes are located within the liquid tight battery enclosure as part of one cell assembly, indicating that the entirety of the assembly electrode must be immersed in fluid to satisfy claim 1. Paragraph [0078] of the instant specification describes an embodiment in which each assembly electrode penetrates through an enclosure interface to be directly exposed to the outside of the front plate, indicating that the portion of the assembly electrode exposed to the outside of the front plate is not immersed in fluid. Based on this embodiment and in light of the arguments filed February 10, 2026, an electrode assembly connected to the cell connectors inside the enclosure, such that a portion of the electrode assembly is immersed in fluid, and additionally including a portion extending to the outside of the front plate is considered to satisfy the claim.
Regarding claim 16, the limitation in claim 16 is indefinite as the phrase “when the specific one of the plurality of enclosure interfaces is coupled to more than one of the plurality of assembly electrodes” is included in the middle of the claim, such that it is unclear if both limitations included in the claim (the enclosure interface including more than one interface region and each interface region being coupled to one assembly electrode) are pertaining to the specific configuration when a specific one of the plurality of enclosure interfaces is coupled to more than of the plurality of electrodes. In looking to the specification, paragraph [0019] describes an embodiment in which each assembly electrode is electronically coupled to one of the plurality of connector interfaces and paragraph [0021] describes an embodiment in which a specific enclosure interface includes more than one interface region, and each interface region is coupled to one assembly electrode. Therefore, claim 16 is interpreted as referring to a situation where, in the case that that an enclosure interface is coupled to more than one of the plurality of assembly electrodes, the limitations that the enclosure interface includes more than one interface region and each interface region being coupled to one assembly electrode must be met. It is recommended to modify the wording of claim 16 such that the claim reads “when a specific one of the plurality of enclosure interfaces is coupled to more than one of the plurality of assembly electrodes, the specific one of the plurality of enclosure interfaces further includes more than one interface region, and the more than one interface region is coupled to one of the plurality of assembly electrodes.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer, et al. (US 2024/0258612 A1) in view of Bourke, et al. (US 2007/0087266 A1), cited on IDS.
Regarding claims 1 and 21, Meyer teaches a battery module comprising a liquid-tight housing (110) formed by a first end plate (114; front plate), a second end plate (116; back plate), and profile housing (113; single battery housing) (¶ [0086], Ln. 1-5; Fig. 1). As shown in Figures 1 and 4, the profile housing (113) is integrally formed. The profile housing accommodates a plurality of battery cells (120) and a first tempering fluid (¶ [0087], Ln. 1-5). The first tempering fluid is pumped through first fluid channels (11), with the inlet and outlet disposed on the first end plate (114) (¶ [0094], Ln. 1-6); Fig. 3, 7). Each battery cell is in thermal contact with the first tempering fluid (¶ [0010], Ln. 1-7). The plurality of battery cells make up a battery stack (cell assembly) as shown in Figures 19-20. Cell holders (140) hold the individual battery cells in position by covering about 50% of the lateral surface of the cells, and complement the next row of battery cell holders to hold the battery cells in position, forming holes to accommodate the cell body (¶ [0126], Ln. 1-11; Fig. 13-20).
Meyer teaches that the cells are electrically connected to each other by connection sheets (123; cell connectors), which connect to the plus or minus poles of the battery cells and then to electrical feedthroughs (117a, 117b; assembly electrodes) (¶ [0111], Ln. 1-9). The electrical feedthroughs (117a, 117b) are electrically connected to the battery cells and are arranged in respective sealed holes (enclosure interfaces) within the first end plate (114; front plate) and second end plate (116) (¶ [0092], Ln. 1-6, 10-14). The electrical feedthrough extending from the battery cells to the sealed hole is immersed in the first tempering fluid. The electrical feedthroughs (117a, 117b) allow access to voltage of the battery module from the outside by way of the sealed holes (¶ [0092], Ln. 8-10), which therefore electrically expose the battery stack to the external of the battery housing. Meyer does not expressly teach that both sealed holes are disposed on the first end plate (114).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery module of Meyer such that the negative electrical feedthrough (117b) is connected to a sealed hole located in the first end plate (114) rather than the second end plate (116). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that electrodes are commonly placed on the same side of a battery module. One of ordinary skill in the art would find this modification obvious and would be motivated to include both electrode connections on the same side of the battery module for easy connection to external devices.
Meyer further teaches that battery modules may be electrically connected to form a battery pack (¶ [0128], Ln. 1-4), however, Meyer does not expressly teach that two battery stacks (cell assemblies) are installed in the same profile housing (113), with four sealed holes (enclosure interfaces) disposed on the front plate and electrically connected to at least one of cell assemblies such that the two battery stacks are electrically exposed to the external of the battery housing. Meyer therefore does not expressly teach that each of the two battery stacks are removably installed into the housing.
Bourke teaches a modular battery system containing a plurality of battery modules and a cooling manifold, with the battery modules connected in series (¶ [0043], Ln. 1-7). Bourke teaches that the plurality of battery modules (101) are arranged in a system housing (102), further teaching that the modules are secured by rails (110) on the system housing (102) (¶ [0043], Ln. 9-12, 15-18; Fig. 6). Bourke teaches that the rails include securing rings, and the modular system including a plurality of modules on rails allows modules to be transported or maneuvered into and out of the system housing (¶ [0044], Ln. 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery module of Meyer to include a second battery stack (cell assembly) in the same profile housing as the first battery stack and connected in series, based on the teachings of Bourke. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include an additional cell assembly, making the battery module a modular system. Modular battery systems allow a cell assembly to be transported or maneuvered into and out of the housing without impacting the entire battery module. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to include a rail system based on the teachings of Bourke to transport each battery stack. In including a second battery stack in the profile housing, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that an additional set of electrical feedthroughs (117a, 117b) would be included as well. Thus, the first end plate would include four sealed holes (enclosure interfaces) in order to connect with the two electrical feedthroughs of each battery stack.
Further, in modifying the battery module of Meyer to include a second battery stack (cell assembly) in the same profile housing (113), one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that the flow of the first tempering fluid through the first battery stack would apply to the second battery stack. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to continue the flow of tempering fluid through the second battery stack in order to effectively cool all of the battery cells within the module, such that both cell assemblies are immersed in the tempering fluid.
Regarding claim 2, Meyer in view of Bourke teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above and Meyer further teaches that the first tempering fluid cools the battery cells on a circuit, defined by first fluid channels (111; flow control members) (¶ [0123], Ln. 1-7), which are located between the subsets of cells, and therefore between the battery stacks (Fig. 7).
Regarding claims 3 and 6-7, Meyer in view of Bourke teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 above. Meyer does not expressly teach a sealing member neighboring the first end plate (114; front plate) to obstruct a front passage between two neighboring battery stacks.
Bourke teaches that ribs (1643; sealing member) are included to define fluid pathways (¶ [0071], Ln. 9-11), and as shown in Figure 4F below, the ribs neighbor the first and second endplates to obstruct the fluid from flowing between neighboring cell assemblies. In this case, the ribs act as stoppers or bulkhead members to prevent flow from entering neighboring cell assemblies. Bourke teaches that the coolant can be made to circulate through the container in different ways, based on the partitions in the coolant channels (¶ [0073], Ln. 1-5). Bourke teaches directing the coolant through each module in a serpentine path as shown in Figure 4F, which is referred to as a serial connection (¶ [0074], Ln. 14-18).
Fig. 4F, while not shown in the PGPub, was made publicly available on 09/01/2010 in the file wrapper of application 11/252,925, corresponding to US 2007/0087266 to Bourke et al.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery module of Meyer to include a cooling manifold as taught by Bourke. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the cooling circuit taught by Meyer could be altered using ribs and partitions as taught by Bourke in order to circulate the first tempering fluid throughout the battery module in different ways. In doing so, the ribs would function as a stopper or bulkhead member neighboring the first end plate (114; front plate) to obstruct a front passage between two neighboring battery stacks. One would be motivated to alter the cooling circuit to a serial connection in order to effectively cool each battery stack.
Regarding claims 4-5, Meyer in view of Bourke teaches all of the limitations of claim 3 above. Meyer does not expressly teach a front passage comprising a first front opening neighboring the first end plate (114; front plate) and located at a lower surface of one of the two battery stacks and a second front opening corresponding to the first front opening and located at an upper surface of another of the two battery stacks, wherein a sealing member covers the first front opening and second front opening to prevent fluid from flowing through the front passage neighboring the first end plate. Meyer additionally does not teach a fluid passage comprising a first back opening positioned remotely from the first end plate and located at a lower surface of one of the two battery stacks and a second back opening facing the first back opening and located at an upper surface of another of the two battery stacks, wherein a sealing member is remotely positioned from the first back opening and second back opening to allow fluid to through the fluid passage positioned remotely from the first end plate.
Bourke teaches that the battery module is enclosed on all sides and includes a first endplate (401) and second endplate (402; front plate) (¶ [0065], Ln. 1-5; Fig. 4A), wherein the first endplate (401) is positioned remotely from the second endplate (402; front plate). Coolant enters the battery module through the container inlet (1650; fluid inlet), located on the second endplate (402; front plate), and exits the container outlet (1670; fluid outlet) (¶ [0074], Ln. 1-14). Ribs (1643; sealing member) are included to define fluid pathways (¶ [0071], Ln. 9-11), and as shown in Figure 4F, the ribs neighbor the first and second endplates to obstruct the fluid from flowing between neighboring cell assemblies. Bourke teaches that the coolant can be made to circulate through the container in different ways, based on the partitions in the coolant channels (¶ [0073], Ln. 1-5). Bourke teaches directing the coolant through each module in a serpentine path as shown in Figure 4F, which is referred to as a serial connection (¶ [0074], Ln. 14-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery module of Meyer to include a cooling manifold as taught by Bourke that directs the first tempering fluid in a serpentine path. In applying the cooling path taught by Bourke, there would be openings and sealing members at the first end plate (114; front plate) and second end plate (116) that allow the first tempering fluid to flow in a serial connection, preventing fluid from moving through a passage neighboring the first end plate and allowing fluid to move through a passage positioned remotely from the front plate. One would be motivated to alter the cooling circuit to a serial connection in order to effectively cool each battery cell.
Regarding claims 8-9, Meyer in view of Bourke teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 above. Meyer further teaches that the liquid-tight housing (110) includes a second end plate (116; back plate), which is opposite the first end plate (114; front plate) (¶ [0086], Ln. 1-5; Fig. 1), and that the first tempering fluid cools the battery cells on a circuit, defined by first fluid channels (111; flow control members) (¶ [0123], Ln. 1-7), which are located between the subsets of cells, and therefore also between the battery stacks (Fig. 7). Shown in Figure 7, the first fluid channels (111) neighbor the front and back plate, such that the battery stack is sandwiched between two first fluid channels.
Regarding claims 10-12, Meyer in view of Bourke teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 above. Meyer further teaches that the first end plate (114; front plate) and second end plate (116; back plate) are on opposite sides of the housing (Fig. 3), and that the battery stacks are sandwiched between first fluid channels (111; flow control members) when there are multiple first fluid channels (111; flow control members) (Fig. 7). Meyer does not expressly teach a bulkhead member inserted between neighboring battery stacks for separating neighboring battery stacks, wherein the first tempering fluid is unobstructed by a bulkhead opening of the bulkhead member, and that the bulkhead opening is positioned remotely from the first end plate (114; front plate).
Bourke teaches that the battery module is enclosed on all sides and includes a first endplate (401) and second endplate (402; front plate) (¶ [0065], Ln. 1-5; Fig. 4A), wherein the first endplate (401) is positioned remotely from the second endplate (402; front plate). Coolant enters the battery module through the container inlet (1650; fluid inlet), located on the second endplate (402; front plate), and exits the container outlet (1670; fluid outlet) (¶ [0074], Ln. 1-14). Bourke teaches that a bulkhead (146) may be used to provide flow communication between an interconnect (136, 137) and its respective inlet or outlet. Bourke does not expressly teach a bulkhead member inserted between neighboring cell assemblies for separating neighboring cell assemblies, wherein the coolant is unobstructed by a bulkhead opening of the bulkhead member, and that the bulkhead opening is positioned remotely from the second endplate (402; front plate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery module of Meyer in view of Bourke to include a bulkhead member inserted between neighboring battery stacks for separating neighboring battery stacks, wherein the first tempering fluid is unobstructed by a bulkhead opening of the bulkhead member, and the bulkhead opening is positioned remotely from the first end plate (114; front plate). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that in order for the first tempering fluid to flow in a serial connection, there need to be obstructed areas but also areas where the fluid can flow between the battery stacks. In order to allow the fluid to flow but maintain structure of the battery module, it would obvious to include a bulkhead member with a bulkhead opening. It would be obvious to include the bulkhead opening positioned remotely from the first end plate as the first tempering fluid needs to flow away from the inlet and throughout the battery assemblies in order to effectively cool the battery cells.
Regarding claims 13-15, Meyer in view of Bourke teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above, including a first end plate including four sealed holes in order to connect with the two electrical feedthroughs of each of the two battery stacks (each of the plurality of enclosure interfaces is respectively coupled to at least one of the plurality of assembly electrodes). Thus, the combination of references teaches a first end plate including a plurality of sealed holes comprising interface holes and connector interfaces, with each of the plurality of electrical feedthroughs penetrating through one of the plurality of interface holes such that the electrical feedthroughs are electronically coupled to the connector interfaces and are exposed to the outside of the front plate, making voltage of the battery module accessible from the outside.
Regarding claim 16, Meyer in view of Bourke teaches all of the limitations of claim 15 above. As the combination of references teaches each of the four sealed holes respectively coupled to one of the plurality of electrical feedthroughs, the combination of references does not teach the configuration including one of the sealed holes coupled to more than one of the plurality of electrical feedthroughs. Thus, the limitation regarding the configuration in which one of the sealed holes is coupled to more than one of the plurality of electrical feedthroughs does not apply to the configuration taught by Meyer in view of Bourke and the claim is satisfied.
Regarding claim 17, Meyer in view of Bourke teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 above and Meyer further teaches that the battery module includes temperature sensors including temperature sensor lines (first wiring member) and voltage sensing lines (second wiring member) attached to the complementary cell holders and connecting to the connection sheet to provide temperature and voltage signals to the outside of the battery module (¶ [0120], Ln. 1-11).
Regarding claim 20, Meyer teaches a battery module comprising a liquid-tight housing (110) formed by a first end plate (114; front plate), a second end plate (116; back plate), and profile housing (113; single battery housing) (¶ [0086], Ln. 1-5; Fig. 1). As shown in Figures 1 and 4, the profile housing (113) is integrally formed. The profile housing accommodates a plurality of battery cells (120) and a first tempering fluid (¶ [0087], Ln. 1-5). The first tempering fluid is pumped through first fluid channels (11), with the inlet and outlet disposed on the first end plate (114) (¶ [0094], Ln. 1-6); Fig. 3, 7). Each battery cell is in thermal contact with the first tempering fluid (¶ [0010], Ln. 1-7). The plurality of battery cells make up a battery stack (cell assembly) as shown in Figures 19-20. Cell holders (140) hold the individual battery cells in position by covering about 50% of the lateral surface of the cells, and complement the next row of battery cell holders to hold the battery cells in position, forming holes to accommodate the cell body (¶ [0126], Ln. 1-11; Fig. 13-20).
Meyer teaches that the cells are electrically connected to each other by connection sheets (123; cell connectors), which connect to the plus or minus poles of the battery cells and then to electrical feedthroughs (117a, 117b; assembly electrodes) (¶ [0111], Ln. 1-9). The electrical feedthroughs (117a, 117b) are electrically connected to the battery cells and are arranged in respective sealed holes (enclosure interfaces) within the first end plate (114; front plate) and second end plate (116) (¶ [0092], Ln. 1-6, 10-14). The electrical feedthrough extending from the battery cells to the sealed hole is immersed in the first tempering fluid. The electrical feedthroughs (117a, 117b) allow access to voltage of the battery module from the outside by way of the sealed holes (¶ [0092], Ln. 8-10), which therefore electrically expose the battery stack to the external of the battery housing. Meyer does not expressly teach that both sealed holes are disposed on the first end plate (114).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery module of Meyer such that the negative electrical feedthrough (117b) is connected to a sealed hole located in the first end plate (114) rather than the second end plate (116). One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that electrodes are commonly placed on the same side of a battery module. One of ordinary skill in the art would find this modification obvious and would be motivated to include both electrode connections on the same side of the battery module for easy connection to external devices.
Meyer further teaches that battery modules may be electrically connected to form a battery pack (¶ [0128], Ln. 1-4), however, Meyer does not expressly teach that two battery stacks (cell assemblies) are installed in the same profile housing (113), with four sealed holes (enclosure interfaces) disposed on the front plate and electrically connected to at least one of cell assemblies such that the two battery stacks are electrically exposed to the external of the battery housing. Meyer therefore does not expressly teach that each of the two battery stacks are removably installed into the housing.
Bourke teaches a modular battery system containing a plurality of battery modules and a cooling manifold, with the battery modules connected in series (¶ [0043], Ln. 1-7). Bourke teaches that the plurality of battery modules (101) are arranged in a system housing (102), further teaching that the modules are secured by rails (110) on the system housing (102) (¶ [0043], Ln. 9-12, 15-18; Fig. 6). Bourke teaches that the rails include securing rings, and the modular system including a plurality of modules on rails allows modules to be transported or maneuvered into and out of the system housing (¶ [0044], Ln. 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery module of Meyer to include a second battery stack (cell assembly) in the same profile housing as the first battery stack and connected in series, based on the teachings of Bourke. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include an additional cell assembly, making the battery module a modular system. Modular battery systems allow a cell assembly to be transported or maneuvered into and out of the housing without impacting the entire battery module. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to include a rail system based on the teachings of Bourke to transport each battery stack. In including a second battery stack in the profile housing, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that an additional set of electrical feedthroughs (117a, 117b) would be included as well. Thus, the first end plate would include four sealed holes (enclosure interfaces) in order to connect with the two electrical feedthroughs of each battery stack.
Further, in modifying the battery module of Meyer to include a second battery stack (cell assembly) in the same profile housing (113), one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious that the flow of the first tempering fluid through the first battery stack would apply to the second battery stack. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to continue the flow of tempering fluid through the second battery stack in order to effectively cool all of the battery cells within the module, such that both cell assemblies are immersed in the tempering fluid.
Meyer further teaches that a plurality of battery modules may be electrically connecting to form a battery system, and that the plurality of battery modules are connected to a secondary tempering system (¶ [0014], Ln. 1-5). Meyer does not expressly teach that the battery system includes a casing including a side wall with a casing inlet, casing outlet, and two casing interfaces disposed on the side wall.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery system of Meyer in view of Bourke to include a casing for the battery system. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a casing is commonly included over a battery module or system in order to protect the system. As the battery system includes a secondary tempering system, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to include a casing inlet and outlet for the secondary tempering fluid to flow in and out of the system. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to include two casing interfaces, as interfaces for the positive and negative electrode leads are required for the battery system to supply power to external devices. Thus, one would be motivated to include a casing for the battery system in order to provide protection for the battery system, and one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to include the casing inlet, casing outlet, and casing interfaces in order for the battery system to function as intended.
Regarding claim 22, Meyer in view of Bourke teaches all of the limitations of claim 21 above. As the combination of references teaches a modular battery system including a rail system to allow a battery stack to be transported or maneuvered into and out of the housing without impacting the entire battery module, the combination of references teaches a plurality of protrusion lines along the longitudinal axis thereof.
Response to Arguments
Response-Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 112
Applicant's amendments to claims 2-7, 9-10, 12, and 17 in the response filed February 10, 2026 overcome the previous rejections of claims 2-7, 9-10, 12, and 17 as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. However, new issues under 112(b) are presented in the office action above.
Response-Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103
In light of the Applicant’s amendments to claim 1 to require the cell assemblies to be immersed in fluid and require the cell assemblies to be removably installed in the battery enclosure, the previous rejections of claims 1-3, 8-9, 13-17, and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) over Buckhout, et al. (US 2017/0288286 A1), claims 1-2 and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Meyer, et al. (US 2024/0258612 A1), claims 3-7 and 10-12 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Meyer in view of Bourke, et al. (US 2007/0087266 A1), and claim 22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Meyer in view of Chase, Jr., et al. (US 5,760,569) are overcome, however, upon further consideration, Meyer is still applicable under 35 U.S.C. 103 and used in combination with Bourke, et al. (US 2007/0087266 A1) in the rejections above. Any arguments with respect to the reference that are still deemed valid will be addressed herein.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-17 of the remarks filed February 10, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 over Buckhout have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments with respect to Meyer have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that Meyer does not teach the claimed cell assembly, that Meyer does not teach a cell holder with holder holes for accommodating at least part of the body of one of the plurality of battery cells, that Meyer does not teach enclosure interfaces which are electrically connected to the cell assemblies such that the cell assemblies are electrically exposed to the external of the battery enclosure, that Meyer does not teach assembly electrodes connected to one of the cell-connectors, and that Meyer does not teach assembly electrodes coupled to at least one of the enclosure interfaces such that the cell assemblies are electrically exposed to the external of the battery enclosure.
With respect to the argument, see pages 17-21 of the remarks, that Meyer does not teach the claimed cell assembly, this argument is not persuasive. The Applicant argues that any internal subgrouping of battery cells of Meyer would not meet the limitations of the claimed cell assembly. In the office action above the battery stack of Meyer is interpreted as the claimed cell assembly. The Applicant argues that in treating the battery stack as a cell assembly, there is no motivation or reasonable expectation of success for including an additional cell assembly within one housing. However, as explained in the rejection above, Bourke is relied upon as a secondary reference to provide motivation for including an additional battery stack in the housing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the battery module of Meyer to include a second battery stack (cell assembly) in the same profile housing (113) as the first battery stack, based on the teachings of Bourke. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to include an additional cell assembly, making the battery module a modular system. Modular battery systems allow a cell assembly to be transported or maneuvered into and out of the housing without impacting the entire battery module. Further, one of ordinary skill would be capable of including a second battery stack in the same housing and electrically connecting the stack in series with the first battery stack with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to modify the liquid-tight housing to accommodate two battery stacks without substantial re-architecting as the electrical connections would be the same as those for the first battery stack. Further, modifying the housing to accommodate two battery stacks would require scaling up the liquid-tight housing, which one of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of doing (MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)).
With respect to the argument, see pages 21-22 of the remarks, that Meyer does not teach a cell holder with holder holes for accommodating at least part of the body of one of the plurality of battery cells, this argument is not persuasive. In the office action above, the cell holders of Meyer meet the limitations of the claimed cell holders. The cell holders (140) hold the individual battery cells in position by covering about 50% of the lateral surface of the cells, and complement the next row of battery cell holders to hold the battery cells in position, forming holes to accommodate the cell body (¶ [0126], Ln. 1-11; Fig. 13-20).
With respect to the argument, see pages 22-23 of the remarks, that Meyer does not teach enclosure interfaces which are electrically connected to the cell assemblies such that the cell assemblies are electrically exposed to the external of the battery enclosure, this argument is not persuasive. The Applicant argues that the sealed holes of Meyer do not meet the limitation of being an electrical connector interface. This argument is not persuasive as Meyer teaches that electrical feedthroughs are arranged in the sealed holes, and that voltage of the battery module is accessible from the outside via the electrical feedthroughs. Thus, the sealed holes are electrical connector interfaces. The Applicant further argues that the claim language supports that the enclosure interface includes an interior-facing portion to which the immersed internal assembly electrode is coupled, in addition to any exterior-facing portion. While it is noted that an interior-facing portion and exterior-facing portion are not recited in the claim, the sealed hole of Meyer necessarily includes an interior and exterior portion as the hole must correspond to both the interior and exterior of the plate. Further, as Meyer teaches the electrical feedthrough is arranged in a respective sealed hole within the first end plate, Meyer additionally teaches the connection between the electrical feedthrough and sealed hole within the liquid-tight enclosure.
With respect to the argument, see page 23, that Meyer does not teach assembly electrodes connected to one of the cell-connectors, this argument is not persuasive. Meyer teaches that the cells are electrically connected to each other by connection sheets (123; cell connectors), which connect to the plus or minus poles of the battery cells and then to electrical feedthroughs (117a, 117b; assembly electrodes) (¶ [0111], Ln. 1-9). The Applicant further argues that the electrical feedthroughs of Meyer do not read on the claimed assembly electrodes because they are disposed at the exterior of the housing. However, as indicated in the rejection above, Meyer teaches the electrical feedthrough is connected to the connection sheet and then arranged in a respective sealed hole within the first end plate (¶ [0092], Ln. 6-13). Thus, the entire portion extending from the battery cells to the sealed hole is accommodated in the housing. Further, it is noted that instant claim 13 of the application recites that “each of the plurality of assembly electrodes penetrates respectively through one of the plurality of interface holes to be exposed to the outside of the front plate,” seemingly contradicting Applicant’s argument that claim 1 does not support an electrode extending through the housing wall.
With respect to the argument, see page 24 of the remarks, that Meyer does not teach assembly electrodes coupled to at least one of the enclosure interfaces such that the cell assemblies are electrically exposed to the external of the battery enclosure, this argument is not persuasive. The Applicant argues that the electrical feedthroughs and sealed holes of Meyer do not satisfy the claimed relationship of coupling the assembly electrode to the enclosure interface for electrically exposing the cell assembly to the exterior of the battery enclosure. This argument is not persuasive as Meyer teaches that electrical feedthroughs (117a, 117b) are electrically connected to the battery cells and are arranged in respective sealed holes (enclosure interfaces) within the first end plate (114; front plate) and second end plate (116) (¶ [0092], Ln. 1-6, 10-14), further teaching that the electrical feedthroughs (117a, 117b) allow access to voltage of the battery module from the outside by way of the sealed holes (¶ [0092], Ln. 8-10). Thus, as the electrical feedthrough is coupled to the sealed hole and allows the cells to be electrically exposed to the outside of the battery module, the limitation is met.
Conclusion
/SARAH J JACOBSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1785
/MARK RUTHKOSKY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1785